Hike and Float
October 04, 2019
Great excursion ... Guide was great and the excursion met my expectations.
Reviewer: Sam Manfer
5 Stars
Hike and float
September 25, 2019
Our guide, Joe was awesome. Informative, knowledgeable and funny. The weather was perfect. We dressed in layers and the hike was strenuous enough that we worked up a sweat and we were definitely overdressed. The float was a nice way to sit back, cool down and enjoy the scenery.
Reviewer: Sandy
5 Stars
Excellent Tour
September 02, 2019
A fantastic guide that immersed us in the gold rush history. We had just been to Seattle, so hiking the Chilikot trail was a perfect segue. The float portion was beautiful and relaxing and allowed us to take some great pictures.
Reviewer: Claudia Brown
5 Stars
Klondike Gold Rush Experience
September 01, 2019
Meeting up with our guide at the port went smoothly even with all the activity. Our guide, Ryan, provided a very good tour/history of Scagway. The hike on the Chilhoot Trail was a bit strenuous at first, but flattened out after the first mile. The float down the river was very relaxing with lots of eagles.
Reviewer: Walter G Smith
5 Stars
Great Experience
August 17, 2019
It was a great hike with spectacular views as well as a very knowledgeable/experienced and fun tour guide. The float was great with amazing views of the glaciers. Great experience and highly recommended!
Reviewer: Priya Mehta
5 Stars
Fantastic experience
July 16, 2019
Our guide Owen was knowledgeable, personable, and fun! The hike was moderately challenging but doable for someone in average physical condition. The float was gorgeous.
Reviewer: Anne Marie
5 Stars
Professional and informative
July 15, 2019
Becca was absolutely amazing. Very knowledgeable about all the plants on the hike and excellent job steering the raft the river float.
Reviewer: Alan Chesterman
5 Stars
Loved the hike!
July 15, 2019
The hike was really good! I wished we would turn around and go back to do it again. It's not completely flat so it is a hike and the area is beautiful. The float just that - a float. It's not too exciting. I could have skipped that.
Reviewer: Robin Jackson
4 Stars
Great Time!
June 17, 2019
My mom and I had a great time during our hike and float. Lot's of great information with a great guide! Definitely recommend.
Reviewer: Mandy Ciarrocki
5 Stars
Scenic hike and float in Shagway 5 star
November 12, 2018
We really enjoyed the hike and our guide was fantastic . He was funny and informative about the area . The float was fun and beautiful scenery . On our hike the other group saw 2 bears ! I would recommend the excursion for sure .
Reviewer: Nancy Norton
5 Stars
Scenic hike and float
August 27, 2018
Guide was very informative and careful of our safety on the hike. We enjoyed the hike but it was more stressful than we expected. Would have worn hiking boots! Scenery was gorgeous and the float was a gentle experience in the wild.
Reviewer: suzanne roxburgh
4 Stars
Nature hike
August 20, 2018
Very nice trail, guide very nice and very cautious. Trail not to extreme but not for children under 10. Nice soft float. didn't see any fauna.
Reviewer: Jorge Garcia Segovia
4 Stars
Scenic Hike and Float
August 06, 2018
The hike was beautiful, our guide was really well versed in the nature, flora and fauna and obviously loved it all. Very enjoyable!
Reviewer: Shawne Blair
5 Stars
Would do it again today!
July 30, 2018
I LOVED my experience on this hike and float. My brother and I were with a small group of six people which was the perfect size. We were led by Becca (I think that was her name!) and she was a lively and knowledgeable young lady whom I thoroughly enjoyed as our guide. The hike had a few steep parts but it was still a fairly easy hike for me though I wouldn't recommend it for people with knee or hip issues, it may be too challenging. There was a little mud, so be prepared for that, and there are mosquitoes who were very hungry (one even got me through the leg of my pants!). Use the restroom before the hike begins otherwise your will have to use the “facili-trees”. The float was relaxing with stunning views. I would definitely go again!
Reviewer: Casey King
5 Stars
Awesome hike and float
July 30, 2018
Was my favorite excursion. Our guide was knowledgeable and very friendly. He answered all our questions. The hike was so enjoyable. We had time to rest and take in the beautiful scenery. The float was relaxing and we saw several eagles. Would recommend to everyone who enjoys nature.
Reviewer: LaVon
5 Stars
A Great Day
July 30, 2018
While the hike was certainly challenging, it was worth the effort once we hit the river and started our float. It was a great day to be on the river and our guide Ryan as awesome. As noted in the description of the excursion, this is a challenging hike with rocks and tree roots in the path. We would do it again!
Reviewer: Greg Ryer
5 Stars
Beautiful scenery
July 23, 2018
The tour allowed us to see part of Alaska that you could not see otherwise. The hike was awesome but more rigorous than I thought. I was fine but so glad I did not bring my husband who has some heart problems. On the other hand, the floating down the river part was very calm and could have handled more excitement. Nonetheless, it was beautiful scenery! The tour guide was very knowledgeable and could answer all of our questions.
Reviewer: Jamie Bateman
4 Stars
Scenic Hike and Float
July 23, 2018
Our guide was great! She knew a lot about the area and the plants and had a really great positive attitude. There was a couple on the hike who were not so able-bodied. She was very patient with them, super helpful, and never let it take away from her interactions with the rest of us as well. The scenery was just beautiful. The hike was moderate and the river float was really calm and peaceful. The overall reservation process, finding our guides, from start to finish was a positive experience. I was a bit nervous to book an excursion outside of the cruise line, but I will do it again for sure!
Reviewer: Karyn
5 Stars
Fantastic adventure for our family
July 16, 2018
We went on the scenic hike and float in Skagway with our 16,14,11 and 7 year olds. Sam was very fun and informative. Everything was organized, they had equipment ready and we did not waste any time. The price was reasonable even for a family of 6. I would definitely recommend going on this excursion!
Reviewer: Kelly Carroll
5 Stars
Hike and raft in Skagway Ak
June 25, 2018
Excellent, Becca our tour guide was great. The weather was perfect. The hike may be difficult and risky if you are not accustomed to a rough up and down hill terrain.Rafting was relaxing and very safe
Reviewer: John milas
5 Stars
Fabulous tour
May 27, 2018
We booked this tour because my wife's grandfather had been part of the gold rush and had hiked the Chilkoot Trail. We met our guide, Rebecca, and she was full of knowledge about the area as we took the forty or so minute drive to the trail. Along the 3 km trail we stopped to look at the flowers and other interesting things. The trail is steep and rocky for the first km and I would advise potential participants to have good shoes and be in reasonably good condition. Balance can be a bit of an issue. The walk continued down to a forest floor. At the end of the trail, we got into a raft and had a bit of a safety lesson. Wow, could Rebecca ever handle the raft as the wind was now a factor and even with the current, she had to work hard to keep us on track. The ride back to the ship had her give us more information. Highly recommend this tour to anyone interested in learning something about the gold rush and the Chilkoot Trail along with experiencing a small part of the trail itself.
Reviewer: Bob Cotter
5 Stars
Scenic hike and float
September 28, 2017
Our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful! The hike was a bit of a challenge for me but I made it! The float down the river was fun too!
Reviewer: Jackie Posluszny
5 Stars
Great two excursions in one
September 21, 2017
For those looking for some exercise and to see nature, this is a great excursion. A walk through a rain forest, then a gentle float trip back down the river. The guide was great and very knowledgeable of the vegetation and the area. We counted 10 different eagle sightings on the float.
Reviewer: Steve B
5 Stars
Beautiful Hike
September 18, 2017
The tour guide was a local and was very knowledgeable. We had an enjoyable time and the scenery was incredible.
Reviewer: Monique Beikman
5 Stars
Young kids liked it
September 07, 2017
We went with our 7 year old son and nearly 10 year old daughter. Our kids loved the float portion of the excursion. We saw lots of bald eagles. The hike was nice and we didn't get too wet even though it was raining. We just wish the tour guide was more experienced and knowledgeable.
Reviewer: Pam Lam
4 Stars
Wonderful, beautiful!
August 30, 2017
I was hesitant to go on this excursion, it talks about many steps up and down, I hate the elliptical! We are so glad we decided to try it! Don't let the talk about stairs scare you. Our group consisted of 10 people, most of us were in our 40-60year range. No, one had trouble. Don't be fooled, it is not easy, the terrain is rocky and full of large tree roots but it was worth the effort! Our guide was very knowledgeable about the forest. The hike was well paced, with many opportunities to stop, rest and appreciate nature. The raft portion was restful and really and allowed time to appreciate the mountains and wildlife. FABULOUS! Would I do this one again? YES!
Reviewer: J. Ehlers
5 Stars
A steep climb and a relaxing raft ride
August 08, 2017
We were looking forward to getting some activity knowing we were cruising for 7 days. That was why we booked a hike and raft excursion. Not realizing it was a pretty steep hike (up 300 feet), I would recommend this excursion for people who are physically in good condition. Our guide was very knowledgeable and kept our tour interesting. The scenes were beautiful areas in Alaskas streams. It was very peaceful and enjoyable..
Reviewer: Tammi
5 Stars
Nice Easy Day
August 03, 2017
We had a very nice time and enjoyed the beauty of Alaska. A very easy hike and ride.
Reviewer: Tom Antram
4 Stars
Hike and Float
July 19, 2017
enjoyed the float and hike. Anyone taking any hike should expect that the terrain would not be as smooth as pavement. I read reviews that some people found the trail too uneven. You're in the forest what do you expect?
Reviewer: Sam
5 Stars
Great choice
July 19, 2017
We really enjoyed this excursion. Excellent guide who let us set the pace and was knowledgeable and kind. Highly recommended!
Reviewer: Anna
5 Stars
Wonderful Excursion
July 12, 2017
Took my nephew for this hike and float and we both had a great time....perfect for all abilities. Gan was our tour guide and he was both friendly and very knowledgeable. I'd recommend this to all!
Reviewer: Laura
5 Stars
WOW!
July 06, 2017
What an great excursion. We were met at the ship by Bob and off we went. He was a great guide, very knowledgable and entertaining. Don't miss this excursion.
Reviewer: Phil DeVito
5 Stars
wonderful
June 28, 2017
This was a wonderful walk and float down the river, our group was small and our guide was knowledgeable. The rain forest is beautiful and it was great to escape the town and crowds for a couple of hours. We highly recommend.
Reviewer: EBV
5 Stars
Best shore excursion of our trip to Alaska
June 27, 2017
This excursion was perfect for us- the hike up and down the mountain was more strenuous than we thought based on the description, but wasn't a problem for us or the other people with us, and this included a couple of people with back issues. The hike starts with a rapid climb. There are multiple rest stops along the way. We had 8 total on the excursion- and the guide was great. On the mountain, besides being very knowledgeable about the biology and geology around us, he knew the trail so well that he would stop and tell us, for example, to lean to the right and use our right hand for balance, or which path to follow to get past a rock formation - he made the hike much safer. The float part came after the hike, and lasted about 45 minutes- the river was not too fast- no rapids- the scenery was amazing. In short, this was a perfect combination of exercise, scenery, and fun- I would highly recommend it.
Reviewer: Mike Alexander
5 Stars
what a great day
June 22, 2017
Cant say enough about this excursion and our guide Bob. If you want an outdoor Alaskan adventure and are in good physical shape you will not be disappointed.
Reviewer: MAREN AND DAVID
5 Stars
Fantastic experience - tour guide was awesome!
June 14, 2017
Gann Brewer was professional, competent, knowledgeable and a real pleasure as our guide. The hike was wonderful. The float was relaxing and a great way to finish the trip. Learned a lot. Saw a lot. Had a lot of fun.
Reviewer: David Fleet
5 Stars
Scenic Hike and Float
June 01, 2017
This excursion was the highlight of my entire cruise! The guides were true naturalists who love their environment and were very able to share their knowledge The whole experience was incredibly well organized and left me feeling deeply connected to the amazIng ecosystem of Alaska. I HIGHLY recommend this excursion!
Reviewer: Carol Allen
5 Stars
Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float trip
November 19, 2016
The hike and float trip were both outstanding. We especially liked the narrative about the historical significance of the trail. It's a nice 2 mile hike through the forest with very little altitude change. The float trip was about an hour, during which we saw eagles. I highly recommend this trip.
Reviewer: Ed LaMonde
5 Stars
Scenic hike and float
November 14, 2016
Wonderful service. I hurt my knee the day before the hike and they let me hang out and only do the paddle with my friends. The guides had great stories and were very safety conscious.
Reviewer: Libby Francis
5 Stars
Scenic Hike and Float
November 14, 2016
Our guide, Brian, was knowledgeable and thoughtful, keeping the focus on our surroundings rather than himself. He invited questions but did not bombard us with facts continually. This was my favorite excursion during the cruise.
Reviewer: Nora Beck
5 Stars
Hike and Float
October 07, 2016
What an amazing time we had with Joe as our guide. It turned out that it was only my husband and I on this trek with Joe. We were pleased and thankful that the adventure was not cancelled, this turned out to be the highlight of our vacation!!!
Reviewer: Denise Strauss
5 Stars
Scenic hike & float
October 07, 2016
This was a beautiful walk through the rainforest. A somewhat easy hike. There is some incline with some slippery rocks and tree roots you have to watch out for. The guide was very informative and a nice guy. We had this hike all to ourselves, which was nice to be able to go at our own pace. The raft trip was smooth and not very long. Seen a couple eagles but other than that no other wildlife.
Reviewer: Jerry
4 Stars
scenic hike and float
September 28, 2016
Hike was more difficult than expected... but learned a lot from our guide. Unfortunately, we didn't see much wildlife. Float was nice...and you can't beat the scenery.
Reviewer: Theresa Bergman
4 Stars
Float trip was the best
August 17, 2016
I think the scenic hike should be rated as more than moderate in difficulty.
Reviewer: Ann R
4 Stars
A great combination trip.
August 19, 2015
The hike is steep for the first half but anyone in halfway decent shape will be fine. The rest is flat and the float is pretty calm, you just have to sit back and enjoy while the guide manages the raft. The landscape is beautiful in the forest and floating down the river.
Reviewer: J2A2
5 Stars
I would buy this product again
September 05, 2014
None
Reviewer: argus501
4 Stars
Very challenging hike
August 11, 2014
Should be labeled for more difficult climbing. At 62, this hurt my husband's knee to hike it.
Reviewer: Lucy
4 Stars
One highlight of our trip to Alaska
July 09, 2014
This excursion was more difficult than presented. But if you can get over using over tree roots and rocks for a trail to climb straight up 300 ft to begin your hike you are in for a treat. Our guide seemed to know every plant and animal along the way. I'll never forget tasting watermelon berry leaves (tastes like cucumbers) or learning the difference between cedar and hemlock bark (French fries and pickles) or don't touch the cow parsnip because you can get a terrible sunburn after touching it. Also our guide offered to get between us and any bears we saw, in fact he insisted on it. We didn't see any but we did see two eagles in a nest and got a spectacular picture as we floated past it on the rafting part of our excursion.
Reviewer: Kathy the novice hiker
4 Stars
Still talk about it.
April 02, 2014
The hike was great even though it was a little warm for the time of year. It is a steep incline but well worth the climb.
Reviewer: MickeyMoosers
4 Stars
great adventure
August 30, 2013
Our guide made the adventure, she was wonderful
Reviewer: family from Napa
5 Stars
Great Hike and float!
July 15, 2013
The guide was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. The The hike was fun and the float ride was awesome.
Reviewer: Duane & Jan
5 Stars
Great time and great guide
June 17, 2013
Nate, our guide, lead the hike at a good pace for our group of 6. But it was rugged and steep in many places. He was talkative, but also was quiet and encouraged us to enjoy the quiet of the forst. He showed us plants that were edible and those that were not. He told us about himself and life in Skagway. The float was beautiful and relaxing, since Nate did all the work paddling! We were blessed with beautiful, warm weather. Nate topped of the experinece by taking a great family photo that we'll use on our Christmas card this year!
Reviewer: 4 Buckeyes
5 Stars
Outstanding
June 12, 2013
Outstanding guide(BOB)very informational,safety minded and a lot of fun. The dirt road ride was a little ruff but you are in Alaska
Reviewer: Whiz
5 Stars
Was the highlight of our trip!!
September 06, 2012
Guide was excellent. Kids had a great time. Would definitely do it again and again.
Reviewer: Hiker
4 Stars
Great hike/float
September 04, 2012
The tour guide was knowledgable about the area and offered alot of information. He also gave good suggestions for lunch afterwards. I would have greatly enjoyed more float time, it seemed very short. Others on the raft agreed. We caught a beautiful day and wanted to savor it!
Reviewer: Vicki
4 Stars
A fun hiking experience
May 26, 2012
We enjoyed our hiking and rafting experience. The hike in particular, was very enjoyable due to the beauty of the forest.
Reviewer: Bill and Zony
4 Stars
Very Satisfied
May 25, 2012
The guide was very nice and friendly. The whole hiking experience was great! The guide was also very thoughtful that they lend me their coats for the floating part due to the cold weather. Overall very good and very satisfied. Maybe it is a good idea to go after May as May is still too cold for floating.
Reviewer: Shawn X
4 Stars
Enjoyed it a bunch.
October 04, 2011
Although I was the only one on the roster, the orgsnization went ahead and took me on the hike. Thanks a lot for my knowledgeable guide, Bob.
Reviewer: Arnie garcia
4 Stars
Well worth tour
September 14, 2011
This tour was very informative as to the history of the area and how the gold miners had to get to the Gold Rush.
Reviewer: stevemv
5 Stars
Great Guide,,,great trip!
September 08, 2011
Very well organized. Beautiful scenery. Climbing the mountain area fairly easy and warm...colder on the float part but given boots and life jackets that helped with staying warm.
Reviewer: sue in Michigan
4 Stars
Very Scenic
August 25, 2011
Loved the float, the hike was a little difficult. Our guide made it fun, he would let us stop to catch our breath. He also pointed out variety of plants during the hike. The float was very relaxing after the hike.
Reviewer: The Huntsville Group
4 Stars
A great time with a great guide.
June 13, 2011
An experienced guide that added to the experience.
Reviewer: harry
4 Stars
Wonderful adventure!
June 05, 2011
Our guide Keegan was very friendly and knowledgable about the area and the history. Really enjoyed the hike....wish it could have been longer! The raft trip was pretty tame, but again, we got some good stories and the view was wonderful. We were a little disappointed in the beverage and food at the end. Fruit juice, crackers, and a piece of smoked salmon didn't quite refresh us after the hike and time out. But all in all, would definitely recommend it!
Reviewer: Anniversary treat
4 Stars
Nice afternoon
May 29, 2011
This excursion was great. We had a sunny day, which helped enjoying the hike and float. The hike is not difficult, just some few steep parts but for most of it, you actually don't really need to be fit to enjoy. Right after the hike, you get on a ""boat"" and just enjoy the amazing scenery of Alaska around you as you're going down a small river. At the end, smoked local salmon is waiting for you, and it's hell of a reward! Couldn't recommend it more.
Reviewer: Aure
5 Stars
We really enjoyed the Hike & Float
August 30, 2010
WE really enjoyed the Hike and float, the guide was very knowledgeable about the history of the town and the Chilkoot Trail, the plant life, Lichen, the eagles, bears. And, the Salmon and cheese snack was great.
Reviewer: sandy
5 Stars