Get Your E-Ticket
1.866.999.6590
Facebook Twitter Google+ Pinterest
Best Excursions, Best Prices. Guaranteed.
If you would like to view your cruise itinerary, Click Here.Enter Cruise Information
5 StarsCostco Travel Shore Excursions better than cruisesAugust 24, 2017

Reviewer: Connie Borton
Well organized. Staff was professional and well trained. This tour was actually 2 helicopter rides because you fly up to the dog sledding, then they fly you back down! I felt sorry for the dogs tho. A few looked cold.

5 StarsHelicopter Dog SleddingJuly 20, 2017

Reviewer: Karen
Excellent experience. The guides were very informative and the dog sled ride was awesome. Helicopter ride was beautiful. A must experience if you visit Alaska!

5 StarsHelicopter dog sleddingJune 07, 2017

Reviewer: Barbara Purrington
We loved it! Highlight of our trip. All staff were great. Would highly recommend.

5 StarsUnbelievable ExperienceApril 13, 2017

Reviewer: Gary Chapman
Start to finish was awesome, we were lucky enough our pilot landed on another glacier on the way back. Highly recommend this to anyone

5 StarsHelicopter Dog Sled ExcursionNovember 27, 2016

Reviewer: Theresa Bergman
Pricey - but definitely a ""once in a lifetime"" experience. Loved that you had boots that go over shoes for everyone. My kids (in 20's) thought this was the best excursion of our Alaska trip.

4 StarsAmazing ExperienceNovember 24, 2016

Reviewer: R Haberman
Taking a helicopter ride and being with the dogs was truly an unforgettable experience. However, the pilot didn't really speak to us, explain what we were flying over or seeing and although the mushing was a fun experience, we really just went in one big circle. Glad we did this, just wished it was a little more wow especially for the price we paid.

5 StarsDog SleddingNovember 22, 2016

Reviewer: John Olund
We loved it! Our guide was great and we loved the dogs and enjoyed them so much. The guide took great care of us as we are eighty years old! The helicopter ride was fantastic!

4 StarsHelicopter Dog SleddingNovember 12, 2016

Reviewer: Kimberly Wilkins
It was definitely a good time!!!! I just wish the helicopter ride could have been longer and the dog sledding longer. I definitely felt safe and would do it again if I go back to Alaska.

5 StarsHelicopter Dog SleddingNovember 08, 2016

Reviewer: Sherry
This was an excellent excursion. I would recommend it to anyone. The helicopter pilot we had was fantastic and the sled dog team was also fantastic. It was one of the best excursion I took on our Alaska cruise.

5 StarsHelicopter Dog Sledding from JuneauNovember 06, 2016

Reviewer: Mary Jane
It was an excursion of a life time. We are so happy we decided to take the trip even though it was expensive. Our helicopter ride was terrific and so was the pilot. He explained all the things we were seeing. The dog sled ride was unforgettable. Our guide was so informative and friendly. We rode on the sleds and we also got to drive them!. Visiting with the dogs was another highlight of the trip. I would highly recommend this tour.! It was fantastic!

5 StarsThe experience of a lifetime!November 06, 2016

Reviewer: Connie
This was an amazing trip! We were picked up right at the cruise pier in a van. It was a little tight but the ride was about 15 minutes. We were taken to an office where we were weighed in our gear then fitted with glacier walking boots. They put us into groups for our helicopter ride to the glacier. The ride from the helicopter was awesome! The views spectacular! Our pilot was very kind, soothing to those who were a little frightened of the ride and very professional. Then the most awesome view of the glacier! Words cannot express the view of it from the helicopter! We were greeted by our sled driver and the dogs that would take us on the best sleigh ride of a lifetime! There were 4 people to a sled plus the driver. One rider stands at the back of the sled (if there are 4)the others sit. We rode about 30 minutes and made 3 stops to give the dogs a break and to play with them. What a day it was! Amazing!

5 StarsThe best experienceNovember 05, 2016

Reviewer: Linda welsh
We arrived foe our flight at 10.15 only to be told the helicopters were not flying because of low cloud. We were devastated. But because this is a lovely small and personal operation they were able to move us to an afternoon slot. The sun came out and off we went. The people who booked via the boat did not get to go at all so we are so pleased we boomed with the private group via our travel agent.

5 StarsOnce in a lifetime...November 04, 2016

Reviewer: Louie
Great experience...picked us up on time at the port where ship was docked, shuttle minivan driver gave us a mini tour of Junaeu on way to the airport...helicopter ride was smooth, they only provided boots and no backpacks were allowed on helicopter...dog sledding was great!! We will never forget it!!

5 StarsHelicopter Dog SleddingAugust 26, 2016

Reviewer: Karen Palmer
Phenomenal; only wish both elements had been longer

5 StarsGreat experience August 02, 2016

Reviewer: Pratima
My family had a such good time. You have try it once in life

5 StarsDefinitely worth the $$$$June 01, 2016

Reviewer: Crazypooh
We were so thrill to be the 1st group to ride on the dog sled! We were told that the day before was cold and raining and we brought in the sunshine!! so they just moved into this camp site. Helicopter ride took us through the glaciers and to the amazing snowy view. There were 12 dogs guiding through this amazing snowy trail.. Love love love them so much!

5 StarsHelicopter Dog SleddingAugust 28, 2015

Reviewer: Iditarod Fanatic
2 words - ABSOLUTELY AWESOME!!!! I am a big fan of the Iditarod anyway. Was supposed to do this 2 years ago, but our ship broke down in Ketchikan and we didn't make it to Juneau. I would do this again and again. Helicopter flight offered beautiful. scenery. Weather was sunny and not very cold. Our guide (Christopher) was so friendly and helpful. Holding the puppies was fun. The best part was being allowed to steer the sled and getting to be with these wonderful dogs. The experience of a lifetime and I'd encourage this to anyone who's thinking of doing it.

5 StarsFantasticAugust 04, 2015

Reviewer: Jeanie
One of a kind experience. Would do it again in a minute. Whole family loved it.

5 StarsBest excursion ever! Great information, fun and beJuly 14, 2015

Reviewer: Me
The location was beautiful. The staff was fun, informative and friendly. So worth the money!

5 StarsBest Experience EverJune 20, 2015

Reviewer: She
The sights in air and on ground were spectacular. Our guides were friendly and knowledgeable. Dog sledding is a once in a life time experience(slightly faster pace would have been more thrilling)and the dogs were adorable. Was a bit expensive, but would readily do it again!! Nothing else on our trip even came close! Better guidance on clothing needs may have helped decrease our packing needs, but weather change may make that difficult.

5 StarsI would love to go on this adventure again and agaJune 10, 2015

Reviewer: Lotusbud
from the very beginning the service and staff were great, prompt and interesting. We loved every moment of it.

5 StarsSpectacular ExperienceJune 01, 2015

Reviewer: Cruisinpashmina
This was a well organized excursion and the highlight of our ten day cruise. Everyone connected with the excursion was warm, friendly, professional and generous with their knowledge. Our mushing guide, Peter, was calm, expert and his love for his dog team made the adventure very special. Seeing first hand how much the dogs LOVE to run was eye opening. The ones not chosen for the team howled like their hearts were broken! We had a great time!

5 StarsMost amazing excursion!August 25, 2014

Reviewer: Skipal
I took my 3 kids ages 7, 16, and 17 on this excursion. The smiles started when they saw the helicopter and didn't stop until we came back. The pilot was professional, personable and entertaining. The dog guides were genuinely interested in our family and making sure everyone had a fantastic time (which we did). Can't imagine anything better!

5 StarsGreat ExperienceAugust 02, 2014

Reviewer: Sue
Very well organized excursion

5 StarsThe greatest adventure !!!July 31, 2014

Reviewer: Lore
We had the greatest experience in evry way you could Think ....

5 StarsWOW! Adventure of a life time!July 13, 2014

Reviewer: Elaine the (rocking chair Musher
Thank you Shore Excursions for offering the best of the best! Coastal Helicopters and Blue Kennels provide excellent tours and amazing guides! Coastal staff picked us up at the cruise ship dock and was very organized. The drivers made sure all the guests were on board! When we arrived at the heliport, we were outfitted with glacier and dog sled gear! The staff was outstanding! Derrick Grimes, the Coastal Tour Manager, is a truly a professional guest ambassador of the tours! We choose the Extended Dog Sled tour which includes a landing on a lower glacier! Priceless experience! The weather was a light misty rain but it did not hamper the tour or the excitement of the adventure! When we arrived at Blue Kennels on Herbert Glacier, it was breath taking and so much fun! The staff is great! Eric who was our guide is an excellent musher and educator. The dog sled team is amazing! Eric introduced us to each of the dog athletes during photo-op shoots! While I was standing on rear sled all alone (of course Eric was in control), I drank in the majestic views 'living in the now.' Salt and Pepper, the official Blue Kennel puppy greeters, won our hearts! Coastal Helicopter pilot, Bill, is a superb professional pilot! We were treated like royalty! Bill choose the landing spot and we were the only ones on the glacier! His knowledge and experience ranks this tour off the charts! There are no words to express the beauty of the glacier! When we returned to the heliport, I met Sebastian Schnuelle who is a Yukon Quest first place winner and Iditarod Race 2nd place winner and owner of Blue Kennels!! Meeting one of Alaska's legends was an honor and the perfect ending of the tour! I did not want to leave! I recommend this tour as a close-up, personal adventure thanks to Coastal Helicopters and Blue Kennels!

5 StarsExperience of a lifetime!June 15, 2014

Reviewer: Mike B
This was a once in a lifetime experience & this excursion was the highlight of our cruise & landtour. Coastal helicopters are an excellent well run company, the pilot was fantastic & the dog sledding guide was brilliant, we really enjoyed riding in the sled basket also taking turns at driving a sled!

5 StarsDon't miss this awesome excursion!October 04, 2013

Reviewer: Jackie
Everything about this excursion was unbelieveable! The helicopter ride was a thrill and we saw breath-taking parts of Alaska we would not have otherwise seen. The actual dog sledding was fun and informative. Although too short a time (of course we wanted more!) , we had lots of time to ask questions and take pictures. They accomodated our family of 5 on one larger sled (also in one helicopter) so it was nice we could stay all together as a group. We each got to take turns ""driving"" the sled. We were really, really glad that we paid the extra money to go on the dog sledding excursion that took place on snow (vs on pavement). If you go to Alaska---you HAVE to do this excursion!

5 StarsExcellent adventureSeptember 08, 2013

Reviewer: Courtney
This is a once in a lifetime experience. Everyone was so wonderful and friendly. The dogs are a delight. This is a MUST do!!!!

5 StarsAWESOME ExperienceAugust 24, 2013

Reviewer: Buckeye Rose
This excursion was truly a once in a lifetime experience!! Many thanks to Coastal Helicopter for working around some physical limitations. Even with a fear of heights, the helicopter ride was incredible!! Once at the site, a great job by AJ from Blue Kennels to work around limited mobility issues. The dog sled ride exceeded all expectations!! It was an all around fantastic experience!!!!!

5 StarsGREAT -best excursion ever!!!August 10, 2013

Reviewer: t-bird
The highlight of our trip. Would do it again!!! Had never been in a helicopter, but it was great. Beautiful view and just us and the dogs. This was Awesome. Words can not describe this excursion. If you get the chance DO NOT miss this one.

5 StarsA must do excursionJuly 28, 2013

Reviewer: Tee it up Dav
A must do for those that can afford it. Very memorable.

5 StarsArrf! Arff!July 17, 2013

Reviewer: kittysons
Truly a once in a lifetime experience.

5 StarsOnce in a lifetime experienceJuly 06, 2013

Reviewer: Alaska cruisers
The helicopter rides and views were amazing! Getting to land on the glacier and go dogsledding was really cool. The pilot and dog sled guide were very knowledgable and made the trip even more enjoyable.

4 StarsThrilling.September 12, 2012

Reviewer: Sangitag
It was a lot of fun, everyone should do it at least once.

5 StarsExciting experience - one in a lifetimeAugust 01, 2012

Reviewer: Michel Fort Lauderdale
From the get go we were providing with VIP service, a van picked us at the port and took us to the Heliport. The driver was extremely friendly and knowlegeable of his area. The Staff at the Heliport was nice as can be. The tour was very exciting, the helicopter ride breath taking... The experience on the glacier was fantastic, the dogs very friendly and the guides perfect. This is truly the experience of a lifetime and crossed it off my bucket list.

5 Stars1of the best shore excursions ever!July 02, 2012

Reviewer: Laura the runner
Our guide Eric was excellent. Don't let a fear of helicopters (which I have) hold you back from this once in a lifetime experience! One of the most peaceful, quiet moments I've experienced on earth on this galcier. (Once the dogs stopped barking that is!)

5 StarsAmazing day to remember foreverJune 19, 2012

Reviewer: Happy traveler
This was a once-in-a-lifetime experience that my kids and I will remember forever. It was an incredible experience and we loved that we were virtually alone- no crowds, no ""touristy"" feel- just us and the dogs and the snow. Amazing.

5 StarsTour Rained Out- PROMPT ReimbursementSeptember 27, 2011

Reviewer: I'd use them again
Our tour was rained out- however Shore Excursions were prompt in the reimbursement. The local tour company was the same contracted through the cruise ship however at a substancially lower cost.

5 StarsBest Excursion....EverAugust 29, 2011

Reviewer: Martine the Traveler
Wonderful helicopter ride and dogsledding.... If you do a cruise to Alaska, don't miss this!

5 StarsThe best excursion everAugust 23, 2011

Reviewer: Slickbo
This excursion was the best activity we participated in. The guides were very cordial and informative. If you are looking for a different adventure, this is the one.

5 StarsAMAZING, BREATHTAKING - WORTH THE $August 16, 2011

Reviewer: Betsy the mom
This excursion was amazing. We had my 4 year old son up to my 70 year old father in law and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. Our helicopter pilot was friendly and even gave my 4 year old the ear phones and speaker! The guides at the campsite were so knowlegable and friendly and answered any question we had. We got to drive the dog sled and stop to take pictures with the dogs - AMAZING!!!

5 StarsAwesome!July 13, 2011

Reviewer: KB from C
This was one of the best experiences of the trip -- and my life! Had never been on a helicopter so the views were incredible, but the best part was the dog sledding -- AJ and Matt were terrific -- knowledgeable, friendly, and fun! And the dogs were just awesome. I'd do this again in a heartbeat!

5 StarsWould (without a question) do this againJune 29, 2011

Reviewer: Cheryl
Highlight of our trip!! Was so nice to see the mountains/glaciers from above - BEAUTIFUL! Loved experiencing DOGSLEDDING! Both the helicopter pilot and the dog-musher were really nice, took time to answer all our questions and didn't made us feel rushed. It was us and nature at it's finest!!

5 Starshelicopter & dogsledding AWESOME!!!June 24, 2011

Reviewer: thrilled
Not to be missed