Sitka
October 12, 2019
Really enjoyed this excursion. The guide was a long time resident who really the area.
Reviewer: Kim Shingleton
5 Stars
Sitka Scenic Tour
October 11, 2019
This tour was very interesting. The guide was very personable
Reviewer: Judy Love
5 Stars
Best tour of the cruise
October 02, 2019
Our tour with Marie was the best tour of our two week cruise. She is a native of Sitka and her enthusiasm and love of her town were evident. It was a very rainy day but everyone on our tour was happy to leave the comfortable van and explore with her. The rain forest walk was lovely, as were the rushing river and salmon we saw. We could have spent more time everywhere. But the Fortress of the Bear was well worth the trip by itself. Can hardly wait to return to Sitka and explore more!
Reviewer: Jennifer
5 Stars
Great tour
September 26, 2019
This tour is locally operated. Our guide was super knowledgeable and friendly. I would highly recommend this tour company.
Reviewer: Deborah Dellera
5 Stars
Sitka Shore Excursion
September 26, 2019
We had a great time visiting Sitka, Alaska as part of our Holland America cruise. The guides were very helpful and shared a great deal of interesting information about the area. We are very glad that we took this tour.
Reviewer: J. Patrick and Cynthia Anderson
5 Stars
Gorgeous place!
September 25, 2019
The Guide was very knowledgeable and provided excellent answers to all of our questions. I was a bit disappointed that the visit to the Totem Park was cursory, at best; we only saw a few totem poles near the Totem Park Museum/building and didn't go in; the info provided suggested that there would be a more thorough tour of the Totem Park. Excellent overall experience!
Reviewer: E Tobin
5 Stars
Bear Sanctuary
September 12, 2019
Our local guide was a woman who owns a fishing boat with her husband. They had been out early , 3am! that morning catching halibut and had already taken them to market. She was knowledgeable and passionate about her area and took us to a wood where a bear had been spotted earlier. We went to a rescue and rehabilitation sanctuary for bears and got to see the different kinds of bears. Sitka is a nice town with good souvenir shops and we wandered around it. My husband left his backpack on the bus and the tour company,as well as the adjacent visitor centre, were so helpful and concerned. He and his backpack were eventually reunited!!
Reviewer: Liz Bell
4 Stars
Guide was a walking encyclopedia of native medicin
September 07, 2019
Our guide was a wealth of information and was a walking encyclopedia of native medicine. It was one of the highlights along with the Bear Sanctuary. He was so good that I wish he would write a book about all that he told us. I highly recommend him.
Reviewer: Habib Lichaa
5 Stars
Informative Tour
August 30, 2019
Loved touring on the smaller vans vs going on a large bus. The driver was very knowledgeable about the local history. I would highly recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Connie McLaughlin
5 Stars
Sitka with Lindsey
August 29, 2019
We loved driving around Sitka in a comfortable van with Lindsey as our local guide. She was fun & informative - telling us about history & local info.. Bears were great fun to watch. My teenagers liked this tour as well. Saw hundreds of salmon in the stream near totems park. Price is affordable for a family.I recommend this excursion.
Reviewer: Dee
5 Stars
Sitka Scenic Tour
August 16, 2019
Interesting tour but it would be preferable to carry less people in a van. People seating in the middle doesn't see anything and are unable to take any picture. As people are more and more fat, it would be also more comfortable.
Reviewer: Michelle Neveu
4 Stars
Great Tour
July 08, 2019
All the tours we took by Shore excursions was great and the guides are great people and knowledgeable. They took us to the various places that were interesting such as the Salmon hatchery.
Reviewer: Jennifer Ally
4 Stars
Excellent Tour!!
June 27, 2019
"Bruce", our guide for this Sitka excursion went above and beyond with this tour. Very knowledgeable about the town including Flora and fauna, history, industry, culture, everything!! A wealth of information in a comfortable vehicle tour! Well worth the money and would go again!
Reviewer: Susan Ketterer
5 Stars
Best tour
June 14, 2019
Out of all the excursions we took on our trip this was hands down the best. The guide was great and so fun. She had the greatest personality and lots of knowledge of the area.
Reviewer: Ryan Cunningham
5 Stars
Alaska
June 06, 2019
We learned a lot about the area from our guide. She was a long time resident of the area. We were able to see an eagle on one of our stops. Just happened to be hanging out by the water with it's baby. Loved the stop at the bear sanctuary. We didn't have a lot of time at this stop, but I'm glad we took the tour.
Reviewer: Garrison
5 Stars
More could be introduced
June 06, 2019
Sitka is a city with a small population but very rich in history. The Scenic tour covers only a small part of it. That is understandable. But after the tour in the free hours, we found some interest places to visit such as Russian Orthodox Church and former Bishop residence, all of which were imbedded with important history. We were fortunate not missing it. If you mentioned it some someway, it will help a lot.
Reviewer: yujun zhang
3 Stars
Awesome Tour!
April 12, 2019
My family and I took this fabulous tour during our Alaskan cruise! It was the highlight of our trip! We were so thrilled to visit this wonderful city! I highly recommend this tour!
Reviewer: James Andrews
5 Stars
Excellent tour
October 03, 2018
We had a onderful time in this small tour in a brand new 10 passenger van. Intimate group with a wonderful guide. She was very knowledgeable and fun! She stopped to let us see and photograph eagles. The trip down through the rainforest to see the salmon spawning was great and the bear sanctuary was a highlight!
Reviewer: Lori Rae
5 Stars
Very enjoyable time with great sights
September 28, 2018
It was a very enjoyable tour and a great chance to see the town and the surrounding sights.
Reviewer: Dane Thomas
4 Stars
Sitka Tour
September 20, 2018
This was an excellent tour. Our guide Vivian is a native Tlingit, which made this tour even better, because of the wealth knowledge she provided of the local culture and history of Sitka, and shared interesting history of the Tlingit clan. We were able to see the salmon run, amazing! And the Bear rescue center, also amazing!
Reviewer: Marcy
5 Stars
A great introduction to Sitka
September 20, 2018
Easy to make connections and get started with a van driver who grew up in Sitka. She introduced us to the local area while driving to the first stop, gave us time to take pictures, then on to the Preserve where she identified the flora, Sitka Spruce trees, called the squirrels by name as she showed us where they lived. We then went to the Bear rehab place and gave us time to watch them play while explaining their background. The small group allowed us freedom to move around without a crowd.
Reviewer: Willma Voss
5 Stars
Wonderful Tour
September 17, 2018
Wonderful tour with a great driver/tour guide who really knew and loved the area.
Reviewer: Kathy White
5 Stars
Sitka Tour Review
September 17, 2018
The tour and the guide were excellent! Thoroughly enjoyable tour!
Reviewer: John
5 Stars
Phenomenal Tour
September 10, 2018
This tour was absolutely perfect! Sitka was by far our favorite port to visit. The scenery was amazing. We happened to be there on a beautiful sunny day with clear skies. That is almost unheard of in Sitka. We were actually able to see the island because there wasn't any fog cover. The tour guide was great, very knowledgeable and friendly. This is an excellent way to tour Sitka and see what they have to offer. It's fairly short so there's still plenty of time to bumble around town afterward. We took this tour toward the end of our cruise and we hadn't seen any brown bears yet so we were very excited that we knew we would at least see some at the sanctuary. We would highly recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Sharen
5 Stars
Wonderful from start to finish
August 27, 2018
We thoroughly enjoyed our excursion to scenic Sitka. Our guide was very knowledgeable about this part of Alaska, and she took us to very beautiful and interesting areas we would have never seen. This tour was one of the highlights of our trip and was exceptional!
Reviewer: Mary and George Mayhew
5 Stars
Sitka
August 20, 2018
Enjoyed tour guide take on local culture and history of Sitka
Reviewer: michael schmid
5 Stars
More than Scenic
August 20, 2018
Sitka Scenic tour was more than scenic. Our great guide, Vivian, was a wealth of knowledge and gave us historical, geographic, cultural, and botanical information. Engaging overview of an interesting town and beautiful environment.
Reviewer: Gina
5 Stars
Enjoyed the tour
August 13, 2018
Sitka is beautiful. Our guide is a local person who knew the area well. She gave plenty of time for us to enjoy the scenery. You can spend more time in the rain forest and walk back to the bus.
Reviewer: Kalpana
5 Stars
Sitka
August 06, 2018
Very interesting, I will never forget this tour. The young woman was from the Maritime Museum. She was very special.
Reviewer: Diane Young
5 Stars
Excellent guide named Maria -great tour
July 30, 2018
Loved guide Maria, local born and bred and fun, full of information. Tour was great. Lots of info as drove out of town, stopped for scenic pics, Fortress of the Bears was terrific, a wildlife rescue facility. Then Sitka Natl Historic Park. Walked thru forest. Maria pointed out all sorts of interesting plants etc. Saw lots of eagles and nest too. Went in the Visitors' Center -old totems, artists working. Only 9 of us on small bus.
Reviewer: Kathleen Tucker
5 Stars
Sitka Tour
July 16, 2018
We took the Fortress of the Bear, Silver Bay and the Cultural Center tour. Booked in advance. We waited minimally for our tour to begin. While driving around our driver who is a native Inuit told us some interesting cultural information of the Inuit and Tlingit clans. She was knowledgeable. I would have liked some notice on how much time we had a each stop which would have allowed us how to gauge our time. We felt rushed at times or we were always looking for her. More time at the Cultural Center would have been appreciated rather than a 20 minute stop to Silver Bay.
Reviewer: Norma Meligonis
4 Stars
Great Tour
July 09, 2018
Tour Guide was a member of the original families of this part of Alaska, and was Very Knowledgable of the History of Alaska and has a wide range of interests pertaining to plants and there uses of natural drug remedies.
Reviewer: Richard Watson
4 Stars
Good tour but a little pricey!
July 03, 2018
There is free bus service to the downtown area of Sitka which is very accommodating.Driver was very personable on the way.It was easy to locate our tour people there and find our tour director and her van.The van was very good in that it seated our small group of 8 or so tourists.Our director, an Eskimo by the way, was personable and took us to several scenic areas around Sitka, i.e. a bear rescue area,scenic waterways,local totem pole museum/center, a park in town where salmon return to spawn.She was informative and pleasant and provided useful information on the area.The complimentary buses await your return to the cruise ships. Very convenient.
Reviewer: Mabel Twentey
3 Stars
Sitka nice place to visit
June 11, 2018
This was one of my favorite excursions. Sitka is compact with lots to see and do. The tour guide, a native Alaskan, was friendly and knowledgeable.
Reviewer: Jim F
4 Stars
perfect, thanks
June 03, 2018
thanks, perfect
Reviewer: Maureen Cullingham
5 Stars
Great tour
May 14, 2018
Our guide was really good. She even spoke Tlingit and was very knowledgable about plant life in the historic park. There were at least 10 bald eagles perched in the trees around the bear refuge.
Reviewer: Frank
5 Stars
Sitka
October 16, 2017
Great tour. Driver was very friendly & very informative. Took us to some great spots to see local life.
Reviewer: Jackie Golden
5 Stars
Great Experience
September 14, 2017
We were warmly greeted by the staff. The tour started on time, beautiful view, and the most impressive one is the visit of bear sanctuary.
Reviewer: jing zhu
5 Stars
Sitka Bear Fortress and Totem Village
September 03, 2017
We thoroughly enjoyed our tour. The young woman tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable about the area and patient with the tour members. She even stopped in a bay on our way to the bear Fortress to let us see a whale. She knew one looked in that area and she waited until we saw its tail flip. As she guided us into the rainforest at the totem Park, again she was personable and knowledgeable about the area.
Reviewer: Cleta V. Belt
4 Stars
Great tour
August 16, 2017
The tour operators were right out side the terminal and were very welcoming and had our reservation. Our tour guide, Maria, was the best!! Thank you to her for an interesting and enjoyable tour. We highly recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Rob and Joanna Kim
5 Stars
Great Tour!
August 16, 2017
We really enjoyed this tour, and felt it was great value for the money. We were fortunate to have a great guide who was a native Alaskan and had Tlingit roots. She was very knowledgeable and had wonderful stories. We had the option to stay at the National Park and do a self-guided tour or take the van back to the cruise terminal, and we were very glad we chose to walk the park--we saw several eagles in the wild, and salmon jumping, and lots of beautiful totem poles. It was a short walk back to the ship.
Reviewer: Sue Bezanson
5 Stars
Great tour
August 14, 2017
Great tour, Loved all the stops. Maria was very friendly and knowledgeable. Definitely worth it!!
Reviewer: Justin
5 Stars
Fantastic day
August 11, 2017
Our guide was a native who shared a wonderful insight into the culture of the people as well as the sights and history. We learned and appreciated the place so much because of her.
Reviewer: Paul Greenwald
5 Stars
Sitka Scenic Tour
August 01, 2017
Value for the money... and the tour guide did an exemplary job... It seems that Costco has an excellent system of vetting the local tour operators and picking the best!!! Thanks again!
Reviewer: Garritt Wemekamp
5 Stars
Sitka Scenic Tour
August 01, 2017
Really enjoyed our tour guide, Maria. She was very informative and had grown up in Sitka. It was rainy but still really enjoyed our visit to the Bear Sanctuary.
Reviewer: Mary Bittner
4 Stars
Sitka tour
July 26, 2017
We had a great tour of Sitka. The guide was very informative and told us all about living in this area. Her view about the nature and the native perspective was great.
Reviewer: Gerald Sheila Richardson
5 Stars
Very informative tour
July 06, 2017
Learned tons of history, and local information about Sitka. Saw the bears and learned so much about bears in Sitka. Van was comfortable, our Guide was excellent and enthusiastic about her town. Great to spend some time in the forest and learn about native plants and how they were used by local natives.
Reviewer: Brenda Bonde
5 Stars
Nice nature tour
June 20, 2017
This tour was a nice small group. Sitka has a very nice visitor center and free wifi in their library. We learned about the Sitka waterfront and fishing industry. We uncovered interesting little crustaceans during low tide. We saw the non-profit brown bear rescue center called the Fortress of the Bear. Orphaned bears are rescued and cared for until they can be relocated to zoos or other wildlife refuges. There were dozens of bald eagles and ravens hanging around to provide additional entertainment. We then went to the Sitka National Historical Park where you get a feel for the Alaskan forests. Our guide was very engaging and related well to our group. She had lived her whole life in Sitka and her talks were not 'canned' but were interesting. We would recommend this excursion.
Reviewer: Tom Sutherin
4 Stars
Sitkawildlifetours
June 03, 2017
Sitka city tour was well organized & a guide that was very friendly & knowledgeable. A city full of history, culture and beauty. Highlight was the eagles & bears at the Fortress.
Reviewer: Joan Corby
5 Stars
Outstanding
June 01, 2017
The entire tour was great. Excellent tour guide. Highly recommended.
Reviewer: John Richard
5 Stars
A little too rushed
December 03, 2016
Wanted more time at the National Park location
Reviewer: Sharon Iverson
5 Stars
Sitka Scenic Tour
November 29, 2016
We had a great time on this tour. Our guide was from the area and shared a wealth of interesting information with us. We saw a variety of areas from the totem pole park, local sites, salmon in the stream and a bear rescue. Not only are you driven around, but there are stops for you to get out and walk around. I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting a nice inside look at Sitka.
Reviewer: Linda Rundell
5 Stars
Great overview of Sitka
November 29, 2016
The small group of about 10 made this a very one on one experience. Visited a facility that cared for orphaned bears -fascinating. Then took a short walk easy walk Thru the woods to salmon stream where our guide told us about the different species of salmon and the salmon industry in Sitka. Great tour.
Reviewer: Barbara leigh
5 Stars
Bear Adventure
November 23, 2016
Great had a nice time, very knowledgeable local guided us.
Reviewer: E T Davis
5 Stars
Sitka tour
November 23, 2016
Great trip. A lot packed into the two hour trip. Guide was knowledgable and friendly
Reviewer: Layne Demas
5 Stars
Sitka
November 15, 2016
We loved the fact that our tour was led by a Native woman who was willing to take the tour to places that we were interested in. She taught us a great deal about the culture, the native plants, the animals, the salmon, the totem poles and life on Sitka.
Reviewer: Robin Hanks
5 Stars
Sitka Scenic Tour
November 08, 2016
We loved every minute of this excursion! The Bears and Eagles were so much fun. Our tour guide was delightful and very knowledgable. She showed us several little tide pool creatures and pointed out sites all along the bus ride to the bear sanctuary.
Reviewer: Anonymous
5 Stars
Sitka Scenic Excursion
September 28, 2016
Our guide made this excursion memorable. We learned a great deal about local culture and history.
Reviewer: VMartinez
4 Stars
Sitka Scenic Tour
August 19, 2016
Enjoyed the tour and we had a terrific guide. Also enjoyed the Bear sanctuary and visiting Sitka on our own
Reviewer: Michele Kalaveras
5 Stars
Wonderful
August 18, 2016
We had a great time on this tour. Maria was our guide, and she made the difference. Outgoing and knowledgeable, she had a lot of information shared with humor and warmth. We visited the bear sanctuary which was awesome, and had a terrific overview of Sitka. We miss it and talk about it all the time. Thanks!
Reviewer: Carol Friedman
5 Stars
not sure what you want here
August 18, 2016
Excellent. Guide in particular was very informative.
Reviewer: laroy wolff
5 Stars
Informative and detailed
August 09, 2016
Our guide was the owner of the company. His presentation was thorough and we learned a lot about Sitka's history and current challenges. We saw totem poles and learned about their history and use. A dug out canoe and the process of building canoes as well as their use was interesting. The bear exhibit was good because we didn't see any bears outside of captivity on our whole cruise. It was definitely worth your time and was a good value.
Reviewer: David DeBord
5 Stars
Sitka Scenic Tour
August 04, 2016
I enjoyed this tour very much, our guide Robbie was very informative and very enjoyable. It was well worth the money and I would recommend it to anyone on the Alaska cruise to take this tour. She explained things in the rain forest and if we saw something of interest she would stop the van.
Reviewer: Toni Morrow
5 Stars
Sitka, a great visit
June 05, 2016
Guide was well informed. Weather was not so great. Cool and wet. Be prepared.
Reviewer: Bill and Julia
4 Stars
Great Tour and Guide
September 03, 2015
For our Sitka Scenic Tour we were blessed with a tour guide who was very knowledgeable of the history of the area, the beautiful nature and wildlife and the current economy and going ons. I believe her name was Emily and she is also works at the local NPR station.
Reviewer: Keith
5 Stars
WOW experience
July 24, 2015
Guide was very informative and full of stories. We loved it!
Reviewer: cheryl
5 Stars
GREAT FUN
July 24, 2015
STOP BY THE RAFTER CENTER AND WALK BACK TO THE SHIP 1 MILE.
Reviewer: HAMMER HEAD
5 Stars
sitka
June 04, 2015
loved the bears
Reviewer: theresa
5 Stars
Vivian is such a great tour guide!
October 02, 2014
Our tour guide, Vivian, she's so knowledgeable, This was the best tour during our visit to Alaska!
Reviewer: happy traveler
5 Stars
Great overview of Sitka
October 13, 2013
This tour gave a great overview of the history, culture and natural beauty of Sitka. The guide was experienced and clear in her presentation.
Reviewer: Ex preacher
4 Stars
short, sweet and light
September 26, 2013
Very friendly small van trip, great for an older couple like us, straightforward drive to a totem pole park, saw a stream so full of salmon you could almost walk across on their backs, but the highlight was the Fortress of the Bear, a private bear rescue venue. Interesting perspectives and anecdotes from a true local, including fishing stories! Low key is what we wanted, and the excursion was a very nice short one.
Reviewer: Fifty-something
4 Stars
Ok for what it cost!
September 19, 2013
The tour was good but our guide was not as informative as the others I found myself and others in our group lagging behind to listen to the other guides from your company to get more info! Other than that the tour was fun!
Reviewer: Goose
4 Stars
Excellent, done by a native
September 10, 2013
Bruce is from Sitka and very deep knowledge of his home town. He was thorough in every aspect from the fishing industry and its methods, to sport fishing, to knowledge of the plant life, to the history, to his knowledge of what Sitka is like today. We especially enjoyed the ""Grizzly Bear Fortress"" and what he is doing with that project.
Reviewer: me
5 Stars
See Bears, Salmon run, Rain Forest..More
September 04, 2013
WE loved our guide, Bruce. He was VERY informative and flexible, and we experienced quite a bit of Sitka in only 2-3 hours. I was not expecting too much out of this tour, but I was wrong. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Sitka is a beautiful area with quite a bit to offer.
Reviewer: Chris
5 Stars