Get Your E-Ticket
1.866.999.6590
Facebook Twitter Google+ Pinterest
Best Excursions, Best Prices. Guaranteed.
If you would like to view your cruise itinerary, Click Here.Enter Cruise Information
5 StarsRainforest SanctuarySeptember 25, 2017

Reviewer: Deborah Bradford
This excursion was good from start to finish. We took a relaxing stroll through the rainforest with an excellent guide. When we got to a stream and open area, we were treated to seeing eagles and bears. A couple of bears were fairly close. It was easy to watch them reach in and grab a salmon.

5 StarsRainforest Sanctuary Raptor Center & TotemsSeptember 13, 2017

Reviewer: Elizabeth A. Hartman
This was an excellent tour, very interesting, and even saw a black bear reach in the water, pull out a salmon and eat it! The only drawback was the rain!! We did have ponchos on but hard to take pictures while raining.

5 StarsBest excursion of the trip!August 02, 2017

Reviewer: Nicole Morris
We completed this excursion with Rylee, who by far is the best tour guide I have ever had! She took so much time with us and her passion for her job radiated through every detail she shared. We had originally selected this excursion because we didn't know what else to do at this port, but it ended up being the best decision we made! We highly recommend!

5 StarsAwesome!August 02, 2017

Reviewer: Marti Felder
This was one of the highlights of our trip. If you have a child it is a must! So educational, so personal we couldn't believe it. Saw live black bear, bald eagles were amazing,petting the reindeer. The guide "Red" was so entertaining and informative. Got to actually see Wayne Johnson carving his totem pole. Would very highly recommend! My grand daughter loved it.

5 StarsRainforest Sanct. etc. in Ketchikan, AlaskaJuly 22, 2017

Reviewer: Jack
This tour was excellent. The young guide was well informed and provided good commentary. As the weather was wet we were also provided a complimentary poncho.

5 StarsGood ChoiceJuly 10, 2017

Reviewer: Kelly
This is a good walking tour. It is an easy pace in the forest for the most part. We did emerge into a field to cross a bridge over water. From the bridge we saw three black bear on the other end of the field. Our guide, Riley, was exceptional. Her details on everything we saw were complete and she encouraged questions.

5 StarsGreat Tour and Lots of EaglesJune 06, 2017

Reviewer: AnnMarie Pursel
Loved this tour. The path through the forest is easy to walk and the guide shares a lot of interesting info on the plants and animals. We saw several wild eagles in the forest. Loved the Raptor Center got to get very close to a rehabilitating eagle. Got lots of great pictures.

5 StarsExcellent Guide!!!November 28, 2016

Reviewer: Donna Morris
Our guide, Clint, was the best!! He was extremely knowledgeable about the temperate rain forest we were visiting which really helped make the hike interesting. He was entertaining and had a great sense of humor too. It seemed that he was really making every effort to ensure that we had a great time. The forest was spectacular and we even saw bear tracks and a huge slug, as well as spawning salmon. All in all a great excursion!!

5 StarsRain tree raptor centerNovember 28, 2016

Reviewer: Carl Spurgeon
The young lady that eaccompanied us on this excursion was fantastic. She was very knowledgable, had a fantastic sense of humor and answer all questions thoroughly. This excursion introduced us to everything from fauna to black bears eating salmon to bear skat on the trail. Loved the entire experience.

4 StarsConfusion to start...November 23, 2016

Reviewer: Kathy Ray
No one seemed to know where our tour driver was. All of us were wondering around and waiting in the area the tickets said to be in. Finally, about five minutes before we were supposed to be on the tour, someone showed up. The description of this tour said nothing about a tour of the rainforest and that was the best part of the entire thing. The sanctuary was kind of a bust. The rainforest was incredible though.

4 StarsKetchikan Rainforest,Raptor and TotemsNovember 21, 2016

Reviewer: Bob and Peggy Lang
We had a great time in the Rainforest. Learned a lot about Black and Brown Bears and their differences. Was pouring rain when we were there in August, 2016. Raptor center was a bit disappointing - only an injured bald eagle that could not fly. Totems were interesting.

5 Stars Rainforest Sanctuary Raptor Center and Totems November 17, 2016

Reviewer: Rainforest Sanctuary Raptor Center and Totems
Excellent excursion seen Black Bears on trail, Eagles, river otters, salmon, ravens& other wild life. Forest tour was informational The raptor center was equally as good. The birds are big and beautiful.

5 Starswalk in the forestNovember 16, 2016

Reviewer: d hardie
Great trip and the guide was superb. She was bubbly, excited about the fauna and flora and certainly entertaining. The day was perfect; sun warm and DRY. There is still time following this tour to take in another tour of the community.

4 StarsRainforest, nature and totemsNovember 13, 2016

Reviewer: Richard Hoback
Picked up in front of our ship and transported to Rainforest where very enthusiastic naturalist walked us through easy trails, showing us signs of bears and ended up at a river to observe salmon spawning and eagles feasting on fish. An abandoned sawmill housed the Raptor for injured birds and Tlingit Indian carving totem.

4 StarsBest of all of the excursionsNovember 10, 2016

Reviewer: Anonymous
Our guides were pretty spunky and tried very hard to impress us with their knowledge. Everything promised to see, we saw. plant life of various forms, Eagles, and a bear. Even stepped in some bear poop. My one and only criticism is that we were told to hang out in the store, etc, which we did, and later found the other folks who came with us from the meeting place at the docks, were no longer there we asked how long we should plan to wait for the tour to take place. They had no idea we were even still there. We found that to be a little irritating. They had to hold everyone else up because of it... Like I said, though, it was a pretty decent trip. I'd do it again just for the heck of it.

5 StarsRainforest in alaska ?November 05, 2016

Reviewer: Jim C
Our guide was very informative. Saw many eagles but no bear. Would tell anyone to try this trip and say hello to Voltar the eagle.

5 StarsRainforest Sacntuary Raptor CenterNovember 04, 2016

Reviewer: Kathie
One of our highlights of trip! Didn't see as many eagles as I thought we would at the center...only one, but we more than made up for that in BEARS! We observed bears close by eating berries, than walking across a path twice almost right in front of us, then observing cubs playing right by a boardwalk by the meadow....our tour guide and the day at the rainforest were outstanding! Once again our tour group was very small and personal. Highly recommend!!!!

5 StarsGood tourOctober 03, 2016

Reviewer: Bonnie Marcus
Although our weather wasn't particularly good for walking through a rain forest, we did enjoy this. This is more a nature walk than anything else. The guides were very nice and knowledgeable. The sanctuary and totems were interesting.

4 StarsRainforest Sanctuary Raptor Center and TotemsSeptember 28, 2016

Reviewer: Julie & Chuck Wolfe
The rainforest was beautiful we saw where bears have been but did not see any bears. We saw plenty of salmon & also saw a harbor seal chasing the salmon. It wasvery interesting watching the local artists carving a totem pole and be able to talk with them.

5 StarsGreat DayAugust 29, 2016

Reviewer: Dp
Guide was amazing, and the small group personal atmosphere made the day very enjoyable !!

5 Starsrain forest August 18, 2016

Reviewer: tony lopresti
good wild life exposure

5 StarsWonderfulAugust 18, 2016

Reviewer: Laureen Schneeberger
Our tour guide was very nice & informative, forget his name but he looked like a ""Ginger version"" of Jake Gyllenhaal. We saw several bald eagles & a friendly resident kitty, scenery was beautiful. Totems were awesome, my favorite part was seeing the reindeer!!!

5 StarsRainforest Sanctuary Raptor Center and TotemsAugust 11, 2016

Reviewer: gary e
Excellent tour

5 StarsRainforest Sanctuary Raptor Center and TotemsAugust 08, 2016

Reviewer: Lorna
This was an incredible excursion! We loved every minute of it! Our tour guide was well informed and fun to listen to. She knew all the local lore and all about the wildlife and their habits and secrets. Thank you for a great day!

4 StarsRain forest, raptor centerJuly 18, 2016

Reviewer: Marge Young
Our first contact did not show up and it was Norwegian lines people who got us on the correct bus. We did see a bear and eagles and a sawmill (abandoned) and the totem carver was nice to see.

5 StarsGreat tripJune 07, 2016

Reviewer: Mark O.
Guide we had was so exciting and thrilled to show us what she was so happy and proud of her rain Forrest. She made the trip worth it.

4 StarsNice tour at a good priceJune 07, 2016

Reviewer: Todd L.
Although we only saw one captive eagle on the tour, this was a nice experience because of the rain forest walk and the First Nations artist carving a totem pole. Definitely worth the time and money.

5 StarsWas very nice and informativeJune 05, 2016

Reviewer: none
guide was knowledgeable. We are not regular travelers

5 StarsOutstandingSeptember 11, 2015

Reviewer: Unknown
Saw a bear eating a salmon

4 StarsAgood intro to the rainforestAugust 29, 2015

Reviewer: Bill
enjoyed learning about the plants and the slug on the nature walk. Enjoyed seeing the old saw mill saw and the Bucyrus crane. Enjoyed learning about the salmon

4 StarsInformativeAugust 08, 2015

Reviewer: Travelers
Our guide Jan was very enthusiastic , informative . We enjoyed very much.

4 StarsWildlife WonderlandJune 25, 2015

Reviewer: Gandalf
Enjoyable experience including wildlife and history of the area. Lovely walk through the forest learning about trees and other plants. The driver on the outward journey gave us lots of information about the area.

4 Starspretty cool experienceJune 19, 2015

Reviewer: a mom
Saw a lot of eagles, guide very nice and friendly. I think we were early in the season to get the most of the experience.

4 StarsInteresting and informative!June 10, 2015

Reviewer: joan
Very informative!! Knowledge driver and guide.

5 StarsRainforest walk for everyone!October 05, 2014

Reviewer: Kentucky Nana
Walking with an experienced guide on a packed path through the rainforest was educational and exciting. Would there be a bear around the corner? Probably not! The bears could hear us coming, but we certainly saw signs of the bears recent activity. The salmon river and the wetlands as seen from a raised observation walkway gave an opportunity to observe salmon spawning, sea gulls and eagles fishing and, if you are lucky, a mama bear bringing her two cubs to the river to fish! Using a cane for balance, I felt very comfortable and not hurried during my rainforest walk. The raptor center was educational and a great opportunity to photograph an eagle close at hand. The totem carver shared his knowledge and demonstrated the tools he uses to create the most impressive totems...a true artist!

5 StarsBeautiful start of our Alaskan adventureSeptember 28, 2014

Reviewer: Mark and Di
The staff was warm, welcoming and knowledgeable.

5 StarsGreat for kids!July 30, 2014

Reviewer: NJ traveler
This was a nice balance of nature exploration, environmental perspective, cultural and historic information, and art/craftsmanship. Our kids, ages 5 and 8, were very engaged the whole time. They were very interested in the creatures and plants/trees of the rainforest, and loved meeting the eagle and other birds at the raptor center. The totem pole workshop was also great to explore. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly, as well.

4 StarsEnjoyable experienceSeptember 29, 2013

Reviewer: Li
""Raptor centre"" may be be a little overstated - saw one injured bald headed eagle and an owl - lovely, but expected more from the heading. Would have liked a longer trail. Loved the sighting of black bears, salmon and the interesting info on the rainforest plants and animals.

4 StarsRare sunny day in a rainforestSeptember 03, 2013

Reviewer: mover
Guide was very knowledgeable and passionate about nature. Highlite of walk was seeing a black bear and her cub about 50 ft away. Only downside was a problem with the shuttle bus scheduling which caused our guide to have to rush thru the walk.

4 StarsGood even when wetOctober 05, 2012

Reviewer: Lisa nature lover
Tour was excellent even in pouring rain. Nice to have ponchos offered. Seeing black bears in the wild was terrific. Very knowlable guide, especially about the many plants.

4 Starsrelaxing walk with natureSeptember 07, 2012

Reviewer: anita
very nice nature trip, guide was very informative,saw great wildlife. bears eagle, fish hatchery etc. only issue was no van to pick me up. the person at the meeting place had to call several times to get them to come .

4 Starsa great excursionJuly 30, 2012

Reviewer: Jackie O
very enjoyable walk through the rainforest with a friendly, informative guide. Unfortunately we didn't see any bears, but we saw lots and lots of bald eagles

4 StarsGreat walkJuly 05, 2012

Reviewer: Mr &Mrs Murdoch
Our guide was well informed. We saw bear, eagle, reindeer, owl. Learning of the various plants and life cycle of bear very interesting.

5 StarsA real ""rain""forest experience!May 11, 2012

Reviewer: ThomBanK
Excellent tour, Jan is very knowledgable of the rainforest. Beautiful scenery and photo opportunities in protected natural area. We were first cruise of the season (May 1) so not much wildlife - although we did see an eagle up in a tree and 3 harbor seals swimming very close. Ketchikan gets rain at least 300 days of the year so be prepared.

5 StarsINEXPENSIVE DOESN'T MEAN ""CHEAP""October 13, 2011

Reviewer: CRUISIN' COUPLE
WE HAD SEEN A SIMILAR EXCURSION WITH THE CRUISE LINE AND FOUND YOUR PRICING MUCH MORE THAN JUST COMPETETIVE ..... SO WE EXPECTED LESS .... OUR TOUR GROUP WAS SMALLER, MORE PERSONAL. WE WILL CHECK YOUR OFFERINGS IN THE FUTURE AND URGE OUR FRIENDS TO USE YOU AS A RESOURCE.

4 StarsTotally a great experienceSeptember 16, 2011

Reviewer: Mick
I had a great time on this excursion. I would like to thank our guide for being so informative and I even learned a few new things. He made the trip fun and answered each and every question. Overall the trip was very enjoyable and relaxing.

5 StarsBears GaloreSeptember 12, 2011

Reviewer: Bill
Sam was an outstanding guide, showed us lots of unique Alaskan wildlife and fauna...the seven bears were the highlight especially the mother and cubs catching salmon

4 StarsShort Walk; Animal Sighting PotentialJuly 22, 2011

Reviewer: Stephanie
This was a fun excursion, though I would have liked the ""hike"" to be longer, and we walked pretty slowly. I was surprised at how dense the rainforest was. I was hoping to see a bear during my whole trip, and at this last port of call, we finally did! The bear was eating berries off to the side and walked across the path in front of us. It happened so early on that I hoped to see more, but that was the only one. There is evidence of bears frequenting that area, so watch where you step! We saw a lot of bald eagles up close and salmon in the estuary. We also saw a seal. I would have loved to see a bear feeding on the salmon, but no luck. At the end of the tour, it was fun to feed the reindeer and see a bald eagle and great horned owl up very close. This is a fun, leisurely excursion that the whole family can enjoy. There is a good potential for sighting wildlife. Our guide was very knowledgable and friendly.

4 StarsGreat Rainforest ExcursionJuly 08, 2011

Reviewer: Chuck & Vonda
Enjoyed the rainforest. Didn't get to see any bears, but lots of fresh bear [*]. So they were close by. Saw lots of bald eagles and an owl.

4 StarsA walk in an unique ecosystemJuly 01, 2011

Reviewer: Jamie
This was a very relaxing stroll through the Tongass rain forest on a clearly marked, easy path. Our guide was quite knowledgeable about the local fauna and pointed out many interesting features. We were able to see the evidence of local wildlife, such as scent markings , claw marks on bear cub training trees, and even the remains of eaten salmon. Our guide even gave us an interactive experience with a banana slug that we came across. At the end of our walk through the forest, we were fortunate enough to see an early school of salmon swimming up river from the estuary. If we had been there a few weeks later, we probably would have seen salmon in full run. Next, we stopped and fed reindeer at the on-site rescue habitat. The next stop, an abandoned saw mill wasn't that exciting, but slightly interesting to see the appalingly poor safety standards that were once employed. We then had the privilege to watch a master totem pole carver work on his latest project. A quick visit with a couple of rescue birds, an eagle and an owl,followed. The tour ended with some complementary refreshments at the souvenir shop, which was fairly nice, understated and moderately priced compared to similar shop in Ketchikan without any pushy sale techniques. All and all, we thoroughly enjoyed this excursion.