The quiet of the waters as a whale played
August 31, 2018
The highlight of the week was sitting in the boat with our guide and my young grandson as the inlet waters lapped at our Zodiac, a Bald Eagle solemnly gazed about, and a whale whooshed around and we could hear his snorts and breaths. And the Sun finally blazed in contrast to the grey fog of past days.
Reviewer: Mei Sun Li
5 Stars
Boatman
August 13, 2018
The day started with great weather. Clear sunshine, 70 degrees. Flawless and courteous execution by the staff. There were animals on the trip, but the highlight was when a pod of humpbacks surfaced within 10-20 feet around our boats (boats were shutdown). It was majestic. Even had we not seen the whales, this excursion will be a repeat upon pur return.
Reviewer: Larry Rehmann
5 Stars
Unbelievable Day
July 09, 2018
Two years ago we booked a similar adventure and loved it. The best parts was the ability to drive our own boat and having a small group. So when we booked this tour we had big expectations. Fortunately, fate smiled upon us and our guide Trevyn. Our adventure started slowly and with a rainy outlook as we left the docks. Trevyn cranked up the pace after a bit as we kept our eyes peeled for bald eagles, seals and whales. we found some seals sunbathing on rocks, saw several eagles perched on trees, went close to shore and saw starfish in their natural habitat and enjoyed the open air on our faces. It was great being on the water and having the Zodiac to ourselves. After awhile we got incredibly lucky and discovered a pod of whales. We shut off our boats and watched with awe as they fed in bubble pods. As the whales continued to feed they moved closer to our boats and at one point we were only 35 yards from watching them feed. It was AMAZING and our best shore excursion of the trip.
Reviewer: Marlyn Hanson
5 Stars
great excursion of the area
August 12, 2016
Great fun! Enjoyed talking with the bus driver, Sue, and our guide, Greg. The dry suits kept us dry and warm. Saw lots of eagles, seals from a distance, and small birds that are cousins to penguins. Scenery was fantastic, tranquil and beautiful. we were the only two on the excursion this time and we were to have our own zodiac. However, since I haven't driven one, we asked the guide to come on ours and had a personally guided tour. Greg was a great narrator of what we saw, including some waterfalls and even a submarine training area. All in all great fun. My wife and I agree we would do it again!
Reviewer: Cesar
5 Stars
Great excursion
August 02, 2016
Only two of us booked, so we had our guide, Billy, all to ourselves. He was very nice and knowledgeable. We saw eagles, seals, and a humpback close up! Plus, driving your own boat was fun.
Reviewer: Travis Atkins
5 Stars
Best excursion we had!
July 31, 2016
What an enjoyable way to spend an afternoon! This excursion allowed us to get away from the crowds and relax in a very unique way on the ocean. We even shut off the engines to just float and watch a whale. We highly recommend this tour!
Reviewer: The Kelleys
5 Stars
zodiac tour
July 19, 2016
Awesome...Billy was so personable and professional...by chance we spent time, engines off, as a hump back whale enjoyed the cove we were in---priceless...my favorite excursion. would love to come back to Ketchikan Marie
Reviewer: marie l tarango
5 Stars
Exciting
September 06, 2015
We could've spent longer out. We could've spent longer out more time out
Reviewer: Alex
5 Stars
Eagles all over, unbeatable scenary and whales too
June 09, 2015
The guides knew their boating and the area. They made the trip fun and showed us the best spots to see the wildlife. Getting out on the water in small boats was one of the highlights of our 2 week trip. We would love to have had a longer time out with the boats!
Reviewer: Eagle eyed boaters
5 Stars
Fun with boats!
September 01, 2014
Great fun! Saw lots of eagles. Only a few seals from a distance. Scenery was fantastic . The dry suits kept us dry and warm. Enjoyed talking with the bus driver and our guide. There were four people in our boat. Only two had a chance to drive. Might have been more fun if there was an option for only two per boat. All in all great fun. My wife and I agree we would do it again!
Reviewer: Bubba
4 Stars
Incredible excursion!!
July 31, 2014
I almost do not want to write this review, because I want to keep it my little secret. It is the best kept secret out there. There was only 3 of us on this excursion so it was like our private excursion. The guide, Ethan, was awesome. He gave us ideas of what we were able to do and then let us decide. He lead us through the water ways expertly and did a great job explaining the different foliage and wildlife in the area. He was thoughtful, humorous, and friendly. He made us feel like we were family. To top off our trip, we were able to spot a humpback whale, swimming in our vicinity. Just a super awesome excursion.
Reviewer: Sue the Cruise Director
5 Stars
outstanding
July 26, 2014
n/a
Reviewer: imkennyg
5 Stars
Great excursion with GREAT scenery
September 17, 2013
Guide was very experienced and fun
Reviewer: Your Pal Al
5 Stars
small group great ride
August 22, 2013
This was a small group and that was a very good thing. We had a beautiful day, a great ride and beautiful scenery.
Reviewer: LL
5 Stars