Get Your E-Ticket
1.866.999.6590
Facebook Twitter Google+ Pinterest
Best Excursions, Best Prices. Guaranteed.
If you would like to view your cruise itinerary, Click Here.Enter Cruise Information
5 StarsWailua River and LuauOctober 24, 2017

Reviewer: Debbie
Wonderful excursion. The river cruise (which is not included when booking the same Luau through the ship) was relaxing, informative, fun, and well orchestrated. The grounds of the Smith Family Luau facility are beautiful. The food was excellent and the show fabulous.

5 StarsThank you!October 11, 2017

Reviewer: Jay Moyes
We were unable to do the river cruise part of this tour due to silting of the river mouth. The Luau was fantastic though. Thank you Shore Excursions for offering to pay a partial refund for the day! No quibble and what an honourable business to do so. I would highly recommend this tour company. It is so good to meet genuine, friendly people who put your experience first!

5 StarsexcursionAugust 07, 2017

Reviewer: Ilse Pfander
It was absolutely great, the food as well as the show with the Hawaiin dancers . I would recommend it to everyone to sign up for it.

5 StarsSo beautiful!July 20, 2017

Reviewer: Karen Kennedy Gaskins
After a lovely ride down the river, we disembarked to view Fern Grotto. We were met at that location by our narrator who gave us some history on the location. We were then serenaded by members of the Smith family. On the boat ride back to the Smith compound, we were treated to several hula dancers performing for us! Upon entering, you're greeted with leis and a photographer who will snap a photo to commemorate the day. You board a tram that takes you through the property/gardens and then brings you to the site of the luau. We watched as the pig was pulled from the pit and learned about the "Imu" process. The food is delicious and plentiful! During the meal, we once again were treated to music and dancing. After dinner, we went to the outdoor amphitheater for the show. The show paid homage via dance/song to all of the different cultures that make up the Hawaiian population. It was a wonderful production! We loved everything about it and would highly recommend this tour.

5 StarsSpectacular!July 05, 2017

Reviewer: Karen K Gaskins
We took this tour on 6/29/17. We absolutely loved it! We stopped first to see a beautiful waterfall then on to the Smith Family compound for our boat ride. "Beautiful" just doesn't convey how spectacular the place is. The Fern Grotto is a must-see. The entertainment on the boat and at the grotto were lovely. Everyone was so personable. The luau was great! We enjoyed seeing the pig coming out of the pit and learning about this Imu style of cooking. The food was served buffet style, along with mai-tais! All very tasty. We were told to go back for seconds, but there was no need. There was plentiful food on the first serving! The after-dinner show was great. Performances demonstrating the vast cultural diversity of the islands was well done. The grounds/gardens are so beautiful. I highly recommend this tour!!

5 StarsSmith Family LuauMay 30, 2017

Reviewer: Mary Jane Burns
This luau was the best I have attended. The grounds and accommodations were absolutely wonderful. The ceremony removing the pig was a nice touch and the food was very good. The entertainment, both at dinner and in the amphitheater were fabulous! A must see.

5 StarsOur favorite excursion December 30, 2016

Reviewer: Chris
We really enjoyed first the river ride and the fern grotto. And the luau was amazing!! The property, the incredible food and the show! This is a must if you are in Maui!

4 StarsRiver tour and luauDecember 26, 2016

Reviewer: Sandy
The river tour is very laid back. I had always heard about the fern grotto, beautiful didn't live up to my expectations The luau was great. We would do the same one again. Good food the show was done so well, it didn't matter where you sat it was a good seat

5 StarsBest luau everDecember 15, 2016

Reviewer: Sandra Harbison
A fun afternoon started with a quick bus tour of some nice spots on the island. Then a trip up river to the fern grotto. Pictures don't do it justice. Then off to the Smith family compound. Grounds are beautiful and extensive. Open air dining protects from the weather but lets you enjoy both a great view and wonderful dinner. After dinner a great show. Highly recommend if you are visiting Kauai

5 StarsSUPERB EXCURSION!!!November 27, 2016

Reviewer: Joanne Miller
THIS EXCURSION IS A MUST DO!!! THE EXPERIENCE AT THE FERN GROTTO WAS A PIECE OF HEAVEN ON EARTH. ANOTHER WORLD, THE SMITH FAMILY LUAU ...THE MOST FABULOUS LUAU. THE TOUR, THE TOUR, THE FOOD, THE ENTERTAINMENT FOLLOWING THE EXCEPTIONAL LUAU AND THE HOSPITALITY OF THE HOSTESSES MADE EACH ONE OF US FEEL SPECIAL. I HAVE ATTENDED ANOTHER LUAU YEARS EARLIER ... I WILL ALWAYS CHOOSE THE SMITH FAMILY LUAU IN THE FUTURE. WELL WORTH THE PRICE!!!!!

4 StarsGood enough for first time luauNovember 09, 2016

Reviewer: Anonymous
We had a great time at the luau that's because we made the most of everything. The whole experience is less than what i expected. The food was not as great as expected. I was expecting more sea food like shrimps but no shrimps and they only had fish. The mai tai which i was looking for to drink again less than what i expected. The host was kind of rude. Select people he what to be nice to. Long line at women's washroom at all times In possitive review......the atmosphere of the smiths farm was very good. The welcoming group was very attentive and helpful. The place was really nice. The river ride to the grotto and the intertainment was excellence. We enjoyed the river ride. Very peaceful.

5 StarsGreat tourJune 02, 2016

Reviewer: Dave
This was a great tour of the area. The food was great and luau was perfect

5 StarsHula Hula HulaMay 05, 2016

Reviewer: Lynn the Hula Girl
Once we were picked up by the bus we took a scenic ride and the guide showed and explained many things to us. Smith Family's excursion was a really wonderful experience. A very relaxing boat ride down the Wailua River a tour of a beautiful botanical area with waterfalls. A little entertainment by the Smith family at the waterfalls and then a marvelous experience at their grounds. Was a totally wonderful, joyful and yet relaxing experience, educational in history...experiencing the EMU Ceremony and learning all the facts was insight into history/education. Seeing all of the animals that were walking around freely..peacocks, chickens and you were able to feed them. The food at the luau was scrumptious and the show was very enjoyable.DO NOT MISS THIS EXCURSION. It was one of the highlights of my trip. As for the bus and guide, they were on time, dependable, courteous and informative.

4 StarsAn Experience Not to br MissedMay 05, 2016

Reviewer: None
The boat ride was very special. We were able to and experience beautiful surroundings while floating down the river. There was even lovely music and dancing while we traveled.

5 StarsFantasticMay 05, 2016

Reviewer: gina c.
This was great. The river ride was fun, the fern grotto was beautiful and the luau was great. Very good food and entertainment.

5 StarsBy far the best shore excursion ever!April 28, 2016

Reviewer: Lynn and Art
Wonderful guides. The entire day was a dream. The educational value was outstanding. Bang for the buck!

5 StarsPlenty of Hawaiian Music & Food on this Tour!August 01, 2015

Reviewer: Linda C
Get ready to be entertained, sing along, dance along and eat so much that you'll have to loosen your belt a notch or two after this tour. We stopped at beautiful beaches & amazing waterfalls, both of which gave us plenty of beautiful photo opportunities. The River tour and walk to the Fern Grotto is very pretty and the return trip lots of fun, with everyone on our boat joining in on the Hula Lessons or just enjoying the melodious singing of the entertainers. Following the Fern Grotto/River Cruise, you'll be delivered to beautiful tropical gardens for the Luau Feast and Polynesian Dancing Show. The food is so fresh, colourful, beautifully cooked and presented and so bountiful that you'll be groaning by the end of the feast, not to mention the Mai Tais & cold beers that just kept coming! Amazing! The Cultural Dance Show after dinner was so good, giving the visitor a display of all the national dances of the people who inhabit Hawaii....so, so good! The Smith Family, who host you at the park are lovely welcoming people... I wanted to hug them when we left. If you don't do any other tour while you're here, don't miss this one.

5 StarsAWESOME!November 07, 2013

Reviewer: Travel Moore Please
Great excursion! Food was excellent!