A Nature Safari
April 14, 2020
Excellent, we really enjoyed our day.
Reviewer: David
5 Stars
Knowledgeable and dedicated guide
March 31, 2020
This is primarily focused on a penguin colony. It is best to visit in December thru February when the colony is in residence. We were there in early March and only saw one because she was a late molter. The guide is part of the staff, probably a family member. They are very knowledgeable and dedicated to the work being done to conserve the colony.
Reviewer: Gill Keith
5 Stars
Outstanding tour
March 27, 2020
This was a terrific tour. There were only 6 of us, so whether walking or in the van, we could always hear everything the guide said. The scenery was spectacular. A highlight was the visit to a penguin rescue center where we were able to see little blue penguins up close. Our guide Ave from Pohatu Penguins was outstanding: knowledgeable, personable, capable, and entertaining. This tour was one of the top highlights of our trip to New Zealand.
Reviewer: Gordon McFaull
5 Stars
New Zealand Safari
March 17, 2020
This excursion was fantastic! Averil, our guide was excellent, knowledgeable and fun! Even though we were late because of issues getting off the boat, they waited for everyone and everything went perfectly. The 4 wheel drive vehicle turned out to be a very comfortable 4 wheel drive mini-van- great! The views were amazing, penguins, sheep, all the animals were beautiful. It was a very small group so we really got close and it was a great experience. I highly recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Steven Wiener
5 Stars
Fantastic
May 09, 2019
This was a great tour. Guide met us timely at the ship and returned us timely as well. We saw all kinds of birds. It was greatm
Reviewer: Kristine Busse Dohm
5 Stars
Great fun
May 04, 2019
We loved the scenery and the guides were great. There were breath taking views which one could gaze at all day if you had the time. The sheep farm did not disappoint.we were able to feed the sheep out of our hands and pet them. They were so soft. After tea we even were lucky enough to see a little blue penguin in one of the “houses”
Reviewer: Brian and Elizabeth Coursey
5 Stars
Penguin highlight
March 02, 2019
Overall was a great your and the highlight was seeing a baby penguin being rehabilitated. Only downside of this excursion was the many picture stops overlooking scenic views. One or two is OK, but it felt like there were too many.
Reviewer: EJ
4 Stars
A Nature Safari
February 24, 2019
The driver showed us so very beautiful sites and was very knowledgeable about the area and animals we saw . Some of the prettiest country I ever seen. Was a great tour all round!!
Reviewer: Joanne Genzale
5 Stars
Fantastic ‘real’ experience
February 09, 2019
This was our favourite excursion of all shore excursions from 4 cruises. Initially we were given a guided tour around the beautiful natural areas by a very friendly and knowledgeable guide who ensured we saw wild creatures in their natural environments. Better was to follow when we were taken back to a baby penguin respite environment where our guide and his wife rescue baby penguins, feed and rear them in a natural way and reintroduce them to their natural environment. The depth of information, viewing experience and close involvement with a ‘real’ and successful project was second to none. Our guides wife also fed us with, baked that morning, muffins, cookies and coffee. Our most enjoyable holiday excursion ever. The fees from our excursion went towards the maintenance of thus special project.
Reviewer: Judith Simpson
5 Stars
A Nature Safari
January 11, 2019
Our tour (Dec., 21) with Sue of Pohatu Penguins was awesome. She was always informative, and at the same time in total control of the micro-bus on a narrow dirt road, often with spectacular views. A few stand-out memories: seeing the original site of the lighthouse moved to the harbour (Sue had photos of this process)., feeding the goats, seeing the baby penguins being fed anchovies. On the whole, a great excursion!
Reviewer: Gordon Maze
5 Stars
Penguins and Sheep
December 19, 2018
The weather was horrible and it did make hide the views from the hills. But our tour guide used technology and circulated pictures of what we would see if the weather was better. At the farm we feed the sheep, ate great homemade scones and visited penguin breeding nests with penguins in them. Our guide was very passionate about their conservation efforts, which made the tour very educational.
Reviewer: Jody Wheeler
5 Stars
Akaroa and Blue Penguins
March 19, 2018
Fabulous 4 hour tour on the Peninsula. This was on of the highlights of all our excursions. Absolutely top notch in information and outstanding one on one with the Blue Penquins and their rescue operation and nesting sights. Excellent tour guide!!
Reviewer: Laura Tremblay
5 Stars
Nature Safari
March 05, 2018
Great day with a small group and guide from Akaroa, visited very picturesque lookout, sheep farm and helped rescue a penguin.
Reviewer: Ray Rumsey
5 Stars
A rare treat!
February 27, 2018
We were driven around in a clean van by a very-well-informed young man who took us to many places of natural beauty. As we traveled he explained to us that the tour was operated as a fund-raiser for a sheep ranch which has recently taken on the task of saving endangered penguins which nest on its property. We visited the ranch where we were treated to tea and homemade baked goods, a chance to see working dogs herding the sheep, and learned much about the penguins and how they were being helped to survive. Our driver was a scientist who did an excellent job of explaining what we were seeing on our brief hike along the shore where the birds were nesting.
Reviewer: Robert Falk
5 Stars
Excellent
February 26, 2018
A very interesting tour given by an informative guide. Beautiful scenery and wildlife. The penguins were stars. Well worth the money.
Reviewer: Trevor Huckle
5 Stars
Nature safari
February 12, 2018
Not enough stars to rate this nature safari! Averil was excellent as tour guide/driver.We both enjoyed tour immensely and would do it again. Thank you for sharing this piece of heaven, and delicious home baked muffins,with us😍
Reviewer: Leslie kelly
5 Stars
Akoroa
December 30, 2017
Best excursion ever!
Reviewer: E Lewis
5 Stars
Nature Safari
December 25, 2017
totally enjoyable
Reviewer: Robert Demers
5 Stars
Nature Safari
December 11, 2017
Guide was great. Views were outstanding, and what we learned that day was amazing.The blue penguins were cool. A very interesting and beautiful trip.
Reviewer: Mitch Blaesing
5 Stars
Sheep and penguins
December 11, 2017
Fantastic. Loved the owner/tour guide. Enjoyed the scenery and her farm
Reviewer: Rich Crane
5 Stars
The Best
March 23, 2017
Small 4WD van with a guide who was devoted to repairing the environment and the endangered wildlife. The scenery was beautiful...we on dirt roads much of the time and I truly felt like I was experiencing something unique. The penguin preserve was remarkable. The live in manager was so knowledgeable and devoted to saving these birds. She made us tea and cookies and we enjoyed sitting on her porch surrounded by wild flowers, mountains, and the cove. What a wonderful day.
Reviewer: Denise Brown
5 Stars
A great Day
March 17, 2017
Our guide Murray was fantastic! He drove us to the top of ridges to see the lighthouse and the stunning view of the turquoise bays below. He took us to a sheep farm on a beautiful bay and showed us penguins that were molting. He even provided tea, cake and cookies midday! Our all-day tour around Akaroa was my favorite in NZ. Five stars to Murray!
Reviewer: Cynthia Conrad
5 Stars
Visiting the forests near Hobart
March 06, 2017
We had an invigorating hike to see the beautiful forests and waterfalls with an optional hike further up the mountain to view another waterfall. We took the option of sitting on a bench along the trail as the elevation increased and the rest of the group returned in 30 minutes. The animal park was enlightening as we walked around the hilly trails to see displays of kangaroos, koalas, wombats, possums, Tasmanian devils, and short-beaked Echidnas and emus--it was a nice collection of Australian critters up close.
Reviewer: Sarah Pommer
5 Stars