Get Your E-Ticket
1.866.999.6590
Facebook Twitter Google+ Pinterest
Best Excursions, Best Prices. Guaranteed.
If you would like to view your cruise itinerary, Click Here.Enter Cruise Information
5 StarsTravelerNovember 27, 2017

Reviewer: Elsie
Had a great time, Jesus was a very friendly & informative tour guide.

5 StarsTortugueroMay 11, 2017

Reviewer: Sue Lavoie
Our tour guide was excellent. We weren't able to tour the plantation because it was a holiday, which was disappointing, but our guide explained the process of growing bananas. The boat ride was very good and we saw a lot of wild life along the way. Also enjoyed the fact that it was a small group (13).

5 StarsCanals in Costa RicaMay 11, 2017

Reviewer: Joanne K Brogis
Excellent tour and visited many areas.

5 StarsRiver cruise, jungle and banana plantationApril 28, 2017

Reviewer: K. Fairchild
Amazing day of exploration in Costa Rico! Our guide Jesus was fun, knowledgable and very eager to show us the beauty of his country. By far the best shore excursion ever!!

5 StarsOnly One ThingApril 26, 2017

Reviewer: John M
Great excursion and phenomenal guide. Grew up in area and knew a lot about the local wildlife and plants. Only negative was distance and route to pickup point. Longer than advertised and not in the general pickup area for other excursions but actually in the port town area well beyond that.

5 StarsgreatApril 06, 2017

Reviewer: gary gabelein
Very good tour. The boat driver and the guide did very good at spotting things of interest for the group to see. Excellent!!

5 StarsExcursion reviewApril 06, 2017

Reviewer: Patricia Harmon
This was a tremendous excursion!!! The ride through the rain forest was fantastic!! Seeing the animals in their natural habitat was a highlight of our trip. Jesus was a personable and knowledgeable guide. The excursion was well worth the money spent.

5 StarsAn Excellent ExcursionMarch 30, 2017

Reviewer: Jeff
After a quick tour of the city, we headed to the Tortuguero Canal. Along the way, our guide, Pablo, provided an excellent history of Limon, along with what life is like in Costa Rica. Once aboard the canal boat, the other guide, Jesus, pointed out the many different animals that make the canal their home. Dozens of egrets, herons stood along the shore. Jesus also pointed out a caiman, a few different lizards, toucans and a sloth. While on our way to the banana plantation, the vans quickly pulled to the side of the road, so we could get out and observe a family of howler monkeys. They also took us to an area to get a close up look at some of the tiny, colorful, poisonous frogs. The plantation tour was just as fascinating, although because our tour was on a Sunday, the plantation was not actually in operations, so we couldn't visit the packing facilities. Finally they took us to a fruit stand, where we sampled bananas, pineapple & coconut water.

4 StarsINFORMATIVEMarch 24, 2017

Reviewer: Bobbi Sussman
Jesus was an excellent tour guide. He knows a lot about his homeland. The Torguguero boat ride was peaceful and both Jesus and the boat captain were very good at detecting the wildlife along the river. The banana plantation was interesting to see and quite informative. My only complaint was that the tour was about 1/2 hour short for some reason. (Possibly because we were only 11 passengers so thinks went more quickly)

5 StarsPanama Canal week of 2/5/17March 17, 2017

Reviewer: Anne Marie S Souter Loring
This tour was fantastic and the tour guide was most informative. He knew his island and everything about it. He had a full bus and several people with walking issues and he was so careful and caring for everyone. This involved a bus and boat trip. When we were getting on the boat my husband with walking issues he made sure he was seated in the front seat. The helping of getting into the boat was such a relief for me knowing there a caring person watching out. He was terrific in helping everyone get good pictures to produce great memories. I wll be cruising again in April. 17 and plan to book plans thru Shore Excursions. They are the best tour group. We have built great memories. AM and JR

5 StarsOutstandingMarch 17, 2017

Reviewer: Grandmom Cruiser
Everything about this excursion was phenomenal! The guides really made it spectacular, siting animals and amphibians that we did not notice. The banana plantation was so interesting, especially when we were able to see and hold the banana "pod". Such an informative excursion. A+++++

5 StarsGreat excursionFebruary 24, 2017

Reviewer: Linda
We went on this excursion at the beginning of February. We saw a lot of wild life and thoroughly enjoyed it. Isaac was a great tour guide. He made the tour interesting and we would recommend this tour.

5 StarsExcellent guide, nice tourFebruary 11, 2017

Reviewer: Susan Brigden
We booked this tour instead of the much pricier ship tour, and we both loved it. Much smaller group, very personable and knowledgeable guide Jesus. Marcos, our driver, was also very attentive and helpful whenever we got on and off the van, walked up steps, etc.

5 StarsTortugero and Plantation TourFebruary 02, 2017

Reviewer: J Geisz
Jesus was an engaging and knowledgeable guide. This tour was excellent. We saw lots of wildlife; learned about the banana harvest and got to eat some; and visited his secret spot.

3 StarsNo plantationFebruary 02, 2017

Reviewer: Rick
Our tour guide was excellent but storms closed the plantation and I was disappointed to not have seen the operations of a plantation.

5 StarsTourFebruary 02, 2017

Reviewer: Harriet Basel
We had a wonderful guide who was so enthusiastic to show us his country. He knew so much about the wildlife. He showed us beautiful scenery. I learned so much about bananas. His tour was my favorite.

5 StarsTortuguero & Plantation Exploration ReviewJanuary 21, 2017

Reviewer: John Dorfe
What a Pleasant Surprise! We thoroughly enjoyed our adventure to see the local wildlife, plants and countryside, and the banana plantations. Our tour guide, Jesus, and driver, Marco, were awesome. They made sure we saw & heard Howler Monkeys, Slooths, Caiman, Dart Frogs, Fruit Bats, and numerous birds. We learned how banana are grown, visited a roadside fruit market, tasted fresh fruits of the area, and learned about life in Costa Rica. Would do tour again, and strongly recommend Jesus-very knowledgeable and personable tour guide! Money well spent for small group adventure!!!

5 StarsTortuguero and plantation explorationJanuary 17, 2017

Reviewer: David Chen
The tour guide on our van has very good knowledge and did extra mile for us. He is #1 tour guide we have ever had.

5 StarsThe High Point of the Land Portions of Our Cruise!January 15, 2017

Reviewer: Gene
With Jesus as our primary guide, our rides through the Costa Rican countryside and our visits to various facilities of the fruit plantations were, except for the passage through the canal itself, the high point of our Panama Canal Cruise with Holland America Lines. All the personnel were friendly, courteous, and professional. Jesus was exceptionally pleasant, helpful, and informative, as was his fellow guide (Omar?) who did the guide duties on our delightful boat ride in rain forest canal. We saw up-close any number of colorful and unusual animals and insects and all stages of banana production on the Del Monte Banana Plantation. We enjoyed our walk along the Banana River through the rain forest and our short stop at a local fruit stand where we could sample local produce. Our van was modern and airconditioned, and our driver (Marcos) and our boat operator (Carlos?) were professional and pleasant. I highly recommend this tour as we receivedit on December 18, 2016.

5 StarsExcellent Tour January 12, 2017

Reviewer: Dr M D Chan
The Tour Guide, Jesus (GIO Tour), was so good that he tried his best to show us the ' Blue Jean frog'. He actually managed to 'catch' one to show us. We are all impressed by him!

5 StarsA wounderous placeDecember 30, 2016

Reviewer: Lorne J Ulven
Our tour guide was fantastic. this was the best tour of our trip. the boat ride on the canal was full of exotic monkeys birds, lizards, iguanas, and sloths. The bus ride to the banana plantation was over rough roads. Seeing how bannanas are grown was very interesting. The stop at a roadside market to have a drink and a vine ripened banana was yummy.We learned alot about Costa Rica.

5 StarsTortuguero and Plantation exploratioinDecember 12, 2016

Reviewer: Joyce Warriner
EXCELLLENT tour guide...Jesus

5 StarsExcellent Tour and Would Recommend ItMay 07, 2016

Reviewer: Self cruise explorer
Tour guide was local to the area and went out of his way to make our experience fun and educational. He loves his home and his excitement for it was contagious. We were able to see many animals because of his exuberance towards the live on this island. The driver was also very informative and fun. The two worked well together. Both listened to our questions and were able to answer them. It was a very very worthwhile experience and one that we will cherish.

5 StarsCosta Rica: behind the scenes and real!May 06, 2016

Reviewer: JustPat
Jesus really knows this island! He took us around the island, on the river and to a banana plantation with the eye of an insider! We were in the right place at the right time to see caiman, howler monkeys, sloths, toucans and more birds than I could name. It is definitely THE shore excursion to book.

5 Starswe will be backApril 27, 2016

Reviewer: jim
all things great

5 StarsExcellent tour guide.March 25, 2016

Reviewer: Jesu
Great variety and well explained.

5 StarsExcellent ExperienceMarch 01, 2016

Reviewer: PK
A very comprehensive excursion, greatly enhanced by the knowledge, experience & personality of the guide Jesus & the driver Manual. Every effort was made to provide information that would enhance the understanding of the participants. An excellent tour at a reasonable cost in a quality tour vehicle.

5 StarsWonderful TourFebruary 23, 2016

Reviewer: Bill
We had a great guide, Jesus. The driver, Manuel, was also very nice. This was an excellent tour seeing the canals, banana plantation, and some hidden gems.

5 StarsBest Excursion Ever!!!!!!February 11, 2016

Reviewer: Bonbon
Our guide, I believe Jesus, was extraordinary. He's love of nature was infectious . I would highly recommend this tour. Never had a better guide.

5 StarsA very informative, personalized tour.February 10, 2016

Reviewer: Anonymous
Jesus, our Gio Tours guide, and his driver were very experienced with the area, the canals, the plantation and the local foods and people.