5 StarsKetchikan tourNovember 07, 2018

Reviewer: Helen
Great tour and wonderful guide

5 StarsExcellent tourOctober 15, 2018

Reviewer: Edward D. Workley
Our tour guide was fantastic!. The itinerary that Shore Excursion Group offered was interesting, informative, well organized, & fun. We especially enjoyed viewing the native totem poles & hearing about the local legends. We intend to book future tours with this superb company.

5 StarsFirst visit to AlaskaOctober 12, 2018

Reviewer: Henry Pope
this was a good trip. Alaska's history is colorful and the tour gives an excellent story about what happened and how they are doing in today's modern world. We thoroughly enjoyed our driver's insights and humor.

5 StarsWonderful experienceOctober 03, 2018

Reviewer: Pamela/Washington
This tour is a great value for anyone who wants to use the services of Shore Excursions group. Definite 4.7.

4 StarsA good tourOctober 01, 2018

Reviewer: Arnold Miller
Tammy was our guide who really was knowledgeable in regards to city. It was well narrated. There was not much wild life to be seen.

4 StarsWe loved Ketchikan September 28, 2018

Reviewer: Kimberly Ohlms
The weather was a little rainy, but Ketchikan is beautiful. The guide was very inform able on the history of this lovely town. The only complaint we have is the tour was rushed. We did not have time to really see anything. I would have loved to spend more time at the totem village instead of the time at the in town carvers business.

5 StarsSaxman Native Village & Ketchikan City TourSeptember 28, 2018

Reviewer: Alfred De'Laney
Great Tour of a small village. Our guide was full of knowledge and expressed it clearly. Enjoyed this tour

4 StarsGreatSeptember 23, 2018

Reviewer: Howe
This was very informative, well narrated tour and we all really enjoyed it. Tour guy was great

5 StarsSaxmanSeptember 20, 2018

Reviewer: Susan Barnett
an excellent tour and tour guide. He tried many times to assist us in finding a bear, but it wasn't to be that day. Did see sea lions. Had a great time.

5 StarsKetchikanSeptember 20, 2018

Reviewer: A. Taylor
Good tour with a very informative guide.

4 StarsKetchikanSeptember 17, 2018

Reviewer: Ronald Hofstetter
Bus driver was helpful in history of town and native tribes.

4 StarsKetchikan TourSeptember 17, 2018

Reviewer: Paul Feng
Excellent tour guide! She is very knowledgeable & pleasant! Saw eagles, lots of salmons but no bear sighting😟

3 StarsKetchikan city tourSeptember 17, 2018

Reviewer: Ryan E Labrie
thought perhaps would see some wildlife , seen a couple fish, TOTEM POOL tour was very interesting. Perhaps our timing was off to see wildlife.

5 Starslocal tour bus driverSeptember 10, 2018

Reviewer: Dale Stubblefield
The driver is what made this tour enjoyable. she was a local and gave humorous local stories that made the trip enjoyable.

4 StarsInteresting excursion, and great tour guideSeptember 10, 2018

Reviewer: Michel Morin
A very interesting cultural experience. Our tour guide was VERY informative and had a great sense of humour! Loved walking through Ketchikan after the tour, great place, great views!

3 StarsSaxman Native Village and Ketchikan City Tour September 10, 2018

Reviewer: Yi Chin
the excursion was ok.

4 StarsExrcursionSeptember 03, 2018

Reviewer: Bryan Waldroff
Good tour found driver to be very informative. Very good value

3 Stars Saxman Native Village and Ketchikan City Tour September 02, 2018

Reviewer: V Braciale
Very knowledgeable bus driver/tour guide. Wish there had been more time at the Native Village and less time elsewhere.

5 StarsInteresting and informative tour!August 30, 2018

Reviewer: Trip Barrett
Tammie was our driver/guide--a wealth of knowledge and eager to share it with the group. Tour is best way to see Saxman Village as well as to get out of city and see wildlife (Tanya stopped often and pointed out sights as we drove). It was pouring rain, but she soldiered on leading the way! She even had several umbrellas for the 'unprepared'! The tour length also allows time to go back into the city for eating and shopping. There is a 'cultural' stop outside the town featuring a totem master carver with whom you could speak/ask questions, as well as sample (and purchase) salmon product. No pressure to buy, and plenty to sample!

5 StarsSaxman Native VillageAugust 29, 2018

Reviewer: Lisa
Wonderful excursion and great tour guide. Thank you. We would definitely book with Shore Excursions Group again.

4 StarsKetchikan tourAugust 27, 2018

Reviewer: Wenxian Wang
It was a fun tour. The tour guide was very informative and entertaining. We saw a lot of bald eagles and had salmon jerky tasting. Saxman native village was very interesting. We had a great time.

4 StarsA good historical tour.August 27, 2018

Reviewer: Jessica Nieves
This was an interesting tour. It was extremely down home. Exploring the surrounding of the town and it's history make this trip worthwhile. There was some walking along a roadside. I found that strange, but the accompanying narration was good. The Saxman native village is a must see. We explored native carvings and their meanings.

5 StarsWe enjoyed the excursionAugust 27, 2018

Reviewer: Rita L Newell
We saw some very interesting sites - really enjoyed the totem poles in Saxman Village

5 StarsSaxman Native Village and Ketchikan City Tour August 20, 2018

Reviewer: Charlene Greb
Great tour!

5 StarsSaxman Native Village and Ketchikan City TourAugust 13, 2018

Reviewer: june babb
The tour was perfect. We enjoyed the scenery and all the stops that were made. The guide was very informative and entertaining. No time was wasted and we got great pictures and information. This is a 5 star affordable tour. Well worth the time.

4 StarsVery InformativeAugust 13, 2018

Reviewer: Pam
If you want a relaxed smaller tour this is a good one to go on. No rush and you learned interesting bits of information. Very relaxed.

5 StarsHike & SeeAugust 06, 2018

Reviewer: Usha Soni
We had a very good outing. Our tour guide was very informative and gave us information about the area. We saw lot of Salmon and also saw many bald Eagles diving for Herring. It was a fun trip.

5 StarsSaxman village and KetchikanAugust 06, 2018

Reviewer: Diane Young
Tour guide was very personable and I felt like we got areal feel for living in Ketchikan. Saxman village was a little bit short. Stopping in the studio of the carver was not too educational. Watching the eagles was informative.

5 StarsTammyJuly 30, 2018

Reviewer: Bill Trower
Tammy, our guide was very informative and funny. She was familiar with the area and the history.

5 StarsGreat excursionJuly 30, 2018

Reviewer: Beverly Taber
Had a terrific female guide who made the trip very informative and fun.

5 StarsWaxman Native Village and Ketchikan City TourJuly 30, 2018

Reviewer: Sharon Vasko
This was a fun tour. We had a great guide who was very knowledgeable.

4 StarsKetchikan city tourJuly 30, 2018

Reviewer: Marcia
Good trip for the money. Good city information

5 StarsAwesomeJuly 23, 2018

Reviewer: Lynn A Warner
Tammy had lots of information and we really enjoyed it. Saw a small deer and bald eagles along the way.

5 Starsketchikan tourJuly 23, 2018

Reviewer: Roberta Rivard
awesome native guide. learned a lot!

5 StarsSaxman Native Village and City Tour of KetchikanJuly 23, 2018

Reviewer: Mark Borngrebe
We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable about Ketchikan and the surrounding area, and was very funny and entertaining. We got great pictures of Bald Eagles, as well as a large bear!

4 StarsGreat van view of town and historyJuly 16, 2018

Reviewer: Jacque
We enjoyed learning about customs and traditions of the people who lived here. We also enjoyed learning about totem poles. The colors used, the symbols and meaning...it was all really interesting. So glad I brought my camera to get great shots of the eagles here. Beautiful. Salmon were not running in June yet, so we did not see salmon or bears.

5 StarsKetchikan city tourJuly 16, 2018

Reviewer: Richard Feldman
Best tour of cruise

5 StarsAstonishing Saxman Village TourJuly 16, 2018

Reviewer: George Bause
A tribal elder in full ceremonial robe and wolf headdress led my wife, my grandson, and me around Saxman Village. He was fabulous and gave us wonderful insights into the persevering and creative members of Saxman Village and into their totemic arts. We were the only ones on the tour, and when other tourists mobbed him with photo requests, he reminded them that he was conducting a tour for my family of three.

4 StarsNo complaintsJuly 16, 2018

Reviewer: Ken Schwartz
We enjoyed this tour. We thought it covered the sites as promised and was very informative and enjoyable.

5 StarsWorthwhile for sureJuly 16, 2018

Reviewer: Carla J Murray
We were well pleased with this excursion. We saw eagles, seals, salmon, orcas,. We had a lovely tot em making demo and salmon tasting. We had an informative little hike through the trees at totem village. We felt that other cruisers were envious of our excursion.

5 StarsGreat tourJuly 16, 2018

Reviewer: Norma Meligonis
We took the Saxman Native Village and Ketchikan City Tour. 2 1/2 hours. Our guide, Ken, was a natural. He is a world-wind of information and experiences. He was knowledgeable and at times very humorous. While driving he told about salmon, bears, and cultural history of the Tlingit....him being a native. Although the salmon were not running in the hatchery, he gave us so much information. He was knowledgeable of all the totems at the Saxman Native Village and warned us about entering the gift shop as it can certainly draw you in. At at carving site, he threw portions of frozen fish up to at least a dozen eagles who flew so close to us for some great pictures. It was a very enjoyable tour.

5 StarsBears & EaglesJuly 09, 2018

Reviewer: Gary Kane
Tour driver was excellent. He took us to a great place to see salmon, bears, and eagles.

5 StarsTotally happy with the tour!July 09, 2018

Reviewer: Edwin HenrĂ­quez
Our tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable, she was very animated and made the tour enjoyable, we even saw a big black bear!

5 StarsThe best tour of the port stop packageJuly 09, 2018

Reviewer: Mike
This tour is definitely worth the money. Saw 15-20 bald eagles feeding up close, whales and lots of totems. This guide spends more time in whichever is best for the day, whale watching, eagle watching, bear watching, etc. Not just a boring ride waiting for something to happen, as this tour goes to where the action is for the day.

4 StarsSaxman Native Village and Ketchikan City TourJuly 09, 2018

Reviewer: Lori Hildebrand
We arrived to a very hot sunny day😁. 26 Celsius which was awesome! Our tour guide was great. Ketchikan is such a beautiful place.

3 StarsInteresting area, good tour...July 03, 2018

Reviewer: Mabel Twentey
Ketchikan is an interesting town and it would have been fun to just visit the shops where the cruise ships dock.There are numerous shops and stores with mementos for sale of course and different eateries and jewelry stores!!These are everywhere!The tour director was personable and informative and our group was small, which was good. We drove for quite awhile and got a taste of the area's wildlife habitat. Saxman Village was alive with totems and visitor's center.We specifically stopped at the water not far from the ship and witnessed bald eagles competing for frozen fish pieces being thrown into the water by our director.Also at a stop was a man doing carving and he spoke of his occupation...interesting. Salmon samples here also! Nice stop, good tour.

5 StarsSac man Native Village and Jetchikan City TourJuly 02, 2018

Reviewer: Bobbie smith
Guide was excellent, one of the best we have had - extremely knowledgeable Saw plenty of things Comfortable coach

4 StarsExcellent TourJune 25, 2018

Reviewer: Lona Morgan
The Saxman Native Village and Ketchikan City Tour was an Excellent , Informational tour of Native Totems and provided insight into how they are carved by allowing us to tour workshops watching the master carvers at work, and providing history of the ancient totems located on the site.

5 StarsKetchikanJune 18, 2018

Reviewer: Deanna and David Lantis
Had a great tour of the city and most of its 19 miles of paved roads. Wish we could have been there when the salmon were returning so we could have seen the fish and the bears. The totem poles and their descriptions we incredible. We enjoyed the trip and information very much.

4 StarsInteresting Tour with a "local"June 11, 2018

Reviewer: Randy Severs
Local guide had lived in the area for a long time so was able to make it very personal and informative. Only negative is that the Saxman Native Village portion did NOT include the inside look at the making of totems. That was an additional charge if you wanted to see that.

5 StarsInformaive and intesting tourJune 11, 2018

Reviewer: DAVID WUELLNER
Started the tour with a well-organized gathering point. The tour guide, Ken, was a local native who was very well informed about the vicinity. He gave us a detailed history of the city and the local culture. Bus was comfortable and we could view the sites as we passed them. The final stop was at the Saxman Village. Here Ken gave us a dissertation about the totem poles and their significance in the native Indian life. Certainly enjoyed his approach to the tour and disposition.

5 StarsGood overview of KetchikanJune 11, 2018

Reviewer: Helen
The driver/guide had lots of stories to tell and was very entertaining.

5 StarsAwesome!June 04, 2018

Reviewer: Nathalie
We were lucky to get a private tour, being the only couple in the shuttle. Our guide was very generous, giving lots of details on the city. We got to see him feed the eagles and we got incredible videos! I would go back anytime.

5 StarsOur tour guide Ken was fabulous! June 03, 2018

Reviewer: Ann Cullingham
Thanks so much to Ken and Sourdough tours for a fascinating fun and intimate tour of Ketchikan. But you should stay away from Vancouver's False Creek Expedia Cruise centre where we booked this tour and the whole cruise. Although the cruise and the Ketchikan tour were great, the False Creek cruise centre dropped the ball and left us stranded in Seward: they said they had booked our bus to Anchorage, but they had not; and when we found out we had no transport to the airport and appealed to them for help, they said we were on our own. It put a damper on an otherwise wonderful holiday

5 StarsShore ExcursionsJune 01, 2018

Reviewer: Raul Ortega
Our group of 8 had a great time. The driver / tour guide was very nice and friendly . We also took tours in Skagway and Ketchican,and the guides wher also fenominal. We will recomend SHORE EXCURSIONS to all our friends in the future. Very punctual and informative. Thank You for a great time.

5 StarsSaxman native VillageFebruary 20, 2018

Reviewer: Richard Kennett
A wonderful tour. tour director was very knowlegeable, courteous and friendly. they were able to retrive our bag that we had left on boeard the bus. would use your services again

5 StarsSaxman Native Village and Ketchikan City TourOctober 25, 2017

Reviewer: Vickie DeRouville
Excellent tour

5 StarsSaxman Native Village and Ketchikan City TourOctober 17, 2017

Reviewer: Ruth-Anne McLeod
Really enjoyed this tour. Our guide David was very knowledgeable and friendly. Great stories of his culture and history of this area. I would highly recommend this tour. 🤗

5 StarsKetchikanOctober 16, 2017

Reviewer: Jackie Golden
Really interesting tour, very easy for people who are not able to move around too much. Tour guide was great, learn a lot about local life.

5 StarsSaxman Native Village and Ketchikan TourOctober 16, 2017

Reviewer: Carol Smith
Enjoyed the scenery and the knowledge of the driver. Stopped along the way to allow us to see different attractions and take photos.

5 StarsKetchikan City TourOctober 16, 2017

Reviewer: Judy Wallace
We enjoyed this tour, Our tour guide was a native of Ketchikan and very knowledgeable about the area. It is a small tour on a comfortable vehicle. We would book with this company again if we return

4 StarsKetchican tourOctober 07, 2017

Reviewer: Janet Roberts
Enjoyed seeing Saxman village and hearing about the history of the totem poles. Saw black bears form afar at the river so that was exciting. Would like to have seen more of the city.

5 StarssaxmanOctober 06, 2017

Reviewer: rick
very happy with the tour

4 Starsbus tourOctober 03, 2017

Reviewer: Paula Flatley
It was a very nice excursion. Price was reasonable

4 StarsOverall Good TourOctober 02, 2017

Reviewer: Vince Montez
This tour was good. The guide was knowledgeable and we even had a chance to see a bear in the wild eating salmon.

4 StarsSaxman Native Village and Ketchikan City TourSeptember 28, 2017

Reviewer: dorothy launius
Great tour of Native Village and saw many totem poles . . and workers carving totem poles....Beautiful gift shop at Village . .

4 Starsgreat excursionSeptember 27, 2017

Reviewer: Garry Leschyshyn
Our tour guide was Ken and he was great

5 StarsNative Tour GuideSeptember 25, 2017

Reviewer: Saul Singer
The tour guide, being a Native, made this tour! He understood salmon, bears and bald eagles, all of which we saw in person--bear fishing for salmon, eagles eating the portion leftover by bear. Totem pole history and village history were colorfully discussed.

5 StarsHomegrown tour guide was wonderfulSeptember 21, 2017

Reviewer: Elaine Ferguson
Our tour guide, David, was quite wonderful. He was raised in Saxman Village, so knew the history inside and out. He was also very funny! We had a great day with him, seeing a bear in the wild, many eagles, plus the Saxman Village totem poles and clan house. It was a highlight of our trip.

4 StarsKetchikan tourSeptember 21, 2017

Reviewer: AnnaMarie Jones
We enjoyed our tour here, we arrived early for our scheduled tour, and were put on the one leaving right than which was good because we didn't have to wait in the rain. Tour guide was excellent, we saw a bear come out of the forest - the only one we saw while in Alaska.

5 StarsSaxman Village September 09, 2017

Reviewer: Lisa H
Well our guide was funny and smart and gave us more than we expected!! He took us to a beautiful water fall, and we saw bears and eagles oh my!! The totem poles were magnificent. He explained everything we needed to know about them Well worth the prce

5 StarssaxSeptember 09, 2017

Reviewer: dm
very knowledgeable guide who made sure we had a maximally interesting and enjoyable excursion

5 StarsLearn from the nativesSeptember 08, 2017

Reviewer: Deborah Mikota
We had David as our driver and he filled our minds with great facts about Ketchikan and the Saxman Native Village. He set the ground rules - about being on time, and about listening and saving questions until the end. That worked out great. I had a wheelchair which my husband put in and out of the bus storage. Loved the view of the cub crossing the road as well as the deer and eagles. He paid his respects to the Veterans on board.

5 StarsKetchikanSeptember 08, 2017

Reviewer: Gene
Very informative tour. Enjoyed the history and guide.

4 StarsKetuchikanSeptember 06, 2017

Reviewer: HL Gowda
Our sightseeing trip was good, unfortunately not much time for us to explore more

5 StarsBearSeptember 05, 2017

Reviewer: Beverley Trobaugh
We had a great excursion and had our first bear siting The guide was local and I believe he added so much to the point xcursion and s understanding of the local culture

4 StarsExcellent GuideSeptember 01, 2017

Reviewer: Don Potter
Kind of hard to find, but nice tour with interesting information. Best of the ones we did.

4 StarsSaxmanSeptember 01, 2017

Reviewer: Donald Lyons
Driver friendly and informed. Saxman village was interesting. Really no Ketchikan tour. Basically a drive through.

4 Stars saxman and Ketchikan September 01, 2017

Reviewer: Donald Lyons
Driver friendly and informed. Saxman village was interesting. Really no Ketchikan tour. Basically a drive through.

5 StarsFlavor of native tribesAugust 31, 2017

Reviewer: Sheldon Miller
Great trip. We particularly enjoyed the Saxman Native Village and stories from different tribes.

4 StarsPerfect non active tourAugust 29, 2017

Reviewer: SUSAN YEAW
Our guide and bus driver was a very personable native Ketichikan guide.On the negative side, we waited almost an hour from the scheduled meet time, but it was a rare dry day. Saw bald eagles up close, beautiful streams and the Saxman Village carvings and carvers. Nice gift shop there.Back in town to see historic area. Found a salmon BBQ lunch.

4 StarsRainy DayAugust 23, 2017

Reviewer: Dave Bunger
We had a rainy day in Ketchikan and the driver knew just where to pull over so we could try to see thru the totally fogged up windows. Really needed to be longer, especially at the totem village.

4 StarsSaxman Native Village and Ketchikan City tiurAugust 12, 2017

Reviewer: Pamela Budge
The tour was good but can be improved. No problem connecting with driver who provided lively commentary of indigenous information. First stop didn't appear to be anywhere in particular. Just beside a lake. Second stop was a village where many eagles a bear and salmon were seen. Talk on eagles was very interesting. Small area where jams and jellies could be tried and purchased. Next stop the native village. Beautifully carved totem poles and clan house. The driver was giving a fascinating talk on clan customs and parts of totem poles when he got distracted and told us to go take pictures and gave us a meet up time. It seemed like this part of the tour was cut short. Again a gift shop then back on the bus more indigenous commentary then back to Ketchikan which was basically shut down for any more shopping or looking around.

4 StarsA good time was had by all.August 11, 2017

Reviewer: Paul Greenwald
It was a fun excursion. We saw a lot and our guide was knowledgeable and fun.

4 StarsSaxman Native Village and Ketchikan City TourAugust 01, 2017

Reviewer: Garritt Wemekamp
Value for the money. Well rounded tour. Costco must have an excellent system for vetting the local tour operators! Well done! Even got to see a black bear fishing in a local stream!

5 StarsA must tourJuly 28, 2017

Reviewer: Kim Kerr
Great guide.Funny and very knowledgeable.Great time.

5 StarsTotem PolesJuly 21, 2017

Reviewer: Ida Tholen
My friend and I learned all about the history and making of totem poles. It was a really great experience.

5 StarsBest Part of our CruiseJuly 07, 2017

Reviewer: Lloyd Qualls
Our tour guide, david, a native Alaskan (for many generation) was outstanding and made our cruise memorable!!! My His discussion of the history of Ketchican and his tribe and the totems of Saxman villlage were the highlight of our cruise. I would happily repeat this excursion if David was our tour guide. Don't miss this excursion

4 Stars Saxman & Ketchikan July 06, 2017

Reviewer: Eunice Rivers
No problem finding tour guide station. Tour was quite educational and timely. A very rainy day of tour.

5 StarsGreat TourJune 26, 2017

Reviewer: Judith Weisman
Our tour guide was amazing and took us to a lot of spots so we could view eagles which was near the Saxman Native Village. We even got to see Salmon hatchlings, seals and a bear (from a distance). She was very knowledgable about the history of the area so the tour was very enjoyable.

4 StarsketchikanJune 23, 2017

Reviewer: Joann Sanders
it could have been more enjoyable if other people spoke english

5 StarsExcursion reviewJune 13, 2017

Reviewer: Dr. Robert F. Klindworth
We experienced an excellent tour led by a very personable tour guide - David. The points of interest were well explained. Great experience!!

4 StarsAlaskan cruiseJune 05, 2017

Reviewer: Narelle Phillips
We had no trouble finding the departure point for our tour and our guide and driver Mary was very pleasant and knowledgable. The only disappointment was that upon arriving at the Saxman Village we were only able to look at the outside of the buildings, we assumed the tour included the performances taking place inside which we could hear but not see.

4 StarsSaxman villageDecember 15, 2016

Reviewer: Marvin Hastie
I think our tour was combined with another tour as we really did not go on the advertised itinerary.Guide was very knowledgable and some parts very interesting.

5 StarsSaxman Village & Ketchikan City TourDecember 11, 2016

Reviewer: Dolores Hu
With all the things that took place before Ketchikan, being able to print our a copy of this tour on the ship was great. Our tour guide, a native of Kwtchikan, was great. He took extra time to explain the cultural differences of the native tribes in the area. The explanation of marriage between the tribes. The lengthy reasons for the height of the Totom poles, expecialy Abe Lincoln' short legs. This was truly the highlight of my trip.

5 StarsSaxman Village/Ketchikan TourDecember 04, 2016

Reviewer: VMartinez
Our guide's knowledge of local culture and history was exemplary. He made the excursion meaningful with a mix of statistics and historical perspective. Highly recommend this tour.

5 StarsSad an village and KetchicanDecember 03, 2016

Reviewer: Patricia Fiedler
Guide was knowlegable and very nice.

5 StarsSaxman Native Village and Ketchikan City TourDecember 03, 2016

Reviewer: Joan Laharty
Very good guide

5 StarsVery goodDecember 01, 2016

Reviewer: Debby Stamate
Nice day and the tour guide was very good. Very informative.

5 StarsSalmon, Salmon and Black Bears ... Oh My!November 26, 2016

Reviewer: Beth Stafford
Ketchikan was our last stop in Alaska and what a beautiful day! We had an amazing guide who took us to some of the best spots for sightseeing. We got to see all the salmon that call Ketchikan home, bald eagles and even black bears coming out for some breakfast or lunch! Definitely a day that will standout in our memories of Alaska for years to come!

5 StarsSaxman Native Village and Ketchikan TourNovember 25, 2016

Reviewer: Lisa Dembeck
Great guide, Great Weather! Very beautiful trip all around and we really enjoyed the Saxman Native Village. Ketchikan is a great little city

5 StarsSaxman/KetchikanNovember 22, 2016

Reviewer: Timothy McDonnell
My brother and I were the only members of the tour. The guide was very good and very well informed. It was an excellent and unexpectedly private tour.

5 StarsBeautiful CityNovember 22, 2016

Reviewer: Jean
Justin was an excellent guide! Very knowledgeable and added in some humor for good fun. Very interesting tour about the history of this neck of the woods. I recommend it.

5 StarsFun TourNovember 19, 2016

Reviewer: Teresa Gutfeld
We had a great tour guide! We stopped at a creek and saw our only bear and bald eagle during our whole time in Alaska. I'm thankful for that. The totem poles were interesting but I enjoyed the beautiful trees and grounds better. For me just driving through the countryside was so enjoyable.

5 StarsSaman Native Village and Ketchikan City TourNovember 13, 2016

Reviewer: Marilea Meder
Our guide, I believe his name was Justin, was excellent! The tour was exactly what we were looking for...facts from someone who has lived there for long enough to give the asides and scoops. I would highly recommend this tour.

5 StarsDelightful TourNovember 03, 2016

Reviewer: Anonymous
Our tour guide/driver did an excellent job of pointing out the sites. We stopped a couple of times to see the eagles, see a beautiful waterfall, and pick salmonberries which just happened to be ripe. He also did a great job at the native village. Overall, a wonderful tour.

5 StarsSmaller vans rather than the big busses greatNovember 01, 2016

Reviewer: Dean
Cruise line had a schedule change, so needed to call Shore Excursions while Cruise Line took care of that for their tour sales. But no worries, Shore Excursions already knew of change and were able to shift us to the next day. Smaller vans rather than the big busses other Cruise passengers took meant better parking, more time to explore at stops and felt more personal Great guide. Would choose Shore Excursions again.

4 Starsbus tourOctober 07, 2016

Reviewer: jan curtis
very informative and we enjoyed it very much weather was lovely.

5 StarsFantastic GuideOctober 03, 2016

Reviewer: Liz Young
I was the only one on this trip as all the other customers did not show. It was rainy and I thought they would cancel but the guide/driver did the whole thing for just me and he was great. I enjoyed hearing the hIstory and stories. The rain dissapated. He really cared about me having a fantastic experience. Thumbs up!!!

5 StarsWe liked this tourOctober 03, 2016

Reviewer: Bonnie Marcus
We enjoyed this tour. Saw salmon, bear, eagles and gorgeous scenery. Guide was knowledgeable and friendly. Totems were very interesting.

4 StarsSaxman Native VillageSeptember 28, 2016

Reviewer: JUDY MARROQUIN
This was a nice tour. Our driver was very knowledgeable and a local person. We had a chance to get off the bus and walk around the village and shop. We also were able to view salmon going up the creek.

4 Starsnice :)September 28, 2016

Reviewer: Laura D.
The best way to see a lot in a short time :)

4 StarsMy Least favorite TourSeptember 28, 2016

Reviewer: Cynthia McVay
This tour included some amazing totems and a good tour guide, however our ship arrived on a Sunday and the craftsmen were not at work. The totems seem to represent the entire village. Where did the people live before the gold rush? We were also treated to viewing some wildlife and attempting to view others.

5 StarsPersonable tourSeptember 28, 2016

Reviewer: Bruce Watson
Ray, our tour guide, made this tour special since he was very personable and local resident all of his life. he did a great job explaining the town and local area.

4 StarsKetchikan city tourSeptember 13, 2016

Reviewer: Jim
Great tour guide with local info. Enjoyed very much.

4 StarsEagles and Totem PolesSeptember 13, 2016

Reviewer: Gene Heyer
Justin was a serious touch of the local color that we found refreshing. We had a couple of stops before return to Saxman Village and the number of Bald Eagles was incredible. We also enjoyed the historical information provided at Saxman Village regarding the Totem Poles.

4 StarsKetchikan/Saxman villageSeptember 13, 2016

Reviewer: Anne Bennett
We had a terrific guide, name of David. I don't really recall much of Ketchikan itself but did enjoy the totem pole park in the village. I really expected to see more native life in action than what we saw.

4 StarstourAugust 24, 2016

Reviewer: Linda Smith
driver was very nice, very knowledgeable, tour was interesting

5 StarsgoodAugust 21, 2016

Reviewer: Lynn and Charlotte Willhite
enjoyed

5 StarsTotems the highlight of this tourAugust 19, 2016

Reviewer: Michele Kalaveras
Very interesting tour and a terrific and informative guide.

5 StarsKetchikan tourAugust 18, 2016

Reviewer: Marilou Tonkovich
Enjoyed our short time in Ketchikan. Our guide was fun and knowledgeable. I'm glad we picked this tour to go on as the weather wasn't conducive to many of the other tours.

5 Starsawesome tour and guidAugust 18, 2016

Reviewer: Karen Murray
Justin was the best very knowledgable young man, we enjoyed his wealth of information on culture and history. Highly recommend. Thank you Justin

5 StarsGreat August 18, 2016

Reviewer: Carol Friedman
This was a wonderful excursion. Mary was an excellent guide. We saw spawning salmon, wild bears and beautiful eagles. The totem poles, and their history, were fascinating as well as educational. Had it not been for another family holding us up at every stop, buying food or being slow, we would have had more time to walk around browsing when the tour ended. Instead we had to rush back to the ship.

4 StarsSaxman Native Village and Ketchikan City TourAugust 17, 2016

Reviewer: Darlene Hykes
It was a V-E-R-Y LONG walk to the pick up point from the disembark area of the ship (in the rain). Not good directions for locating trip start. GOOD tour...GOOD driver.

5 StarsawesomeAugust 01, 2016

Reviewer: Anonymous
Justin was great. He has such a vast knowledge of the area.

5 StarsEagles and Eagles!August 01, 2016

Reviewer: Amy Jo Saccomano
I enjoyed the scenery and history background during our drive to Saxman. We parked at our destination and observed 8-10 eagles on the beach catching fish. A short hike led us to a spot to observe bears. None appeared but we saw bear trails. The totem poles were a sight to see and hiking around the park was a pleasant and interesting experience.

4 StarsSaxman Native VillageJuly 20, 2016

Reviewer: Kathie Jensen
This tour was just fair for me. My husband thought it was good because he was interested in totem poles and the stories behind them. We saw many totem poles but just a building on hill that was replica of group house and a building with lots of windows which showed a 'shop' where craftsmen carve but no one was there. To see Dolly's house in Ketchikan, we had to leave the bus and then walk back to the ship. That was a long walk for us. It was just ok.

4 StarsSaxman village/ KetchikanJuly 19, 2016

Reviewer: Anonymous
Loved Ketchikan. Saxman village was not that great

4 StarsSaxman Native Village And Ketchikan City TourJune 08, 2016

Reviewer: none
No comment

5 StarsFirst ExcursionJune 05, 2016

Reviewer: Janet
Tour guide had lots of extra tidbits to tell us. He was interesting, friendly, answered our questions with authority, etc.

5 StarsVery educationalMay 27, 2016

Reviewer: Penguin
Knowledgeable tour guide, we learned a wealth of information about totem poles.

4 StarsVery pleasing very informationalSeptember 05, 2015

Reviewer: RRR
great tour for the money

4 StarsVery Nice TourAugust 21, 2015

Reviewer: AJ
The guide was very informative and enjoyable. Only missing part was no bears! Saxxon Village was interesting and the stories were informative as well as funny. Didn't bother with Dolly's House...

4 StarsGood quick tourAugust 15, 2015

Reviewer: Arlene
Although the city is small, our guide was very knowledgeable and provided a wealth of information. The Totem Pole Park was fascinating and certainly worth the trip.

4 StarsSaxman Native VillageAugust 13, 2015

Reviewer: Dorothy, the Kiwi
I booked this tourbecause I found information about it in this years edition of Frommer's Easy Guide to Alaska Cruises The book says that a performance by the Cape Fox Dancers is included Dancers and that crafts people are sometimes on hand in the working sheds to demonstrate totem pole carving. There were no dancers and we were disappointed by that. The carvers were there but we were not allowed to go in even though people from other groups were. Now I see on the Saxman Tour site that this wasn't included in our tour. That was disappointing as we were looking forward to both those activities. We were given tickets to the Dolly House. We didn't know that was included, so that was a nice addition. However we did this tour as were we wanting to experience the First Nations culture and the Dolly House had nothing to do with this culture. We did see lots of bald eagles. That was great. Of course being Ketchikan it rained in the morning. the waterfall was lovely and the guide was very knowledgeable, especially when it came to information about the Totem Poles. I was fascinated to see trees that had the bark removed. It would be good if the guide talked about that as I discovered when I asked him that the 1st nations people remove the bark and weave with it. It would be good to include that information in the talk that he does. I was particularly interested because I am a weaver of Harakeke. (New Zealand flax) and this is a traditional form of weaving done by the indigenous people of Aotearoa New Zealand.

4 Starsgood tourAugust 12, 2015

Reviewer: al
great overview, lots to do in town

4 StarsKetchikan Tour very relaxing and informativeAugust 10, 2015

Reviewer: Ken the Traveler
The city tour of Ketchikan, Alaska was very pleasant and informative with the accompanying trip to the Saxman Native Village presenting a great understanding of the intentions and complexities of Native American totem poles, illustrated with lots of them on display. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and willing to take us to areas where we could more easily see eagles and bears. Overall, it was a very pleasant excursion.

4 Starsgreat timeAugust 06, 2015

Reviewer: Marsie
did not have waterproof rain coat and it rains there a ton. still enjoyed the history and the area. would go again

4 StarsBeautiful day with lots of eaglesAugust 03, 2015

Reviewer: Anescapeartist
At the stop at the village, the driver told us we could leave things on the bus and he'd lock it. I did just that, but he walked away and forgot to secure the bus. I went back and retrieved my purse and told him (privately) that the bus wasn't locked. He hurried back and when he returned, he told me that it WAS locked up--that I hadn't realized it. Not true--the door was wide open and he was way down the trail. Bad breach of security for customers.

5 StarsWonderful way to see and learn about KetchikanJuly 30, 2015

Reviewer: Martmullen
Our guide for this bus trip was so knowledgeable about the history of Ketchikan and the sights, interesting background information and the location of specific wildlife such as bears and eagles. A relaxing way to see the town and learn the history.

5 StarsWOWJuly 24, 2015

Reviewer: cheyl
The guide was outstanding! He made the trip an unique experience. We loved it!

4 Starstotem polesJuly 21, 2015

Reviewer: djr
the tour guide,david, was a native tlinglit which added but when he talked about the totem poles unless you were right next to him I could not hear. many of the other guides were much better. That was very disappointing because I was really interested. jelly stop good bathroom break good

4 StarsPerfect blend of comfort and adventureJuly 19, 2015

Reviewer: G and B
No longer can do walking tours so this was excellent, giving us the best of what we could do and not missing out on Alaska's wonders.

5 StarsEnjoyable, entertaining tourJuly 14, 2015

Reviewer: None
Great local guide, good stories, great attitude and personality. Really enjoyed it, thanks.

5 StarsSupport local tour guide service as this was oneJuly 08, 2015

Reviewer: Mike
Informative, great views and wildlife.

4 StarsVery knowledgeable guideJuly 06, 2015

Reviewer: Mike
Learn all about the native people and what the totem poles meanings are!!

4 StarsA nice tour of KetchikanJuly 02, 2015

Reviewer: Newaygo travelers
We enjoyed taking this tour of the area and especially the stop at Saxman Village.

4 Starsan Interesting excursionJuly 01, 2015

Reviewer: none
The excursion met expectations, Dave was a very good guide

5 StarsNative Guides are the Best!June 25, 2015

Reviewer: Nancy
We learned stories behind the totems from our native guide. Having someone who is part of the ethnic community really gives us insight into their history and how meaningful it is to maintain the cultural traditions. We enjoyed seeing the little town and then going back by foot to certain areas he highlighted.

4 StarsVery enjoyable tour!June 25, 2015

Reviewer: NancyP
Enjoyed the trip with a great native guide.

5 StarsA GREAT tour!June 22, 2015

Reviewer: Jo
This was a great tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable.

4 StarsI like itJune 19, 2015

Reviewer: I do not remember
I like it

4 StarsGuide was good.June 09, 2015

Reviewer: Dan
Awesome guide.

5 StarsGood Tour GuideJune 07, 2015

Reviewer: Smitty
Good size group Great Guide

4 StarsGreat tour with lots of information...June 06, 2015

Reviewer: wellstx
I was amazed to find some negative reviews of this tour on-line. Our tour was well-organized, and our tour leader was a native of Ketchikan, charming and full of information about life in that area. The group was small and the tour was personal and a bit quirky...much different than some of the ""slicker""tours offered in the area...and much superior to them for us. We came away with lots of information about the totems and wildlife in the area and a great feeling of having seen the real Ketchikan.

5 StarsAwesome to get that closeJune 04, 2015

Reviewer: the explorer
Our guide was very, very good.His knowledge of the tour info and and area was very informative

5 StarsTouring KetchikanJune 04, 2015

Reviewer: Sweet Sal
This was a great excursion. Went in not expecting much and was very happy with the tour. The guide was wonderful. Really knew his subject and presented his information with knowledge and humor.

5 StarsThe very best way to see the Saxman totem poles!June 04, 2015

Reviewer: thehkbaileys
Native indian guide was actual resident of Saxman Village and shared his vast knowledge of their history and how it relates to the wonderful totems occupying the Village!

4 Starsketchikan/saxmanJune 04, 2015

Reviewer: theresa
ok tour not as exciting as the other two

4 StarsGreat local flavorJune 02, 2015

Reviewer: Bob
Our guide made the trip worthwhile, telling local stories and legends.

5 StarssaxmanMay 28, 2015

Reviewer: rocky
great tour

5 StarsSaxman Native Village is a bit misleadinOctober 08, 2014

Reviewer: Ghost
Guide invited us into his story. He was knowledgable and desirous to have group learn about the culture, and life in Ketchikan.

5 StarsMore than we expectedOctober 02, 2014

Reviewer: Gill
Comfortable bus Mary was a very good guide

5 StarsSuper Excursion!!September 17, 2014

Reviewer: Mike
A fantastic experience. Our tour guide was so informative and experienced.

4 StarsQuick look at KetchikanAugust 27, 2014

Reviewer: Safmusic
Good value for the money, local guide.

5 StarsEducational tourAugust 07, 2014

Reviewer: mary
Informative tour guide

5 StarsOne of the best excursionsJuly 25, 2014

Reviewer: Wilbur
The tour started out a little slow but soon became one of the best excursions we had taken. Guide took extra time and had the most knowledge of any guide, on any excursion we had taken. Lasted longer than the advertised time because of the bear we stopped for along the highway. Driver did not have to stop but he did. We got some great pictures of the bear. Some might say it was just a bus tour but it was great. Would ride Jason anytime.

4 StarsBald eagles galoreJuly 25, 2014

Reviewer: Travel guy
We thought the guide was very good at his job. We liked the idea that he was a local. What we didn't like was that after getting off the ship in the pouring rain, there wasn't anyone there to meet us to get us out of the rain and onto the bus. We had to walk over 3/4 of a mile to get to where the bldg. was to get out of the rain. We asked everyone where the tour was and they said ""keep walking"" We were soaking wet and we had the right clothes including rain jackets too!

5 StarsA highly recommended tourJune 01, 2014

Reviewer: AnnetteB61
The tour driver/guide was a local and was very passionate about the history of the area and it's people. He made the tour for us and was very knowledgable about the city, local area and the people native to the area and those that followed. He had no trouble answering questions and seemed to go to great lengths to ensure that all persons on the tour enjoyed the experience. This tour is highly recommended.

5 Starsgood knowledgable tourOctober 11, 2013

Reviewer: brummy
no problems in any way from beginning to end

4 Starssleeper hitOctober 02, 2013

Reviewer: Zman
tour guide was outstanding and crazy! stopped on bridge and watched salmon running upriver by the hundreds! Learned all about totems and their origins and tales. The town of Ketchikan is great, including the prepaid visit to Dolly's brothel!

4 StarsLoved this tour!October 01, 2013

Reviewer: North to Alaska
Enjoyed learning about the culture. Our guide was wonderful. She was soooo much fun!

4 StarsGreat fun and informativeSeptember 25, 2013

Reviewer: M & M
This was our first excursion on the cruise and was good. It was well organized and friendly. The bus was comfortable. The travel book said we'd see a school house, but didn't.

4 Starsgood excursionSeptember 14, 2013

Reviewer: Santa Claus
good educational experience

4 Starsnice scenerySeptember 01, 2013

Reviewer: DT
beautiful area

5 StarsOutstanding Combo Tour!!July 18, 2013

Reviewer: Gaga
Excellent combination for a single trip - Totem poles, fudge, Dolly's House & David - my grand kids loved it all - so did I.

5 StarsIt was perfectJune 30, 2013

Reviewer: Marie
Everything was good, always very friendly and nice Guide. The information was great and fun. Time well organized, easy to find, very small groups, individually. I can only recommend it

5 StarsKetchikan City TourApril 23, 2013

Reviewer: Elizabeth
During the trip, we saw salmons, eagles, and bears in their natural habit.

4 StarsUnique tour!October 20, 2012

Reviewer: Pig
Great excursion with knowledgeable guide

4 Starsquaint villageSeptember 26, 2012

Reviewer: jac
Good guide

4 StarsConvenientSeptember 03, 2012

Reviewer: wiwiwsu
I did this tour by myself while my husband was on a fishing excursion. The shuttle arrived right on time and was fully filled. The tour guide said he has lived in Alaska for several years and only locals are used as tour guides. So that way, I trusted he knew what he was talking about. Of course there are no guarantees of seeing wildlife, but we were able to see 3 bears in a stream. He let us off for pics, although my compact camera's zoom could only capture them as little black specs. It looked like there was a zipline directly above the bears, so those people got a real close up view. The totem poles stop was not long, but long enough. Directly off the cruise ship is the Visitors Center where you can book other shuttle stops pretty easily if you didn't reserve a tour in advance or if you want to go out and explore some more. You also get admission to Dolly's House museum. I took one step in, and stepped right out. It was a tight, crowded, tiny space filled with cigarette smoke.

5 StarsEagles within ReachAugust 07, 2012

Reviewer: Charlie B
Local guide took 10 of us up close to where salmon swam, the hatchery, and even experience salmon jerky made by the guide. We were lucky to see a bear come down for his daily meal of salmon. Had a great time seeing the totem poles being made and preserved by the village. But the highlight of the trip were the eagles. Seeing a nest and to many eagles to count. They were everywhere and she knew exactly where to find them. Great time. Would do it again!

4 StarsGood experienceJuly 20, 2012

Reviewer: Teresa
very good tour guide.

5 StarsHeadline says it all!June 22, 2012

Reviewer: Leslie
I was the only one on the tour so had very personalized service. That in itself is once in a lifetime. Beautiful scenery in addition to what was promised.

5 StarsRay was wonderful. The personal touch.June 15, 2012

Reviewer: Sandy
Ray was wonderful Th personal touch added alot.