5 StarsAwesomeAugust 30, 2018

Reviewer: Yosselyn Martinez
My 8yr son and I had so much fun! The guys were very professional and filled with knowledge. Absolutely loved the lagoon, nice and peaceful. The tour guys, cnt remember the main tour guys name but they were awesome and our driver candy 🍬 he was great too! Recommend it!

4 StarsGreat ValueAugust 28, 2018

Reviewer: C Clarke
Our family had a great time on the tour. The ruins were simple but that’s what we liked about it. Got a taste of history without the unnecessary long lecture. Lunch was very good and service was amazing as well. The Lagoon was a clear and beautiful. You can kayak to the other side where the sand bar is soft. A word of warning. It is VERY rocky to walk into the water. Hard to swim so make sure to bring water shoes. Overall a great time. And we LOVE that we didn’t book with the Cruise because the group was small and we were able to take our time. Diego, our guide was very knowledgeable.

5 StarsOh, the pineapple!August 13, 2018

Reviewer: Bryce Assink
This excursion was fantastic! As soon as we checked in, they started handing out ice cold water, which was appreciated. The tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. The tour at the ruins was well run with plenty of time for pictures. They even had a guy walking around with a cooler/backpack handing out ice cold water at the ruins! Then we took a ride to the resort, stopping for fresh sliced pineapple and lemoncitos at a road-side stand (bring a couple bucks for this...well worth it!). The lunch was excellent and the time at the resort was wonderfully relaxing. Swimming, kayaking, and just laying around for bit. All in all, a perfect way to kick off our cruise.

5 StarsGreat TourAugust 13, 2018

Reviewer: Cathy Reid
This tour was a highlight of our cruise. Fabiola, our guide was terrific! It was a very hot day so we did a shortened Mayan ruin tour and spent more time at the lagoon. What a beautiful relaxing day on the water kayaking and swimming. The food was excellent too. We even made a stop for fresh pineapple and dragon fruit. My son says pineapple will never taste as good again!

5 StarsFantastic tour and guidesJuly 23, 2018

Reviewer: Jennifer
Not too far from ship. Easy to find. Alondra, Fabiola and the drivers were fantastic. Food was very good and filling. Drinks were delicious. Stopped for pineapple and chili powder on the way back to ship. Water was provided. Great tour!

5 StarsExcellent Tour and Great GuideJuly 09, 2018

Reviewer: Tiffany Matthews
The Mayan Ruins at Chacchoben were very exciting to see, plus we were able to do some climbing on parts of them. Being able to touch history in that way is amazing. Lunch was supurb, but the drinks were light on the alcohol content. It was all you can drink, though. The 7 color lagoon was breath taking. We did see spider monkeys at the ruins and many colorful birds at the lagoon.

5 StarsCosta Maya excursion June 11, 2018

Reviewer: Tracie
This was our favorite excursion by far. The tour guides were excellent and the authentic Mexican meal was delicious. We loved seeing the Mayan ruins and after going to the unbelievable private lagoon! So so beautiful. I would definitely recommend this excursion. No need for bug spray or long sleeve clothing. Do bring some $1.00 bills to buy the fresh pineapple they sell on the road it’s the best I’ve ever had ( you can eat the core) which is unheard of in the states. One piece of advice the map is not super clear on how to find your van you have to leave the shopping plaza and walk down the street. It’s a little scary but our guides were waiting for us and we felt relieved once we reached them. I would do this excursion again! ❤️❤️❤️ It

4 StarsTouring the ruinsJune 11, 2018

Reviewer: Thomas Cullen
This was a great tour. Well informed people leading the tour with a lot of information during the ride. Good entertainment as well. Very informative. The ruins were great to see.

5 StarsBest Tour EverMay 31, 2018

Reviewer: Kathy Bilodeau
We had a driver, a tour guide and a new employee guide in training. They were remarkable! We felt like we made new friends. You will not be disappointed with this tour. They treated us wonderfully, and it was the highlight of our cuise!

5 StarsAwesomeMay 21, 2018

Reviewer: Matt
Definitely book this tour . Finding it was slightly tricky. When you get off the ship and enter the shopping area find the road that leaves the shopping area it’s the only road that does this . This will lead to a pyramid and you make a left at the pyramid and walk two blocks in the business is on the left . This excursion by far was the highlight of our trip with carnival cruise line . Do not hesitate make sure you book this trip. They were conscientious and got us back in plenty of time. The lagoon, and the dinner they served at the end of the excursion was exquisite. Very private, and very beautiful. I will say it again do not hesitate to book this excursion!!

5 StarsA very nice dayMay 14, 2018

Reviewer: Guy Marois
Tour well organized and very professional Highly recommended. Private resort very nice, unique and private.

5 StarsGreat TimeMay 14, 2018

Reviewer: Douglas Moorer
We had a great time. Our guide was wonderful, he took the time to explain the history and culture of the locals. Would definitely recommend this excursion.

5 StarsRuins/Lagoon TourApril 23, 2018

Reviewer: Shannon Aho
The vans were very safe and comfortable. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. It was a very informative tour that ended with a visit to the 7 color lagoon which was AMAZING!

5 StarsVery professionalApril 23, 2018

Reviewer: Rustie
This was by far the most professional excursion we took. Our guide and driver were excellent! My mom loved the complimentary bottled water.Chacchoben was lovely. You DO NOT need long clothing or bug spray in March. The resort was lovely. We enjoyed a delicious lunch and complimentary drinks. Some people on our tour never left the bar. Too bad for them, because this was a picture from a travel magazine! We swam, kayaked the shore, and sunbathed. Some people took the kayaks with a guide. I am guessing they experienced the "extreme" part of the tour. There wasn't time for the group that went kayaking to enjoy swimming, also. We were happy with our choice to stay at the resort.

5 StarsWould give 6 stars if possible! EXCELLENT! April 02, 2018

Reviewer: Karin Ray
Eddar was a fantastic guide! Knowledgeable, funny, and very attentive. Reyes got us to our destinations quickly and safely!! HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend this tour for anyone interested in learning about and touring actual ruins. We can't stop talking about how wonderful it was. The food and the lagoon were perfect! Be sure to try the Pineapple with Chili Powder sold by the locals - you will NOT be sorry!

4 StarsSuper Fun TimeMarch 24, 2018

Reviewer: Blaire Wilson
I definitely recommend this excursion. It was fun, informative, and left you feeling you like you understood the culture around you. The bus tour guide was fun and educational and, most importantly, authentic. At the ruins, our guide was great and easy to understand, and he gave us plenty of time to get the pictures we wanted. This tour was special because we hopped back on the bus and drove to have lunch at a resort in the middle of the jungle right on a private lagoon. Traditional Mexican tacos were great and we thoroughly enjoyed our free time kayaking. The margaritas and pina colatas were a plus (although they were a little weak, yummy nevertheless).

5 StarsPerfect mix of culture and relaxationMarch 22, 2018

Reviewer: Susie Schneier
After a very comfortable ride in an air conditioned van to the ruins, we were treated to an informative talk and ample time to explore. The blue lagoon was beautiful, with opportunities to swim, kayak and even get a massage. Would absolutely recommend.

5 StarsMust do excursion!March 20, 2018

Reviewer: Kris Baldwin
This was a perfect excursion from start to finish. The directions were great to meet up with Diego, our tour guide. He was beyond amazing! While the ruins were about 45 minute drive they were impressive. The lagoon and lunch with kayaking was a hit with my entire family. It is beautiful and nobody wanted to leave. There was also water throughout. This was a favorite for my entire family of the week!

5 StarsGreat Experience!March 13, 2018

Reviewer: Alan Wazny
Excursion was excellent. We had Diego as a guide. He was very knowledgeable and fun. He answered all the questions we had and even offered us some spicy Mexican candies to try! 10/10. I even recommended the excursion to my parents when I got home. They had a different guide and say that he was also great!

5 StarsLoved it!March 12, 2018

Reviewer: Cecelia
We were a little uncertain getting to the tour location, but there were plenty of people willing to help along the way. Our tour guide, Edder and our driver, Miguel were great! I wish every tour guide was as knowledge and friendly as Edder. He set a high expectation for the tour and when we arrived at the ruins, we were not disappointed. I had two 19 year olds with me, that can be sometimes difficult to please. This was the highlight of the vacation for them. Would highly recommend this tour.

5 StarsExcellent Tour!!!!March 11, 2018

Reviewer: Gary P.
We traveled in the car about an hour to see the ruins. The guide was excellent and very knowledgable. Afterward we went to the lagoon and had an excellent Mexican lunch of chicken, rice, beans, corn tortillas, and drinks. We got to kayak in the lagoon until it was time to leave. It was such a pretty resort it was hard to leave. I would definitely recommend.

5 StarsChacchoben Extreme TourMarch 10, 2018

Reviewer: Laura Korzinski
Although it was a pain to find the location of the tour office, the tour of the ruins itself was wonderful. Tour guide was informative and lovely. Cold water bottles provided for the group in the van to and from ruins. Our stop at the lagoon was the best part. Lunch and free drinks were included and the lagoon resort was beautiful. We had a couples massage on the beach for only $20/per person. Would highly recommend.

5 StarsWonderful!February 26, 2018

Reviewer: Elizabeth
Our guide and driver was great! Super attentive. The ruins were amazing and we even saw several spider monkeys. The resort was beautiful and the service was top notch. We loved stopping by the pineapple stand on the way out.

5 StarsVariety was perfectFebruary 16, 2018

Reviewer: Gretchen McDaniel
I wasn't sure what the "extreme" part of the trip referred to until we drove to the lagoon - the driver was a PhD (pot hole dodger) or that was the line Edder, the ecellent guide gave us! It really was an adventure (in a good way) and the lagoon was just amazing. We had a small group so plenty of room. Lunch was included as well as drinks with no limitations. My virgin margarita was wonderful! We took a kayak out and enjoyed relaxing despite a brief shower. The ruins included 3 separate ruins and we learned a lot about them and the ancient Mayan culture. Great excursion!

5 StarsExtrem....ely beautiful!January 24, 2018

Reviewer: Lore Merlo
What a treat to walk around a Maya city with very few people and monkeys.... AMAZING! The lagoon stop for lunch and relax was a fantastic surprise!! Our guide was extremely knowledged and made us feel comfortable every moment. I loved it and fell in love with Mexico!

5 StarsExtremely professional December 27, 2017

Reviewer: KIM
This group was top notch. Very well put together and professional. We were there during the bus accident that occurred with a different tour company. We were delayed getting back to our ship. Even though these guides were upset about the accident and worried about the driver and guide that were people they knew, they went out of their way to make sure we had a good time. The ruins were amazing. Definitely a must see. The lagoon is rocky, so take water shoes with you.

5 StarsPerfect Day!November 27, 2017

Reviewer: Lu Sweeley
This day was the perfect mix of culture/history and fun in the sun. Our guide, Edder, was smart, informational, funny, and attentive. The Chacchoben ruins were pretty amazing -- such interesting history! The time spent at the Seven Colors Lagoon topped off the day -- we took out a kayak, we relaxed, and we enjoyed the beauty. Highly recommend!

5 StarsPerfect combo of tour/luxury relaxationNovember 22, 2017

Reviewer: Karen Contreras
Tour guides were extremely knowledgeable and great. Just the right amount of time at each place to explore on our own/eat/kayak/relax. The lagoon was amazing and it was nice to not to have to deal with crowds. The resort was really nice too. Be prepared if you don't like spicy Mexican food though because that is all they served.

5 StarsWell worth the moneyNovember 08, 2017

Reviewer: Patricia Harris
There was about 12 people on the tour in a bus that was air conditioned. The tour guide was Edder who was very knowledgeable and the driver was Miquel who was very nice too. It was REALLY hot! The tour of the ruins were really good. We walked through the forest to the ruins. Lots of red ants. Then we went to a private resort where we had lunch and went to a private beach where you could kayak and swim. The lunch was very good. Chicken fajitas, rice, beans and tortillas. Drinks were good too. Margaritas, mojitos, pina coladas anything you wanted. Then back to the ship and they got us back in good time so we could do some shopping. Would recommend this highly.

5 StarsGreat!October 31, 2017

Reviewer: Paula
After nearly an hour in the van, we reached the Chacchoben site. The ruins were interesting and worth the steep climb to reach the two temples on top. We then went to a private resort for a great lunch and a brief swim (although the ladder was slimy and a bit hard to climb). We stopped to get DELICIOUS fresh pineapple and dragonfruit on the way back (if only we could have brought some back on the ship! We would have bought out the stand! My sister is physically handicapped and the walk to meet the vans was a long way for her. They said they would bring us back close to the ship, but the guides didn't have the code or something so we ended up walking back. That is the only negative thing about the tour though The guides were great, and the vans comfortable. It's pretty much your whole day in port; no time for shopping and such.

5 StarsWonderful excursion!!October 17, 2017

Reviewer: Kimberly
No need to take a taxi! Once you find the port exit it was a short nice walk to meeting point! We were the only ones on the tour so it was a private tour!! Lorenzo was very informative about the ruins and area in general! He was very attentive to making sure we stayed hydrated and had time to shop afterwards! On to the Lagoon....it was a decent drive down a dirt road but it opened up to a beautiful....well maintained resort!! Again we were the only guest and enjoyed the peace and quiet!! You do need water shoes for the lagoon....very rocky! The food was delicious and free flowing drinks was nice on a hot day!! We weren’t able to kayak due to the wind but the hammocks under the cabana on the pier were perfect!! Do NOT forget to stop and pick up fresh pineapple....BEST ever!!!

5 StarsGreat excursion!August 23, 2017

Reviewer: Jonathan Jordan
The ruins and the lagoon were awesome. The only knock on it, is the 30 min walk to the meeting area. However, after the excursion, the drop you off very close to the port.

5 StarsNative ChoiceAugust 16, 2017

Reviewer: Kip
The people of Native Choice provided the best shore excursion we could have asked for. The guide was humorous and very knowledgeable and the bus was new. The tour included lunch then a trip to a private secluded lagoon. Drinks and chips and salsa. Much better than the ship tours and reasonable.

5 StarsHighlight of our tripJune 16, 2017

Reviewer: Richard Cardamone
Our tour guide was Diego and this was our favorite excursion. The ruins were not as awe-inspiring as I had originally thought, but worth the visit. The best part of the excursion was stopping at the local restaurant and then spending a couple hours at the lagoon. Both were simple and laid back. It just made for a great day. Diego was awesome!

5 StarsGreat timeApril 06, 2017

Reviewer: Darcy Spees
We were late getting to our excursion (as was another family) but Native Choice was very accommodating. At first, we were only going to be able to see half of the tour (they were going to give us a partial refund) but another ship was unable to dock that day, so they were able to take both families to the ruins & lagoon. Rose (guide) & Thatchel (driver) took great care of us. The ruins were very interesting. We all loved the delicious lunch and beverages. The lagoon was very nice & relaxing. There are changing rooms onsite. Kids enjoyed kayaking and we all enjoyed the drinks (virgin for the kids)! I would highly recommend this tour group. You won't be disappointed.

5 StarsAwesome Myan ruins/history, lunch, spring-fed lakeMarch 30, 2017

Reviewer: Sally Zutter
One of the best excursions ever! Tour guides are local & share history + current culture. Our guide (Kasi) & Driver (Miguel) were great. Ruins were extremely interesting. Kasi explained them very well. Lunch @ "La Pina" was delicious homemade fajitas, refried beans & rice. The homemade tortillas & spicy habanero/pineapple salsa were to die for. Then to private "beach" on spectacular of Lake Bakalar for ~1.5 hours. Kayaks, fresh juice drinks, and picante salsa all included. Note: directions on how to walk there are confusing. When to turn left at the pyramid monument outside the cruise terminal's gates. Don't turn left onto "Cafe" street. Instead, walk on the left hand side of the pyramid and walk straight onto "Paseo del Puerto" boulevard. Area may look a bit sketchy, but was fine. Kasi explained to us that town was still recovering when category 5 hurricane destroyed most of town. Besides the tourist shops in the cruise terminal, there is little to the town to see/do.

4 StarsGotta Do This At Least OnceMarch 24, 2017

Reviewer: Joe
My family thoroughly enjoyed this excursion. From the friendly staff who did a great job explaining Mayan history to time at the lagoon, this was well worth it. Our favorite part may have been enjoying authentic Mexican food under a palapa (sp).

4 StarsChacchoben ruins and 7 colors lagoonMarch 23, 2017

Reviewer: leslie mckenzie
Guide, Ivan, was excellent Mayan historian and very informative throughout the ruins tour. On-site tour guide, Edder, was also very knowledgeable about the evolution of the ruins. Alondra led the 7 colors lagoon tour, and though very nice and helpful, the lagoon itself was very disappointing, no snorkeling and just a little beach and some kayaks.

5 StarsChacchoben Tour - ExcellentFebruary 20, 2017

Reviewer: Bill
We booked the tour through priceline. There was a short walk to the Native Choice office but the walking directions were easy to follow. The drive to the ruins was very comfortable. Our guide was Diego. He was very knowledgeable about the Mayan history and was very entertaining as well. The stop at Lake Bacalar included lunch which was fajitas and rice. Drinks too. Went out on a kayak. Sat by the water on the provided lounge chairs. Stayed about an hour or so. Stopped by a roadside stand to buy pineapple slices. Delicious! Diego recommended we try pineapple with chili powder. It was surprisingly good! Would recommend Native Choice tours and would highly recommend you ask for Diego!

5 StarsMayan Ruins w/ lunch and LagoonJanuary 25, 2017

Reviewer: Marion Sams
This was money well spent. After a short walk from Port to the office we checked in and waited for transport to the ruins which was the first stop. We were provided bottle water and the transport was an air conditioned vehicle, which we appreciated. They ruins were awesome and there was even opportunities to climb some. My only complaint would be the guide talked too much at the site! I know it doesn't seem possible but more time to explore and take pictures would have been nice versus speeches about colors etc. The lunch was nice and was provided under a pretty shaded open air structure. They even accommodated my diet and made me a meat free entree. The lagoon was beautiful! I enjoyed some canoeing and pina coladas, all complimentary. All in all, an awesome excursion!

5 StarsExcedptionalJanuary 20, 2017

Reviewer: D. Woodworth
The best tour ever! We had an amazing driver, Mayan Tour Guide and Excursion Guide. It was such an informative tour, and loved stopping by a local restaurant for a great lunch. Had a relaxing time at the lagoon and were treated so well by our hosts. Excellent tour and well worth the money.

5 StarsExceptionalJanuary 20, 2017

Reviewer: D. Woodworth
The best tour ever! We had an amazing driver, Mayan Tour Guide and Excursion Guide. It was such an informative tour, and loved stopping by a local restaurant for a great lunch. Had a relaxing time at the lagoon and were treated so well by our hosts. Excellent tour and well worth the money.

5 StarsService exceeded expectations!December 27, 2016

Reviewer: gj
I can highly recommend this tour and the private lagoon with lunch was the best!!!!

5 StarsInteresting and fun time!!December 25, 2016

Reviewer: Michele Osero
Our tour guide was wonderful, we learned so much about the culture. I can't wait to return to Costa Maya. We stopped for lunch and it was delicious! I love their homemade chili powder on pineapple. The ruins were very interesting along with the history. We got to see monkeys :) Kayaking and hiking around Seven Color Lagoon along with the treats was really fun and relaxing.

5 StarsGreat excursion for the $$!December 16, 2016

Reviewer: Karen Shaw
The tour guides were very informative. The ruins were interesting, and the choice of location for lunch was exceptional. We went to a resort on a lake; beautiful to look at, great food for lunch, and nice place to swim.

5 StarsChacchoben Extreme TourDecember 15, 2016

Reviewer: Suresh Sanga
The people who guided us were very wonderful. They took very good care of us showing the various places and we really excited about the Mayans temple. The guides have got really good information to share with us.

5 StarsSo much fun!December 03, 2016

Reviewer: Anita Anderson
The Chacchoben Extreme Tour was great. The walk to their building is not far at all. The people there took great care of you. When you load the bus, your tour guide will give you a little tour of the area and about Costa Maya as you drive to the ruins. Our tour guide was funny and very informative. At Chacchoben, the guide we had was awesome. He took his time, showed us all around, and really new a lot of details. Afterwards, going to the lake of seven colors was beautiful and relaxing. Have drinks made for you. So much fun.

5 StarsA Different Kind of HistoryAugust 18, 2016

Reviewer: George
This was a wonderful tour of unearthed Mayan ruins. We had been to others before, but still learned new things about the Mayan culture. Our guide knew plenty, and shared interesting stories about both the ancient Mayans and her current family culture - a blend of contemporary U.S. and Mexican heritages. In addition to a traditional lunch, we were treated to a unique spiced fruit appetizer, and during the tour had the opportunity to chew on a leaf that gave the taste of licorice - experiencing first hand a small slcie of ancient jungle life.

5 StarsChacchobn Extreme TourAugust 11, 2016

Reviewer: Larry Schwartz
Although it was a walk to the starting part of the tour it was well worth it. The tour guide and our bus driver were courteous and knowledgeable. The lunch was wonderful and the the swimming in the lagoon was a wonderful way to end our trip.

5 StarsWonderful tour!July 14, 2016

Reviewer: Ana
This was my favorite tour! The ruins were amazing! The food was the best we had the entire week! The lagoon was beautiful and so much fun! The best part was our guides! Very kind, knowledgeable, and fun!

5 StarsWonderfulMay 25, 2016

Reviewer: T
Absolutely loved the excursion, the resort where we had lunch was magnificent.

4 StarsInteresting tourMay 05, 2016

Reviewer: Tankjeepman
Good tour. Well organized. Mayan ruins were not all that exciting or extensive.

5 StarsExcellent TourApril 29, 2016

Reviewer: Fred History
Our tour guides very informed and personable.

5 StarsWE LOVED THIS EXCURSION! ONE OF THE BEST WE'VE EVApril 29, 2016

Reviewer: Joe and Trina
This excursion was everything and more than we expected! Our guide Casey and our driver Edgar to excellent care of us! Casey was very knowledgable and did a great job showing us around the ruins. Edgar took very good care of us as our driver. He went above the call of duty several times! The Food and Beverage at the lagoon was wonderful! We loved the fajitas and the Mexican beer that kept coming was a great way to relax and enjoy the day even more. We loved the resort we visited and the fresh water lagoon swim could not have been better.

5 StarsI would recommend this excursion.April 15, 2016

Reviewer: Travel4ever
Loved the fact that it was a small group of travelers. It enabled us to asked questions and enjoy the quiet surroundings.

5 Starsexcellent, informative and resort was beautiful.April 13, 2016

Reviewer: MS
Our guide Edder, was informative and enthusiastic about his work which made the tour very interesting. He was well educated in the Mayan culture and the ruins we were visiting. The resort and lagoon was beautiful. Our kids loved the kayak and other water activities. We loved the beach. The lunch and drinks served was very good and authentic.

5 StarsHighly recommend this. Would do it againApril 06, 2016

Reviewer: Mark
Ruins were wonderful to see and have a very informative guide to explain the history.The seven color lagoon was beautiful and the service was well worth the cost.

5 StarsExceeded expectations.April 05, 2016

Reviewer: AV
Really great! Our guide, was so knowledgable of the area and the ruins. The stop at Pinapple Village was a treat!!

5 StarsI would recommend this tourMarch 30, 2016

Reviewer: Bandit
None

5 StarsI would highly recommend this to anyone visiting CMarch 28, 2016

Reviewer: Julee and Jerry
My husband and I enjoy this very much

5 StarsLiked this tour a lot!March 26, 2016

Reviewer: Judy
The guide was very knowledgeable and the food was wonderful...The ruins were great and the lagoon was beautiful

4 StarsNice excursionMarch 26, 2016

Reviewer: racegirl177
This excursion was nice, the time was from getting to and from the excursion there was 30 minutes left to get back to the ship. To get to the office, you have to walk 20 minutes once off the long pier in a rough area. Walk in groups and you will be fine. The nice vehicle drove about an hour with a great guide to the ruins. Here there was an opportunity to buy small drink or small food. The ruins felt rushed and not enough time, basically a quick walk thru to both sites. Spider monkeys were seen in the trees. Once we left the ruins we went to the Blue Lagoon where an inland lake with rough bottom was. We ate a nice Mexican meal and had lots of time to sit in the hot sun. I would skip this piece of the trip. On the way home we seen pineapple fields and the guide allowed us to stop at the side stands and purchase pineapple which was a nice treat. Overall, a good trip, wish there was more time at the ruins, maybe 30 more minutes would have been better.

5 Starsoutstanding!!!March 18, 2016

Reviewer: cc
Our tour guide Edder was amazing, he was so passionate and knowledgeable, and our driver Migel was great as well, he was the driver and the waiter when we arrived for lunch. Great hardworking men

4 StarsNice Tour, But NOT ExtremeMarch 11, 2016

Reviewer: geowiz
This tour basically is broken down into two parts: visiting the Chacchoben ruins and visiting a fairly remote fresh-water lagoon. The tour is pretty standard- the ruins aren't the most amazing in the world, but pretty interesting and weren't overrun with tourists. There's also a pond you can go to. I'd skip it unless you'd like to take a walk on a nice path in the jungle. There is seriously nothing to see but a pond after your 1/2 mile walk. The trip to the lagoon is fine- the food and drinks are very, very standard. Nothing special (but you can have as many drinks as you'd like- I had 4 margaritas and a pina colada. Maybe a total of 1 shot of tequila between the 4 margaritas). The kayaking/swimming opportunities are more limited than you would imagine. There isn't much time to enjoy the area (maybe an hour after eating/drinking if you're fast), so the time is better spent relaxing and enjoying the view. It's a rather small area, so hope that you're with a small group. Extreme it's not, but it's pretty relaxing and a nice tour.

5 StarsWonderful tour with Joel and RosaMarch 07, 2016

Reviewer: alittlelf
Joel and Rosa were extremely knowledgeable of the area and its history. The ruins were very beautiful and the lunch and relaxing time at the lagoon resort were very nice as well. I definitely recommend this tour and its fantastic tour guides.

5 StarsCulture and Relaxation - a perfect combinationMarch 02, 2016

Reviewer: Jo Loves Cruising
Loved the combination of Chacchoben Ruins and Seven Color Lagoon. We saw huge herds of people from our cruise ship at the ruins, and our experience felt so elevated being in a well-organized small group. Our tour guide Edder and driver Saul were friendly, kept us together and safe, and Edder speaks great English. The bus was modern, AC was frosty, and we were very comfortable. Food and drink at Seven Color Lagoon were awesome, and the scenery could not have been better. What a truly relaxing end to our day. Highly recommend.

5 StarsHistoric and ChillFebruary 29, 2016

Reviewer: Stromcamp
Just a great combo platter of history meets geology. The ruins are great -- not of the stature of Tikal or Tulum, but they hold their own. Then the lagoon is serene. The limestone bottom gives off an amazing blue color. The lunch, drinks and chill beach scene are great. We kayaked across the lagoon and felt a million miles away from the cruise ship we have been on for 4 days.

5 StarsAwesome day!February 20, 2016

Reviewer: Scott
Excellent guides! The overall site was small scale but with really good pyramids to see. We saw many active spider monkeys which was a bonus. The relaxation time at the lake at the resort was very nice. We were the only four people there besides the owner. Lunch and included drinks were quite good.

5 StarsOutstanding expJanuary 29, 2016

Reviewer: Hortensia the traveler
We went on this excursion because the itinerary sounded interesting. The experience was great. Well organized and explained every little detail all the way. Every thing was included as described on the brochure.

4 StarsA hybrid of a tour!January 22, 2016

Reviewer: Brian
Great tour! Fantastic, authentic Mexican food and drink for lunch. Beach was not the best, but nice kayaking for free. A bit disorganized with transportation from the beach back to the port.

4 StarsSaul was a great tour guide.........January 19, 2016

Reviewer: Sanstant
Saul was a great tour guide and driver. He looked after us for the day. And was very knowledgeable, helpful, polite and fun! Even showed us where he lived and stopped for pineapple and chilli, a favourite in Mexico! The Chacchoben ruins were fascinating but we couldn't stay long because our boat was late arriving in the port and they did not give us an extension on our shore time. The Blue Lagoon resort was awesome. an oasis. We had all we could eat and drink and swam in the lagoon it was lovely and the kids enjoyed it too.

5 StarsI and my friends loved the tour.January 05, 2016

Reviewer: Annette
The guide was very knowledgeable about the Mayans and a very nice young man. The driver and helper watched us like a hawk, so nobody would get lost, even carried umbrellas for all of us just in case. Later we were served drinks while swimming or kayaking in a breathtakingly beautiful lagoon. What else can you ask for? What a great day!

5 StarsGreat excursionJanuary 04, 2016

Reviewer: Agcutler
This was a wonderful day. Relaxing at the lagoon after a great meal and hike at ruins made for a perfect end to the day.

5 StarsAbsolutelyJanuary 01, 2016

Reviewer: None
All great

4 StarsAwesome excursion, loved the freshwater lakeDecember 17, 2015

Reviewer: love travel
Awesome excursion, loved the freshwater lake

4 StarsExtremely enjoyableDecember 03, 2015

Reviewer: Spike
Our guide was the most knowledgeable tour guide we have ever had

5 StarsBrilliantMay 02, 2015

Reviewer: Alan
This tour was a mixture of things. All good. We had a bit of seeing the local area while travelling to the ruins. We had a very experienced guide called William who brought the ruins to life with his presentation and knowledge of the history. We then went to a lovely complex for lunch and drinks. All drinks, as many as you like, were included in the price. We also got the chance to do free kayaking if we wished. Really enjoyed this. Great day.

5 StarsWhat a wonderful time we had!April 19, 2015

Reviewer: Blessed Family
This excursion was better than we imagined. We choose the Chacchoben Ruins because the drive wasn't as long as the others. We (6 of us) found the tour very educational. We spent just the right amount of time there taking pictures and walking around. We were in awe when after our tour we went to a private lagoon. Our package included lunch and then after lunch we were able to relax at a private secluded resort. What a way to end our vacation.

5 StarsTerrific ExperienceApril 10, 2015

Reviewer: Lindasue
Surprises abound! This was a fabulous excursion.

5 StarsTerrific Tour!!April 08, 2015

Reviewer: R. M. H.
This trip was wonderful! We loved the experience. The guides were friendly and knowledgable and the views were fantastic. After seeing the history of the ruins ending the day at the lagoon was perfect. I highly recommend this adventure.

4 StarsBeautiful Mayan CultureApril 07, 2015

Reviewer: Ric
Excursion trip was definetely worthwhile. Drive to Chacchoben was beautiful. Once there we walked the grounds of the Chacchoben ruins. Guides were very informative and took time to allow everyone to get enough of the sites before moving on. Ruins were impressive. On the way to we stopped on the side of the road to eat fresh pineapples slices with pepper. delicious! Then we had a delicious typical lunch in a remote waterfront hotel located. Swimming was nice treat as the heat and himidity was intense.

5 StarsWhen can we go back?April 04, 2015

Reviewer: Marian
It was a bit of a long walk to the meeting site, but we were up to it! Ivan was a great tour guide and really knew what he was taking about at Chacchoben! We even got to see spider monkies swinging in the trees there! It was well-organized, and the weather was fabulous. The tour folks had ice water for us too! We also went to the Bacalar Lagoon Resort for lunch and a swim/snorkel. It was the most gorgeous place I think I have ever been! The lunch was authentic and the water devine! None of us wanted to leave! We loved having such a small group to tour with. I think there were about 12 of us, and we left as friends, I would definitely recommend this tour for folks who want to see some Mayan ruins as well as some time to relax. Rose was our guide at the resort, and we loved her too! She made sure we were all happy, and having fun!

5 StarsAwesome experienceApril 02, 2015

Reviewer: Mickey
This was an awesome tour. Our guides, Ivan and Rose, were exceptional. Ivan was especially knowledgeable about the Mayan people and the ruins. The ruins themselves were breathtaking. I never would have imagined that I would have been able to see them. It was quite an experience. The beach break and meal that followed were great, too. This is an excursion that should not be missed.

5 StarsA real deal!February 27, 2015

Reviewer: Roamin' Rosie
This was a great tour! Diego, our guide and the driver were great! They were both very friendly and fun, and Diego was very knowledgable, providing great information about the country, the people and the culture. The biggest surprise was the ride through the jungle to the resort on a fresh water lake -it was awesome! The food was excellent, the place was gorgeous! The only complaint was that there was no beach, but rather an area covered with stone that made getting to the water barefooted a trial

5 StarsGreat time at chacchobenFebruary 08, 2015

Reviewer: Cruisin B
Guides were great and very well informed. After visiting the Mayan ruins, we went to a small private resort with unlimited water activities, bar, and lunch. There were plenty of huts and easy access to the lagoon water for swimming in the lagoon. Our ship was an hour late into port and the tour waited for us and were very accommodating getting us back to the port on time. I would recommend this excursion to couples and families with older children.

4 StarsAwesome ruinsJanuary 17, 2015

Reviewer: CMor
Guides and drivers were very knowledgable about the area and culture. They had lots of information to tell us about the history. It was cool to see how the ruins had been restored and you are able to go on some of the ruins for pictures and exploring. For the second half of the day we went to a resort and were served drinks and had lunch. The resort staff was wonderful as well. We could lounge by the water or go kayaking across the lagoon. Very peaceful and quiet. A great day overall!

5 StarsHistory and Fun, All in One!November 30, 2014

Reviewer: Amanda B
Rachel was our Guide for the day, and she did a fantastic job! We were taught all about the Mayan culture and were told ancient Mayan stories during the first part of our trip. We saw enough of the temples to satisfy our curiosity. Rachel was smart enough to navigate the park so that we could avoid the larger crowds... truly amazing and made the experience way more enjoyable. The visit to the Seven Colors Lagoon was my favorite part of the day. We were provided a traditional Mexican meal which was delicious and filling. The activities and scenery provided were amazing. This was our favorite tour of our whole trip and we definitely recommend it to everyone! It was very enjoyable. Thanks again, Rachel.

5 Starsbest everOctober 29, 2014

Reviewer: shar
this was the best shore excursions ever.. Enjoyed

4 StarsA fun day with great food and a great guMay 02, 2014

Reviewer: Christina
There was a great mix of history, culture and relaxation. The Lagoon was beautiful, the food delicious (although not a big selection if you are vegetarian I noticed) and the guide was very informative. I learned a lot about the ruins I wouldn't have gotten alone. At the lagoon, there was the option of swimming and kayaking or just relaxing in the sun. It was a picture perfect place to do it!

5 StarsAmazing value and experience!!March 07, 2014

Reviewer: Rickman Honeymooners
Loved the small group and personalized attention.

4 StarsWell Done! Knowledgeable guides.January 31, 2014

Reviewer: The traveler
Aranzazu or ""Aranza"" at the Chacchoben Extreme Tour was great and made the tour special.

5 StarsBest excursion of our vacation!January 28, 2014

Reviewer: Luna the Dog
This excursion with Arance was wonderful. They spent time explaining everything about the Mayan ruins. Took care to make sure we were comfortable. She was humorous and very knowledgable. The food at the lagoon was wonderful as were the margueritas. This is an opportunity not to be missed. We travel a lot and really enjoyed this one.

5 StarsBest Chacchoben tour you can doNovember 22, 2013

Reviewer: Cruiser
You want to experience the ruins, then you need to do this tour. The snorkling part was canceled. We ended up doing the mayan experience tour where after the ruins, we went to a mayan families home and saw how they live and they cooked a mayan lunch for us. VERY GOOD!! THe guides taught a lot to us. DO THIS TOUR with these guys. You will enjoy.

4 Starsfun with animalsNovember 11, 2013

Reviewer: Dianne
We were not able to go to the lagoon, but having lunch with the Mayan family instead was well worth the change in plans. Enjoyed our guide very much.

5 StarsExcellent, Informative and FunAugust 30, 2013

Reviewer: Tropicalaurs
Guide was very good, though young. His name was Alex. He was well informed, enthusiastic, and ably communicated both history and family connections to the Mayan site. Alex will get better.

5 Starsgreat excursionMarch 28, 2013

Reviewer: do it now
We loved the excursion. He temples weer great. Lots to laugh about during thr bustour. Temples very interesting. Great guide. We Loved every minute. The time at he lake was too short, but that was because we had to get back tot the ship.

5 StarsVery informative, very relaxing and veryMarch 17, 2013

Reviewer: Jojofun
It is simple to use. The information on the net is pertinent. It prepares us well on how to prepare for the adventure. What is great about it is that they use local worker and businesses to boost local economy. It felt like we were having a unique experience.

5 StarsWonderfulFebruary 28, 2013

Reviewer: Val
Our guide was great. had a wonderful time

4 StarsGood stuffFebruary 09, 2013

Reviewer: Pg
Just book it

5 StarsChacchoben Extreme TourAugust 28, 2012

Reviewer: george
Loved everything about this tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the Myan culture. Our group was small and personable. The Lagoon was pretty. The food and drinks great, the workers at the lagoon were very accommodating. Wish we had more time to explore. Didn't want to go back to the ship.

5 StarsInformative - Interesting - FunMay 03, 2012

Reviewer: bcactus
The tour company offered a 10% discount for this review, which we probably won't use in the year time limit. The offer made it easier to access the review site, which we wanted to do since we enjoyed all our Mayan culture tours. Joel was an excellent guide, providing much information about his Mayan heritage and culture. Apparently Mayan guides go to school on an ongoing basis to maintain their guide licenses, which was evident on the tour. He took time to answer people's questions, kept the tour group well organized and seemed genuinely concerned that everyone have a good tour. Personally, I could have done without the stop at the `Rest Area' - more of a souvenir shop than rest stop - but most people in the group seemed to enjoy shopping for Mayan souvenirs, and, while people shopped, I was able to photograph informational plaques on the walls for future reference. Time was allowed to explore on our own. Lunch was of local fare and very good. While time at the beach along a crystal clear river (an hour or so) felt a little short (always the way it seems because of cruise ship departure times), it was an excellent location and pleasant experience after visiting and walking through Chacchoben ruins on a warm day. We would do this tour again, with the same guide and same driver.

5 StarsVery interesting cultural experienceApril 26, 2012

Reviewer: Mother of active teenagers
Our bus guide grew up in the area and was very knowledgeable and articulate. He shared interesting facts and perspectives on the people and culture. This was our favorite shore excursion!

5 StarsThis was the best part of a great cruiseMarch 21, 2012

Reviewer: Francis
This was without a doubt the most fun that I had during my week long cruise around the Western Caribbean, with my wife. The Tour guides were fun and insterested The Mayan ruins were amazing to see, but the best part of the day was the trip to the lagoon. The people, activites and food and DRINKS were all beyond what I could have expected.

5 StarsA real highlight of our cruise!!!March 20, 2012

Reviewer: Michelle
This was a great tour!! Not too long at the ruins, just right for the heat. Our guide (Enrique) was great at keeping us accounted for and comfortable. Food and drink was better than expected. Seven Color Lagoon was so beautiful. Only regret is that we couldn't stay longer at the Lagoon (not the tour's fault, had to make our ship!!) Maybe could have a tour just at the Lagoon in the future??

5 StarsGreat Costa Maya Excursion!March 06, 2012

Reviewer: Atlmom4
We took our family (mom & dad,kids:15,13,7&5) and had a blast. Tour conductor (Aranxa) was very professional and a fun tour director! Very informative on the people & history. Same with our Maya ruins guide (Frine). Would definately recommend. The combination of history (ruins) and lagoon fun (kayaks, swimming, & relaxing on the beach) is great for families & mixed interest groups.

4 StarsGood to do at a Not So Great PlaceMarch 06, 2012

Reviewer: BammBamm
We were supposed to go to Belize but at the last minute we got shifted to Costa Maya because of ""Port Congestion."" From what I hear it is pretty common with Carnival since they own the pier at Costa Maya. Anyway, If you want to do anything besides get off the ship and go to a tourist trap bar like Señor Frogs, or get some over priced trinkets, go on an excursion. This one was good. It was a little long bus ride (about 50 minutes or so) but there's nothing they can do about that. The guide was great and took the time to explain everything from the ruins to the local vegetation. I'm not sure why they call it an ""extreme"" tour...you basically get on a bus, go to the ruins, walk around for a couple hours, got have a good lunch, sit on a small beach for an hour or so, and then get on the bus for the trip back. Speaking of the activities after the ruins...after you tour the ruins you get on the bus for another 20 minutes or so and they take you to a small beach on a large lake. First they feed you a nice, simple Mexican lunch complete with an open bar. Basically fajitas with beans and rice and drinks. Very relaxed and tasty. Then you go down to the beach and hang out. You can sit on the beach, swim and they have some kayaks as well. Again, not really ""extreme,"" but fun. And while you are there they don't skimp on the drinks. They keep bringing around beers and margaritas as long as you are there. Then back on the bus to get back to the ship. Considering we were entertained for five or six hours, fed lunch, and threw down a half dozen drinks or so each, the cost was a great deal. Heck, it was a lot better (and probably cheaper) than sitting on the ship watching a bunch of kids screaming around the pool and buying $8 beers.

5 StarsABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!February 23, 2012

Reviewer: SLP
Definitely the highlight of our ENTIRE cruise!!!

5 StarsGreat Experience!February 16, 2012

Reviewer: Nick
This review was fantastic. The ruins were amazing, and the guide through them was very knowledgable. I loved hearing the stories about mayan history and culture. The chicken fajitas were also amazing, and the free drinks were great too (especially for those that enjoy alcohol). The Lagoon was very pretty, and I wish that we could have stayed longer. I only have a few complaints, and they aren't really the excursion's fault: first, it takes about an hour to get to the site, and another hour to get back, which really cuts into the time you get to spend in both places. This means that you are rushed from place to place, and don't get much time to shop (which is not ideal as Costa Maya is the cheapest place for nick-nacks that we found). Also, you don't get a whole lot of time at the lagoon because of the amount of time that you spend in the expansive ruins--this is fine for people like me who LOVE culture, but my cousin was bored senseless, and didn't get much time to swim and lay out at the lagoon. All and all, though, it was fantastic! It was all very beautiful, and we had a great time.

5 StarsI would take this tour again.February 15, 2012

Reviewer: girl's vacation
We loved all aspects of this tour. The Lagoon was unique, beautiful, and amazing!

4 StarsWe loved this tour!January 22, 2012

Reviewer: krepass
I would reccomend this tour to anyone. Our guide Joel entertained and educated us on our bus trip to the ruins site. Once there Ivan, who was born and raised on the site, gave us a very interesting tour. He told us of the Mayan culture and how the site still has much to be uncovered. We saw several pyramids that have already been uncovered and got to climb on the lower portions of them. Once we finished the tour here, we went to 7 Color Lagoon for a nice meal and an open bar. After eating we went to the beach were we could relax, swim and kayak. The water was beautiful and our guide Fabi took very good care of us. They kept a close watch on the time to make sure we got back to the pier in plenty of time to board our ship before it left. My wife and I enjoyed this tour, and the tour guides very much.

5 Stars""I would buy this product again and agaiDecember 22, 2011

Reviewer: jlm
it was great

5 StarsAwesomeNovember 28, 2011

Reviewer: Lancelot1954
Excellent opportunity to learn to scuba dive and then take a 30 minute trip down to at least 30 feet.

5 StarsA Day to Remember!November 01, 2011

Reviewer: K & C
What a wonderful experience. On the drive to the site, our guide taught us of the local culture and customs. After arriving, Joel was our guide and took very good care of us. He was so knowledgeable, and even had pictures to put everything into perspective. A short ride later at the lagoon, we were treated to delicious fajitas and margaritas for lunch. Then, off to the lagoon with crystal clear, warm water. We swam, sat on our lounge chairs, took a kayak out for a while, then back for more margaritas. Israel took very good care of us. It really was a highlight of our vacation.

5 StarsExcellant, great times for all ages.June 19, 2011

Reviewer: Teri Geitner
This was a great day for all of us. My son is 10 yrs. old and he loved it. The Mayan Ruines were boring to him but he loved the lagoon. We would take this trip again with Native Choice as the guide.

5 StarsAmazingly beautiful!May 03, 2011

Reviewer: Nina & Austen
Seeing the ruins was a great and educational experience. But the best part of this excursion was the ""7 color Lagoon""! It was absolutely the most beautiful and welcoming sight! We enjoyed swimming and kayaking in the most beautiful water!The staff could not have been more pleasant or accommodating. The only thing I could possibly criticize is not being able to stay longer!!

5 StarsReally impressed with this excursion!April 21, 2011

Reviewer: na
This was truly an excellent excursion. We had 2 adults, a 16 yr old, 13yr. old and an 8yr. old. The amount of time spent at the ruins was perfect for the adults and not too much for the kids. The lake / kayaking portion was really fun for the kids. Overall, the guides were terrific and we had a great time!