Wonderful trip
April 20, 2020
I loved the visit to the Maori Living village, seeing how the Maori lived. The visit to the kiwi farm was also interesting for me. It was a wonderful day.
Reviewer: Margaret McRae
5 Stars
Rotorua Geothermal wonderland and Maori Culture
April 14, 2020
Excellent, highlight of our trip. Our driver was excellent pointing out sights along the way. Our lunch stop was great.
Reviewer: David
5 Stars
Rotorua
March 31, 2020
The day with Duncan as our bus tour guide was great. Geothermal wonderland and the Village were amazing. Would encourage everyone to do this trip
Reviewer: Wayne & Robyn
5 Stars
Amazing Rotorua
March 31, 2020
This was a very fun excursion - very different from what I normally see. The Geothermal Wonderland is amazing, and how the people utilize it is fascinating.
Reviewer: JENNIFER LIU
5 Stars
What a great day this was!
March 30, 2020
With our excellent driver and guide Jan C, we saw so much, heard so much, and were made to feel more like friends than clients. Her local knowledge was superb, and she was happy to share it. She went the extra mile for us all. Thanks, Jan. Would recommend one of your tours to anyone.
Reviewer: Sandra Pearse
5 Stars
sightseeing
March 13, 2020
Nice tour with a very good and caring our guide. The place visit was interesting.
Reviewer: Philip Lam
5 Stars
Rotorua and Maori excursion
March 11, 2020
We enjoyed seeing all the beautiful sights, and especially liked the Maori part. The guide showed us through the Maori village and the people sang and danced for us.
Reviewer: Kathy Adams
5 Stars
Wonderful excursion
March 08, 2020
Probably the best indigenous tour I have had the opportunity to be a part of.
Reviewer: Sheila
5 Stars
Rotarua: a Wonderland for sure!
March 05, 2020
This is a wonderful small group trip to the heart of the Rotarua geothermal area. Aside from seeing more of the beautiful New Zealand countryside we visitied scenic waterfalls, were introduced to the silver fern, symbol of NZ, and had a very relaxed visit to a Maori village in the middle of the geothermal area. The guides at the village are Maori and they explain the culture and history of the village and the area. This is a wonderful excursion with a fair amount of walking and time to explore and sample things on our own.
Reviewer: Karen McCandless-Buck
5 Stars
my favorite
February 29, 2020
what a wonderful tour. You get to experience the whole town and their unique living. well worth it
Reviewer: mary m bahry
5 Stars
Road trip
February 23, 2020
Length of time between stops was just right and the guide Les was very accommodating when another tourist had a minor problem. We were kept informed and he made sure that we understood the reason for delay. We were still able to see everything that was on the tour without feeling rushed.
Reviewer: Maureen
5 Stars
Rotorua Geothermal Wonderland and Maori Cultual
February 16, 2020
A must see. The Geothermal springs are amazing as was the introduction to the Maori culture. Our tour guide was from the area and had vast knowledge of the culture and history of the Maori people.
Reviewer: Julie Jacobson
5 Stars
Fantastic
February 10, 2020
What an outstanding tour. The driver was awesome and the Cultural tour guide was passionate/very knowledgable/funny.
Reviewer: Peter Mack-Heaven
5 Stars
Rotorua
January 26, 2020
We really enjoyed seeing the thermal springs and geysers, the Maori show was fun. The lunch break was very good place.
Reviewer: Rebecca Davidson
5 Stars
geothermal wonderland
January 22, 2020
interesting place that every one should see. See the Maori culture and their living, cooking.
Reviewer: TIARA NAPA
5 Stars
Rotorua &Maori Cultural Excursion
January 15, 2020
In comparison to my previous visit in 1975, I was disappointed in the geothermal village with the mud pools practically non-existent - much environmental restoration appears to be needed. The Maori guide and cultural experience was excellent.
Reviewer: Diane Healy
3 Stars
Wonderful Experience
January 14, 2020
There was so much to see and take in. Beautiful gardens, Maori culture, landscapes, forests and a knowledgeable and fun tour guide! Well worth the money and the time!
Reviewer: Sarah Simmons
5 Stars
Fascinating
December 20, 2019
Fascinating visit to this Maori village. Existence and practical uses of the geysers is mind boggling . Cultural show was the icing on the cake.
Reviewer: Paul
5 Stars
Tauranga Rotorua Geothermal &Maori excursion
December 20, 2019
Nov. 24, wonderful excursion! Long day but well worth it. Beautiful beaches(drive by) story of Makua honey(sample) must see Maori village(hot box cooking, steaming pool, geysers and a show, were all great.) Kiwi farm stop was fun and driver Grant was great
Reviewer: greg stefo
5 Stars
Very interesting
December 02, 2019
I enjoyed touring the Village, the Maori singers, dancers, and the guide. I wish we had more time at the Kiwi vineyard- would have liked to tour it more. Enjoyed the Geothermal part also.
Reviewer: Shirley Thomason
5 Stars
Rototura etc...
November 12, 2019
The excursion was fantastic , the only down side was that the driver on the bus talks way to much .
Reviewer: Edgardo Suarez
5 Stars
Excellent shore excursion
November 10, 2019
We, a group of four really enjoyed the trip.
Reviewer: Jennifer
5 Stars
Don't miss this tour!
August 20, 2019
The tour involves a fair bit of driving, but it's worth it. The highlight is a visit to a real Maori village built in the area of hot springs. The Maori presentation was very interesting, and the local Maori (college-educated) guide was very personable and informative. We saw how they cook food in the intensely hot springs. The driver/guide provided an informative commentary between stops. I'm very glad that we went.
Reviewer: Eric P
5 Stars
Great Experience
March 17, 2019
Tis was a rally good excursion. The bus trip and commentary were really good. The cultural experience was an experience and although felt a bit rrushed in someways it was still very enjoyable.
Reviewer: Patricia Robinson
5 Stars
Sounds like two different locations
March 06, 2019
After reading the details of the excursion it sounded like we would be visiting 2 different locations the Geothermal Spa where we thought we would be able to use and then a visit to an active Maori Village. It was a wonderful tour and visit to the Maori Village which sits on Geothermal Grounds, and although not what we expected it was still a wonderful excursion and would highly recommend it.
Reviewer: Joyce
5 Stars
Rotorua Geothermal & Maori Excursion
March 06, 2019
Wonderful tour, very interesting, tour guide was informative.
Reviewer: Norma Walsh
4 Stars
NZ Rotorua Excursion
March 04, 2019
Excursion delivered what it promised but could have been so much better. Tour guide and van accommodation were good. Van full but still a reasonably small group. Kiwi farm stop was far too long. Lunch stop in town was not necessary and too restrictive- no personal choice of venue and could not explore the area on our own. This took 1 hour of the tour time. Maori village tour and geothermal sights were very good and worth seeing. The Maori show however was too short.
Reviewer: Ross Williamson
3 Stars
Rotorua Geothermal Wonderland & Maori Cultural Exc
February 22, 2019
This started with a 1 and 1/2 hour drive to Rotoura which included a stop at a kiwi orchard which was very interesting. I enjoyed seeing the New Zealand countryside on the ride to the Maori village. We then saw a cultural performance by the village people, followed by a tour of the village and geothermal geysers.
Reviewer: Susan Abrams
5 Stars
Interesting
February 20, 2019
Both sites were very interesting and enjoyable.
Reviewer: kathy
4 Stars
Rotorua
February 20, 2019
The guide tried to make we have fun on the sightseeing tour. The subjects of the tour were very interesting.
Reviewer: David
4 Stars
Local Experience
February 18, 2019
If you would like to get a very "local" experience, this excursion is for you. "The Living Maori Village" where a "local" show of the Maori was preformed at it was awesome. The walking tour of "their" village was very unique.
Reviewer: sanpet
5 Stars
Rotorua, etc.
February 10, 2019
Had a memorable excursion, excellent guide and lots of laughs. Beautifully presented, wish we had more time.
Reviewer: Margith Hansen
5 Stars
Wonderful Tour and Cost Saving Over Cruise Ship
January 28, 2019
We were on a Holland America cruise of NZ in early Nov, 2018. We chose this option over the cruise ship excursion alternative which cost $100/ person more. Very glad we did This tour didn't include lunch. Since our port time was shortened by 1 hr, our tour guide modified the tour to stop for a quick 30 minute lunch at a food court of (rather than a 1 hr stop at a nicer place). The guide covered the entire itinerary & a bonus stop. A long lunch would have meant missing parts of the tour. My wife and I were very happy we save about $200 and took this tour. THIS IS A MUST DO TOUR IF YOU ARE IN THE AREA. The actual tour was run by the company ZIELANDIER. The Maori Cultural Village was fascinating. Don't expect to see Yellowstone, but you will see how the Maori's use the thermal features in their daily life - cooking, bathing, etc. Whether your do the cruise ship excursion or this one, you see the same village and the same thermal attractions. I highly recommend this excursion.
Reviewer: Thomas Sladowski
5 Stars
Tauranga tour
January 21, 2019
Very informative tour, our guide was lovely and I noticed how well he looked after an elderly lady who was on her own. Really liked the village tour and concert. He had us back to the boat in plenty of time Highly recommend this tour from Tauranga
Reviewer: Gail Newton
5 Stars
Rotorua Geothermal Wonderland & Maori Cultural
January 20, 2019
I was disappointed at the amount of time spent here. We did visit comvite and an kiwi fruit farm but I thought we would spend more time at the village. I do realise there was a funeral happening at the same time and this couldn't be helped. Otherwise this was a great tour and our amazing tour leader Jan was fabulous.
Reviewer: Jenny Burger
4 Stars
nice but commershele
January 10, 2019
maori was nice but seems for torists
Reviewer: yacob naor
4 Stars
Geothermal Wonderland of Rotorua
January 07, 2019
3 of a 4 port package & Shorex brought on plenty in the Bay of Plenty. Full 6 1/2 hrs taking in beautiful lakes, falls & rapids, a fascinating living Maori village with hot springs & more. Our guide was first class for the day & highly recommend a Shorex tour.
Reviewer: Andrew
5 Stars
Cultural Wonder
January 03, 2019
This tour included a great Maori cultural performance and tour of their geothermal areas. They were informative and loved sharing how they incorporated the geothermal activity into their daily living. Highly recommended!
Reviewer: Robin Stearns
5 Stars
Educational and Interesting
December 20, 2018
We were met promptly by Stephen our tour guide for the day. He was extremely knowledgeable and personable and made our trip special. We visited the ComVita factory and learned about Manuka honey, a kiwi farm where we sampled fresh kiwi including the golden variety which were excellent, and a living Moari village where we learned about how they used the geothermal waters for heating, cooking, bathing, etc. We also watched a performance of the Hakka there as well as some of their songs. All in all it was a great day, made special by Stephen and all of his information and quick wit.
Reviewer: Tana W
5 Stars
Stephan was great
December 19, 2018
Our tour guide made this trip fantastic. We learned about honey, kiwi fruit, geothermal areas and the highlite was the Mauri village tour and cultural show. Wonderful tour with an excellent guide.
Reviewer: Jody Wheeler
5 Stars
Excellent tour, very authentic Maori experience
December 16, 2018
One of our best tours, Stephen gave us more information than we can remember! The kiwi farm stop was interesting, but the highlight was the Maori village built atop the thermal hot spots in Rotarua. We were led by a local Maori woman, Girlie, who was very informative, amazing to look into their wooden cooking box placed over a steam vent. The cultural songs and dances were well done and not too long.
Reviewer: Margaret Griffith
5 Stars
Maori
December 12, 2018
Nice excursion to learn the Maori culture
Reviewer: Nancy
5 Stars
Rotorua Geothermal Wonderland & Maori Cultural Exc
December 11, 2018
This is one of two tour excursions we took and this was the most interesting if you are into native cultures. The Maori people put on a nice little show 20 min. with pictures afterwards.
Reviewer: Gerard Hughes
4 Stars
Rotorua and Maori Excursion
November 14, 2018
A wonderful day spent with Jan the driver/host/guide. Knowledgeable, kind and fun!,
Reviewer: Cyndy Watson
5 Stars
Rotorua
November 13, 2018
Excellent tour, our tour guide was professional and knowledgeable and funny.
Reviewer: Phillip Chin
5 Stars
Very interesting.
July 09, 2018
The pick-up process was very smooth. This was a very interesting excursion that we got to tour an actual living village and learned how the natives utilize the existing geothermal holes to cook and bathe. The welcome show put on by the natives was great.
Reviewer: Gail Salt
5 Stars
Great Tour!
May 21, 2018
On this tour, in addition to seeing the hot springs, we got a very complete view of village life of the peoples living and using the hot waters, mud and steam vents to enhance their lives. Also learned much history about the people.
Reviewer: Eddie Crews
5 Stars
The guide friendly, enthusiasm, and good knowledge
April 16, 2018
The van arrived the meeting place on time. The guide is very friendly and rich knowledge about the tour places and Maori cultures. The place of Whakarewarewa (the living Maori village) is very expressed.
Reviewer: Juzhen Huang
5 Stars
Excellent Tour
April 16, 2018
A must do tour.
Reviewer: Andrew Ng
5 Stars
Landscape and Culture
April 16, 2018
Excellent
Reviewer: Jessie Lin
5 Stars
Excellent Tour
April 16, 2018
Excellent landscape and culture tour.
Reviewer: Francis Chan
5 Stars
Excellent Tour
April 16, 2018
Excellent Tour
Reviewer: So Ying Chan
5 Stars
Excellent Tour
April 16, 2018
excellent culture tour
Reviewer: So Ying Chan
5 Stars
interesting
February 26, 2018
This tour was interesting and our guide, Eric, was a delight. The weather however was terrible: cold, windy, and spitting rain. Unfortunately, that dampened the entire day. Learned about the geological and cultural history of the area--fascinating. Also learned a great deal about kiwi fruit. Bus was comfy, fellow passengers were fun, Eric was smart and we loved his dry sense of humor while managing to make the most of the tour in crummy weather. I would recommend this tour.
Reviewer: L. McGary
4 Stars
Rotorua Geothermal Wonderland & Maori Cultural Exc
February 22, 2018
The excursion was good. The tour was on time. Tour guide was enthusiastic. I enjoyed the Maori performance in particular.
Reviewer: Philip Wong
4 Stars
Rotorua Geothermal Wonderland &Maori Cultural Excu
January 19, 2018
Very entertaining but unfortunately our ship was late in docking so our excursion had to be cut short but we had a great time and would recommend it, The drive there was quite long but the scenery was wonderful
Reviewer: Gail McKibben
4 Stars
Interesting, informative and well paced
January 11, 2018
Very good guide (Susan?-sorry not sure), well planned and paced. Excellent Maori historical and cultural excursion. Amazing springs. Other stops also interesting.
Reviewer: P. Glass
5 Stars
Rotoura Geothermal Wonderland and Maori adventure
January 08, 2018
Maori culture and lifestyle is evident throughout New Zealand. Our guide for this excursion was very knowledgeable and able to provide a great deal of insight into the Maori and New Zealand history. Our first stop was a kiwi farm, a very tasty experience. Next we were off to a bee farm, this was interning but certainly not riveting. The honey was tasty but having purchased some on Kangaroo Island I decided I didn't need anymore. Next we took a motor tour through Rotorua to get a quick look at the gardens and hotel. Spending some time in the gardens would have been a nice idea( as opposed to with the bees) We had an adequate lunch at a café on the lake. Last stop was Whakarewarewa, The Living Māori Village . The people of village were warm and welcoming and their performance was well done. The Geothermal pools and geysers are a must see. This area is a hotbed of things to see and do, you will wish you had more time
Reviewer: jeanne
4 Stars
Maori Cultural
December 25, 2017
Very informative and worth seeing
Reviewer: Robert Demers
4 Stars
Amazing
December 11, 2017
Loved the maori people. Scary to live there but they like it. Great show.
Reviewer: Rich Crane
5 Stars
Best Tour taken this Vacation
December 11, 2017
Knowledgeable guide, great show, spectacular countryside. Tour on time. Highly recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Joan C
5 Stars
Great Guide
December 01, 2017
We had a great tour of this area of New Zealand. The guide was very knowledgeable because he was a local that had grown up in the area. Rotorua is a very interesting area because of all the geothermal activity.
Reviewer: john mayer
5 Stars
Geothermal Wonderland
May 27, 2017
Very good guide, small group was very nice, we were not rushed through the day.
Reviewer: Ray Keener
5 Stars
great experience
May 10, 2017
I had a great time on the cruise and would recommend it.
Reviewer: Simon Yu
5 Stars
Rotorua Geothermal Wonderland & Maori Cultural Exc
May 06, 2017
The best of all the tours.
Reviewer: Carl Yarosz
5 Stars
Maori Village
May 05, 2017
The performance that was put on was spectacular. The voices were quite beautiful. Had a little problem finding our tour bus at the port but tour was exceptional.
Reviewer: Donna
5 Stars
great
May 01, 2017
the excursion was great, the maori dance performance and tour of the village was unique. the geothermal activity was interesting and very cool.
Reviewer: michael finkelstein
5 Stars
Outstanding Cultural Tour
April 13, 2017
This was a wonderful tour and we learned so much about the Maori. Highly recommend.
Reviewer: Anne Baunach
5 Stars
Great history tour
March 23, 2017
The tour began with a stop or two at some Geothermal pools. We the went on to a Maori Community that was very interesting. Our guide did not try to sell us anything; she truly wanted to share her culture with us. We were all fascinated by the community spirit and way of life, The geysers and thermal pools were wonderful also. It was amazing how the whole community revolved around this water source. The native dance show was a bit cheezy but everything else was well woth it.
Reviewer: Denise Brown
4 Stars
Rotorua
March 18, 2017
I thought that the trip was delightful. There were only three of us. The guide was good, explained much more than I would have gotten on the bus. Took us to a nice place for lunch. I would recommend it
Reviewer: jack macfarlane
4 Stars
Rotorua geothermal and Maori cultural
March 11, 2017
Larger group than expected. Had to divide in groups at the cultural center. Very interesting excursion.
Reviewer: Dave shelley
5 Stars
Local maori village with it's natural hot springs
March 06, 2017
This was a short culture show of community members singing and dancing with an hour long guided tour through their village. Cemetery, 2 churches, gift shop, school, and an assortment of steaming (212 degrees) pools, streams, and and erupting geysers. You could see the net bags of cooking corn on the cob and purchase some. The Maori language is taught in the schools and the signs in the village were challenging ie. the village name was Whakarewarewa. The tour bus stopped at an expensive honey company which was a waste of time but the KIWI farm offered agricultural info of this export crop and tasty samples with practical edibles to purchase for souvenirs.
Reviewer: Sarah Pommer
4 Stars
Great Tour of Sights and Maori Culture
February 27, 2017
Great tour of the sights in the area of Rotorua and especially enjoyed the Maori cultural focused village visit. Thanks!
Reviewer: Rod Berlin
5 Stars
Very cool excursion
February 20, 2017
Good info. Very interesting visit to native village
Reviewer: Sharon Leighton
5 Stars
Very interesting and educational
February 19, 2017
The guides at the Maori Center provide an excellent history of the Maori people and their culture and daily living. This trip includes the geothermal springs and eruptions from those springs. The cultural show is very informative as well as entertaining. A great place to visit.
Reviewer: Diane
5 Stars
One of the highlights of our trip!
April 06, 2016
Tour of the Maori village was one of the highlights of our trip.
Reviewer: F & C
5 Stars
Rotorua
April 01, 2016
Nice to have a smaller group with a smaller bus.
Reviewer: love to cruise
5 Stars
Excellent tour
March 21, 2016
Well organized tour. The tour guide was knowledgable and interesting. The buses were waiting for us when we disembarked from the ship and had us back in plenty of time before we needed to board.
Reviewer: BBW
5 Stars
Good trip
March 04, 2016
We had booked my wife and I on the trip. Unfortunately she took ill and had to rest at our motel. But I went alone and enjoyed the trip seeing places I had visited 40 years ago. Thanx again. Linden D Peterson. Sidney. BC Canada
Reviewer: Linden
4 Stars
I would recommend this excursion
February 08, 2016
Maori village was very interesting
Reviewer: Lucy Jane
5 Stars
Thermal experience
December 23, 2015
The most amazing experience ever
Reviewer: The three rhonddas
5 Stars
Very good
December 15, 2015
Very educational tour. If you can walk, you can do this tour. This was a very inclusive tour (kiwi farm, countryside, great Maori guide , and entertaining). Recommend it esp. If time is limited.
Reviewer: Slmg
4 Stars
The Maori Village was very interesting
November 05, 2015
It was very interesting to see the Maori Village with locals cooking and showing us their life in the village. The Rotorua geothermal show was great.
Reviewer: JudyC
4 Stars
Geothermal Waterworks
November 05, 2015
Good guides, good value, easy access. Interesting geothermal activity followed by cultural show.
Reviewer: Dave's Raves
5 Stars
View the past in the present
March 19, 2015
This was a wonderful opportunity to view a way-of-life that has gone by the wayside. These people are harnessing nature to provide themselves with what we consider to be basic necessities of life; what we have to pay for but they don't have to pay a bill for it. Their cultural music and dance presentation was great.
Reviewer: Annabelle
5 Stars
Money and time well spent.
March 09, 2015
The Kiwi 360 Research Center was very informative. I never knew that kiwi grew on vines like grapes. The Maori Cultural Center was wonderful - seeing how these people have harnessed the steam and heat from the springs to enhance their lives and permit them to live more independently.
Reviewer: Annabelle
5 Stars
My favorite excursion of the whole cruis
March 05, 2015
A wonderful day with great cultural experiences.
Reviewer: Arizona
4 Stars
rotorua
January 05, 2015
Great tour
Reviewer: gyandny
5 Stars
Excellent
December 11, 2014
Great excursion
Reviewer: Stage mom
5 Stars
Good experience
April 22, 2014
Tour guide was professional. This was the summary experience of Rotorua that I wanted. All the must sees were included.
Reviewer: One Wize One
5 Stars
Great tour, geothermal was disappointing
April 17, 2014
All in all this was a very good tour (March 2014). There was lots of variety in the tour (Kiwi 360, rapids, scenery, a nice stop for lunch, geothermal, Maori dance, mud pools etc) and our guide was excellent...never stopped talking and was very entertaining. We were just expecting a little more from the geothermal aspect of the tour. Did not expect to find it in the middle of a little Maori town. We thought it would be 'out in nature"". That being said, the guides at the geothermal area were superb. And the Maori dance that we were treated to was wonderful. This made up for our disappointment. This is a must do tour when in New Zealand and I would recommend it.
Reviewer: Bobbybyron
4 Stars
Spectacular
April 14, 2014
This was a great cultural experience and the geothermal activity was spectacular. The trip had variety and the guide/driver was knowledgeable, friendly, cooperative and entertaining.
Reviewer: Big D
5 Stars
Geothermal Wonderland
April 07, 2014
No way to contact the company from the ship except by email which was a minimum of $30 for 27 minutes. The tour was great, the people were informative and our driver did a wonderful job. You need to put phone numbers on your confirmation sheets.
Reviewer: Carol from California
4 Stars
Great Tour of Maori Village
March 24, 2014
The dances, songs, exhibits, and explanations about the historical life in a Maori village was excellent, entertaining, and educational. The Maori people living in the village were very nice. Learning how the people have learned to benefit from their geothermal environment was very interesting. The Maori people are very proud of their culture.
Reviewer: Traveling Fool
4 Stars
Wonderful excursion
January 17, 2014
This tour gave a great overview of the geothermal activities and the Maori culture. It was awesome to see a real Maori village.
Reviewer: BB the traveler
4 Stars
Great tour,well guided, great value.
April 23, 2013
met all expectations
Reviewer: traverler
5 Stars
Fantastic tour !!!
April 04, 2013
This was a wonderful tour. The guide was excellent.
Reviewer: Ventura Cruiser
5 Stars
great educational experience.
February 05, 2013
Had problems locating tour at dock since there were unexpected happenings there. A ""name sign"" would have greatly helped. Much preferred the small group that this tour provided to the large ""cattle"" bus the ship used. Will use this service again.
Reviewer: Jim
4 Stars
Rotorua New Zealand
January 08, 2013
The guide was average. The sound system in the vehicle was at best difficult to hear the narration of our guide. We did enjoy the itinerary and variety of the excursion.
Reviewer: The Hoffmans
5 Stars