Get Your E-Ticket
1.866.999.6590
Facebook Twitter Google+ Pinterest
Best Excursions, Best Prices. Guaranteed.
If you would like to view your cruise itinerary, Click Here.Enter Cruise Information
5 StarsBest tour everMay 23, 2017

Reviewer: jose colon
even though the drive is long, and if you run into any mechanical issues you may miss you ship departure, once you arrive at the site you will defitinitly find it was worth the ride. our guide Lorenzo was extremely knowledgeable on the ruins and its history. I was worry about the return time but they manage to get us back with enough time to shop a little. if you have the time you have to stop and get some pineapples, they were so sweet. once you get to the site you feel like you have traveled back to the Mayan period. you can go and climb two of the buildings and feel on top of the world.

5 StarsGreat way to spend the day!May 03, 2017

Reviewer: Marilynn & Neal
We had an awesome day with tour guide Rose and driver, Habner. The Dzibanche ruins are a 2 hour drive, but definitely worth it. You are allowed to, respectfully, explore the ruins. Due to the distance, there were only a few tourists. Rose is very knowledgeable and Habner was a good driver.

5 StarsGreat excursionApril 19, 2017

Reviewer: Steve
We really enjoyed this excursion! Our guides, Kasi and Melvin, we're friendly, informative, and interesting. It's a bit of a drive to the ruins -- about 2 hours each way -- but worth it. Because these ruins are less visited, you can climb the pyramids for a spectacular view!

5 StarsMaya JewelJanuary 31, 2017

Reviewer: Carolyn Simmons
There were three of us going to Dzibanche and we had our own driver and guide. Guide spoke perfect English and our driver was both quick and careful. They made sure we had on mosquito repellent before we began the site tour and halfway thru the tour the driver brought us sun umbrellas and water. Beautiful site, under appreciated, quiet and very park like. Saw howler monkeys feeding. Great day, great people, can't say enough good about our experience

5 StarsGreat Site, great tour guide organizationJanuary 31, 2017

Reviewer: Jay Brown
We visited Dzibanche through The NativeChoice tours organization (it is worth the short walk from the gates of Costa Maya (4 or 5 blocks) to find them. We had a brand new Mercedes Benz van, great driver, great guide and our party was a total 3 folks. The site is the parent city of Calakmul and there is more to see at Dzibanche now than can be seen and understood at Calakmul. Many fine re-consolidated buildings and temples were open and eligible for climbing. The ride to the site was punctuated by a stop for fresh pineapple slices seasoned lightly with chile and lime (makes it sweeter). Enrique, our guide was very knowledgeable and well versed on the history of the site and its relationship to Calakmul. Our driver was skilled and careful on all kinds of road and traffic conditions. I highly recommend The NativeChoice and the site of Dzibanche.

5 StarsA long trip, but worth itJanuary 25, 2017

Reviewer: Tim Catellier
The Dzibanche Ruins are much further inland than other ruins in the area, so be prepared for 2+ hours in a van, each way. However, it is worth every minute of the ride. The Mayan ruins of Dzibanche are spectacular with 3 intact temples and multiple other buildings. Visitors can climb all the way to the top of all but a few buildings. But perhaps the best thing is that due to the investment in time requited to get to the site, few people go. When our group of 6 arrived, we were the only people on site. A half hour later, 5 more people showed up. We basically had the run of the place and since there were so few people, our terrific guide, Erick, was able to spend as much one-on-one time with us as we wanted. Yes it's a long trip inland, but it's absolutely worth it.

5 StarsTall pyramidsJanuary 25, 2017

Reviewer: Charlene Murphy
VERY knowledgeable guide. Long drive true but well worth it. Climbed at least 6 pyramids.

4 StarsLong ride, but worth it!January 19, 2017

Reviewer: jkrouse
If you want to experience Mayan ruins deep into the mainland, this is it. Less crowded given the further location so climbs and photos were carefree and awesome! Be comfortable. Van was first class, guide just right, and nice sandwiches, water, soda and snacks were handed out.

5 StarsDzibanche Mayan Ruins TourJanuary 11, 2017

Reviewer: Nicitha You
It was an excellent tour. The tour guide/host was very knowledgeable about the place. He was friendly and spoke very well English. And, the transportation vehicle was air-conditioned and comfortable to fit our good size group of passenger. We would also like to thank and appreciate our driver as well for his safe and smooth driving.

5 StarsWell Worth the RideJanuary 09, 2017

Reviewer: Rob
I was hesitant to book the trip because of the 2 hour ride to the site but I am am so glad I did. The site was awesome and it was neat to see so much still partially uncovered or not at all explored. I would love to have spent more time there but the ship schedule did not allow it. I was worried about being crammed into a small vehicle but was pleasantly surprise to find we were riding in a new and large van/bus. It was very comfortable.

5 StarsCouldn't have asked for betterDecember 28, 2016

Reviewer: Jason
I can't recommend this tour strongly enough. Our guide Francisco was very knowledgeable, spoke very good English--and he put the two-hour van ride to good use by giving us more than an hour of background information about the Mayans and these particular ruins. We arrived at the ruins well-equipped to understand the details he pointed out. (Our driver Miguel was also very personable.) Plus, because Dzibanche is still being restored, it hasn't been commercialized like some other ruins. We had the site nearly to ourselves, and got to see a bit of how the restoration work happens. We were happy with all three of our excursions (all booked on this site), but this was hands-down our favorite. Highly, highly recommended.

5 StarsMayan RuinsDecember 08, 2016

Reviewer: patricia
Our driver was Abel and Kari was our tour guide. Abel did fantastic job of driving, and Kari was SO informative of the Mayan history. Our walk around Dzibanche was enlightening and being able to climb the runs was all we could ask for. Memories everlasting!! Our tour group was 6 including Kari and Abel!! Because of this we covered allot of ground and learned much. FANTASTIC tour!! Would LOVE for Kari to take a picture of the mahogany fence posts and sent to me ;) Thank you!!

5 StarsWonderful tourDecember 07, 2016

Reviewer: Pat Moore-Pickett
We had a wonderful local guide fluent in Mayan, Spanish and English, who also answered questions very thoughtfully about the history of the Mayans with Mexico, pointed out her home town on the way and talked about current economic life. Ruins were gorgeous, (bring insect repellent and long sleeves and pants), and our small group of about eight were the only ones there! Mind opening experience!

5 StarsKayCee and the Mayan RuinsApril 29, 2016

Reviewer: KayCee the guide
Super tour. KayCee our guide was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and fun. This place was amazing and we had it all to ourselves. Large abandoned Mayan Ruins. We felt like we were exploring something that few people have seen, our own Indiana Jones adventure. It is a long drive to get there and get back, but worth it. My teenage boys considered it a highlight of the vacation.

5 StarsGreat tour - small group - definitely would do agaApril 13, 2016

Reviewer: Cheri
Erick & Abner were great. We were in a small van with just 1 other group of people. There were only a couple of other groups at the sites when we were there. It was quiet so we could hear our guide. We could climb most of the pyramids which was fantastic. Highly recommend this off-the-beaten track tour.

5 StarsBEST Mayan tour company hands down!March 07, 2016

Reviewer: adam
Have done this exact tour several times now, with the same operator, on different cruises with family/friends- every time it is just amazing! I cannot say enough about how wonderful this experience is, and how dedicated the staff of this company is! The only ""con"" (if you can call it that) is that make sure you allow yourself time to find the place as its a cpl short blocks after you exit the cruise terminal- but very easy to find and your confirmation will give precise instructions. If you visit Costa Maya, this in my opinion is a MUST DO if you want to feel like you truly get ""off the beaten path"" and explore the amazing history of Mexico's Mayan culture!

5 StarsThe best Mayan ruin tourFebruary 12, 2016

Reviewer: The Traveler
Dzibanche is about a 2.5 hour ride from the ship. If you want to climb a ruin and avoid crowds this the place to go. There were 10 people in our group and we all wanted to get away from the crowds. We were the only ones there. You can see the original stucco work, climb the ruins, walk around and get a feeling how large the place was. Joel, our tour guide, was very knowledgeable and helpful.

5 StarsVery interesting and Casey did an excellent job asDecember 09, 2015

Reviewer: cj
Casey did an excellent job of explaining the Mayan Ruins and spoke very good English. She was very informative.

5 StarsMoney well spentMarch 13, 2015

Reviewer: Bob the Builder
Lots of Fun

5 StarsWonderful and educational experienceNovember 11, 2014

Reviewer: Edisto Traveler
This was a wonderful tour. We were the only ones at the ruin and were transported in a van with only six people plus the guide and driver. It was a very personal tour, and we were able to climb the ruins. Be sure to take lots of mosquito spray as they were thick. I would recommend this tour to anyone, especially those who would like to see an extensive Mayan Ruins without crowds. This tour group is wonderful and very professional.

4 StarsExactly what the title depictsApril 18, 2013

Reviewer: redibear
This experience was very informative & educational about a region I had not previously expressed interest in

4 StarsA great spotMarch 10, 2013

Reviewer: Pete
We took the excursion on February 26, 2013. The tour was well organized and the guide was passionate about the Mayan experience. He was well trained and a scholar. Friendly and helpful. It was a two hour trip each way from the ship but worth the time. If you hadn't seen a Mayan site before [this was our first] Dzibanche is all that you expected. Well maintained, significantly restored. Climb the pyramid. There is a great view but getting down was an adventure. There was another group or two when we arrived but for the last hour we [about 12] were the only ones at the entire site. Cool. On the return trip the van had mechanical problems. However the company had other tours and dispatched another van. We never were in danger of missing the ship.

5 StarsHistory of Dzibanche Mayan RuinsDecember 27, 2012

Reviewer: Joy
Great time reviewing the ruins and learning the history of them. Small group, there were only 4 of us not including the driver and guide, so relaxing with lots of time to see and experience the ruins.

5 StarsYou're in for a treat!March 10, 2011

Reviewer: David the many Mayan site tourist
On Jan. 10, 2011, I toured Dzibanche Ruins with Monica as guide. Previously, I had visited many Mayan ruins, but never had a guide as knowledgeable. The ride was approximately 2 hours. However, using wit and a unique perspective, Monica expounded on Mayan history, culture, and religion. The time seemed to fly. When we arrived, we were told by the caretaker that some areas had been recently excavated. Monica's enthusiasm was contagious. She commented on the style and purpose of these structures. In a way, it almost felt as if we were actually participating in the original dig. There was moderate climbing(led by a pregnant woman). The summit's panorama was spectacular. I would strongly recommend this tour and specifically ask for Monica. You will not be disappointed

5 Stars""You're in for a treat!""January 19, 2011

Reviewer: David the many Mayan sites tourist
On Jan. 10, 2011, I toured Dzibanche Ruins with Monica as guide. Previously, I had visited many Mayan ruins, but never had a guide as knowledgeable. The ride was approximately 2 hours. However, using wit and a unique perspective, Monica expounded on Mayan history,culture, and religion. The time seemed to fly. When we arrived, we were told by the caretaker that some areas had been recently excavated. Monica's enthusiasm was contagious. She commented on the style and purpose of these structures. In a way, it almost felt as if we were actually participating in the original dig. There was moderate climbing(led by a pregnant woman). The summit's panorama was spectacular. I would strongly recommend this tour and specifically ask for Monica. You will not be disappointed.