Get Your E-Ticket
1.866.999.6590
Facebook Twitter Google+ Pinterest
Best Excursions, Best Prices. Guaranteed.
If you would like to view your cruise itinerary, Click Here.Enter Cruise Information
5 StarsAlaska's Best Excursion EverOctober 11, 2017

Reviewer: V&B
Wow...Alaska...first thing we saw a mama bear and her 3 cubs....what a sight! And it continued from there, 6 bears all together...one of them only 8ft away eating another bear that was killed the night before. Our guide was super, full of information and allowed us to experience it all in it's true state but was also cautious. A little scary but at the same time we felt safe with our guide since he carried a rifle the whole time. Our group was only 8 adults. An experience that we will never forget!

5 StarsOur Bear SearchOctober 09, 2017

Reviewer: Elizabeth Baxt
My husband and I boarded a small van with around 6 others, and went looking for bear. Our excellent native guide found a family of bears for us to view, as well as deer, and other bears and variousI wildlife to view. Our guide was fantastic, he made the tour well worth the money. He had so much information to share.

5 StarsExclusive Wildlife & Bear SearchOctober 07, 2017

Reviewer: Donna Schramm
Local tour guide with much knowledge. At first just a couple deer & after driving a long way got a I could have dreamed for. Got out of vehicle & across the stream was a mother bear with her 2 cubs with the with her 3 year old cub straggling behind. We could stay a long as we wanted taking great pictures & video's.

4 StarsWildlife and Bear SearchOctober 06, 2017

Reviewer: M Tillis
it was good, we saw bears. didn't care that we were racing around with other vans - and the vans weren't too comfortable.

4 Starsgreat excursionSeptember 27, 2017

Reviewer: Garry Leschyshyn
super excursion we loved it

3 StarsNot enough bears!September 08, 2017

Reviewer: Joel Weddig
It may have been happenstance, but it was a pleasant day. The driver was very nice and we covered a lot of territory. Did see a large eagle's nest with a young one. Saw the salmon jumping out of the water, seeking their origin stream. Also how the tidal areas filled with water. Only one bear, walking up the road ahead of our vehicle for a bit. Driver did provide insights and information on the area and the history. Ride could have been shorter.

4 StarsExclusive Wildlife and Bear SearchAugust 31, 2017

Reviewer: James Elliott
We saw several bear and dear. So we got some great pictures, even got exciting when the bear came up on the road, our guide handled the situation very professionally.

5 StarsBest Excursion of our TripAugust 29, 2017

Reviewer: Mary Jo Diefenthaler
Our driver Luke made the trip awesome. The first thing we did was stop on the side of the road and watch 6 whales swim by. Then he told us all about his island and drove us to all the places that the bears have been spotted. We saw many signs of bears and a couple up the stream but blocked by trees and Luke just stayed out there with us way past the time of the excursion. Finally, this big bear just walked down the river right to us, went under the bridge and then on the other side, jumped on a salmon and took it into the woods to eat it. It would have been a wonderful day just being in the beautiful Alaskan wilderness, but that just topped it all off. We were all so happy for Luke, too, because he worked so hard to give us this outstanding day. Then we all went to lunch together and had a great time. We went on many great excursions during our 10 days in Alaska, but this was the best by far and mostly because Luke made it so much fun.

5 StarsLuke is amazing at finding BearAugust 14, 2017

Reviewer: Lynn Dettman
Our guide, Luke, was determined to show us live wild brown bear and he came through. We saw 4 bear. One large 500 lb brown bear came in to a creek we were at watching the salmon run and we watched the bear catch and eat salmon. So cool to see. That was my nat geo moment. This excursion was a highlight of my trip to Alaska. Thank you Luke.

5 StarsVery good tour..July 18, 2017

Reviewer: Vik
Our guide, Luke, who lives on the island made the difference. He worked very hard to show us bears, eventually we saw a grizzly. He also educated us on plants, local lifestyle and saw bald eagles.

5 StarsNine Bears, count 'em.June 29, 2017

Reviewer: Matt B. Cincinnati
A 10 minute walk from the ship at 7:00AM, we met Luke, our guide and driver. Luke did a fine job of telling us what to expect, and spotting bears along the way. There were eight of us in a van that could hold ten people. We rode on gravel roads to the other side of the island. Along the way, we sighted a total of nine bears. The bears feed on vegetation in the woods and on the side of the road. They pretty much ignored us. We were able to get out of the van at times and take pictures as long as a reasonable distance was maintained. Luke took a "guide rifle" (short barrel 45 caliber), every time we got out of the van, just in case.The highlight of our trip was bear#9, who was so close to the van that my wife was able to shoot several portrait shots of him. I would say this excursion surpassed our expectations. Luke said that they usually spot five or six bears.

5 StarsDefinitely a must do in Icy Strait December 02, 2016

Reviewer: Mike Mahon
Our tour was better than one could expect. we saw 14 different bear doing everything from catching and eating salmon in the streams to blueberries in the thickets, We saw one guy resting on a hillside. We even had them walk in front of us on the road. Our guide Lucas Meyers made the excursion. So knowledgeable of the bears and their habitat.

4 StarsBears Don't Like The Sun!November 20, 2016

Reviewer: Nigel & Liane
Setting aside the confusion created by our cruise line switching the order of port visits, we had a good excursion. Ironically, the fine weather let us down: it was too warm for the bears! We were lucky - Luke eventually found us two down in a shaded gorge (not ideal for catching that photo of a life-time). Others never saw a single bear on their tours. Luke was entertaining, informative and careful to maintain a high standard of safety at all times. He was great company and a good source of stories and information. Hearing a brown bear crunching on salmon is not something we will forget and the same goes for him looking directly at us across the water. At least the fine weather made for excellent scenery appreciation: the drive across the island was beautiful. A very enjoyable excursion, rounded off with a couple of beers (not bears) at the ISP brewery! But next time maybe we will book a few more clouds to keep the bears cool and encourage them out into the open...

5 StarsA Beautiful drive with a great guideNovember 19, 2016

Reviewer: Robert P Weissburg
We fully enjoyed this trip. We started by following a pod of whales along the shore from our ship to town and then crossed the peninsula to the Pacific coast looking for wildlife. We watched a large bear fishing for 20 minutes, or so, and saw salmon spawning inseveral streams. It's beautiful country, but our guide Luc was the best part. Great guy. We had lunch back in town with Luc, which was very nice and then he took us back.

4 StarsBeautiful IslandNovember 19, 2016

Reviewer: Sally Ryan
Our guide provided good information about the island, the lifestyles of the people who live there, and the nature around us. We didn't hit the high time for bears - saw 3, but learned about the salmon they crave and saw some spawning sites.

4 StarsBearsNovember 17, 2016

Reviewer: Karla
We drove around for quite a while, but did get to see some bear--salmon interactions. Enjoyed having a native guide.

4 StarsExclusive Wildlife and Bear SearchNovember 12, 2016

Reviewer: Teri Hubert
Our driver was very good---it was a long way to ride--but we did finally see bear! Great scenery--enjoyed it. Only concern, was that the time to meet wasn't correct--and we were there over an hour early for the tour--Setting a definite time would have worked better...

5 StarsExclusive Wildlife and Bear Search August 30, 2016

Reviewer: Meeta Kohli
Most enjoyable offshore excursion of the cruise! Our guide, Luke showed us bears in 3 different places. Vehicle was well kept and route was comfortable. Very scenic and relaxing tour!! Recommended to friends, to reserve this tour when planning an Alaska cruise. Thank you!

5 StarsIcy Strait Point Highlight!August 30, 2016

Reviewer: Rod Berlin
Our first time to Icy Strait Point and it was a great and very interesting stop. The shore excursion with our small group was exceptional. Great guide was well informed and interesting. We saw a number of bears which was really cool and the beauty of the land was awesome. Thanks.

4 StarsWild life and bearsJuly 26, 2016

Reviewer: Anonymous
Had a great time driving around looking for bears unfortunately we did not see one. Everything else was ok nothing flash Worth a go

4 StarsReviewJuly 21, 2016

Reviewer: NANCY POLAND
This was a good trip. The guide worked really hard to find us some bears.

5 StarsRecommend this experienceMay 30, 2016

Reviewer: Sam
Guide very knowledgable, bears are not that easy to find, guide spent longer with us than advertised so we could get pictures of a bear. Saw a humpback a few feet off the beach, which was a bonus. Felt safe with guide even when on foot. A great experience

5 StarsBest Bear Search EVERAugust 31, 2015

Reviewer: Shirley
Our guide had our safety as top priority but definitely did everything he could so that we were able to see some bears.

5 StarsBill and Bears - a great combo!August 17, 2015

Reviewer: JB
Our guide Bill was great, a true story teller full of tales and experiences, taught us a lot about the Bears and growing up around the Bears on Icy Straights. We saw three bears at two different bridge stops, where one bear walked right under the bridge we stopped at. He caught salmon from the river and munched on it only 25 feet from us on the bridge safely above. We also saw Eagles perched fairly close to the road and a deer. It was quit a bit of driving but Bill was determined to find us at least one bear! Bears are not guaranteed but the earlier you start your search the better chance you have. We definitely got our money's worth.

5 StarsEXHILARATING BEAR SIGHTING EXPERIENCEAugust 04, 2015

Reviewer: Glenda
Our guide, Jacob, was persistence in his attempts to find a bear for us. It was a very bad day for bear sighting and we heard from other groups that they were not having any luck seeing any bear. We finally get to see a juvenile bear going down the river catching salmon with his paw. We video the whole thing!!! What also was wonderful to see was the relief and shine on Jacob's face. He was truly happy for us.

4 StarsSuccess! 2 bears and a good timeJuly 08, 2015

Reviewer: Jeff
The guide was born and raised in the area and had great stories of the local scene. We were lucky - that's all there is to it - to se Bears. But once we found them, we hung around and enjoyed the experience for 45 minutes. All of us had a great time!

4 StarsSounded Good but was BetterJune 24, 2015

Reviewer: lou the explorer
Well worth the time and expense.

5 Starsi would do over againOctober 01, 2014

Reviewer: Alaska revisitor
good wildlife friendly and knowledgable tour guide

5 StarsFantastic!!September 17, 2014

Reviewer: Mike
A great excursion! So informative, so beautiful. Saw bears!!

5 Starsenjoyable tourAugust 31, 2014

Reviewer: oldtimers on a bear hunt
our guide was very nice - he worked like crazy to find us bears - they just weren't there until the very end of the tour and then only a mom and her baby. rooney took his time and extended our tour so he could expand the search. did see some beautiful scenery off the beaten path.

5 StarsBest guideAugust 27, 2014

Reviewer: Safmusic
Knowledgeable guide, beautiful scenery, exciting stories from our guide.

4 StarsBrown bear and Black tail deerJuly 24, 2014

Reviewer: Matt and Pat
Misty was a great guide. I think we were the only van on the entire ship that actually saw a brown bear, and sitka black tail dear. It was too early for the salmon run so it was lucky that we saw what we did. She had great information and gave a great insight into life on the island. As soon as you get in the van and see the 45-70 rifle you know you are going backwoods. Thanks

4 StarsWe did see a bearJune 18, 2014

Reviewer: Geno
The guides tried very hard to find bears, providing a lots of info during the travel on a gravel roads through the forest.

5 StarsGreat Excursion + Great ValueJune 19, 2013

Reviewer: Karen
Our tour guide Phil was great. We went at the end of May when the fish were not running so the bears were scarce but Phil was great and we finally saw a brown bear with her cub. Phil was friendly, knowledgable and just fun while we ""women"" gave him a hard time (just for fun)!

5 StarsThis tour is great!!!July 31, 2012

Reviewer: Just me Denette
Phil was the best guy...he loves the area...and his love for what he does shows!!!