Amazing Whale Watching!
March 05, 2020
This was a great tour to see the best of everything Juneau has to offer. The time at Mendenhall Glacier was just enough although not enough to hike to the waterfall. The whale watching was the most amazing experience. I understand they cannot guarantee what we will see but we saw it all! A pod of Orcas and two Humpbacks. The Humpbacks were so close they had to then the engine off the boat. And to end our adventure with a salmon bake was perfect. Don’t miss the waterfall behind the gift shop! We did have an issue with the bus driver not going to the right place after the Glacier but we didn’t miss out on any of our time whale watching or the salmon bake.
Reviewer: Julie Day
4 Stars
Loved it
January 23, 2020
Loved this excursion. Got to spot a lot of whales. Our tour guide was nice too
Reviewer: Sudith C Moraes
4 Stars
Best of Juneau
December 02, 2019
This was a fantastic trip. Nice drive from the ship to our motor boat. We saw Whales, Sea Lions and Orcas. I’ve been whale watching where there are so many people and levels of the boat so hard to see but this was a small group and they would stop so everyone was able to see. We then took a trip to the glacier. Myself and 2 others hiked to the waterfalls. We had to keep a quick pace since we had limited time but if you’re able bodied then do it. We ended with a beautiful salmon bake. They took so much pride in preparing for us. All the tour operators were professional and nice. Excellent excursion!!
Reviewer: Allyson Richardson
5 Stars
Whale watching/Glacier/Salmon Bake
October 02, 2019
Fantastic!!! Bus diver Al was a local and he was very knowledgeable and had a fantastic personality!! Loved being on his bus! The staff aboard the whale watching vessel was also very informative and we were able to see both fantastic scenery but also a mother humpback teaching her calf how to breach!! The second leg of the excursion was to the Mendenhal glacier all I have to say is AMAZING! Last but certainly not least the salmon bake!! Local fresh caught salmon, salads, baked beans, corn on the cob, corn bread then the most amazing walk in the forest to a waterfall. What could be a better way to end a very memorable day!!
Reviewer: Daphne
5 Stars
lifetime memories
October 01, 2019
the excursion team was very professional, they keep you in small groups in order to provide a excellent service, they really care about your comfort during the whole experience
Reviewer: Ignacio Godinez
5 Stars
Whales
September 26, 2019
Excellent boat tour. Scenery, wildlife and the crew made the trip very enjoyable.
Reviewer: Robert S Nowicki
5 Stars
Glacier and salmon bake excellent,skip the whales
September 08, 2019
This tour was mostly very good,only disappointed that we only saw a couple of whales far away ,spent a lot of time driving around looking for them .You could see more whales from the cruise ship. The visit to the glacier was enjoyable.The glacier is far away but there are lovely walking paths. The salmon bake was excellent, good food ,a nice setting ,a gorgeous waterfall ,stay as long as you want,return on shuttles. Overall nice tour.
Reviewer: Fran Lewis
4 Stars
Great Tour
September 07, 2019
Excellent Tour! All three portions were great! I wish there was 30 minutes added to the glacier though. The salmon bake was good, but the area was great! The whale watching tour was also amazing! We saw multiple whales. The tour guides were all informative.
Reviewer: Renee Paxton
5 Stars
Whale Watching / Glacier / Salmon Bake
September 06, 2019
Whale Watching was excellent. Captain and Guide were very engaged in the whole process. Glacier was a self tour. Salmon Bake served very good food. Very relaxed and casual. Staff was very nice.
Reviewer: Pat
4 Stars
Great time
September 06, 2019
They did a great job with the tour. Saw lots of whales and the glacier was amazing. The food was very good although the salmon we had was a little over cooked.
Reviewer: Kevin Anvik
5 Stars
Whale Watch, Mendenhall Glacier and Salmon Bake
September 05, 2019
Overall this is a very good tour and a good value. The boat captain and naturalist onboard did an excellent job ocating breaching whales and positioning us for excellent photo opportunities of the whales and of the Mendenhall Glacier from the bay. We give hat portion of the excursion a 5 star rating. The time allotted to visit the Mendenhall Glacier visitor center should be expanded 15-20 minutes, to allow more time for a brief hike closer to the glacier if desired or for the viewing of an informative film at the center. We felt a bit rushed during that portion of the excursion, so we give that portion a 3.5 star rating. The salmon bake was tasty, the setting was fine, and the food plentiful. We give that portion of the excursion a 3.0 or 3.5 star rating (depends on your taste preferences for the sides). Our overall rating is 4 stars. By the way, all of the guides and drivers were excellent, so individually they each get a 5 star rating from us.
Reviewer: Warren Simpson
4 Stars
Starring The Humpbacks
September 02, 2019
Captain Ted was knowledgeable and amusing. He even 'looked the part' and was a great Captain. Our so called 'naturalist' Sara, was another story. She seemed to be very full of herself, flitted around being 'cute' and not adding much to the tour. The whales cooperated amazingly well and, at one point, the boat was surrounded. I am not certain the description of the Mendenhall Glacier portion of the tour was described accurately but I do not have the paperwork at hand. It seems like it was supposed to be more than "Get dropped off and wander around on your own for a couple hours and then get back on the bus." The Salmon Bake was Fabulous. The food, venue, atmosphere could not have been better. Loved it.
Reviewer: Judi
4 Stars
Whale watching
August 31, 2019
The host was really good and knowledgeable. I didn’t give it 5 stars because other tours saw orca whales and we didn’t and the group was too big. Next time I will spend the money to do a private tour.
Reviewer: I.lawrence
4 Stars
Amazing hosts Bridgette, Jeff and Tom
August 24, 2019
This was a perfect mix of time on the water and being able to see the Mendenhall glacier. Love learning about the ecology here!!
Reviewer: Diana Brandley
5 Stars
Great variety and guides!
August 22, 2019
This tour had a lot of variety. The stop at the glacier was short but I understand that the whale-watching required a lot of time. The glacier was very impressive, even viewed from far. The whale-watching experience was the best because we happened to have the boat closest to one of the whales when it dove very near our boat. The guides on the boat were very excited and happy for us! The salmon bake was good and in a nice forest environment, with a waterfall and large salmon swimming around it. It was nice that we could leave the salmon bake at whatever time we wanted on different buses, so we did not feel rushed. Overall, very well organized, great employees, informative, and diverse! My only recommendation is to be more honest about the short time at the glacier, because there are many walking paths around it and there was very little time to explore.
Reviewer: Jean-Michel Langlois
5 Stars
Lots of great whale sitings
August 19, 2019
The positive on this excursion was that we did see lots of whales. It is a a smaller boat and I didn’t have the sea legs to move around. If you go, sit behind the Captain. He always faced the whales so people on the other side of the boat did not have a good view unless they were able to get up and walk around.
Reviewer: Ellen Segersin
4 Stars
Good excursion!
August 16, 2019
We enjoyed all three activities! We saw whales, the Mendenhall glacier, and the salmon picnic. It was a long excursion for young children, so we should have packed snacks for mid morning. Thinking of food, the picnic had a wide variety to please everyone.
Reviewer: Susan G
5 Stars
Saw it All
August 14, 2019
What a wonderful day in Juneau. We saw a grey whale mama, her calf, and a juvenile on the whale watching tour; eagles and bears at Mendenhall Glacier which by itself was spectacular; and thoroughly enjoyed the food and company at the salmon bake which offers a great location to relax and breathe in outdoor Juneau.
Reviewer: Joie Hand
5 Stars
Felt rushed because the first bus was late.
August 12, 2019
It was a pretty good tour but our bus was late picking us up from the ship so we did not have enough time at the glacier, there is a waterfall that you can walk to and we were not allowed enough time to get in the whole excursion. The whale watching was very good and our guides were so knowledgeable, the salmon meal was just ok.
Reviewer: Sharon Cox
4 Stars
Best of Juneau
August 11, 2019
Great excursion! Highly recommend it! Thoroughly enjoyed it all from beginning to end..👍
Reviewer: Joanne Bornstein
5 Stars
Fun Day with a Great Tour Guide
August 10, 2019
My wife and I had a wonderful day in Juneau, starting with our entertaining us driver, Al, who drove us up to Mendenhall Glacier with a interesting and funny commentary about Juneau, its history, and wildlife. The glacier is beautiful, though the hour you spend there doesn't permit much hiking (ironically, the bus was half an hour late to pick us up, although that appeared to be more of a problem with the Park Service's management of the tour buses). We followed that with a magnificent whale watching boat ride. We saw 14 or 15 humpbacks, including a pod of ten that were cooperatively bubble-feeding on herring. It was a wonderful sight to witness 10 open-mouthed whales surging up out of the water at once! We finished with a great meal at the salmon bake at camp with open tents. The glazed salmon was delicious!
Reviewer: Martin Werr
5 Stars
Best of Juneau
August 02, 2019
Unbelievable!!! We saw so many whales on our quest to view whales that even our guide was super surprised. It was truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Wonderful, wonderful. The salmon bake was also excellent, being out in the woods meeting new "friends," and eating from a great buffet. If we could have that same experience again we would take another cruise. It certainly was the Best of Juneau!!!
Reviewer: Jeannie A Kiser
5 Stars
Best of Juneau
August 01, 2019
very good enjoyed
Reviewer: margaret b hall
5 Stars
Best of Juneau
July 27, 2019
The whale watching was by far the highlight. Amazing to see the vast number of humpback and orca whales swimming, leaping out of the water, and very close to the boat. Great pics were taken. The naturalist and captain were both very knowledgeable.
Reviewer: Stephanie Preschel
5 Stars
Best Tour WeTook!
July 22, 2019
We had a chance to see glaciers, waterfalls, whales, eagles, sea lions, and seals. The guide was super personable. It wasn't a rushed tour. After the whale watching we were dropped at a salmon bake and the food was amazing. They let you leave there whenever you want to go back to the ship. Just had to make sure to make it on time. Highly recommend this trip!
Reviewer: Heather Weber
5 Stars
Best of Juneau
July 20, 2019
Totally worth it! Great, upbeat drivers, who were full of information. Very interesting visitor center at glacier, several viewing spots to see the glacier, Saw whales and sea lions on the whale watch. The salmon bake was at a pleasant outdoor spot, plenty to eat
Reviewer: Sam
5 Stars
Good to have three activities in one trip
July 18, 2019
The Mendenhall Glacier is a must-see place. The whale watching is fantastic. Love to watch the whales slap their tail! Very enjoyable. The salmon bake is delicious although the place is a bit crowded.
Reviewer: Ka Wai Carrie Liang
5 Stars
Great tour and terrific staff
July 15, 2019
The captain did an excellent job of tracking and finding numerous whales and positioned the boat so all could see. The salmon bake was really tasty!
Reviewer: Steven Esser
5 Stars
Best of Juneau
July 15, 2019
We had a great day in Juneau. We started with the whale watch. Our naturalist told us what to look for and the driver knew just where to go to find Humpbacks, Orcas and Sea Lions. The boat was small enough that every seat had a good view. Several times they opened the front and back of the boat so we could step out and get an even better look. Then we went to the Glacier which was very cool. There was a visitor center which showed a movie, and paths we could hike to get us closer to the glacier. We ended the day with a delicious Salmon Bake. After we ate we hiked to see the waterfall. I would recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Robert Preschel
5 Stars
Great day!
July 13, 2019
The whale watching, Mendenhall Glacier and salmon bake were very enjoyable. We saw numerous whales and sea lions.
Reviewer: Chuck Barth
5 Stars
Best of Juneau
July 11, 2019
The excursion was excellent. We started off with a very successful whale watching adventure. We saw Humpbacks, Sea Lions and lots of Orcas. The Naturalist was very informative. I learned so much about the whales. She and the boat's driver were very personable and made it fun!! From there we went to Mendenhall Glacier. The Glacier was great, but I was disappointed that there was no one there to give us a tour. We were left on our own to wander. We ended the tour with a delicious Salmon Bake.
Reviewer: Rita-Jo Preschel
5 Stars
Juneau
July 03, 2019
The tour was very good. Whale watching guides were excellent! Very informative and friendly. Time at Mendenhall Glacier was enjoyable. Salmon bake was great! Our ship was very late docking and we almost missed the tour. I had called to say we were late and was told the tour would not wait for us. Princess tours guarantees not to leave you.....We were able to run and make the shuttle...however, others off our ship were not so fortunate.......suggest better coordination with cruise line....passengers have no control of docking time.....
Reviewer: V. Romsdahl
5 Stars
Unbelievable!
June 27, 2019
We saw so much wildlife on the whale watching tour: whales, sea lions, eagles, porpoises. My best pics were from this excursion. Enjoyed seeing the glacier and learning about the glacier and environment from the Park Ranger. If you can only do one excursion on your Alaska trip, this is the one you don’t want to miss!
Reviewer: Deborah Hudgins
5 Stars
We loved this excursion!
June 25, 2019
This was a good trip from the beginning. We were picked up and taken to Mendelhal Glasier. Our driver told us history of the area on the way. We were given ample time at the glacier and then my grandson and I walked up to Nugget Falls. If you did this walk, 1 mile up and 1 mile back, you were closer to the glacier. Next we went to the whale watch. Captain Terry was our navigator and he did great. We were able to see an orca whale with her baby and a humpback whale. Both were close. We saw the sea lions sunning themselves. Next we went to the salmon bake. I thought they did a great job and it was delicious. Enjoyed the day!
Reviewer: Sherie Schroer
5 Stars
An amazing day in Juneau
June 23, 2019
This was an overall great day. We very much enjoyed the whale watch. We saw orcas, humpbacks, and sea lions. Additionally, the glaciers and mountains you see while out on the water are gorgeous. Like all other reviewers commented, the time at Mendenhall could have been longer but we did have time to hoof it to the waterfall and back. It didn't leave us time to go into the observation tower and gift shop though. We did get to see two baby bears hanging out in the tree along the trail. At the salmon bake we were able to unwind in a beautiful setting before heading back to our ship. Although some of our salmon had too many bones to actually eat, the piece we had that was less bones was exceptional. Really though the setting made up for it. We felt like being in an Alaskan rain forest with a creek and waterfall was a perfect end to the trip in Juneau. When we were done we caught a bus back to the ship. We would do this excursion again if we find our way back to Juneau.
Reviewer: Kim
5 Stars
Awesome
June 20, 2019
Awesome day!
Reviewer: Suketu Patel
5 Stars
Awesome Excursion!
June 17, 2019
The Best of Juneau was the hi light of our trip. Our crew on the whale watching were excellent. The captain knew where to go to find the whales. It appeared other boats were following us. The onboard crew were knowledgeable and personable. The Salmon Bake was so good. The food and atmosphere were the perfect ending to the day. So glad we chose this Excursion over the ships offering.
Reviewer: LeAnn
5 Stars
Mendenhall Glacier, Whale Watching and Salmon Bake
June 09, 2019
Excellent excursion... very easy find and meet up with the shuttle once we disembarked from our cruise ship at the Mt Roberts tram. Ashley from Alaska Travel Adventures in Juneau was our driver who took us to Mendenhall Glacier and we spent about 90 minutes there to see the glacier and visitor center on the history of it. Juneau Whale Watch, Captain Lance, Naturalist Mariana, and Deckhand Russell were amazing at finding and spotting humpback whales. Mariana give a very informative lesson on humpback whales with their feeding, migration and breeding. We were able to see two different whale sightings, starting with the baby calf Bonson and another whale which didn't get its tail high enough for Mariana to identify. The tour concluded with a buffet at Gold Creek Salmon Bake. Lots of food choices and great hot apple cider.
Reviewer: EC
5 Stars
A good experience
June 08, 2019
A good all-around excursion. Food was good, the information was good, and we saw several whales.
Reviewer: Bruce
5 Stars
Whale watching was great!
May 23, 2019
The whale watching portion of the tour was awesome!! We saw whales, dolphins and sea lions!! It was exciting to see the whales come up out of the water. I would have put 5 stars but the salmon bake was only so-so
Reviewer: Tommy
4 Stars
Absolutely Incredible
October 15, 2018
The weather was fantastic... the scenery sensational... the crew on the boat knowledgeable and friendly PLUS we saw Dahl's porpoises, a pod of Orca's and several humpback whales. Definitely a worthwhile excursion. I highly recommend it.
Reviewer: Murray Hoffman
5 Stars
Absolutely Incredible
October 15, 2018
The salmon BBQ at the end was a huge BONUS !! Loved it. Thanks.
Reviewer: Murray Hoffman
5 Stars
Terrific combination
October 04, 2018
The whales cooperated and because our boat was a jet engine, we could go faster and had a little side trip to see about 100 Stellar sea lions basking on a tiny island further up the bay...terrific! Mendenhall Glacier was good and the salmon bake very tasty. Would recommend this for a good selection/variety of experience
Reviewer: Barbara
5 Stars
Whale Watching/Salmon Bake/Mendenhall Glacier
September 24, 2018
Didn't see the whales up close but that's not the tours fault. I would have preferred to stay longer than 45 mins at Medenhall Glacier, not enough time to hike to the falls. The salmon bake was really good! The tour folks were awesome. Driver, Paulea was awesome and a great personality.
Reviewer: Kevin Dewey
3 Stars
One of the best shore excursions
September 23, 2018
Best of Juneau is the main highlight among the shore excursions we’ve chosen. It includes viewing scenes at Mendenhall Glacier, Whale watching, & Salmon bake buffet. While we’ve seen humpback whales several times during the boat trip, we were lucky to see flock of Orcas too. It was great to watch them up close and personal. Katie, our tour guide & Naturalist, was so knowledgeable and knows her craft. What more... she’s cute too and looks hot! 😉
Reviewer: Vic
5 Stars
whale watching
September 17, 2018
the whale watching was spectacular.
Reviewer: Diana Olson
5 Stars
Truly was the Best of Juneau!
September 17, 2018
We had a wonderful time whale watching, exploring Mendenhall Glacier and feasting on the delicious all you can eat salmon bake. We saw many humpback whales. Mendenhall was beautiful and the salmon bake was so tasty and delicious. We hiked back to the waterfall which was stunning. We were able to hang on and spend as much time as we wanted then hopped one of the many shuttles back to the pier.
Reviewer: Kim Goetsch
5 Stars
great whale watching!
September 17, 2018
We were so fortunate to have an awesome whale watching trip with this excursion. One whale came almost up to our boat and then went under - loved it! The dinner was ok, but the whales made our day.
Reviewer: Linda-Steve Walsh
4 Stars
Awesome experience
September 17, 2018
We had a wonderful time, we saw a couple of whales, although at a long distance, we enjoyed it. The Salmon bake was awesome!! Overall well worth it. I would do it again
Reviewer: Diego Romero
5 Stars
Great trip lots of whales
September 10, 2018
The trip was amazing. We saw like 4 different bunches of whales. Plus the mountains in back was great
Reviewer: Paul Pacheco
5 Stars
So enjoyable.
September 01, 2018
We loved this excursion. Saw six humpback whales on our whale watching boat tour, enjoyed viewing the glacier, and the salmon bake was a nice ending. The food was delicious, and afterwards we watched salmon swimming up the stream that ran along side the area. We also saw at least fifty bald eagles while being chauffered to the pier for the boat tour. All the guides involved were great, telling us all kinds of trivia about the area. It was a very pleasant day!
Reviewer: Dewey Johns
5 Stars
Great Excursion
August 27, 2018
We had a great time in Juneau. The bus driver was friendly and interesting, the whale watch captain and his crew were also very good. The salmon bake was tasty. The only mild criticism is that I would have liked more time at the Mendenhall Glacier.
Reviewer: Dennis
5 Stars
Great fun
August 13, 2018
We enjoyed our excursion wished we saw bears but the whales were great and the salmon bake was delicious
Reviewer: Dina Musante
4 Stars
Nicely Done!
July 30, 2018
Hubby and I enjoyed ourselves! There were no problems in meeting with the guides, bus arrived on time, made sure we were all there and driver told some amazing stories and pointed out points of interest as we were escorted to the glacier. After having some time at the glacier we headed to the whale watching boat, and then to the salmon bake! We were entertained, well fed and felt safe as the drivers always did a head count before driving to the next destination. I would do this excursion again!
Reviewer: Tami Meyers
5 Stars
A nice trip
July 30, 2018
The only complaint I would have is we weren’t exactly sure of what was happening. The girl dropped us off but didn’t explain very well what we were supposed to do. We did go for a short walk and ended up seeing the water falls and a glacier but on our own and not knowing that this is what we were supposed to see. Otherwise, it was an awesome experience! We saw whales and the salmon was great.
Reviewer: Cathi Barnes
4 Stars
Must see
July 23, 2018
Covered all the highlights. Salmon bake was fun and yummy. Saw lots of whales , crew was delightful. Of course the glacier was spectacular!
Reviewer: Donna
5 Stars
7 Whales
July 23, 2018
An outstanding trip. Well worth the money!! We saw a total of 7 whales. The staff was fantastic, we could not have asked for more!
Reviewer: Joe Jones
5 Stars
Best of Janeau
July 09, 2018
The whale watch was very good. We were a little late to the Salmon Bake which was my fault but food was dried out and just ok. Setting was gorgeous. Would do whale watch again but eat on the ship they had salmon that night and it was better. Good experience overall and reasonably priced.
Reviewer: Dana Jones
4 Stars
The Best Shore Excursion of the Cruise
July 09, 2018
Best of Juneau as fantastic. The Menenhall Glacier as impressive, however the whale watching was incredible. We saw Humpback Whales breaching like a Nat Geo special. The naturalist on board was even impressed. Afterwards, the salmon dinner was very satisying before we got on board our cruise ship.
Reviewer: Larry Lerner
5 Stars
Spectacular! Awe-Inspiring!
July 02, 2018
Loved this excursion...went to Mendenhall Glacier (first time to see a glacier) and learned all about it. Saw bears. Then onto the boat for whale watching; saw whales and sea lions and birds. WONDERFUL. Well worth the investment of time and money. Bus drivers were good. I recommend this.
Reviewer: Betty Johnson
5 Stars
Tour in Juneau
June 21, 2018
The salmon bake was a very nice an unexpected. The Glacier was nice, but did not have enough time needed at least 15 more minutes. The whale watching was ok, we did not see an whales close up, but we did see the tales of whales as they were diving back down
Reviewer: Patricia Wilson
3 Stars
Happy for the most part.
June 11, 2018
We went to Mendanhall Galcier first. Despite the rain, it was pretty spectacular. From there we went to catch our boat to see the Whales. I was a little disappointed on this. We did see some Whales, but not very many. We were told that it was pretty early in the season for their track back to Alaska.They did take us to see some Sea Lions that were perched on some rocks, that was pretty cool, but hold your nose. We were there on May 16, 2018. We then, went to the Alaskan Bake, I was very pleased on the set up and the food was pretty good!!
Reviewer: Renee Farnell
4 Stars
It is the Best!
June 11, 2018
Captain Ed, Bre, and Sammy were awesome! They got us on whales, were very attentive to all and passionate about whale conservation. The bus drivers, Matt and Darlinda were pleasant, funny, and great hosts. The salmon bake was more than what I expected! All you can eat salmon and other BBQ and drinks. Live entertainment was perfect for the ambiance. I recommend doing this tour (cheaper with Costco Travel). The ship came in a few hours late but, they (the guide service) were accommodating and got us to the cruise ship on time, with smiles and full bellies...
Reviewer: Bubba Javier
5 Stars
Whale Watching
June 11, 2018
This was one of my favorite excursions ever! We got to see such amazing sites of whales in sync. One whale even came straight up out of the water, it was like watching National Geographic. Highly recommend to anyone wanting to see the beautiful humpback whale!
Reviewer: Randell Adams
5 Stars
Best of Juneau
October 23, 2017
Amazing tour! Would be five stars if the salmon bake was better! You can take off the salmon bake all together and it would be then top notch! Everything you want to see and do!
Reviewer: Amy Kadell
4 Stars
Best of Juneau
October 09, 2017
we got to the first stop was the Glacier, we were late getting there and did not have enough time to hike to the water fall , the whale watching was great, the crew on the boat was really good. The last stop was the salmon dinner we all did not like
Reviewer: Bob Landman
4 Stars
If you want to see Juneau
October 02, 2017
Great whale watching experience. Saw both humpbacks and orcas. Nice tour of the Mendenhall Glacier, although a little more time there might have nee a bonus. The meal was quite good. Highly recommended.
Reviewer: Ed Springer
5 Stars
Saw whales, Glaciers and fire grilled Salmon, in 1
October 02, 2017
Other then the van driver who drove us around, this day trip is a must see - driver could have been a bit more polished and communicative. Saw multiple Humpback whales, sea lions, Eagles. Visited M. (can't spell!) Glacier - nice but Tracy Arm was better. The Salmon bake was a great way to end the day - grilled over open fire while a really good acoustic guitarist played classic folk rock .
Reviewer: Bob Wood
4 Stars
Great excursion
September 25, 2017
We had a blast! Loved everything about this trip. The whale watching group was incredible. Had a lot of fun
Reviewer: Tamara Mumford
5 Stars
Juneau tour
September 08, 2017
Awesome trip, saw whales, jumping salmon, and sea lions. Then had an outdoor salmon bake where you could walk a short distance and see majestic water fall. Salmon eww spawning in the little pools right by the walkway. Spectacular Alaska trip.
Reviewer: Barb
5 Stars
Epic Excursion
August 29, 2017
We were a bit spoiled because the weather that day was epic. We could see for miles, and the few clouds that day merely served as accents in the beautiful photos we took along the way. We were also spoiled to see a group of several humpback whales bubble net feeding, and even say a youth breach a couple times. The glacier viewing was excellent, and salmon bake was a perfect topper to a perfect day. All the people driving and guiding throughout the day were great.
Reviewer: Chris Daharsh
5 Stars
Best of Juneau
August 28, 2017
This was a fabulous excursion. The boat captain and crew were so knowledgeable and helpful. We saw so many awesome whales and bald eagles. The glacier was fantastic and the salmon bake delicious. I highly recommend this excursion.
Reviewer: Stephanie
5 Stars
Best of Juneau
August 23, 2017
The tour guides were very knowledgeable and worked hard to ensure we had a successful excursion. They took us to see the sea lions in addition to the whales and showed us porpoise as well.
Reviewer: Karen Sirgany
5 Stars
Tons of Fun
August 21, 2017
Great whale watching! Our captain did a wonderful job of finding several different whales. The glacier was beautiful and we spent just enough time there before we were off to the salmon bake. The bus drivers were informative and fun. My 16 year old had a great time and it kept us busy all day.
Reviewer: Christian F Newcomb
5 Stars
3 nice things to do
August 10, 2017
Glacier is amazing Whales were breaching near the boat The salmon bake was a great finish
Reviewer: Rich Hansen
5 Stars
By far the best....
July 29, 2017
We took several tours on our Alaskan cruise, but by far the best was Best of Juneau. Each section was amazing. We were able to get up close and personal to whales and even watched one breach. The salmon bake was delicious, relaxed. The glacier was incredible. This was all pulled together in neat order. If you want 3 great experiences, I highly recommend this tour!
Reviewer: Rachel Gildea
5 Stars
Best tour
July 28, 2017
Not to be missed.Best tour of the trip.Saw lots of whales and the salmon bake was fantastic.Also great time at the glacier.Do not miss going to the Red Dog Saloon
Reviewer: Kim Kerr
5 Stars
Great Way to Do and See a lot of Juneau
July 24, 2017
My family group of 8 booked this trip for the day that our cruise ship arrived in Juneau. Everyone in the group was impressed with the 3 events and felt it was a very good value. The first stop on the excursion was the Mendenhall Glacier. Next we enjoyed a whale watch where we were delighted by the sight of a large pod of Orca Whales. We concluded the Best of Juneau event with an outdoor salmon bake. I recommend this excursion.
Reviewer: Cynthia
5 Stars
Best of Juneau
July 20, 2017
Efficient, on time, decent vans/buses, good narratives on the drives. Best was the whale watching: captain and the naturalist were informative and fun.
Reviewer: Bari Colleen Creager
5 Stars
best time
July 04, 2017
Whale watching was great, saw 21 different sitings, 4 tales and 2 heads. Time went fast, caption was great at spotting them. Got some great photos. Food was great at the salmon bake, and the live bear encounter made the day even for exciting. There was not enough time at the glacier to walk to the water falls and back, didnt get a chance to go into the building.
Reviewer: Teri Cadieux
5 Stars
Good tour
June 27, 2017
This is a great tour. The boat captain took the time to make sure we saw at least a few whales. The mini bus driver is relatively new to the job and I wish she was a bit more talkative. She did try though.
Reviewer: Kevin
4 Stars
Most Amazing Excursion Ever!
June 14, 2017
The tour guides on juneu tours for the wale watching were extremely helpful and you could tell they really enjoyed their work. Not only did we get to see wales but we learned a lot about them and that always makes it enjoyable!
Reviewer: Katherine Spearing
5 Stars
Whale Watch/Salmon Bake
December 13, 2016
This excursion did not disappoint. I saw a hump back whale, killer whale and sea lions on first part of this excursion. The crew was very nice and very determined to make the excursion something to remember. Dress warm and be prepared to get a little wet. This excursion included a bus ride to a park where I saw a beautiful glacier up close. I went at the end of the season and got to see a few salmon going up stream. A second bus took me to experience a wonderful outdoor sit down salmon meal. Enjoy a short walk after your meal to see a beautiful water fall. A third bus took me back to the town of Juneau. The bus driver pointed out 2 eagles sitting on light post. The bus drivers were fun. Great experience!
Reviewer: Larisa Weathersby
4 Stars
Best of Juneu
December 05, 2016
We enjoyed this excursion for the most part. We had a great day whale watching and observed both mom and baby orca's as well as Gray whales. We then moved on to the glacier which I did not feel we had enough time at,, we only had a little over an hour and would have liked to get to the falls and back. The last part of our day was the Salmon bake which I was REALLY looking forward to and it was horrible. The food was very disappointing. For the price you pay you should get a free soda or water.
Reviewer: Cheryl
4 Stars
Review
December 02, 2016
This was more bang for your buck. I had a great time , made some new friends and had the best salmon Iv'e ever had. Thank you for the wonderful memories.
Reviewer: Karen Patterson
5 Stars
Whale Watching!
December 01, 2016
The whale watching was fabulous! We were on a boat with two young guides who were so excited about their job and the captain of the ship was bold enough to seek out the best places to whale watch! Great Experience!!!!!
Reviewer: Jason Will
5 Stars
Worthwhile and Very Enjoyable!
November 30, 2016
This was a nice mini-bus ride to Mendenhall glacier w a very knowledgeable guide who had lived in Juneau all her life, and who provided wonderful insights and good service picking up and dropping off our very small group between outings- after the glacier, we took a fantastic mid-sized charter boat ride with a captain who was quite a character and fun- We were so close to the water, and saw numerous whales breaching the water- some close enough to be awe inspiring. We had enough time, and he drove us further than we originally scheduled for, to see a colony of sea lions- again, extremely close up, and you could hear their loud barking. At the end of the day, we had a nice meal, cooked outside near an area by a pretty waterfall- the food was good, and my kids were happy. This trip was very worthwhile.
Reviewer: Catomoose
5 Stars
Best of Juneau
November 28, 2016
One of the best tours we've had. Best part was Captain Alex and Brendan on the whale watching tour--their enthusiasm and knowledge of whaling was outstanding. Bonus was all the whales we saw and also the Orcas. Salmon bake was thoroughly enjoyed--location was rustic. Bob and Peggy Lang, Canada
Reviewer: Bob and Peggy Lang
5 Stars
Best of Juneau
November 22, 2016
AWESOME, AWESOME AWESOME....everything was great. Glaciers, Whale watching and Delicious salmon bake.......
Reviewer: Kim wright
5 Stars
Perfect day!
November 20, 2016
On this day, we saw salmon, bears, sea lions, orcas, humpbacks, and bald eagles. The visit to Mendenhall glacier was highlighted by seeing a mama black bear and her three cubs. We had adequate time at the glacier to see what we wanted to see. Whale watching was phenomenal. An orca was right by the boat, and we were able to watch humpbacks bubble net feeding. Our guides were the best!
Reviewer: Penny McLaughlin
5 Stars
Best of Juneau
November 17, 2016
The whale watching on this excursion was THE BEST. seen 5/6 whales breaching 2 separate times seen whales ""BUBBLING"" 10/12 whales spouting. Capitan of boat said it was a great day to see all we had seen. Whales, eagles & seals, was a good day. Enjoyed
Reviewer: Randy Reaflebg
5 Stars
Super excursion
November 14, 2016
The glacier and waterfall on the first leg was breathtaking the whale watching ride was great awesome tour guides and we saw 13 whales and the salmon bake was better than any of the meals I had on the ship Definitely a must do would do again
Reviewer: Marc
5 Stars
Best of Juneau
November 13, 2016
The whale watching was superior. Excellent crew who enjoyed their work. Great enthusiasm. Visit to Mendenhall Glacier and salmon bake completed the experience.
Reviewer: Richard Steinhelper
4 Stars
Great excursion
November 07, 2016
We sure enjoyed the whale watching (saw LOTS of whales - both humpback and fin whales! The Mendenhall Glacier outing was SPECTACULAR... I highly recommend the hike to the waterfall. And the salmon bake couldn't be better or more tasty. thanks!
Reviewer: Kris Dobesh
5 Stars
Review Best of Juneau
September 28, 2016
The Glacier park was very good, could have spent more time, Whale Watching tour was outstanding, could have been more subtle when asking to Like on Facebook. Salmon bake was really very good. Took our time, viewed the falls, nothing better than fresh salmon off the grill.
Reviewer: Ron M
4 Stars
Outstanding excursion experience
August 11, 2016
This excursion exceeded our expectations. The whale watching was amazing. The captain of our boat along with the guide/narrator were very experienced and made sure that we had an excellent trip. The glacier and the salmon bake were also great activities. When you put all of this together, we have an amazing day!
Reviewer: Chuck Heimerdinger
5 Stars
We are glad that we chose this excusion
June 10, 2016
Both my wife and myself were very excited about the whale watching and indeed the guide (Nick) and the caption did a very good job. We were well educated about hunchback whale and the caption did his best to ensure that we get the see the whale at the best view point possible.
Reviewer: Tay
5 Stars
Great
June 08, 2016
Great experience
Reviewer: PierreBlues
4 Stars
Great Excursion !!,
May 23, 2016
I was amazed at the number of eagles I saw in one place. Although we weren't able to stop and take pictures, we realize it best to leave them in their environment. The glacier trip was awesome, very informative and at the same time very conscious of the effects of global warming. The glacier blue color is now my favorite. The salmon bake was what I expected. Food was good and the entertainment was too. The rain put a damper on things but for me I could sit there, eat and listen to music sic all day. Very relaxing camping atmosphere.
Reviewer: Al the wanderer
5 Stars
Juneau at it's best!!!
September 07, 2015
The Adventure started out a bit disorganized. We went to the Tram station and the Representative was not there with 15 minutes to go before the start. We did find out that she was around and hung out until she showed up. We were dispatched to a local van and waited for another 15 minutes and then went back to the ship as five additional people never showed up at the Tram. The five were at the dock and did not understand they needed to go to the Tram in Town. The adventure itself was really great and what you made of it. We did walk to the Waterfall and Glacier. I highly recommend it, however it is a two mile hike and there is only one hour to get back to the van. You have to move to make it back on time. The next was the Whale watching and that piece was highly organized and the Captain and boat were top shelf!!! The Whale watching boat was very fast with three 500 HP CAT Engines and designed for the excursion. The Captain knew exactly where the whales were and how to get a great view without being on top of them. That took about three hours. The last piece was the only part that was not up to expectations. The Salmon Bake was kind of generic and the music was mediocre at best. The bus transportation was chaotic and the lines were not controlled. We had to run for each bus as it arrived as they did not stop at the parking area where the line formed. Overall it was a great experience, but had much room for improvement.
Reviewer: Rideontwo
4 Stars
The most bang for your buck
July 07, 2015
I was trying to find an excursion that gave a good sampling of activities so I chose this one. I had read reviews that time at the glacier was short so was anticipating the same but we had an hour which gave us time to walk to the falls and enjoy a splash in the water. The whale watching was incredible. We saw about 9 Humpbacks as they were bubble feeding together. It was incredible. We also saw sea lions and bald eagles. My family was on a different tour including the glacier and salmon bake so at the end we ended up meeting up with them and ate together. The bake was awesome. Cornbread was delicious and I feasted on black olives as well as the fish. I am a camper so really enjoyed roasting the marshmallows by the fire. The setting for the bake was very laid back and I really enjoyed it. I highly recommend this tour. We also had plenty of time in town after to explore and hang out at the Red Dog Saloon.
Reviewer: klmbean
5 Stars
Best of Juneau was truly the Best!
June 28, 2015
This excursion surpassed all of my expectations! We saw so many whales on the whale watching part of the trip! The captain made sure we had ample opportunities to take pictures and it was great to have a marine biologist on board to educate us about the animals we saw. The Mendenhall Glacier was gorgeous! We did not have quite enough time to try all the trails there, but I enjoyed it. The salmon bake was GREAT! The food variety and quantity were perfect! The setting was gorgeous, especially the location next to a stream and waterfall. Personnel there and the guides we had were top notch. The only problem I had was there just weren't enough hours in the day to linger and enjoy each venue longer. Well done!!
Reviewer: JoJo
5 Stars
Fabulous package!!
June 15, 2015
Great excursion for a mixture of what Juneau has to offer! Mendenhall Glacier views & areas around it are beautiful...whale watching tour was outstanding!! Randy and Jay were our captains & they were awesome!!! Talked to us the whole time, were extremely knowledgable about the area & whale info, didn't follow the crowd so our whale viewing was like a private show. Salmon bake was great food & lots of it and provided a fun, relaxing time to eat & rest before going back to the ship. The only suggestions I would make would be for a little more time at the glacier stop and for the transport driver to be more chatty with the customers & perhaps tell a little bit about the area during the drives to and from the excursion areas. All may not be this way but our girl was very quiet and didn't seem very open to conversation.
Reviewer: Tracy
4 Stars
Covers All Bases
June 11, 2015
The Best of Juneau tour is a great way to experience some of Juneau's best attractions in one trip. From the moment Tommy Lee (our driver) picked us up we were made comfortable and well informed. Our tour started with the whale watching component and did not disappoint, we only had 12 passengers on our boat which meant lots of elbow room (camera room) for all. We saw a number of Humpback Whales although not as close as I would have liked. Our captain tried hard to get us to great viewing points however the whales often changed direction and surfaced between other boats. We saw sea lions, harbour seals & sea otter as well. The next stop was the beautiful Mendenhall Glacier, we walked down to the shore line to witness the glacier and water fall up close but had to hustle to get back to the car par in time for our next shuttle (not a great deal of time to explore and take photos). Lastly we were taken by Tommy to the Salmon Bake (great way to end the day), we ate freshly cooked and well prepared Salmon (it was amazing), roasted some marshmallows and took a stroll along the river to a nice little waterfall.. All in all a fantastic day, well organised and run tour (well done to all specially Tommy Lee)
Reviewer: BigEd
5 Stars
Breathtaking adventure!
September 28, 2014
All aspects of the tour were great and the glacier and waterfall were breathtaking. The Mendenhall nature center was informative. The whale watching tour was fantastic. We saw at least a dozen humpback whales and at the start of the tour we saw at least a dozen eagles looking for salmon at the Marina. The salmon bake meal was very delicious and the setting was fun and relaxing. We took a walk to up the creek to the waterfalls where the abandoned gold mine was. We loved the entertainment.
Reviewer: Mark and Di
5 Stars
Great day out.
August 29, 2014
It was a very great adventure. Mendenhall glacier is a truly fantastic place to visit with breathtaking scenery. The same can be said for the whales watching tour. Well organised with a very friendly and knowledgeable guide on the boat. Salmon bake was a perfect spot to finish this trip with nice pieces of salmon,buffet ….. all in all, a great day out.
Reviewer: fredo
4 Stars
Great Crew & Captain
August 27, 2014
The boat was so clean and well cared for. Our Captain was experienced at getting us to where the whales were and we saw lots. The guide was knowledgeable and friendly. We had signed up for the Glacier and Salmon bake because it came with the whale watching but they turned out to be a lot of fun as well and the food was very good.
Reviewer: Val
5 Stars
Great 3 in 1 Shore Excursion!
August 23, 2014
Picked this trip so we could hit 3 things in one day. There was time before the excursion to walk around town a bit before hopping into the van. Van driver, ""Utah,"" was very entertaining. Drove to the glacier. It would have be nice to have more time at the glacier, so we could tour the center and walk to the falls, but it was still pretty spectacular. Then we took the van to the whale watching boat, where we had to wait a bit for its return w/the previous group...maybe 20 min, but Utah said if we saw a good group of whales the captain would also give us a little extra time. Saw a lot of whales and sea lions, boat ride was nice. Salmon Bake was ok...the food was good, but just an outside buffet, nothing spectacular. Employees dressed in period costumes, but not really acting in character, beautiful setting by a stream. Still worth the money I think. Then a bus ride back to the ship. I think this would be a good excursion for the whole family.
Reviewer: Michaela
4 Stars
A great day of adventure!
August 14, 2014
We had a great adventurous day. We were initially disappointed to hear that our salmon bake would be first on the itinerary since we had just had a big breakfast on the ship. No way could we go eat and enjoy the salmon bake first. I called the office and they said there was nothing they could do. When the driver was dropping us off at the salmon bake I mentioned one more time that this schedule was not what we were expecting the driver looked at his schedule and told us he would change the order for us. He went out of his way to accommodate us. It really made the whole day for us. I wish I remembered his name, but he is from American Samoa and took us on Aug 7th. The trip to the glacier and waterfall was majestic, the whale watching was incredible with 6 whales surrounding our boat. Savannah and Randy were awesome on the boat and seemed to know exactly where to go. Food at the salmon bake was plentiful and delicious and we enjoyed the small waterfall and the marshmallow roasting afterward. All the people could not have been any nicer.
Reviewer: Purple Echo
5 Stars
2 out of 3 ain't bad
August 10, 2014
Great concept, priced right. The salmon bake really is not equiped for bad weather (outside under tents). Everyone hurried through to get out of there, The glacier and whales were great.
Reviewer: ookie Monster
4 Stars
Great as promised!
July 03, 2014
Check in advance for the order of events. We departed the ship ""hungry"" (it can be done) so we would enjoy the salmon bake that was the first event. The salmon bake was wonderful.
Reviewer: TootMO49
5 Stars
Salmon Bake,Glaciers and Whales
September 30, 2013
The excursion was Great! Well planned, well executed. Folks need to know the Salmon Bake is first. That was an unkown....
Reviewer: Cruiser Folks
4 Stars
Action plus!
September 21, 2013
This excursion was the best of four excursions purchased on our cruise. Whale watching was exciting, Mendenhall Glacier was awesome, and the Salmon Bake was an excellent finale to a great morning. Tour guides were knowledgeable, and the guys on the Whale Watching boat went the extra mile to make the trip exciting.
Reviewer: D+S
5 Stars
A good day of fun
September 06, 2013
Loved the whale watching! And the glacier was super cool. Be sure to go to the visitor's center, as well as the creek walk. That's where we saw bears and a porcupine. The Salmon Bake was pretty good but we didn't stay long. Wish we had done a little hiking around there but it was getting dark.
Reviewer: Leslie
4 Stars
Excellent experience!
August 08, 2013
The combined tours were great. The whale watching portion was incredible... the whales really put a show for us! Every part of the tour was as good as expected. They changed the order of the events, and wound up with the salmon bake at 11:00 am and thinking it would be at the end as advertised, we had a heavy breakfast. The guides were great. They made everything possible to accomodate us, and give us the experience of a lifetime.
Reviewer: Mel
5 Stars
Awesome!
August 02, 2013
The guides were great and very knowledgable! I would like more excitement. Maybe different kinds of salmon or different flavors at the salmon bake. The whales were so far away which is understandable, but still disappointing since it wasn't expected. Also a little more time at Mendenhall glacier would be helpful for the hike down.
Reviewer: Dallas girl
4 Stars
Fantastic!
August 02, 2013
The food was great! The guides were great, especially the whaie watching boat captain. I expected to see the whales closer and it was hard to see with all the people crowding to see.
Reviewer: Ang
4 Stars
Best Salmon Ever!
July 08, 2013
Started with the Salmon bake which was the best we had ever eaten! the glacier was magnificent. On the whale watch we saw killer whales, humpback and other wildlife. saw the whales bubble feed which was spectacular!
Reviewer: Tim with a dot
4 Stars
Go for the salmon and the glacier
June 26, 2013
We decided to go on this excursion because it was a three in one, mendenhall glacier was great but there was not enough time to explore the hiking trails. The salmon at the bake was great, the rest of the food was adequate. We did not get to see any whales up close and too much time was spent hunting them down. But overall it it worth the money spent.
Reviewer: macchubound
4 Stars
Best of Juneau
June 08, 2013
Great guide, great tour. Very personalized, virtually a private tour. This was the best excursion we had during our Alaskan cruise on Millenium.
Reviewer: Jamito
5 Stars
Our Guide Was First Rate
May 29, 2013
Tom was our guide and he was top shelf!
Reviewer: Pete
5 Stars
Great Value!
October 24, 2012
This was a great way to experience as much of Juneau as possible without breaking the bank. Each activity provided a different experience, with the whale watching providing some excitement and thrill, the glacier viewing providing some beautiful sight-seeing while allowing us to come down from the adrenaline of whale watching, and the salmon bake giving us a delicious meal to re-energize after all the fun. An overall great experience!
Reviewer: The Newly Weds
5 Stars
It was a good day
October 14, 2012
End of season lack a dasical attitudes prevailed at the Salmon Bake area. No one to greet you invite you to sit, help yourself, whatever. Some food had run out, not replenished. Glaicier interesting. Needed a little more time. Whale watching good. Didn't get very close to them.
Reviewer: Cleo A
4 Stars
Stunning.
August 16, 2012
Well organized. The guides were fun and knowledgable
Reviewer: New to Alaska
4 Stars
fun, thrilling
August 08, 2012
interesting , knowledgeable guides. good value. food quality just ok
Reviewer: connie
4 Stars
Great Day!
July 27, 2012
Very enjoyable day. The salmon bake food was outstanding. Beautiful surroundings and scenery. The trip to glacier was just the right amount of time. The whale watching was super. Orcas, sea lions, and many, many whales up close. Could not have been a better day.
Reviewer: Buckeye Bob
5 Stars
Whale Watching and Mendenhall Glacier
September 26, 2011
The whale watching portion of this tour was fabulous. The guides were very nice young men who knew their stuff, and we got lucky when we saw at least twenty humpbacks, including a mother and calf who surfaced right next to our boat. The glacier tour was excellent, with some greaqt photo ops and a beautiful park near the glacier itself.
Reviewer: DB
4 Stars
Excellent tour. Saw the beauty creation
September 26, 2011
Excellent Trip that enabled us to see the beauty of God's creation unspoiled by Humans.
Reviewer: cal
4 Stars
GREAT TRIP!
September 25, 2011
Loved that when we were whale watching we were on a small boat with only about 10-12 people. Shore excursions keeps groups small and you board transportation quickly and and feel in close contact with tourguide. Very well informed guides. Great trip.
Reviewer: emk
5 Stars
Incredible whale watching experience!
August 21, 2011
We saw 8 to 10 humpback whales bubble netting and then 2 orcas swam right past our small boat. It was breathtaking.
Reviewer: ct
5 Stars
Our favorite time on our cruise
August 14, 2011
The salmon bake was really the surprise - it was far more delicious then ever expected. All around perfect day!
Reviewer: Susan Spicker
4 Stars
Dolphin Tours are #1 !!!!!
August 09, 2011
Celebrity Infinity cruise ship would not let us off the boat at the designated time so we missed our tour but the Dolphin tour company bent over backwords to guarantee us a great tour and they came through with flying colors!!
Reviewer: Fae, the savy traveler
5 Stars
We are ready to go again
August 04, 2011
We expecially enjoyed the whale watching. Adding to our enjoyment was the dedication of Capt. Ben who was a very impresive boat driver for his age. Even thought we had perfect weather the tour the salmon bake was impressive and good. The Mendahall glacier portion was very educational. Pass on an extra atta-boy to Capt. Ben.
Reviewer: Flapjack
5 Stars
So much to see and do!
July 11, 2011
There was a little confusion in the beginning about exactly where to meet. From there the tour was fast-paced, quickly proceeding, with great en-route driver narration, to Auke Bay for whale-watching, then to Mendenhall Glacier, and then to the evening salmon bake where I ate the best smoked salmon ever grilled and listened to music that took me back to the 60s and 70s. I wish there had been time to take the tram ride; if I were to make one recommendation, it would be to defy the laws of physics and compress time so that the tram ride could start the excursion for an initial visual orientation to Juneau! But it was great, and I would highly recommend this all-day excursion. Slept like a baby that night.
Reviewer: Wes
4 Stars
Well worth it!
June 23, 2011
The Best of Juneau name really does describe the excursion. Since it was our first time there we made the right choice selecting this company to do our excursion. The only small negative was the limited time (50 minutes) we had at Mendenhall Glacier, however I believe our time there was sacraficed because we were having a great time on the whale watching portion. Iwould have gladly sacraficed a little time at the Salmon Bake (Although delicious) to have more time at the glacier. The salmon bake was also wonderful. I waited until I was in Alaska to try my first ever piece of Salmon and I was not disappointed. I would recommend this excursion to everyone. GREAT JOB!
Reviewer: Tim
5 Stars
Fantastic Sights!
June 12, 2011
You don't want to miss this!
Reviewer: Eddie Hint
5 Stars
Great Adventure
June 09, 2011
We loved having a small group (less than 10) on our three trips for the day: whale watching - great sites, made sure we saw several whales, great guide, very knowledgeable and very accommodating with drinks both hot and cold and snacks. Very moving experience. The guide to Mendenhall Glacier was very informative both going to and coming from the glacier and made sure we had enough time to experience all that was offered and finally the salmon bake was very, very nice. I would recommend this excursion to anyone going to Juneau, especially if you are on the elderly side and less capable of doing the more adventuresome activities. Best part was the small number in the party. Less wasted time waiting for people who aren't always on time and guides were open to going to out of the way places that the large tour buses were unable to go.
Reviewer: SusieQ
5 Stars
This was a great tour!!
September 10, 2010
We certainly got a taste of Juneau and even though the weather was cold and drizzly, we had a wonderful whale watching trip with a VERY interesting and entertaining naturalist, Ben. TWO THUMBS UP! Mendenhall Glacier was fascinating and the Salmon Bake was yummy! All in all a GREAT day!!
Reviewer: the Danes
4 Stars
Greate Small Group,Personal Attention
August 12, 2010
AAA Travel Agent recommended we try Shore Excurison instead of the much larger cruise line arranged tours. I was leary so only booked one Shore Excursions run event in one of the three ports visited. Not leary anymore--will definately look at shore excursions for future travel, where available.
Reviewer: Retired and Having a Ball
4 Stars