Dog sledding
August 06, 2019
Great trip had a ball.
Reviewer: Carol van Haandel
5 Stars
Bucket List x2
July 31, 2019
Helicopter Ride and Dogsledding were both on my bucket list so this was an easy choice that was so worth it! I hold high expectations and this did not disappoint!
Reviewer: Lori Powell
5 Stars
Helicopter Dog Sledding
July 28, 2019
This was a great experience for both my wife and I. I highly recommend this excursion. I only wish we had more time to take in the beauty!
Reviewer: Brandon Bryant
5 Stars
Bucket list check
July 26, 2019
This was an amazing excursion!! More than I bargained for!! The helicopter pilot was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The team at the glacier along with the musher were as well knowledgeable in their areas and helpful to all the patrons and animals. The ground crews at the departure areas and at the helicopter area were very helpful. Riding on the sled behind the dogs and being allowed to stand and mush was a definite one for the bucket list!! Truly amazing. Also standing on a glacier and being educated about the glaciers and the sled dogs was awesome. They did a fantastic job!!
Reviewer: Michelle
5 Stars
June vacation
July 14, 2019
We had a wonderful time on this excursion. It was a once in a lifetime adventure. I highly recommend it
Reviewer: Gail Franklin
5 Stars
Amazing experience
June 24, 2019
Highly recommend this once in a lifetime experience. Everyone was professional and friendly. The ride up and back was incredible. We had so much fun taking turns on the back of the sled and even got to interact with our dogs and hold puppies!
Reviewer: S. Huffman
5 Stars
Helicopter/Dog Sledding
June 23, 2019
Awesome! I was worried about the trip coordination, but everything was well done. An email came in advance, the trip guide was easy to find, and the experience was unbelievable. The only thing that I wish that I knew was that they provide outer shoes for the glacier, and if needed an outer coat. People, pilots, and dogs were awesome! Worth every dime!
Reviewer: Mark R Jarmon
5 Stars
Dog sledding
June 15, 2019
Very memorable and unforgettable experience!! It’s worth the price... never miss this excursion when your in Juneau!
Reviewer: Louise
5 Stars
Highlight of our trip...
June 10, 2019
Great experience. Very professional, friendly and super organized. We loved it and would highly recommend. Really was the highlight of our cruise. Thank you.
Reviewer: Tracy Hart
5 Stars
Dog Sled Review
November 03, 2018
This was a great experience for both kids and adults.
Reviewer: Ken lannin
5 Stars
Helicopter Dog sledding
September 17, 2018
The whole excursion was my favorite part of the whole trip. The dog sledding was absolutely awesome. The staff were all so very friendly from the girl who put on our boots to the pilot to the dog trainers. Awesome Awesome Awesome is all I can say.
Reviewer: Janice Tingle
5 Stars
Glacier Dog Sledding
August 27, 2018
We did many amazing excursions on our Alaska adventure, however this was the HIGHLIGHT of our trip! I took my college age kids, who are still talking about it. (This is for all ages as we had a 5 year old in our party as well) The combined helicopter ride, glacier, dog sled experience and most of all interacting for a significant period of time with the sled dogs and puppies was a once in a lifetime experience. (The dogs just want to be loved!) The staff was friendly and informative. I cannot recommend this strong enough! . DO NOT MISS THIS!! Worth every penny!
Reviewer: Elizabeth Haughton
5 Stars
Excellent Helicopter ride and dog sledding
August 20, 2018
Very well organized company with well maintened choppers and skillful pilots. The scenery is espectacular and the dog sledding fantastic. Well worth it.
Reviewer: Jorge Garcia Segovia
5 Stars
Glacier dog sledding
August 20, 2018
What a great experience. Loved the helicopter ride, with fantastic views. The dogs were affectionate and fun. The ride itself was exhilarating. Could have been a little longer. Loved visiting the camp where the dogs and mushers stay.
Reviewer: Suzanne Roxburgh
5 Stars
Helicopter/dog sleg
August 13, 2018
Loved every minute. Staff were friendly and helpful, view were tremendous.
Reviewer: Mr C E Lewis
5 Stars
Amazing adventure
July 30, 2018
This excursion was the only thing that my daughter wanted for her birthday. Best gift idea- memories for a lifetime! This trip was amazing! I was a little nervous about the helicopter ride ahead of time. Once we were buckled in and took off, I was overwhelmed by the majestic views and breathtaking beautiful scenery! I never was anxious and could have stayed in the helicopter for hours! Then, we landed on the glacier, and the dogs were so cute and ready to run! During the sledding, I just tried to soak up every sight and sound because I’ve truly never been in such an amazing place! We rode for a while, stopped and rotated so everyone got a turn in each position on sled. Our guide, Meghan F. was wonderful! Then, we got to see and hold the puppies! We didn’t want to come down from the mountain because we loved everything about the dog camp and glacier views. I highly recommend this company and this adventure. It was well organized and I felt safe the entire time, and it was AMAZING!
Reviewer: Andrea J
5 Stars
Helicopter Dog Sledding
July 23, 2018
While my entire cruise experience was wonderful, riding with the dogs was the highlight for me. The excursion was great, as were all the staff and those working/training the dogs. I would just have loved for it to have been longer.
Reviewer: Carolyn Barnes
5 Stars
Great time
July 16, 2018
We had a fun experience riding in the helicopter, visiting the dog musher area and going dog sledding.
Reviewer: MaryBeth
4 Stars
Hot Dog!
July 09, 2018
The helicopter ride was great! The choppers appear to be in tip top shape and are very snappy looking machines. All other chopper pilots I’ve ridden with usually just talk about themselves in between scenery descriptions, and they are just so full of themselves, but not our pilot, he was all business and gave full narration of the area while flying to our destination. Once landed we were introduced to the ground team, then we took a very exciting dog sled ride along the glacier. Every ten minutes or so we would all change positions on the sled, some got to stand on the skids while riding while others sat. We loved it, the dogs loved it, and the crew loved it. It was a good air and found team and a great day.
Reviewer: Douglas Peters
5 Stars
Great experience 😃
July 09, 2018
We had an outstanding experience😃. The weather in early June was in the 60’s, sunny and as clear a day as you could get. Helicopter ride to the Herbert glacier for the dog sledding was awesome. We were able to fly over the snow covered mountain range was so scenic. Dog sledding was great. Digs were ready to go and the 6 week Pups were adorable. We were able to hold the pups. Costly experience but it is once in a lifetime thrill that you should not miss.
Reviewer: State of Maine resident
5 Stars
Glacier dog sledding
July 09, 2018
Helicopter Dog Sledding excursion was a wonderful experience for my kids. They loved the helo ride and the dog sledding across the glacier. the high light was playing with the to new puppies. Highly recommend .
Reviewer: James Dolan
5 Stars
Excellent guides
July 02, 2018
I was so impressed with the entire group of staff (from the pickup driver for the van) to the staff at the pre-Helicopter ride. There is a detail of what to wear that I wish they included in the payment information. They had a supply of cold weather jackets and snow boots which can fit over tennis shoes. I couldn’t say much more than it was the most incredible excursion my family and I ever had in Alaska!!! The staff at the site were amazing and so much fun.
Reviewer: Carla Wellbaum
5 Stars
Gorgeous day
July 02, 2018
Liked the helicopter ride as much as dog sledding. Fun to land on glacier. Dogs were funny to watch and meet.
Reviewer: Stacey Berardi
5 Stars
Costco Travel Shore Excursions better than cruises
August 24, 2017
Well organized. Staff was professional and well trained. This tour was actually 2 helicopter rides because you fly up to the dog sledding, then they fly you back down! I felt sorry for the dogs tho. A few looked cold.
Reviewer: Connie Borton
5 Stars
Helicopter Dog Sledding
July 20, 2017
Excellent experience. The guides were very informative and the dog sled ride was awesome. Helicopter ride was beautiful. A must experience if you visit Alaska!
Reviewer: Karen
5 Stars
Helicopter dog sledding
June 07, 2017
We loved it! Highlight of our trip. All staff were great. Would highly recommend.
Reviewer: Barbara Purrington
5 Stars
Unbelievable Experience
April 13, 2017
Start to finish was awesome, we were lucky enough our pilot landed on another glacier on the way back. Highly recommend this to anyone
Reviewer: Gary Chapman
5 Stars
Helicopter Dog Sled Excursion
November 27, 2016
Pricey - but definitely a ""once in a lifetime"" experience. Loved that you had boots that go over shoes for everyone. My kids (in 20's) thought this was the best excursion of our Alaska trip.
Reviewer: Theresa Bergman
5 Stars
Amazing Experience
November 24, 2016
Taking a helicopter ride and being with the dogs was truly an unforgettable experience. However, the pilot didn't really speak to us, explain what we were flying over or seeing and although the mushing was a fun experience, we really just went in one big circle. Glad we did this, just wished it was a little more wow especially for the price we paid.
Reviewer: R Haberman
4 Stars
Dog Sledding
November 22, 2016
We loved it! Our guide was great and we loved the dogs and enjoyed them so much. The guide took great care of us as we are eighty years old! The helicopter ride was fantastic!
Reviewer: John Olund
5 Stars
Helicopter Dog Sledding
November 12, 2016
It was definitely a good time!!!! I just wish the helicopter ride could have been longer and the dog sledding longer. I definitely felt safe and would do it again if I go back to Alaska.
Reviewer: Kimberly Wilkins
4 Stars
Helicopter Dog Sledding
November 08, 2016
This was an excellent excursion. I would recommend it to anyone. The helicopter pilot we had was fantastic and the sled dog team was also fantastic. It was one of the best excursion I took on our Alaska cruise.
Reviewer: Sherry
5 Stars
Helicopter Dog Sledding from Juneau
November 06, 2016
It was an excursion of a life time. We are so happy we decided to take the trip even though it was expensive. Our helicopter ride was terrific and so was the pilot. He explained all the things we were seeing. The dog sled ride was unforgettable. Our guide was so informative and friendly. We rode on the sleds and we also got to drive them!. Visiting with the dogs was another highlight of the trip. I would highly recommend this tour.! It was fantastic!
Reviewer: Mary Jane
5 Stars
The experience of a lifetime!
November 06, 2016
This was an amazing trip! We were picked up right at the cruise pier in a van. It was a little tight but the ride was about 15 minutes. We were taken to an office where we were weighed in our gear then fitted with glacier walking boots. They put us into groups for our helicopter ride to the glacier. The ride from the helicopter was awesome! The views spectacular! Our pilot was very kind, soothing to those who were a little frightened of the ride and very professional. Then the most awesome view of the glacier! Words cannot express the view of it from the helicopter! We were greeted by our sled driver and the dogs that would take us on the best sleigh ride of a lifetime! There were 4 people to a sled plus the driver. One rider stands at the back of the sled (if there are 4)the others sit. We rode about 30 minutes and made 3 stops to give the dogs a break and to play with them. What a day it was! Amazing!
Reviewer: Connie
5 Stars
The best experience
November 05, 2016
We arrived foe our flight at 10.15 only to be told the helicopters were not flying because of low cloud. We were devastated. But because this is a lovely small and personal operation they were able to move us to an afternoon slot. The sun came out and off we went. The people who booked via the boat did not get to go at all so we are so pleased we boomed with the private group via our travel agent.
Reviewer: Linda welsh
5 Stars
Once in a lifetime...
November 04, 2016
Great experience...picked us up on time at the port where ship was docked, shuttle minivan driver gave us a mini tour of Junaeu on way to the airport...helicopter ride was smooth, they only provided boots and no backpacks were allowed on helicopter...dog sledding was great!! We will never forget it!!
Reviewer: Louie
5 Stars
Helicopter Dog Sledding
August 26, 2016
Phenomenal; only wish both elements had been longer
Reviewer: Karen Palmer
5 Stars
Great experience
August 02, 2016
My family had a such good time. You have try it once in life
Reviewer: Pratima
5 Stars
Definitely worth the $$$$
June 01, 2016
We were so thrill to be the 1st group to ride on the dog sled! We were told that the day before was cold and raining and we brought in the sunshine!! so they just moved into this camp site. Helicopter ride took us through the glaciers and to the amazing snowy view. There were 12 dogs guiding through this amazing snowy trail.. Love love love them so much!
Reviewer: Crazypooh
5 Stars
Helicopter Dog Sledding
August 28, 2015
2 words - ABSOLUTELY AWESOME!!!! I am a big fan of the Iditarod anyway. Was supposed to do this 2 years ago, but our ship broke down in Ketchikan and we didn't make it to Juneau. I would do this again and again. Helicopter flight offered beautiful. scenery. Weather was sunny and not very cold. Our guide (Christopher) was so friendly and helpful. Holding the puppies was fun. The best part was being allowed to steer the sled and getting to be with these wonderful dogs. The experience of a lifetime and I'd encourage this to anyone who's thinking of doing it.
Reviewer: Iditarod Fanatic
5 Stars
Fantastic
August 04, 2015
One of a kind experience. Would do it again in a minute. Whole family loved it.
Reviewer: Jeanie
5 Stars
Best excursion ever! Great information, fun and be
July 14, 2015
The location was beautiful. The staff was fun, informative and friendly. So worth the money!
Reviewer: Me
5 Stars
Best Experience Ever
June 20, 2015
The sights in air and on ground were spectacular. Our guides were friendly and knowledgeable. Dog sledding is a once in a life time experience(slightly faster pace would have been more thrilling)and the dogs were adorable. Was a bit expensive, but would readily do it again!! Nothing else on our trip even came close! Better guidance on clothing needs may have helped decrease our packing needs, but weather change may make that difficult.
Reviewer: She
5 Stars
I would love to go on this adventure again and aga
June 10, 2015
from the very beginning the service and staff were great, prompt and interesting. We loved every moment of it.
Reviewer: Lotusbud
5 Stars
Spectacular Experience
June 01, 2015
This was a well organized excursion and the highlight of our ten day cruise. Everyone connected with the excursion was warm, friendly, professional and generous with their knowledge. Our mushing guide, Peter, was calm, expert and his love for his dog team made the adventure very special. Seeing first hand how much the dogs LOVE to run was eye opening. The ones not chosen for the team howled like their hearts were broken! We had a great time!
Reviewer: Cruisinpashmina
5 Stars
Most amazing excursion!
August 25, 2014
I took my 3 kids ages 7, 16, and 17 on this excursion. The smiles started when they saw the helicopter and didn't stop until we came back. The pilot was professional, personable and entertaining. The dog guides were genuinely interested in our family and making sure everyone had a fantastic time (which we did). Can't imagine anything better!
Reviewer: Skipal
5 Stars
Great Experience
August 02, 2014
Very well organized excursion
Reviewer: Sue
5 Stars
The greatest adventure !!!
July 31, 2014
We had the greatest experience in evry way you could Think ....
Reviewer: Lore
5 Stars
WOW! Adventure of a life time!
July 13, 2014
Thank you Shore Excursions for offering the best of the best! Coastal Helicopters and Blue Kennels provide excellent tours and amazing guides! Coastal staff picked us up at the cruise ship dock and was very organized. The drivers made sure all the guests were on board! When we arrived at the heliport, we were outfitted with glacier and dog sled gear! The staff was outstanding! Derrick Grimes, the Coastal Tour Manager, is a truly a professional guest ambassador of the tours! We choose the Extended Dog Sled tour which includes a landing on a lower glacier! Priceless experience! The weather was a light misty rain but it did not hamper the tour or the excitement of the adventure! When we arrived at Blue Kennels on Herbert Glacier, it was breath taking and so much fun! The staff is great! Eric who was our guide is an excellent musher and educator. The dog sled team is amazing! Eric introduced us to each of the dog athletes during photo-op shoots! While I was standing on rear sled all alone (of course Eric was in control), I drank in the majestic views 'living in the now.' Salt and Pepper, the official Blue Kennel puppy greeters, won our hearts! Coastal Helicopter pilot, Bill, is a superb professional pilot! We were treated like royalty! Bill choose the landing spot and we were the only ones on the glacier! His knowledge and experience ranks this tour off the charts! There are no words to express the beauty of the glacier! When we returned to the heliport, I met Sebastian Schnuelle who is a Yukon Quest first place winner and Iditarod Race 2nd place winner and owner of Blue Kennels!! Meeting one of Alaska's legends was an honor and the perfect ending of the tour! I did not want to leave! I recommend this tour as a close-up, personal adventure thanks to Coastal Helicopters and Blue Kennels!
Reviewer: Elaine the (rocking chair Musher
5 Stars
Experience of a lifetime!
June 15, 2014
This was a once in a lifetime experience & this excursion was the highlight of our cruise & landtour. Coastal helicopters are an excellent well run company, the pilot was fantastic & the dog sledding guide was brilliant, we really enjoyed riding in the sled basket also taking turns at driving a sled!
Reviewer: Mike B
5 Stars
Don't miss this awesome excursion!
October 04, 2013
Everything about this excursion was unbelieveable! The helicopter ride was a thrill and we saw breath-taking parts of Alaska we would not have otherwise seen. The actual dog sledding was fun and informative. Although too short a time (of course we wanted more!) , we had lots of time to ask questions and take pictures. They accomodated our family of 5 on one larger sled (also in one helicopter) so it was nice we could stay all together as a group. We each got to take turns ""driving"" the sled. We were really, really glad that we paid the extra money to go on the dog sledding excursion that took place on snow (vs on pavement). If you go to Alaska---you HAVE to do this excursion!
Reviewer: Jackie
5 Stars
Excellent adventure
September 08, 2013
This is a once in a lifetime experience. Everyone was so wonderful and friendly. The dogs are a delight. This is a MUST do!!!!
Reviewer: Courtney
5 Stars
AWESOME Experience
August 24, 2013
This excursion was truly a once in a lifetime experience!! Many thanks to Coastal Helicopter for working around some physical limitations. Even with a fear of heights, the helicopter ride was incredible!! Once at the site, a great job by AJ from Blue Kennels to work around limited mobility issues. The dog sled ride exceeded all expectations!! It was an all around fantastic experience!!!!!
Reviewer: Buckeye Rose
5 Stars
GREAT -best excursion ever!!!
August 10, 2013
The highlight of our trip. Would do it again!!! Had never been in a helicopter, but it was great. Beautiful view and just us and the dogs. This was Awesome. Words can not describe this excursion. If you get the chance DO NOT miss this one.
Reviewer: t-bird
5 Stars
A must do excursion
July 28, 2013
A must do for those that can afford it. Very memorable.
Reviewer: Tee it up Dav
5 Stars
Arrf! Arff!
July 17, 2013
Truly a once in a lifetime experience.
Reviewer: kittysons
5 Stars
Once in a lifetime experience
July 06, 2013
The helicopter rides and views were amazing! Getting to land on the glacier and go dogsledding was really cool. The pilot and dog sled guide were very knowledgable and made the trip even more enjoyable.
Reviewer: Alaska cruisers
5 Stars
Thrilling.
September 12, 2012
It was a lot of fun, everyone should do it at least once.
Reviewer: Sangitag
4 Stars
Exciting experience - one in a lifetime
August 01, 2012
From the get go we were providing with VIP service, a van picked us at the port and took us to the Heliport. The driver was extremely friendly and knowlegeable of his area. The Staff at the Heliport was nice as can be. The tour was very exciting, the helicopter ride breath taking... The experience on the glacier was fantastic, the dogs very friendly and the guides perfect. This is truly the experience of a lifetime and crossed it off my bucket list.
Reviewer: Michel Fort Lauderdale
5 Stars
1of the best shore excursions ever!
July 02, 2012
Our guide Eric was excellent. Don't let a fear of helicopters (which I have) hold you back from this once in a lifetime experience! One of the most peaceful, quiet moments I've experienced on earth on this galcier. (Once the dogs stopped barking that is!)
Reviewer: Laura the runner
5 Stars
Amazing day to remember forever
June 19, 2012
This was a once-in-a-lifetime experience that my kids and I will remember forever. It was an incredible experience and we loved that we were virtually alone- no crowds, no ""touristy"" feel- just us and the dogs and the snow. Amazing.
Reviewer: Happy traveler
5 Stars
Tour Rained Out- PROMPT Reimbursement
September 27, 2011
Our tour was rained out- however Shore Excursions were prompt in the reimbursement. The local tour company was the same contracted through the cruise ship however at a substancially lower cost.
Reviewer: I'd use them again
5 Stars
Best Excursion....Ever
August 29, 2011
Wonderful helicopter ride and dogsledding.... If you do a cruise to Alaska, don't miss this!
Reviewer: Martine the Traveler
5 Stars
The best excursion ever
August 23, 2011
This excursion was the best activity we participated in. The guides were very cordial and informative. If you are looking for a different adventure, this is the one.
Reviewer: Slickbo
5 Stars
AMAZING, BREATHTAKING - WORTH THE $
August 16, 2011
This excursion was amazing. We had my 4 year old son up to my 70 year old father in law and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. Our helicopter pilot was friendly and even gave my 4 year old the ear phones and speaker! The guides at the campsite were so knowlegable and friendly and answered any question we had. We got to drive the dog sled and stop to take pictures with the dogs - AMAZING!!!
Reviewer: Betsy the mom
5 Stars
Awesome!
July 13, 2011
This was one of the best experiences of the trip -- and my life! Had never been on a helicopter so the views were incredible, but the best part was the dog sledding -- AJ and Matt were terrific -- knowledgeable, friendly, and fun! And the dogs were just awesome. I'd do this again in a heartbeat!
Reviewer: KB from C
5 Stars
Would (without a question) do this again
June 29, 2011
Highlight of our trip!! Was so nice to see the mountains/glaciers from above - BEAUTIFUL! Loved experiencing DOGSLEDDING! Both the helicopter pilot and the dog-musher were really nice, took time to answer all our questions and didn't made us feel rushed. It was us and nature at it's finest!!
Reviewer: Cheryl
5 Stars
helicopter & dogsledding AWESOME!!!
June 24, 2011
Not to be missed
Reviewer: thrilled
5 Stars