5 StarsScenic hike and float in Shagway 5 starNovember 12, 2018

Reviewer: Nancy Norton
We really enjoyed the hike and our guide was fantastic . He was funny and informative about the area . The float was fun and beautiful scenery . On our hike the other group saw 2 bears ! I would recommend the excursion for sure .

4 StarsScenic hike and float August 27, 2018

Reviewer: suzanne roxburgh
Guide was very informative and careful of our safety on the hike. We enjoyed the hike but it was more stressful than we expected. Would have worn hiking boots! Scenery was gorgeous and the float was a gentle experience in the wild.

4 StarsNature hikeAugust 20, 2018

Reviewer: Jorge Garcia Segovia
Very nice trail, guide very nice and very cautious. Trail not to extreme but not for children under 10. Nice soft float. didn't see any fauna.

5 StarsScenic Hike and FloatAugust 06, 2018

Reviewer: Shawne Blair
The hike was beautiful, our guide was really well versed in the nature, flora and fauna and obviously loved it all. Very enjoyable!

5 StarsWould do it again today!July 30, 2018

Reviewer: Casey King
I LOVED my experience on this hike and float. My brother and I were with a small group of six people which was the perfect size. We were led by Becca (I think that was her name!) and she was a lively and knowledgeable young lady whom I thoroughly enjoyed as our guide. The hike had a few steep parts but it was still a fairly easy hike for me though I wouldn't recommend it for people with knee or hip issues, it may be too challenging. There was a little mud, so be prepared for that, and there are mosquitoes who were very hungry (one even got me through the leg of my pants!). Use the restroom before the hike begins otherwise your will have to use the “facili-trees”. The float was relaxing with stunning views. I would definitely go again!

5 StarsAwesome hike and floatJuly 30, 2018

Reviewer: LaVon
Was my favorite excursion. Our guide was knowledgeable and very friendly. He answered all our questions. The hike was so enjoyable. We had time to rest and take in the beautiful scenery. The float was relaxing and we saw several eagles. Would recommend to everyone who enjoys nature.

5 StarsA Great DayJuly 30, 2018

Reviewer: Greg Ryer
While the hike was certainly challenging, it was worth the effort once we hit the river and started our float. It was a great day to be on the river and our guide Ryan as awesome. As noted in the description of the excursion, this is a challenging hike with rocks and tree roots in the path. We would do it again!

4 StarsBeautiful scenery July 23, 2018

Reviewer: Jamie Bateman
The tour allowed us to see part of Alaska that you could not see otherwise. The hike was awesome but more rigorous than I thought. I was fine but so glad I did not bring my husband who has some heart problems. On the other hand, the floating down the river part was very calm and could have handled more excitement. Nonetheless, it was beautiful scenery! The tour guide was very knowledgeable and could answer all of our questions.

5 StarsScenic Hike and FloatJuly 23, 2018

Reviewer: Karyn
Our guide was great! She knew a lot about the area and the plants and had a really great positive attitude. There was a couple on the hike who were not so able-bodied. She was very patient with them, super helpful, and never let it take away from her interactions with the rest of us as well. The scenery was just beautiful. The hike was moderate and the river float was really calm and peaceful. The overall reservation process, finding our guides, from start to finish was a positive experience. I was a bit nervous to book an excursion outside of the cruise line, but I will do it again for sure!

5 StarsFantastic adventure for our familyJuly 16, 2018

Reviewer: Kelly Carroll
We went on the scenic hike and float in Skagway with our 16,14,11 and 7 year olds. Sam was very fun and informative. Everything was organized, they had equipment ready and we did not waste any time. The price was reasonable even for a family of 6. I would definitely recommend going on this excursion!

5 StarsHike and raft in Skagway AkJune 25, 2018

Reviewer: John milas
Excellent, Becca our tour guide was great. The weather was perfect. The hike may be difficult and risky if you are not accustomed to a rough up and down hill terrain.Rafting was relaxing and very safe

5 StarsFabulous tourMay 27, 2018

Reviewer: Bob Cotter
We booked this tour because my wife's grandfather had been part of the gold rush and had hiked the Chilkoot Trail. We met our guide, Rebecca, and she was full of knowledge about the area as we took the forty or so minute drive to the trail. Along the 3 km trail we stopped to look at the flowers and other interesting things. The trail is steep and rocky for the first km and I would advise potential participants to have good shoes and be in reasonably good condition. Balance can be a bit of an issue. The walk continued down to a forest floor. At the end of the trail, we got into a raft and had a bit of a safety lesson. Wow, could Rebecca ever handle the raft as the wind was now a factor and even with the current, she had to work hard to keep us on track. The ride back to the ship had her give us more information. Highly recommend this tour to anyone interested in learning something about the gold rush and the Chilkoot Trail along with experiencing a small part of the trail itself.

5 StarsScenic hike and floatSeptember 28, 2017

Reviewer: Jackie Posluszny
Our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful! The hike was a bit of a challenge for me but I made it! The float down the river was fun too!

5 StarsGreat two excursions in oneSeptember 21, 2017

Reviewer: Steve B
For those looking for some exercise and to see nature, this is a great excursion. A walk through a rain forest, then a gentle float trip back down the river. The guide was great and very knowledgeable of the vegetation and the area. We counted 10 different eagle sightings on the float.

5 StarsBeautiful HikeSeptember 18, 2017

Reviewer: Monique Beikman
The tour guide was a local and was very knowledgeable. We had an enjoyable time and the scenery was incredible.

4 StarsYoung kids liked it September 07, 2017

Reviewer: Pam Lam
We went with our 7 year old son and nearly 10 year old daughter. Our kids loved the float portion of the excursion. We saw lots of bald eagles. The hike was nice and we didn't get too wet even though it was raining. We just wish the tour guide was more experienced and knowledgeable.

5 StarsWonderful, beautiful!August 30, 2017

Reviewer: J. Ehlers
I was hesitant to go on this excursion, it talks about many steps up and down, I hate the elliptical! We are so glad we decided to try it! Don't let the talk about stairs scare you. Our group consisted of 10 people, most of us were in our 40-60year range. No, one had trouble. Don't be fooled, it is not easy, the terrain is rocky and full of large tree roots but it was worth the effort! Our guide was very knowledgeable about the forest. The hike was well paced, with many opportunities to stop, rest and appreciate nature. The raft portion was restful and really and allowed time to appreciate the mountains and wildlife. FABULOUS! Would I do this one again? YES!

5 StarsA steep climb and a relaxing raft rideAugust 08, 2017

Reviewer: Tammi
We were looking forward to getting some activity knowing we were cruising for 7 days. That was why we booked a hike and raft excursion. Not realizing it was a pretty steep hike (up 300 feet), I would recommend this excursion for people who are physically in good condition. Our guide was very knowledgeable and kept our tour interesting. The scenes were beautiful areas in Alaskas streams. It was very peaceful and enjoyable..

4 StarsNice Easy DayAugust 03, 2017

Reviewer: Tom Antram
We had a very nice time and enjoyed the beauty of Alaska. A very easy hike and ride.

5 StarsHike and FloatJuly 19, 2017

Reviewer: Sam
enjoyed the float and hike. Anyone taking any hike should expect that the terrain would not be as smooth as pavement. I read reviews that some people found the trail too uneven. You're in the forest what do you expect?

5 StarsGreat choiceJuly 19, 2017

Reviewer: Anna
We really enjoyed this excursion. Excellent guide who let us set the pace and was knowledgeable and kind. Highly recommended!

5 StarsWonderful ExcursionJuly 12, 2017

Reviewer: Laura
Took my nephew for this hike and float and we both had a great time....perfect for all abilities. Gan was our tour guide and he was both friendly and very knowledgeable. I'd recommend this to all!

5 StarsWOW!July 06, 2017

Reviewer: Phil DeVito
What an great excursion. We were met at the ship by Bob and off we went. He was a great guide, very knowledgable and entertaining. Don't miss this excursion.

5 StarswonderfulJune 28, 2017

Reviewer: EBV
This was a wonderful walk and float down the river, our group was small and our guide was knowledgeable. The rain forest is beautiful and it was great to escape the town and crowds for a couple of hours. We highly recommend.

5 StarsBest shore excursion of our trip to AlaskaJune 27, 2017

Reviewer: Mike Alexander
This excursion was perfect for us- the hike up and down the mountain was more strenuous than we thought based on the description, but wasn't a problem for us or the other people with us, and this included a couple of people with back issues. The hike starts with a rapid climb. There are multiple rest stops along the way. We had 8 total on the excursion- and the guide was great. On the mountain, besides being very knowledgeable about the biology and geology around us, he knew the trail so well that he would stop and tell us, for example, to lean to the right and use our right hand for balance, or which path to follow to get past a rock formation - he made the hike much safer. The float part came after the hike, and lasted about 45 minutes- the river was not too fast- no rapids- the scenery was amazing. In short, this was a perfect combination of exercise, scenery, and fun- I would highly recommend it.

5 Starswhat a great dayJune 22, 2017

Reviewer: MAREN AND DAVID
Cant say enough about this excursion and our guide Bob. If you want an outdoor Alaskan adventure and are in good physical shape you will not be disappointed.

5 StarsFantastic experience - tour guide was awesome!June 14, 2017

Reviewer: David Fleet
Gann Brewer was professional, competent, knowledgeable and a real pleasure as our guide. The hike was wonderful. The float was relaxing and a great way to finish the trip. Learned a lot. Saw a lot. Had a lot of fun.

5 StarsScenic Hike and FloatJune 01, 2017

Reviewer: Carol Allen
This excursion was the highlight of my entire cruise! The guides were true naturalists who love their environment and were very able to share their knowledge The whole experience was incredibly well organized and left me feeling deeply connected to the amazIng ecosystem of Alaska. I HIGHLY recommend this excursion!

5 StarsChilkoot Trail Hike and Float tripNovember 19, 2016

Reviewer: Ed LaMonde
The hike and float trip were both outstanding. We especially liked the narrative about the historical significance of the trail. It's a nice 2 mile hike through the forest with very little altitude change. The float trip was about an hour, during which we saw eagles. I highly recommend this trip.

5 StarsScenic hike and floatNovember 14, 2016

Reviewer: Libby Francis
Wonderful service. I hurt my knee the day before the hike and they let me hang out and only do the paddle with my friends. The guides had great stories and were very safety conscious.

5 StarsScenic Hike and FloatNovember 14, 2016

Reviewer: Nora Beck
Our guide, Brian, was knowledgeable and thoughtful, keeping the focus on our surroundings rather than himself. He invited questions but did not bombard us with facts continually. This was my favorite excursion during the cruise.

5 StarsHike and FloatOctober 07, 2016

Reviewer: Denise Strauss
What an amazing time we had with Joe as our guide. It turned out that it was only my husband and I on this trek with Joe. We were pleased and thankful that the adventure was not cancelled, this turned out to be the highlight of our vacation!!!

4 StarsScenic hike & floatOctober 07, 2016

Reviewer: Jerry
This was a beautiful walk through the rainforest. A somewhat easy hike. There is some incline with some slippery rocks and tree roots you have to watch out for. The guide was very informative and a nice guy. We had this hike all to ourselves, which was nice to be able to go at our own pace. The raft trip was smooth and not very long. Seen a couple eagles but other than that no other wildlife.

4 Starsscenic hike and floatSeptember 28, 2016

Reviewer: Theresa Bergman
Hike was more difficult than expected... but learned a lot from our guide. Unfortunately, we didn't see much wildlife. Float was nice...and you can't beat the scenery.

4 StarsFloat trip was the bestAugust 17, 2016

Reviewer: Ann R
I think the scenic hike should be rated as more than moderate in difficulty.

5 StarsA great combination trip.August 19, 2015

Reviewer: J2A2
The hike is steep for the first half but anyone in halfway decent shape will be fine. The rest is flat and the float is pretty calm, you just have to sit back and enjoy while the guide manages the raft. The landscape is beautiful in the forest and floating down the river.

4 StarsI would buy this product againSeptember 05, 2014

Reviewer: argus501
None

4 StarsVery challenging hikeAugust 11, 2014

Reviewer: Lucy
Should be labeled for more difficult climbing. At 62, this hurt my husband's knee to hike it.

4 StarsOne highlight of our trip to AlaskaJuly 09, 2014

Reviewer: Kathy the novice hiker
This excursion was more difficult than presented. But if you can get over using over tree roots and rocks for a trail to climb straight up 300 ft to begin your hike you are in for a treat. Our guide seemed to know every plant and animal along the way. I'll never forget tasting watermelon berry leaves (tastes like cucumbers) or learning the difference between cedar and hemlock bark (French fries and pickles) or don't touch the cow parsnip because you can get a terrible sunburn after touching it. Also our guide offered to get between us and any bears we saw, in fact he insisted on it. We didn't see any but we did see two eagles in a nest and got a spectacular picture as we floated past it on the rafting part of our excursion.

4 StarsStill talk about it.April 02, 2014

Reviewer: MickeyMoosers
The hike was great even though it was a little warm for the time of year. It is a steep incline but well worth the climb.

5 Starsgreat adventureAugust 30, 2013

Reviewer: family from Napa
Our guide made the adventure, she was wonderful

5 StarsGreat Hike and float!July 15, 2013

Reviewer: Duane & Jan
The guide was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. The The hike was fun and the float ride was awesome.

5 StarsGreat time and great guideJune 17, 2013

Reviewer: 4 Buckeyes
Nate, our guide, lead the hike at a good pace for our group of 6. But it was rugged and steep in many places. He was talkative, but also was quiet and encouraged us to enjoy the quiet of the forst. He showed us plants that were edible and those that were not. He told us about himself and life in Skagway. The float was beautiful and relaxing, since Nate did all the work paddling! We were blessed with beautiful, warm weather. Nate topped of the experinece by taking a great family photo that we'll use on our Christmas card this year!

5 StarsOutstandingJune 12, 2013

Reviewer: Whiz
Outstanding guide(BOB)very informational,safety minded and a lot of fun. The dirt road ride was a little ruff but you are in Alaska

4 StarsWas the highlight of our trip!!September 06, 2012

Reviewer: Hiker
Guide was excellent. Kids had a great time. Would definitely do it again and again.

4 StarsGreat hike/floatSeptember 04, 2012

Reviewer: Vicki
The tour guide was knowledgable about the area and offered alot of information. He also gave good suggestions for lunch afterwards. I would have greatly enjoyed more float time, it seemed very short. Others on the raft agreed. We caught a beautiful day and wanted to savor it!

4 StarsA fun hiking experienceMay 26, 2012

Reviewer: Bill and Zony
We enjoyed our hiking and rafting experience. The hike in particular, was very enjoyable due to the beauty of the forest.

4 StarsVery SatisfiedMay 25, 2012

Reviewer: Shawn X
The guide was very nice and friendly. The whole hiking experience was great! The guide was also very thoughtful that they lend me their coats for the floating part due to the cold weather. Overall very good and very satisfied. Maybe it is a good idea to go after May as May is still too cold for floating.

4 StarsEnjoyed it a bunch.October 04, 2011

Reviewer: Arnie garcia
Although I was the only one on the roster, the orgsnization went ahead and took me on the hike. Thanks a lot for my knowledgeable guide, Bob.

5 StarsWell worth tourSeptember 14, 2011

Reviewer: stevemv
This tour was very informative as to the history of the area and how the gold miners had to get to the Gold Rush.

4 StarsGreat Guide,,,great trip!September 08, 2011

Reviewer: sue in Michigan
Very well organized. Beautiful scenery. Climbing the mountain area fairly easy and warm...colder on the float part but given boots and life jackets that helped with staying warm.

4 StarsVery ScenicAugust 25, 2011

Reviewer: The Huntsville Group
Loved the float, the hike was a little difficult. Our guide made it fun, he would let us stop to catch our breath. He also pointed out variety of plants during the hike. The float was very relaxing after the hike.

4 StarsA great time with a great guide.June 13, 2011

Reviewer: harry
An experienced guide that added to the experience.

4 StarsWonderful adventure!June 05, 2011

Reviewer: Anniversary treat
Our guide Keegan was very friendly and knowledgable about the area and the history. Really enjoyed the hike....wish it could have been longer! The raft trip was pretty tame, but again, we got some good stories and the view was wonderful. We were a little disappointed in the beverage and food at the end. Fruit juice, crackers, and a piece of smoked salmon didn't quite refresh us after the hike and time out. But all in all, would definitely recommend it!

5 StarsNice afternoonMay 29, 2011

Reviewer: Aure
This excursion was great. We had a sunny day, which helped enjoying the hike and float. The hike is not difficult, just some few steep parts but for most of it, you actually don't really need to be fit to enjoy. Right after the hike, you get on a ""boat"" and just enjoy the amazing scenery of Alaska around you as you're going down a small river. At the end, smoked local salmon is waiting for you, and it's hell of a reward! Couldn't recommend it more.

5 StarsWe really enjoyed the Hike & FloatAugust 30, 2010

Reviewer: sandy
WE really enjoyed the Hike and float, the guide was very knowledgeable about the history of the town and the Chilkoot Trail, the plant life, Lichen, the eagles, bears. And, the Salmon and cheese snack was great.