A great day out.
January 04, 2020
The various parts of this trip were all good but what made it great was the guide. He was a local guys born and bred in the area with great knowledge of the area, its history and particularly the Totem stories. AND he was amusing his stories were not dour and boring but funny as well as informative. It was a great day out.
Reviewer: Patrick D Bathe
5 Stars
native village
December 10, 2019
This was enjoyable and educational
Reviewer: Dan Campbell
5 Stars
Well worth the price!
November 19, 2019
Tour bus was small and very comfortable. The tour guide, who was also the driver, was a local, and very knowledgeable about the area and it's history. We disembarked the bus to see a number of local sights, including the pink salmon run in the middle of town.
Reviewer: Allen Vessels
4 Stars
GOOD TOUR
November 16, 2019
THE TOUR WAS VERY INTERESTING.
Reviewer: Dating Liu
4 Stars
Ketchikan City Tour
October 18, 2019
For first timers it really is a great way to see the city in a short amount of time without having to do all this research yourself on where to go. It is also difficult to beat this insiders perspective that the guides have, especially if they are locals that have been there since before statehood.
Reviewer: Angel Guevara
4 Stars
Ketchikan
October 14, 2019
Wonderful trip great guide
Reviewer: Bill Kostuk
5 Stars
Good tour
October 11, 2019
Guide was great, professional, funny and informative. Very good tour for the money value.
Reviewer: Sonja Milojkovic
4 Stars
Loved the City Tour and our Guide
October 05, 2019
The stop in Ketchikan only lasted 4 hours, I wish it would have lasted longer. The tour was great and our guide was very informative and concerned about his city. By the time our city tour was finished we barely had time to souvenir shop. Felt rushed and this cruise for us was all about relaxing and enjoying the trip.
Reviewer: Crosby Gest
5 Stars
print your confirmation?
October 02, 2019
We had an excellent tour and really enjoyed our guide. Unfortunately, the requirement of having a printed confirmation was very costly because we did not receive it until after we were away from home. We had to purchase internet on the ship in order to print it.
Reviewer: Marilyn Turner
4 Stars
City tour and totem village
October 02, 2019
We saw everything advertised but the trip was pretty cramped - 11 of us in a 12 person van with 4 long bench seats - difficult to get in and out as we made a lot of stops. We've been to Ketchikan many times but it was interesting to get out of town and see more of the countryside.
Reviewer: Jennifer
4 Stars
An ok tour
September 22, 2019
Ken was our guide and he was friendly and funny. The totems at Saxman village we’re interesting but I thought there would be more of a village than a few totem poles and a long house. It was fine, just not what I expected. We also saw a salmon ladder and a carver at work. He told us about the city but left us on our own to explore.
Reviewer: Karen Anderson
3 Stars
Totem poles impressive
September 22, 2019
Excellent tour guide, who showed us bald eagles and spawning salmon. The totem pole village was very well done. Could have skipped the first stop, seemed like a tourist trap.
Reviewer: Chris
4 Stars
Interesting historical city & native totem village
September 19, 2019
Our tour guide showed us so many different aspects of Ketchikan -- the history of the downtown and new/old shops. Watching the salmon run in the city's creek was fantastic! The totem village visit was so enlightening especially with the stories our guide told us. Our tour guide was so knowledgeable and humorous! Would definitely recommend this tour to everyone.
Reviewer: Mae Go
5 Stars
Great wildlife!!
September 17, 2019
We had a tour thru Ketchikan that took us to a museum type of place, then past in-town streams where we could watch the salmon run. Once out of town, we stopped at a stream and saw a bear that had been fishing. Unfortunately, we had less than 10 minutes at the totem poles because of the time we had taken at other spots and some of our group had to be back to catch their cruise ship boarding time. Suggest that less time be spent at the first stop and allow a little more time for the totem poles at the end! We really enjoyed our tour guide as he was native Alaskan!!
Reviewer: Katt
4 Stars
Very informative!
September 15, 2019
Loved all the totems! Our guide was funny & full of info. The gift shop was great too.Ketchikan tour was full of info & we returned later to shop.
Reviewer: Annette Burroughs
5 Stars
Excellent personal experience
September 12, 2019
The guide took sufficient time to drive around town explaining the history. Her bus offered basic stuff like hand sanitizer, some candy, and even phone charger for those want to juice up their smart phones...
Reviewer: Rajesh Srinivasan
5 Stars
Native Village
September 12, 2019
The tour guide was amazing. She really knew a lot and answered lots of questions. Just wish that there was more time at the village and maybe not as much at the other stops.
Reviewer: June Beattie
4 Stars
Ketchikan tour
September 11, 2019
It was interesting, especially the Saxman Native Village. Guide, Todd, was informative and a genuinely good bloke.
Reviewer: Bob and Janice Arnold
4 Stars
Simple and informative
September 10, 2019
Great way to get information on Ketchikan. In hindsight though, should of added the lumbar jack show because that looked fun. But it was a good tour and we’re happy to support the locals.
Reviewer: Terry Titherington
5 Stars
Saxman village and wildlife tour
September 09, 2019
Ken our tour leader was excellent. He took us outside the town of Ketchikan and showed us spawning salmon and happened upon a black bear feeding at a river. He was very interesting and a native person who is a great ambassador for his lands. Totem pole visit at Saxman was cut short due to time limits.
Reviewer: Ann Lysaght
5 Stars
Very Interesting Visit to Saxman Village
September 03, 2019
My granddaughter who is from Germany and I both enjoyed very much the tour of Ketchikan. We especially enjoyed to visit to Saxman Village and the information we learned from our guide who was very interesting & helpful.
Reviewer: Karen D Kersey
5 Stars
Ketchikan Tour
September 03, 2019
We had a great time on our tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and we learned a lot about the area and it’s history.
Reviewer: Suzanne Hanson
4 Stars
Mrs
August 31, 2019
Yes We enjoyed this. Guide was informative
Reviewer: Glenda Jean Templar
4 Stars
Worthwhile Tour
August 30, 2019
Loved going on the smaller vans vs the large buses. All aspects of the tour were very interesting & informative. I would recommend this tour. Guide was very informative.
Reviewer: Connie McLaughlin
5 Stars
Great learning experience
August 29, 2019
Was the best of all the excursions. Don't miss this one. Great guide.
Reviewer: Al Taglavore
5 Stars
Saxman Village and Ketchican City Tour
August 27, 2019
The fact that it was pouring rain during this excursion probably coloured my perspective of this tour. The tour guide was knowledgeable and pleasant. No wildlife was seen, which was a disappointment. The totem village was very interesting and learned some good historical facts.
Reviewer: Deb Detmold
3 Stars
Great tour!
August 27, 2019
Hats off to Ken, our knowledgeable and witty tour guide! We enjoyed a fun overview of Ketchikan with several stops, including the salmon hatchery. Ken willingly stopped for photo opportunities such as eagles on the side of the road. The totem poles were amazing!
Reviewer: Buck and Donna
5 Stars
Saxman Village and Ketchikan Tour
August 23, 2019
This tour is highly recommend. The minivan driver was both informative and detailed on history of the area. We visited the village and saw the totem poles. The guide dressed up in his native Indian clothes all complete with a wolf head gear, he explained all the symbolic carvings on each totem poles. We also stopped at the Ketchikan salmon Hatchery.
Reviewer: Shirish Desai
5 Stars
Interesting
August 23, 2019
This was a good overview tour. Bit disappointed with Saxman Native Village section as we had expected an actual village. Also the tour did not include going inside the meeting house. We were fortunate that another tour was not present so were able to see inside for a few minutes.
Reviewer: Kath Thomson
4 Stars
Saxman and Ketchikan Tour
August 22, 2019
We enjoyed the tour and the Saxman Village. We did need at least 20-30 minutes more in order to walk up and down from the lodge to the water to see all the totems. The tide pool location was gorgeous and the driver was entertaining.
Reviewer: Enders
4 Stars
Saxman
August 09, 2019
Good tour.
Reviewer: Bruce Martin
4 Stars
Delightful Tour
August 05, 2019
This was a great tour with a native Alaskan driver. It was so educational learning about the native cultural and seeing the many totem poles.
Reviewer: Dianne
5 Stars
My favorite
August 04, 2019
Best tour of the trip. Got to see a bear (safely) up close and bald eagles galore. We had a great native guide( Ken ,I think) . The guide was extremely knowledgeable and honest
Reviewer: Mark Binus
5 Stars
Totems
August 03, 2019
Excellent visit to a totem carving center and museum. Interesting facts and excellent opportunities for photos.
Reviewer: Carole McGraime
4 Stars
Saxman Native Village Ketchikan City Tour
August 02, 2019
A good cursory look at the area. The village itself was a little weak but the rest just fine for getting an idea of things.
Reviewer: George Shalhoub
5 Stars
Saxman village
August 02, 2019
I can’t remember the lady’s name (12 year old daughter, used to do white water rafting tours in Colorado) who guided our tour. She was like an old friend. Personable, funny, considerate, well spoken, excellent driving skills. She had an excellent grasp of the history, Neighborhoods and she took us to see eagles!! I know it as part of the tour but they were beautiful! Well done!
Reviewer: Karen Hanson
5 Stars
Saxman native village and Ketchikan city tour
July 31, 2019
Tour guide was excellent
Reviewer: Vanessa Lishman
5 Stars
Saxman Native Village
July 31, 2019
Appreciated that the tour guide was a local and not just a seasonal hire. Excellent information, but would have appreciated more info about Alaska natives and more time at the Native Village. Time spent at the end of tour was a little weak when visiting the center near the pier.
Reviewer: Maureen
4 Stars
Island tour
July 30, 2019
We totally enjoyed our tour of Ketchikan. Tammy was our tour guide and was very knowledgeable and a joy to listen to her stories. She brought us to a place where we saw over a dozen bald eagles eating fish on a beach, salmon run, a waterfall actually all over the island great experience!!!
Reviewer: Anne Parker
5 Stars
Great overview!
July 30, 2019
Loved this tour. Wonderful guide and a fun day all around.
Reviewer: D.J. Paris
5 Stars
Good tour!
July 25, 2019
We enjoyed the Saxman Village and saw 82 year old Nathan Jackson in action carving a totem pole. Went to Herring Cove and saw many bald eagles, sea otters, and a few salmon. City tour was informative and guide, Todd, did a great job
Reviewer: Jimmar
5 Stars
Our Ketchikan City and Beyond Tour
July 24, 2019
the tour was excellent, our tour guide was extremely experienced and knowledgeable and had interesting stories she shared. She went above and beyond going out of her way to try to show us a bear, and we did see one ! She took photos of our group and let us know about restaurants .
Reviewer: Kathleen Rakowski
5 Stars
excursion review
July 24, 2019
well worth the cost and very informative.
Reviewer: LEONARD J GADZINSKI
5 Stars
Saxman Native Village and Ketchikan City Tour
July 23, 2019
Outstanding. Would recommend (and have) to anyone. Very personable and knowledgable guide.
Reviewer: J.S.
5 Stars
Saxman Village
July 22, 2019
Excellent driver and Guide.Loved every minute of this. Loved drivers sense of humour. Best tour ever
Reviewer: Marion Whalan
5 Stars
Cruise
July 15, 2019
Excellent tour guide. Very knowledgeable.
Reviewer: Frank Palasek
5 Stars
Saxman Native Village and Ketchikan city tour
July 15, 2019
It was really fine tour. tour start exact in time, representative were on time. All including bue driver are very co-operative. I am satisfied with tour. Thank you.
Reviewer: KAMLESHKUMAR PATEL
5 Stars
Wax an Native Villahe and Ketchikan City Tour
July 12, 2019
Very enjoyable and interesting
Reviewer: Reta Berte
5 Stars
Saxman Native Village and Ketc City Tour
July 08, 2019
My wife and I had a enjoyed ourselves and had a wonderful time!
Reviewer: Morris Engram
5 Stars
Bus tour of Ketchikan
July 05, 2019
This was quite interesting. First to see how totems are carved and some local natural history exhibits. Next to herring Cove for possible sightings of bears - none but eagles and locally made jam. Back to Ketchikan to the Totem park and back to the downtown where we wandered Creek Street by ourselves. We were so lucky with the weather- no rain - as this can be a very wet place!.
Reviewer: Sarah Wood
4 Stars
Saxman Native Village and Ketchikan City Tour
July 04, 2019
Interesting.
Reviewer: yehuda azenkot
4 Stars
Sourdough Excursions
July 03, 2019
Ken was fabulous, I was in Ketchikan on 6/30/19 and he made our excursion wonderful for my mom and I. I could not recommend this excursion and especially Ken enough!
Reviewer: Matt D. - Milwaukee
5 Stars
Good
June 30, 2019
Good tour, we had a good time but it could be shorter. Little time to enjoy the totems and two laps around the town that do not make much sense and are waste of time
Reviewer: Tania
4 Stars
Saxman Native Village, Wildlife and Native Carving
June 30, 2019
We were privileged to have Norm, a Native Alaskan, as our guide. He taught us a wealth of information about Native Alaskan culture and history. He knew where to show us wildlife and native plants. We went to 2 places to learn about Native Alaskan carving. At the Saxman Native Village Norm dressed in full native regalia. Norm’s tour was our highlight of visiting Alaska.
Reviewer: Lynn Hancock
5 Stars
A great short excursion
June 30, 2019
Again, we liked being a small group and the use of small local operators. The guide had excellent local knowledge as he was born and had lived in the area all his life. Not only was he very knowledgeable but very funny with a host of local anecdotes and party tricks to keep us entertained. The city tour was more interesting than I had expected with lots of titbits of information from our guide. The trip out to Saxman Village was highly informative as the guide not only had a wealth of local knowledge but was well qualified to explain the totem poles and the symbols that had been carved in them … very interesting … plenty of photo opportunities. An excellent short excursion that I would highly recommend.
Reviewer: Patrick Bathe
5 Stars
Saxman native village and Ketchikan City tour
June 28, 2019
This was a fun tour -- I had no idea there was so much to see in this small town. We saw things that defined Ketchikan and made it a place people want to live. Todd was a well-informed guide who enjoyed his home town as much as we did. Enjoyed the totem poles too.
Reviewer: Linda Radtke
5 Stars
Ketchikan bus tour
June 25, 2019
Ken was an excellent guide and gave valuable local information. Not enough time at Saxman Village; need at least 30 minutes. Nice stop at end in local carving shop. Appreciated the multiple final drop off options.
Reviewer: Marcia beauchamp
5 Stars
Beautiful Scenery and Introduction to Totems
June 22, 2019
Ketchikan is on an island in SE Alaska, with a relatively mild climate. We made our way to several stops along the way to try to spot orcas, or, some whales. Turned out we were too early in the year. However, we did see some beautiful scenery and a waterfall, as well as a fish hatchery along a creek. The highlight, however, was the Saxman native village, where we were shown several totem poles that dated back to the 1890s. It is unusual to seem them survive that long as the wood used is soft and deteriorates. We were also taken to a native shop, where we were shown a totem carving in process, what the symbols mean (a large space between symbols indicates a significant event). Our guide was knowledgeable and a native of the Ketchikan area.
Reviewer: Richard Viglienzoni
4 Stars
Tour of Ketchikan
June 20, 2019
The tour guide may the trip interesting and informative. I enjoyed learning about the spruce trees. The bears eat the tip at certain times of the year when the fish are scarce. We tried some and they were sort of sweet. Also enjoyed the axemen show. It was good for some laughs as well as being entertaining.
Reviewer: Robert Whaley
5 Stars
Saxman Native Village and Ketchikan City Tour
June 19, 2019
Very informative tour guide. Saw many other items of interest during the tour. Would highly recommend this tour.
Reviewer: George Sesin
5 Stars
Great time!
June 19, 2019
Our tour guide Ken was excellent. We learned so many things and even got to stop at additional places because we were his last tour of the day. Highly recommend.
Reviewer: Christine Skaggs
5 Stars
Saxman village
June 16, 2019
I normally do not do shore excursions when I go on a cruise,glad I did this time,this driver was on the button,information was great,( can't remember what this ladies name ) thank you
Reviewer: Stew hooper
3 Stars
KITCHIKAN
June 10, 2019
Tour giude great
Reviewer: Vern CArroll
5 Stars
Ken was great!
June 09, 2019
We did this excursion. because my boyfriends dad really wanted to see totem poles...overall it was nice. Ken the guide was amazing very funny and knowledgeable.
Reviewer: LLA
4 Stars
leisure time in Ketchikan
June 08, 2019
great tour operation and nice tour guide. It's better to have more time at Saxman village. We even had no time to souvenir shop there. over all,it still worth a trip around the native town.
Reviewer: Laurence
4 Stars
Tour of Saxman Native Village and Ketchikan City T
June 06, 2019
Could of spent more time at the Saxman Native Village area. Co
Reviewer: Linda Ballard
4 Stars
Saxman
June 06, 2019
A very interesting and informative tour and a great tour guide.
Reviewer: Vivian Dowell
5 Stars
As above
June 03, 2019
The tour was described as three hours but we only were given two and a half hours. The native village was a self guided walk, without much commentary from the guide. We took a short ride through Ketchikan but I felt the tour was lacking in scope and should have been sold as a shorter excursion.
Reviewer: Louise Urbas
3 Stars
Shore Excursion Saxman & Ketchikan
June 03, 2019
Excellent tour .....great tour guide who was extremely knowledgeable & friendly & gave us lots of time to stop for picture-taking.....he was also interested in what people had to say & answered everyone’s questions.....absolutely fabulous weather too!
Reviewer: Beverley Belfer
5 Stars
Saxman & Ketchikan City Tour
June 02, 2019
The guide was very good. Right combination of humor and facts. Tour of town Interesting. Stop at Saxman Village a bit rushed. The last stop where canned fish and other items were for sale was nothing more than a way to get people to spend money. That detracted from the trip.
Reviewer: Rebecca Rhea
4 Stars
Native American Artwork - Must See
April 23, 2019
Went to tour pickup location, guide & bus waiting, on time departure. Guide took us around all the beautiful totem poles, explaining history of the poles & carvings on them, significance of each character on the pole. Colors were perfect. Saw professional pole carvers in action at their shops. Showed how special hand tools are used, how each carving was done, significance of their order on the pole. Incredible work So much history. Ketchikan is such a quaint city nestled in next to the green mountains. Guide pointed out special city sites, gave their history, stopped at one large stream where Salmon could be seen. Another stop had preserves, locally made food products. Selected some tasty ones to bring back. Very good tour of the area, Native American totem poles.
Reviewer: Ponciano S Amodo
5 Stars
Awesome Tour!
April 12, 2019
My family and I took this fabulous tour during our Alaskan cruise! It was the highlight of our trip! We were so thrilled to visit this wonderful city! I highly recommend this tour!
Reviewer: James Andrews
5 Stars
Ketchikan tour
November 07, 2018
Great tour and wonderful guide
Reviewer: Helen
5 Stars
Excellent tour
October 15, 2018
Our tour guide was fantastic!. The itinerary that Shore Excursion Group offered was interesting, informative, well organized, & fun. We especially enjoyed viewing the native totem poles & hearing about the local legends. We intend to book future tours with this superb company.
Reviewer: Edward D. Workley
5 Stars
First visit to Alaska
October 12, 2018
this was a good trip. Alaska's history is colorful and the tour gives an excellent story about what happened and how they are doing in today's modern world. We thoroughly enjoyed our driver's insights and humor.
Reviewer: Henry Pope
5 Stars
Wonderful experience
October 03, 2018
This tour is a great value for anyone who wants to use the services of Shore Excursions group. Definite 4.7.
Reviewer: Pamela/Washington
5 Stars
A good tour
October 01, 2018
Tammy was our guide who really was knowledgeable in regards to city. It was well narrated. There was not much wild life to be seen.
Reviewer: Arnold Miller
4 Stars
We loved Ketchikan
September 28, 2018
The weather was a little rainy, but Ketchikan is beautiful. The guide was very inform able on the history of this lovely town. The only complaint we have is the tour was rushed. We did not have time to really see anything. I would have loved to spend more time at the totem village instead of the time at the in town carvers business.
Reviewer: Kimberly Ohlms
4 Stars
Saxman Native Village & Ketchikan City Tour
September 28, 2018
Great Tour of a small village. Our guide was full of knowledge and expressed it clearly. Enjoyed this tour
Reviewer: Alfred De'Laney
5 Stars
Great
September 23, 2018
This was very informative, well narrated tour and we all really enjoyed it. Tour guy was great
Reviewer: Howe
4 Stars
Saxman
September 20, 2018
an excellent tour and tour guide. He tried many times to assist us in finding a bear, but it wasn't to be that day. Did see sea lions. Had a great time.
Reviewer: Susan Barnett
5 Stars
Ketchikan
September 20, 2018
Good tour with a very informative guide.
Reviewer: A. Taylor
5 Stars
Ketchikan
September 17, 2018
Bus driver was helpful in history of town and native tribes.
Reviewer: Ronald Hofstetter
4 Stars
Ketchikan Tour
September 17, 2018
Excellent tour guide! She is very knowledgeable & pleasant! Saw eagles, lots of salmons but no bear sighting😟
Reviewer: Paul Feng
4 Stars
Ketchikan city tour
September 17, 2018
thought perhaps would see some wildlife , seen a couple fish, TOTEM POOL tour was very interesting. Perhaps our timing was off to see wildlife.
Reviewer: Ryan E Labrie
3 Stars
local tour bus driver
September 10, 2018
The driver is what made this tour enjoyable. she was a local and gave humorous local stories that made the trip enjoyable.
Reviewer: Dale Stubblefield
5 Stars
Interesting excursion, and great tour guide
September 10, 2018
A very interesting cultural experience. Our tour guide was VERY informative and had a great sense of humour! Loved walking through Ketchikan after the tour, great place, great views!
Reviewer: Michel Morin
4 Stars
Saxman Native Village and Ketchikan City Tour
September 10, 2018
the excursion was ok.
Reviewer: Yi Chin
3 Stars
Exrcursion
September 03, 2018
Good tour found driver to be very informative. Very good value
Reviewer: Bryan Waldroff
4 Stars
Saxman Native Village and Ketchikan City Tour
September 02, 2018
Very knowledgeable bus driver/tour guide. Wish there had been more time at the Native Village and less time elsewhere.
Reviewer: V Braciale
3 Stars
Interesting and informative tour!
August 30, 2018
Tammie was our driver/guide--a wealth of knowledge and eager to share it with the group. Tour is best way to see Saxman Village as well as to get out of city and see wildlife (Tanya stopped often and pointed out sights as we drove). It was pouring rain, but she soldiered on leading the way! She even had several umbrellas for the 'unprepared'! The tour length also allows time to go back into the city for eating and shopping. There is a 'cultural' stop outside the town featuring a totem master carver with whom you could speak/ask questions, as well as sample (and purchase) salmon product. No pressure to buy, and plenty to sample!
Reviewer: Trip Barrett
5 Stars
Saxman Native Village
August 29, 2018
Wonderful excursion and great tour guide. Thank you. We would definitely book with Shore Excursions Group again.
Reviewer: Lisa
5 Stars
Ketchikan tour
August 27, 2018
It was a fun tour. The tour guide was very informative and entertaining. We saw a lot of bald eagles and had salmon jerky tasting. Saxman native village was very interesting. We had a great time.
Reviewer: Wenxian Wang
4 Stars
A good historical tour.
August 27, 2018
This was an interesting tour. It was extremely down home. Exploring the surrounding of the town and it's history make this trip worthwhile. There was some walking along a roadside. I found that strange, but the accompanying narration was good. The Saxman native village is a must see. We explored native carvings and their meanings.
Reviewer: Jessica Nieves
4 Stars
We enjoyed the excursion
August 27, 2018
We saw some very interesting sites - really enjoyed the totem poles in Saxman Village
Reviewer: Rita L Newell
5 Stars
Saxman Native Village and Ketchikan City Tour
August 20, 2018
Great tour!
Reviewer: Charlene Greb
5 Stars
Saxman Native Village and Ketchikan City Tour
August 13, 2018
The tour was perfect. We enjoyed the scenery and all the stops that were made. The guide was very informative and entertaining. No time was wasted and we got great pictures and information. This is a 5 star affordable tour. Well worth the time.
Reviewer: june babb
5 Stars
Very Informative
August 13, 2018
If you want a relaxed smaller tour this is a good one to go on. No rush and you learned interesting bits of information. Very relaxed.
Reviewer: Pam
4 Stars
Hike & See
August 06, 2018
We had a very good outing. Our tour guide was very informative and gave us information about the area. We saw lot of Salmon and also saw many bald Eagles diving for Herring. It was a fun trip.
Reviewer: Usha Soni
5 Stars
Saxman village and Ketchikan
August 06, 2018
Tour guide was very personable and I felt like we got areal feel for living in Ketchikan. Saxman village was a little bit short. Stopping in the studio of the carver was not too educational. Watching the eagles was informative.
Reviewer: Diane Young
5 Stars
Tammy
July 30, 2018
Tammy, our guide was very informative and funny. She was familiar with the area and the history.
Reviewer: Bill Trower
5 Stars
Great excursion
July 30, 2018
Had a terrific female guide who made the trip very informative and fun.
Reviewer: Beverly Taber
5 Stars
Waxman Native Village and Ketchikan City Tour
July 30, 2018
This was a fun tour. We had a great guide who was very knowledgeable.
Reviewer: Sharon Vasko
5 Stars
Ketchikan city tour
July 30, 2018
Good trip for the money. Good city information
Reviewer: Marcia
4 Stars
Awesome
July 23, 2018
Tammy had lots of information and we really enjoyed it. Saw a small deer and bald eagles along the way.
Reviewer: Lynn A Warner
5 Stars
ketchikan tour
July 23, 2018
awesome native guide. learned a lot!
Reviewer: Roberta Rivard
5 Stars
Saxman Native Village and City Tour of Ketchikan
July 23, 2018
We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable about Ketchikan and the surrounding area, and was very funny and entertaining. We got great pictures of Bald Eagles, as well as a large bear!
Reviewer: Mark Borngrebe
5 Stars
Great van view of town and history
July 16, 2018
We enjoyed learning about customs and traditions of the people who lived here. We also enjoyed learning about totem poles. The colors used, the symbols and meaning...it was all really interesting. So glad I brought my camera to get great shots of the eagles here. Beautiful. Salmon were not running in June yet, so we did not see salmon or bears.
Reviewer: Jacque
4 Stars
Ketchikan city tour
July 16, 2018
Best tour of cruise
Reviewer: Richard Feldman
5 Stars
Astonishing Saxman Village Tour
July 16, 2018
A tribal elder in full ceremonial robe and wolf headdress led my wife, my grandson, and me around Saxman Village. He was fabulous and gave us wonderful insights into the persevering and creative members of Saxman Village and into their totemic arts. We were the only ones on the tour, and when other tourists mobbed him with photo requests, he reminded them that he was conducting a tour for my family of three.
Reviewer: George Bause
5 Stars
No complaints
July 16, 2018
We enjoyed this tour. We thought it covered the sites as promised and was very informative and enjoyable.
Reviewer: Ken Schwartz
4 Stars
Worthwhile for sure
July 16, 2018
We were well pleased with this excursion. We saw eagles, seals, salmon, orcas,. We had a lovely tot em making demo and salmon tasting. We had an informative little hike through the trees at totem village. We felt that other cruisers were envious of our excursion.
Reviewer: Carla J Murray
5 Stars
Great tour
July 16, 2018
We took the Saxman Native Village and Ketchikan City Tour. 2 1/2 hours. Our guide, Ken, was a natural. He is a world-wind of information and experiences. He was knowledgeable and at times very humorous. While driving he told about salmon, bears, and cultural history of the Tlingit....him being a native. Although the salmon were not running in the hatchery, he gave us so much information. He was knowledgeable of all the totems at the Saxman Native Village and warned us about entering the gift shop as it can certainly draw you in. At at carving site, he threw portions of frozen fish up to at least a dozen eagles who flew so close to us for some great pictures. It was a very enjoyable tour.
Reviewer: Norma Meligonis
5 Stars
Bears & Eagles
July 09, 2018
Tour driver was excellent. He took us to a great place to see salmon, bears, and eagles.
Reviewer: Gary Kane
5 Stars
Totally happy with the tour!
July 09, 2018
Our tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable, she was very animated and made the tour enjoyable, we even saw a big black bear!
Reviewer: Edwin Henríquez
5 Stars
The best tour of the port stop package
July 09, 2018
This tour is definitely worth the money. Saw 15-20 bald eagles feeding up close, whales and lots of totems. This guide spends more time in whichever is best for the day, whale watching, eagle watching, bear watching, etc. Not just a boring ride waiting for something to happen, as this tour goes to where the action is for the day.
Reviewer: Mike
5 Stars
Saxman Native Village and Ketchikan City Tour
July 09, 2018
We arrived to a very hot sunny day😁. 26 Celsius which was awesome! Our tour guide was great. Ketchikan is such a beautiful place.
Reviewer: Lori Hildebrand
4 Stars
Interesting area, good tour...
July 03, 2018
Ketchikan is an interesting town and it would have been fun to just visit the shops where the cruise ships dock.There are numerous shops and stores with mementos for sale of course and different eateries and jewelry stores!!These are everywhere!The tour director was personable and informative and our group was small, which was good. We drove for quite awhile and got a taste of the area's wildlife habitat. Saxman Village was alive with totems and visitor's center.We specifically stopped at the water not far from the ship and witnessed bald eagles competing for frozen fish pieces being thrown into the water by our director.Also at a stop was a man doing carving and he spoke of his occupation...interesting. Salmon samples here also! Nice stop, good tour.
Reviewer: Mabel Twentey
3 Stars
Sac man Native Village and Jetchikan City Tour
July 02, 2018
Guide was excellent, one of the best we have had - extremely knowledgeable Saw plenty of things Comfortable coach
Reviewer: Bobbie smith
5 Stars
Excellent Tour
June 25, 2018
The Saxman Native Village and Ketchikan City Tour was an Excellent , Informational tour of Native Totems and provided insight into how they are carved by allowing us to tour workshops watching the master carvers at work, and providing history of the ancient totems located on the site.
Reviewer: Lona Morgan
4 Stars
Ketchikan
June 18, 2018
Had a great tour of the city and most of its 19 miles of paved roads. Wish we could have been there when the salmon were returning so we could have seen the fish and the bears. The totem poles and their descriptions we incredible. We enjoyed the trip and information very much.
Reviewer: Deanna and David Lantis
5 Stars
Interesting Tour with a "local"
June 11, 2018
Local guide had lived in the area for a long time so was able to make it very personal and informative. Only negative is that the Saxman Native Village portion did NOT include the inside look at the making of totems. That was an additional charge if you wanted to see that.
Reviewer: Randy Severs
4 Stars
Informaive and intesting tour
June 11, 2018
Started the tour with a well-organized gathering point. The tour guide, Ken, was a local native who was very well informed about the vicinity. He gave us a detailed history of the city and the local culture. Bus was comfortable and we could view the sites as we passed them. The final stop was at the Saxman Village. Here Ken gave us a dissertation about the totem poles and their significance in the native Indian life. Certainly enjoyed his approach to the tour and disposition.
Reviewer: DAVID WUELLNER
5 Stars
Good overview of Ketchikan
June 11, 2018
The driver/guide had lots of stories to tell and was very entertaining.
Reviewer: Helen
5 Stars
Awesome!
June 04, 2018
We were lucky to get a private tour, being the only couple in the shuttle. Our guide was very generous, giving lots of details on the city. We got to see him feed the eagles and we got incredible videos! I would go back anytime.
Reviewer: Nathalie
5 Stars
Shore Excursions
June 01, 2018
Our group of 8 had a great time. The driver / tour guide was very nice and friendly . We also took tours in Skagway and Ketchican,and the guides wher also fenominal. We will recomend SHORE EXCURSIONS to all our friends in the future. Very punctual and informative. Thank You for a great time.
Reviewer: Raul Ortega
5 Stars
Saxman native Village
February 20, 2018
A wonderful tour. tour director was very knowlegeable, courteous and friendly. they were able to retrive our bag that we had left on boeard the bus. would use your services again
Reviewer: Richard Kennett
5 Stars
Saxman Native Village and Ketchikan City Tour
October 25, 2017
Excellent tour
Reviewer: Vickie DeRouville
5 Stars
Saxman Native Village and Ketchikan City Tour
October 17, 2017
Really enjoyed this tour. Our guide David was very knowledgeable and friendly. Great stories of his culture and history of this area. I would highly recommend this tour. 🤗
Reviewer: Ruth-Anne McLeod
5 Stars
Ketchikan
October 16, 2017
Really interesting tour, very easy for people who are not able to move around too much. Tour guide was great, learn a lot about local life.
Reviewer: Jackie Golden
5 Stars
Saxman Native Village and Ketchikan Tour
October 16, 2017
Enjoyed the scenery and the knowledge of the driver. Stopped along the way to allow us to see different attractions and take photos.
Reviewer: Carol Smith
5 Stars
Ketchikan City Tour
October 16, 2017
We enjoyed this tour, Our tour guide was a native of Ketchikan and very knowledgeable about the area. It is a small tour on a comfortable vehicle. We would book with this company again if we return
Reviewer: Judy Wallace
5 Stars
Ketchican tour
October 07, 2017
Enjoyed seeing Saxman village and hearing about the history of the totem poles. Saw black bears form afar at the river so that was exciting. Would like to have seen more of the city.
Reviewer: Janet Roberts
4 Stars
saxman
October 06, 2017
very happy with the tour
Reviewer: rick
5 Stars
bus tour
October 03, 2017
It was a very nice excursion. Price was reasonable
Reviewer: Paula Flatley
4 Stars
Overall Good Tour
October 02, 2017
This tour was good. The guide was knowledgeable and we even had a chance to see a bear in the wild eating salmon.
Reviewer: Vince Montez
4 Stars
Saxman Native Village and Ketchikan City Tour
September 28, 2017
Great tour of Native Village and saw many totem poles . . and workers carving totem poles....Beautiful gift shop at Village . .
Reviewer: dorothy launius
4 Stars
great excursion
September 27, 2017
Our tour guide was Ken and he was great
Reviewer: Garry Leschyshyn
4 Stars
Native Tour Guide
September 25, 2017
The tour guide, being a Native, made this tour! He understood salmon, bears and bald eagles, all of which we saw in person--bear fishing for salmon, eagles eating the portion leftover by bear. Totem pole history and village history were colorfully discussed.
Reviewer: Saul Singer
5 Stars
Homegrown tour guide was wonderful
September 21, 2017
Our tour guide, David, was quite wonderful. He was raised in Saxman Village, so knew the history inside and out. He was also very funny! We had a great day with him, seeing a bear in the wild, many eagles, plus the Saxman Village totem poles and clan house. It was a highlight of our trip.
Reviewer: Elaine Ferguson
5 Stars
Ketchikan tour
September 21, 2017
We enjoyed our tour here, we arrived early for our scheduled tour, and were put on the one leaving right than which was good because we didn't have to wait in the rain. Tour guide was excellent, we saw a bear come out of the forest - the only one we saw while in Alaska.
Reviewer: AnnaMarie Jones
4 Stars
Saxman Village
September 09, 2017
Well our guide was funny and smart and gave us more than we expected!! He took us to a beautiful water fall, and we saw bears and eagles oh my!! The totem poles were magnificent. He explained everything we needed to know about them Well worth the prce
Reviewer: Lisa H
5 Stars
sax
September 09, 2017
very knowledgeable guide who made sure we had a maximally interesting and enjoyable excursion
Reviewer: dm
5 Stars
Learn from the natives
September 08, 2017
We had David as our driver and he filled our minds with great facts about Ketchikan and the Saxman Native Village. He set the ground rules - about being on time, and about listening and saving questions until the end. That worked out great. I had a wheelchair which my husband put in and out of the bus storage. Loved the view of the cub crossing the road as well as the deer and eagles. He paid his respects to the Veterans on board.
Reviewer: Deborah Mikota
5 Stars
Ketchikan
September 08, 2017
Very informative tour. Enjoyed the history and guide.
Reviewer: Gene
5 Stars
Ketuchikan
September 06, 2017
Our sightseeing trip was good, unfortunately not much time for us to explore more
Reviewer: HL Gowda
4 Stars
Bear
September 05, 2017
We had a great excursion and had our first bear siting The guide was local and I believe he added so much to the point xcursion and s understanding of the local culture
Reviewer: Beverley Trobaugh
5 Stars
Excellent Guide
September 01, 2017
Kind of hard to find, but nice tour with interesting information. Best of the ones we did.
Reviewer: Don Potter
4 Stars
saxman and Ketchikan
September 01, 2017
Driver friendly and informed. Saxman village was interesting. Really no Ketchikan tour. Basically a drive through.
Reviewer: Donald Lyons
4 Stars
Flavor of native tribes
August 31, 2017
Great trip. We particularly enjoyed the Saxman Native Village and stories from different tribes.
Reviewer: Sheldon Miller
5 Stars
Perfect non active tour
August 29, 2017
Our guide and bus driver was a very personable native Ketichikan guide.On the negative side, we waited almost an hour from the scheduled meet time, but it was a rare dry day. Saw bald eagles up close, beautiful streams and the Saxman Village carvings and carvers. Nice gift shop there.Back in town to see historic area. Found a salmon BBQ lunch.
Reviewer: SUSAN YEAW
4 Stars
Rainy Day
August 23, 2017
We had a rainy day in Ketchikan and the driver knew just where to pull over so we could try to see thru the totally fogged up windows. Really needed to be longer, especially at the totem village.
Reviewer: Dave Bunger
4 Stars
Saxman Native Village and Ketchikan City tiur
August 12, 2017
The tour was good but can be improved. No problem connecting with driver who provided lively commentary of indigenous information. First stop didn't appear to be anywhere in particular. Just beside a lake. Second stop was a village where many eagles a bear and salmon were seen. Talk on eagles was very interesting. Small area where jams and jellies could be tried and purchased. Next stop the native village. Beautifully carved totem poles and clan house. The driver was giving a fascinating talk on clan customs and parts of totem poles when he got distracted and told us to go take pictures and gave us a meet up time. It seemed like this part of the tour was cut short. Again a gift shop then back on the bus more indigenous commentary then back to Ketchikan which was basically shut down for any more shopping or looking around.
Reviewer: Pamela Budge
4 Stars
A good time was had by all.
August 11, 2017
It was a fun excursion. We saw a lot and our guide was knowledgeable and fun.
Reviewer: Paul Greenwald
4 Stars
A must tour
July 28, 2017
Great guide.Funny and very knowledgeable.Great time.
Reviewer: Kim Kerr
5 Stars
Totem Poles
July 21, 2017
My friend and I learned all about the history and making of totem poles. It was a really great experience.
Reviewer: Ida Tholen
5 Stars
Best Part of our Cruise
July 07, 2017
Our tour guide, david, a native Alaskan (for many generation) was outstanding and made our cruise memorable!!! My His discussion of the history of Ketchican and his tribe and the totems of Saxman villlage were the highlight of our cruise. I would happily repeat this excursion if David was our tour guide. Don't miss this excursion
Reviewer: Lloyd Qualls
5 Stars
Saxman & Ketchikan
July 06, 2017
No problem finding tour guide station. Tour was quite educational and timely. A very rainy day of tour.
Reviewer: Eunice Rivers
4 Stars
Great Tour
June 26, 2017
Our tour guide was amazing and took us to a lot of spots so we could view eagles which was near the Saxman Native Village. We even got to see Salmon hatchlings, seals and a bear (from a distance). She was very knowledgable about the history of the area so the tour was very enjoyable.
Reviewer: Judith Weisman
5 Stars
Excursion review
June 13, 2017
We experienced an excellent tour led by a very personable tour guide - David. The points of interest were well explained. Great experience!!
Reviewer: Dr. Robert F. Klindworth
5 Stars
Alaskan cruise
June 05, 2017
We had no trouble finding the departure point for our tour and our guide and driver Mary was very pleasant and knowledgable. The only disappointment was that upon arriving at the Saxman Village we were only able to look at the outside of the buildings, we assumed the tour included the performances taking place inside which we could hear but not see.
Reviewer: Narelle Phillips
4 Stars
Saxman village
December 15, 2016
I think our tour was combined with another tour as we really did not go on the advertised itinerary.Guide was very knowledgable and some parts very interesting.
Reviewer: Marvin Hastie
4 Stars
Saxman Village & Ketchikan City Tour
December 11, 2016
With all the things that took place before Ketchikan, being able to print our a copy of this tour on the ship was great. Our tour guide, a native of Kwtchikan, was great. He took extra time to explain the cultural differences of the native tribes in the area. The explanation of marriage between the tribes. The lengthy reasons for the height of the Totom poles, expecialy Abe Lincoln' short legs. This was truly the highlight of my trip.
Reviewer: Dolores Hu
5 Stars
Saxman Village/Ketchikan Tour
December 04, 2016
Our guide's knowledge of local culture and history was exemplary. He made the excursion meaningful with a mix of statistics and historical perspective. Highly recommend this tour.
Reviewer: VMartinez
5 Stars
Sad an village and Ketchican
December 03, 2016
Guide was knowlegable and very nice.
Reviewer: Patricia Fiedler
5 Stars
Saxman Native Village and Ketchikan City Tour
December 03, 2016
Very good guide
Reviewer: Joan Laharty
5 Stars
Very good
December 01, 2016
Nice day and the tour guide was very good. Very informative.
Reviewer: Debby Stamate
5 Stars
Salmon, Salmon and Black Bears ... Oh My!
November 26, 2016
Ketchikan was our last stop in Alaska and what a beautiful day! We had an amazing guide who took us to some of the best spots for sightseeing. We got to see all the salmon that call Ketchikan home, bald eagles and even black bears coming out for some breakfast or lunch! Definitely a day that will standout in our memories of Alaska for years to come!
Reviewer: Beth Stafford
5 Stars
Saxman Native Village and Ketchikan Tour
November 25, 2016
Great guide, Great Weather! Very beautiful trip all around and we really enjoyed the Saxman Native Village. Ketchikan is a great little city
Reviewer: Lisa Dembeck
5 Stars
Saxman/Ketchikan
November 22, 2016
My brother and I were the only members of the tour. The guide was very good and very well informed. It was an excellent and unexpectedly private tour.
Reviewer: Timothy McDonnell
5 Stars
Beautiful City
November 22, 2016
Justin was an excellent guide! Very knowledgeable and added in some humor for good fun. Very interesting tour about the history of this neck of the woods. I recommend it.
Reviewer: Jean
5 Stars
Fun Tour
November 19, 2016
We had a great tour guide! We stopped at a creek and saw our only bear and bald eagle during our whole time in Alaska. I'm thankful for that. The totem poles were interesting but I enjoyed the beautiful trees and grounds better. For me just driving through the countryside was so enjoyable.
Reviewer: Teresa Gutfeld
5 Stars
Saman Native Village and Ketchikan City Tour
November 13, 2016
Our guide, I believe his name was Justin, was excellent! The tour was exactly what we were looking for...facts from someone who has lived there for long enough to give the asides and scoops. I would highly recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Marilea Meder
5 Stars
Delightful Tour
November 03, 2016
Our tour guide/driver did an excellent job of pointing out the sites. We stopped a couple of times to see the eagles, see a beautiful waterfall, and pick salmonberries which just happened to be ripe. He also did a great job at the native village. Overall, a wonderful tour.
Reviewer: Anonymous
5 Stars
Smaller vans rather than the big busses great
November 01, 2016
Cruise line had a schedule change, so needed to call Shore Excursions while Cruise Line took care of that for their tour sales. But no worries, Shore Excursions already knew of change and were able to shift us to the next day. Smaller vans rather than the big busses other Cruise passengers took meant better parking, more time to explore at stops and felt more personal Great guide. Would choose Shore Excursions again.
Reviewer: Dean
5 Stars
bus tour
October 07, 2016
very informative and we enjoyed it very much weather was lovely.
Reviewer: jan curtis
4 Stars
Fantastic Guide
October 03, 2016
I was the only one on this trip as all the other customers did not show. It was rainy and I thought they would cancel but the guide/driver did the whole thing for just me and he was great. I enjoyed hearing the hIstory and stories. The rain dissapated. He really cared about me having a fantastic experience. Thumbs up!!!
Reviewer: Liz Young
5 Stars
We liked this tour
October 03, 2016
We enjoyed this tour. Saw salmon, bear, eagles and gorgeous scenery. Guide was knowledgeable and friendly. Totems were very interesting.
Reviewer: Bonnie Marcus
5 Stars
Saxman Native Village
September 28, 2016
This was a nice tour. Our driver was very knowledgeable and a local person. We had a chance to get off the bus and walk around the village and shop. We also were able to view salmon going up the creek.
Reviewer: JUDY MARROQUIN
4 Stars
nice :)
September 28, 2016
The best way to see a lot in a short time :)
Reviewer: Laura D.
4 Stars
My Least favorite Tour
September 28, 2016
This tour included some amazing totems and a good tour guide, however our ship arrived on a Sunday and the craftsmen were not at work. The totems seem to represent the entire village. Where did the people live before the gold rush? We were also treated to viewing some wildlife and attempting to view others.
Reviewer: Cynthia McVay
4 Stars
Personable tour
September 28, 2016
Ray, our tour guide, made this tour special since he was very personable and local resident all of his life. he did a great job explaining the town and local area.
Reviewer: Bruce Watson
5 Stars
Ketchikan city tour
September 13, 2016
Great tour guide with local info. Enjoyed very much.
Reviewer: Jim
4 Stars
Eagles and Totem Poles
September 13, 2016
Justin was a serious touch of the local color that we found refreshing. We had a couple of stops before return to Saxman Village and the number of Bald Eagles was incredible. We also enjoyed the historical information provided at Saxman Village regarding the Totem Poles.
Reviewer: Gene Heyer
4 Stars
Ketchikan/Saxman village
September 13, 2016
We had a terrific guide, name of David. I don't really recall much of Ketchikan itself but did enjoy the totem pole park in the village. I really expected to see more native life in action than what we saw.
Reviewer: Anne Bennett
4 Stars
tour
August 24, 2016
driver was very nice, very knowledgeable, tour was interesting
Reviewer: Linda Smith
4 Stars
good
August 21, 2016
enjoyed
Reviewer: Lynn and Charlotte Willhite
5 Stars
Totems the highlight of this tour
August 19, 2016
Very interesting tour and a terrific and informative guide.
Reviewer: Michele Kalaveras
5 Stars
Ketchikan tour
August 18, 2016
Enjoyed our short time in Ketchikan. Our guide was fun and knowledgeable. I'm glad we picked this tour to go on as the weather wasn't conducive to many of the other tours.
Reviewer: Marilou Tonkovich
5 Stars
awesome tour and guid
August 18, 2016
Justin was the best very knowledgable young man, we enjoyed his wealth of information on culture and history. Highly recommend. Thank you Justin
Reviewer: Karen Murray
5 Stars
Great
August 18, 2016
This was a wonderful excursion. Mary was an excellent guide. We saw spawning salmon, wild bears and beautiful eagles. The totem poles, and their history, were fascinating as well as educational. Had it not been for another family holding us up at every stop, buying food or being slow, we would have had more time to walk around browsing when the tour ended. Instead we had to rush back to the ship.
Reviewer: Carol Friedman
5 Stars
Saxman Native Village and Ketchikan City Tour
August 17, 2016
It was a V-E-R-Y LONG walk to the pick up point from the disembark area of the ship (in the rain). Not good directions for locating trip start. GOOD tour...GOOD driver.
Reviewer: Darlene Hykes
4 Stars
awesome
August 01, 2016
Justin was great. He has such a vast knowledge of the area.
Reviewer: Anonymous
5 Stars
Eagles and Eagles!
August 01, 2016
I enjoyed the scenery and history background during our drive to Saxman. We parked at our destination and observed 8-10 eagles on the beach catching fish. A short hike led us to a spot to observe bears. None appeared but we saw bear trails. The totem poles were a sight to see and hiking around the park was a pleasant and interesting experience.
Reviewer: Amy Jo Saccomano
5 Stars
Saxman Native Village
July 20, 2016
This tour was just fair for me. My husband thought it was good because he was interested in totem poles and the stories behind them. We saw many totem poles but just a building on hill that was replica of group house and a building with lots of windows which showed a 'shop' where craftsmen carve but no one was there. To see Dolly's house in Ketchikan, we had to leave the bus and then walk back to the ship. That was a long walk for us. It was just ok.
Reviewer: Kathie Jensen
4 Stars
Saxman village/ Ketchikan
July 19, 2016
Loved Ketchikan. Saxman village was not that great
Reviewer: Anonymous
4 Stars
First Excursion
June 05, 2016
Tour guide had lots of extra tidbits to tell us. He was interesting, friendly, answered our questions with authority, etc.
Reviewer: Janet
5 Stars
Very educational
May 27, 2016
Knowledgeable tour guide, we learned a wealth of information about totem poles.
Reviewer: Penguin
5 Stars
Very pleasing very informational
September 05, 2015
great tour for the money
Reviewer: RRR
4 Stars
Very Nice Tour
August 21, 2015
The guide was very informative and enjoyable. Only missing part was no bears! Saxxon Village was interesting and the stories were informative as well as funny. Didn't bother with Dolly's House...
Reviewer: AJ
4 Stars
Good quick tour
August 15, 2015
Although the city is small, our guide was very knowledgeable and provided a wealth of information. The Totem Pole Park was fascinating and certainly worth the trip.
Reviewer: Arlene
4 Stars
Saxman Native Village
August 13, 2015
I booked this tourbecause I found information about it in this years edition of Frommer's Easy Guide to Alaska Cruises The book says that a performance by the Cape Fox Dancers is included Dancers and that crafts people are sometimes on hand in the working sheds to demonstrate totem pole carving. There were no dancers and we were disappointed by that. The carvers were there but we were not allowed to go in even though people from other groups were. Now I see on the Saxman Tour site that this wasn't included in our tour. That was disappointing as we were looking forward to both those activities. We were given tickets to the Dolly House. We didn't know that was included, so that was a nice addition. However we did this tour as were we wanting to experience the First Nations culture and the Dolly House had nothing to do with this culture. We did see lots of bald eagles. That was great. Of course being Ketchikan it rained in the morning. the waterfall was lovely and the guide was very knowledgeable, especially when it came to information about the Totem Poles. I was fascinated to see trees that had the bark removed. It would be good if the guide talked about that as I discovered when I asked him that the 1st nations people remove the bark and weave with it. It would be good to include that information in the talk that he does. I was particularly interested because I am a weaver of Harakeke. (New Zealand flax) and this is a traditional form of weaving done by the indigenous people of Aotearoa New Zealand.
Reviewer: Dorothy, the Kiwi
4 Stars
good tour
August 12, 2015
great overview, lots to do in town
Reviewer: al
4 Stars
Ketchikan Tour very relaxing and informative
August 10, 2015
The city tour of Ketchikan, Alaska was very pleasant and informative with the accompanying trip to the Saxman Native Village presenting a great understanding of the intentions and complexities of Native American totem poles, illustrated with lots of them on display. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and willing to take us to areas where we could more easily see eagles and bears. Overall, it was a very pleasant excursion.
Reviewer: Ken the Traveler
4 Stars
great time
August 06, 2015
did not have waterproof rain coat and it rains there a ton. still enjoyed the history and the area. would go again
Reviewer: Marsie
4 Stars
Beautiful day with lots of eagles
August 03, 2015
At the stop at the village, the driver told us we could leave things on the bus and he'd lock it. I did just that, but he walked away and forgot to secure the bus. I went back and retrieved my purse and told him (privately) that the bus wasn't locked. He hurried back and when he returned, he told me that it WAS locked up--that I hadn't realized it. Not true--the door was wide open and he was way down the trail. Bad breach of security for customers.
Reviewer: Anescapeartist
4 Stars
Wonderful way to see and learn about Ketchikan
July 30, 2015
Our guide for this bus trip was so knowledgeable about the history of Ketchikan and the sights, interesting background information and the location of specific wildlife such as bears and eagles. A relaxing way to see the town and learn the history.
Reviewer: Martmullen
5 Stars
WOW
July 24, 2015
The guide was outstanding! He made the trip an unique experience. We loved it!
Reviewer: cheyl
5 Stars
totem poles
July 21, 2015
the tour guide,david, was a native tlinglit which added but when he talked about the totem poles unless you were right next to him I could not hear. many of the other guides were much better. That was very disappointing because I was really interested. jelly stop good bathroom break good
Reviewer: djr
4 Stars
Perfect blend of comfort and adventure
July 19, 2015
No longer can do walking tours so this was excellent, giving us the best of what we could do and not missing out on Alaska's wonders.
Reviewer: G and B
4 Stars
Enjoyable, entertaining tour
July 14, 2015
Great local guide, good stories, great attitude and personality. Really enjoyed it, thanks.
Reviewer: None
5 Stars
Support local tour guide service as this was one
July 08, 2015
Informative, great views and wildlife.
Reviewer: Mike
5 Stars
Very knowledgeable guide
July 06, 2015
Learn all about the native people and what the totem poles meanings are!!
Reviewer: Mike
4 Stars
A nice tour of Ketchikan
July 02, 2015
We enjoyed taking this tour of the area and especially the stop at Saxman Village.
Reviewer: Newaygo travelers
4 Stars
an Interesting excursion
July 01, 2015
The excursion met expectations, Dave was a very good guide
Reviewer: none
4 Stars
Native Guides are the Best!
June 25, 2015
We learned stories behind the totems from our native guide. Having someone who is part of the ethnic community really gives us insight into their history and how meaningful it is to maintain the cultural traditions. We enjoyed seeing the little town and then going back by foot to certain areas he highlighted.
Reviewer: Nancy
5 Stars
Very enjoyable tour!
June 25, 2015
Enjoyed the trip with a great native guide.
Reviewer: NancyP
4 Stars
A GREAT tour!
June 22, 2015
This was a great tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable.
Reviewer: Jo
5 Stars
I like it
June 19, 2015
I like it
Reviewer: I do not remember
4 Stars
Guide was good.
June 09, 2015
Awesome guide.
Reviewer: Dan
4 Stars
Good Tour Guide
June 07, 2015
Good size group Great Guide
Reviewer: Smitty
5 Stars
Great tour with lots of information...
June 06, 2015
I was amazed to find some negative reviews of this tour on-line. Our tour was well-organized, and our tour leader was a native of Ketchikan, charming and full of information about life in that area. The group was small and the tour was personal and a bit quirky...much different than some of the ""slicker""tours offered in the area...and much superior to them for us. We came away with lots of information about the totems and wildlife in the area and a great feeling of having seen the real Ketchikan.
Reviewer: wellstx
4 Stars
Awesome to get that close
June 04, 2015
Our guide was very, very good.His knowledge of the tour info and and area was very informative
Reviewer: the explorer
5 Stars
Touring Ketchikan
June 04, 2015
This was a great excursion. Went in not expecting much and was very happy with the tour. The guide was wonderful. Really knew his subject and presented his information with knowledge and humor.
Reviewer: Sweet Sal
5 Stars
The very best way to see the Saxman totem poles!
June 04, 2015
Native indian guide was actual resident of Saxman Village and shared his vast knowledge of their history and how it relates to the wonderful totems occupying the Village!
Reviewer: thehkbaileys
5 Stars
ketchikan/saxman
June 04, 2015
ok tour not as exciting as the other two
Reviewer: theresa
4 Stars
Great local flavor
June 02, 2015
Our guide made the trip worthwhile, telling local stories and legends.
Reviewer: Bob
4 Stars
saxman
May 28, 2015
great tour
Reviewer: rocky
5 Stars
Saxman Native Village is a bit misleadin
October 08, 2014
Guide invited us into his story. He was knowledgable and desirous to have group learn about the culture, and life in Ketchikan.
Reviewer: Ghost
5 Stars
More than we expected
October 02, 2014
Comfortable bus Mary was a very good guide
Reviewer: Gill
5 Stars
Super Excursion!!
September 17, 2014
A fantastic experience. Our tour guide was so informative and experienced.
Reviewer: Mike
5 Stars
Quick look at Ketchikan
August 27, 2014
Good value for the money, local guide.
Reviewer: Safmusic
4 Stars
Educational tour
August 07, 2014
Informative tour guide
Reviewer: mary
5 Stars
One of the best excursions
July 25, 2014
The tour started out a little slow but soon became one of the best excursions we had taken. Guide took extra time and had the most knowledge of any guide, on any excursion we had taken. Lasted longer than the advertised time because of the bear we stopped for along the highway. Driver did not have to stop but he did. We got some great pictures of the bear. Some might say it was just a bus tour but it was great. Would ride Jason anytime.
Reviewer: Wilbur
5 Stars
Bald eagles galore
July 25, 2014
We thought the guide was very good at his job. We liked the idea that he was a local. What we didn't like was that after getting off the ship in the pouring rain, there wasn't anyone there to meet us to get us out of the rain and onto the bus. We had to walk over 3/4 of a mile to get to where the bldg. was to get out of the rain. We asked everyone where the tour was and they said ""keep walking"" We were soaking wet and we had the right clothes including rain jackets too!
Reviewer: Travel guy
4 Stars
A highly recommended tour
June 01, 2014
The tour driver/guide was a local and was very passionate about the history of the area and it's people. He made the tour for us and was very knowledgable about the city, local area and the people native to the area and those that followed. He had no trouble answering questions and seemed to go to great lengths to ensure that all persons on the tour enjoyed the experience. This tour is highly recommended.
Reviewer: AnnetteB61
5 Stars
good knowledgable tour
October 11, 2013
no problems in any way from beginning to end
Reviewer: brummy
5 Stars
sleeper hit
October 02, 2013
tour guide was outstanding and crazy! stopped on bridge and watched salmon running upriver by the hundreds! Learned all about totems and their origins and tales. The town of Ketchikan is great, including the prepaid visit to Dolly's brothel!
Reviewer: Zman
4 Stars
Loved this tour!
October 01, 2013
Enjoyed learning about the culture. Our guide was wonderful. She was soooo much fun!
Reviewer: North to Alaska
4 Stars
Great fun and informative
September 25, 2013
This was our first excursion on the cruise and was good. It was well organized and friendly. The bus was comfortable. The travel book said we'd see a school house, but didn't.
Reviewer: M & M
4 Stars
good excursion
September 14, 2013
good educational experience
Reviewer: Santa Claus
4 Stars
nice scenery
September 01, 2013
beautiful area
Reviewer: DT
4 Stars
Outstanding Combo Tour!!
July 18, 2013
Excellent combination for a single trip - Totem poles, fudge, Dolly's House & David - my grand kids loved it all - so did I.
Reviewer: Gaga
5 Stars
It was perfect
June 30, 2013
Everything was good, always very friendly and nice Guide. The information was great and fun. Time well organized, easy to find, very small groups, individually. I can only recommend it
Reviewer: Marie
5 Stars
Ketchikan City Tour
April 23, 2013
During the trip, we saw salmons, eagles, and bears in their natural habit.
Reviewer: Elizabeth
5 Stars
Unique tour!
October 20, 2012
Great excursion with knowledgeable guide
Reviewer: Pig
4 Stars
quaint village
September 26, 2012
Good guide
Reviewer: jac
4 Stars
Convenient
September 03, 2012
I did this tour by myself while my husband was on a fishing excursion. The shuttle arrived right on time and was fully filled. The tour guide said he has lived in Alaska for several years and only locals are used as tour guides. So that way, I trusted he knew what he was talking about. Of course there are no guarantees of seeing wildlife, but we were able to see 3 bears in a stream. He let us off for pics, although my compact camera's zoom could only capture them as little black specs. It looked like there was a zipline directly above the bears, so those people got a real close up view. The totem poles stop was not long, but long enough. Directly off the cruise ship is the Visitors Center where you can book other shuttle stops pretty easily if you didn't reserve a tour in advance or if you want to go out and explore some more. You also get admission to Dolly's House museum. I took one step in, and stepped right out. It was a tight, crowded, tiny space filled with cigarette smoke.
Reviewer: wiwiwsu
4 Stars
Eagles within Reach
August 07, 2012
Local guide took 10 of us up close to where salmon swam, the hatchery, and even experience salmon jerky made by the guide. We were lucky to see a bear come down for his daily meal of salmon. Had a great time seeing the totem poles being made and preserved by the village. But the highlight of the trip were the eagles. Seeing a nest and to many eagles to count. They were everywhere and she knew exactly where to find them. Great time. Would do it again!
Reviewer: Charlie B
5 Stars
Good experience
July 20, 2012
very good tour guide.
Reviewer: Teresa
4 Stars
Headline says it all!
June 22, 2012
I was the only one on the tour so had very personalized service. That in itself is once in a lifetime. Beautiful scenery in addition to what was promised.
Reviewer: Leslie
5 Stars
Ray was wonderful. The personal touch.
June 15, 2012
Ray was wonderful Th personal touch added alot.
Reviewer: Sandy
5 Stars