Making Memories
August 26, 2019
This is the best excursion if you really want to try something different with no crowds. We did some research so we knew about the golf cart rentals, though we pd $25 for the time we were there. People were friendly and we had lunch on the beach and then found our way to the "Secret Beach". Only advise--make sure you have enough cash. Would do this again!! Lots of fun
Reviewer: wendy l snyder
5 Stars
Ambergris caye
March 04, 2019
Great excursion just not enough time if you go travel north don’t waste time going south
Reviewer: Steve
5 Stars
Flight was bestt part
January 23, 2019
The flight was the best part of this excursion. We did as others suggested and rented a golf cart. It was $50. Tons of golf carts zooming around. We wanted a beach and there really aren’t any that are close enough when driving a golf cart. The shops are not good enough to even think about shopping at. We ate at a restaurant on the water and it was good. But we didn’t realize they give you a time to fly back. So after driving around and eating there wasn’t much else to do so we went to the airport and sat for 1 1/2 hours till our flight. I must say the airport upper lounge is beautiful and very inviting. They have a bar and many tables to sit at while waiting. Our time was getting very close with our flight and we were nervous we wouldn’t make it to the ship. So that causes a little stress. Probably wouldn’t do this excursion again.
Reviewer: JJ
3 Stars
Who knew?
September 20, 2018
What a great excursion, that almost no one knew about. Shore Excursions was the only company to offer an excursion like this. Also, did my due diligence and looked at flights to do on our own and this was still the best way to go, especially when getting us to and from the airport. We didn't have to call or wait. It was great and reassuring. When we got back to the airport, they were waiting and driver shared his knowledge with us about his home. The excursion itself was a lot of fun and low key, the only worry was keeping track of time to get back in time. We rented a golf cart for a reasonable amount and just went around the island, until we found places to eat. This place probably had the best meal on the whole vacation, including the specialty restaurants on the cruise. Robin's Kitchen, was sooo good and it was a road side shack, no less. The freedom of just riding around looking at the water, kicking it with the locals, was a blast! Best keep secret.
Reviewer: Victoria S.
5 Stars
Best Cruise Excursion Ever - Unique & Exclusive
April 06, 2017
This was the first time we had booked an excursion outside the cruise line and it worked beautifully! Easy to find the registration desk once we disembarked, taken to the airport and then a breathtaking, exciting ride in a small plane to Ambergris Caye . We rented three golf carts and had a great time exploring the island, drinking and eating on the beach and then flew back to Belize where our van was waiting to take us back to the ship. I was worried about timing but we actually had loads of time to spare.
Reviewer: Amber Schmitt
5 Stars
January Cruise Stop in Belize
February 24, 2017
We enjoyed ourselves, but wish we would have had more time to explore and enjoy Ambergris Caye. The tour company was extremely helpful with transporting us to and from the domestic terminal. We chose the own our own package; recommend a guide we were lost and wandered, went the wrong direction wasting precious time on the island.
Reviewer: Joe S
4 Stars
Our trip was great!
November 27, 2016
We were apprehensive at first but this was an amazing excursion - truly on "our own". Private shuttle to a small airport in Belize. A quick landing on a remote island then landed in San Pedro. Rustic, quaint and hot (in Sept.) We went to Ramons Resort (not charge) and relaxed on the beach and purchased lunch. If you have time you can rent a golf cart and explore more of the island. Great flight back, with amazing sights, shuttle driver waiting for us so we made our boarding time. Reliable, helpful and friendly staff.
Reviewer: D'liese Johnson
5 Stars
Off the beaten cruise path
August 31, 2016
If you have cruised a few times and if you want something a little different (or if you realize that Belize may not be the best stop overall). Memorable points - flying over the Caribbean for 10-15 minutes looking down is a great experience. The island has three main roads, renting a golf cart to zip around is a bit off the norm. For those concerned about safety, we never felt in harms way. We wondered the isle, found some great food, then hit the beach next to a little bar sat in the water and had a drink. (Great experience for older kids if they have not flown in a smaller plane. Smaller kids would probably not be a fit here - nothing bad but not a fit.) We made it there and back with plenty of time to get back to the ship.
Reviewer: Dan Adams
5 Stars
A Must Do
July 13, 2016
Ambergis Caye was everything I read it would be. The flight over...oh my how beautiful looking down over the other Cayes. I highly recommend it
Reviewer: Sonrisa Heart
5 Stars
Great flight and visit
May 05, 2016
We really wanted to go to Ambergris Caye while in Belize on our Norwegian cruise, and NCL did not offer this option. We were met reasonably on time, and driven to the local airport by a very friendly and knowledgeable driver who pointed out highlights of Belize City on our drive. We loved the flights to and from Ambergris Caye - beautiful views of the reef and other Cayes. The pilot on the return flight again pointed out the main sights.
Reviewer: ScotAlan
4 Stars
Expensive but worthwhile
April 07, 2016
Due to disorganised tendering from cruise ship we lost more than an hour from this excursion. Flight was good. Golf cart rental could have been an optional add-on, this part was fun.
Reviewer: Old folks
4 Stars
I definitely would purchase this excursion again.
March 02, 2016
We did a VIP private car tour with Cameron (hope I have his name correct). He dropped us off for zip lining, where we had an ""out of this world"" great time with ""Superman"" and his helper. Then our guide took us sightseeing, shopping, did a stop for our lunch and drinks (iguana was the island lunch special that day) and then took us back to a store again where we might find this ""special item"" that we missed on our first stop there. Great day on this land excursion that we will remember forever.
Reviewer: Gram
5 Stars
Excellent excursion!
February 02, 2016
Great excursion! Friendly locals and staff. Visiting San Pedro island was a wonderful experience. We explored the island on a golf cart and sampled some of the local cuisine. Many shops and restaurants. The resorts even welcomed us to use their facilities and beach area!
Reviewer: Satisfied traveler
5 Stars
A small island with Pazazz!
January 29, 2016
My wife and I had a blast. First time we have ever taken a small plane anywhere. Found our guide easy at the port. Got to the airport and didn't have to wait long for our flight to San Pedro. Once there, we rented a golf cart and explored the Island streets. One of the locals hopped on with us and gave us a guided tour simply because ""he had nothing to do at the time"". Awesome! We ended up at the Holiday Hotel having drinks and lunch on the covered patio, looking out over the ocean. This is no lie, the food was amazing; however, the drinks were the BEST mixed drinks I've EVER had in my life. Order the Miami Vice. It is not like others you may have had. WOW. We headed back to the airport and were on our way back to the mainland to get to our Cruise ship. A great adventure. We want to book this again. I think we will also travel to San Pedro to stay for a few days as well.
Reviewer: Gladiator Knight
5 Stars
Totally satisfied
January 07, 2016
I was a little bit concerned about using a non-cruise designated excursion. There was absolutely no need for concern, everything went exactly as promised
Reviewer: Connie
5 Stars
Awesome trip
December 30, 2015
Once we got off the boat we had a very friendly and historical guide to the airport . After we got off a fun plane ride the captain got one of the locals to rent a golf cart and we cruised the entire island stopping here and there to explore the local area and also the resort beaches. Great place to visit , people were super friendly, and a relaxed atmosphere to say the least. Would do this again for sure.
Reviewer: The cruisers
5 Stars
Unique tour
December 04, 2015
This was a fantastic way to spend a day in Belize. Having been to Belize city several times and ""been there, done that"" with ship's excursions this gave our party of 6 something unique to do. Tour was well organized. We explored island on our own with a 6 person golf cart. Flights over reef was really neat.
Reviewer: hmcoletravelers
5 Stars
Amazing Day
August 30, 2015
Such a fun day! We were met at the cruise dock...easy to find the reps. They took us to check-in inside the shopping area. Once checked in, they escorted us to a van and took us directly to the air strip. Great flight over and back! Amazing views! Rented a golf cart right at the landing area...$12.50 an hour rental. Amazing island to see. Drove all over...felt safe. Visited two gorgeous resorts and were allowed to use their accommodations. Simply wonderful!
Reviewer: C Day
5 Stars
Great day trip !
July 30, 2015
The flight from Belize City was excellent and the service was great ! Flying in a small plane was a highlight for me as this was my familys first flight in a very small plane. It was nice to safely visit Ambergris Caye and have time to look around on our own. No cruise traffic except for my family. We rented a golf cart and had a great time just driving around and seeing the island. Excellent value !
Reviewer: Lisa B
5 Stars
Great airplane trip
June 10, 2015
Just one other couple, we had the day to ourselves. It rained and the water was filled with seaweed. The tour company was excellent. Asked to go back earlier and they could not have been nicer.
Reviewer: Gail
4 Stars
Isla Bonita !
May 18, 2015
We were on the first tender off the ship as we were told. Waited an hour for the shuttle to the airport. Then another hour at the airport. Got to A. C. A Lil after 11. Rented a golf cart for $35 us. Cruised around and found many great spots to eat swim and drink. 3 hours is just not enough time. I feel like we could have gotten there much earlier considering all the time that was wasted waiting. Our driver David was awesome. Had a great time just needs to be longer.
Reviewer: F.N. Vickers
4 Stars
MORE THAN WHAT I BARGAINED FOR
May 01, 2015
THIS WAS MORE THAN WHAT I HOPED FOR. IT WAS EXACTLY AS DESCRIBED AND EXACTLY WHAT I WANTED. COULDN'T HAVE BEEN HAPPIER
Reviewer: Bunny
5 Stars
Great Excursion to Ambergris Caye
February 25, 2015
The excursion was well organized. We were met at the designated location at the assigned time. Very unusual excursion in that it involved an airplane flight. We have wanted to visit Ambergris Caye for some time and never thought it possible while on a cruise. Great use of limited time. You might want to consider a similar excursion to Caye Caulker.
Reviewer: None
5 Stars
Easy peasy
January 06, 2015
Great time spent with little crowds
Reviewer: Acrock
4 Stars
Awesome Views, Beautiful Place
December 02, 2014
Shuttle was prompt. Drivers very courteous. Spectacular flight with amazing views. San Pedro was quaint, not over developed and nice beaches. If you snorkel, this is the place to do it. From the airport, you can rent a golf cart or walk. This was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. Would definitely return to San Pedro on a future holiday.
Reviewer: trucker
5 Stars
Be sure you're the 1st off the Boat
July 16, 2014
This tour is a great deal if want to do something off the beaten path. Ambergris Caye is a neat place to visit, even for just a few hours. Unfortunately, we had a pass for the first tender which I thought would be good, but so did about 200 others. We somehow were pushed to the back of the line and didn't make the very first tenders. This isn't the tour operator's fault, but Carnival needs a better system. This caused us to miss our start time by 5 minutes which ultimately took about an hour - hour and 1/2 off our tour time. The return flight was about 20 minutes late but the tour supervisor (very nice lady) got us back to the dock with time to spare for the last tender back. It's worth it, and would do it again now that I know the pitfalls with Carnival's tender system. The same thing caused us to be late at another stop later in the cruise. The overall service by the tour operator was great, in spite of the glitches.
Reviewer: psnomis
4 Stars
Great excursion
April 23, 2014
Enjoyed golf cart rental to travel at our own pace, gorgeous beaches, nice downtown, tourist area. Good restaurant
Reviewer: Stringbean
5 Stars
""On your own"" made easy
March 03, 2014
Provided the right balance of independent travel and arranged tour. Pick up and return to the cruise ship were on time and handled by friendly staff who provided local information on the drive to and from the airport. Service was better than expected. More information would be useful in the description before booking, such as the amount of time in San Pedro, the availability of golf carts right at the air strip, easy walking distance to the heart of the village. We wanted to see the Belize shown on TV in such shows as House Hunters Int'l and knew this was not Belize City. Taking the ""On Your Own"" with Shore Excursions made our trip possible. We would not have attempted it totally on our own.
Reviewer: World Traveler
5 Stars
Leave Belize City, see Ambergris Caye!
February 26, 2014
Its a very good idea to get out of Belize City where there is nothing to see and its unsafe. A quick flight to A. K. and its safer and fun to look around San Pedro. We rented a golf cart. Best area to see is to the north where communities for retirement are starting. Beaches are nice there and there are places to eat. Fun little city to walk around and then a quick and beautiful flight back viewing the coastline.
Reviewer: island hopper
4 Stars
Not enough time!!!
February 12, 2014
The best way to experience Ambergris Caye is by Golf Cart. We rented our cart close to the Airport - pick up and drop off were a breeze. We drove all around - but be sure you watch for one-way streets!!! We ended up driving all the way North to the 'end of the road' - and found paradise in the form of Bar & Grill where they're Livin' the Dream - and they truly are!!! (Fish Tacos are totally awesome!!!) Even though we had a fantastic day - it wasn't long enough - we simply can't wait to go back and stay longer... what a wonderful preview to ""La Isla Bonita""!!!!
Reviewer: Lare,DD,JG,Cindee
5 Stars
FANTACY ISLAND
January 29, 2014
We went to Fantacy Island because the weather was not the greatest and the beach was more protected there. We were pleased and the driver who took us there and back was very nice and was very good at english. He was quite the tour guide, and told us what everything was on the trip to our destination and back. Going back he took a different route and it was a beautiful drive. Kudos to you Moses!!
Reviewer: TWO NOT SO BROKE GIRLS
4 Stars
FLIGHT TO SAN PEDRO
January 29, 2014
The flight was great the views of the ocean were wonderful. When we arrived we rented a golf cart for $10. an hour very resonable. We spent about three hours touring around the island, a lot of fun. Had lunch at a little quaint place on the beach. Returned back to the airport and was off again back to the ship. Lots of fun
Reviewer: TWO NOT SO BROKE GIRLS
4 Stars
Best thing to do in Belize
December 02, 2013
I absolutely think this is the way to go in Belize. This is one of the more expensive excursion options, but it is well worth it. Shopping at the cruise terminal is not really anything exciting. My fiancé wants to learn to fly, so taking a small plane ride was really all we were looking to do. The view from the air is amazing! The water is SO clear you can see larger animals swimming in it from the air. Once we landed, we rented a golf cart and drove around the island. We found a few little stands to shop at, but found the prices in Belize to be higher than expected. We ended up at the beach just relaxing on our own for a while before boarding the last flight out. The tour operators were very conscience about getting us back to our cruise in time, which was much appreciated. After hearing other people's stories of their excursions, I definitely think we got the best one.
Reviewer: C & H
5 Stars
You can do it own your own!
June 08, 2013
This was a great adventure! We had booked this and were worried we might have trouble making the flight times but they are very flexable on flight times as they have planes leaving hourly. The island was very interesting and you were not treated as a tourist over there. We rented a golf cart and ran all over the island, It was fun to see things at our own pace.
Reviewer: Cedarman & wifey
4 Stars
Great Time
June 07, 2013
The sights from the plane were wonderful once we got to the island we rented one of the golf carts and had a drink at one of the resorts. Then off to have lunch at a local place close to the airport. All in all this was a great time and we want to go back and stay on San Pedro. I did feel the price was a bit high and had I been given good information as to what to do when we got there it might have felt like a better value. The driver that took us to the airport was amazing we had a great history lesson on our way there tipped him well. The one that picked us up didn't say a word needless to say no tip his way.
Reviewer: Cruiser Jim
4 Stars
I will buy this type product from you in
May 01, 2013
The coordination between cruise ship and your service was good in Belize City, sorta seemless. Transportation to/from the local air field to Ambergris Caye was good and frequent; we rented golf carts in Ambergris Caye to tour the Island and sample local foods...all good. Purpose of trip was to check out facilities, etc. for future vacation fishing trips. Time was limiting factor as ship sailed by 5PM so we only had about 7 hours total time (about 4+ hrs on the island)to depart Belize City at 4:30 for the ship. Tight schedule but everything worked out well for us.Thanks for good day trip.
Reviewer: Texas Rancher
5 Stars
Fabulous Adventure
April 26, 2013
This posting is somewhat late, since our excursion was on Thanksgiving Day 2012. One of our cruise stops was Belize so we decided to book this island trip on our own. It was a risky plan since the cruise lines tell you they will not wait for you if you're late arriving to the port. We did it anyway and enjoyed every minute of it. We made reservations with a local shop which included two snorkel stops and lunch on the beach. We also did some local shopping in the streets - apparently it was market day the day we arrived. A short walk back to the airport, a short plane ride back in the Cessna, a short taxi ride back to the port, and then back onto the ship ready for our next stop in Cozumel. I would highly recommend this trip even if you did not have reservations for a dive/snorkel trip. Apparently you can rent a golf, which is the primary means of transportation, and cruise the island at your leisure.
Reviewer: TadPole
5 Stars
Adventure of a Lifetime
March 29, 2013
This was a great experience, wish we had more time. My sons rented a Hobie Cat and had a blast in the bay, while I and my daughter explored town and figured out where we wanted to eat our meal. It was breathtaking!
Reviewer: BB
5 Stars
Great family time
February 08, 2013
Some say not to rent a golf cart but we did and were able to see the whole island and then go back to the best parts again, We traveled with a elderly person and did not have any problems, they injoyed every minute. If you have small children or an elderly person great excursion. If you want a wonderful time alone or with your loved one, you cant miss this one. Best excursion we ever went on. The view from the plane was AWWWWW inspiring.
Reviewer: NOTW 2
5 Stars
Fun!!!
October 13, 2012
Our family of five splurged on this offshore excursion. It was definitely an experience I would do again. Ambergis Caye is one of the prettiest beaches I have ever seen. We were a little lost once we got off the plane, but quickly found the beach and a restaraunt. Shore Excursions basically just gets you to the airport and then picks you up. I don't know if it would be cheaper to taxi yourself and buy your own tickets. Might be worth checking into...
Reviewer: Wendi
5 Stars
WOW Just Very Cool
May 23, 2012
I would highly recomend this excursion. It was so neat. The plane ride over was cool and once we got there (20 min or so ) the people were all very helpfull and the beach was just a walk away. We planned our own dive /snorkel trip once there. Us guys dove and the girls snorkeled around us.Once back we had time for a very nice lunch and drink before heading back to the plane. WONDERFULL
Reviewer: Joann
5 Stars
Good times on the Caye...
April 23, 2012
Port area can be a bit congested/confusing as you step off the tender...we missed our guide initially b/c he was holding a sign for a different excursion than the one we had booked. Once we got that all figured out, the rest was smooth sailing. The Caye is beautiful with a laid-back atmosphere. We enjoyed our visit and hope to return one day.
Reviewer: Big R
4 Stars
Amazing!!
December 16, 2011
I was with my 9 year old daughter and was worried about feeling safe since Belize City is questionable. Ambergris Caye was amazing, beautiful, relaxing, safe and we loved it.
Reviewer: Linda
5 Stars
Beautiful Destination
June 17, 2011
We really enjoyed our day at the beach on San Pedro/Ambergris Caye....the local people were really helpful when we arrived about telling us different things we could do. The lady at the golf cart rental place actually told us not to rent the golf cart and showed us the way to the best beach on the island! I wish we had researched the tour a bit better before we went(my fault), as I didn't realize there was lots more to do than just hang out on the beach. We went to a resort located on the beach and they let us use the beach, they had delicious drinks too!!! WE had our 7 month old daughter with us so this was a great excursion to do with a little one. We loved the area so much we will most definitely be back for a vacation here.
Reviewer: xxx
4 Stars