Ketchikan Fishing Excursion
October 01, 2019
We did this excursion at the end of August 2019. It was the best fishing excursion we'd ever done, and would highly recommend Captain Dan. Since he's grown up in the area, he is very knowledgeable. All six of us on the boat caught our limit! It was a fun and relaxing time. If you're visiting Ketchikan and like to fish, this excursion is for you--just make sure you request Captain Dan!
Reviewer: M. Briggs
5 Stars
Fishing trip
October 01, 2019
Excellent trip with fish on in the first 10 minutes...Denny was very accommodating and helpful. Very convenient location right of the dock and fishing shortly there after.
Reviewer: Manuel Garcia
5 Stars
Good day in beautiful Alaska
September 24, 2019
Overall, a good trip. There was five of six passengers fishing. Only brought in three keepers. The captain worked hard to keep us fishing. My only complaints, the rear deck was too small for four adults, let alone six. And it was too expensive to ship your catch home. It was going to cost around $150.00 to process and ship two fish home.
Reviewer: William
4 Stars
Great Excursion!
September 22, 2019
Had a great time, caught our limit in fish and saw whales. Very professional operation.
Reviewer: Rayann Webster
5 Stars
Fantastic fishing trip
September 18, 2019
We had such a fantastic time! We caught fish, and Captain Dan was knowledgeable about the area and the fishing! We had such a good time, we will definitely consider another trip with Captain Dan! Thank you for helping us make some awesome memories.
Reviewer: Scott & Amy Dohmen
5 Stars
Great fishing
August 13, 2019
This was a great fishing trip. We were a little concerned because our ship had only five hours in port, but our guide, Dan picked us up at the dock and dropped us off right next to the ship. Dan also worked really hard to help us catch fish. Having 31 years of experience fishing Alaska really help. Everyone caught salmon.
Reviewer: John Shields
5 Stars
Salmon Fishing Excursion
July 19, 2019
Just great. Captain Nelson did an awesome job. We were fortunate to catch fish and afterwards he helped with the process of getting me connected with a processing company which shipped my catch back to Florida when my trip was over. I would highly recommend this excursion. Having done many fishing trips prior to this I’m sure any one at any experience level will find this well worth your time and expense.
Reviewer: Steve Farnsworth
5 Stars
Good time and good value
February 08, 2019
We thoroughly enjoyed our fishing trip. We were met near our dock, and escorted directly to the boat. Our captain was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. There were four of us fishing on the boat, so no crowds. We caught fish and enjoyed the scenery. We returned to the ship on schedule. We thought this was a good value and well-organized excursion, and definitely better than cruise line options. I wrote a full blog on this great trip, if you want more details: https://ourtravelcafe.com/salmon-fishing-alaska/
Reviewer: Dean Landeche
4 Stars
Fun Day fishing
September 17, 2018
Enjoyed our fishing adventure, captain of the boat was extremely experienced and we caught a large amount of fish
Reviewer: Meryl
5 Stars
Salmon fishing
August 20, 2018
Great trip. Captain was friendly and did his best to help us catch salmon. Recommend him for a good excursion.
Reviewer: Gary Buchanan
5 Stars
Salmon Fishing
August 13, 2018
This was a bucket list item and was a lot of fun. We had salmon mailed home and will enjoy eating it all year. The boatman was fun and was a bit frustrated since the salmon stopped biting about half way through the trip
Reviewer: Jeanne Cox
5 Stars
Very personal experience!
August 06, 2018
It was only my son and I fishing and we caught 3, but lost 4. We saw a couple orcas and a humpback surfaced 20 feet from the boat! Really exciting!
Reviewer: Jim Henderson
4 Stars
The best excursion ever!
July 23, 2018
This was by far the best excursion for me! Our captain was very knowledgeable and I felt safe always! Best of all, it was a small group and we caught a salmon! Great memory 😁
Reviewer: Jamie Bateman
5 Stars
Great Captain
July 23, 2018
Conditions weren't favorable, but the captain made certain that everyone had at least one fish. It looked like we were one of the more successful boats on the water. Truly amazing to be out there with the seals and eagles as well. Great trip!!
Reviewer: Joe Jones
5 Stars
Ketchikan Salmon Fishing
June 25, 2018
Had a great time. Captain Dan was a great choice for a guide. Enjoyed the excursion very much. Fishing weren't biting very well on our day out and only landed 1 King Salmon weighing in at around 10# but still had a great time. Views were amazing, Bald eagles everywhere and numerous whale sightings.
Reviewer: Jekejosh
5 Stars
Great experience
August 03, 2017
Our salmon fishing aboard a small boat was very memorable. The captain was very good at providing us with superb equipment and his knowledge was bar none. We would recommend him to anyone.
Reviewer: Albert Arellano
5 Stars
Salmon Fishing
July 14, 2017
This was one of the best fishing experiences I have had! Our Captain was WONDERFUL; Our boat was one of the first out that morning. There were only 5 of us ad within 2 hours we all had a great size Salmon. Our Captain was as excited as we were! So fun! Beautiful Day and we had the Salmon prepared and sent home! DELICIOUS! Wonderful job!!!
Reviewer: Craig Johnson
5 Stars
salmon fishing
July 04, 2017
It started out very slow, boring, needed to bring food on board, kids were hungry, and very bored and pretty miserable. But after 3.5 hours of nothing, not a hit, caught 3 king salmon, each one over 29 inches, was so exciting bringing them in and once we got home the salmon was delicious. Great excursion.
Reviewer: Teri Cadieux
5 Stars
Great Fishing Trip
July 04, 2017
The Salmon Fishing Adventure in Ketchikan, Alaska was excellent. The boat was right on time at the end of the cruise ship dock. The boat was clean, comfortable and well equipped with state of the art electronics and fishing gear. The captain was courteous and very knowledgeable. Everyone onboard caught their limit of King Salmon within two hours. I would book this trip again!!!
Reviewer: David Huffman
5 Stars
Salmon fishing in Alaska
June 19, 2017
What a fun and great time just to be fishing in Alaska for salmon. My husband and son had a great time fishing. They caught some awesome salmon and were pretty excited about that. None of the salmon were legal to keep but that's what the sport is all about. The memories will last a life time that were created. Would highly recommend this excursion to anyone considering fishing in Alaska. We will definitely do this same fishing excursion next time we come back to Alaska. Thanks again!!
Reviewer: Deb Inch
5 Stars
Salmon Fishing
August 18, 2016
I thought Al was a good guide but he could have given pointers to us how we could do better to catch the salmon. He explained how to fish and to watch the tip of the pole and keep it bent all the time. However, because we were all inexperienced fisherman, the excitement when the fish is biting and pulling at the pole, you just forget all what was said. If Al could suggest things that we forgot when fishing and point how we could or should have done to bring it in. He needs to constantly teach as we try to catch the fish. He only explained once and some suggestions but that wasn't enough help. I hope I can make it back. I had a lot of fun though I caught onli one salmon.
Reviewer: Warren Inaba
5 Stars
Great excursion for fishermen and nature lovers
August 18, 2016
We hoped just to catch one and see the look on our 9 year olds faces. Instead we got 20! Now we can relive the fun when we eat all the delicious salmon we shipped home. Beautiful bay with eagles and if you are lucky like us, whales too.
Reviewer: debbie gottschalk
5 Stars
Salmon Fisching Adventure
August 06, 2016
We had an incredible experience. Capt. Danny was professional, knowledgeable, and courteous. We were out for a little more than two hours and limited out on pink salmon with 24 fish in the cooler. Fished were processed and delivered to our house in WI with overnight shipping. We will definitely visit Danny again on our next trip to Alaska.
Reviewer: Dennis Webb
5 Stars
Ketichan Salmon Fishing
July 31, 2016
What a day! Personal experience with just our party of 5 and the captain. Picked us right up at the cruise ship. Captain worked with us as we were not fisherman -- great success. Caught three different kinds of salmon -- sent some home and still enjoying it.
Reviewer: Anonymous
5 Stars
Excellent
September 03, 2015
Well organized, great captain! I had a great time
Reviewer: Karenwheels
5 Stars
Caught 11 salmon!
July 28, 2015
Booked this for wife and 10 year old son in Ketchikan--kept expectations low, but was thrilled when they came back smiling about their catch. Looking forward to our processed filets and smoked salmon getting shipped to us this week.
Reviewer: quercus
5 Stars
BEST TIME WITH MY 11 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER
July 24, 2015
BEST TIME EVER
Reviewer: HAMMER HEAD
5 Stars
A catch of a lifetime
August 16, 2014
Our 7 year old grandchild had an experience of a life time and wants to do it again. The guide made the fishing adventure fun and successful. The boat was perfect for the outing
Reviewer: Bev
5 Stars
A ""bucket list"" must do!
August 14, 2013
We were escorting 82 and 83-year old parents, who decided that this salmon fishing adventure was without exception the standout highlight of their entire Alaska cruise/tour. Loved the fishing AND the eagle sightings.
Reviewer: Bob and Sue
5 Stars
What I would expect
July 08, 2013
I went with my husband & fishing is what he enjoys. While I'm not big on fishing, the scenery was beautiful & the local information was interesting. The more you catch, the more fun it is in my book and we only caught one, but that's fishing, right?
Reviewer: clhald
4 Stars
lots of fun
September 11, 2012
Great trip. Captain got a bald eagle to fly to the edge of the boat. Only 3 of us on the boat which gave us each a lot of room. Caught lots of salmon and had them processed and sent home. Each time i have some it reminds me of the trip.
Reviewer: steeler fan
4 Stars
We caught plenty of fish!
September 02, 2012
Fun trip
Reviewer: BG
4 Stars
Best Adventure Ever!
August 20, 2012
33 lbs of salmon shipped home. BEST salmon ever. You just don't see that color in the grocery store. And yummy delicious.
Reviewer: The traveling duo
5 Stars
Amazing Time!
July 11, 2012
It was a wonderful opportunity! The guide was great and took good care of us. We even got to keep the fish we caught and have it shipped home! The scenery was a huge plus as well!
Reviewer: Keeley
5 Stars
GOOD TIME
August 31, 2011
FISHING SENT FISH HOME EXCELLENT GUIDE HIS NAME WAS BOBBY I THINK.
Reviewer: Tim
5 Stars
Great fishing trip
August 03, 2011
[...]the fishing trip was great!!!!!
Reviewer: Dan
5 Stars