5 StarsTerrific introduction to Curacao's Jewish heritageMay 07, 2018

Reviewer: David Singer
Our driver, Ralph, greeted us with "Sholom Aleichem" (there were only three of us on the tour). We began at the old Beit Haim cemetery near the refinery; Ralph told us the history of the cemetery and the Jewish community on Curacao. Our second stop was the Mongui Maduro House, Library, and Museum, where we met a curator and a librarian who filled us in on more of the history. Then we went to the newer Ashkenazi synagogue (Shaarei Tsedek - modern Orthodox); the young, energetic Rabbi greeted us as if we were long-lost cousins! From there, we went to the Curacao Distillery (founded by the Senior family, who were Jewish, so it's kosher (as is the liquor)) for a short self-guided tour and tasting. We ended at Mikve Israel - Emmanuel Synagogue, the oldest synagogue in the Western Hemisphere, for another self-guided tour (including the museum). Ralph pointed out other landmarks along the way and made our visit informative and enjoyable. Highly recommended.

5 StarsTerrific introduction to Curacao's Jewish heritageMay 07, 2018

Reviewer: David Singer
Our driver, Ralph, greeted us with "Sholom Aleichem" (there were only three of us on the tour). We began at the old Beit Haim cemetery near the refinery; Ralph told us the history of the cemetery and the Jewish community on Curacao. Our second stop was the Mongui Maduro House, Library, and Museum, where we met a curator and a librarian who filled us in on more of the history. Then we went to the newer Ashkenazi synagogue (Shaarei Tsedek - modern Orthodox); the young, energetic Rabbi greeted us as if we were long-lost cousins! From there, we went to the Curacao Distillery (founded by the Senior family, who were Jewish, so it's kosher (as is the liquor)) for a short self-guided tour and tasting. We ended at Mikve Israel - Emmanuel Synagogue, the oldest synagogue in the Western Hemisphere, for another self-guided tour (including the museum). Ralph pointed out other landmarks along the way and made our visit informative and enjoyable. Highly recommended.

4 StarsExcellent guide; disappointing travel arrangementsApril 09, 2018

Reviewer: M Miller
I would have liked to give this tour 5 stars but cannot due to the transportation complications. The tour was excellent and the tour guide was extremely well-versed in each tour stop as well as the island. We expected an air-conditioned bus and were met with a not-well-air-conditioned van. When the driver asked for a replacement, the 2nd van had a tire under the back seat and limited seating. We then returned to the original van. The driver and tour guide extended the time due to the delays from the transportation, which we appreciated.

5 StarsGreat TourMarch 26, 2018

Reviewer: Nancy Poland
This is an informative tour. Out guide was a university professor, and had a Jewish heritage. He brought us to many intereting sites, was very knowledgeable regarding the history of Jewish people in Curacao, and the island in general. There were only seven people on our tour, and we enjoyed seeing this beautiful island with our small group. Whether or not you are Jewish, I highly recommend this tour.

5 StarsVery special tourMarch 07, 2018

Reviewer: Sandra
This half-day tour was the highlight of my trip. The tour operator was extremely knowledgeable and personable, plus his grandmother had been Jewish. There were only 8 of us on the tour, which really made it special. We toured an old cemetery, the oldest continually operating synagogue in the New World, a home that is now a museum, and the curaƧao liqueur factory. I had no idea that Sephardic Jewish settlers had had such an important role in the development of Curacao. I hope this tour will continue operating.

5 StarsInteresting TourFebruary 20, 2018

Reviewer: Barbara Warshawsky
I have visited Curacao many times, but this was this first time I toured the Jewish Heritage sites in Curacao. We were fortunate to meet the new young rabbi of the new modern Synagogue. It has an amazing glass roof over the sanctuary. The old Jewish cemetery was so interesting. Our guide recounted the history of the Jewish immigration to Curacao.. We also toured Temple Mikvah Israel Emanuel Synagogue. This is the oldest continual used synagogue in the Western Hemisphere. I would definitely recommend this tour.

5 StarsCuracao Jewish Heritage TourFebruary 01, 2018

Reviewer: Bernard Horowitz
This was an excellent tour. Jude, the guide and a native of Curacao, was very well informed about Jewish history on the island and able to convey the information clearly and with enthusiasm. While the trip to the synagogue was the centerpiece of the tour, we also visited the Jewish cemetery (dating back to the 16th century) and had an opportunity to walk around. As well, we visited a Jewish winery and a Jewish cultural center. (I could have skipped this center.) All along the route, Jude pointed out places of Jewish interest, highlighting the Jewish influence on the culture of the island.

5 StarsUniqueSeptember 21, 2017

Reviewer: Bruce
The excursions offered by the cruise line were similar on most of the Islands - all sounded boring. We heard about the Jewish Heritage tour about 2 weeks before the cruise and signed up for it immediately. There were just the two of us and the tour was via taxi. The driver/guide, Ralph was excellent. He was able to answer all of our questions. A large oil refinery is located next to the old cemetery and has causes a lot of erosion but you can still read dates from the 1700's. The new cemetery is in much better shape and goes back to the early 1800s. It was nice to do the Liqueur company as part of a private tour rather than part of a bus load. We didn't realize that Curacao Liqueur is Kosher. The highlight of the tour was the old museum where they had a Torah written in 1320 in Spain and smuggled out just before Isabella came to power. We would definitely recommend this tour

5 StarsJewish Curacao June 03, 2017

Reviewer: Stephanie Whitson
We very much enjoyed this view of Curacao, which gave a look at life for Jews hoping to find a safe haven. The guide and driver were very kind and informative, and we particularly loved the beautiful Sephardic synagogue with the sand floor. Also enjoyed the testing of blue Curacao liquor.

5 StarsEnjoyableMarch 30, 2017

Reviewer: Dianne Kliebl
Our Jewish Heritage tour was delightful. Our guide provided us with a wealth of information and was a very pleasant person to converse with. His taxi was very clean and comfortable and he provided ice cold water and a lot of historical information about the Island. We would be happy to recommend this tour to others.

5 StarsExcellent TourMarch 02, 2017

Reviewer: Len Saffren
Speaking as someone who has had the opportunity to do lot of leisure travel, I would say that this was one of the best tours I've ever taken. The tour guide, Julius, was extremely knowledgeable and respectful of the Jewish traditions. Learning the influence that Jews had on this island was fascinating. I highly recommend this tour.

5 StarsA Wonderful Day in Curacao!February 19, 2017

Reviewer: Caren Walter
We began our tour experience on the dock when Rosie, our very able and friendly driver, met us at the pier. We were joined by Julius who is a fantastic guide and extremely personable and knowledgeable about the Jewish History of the island. We began by visiting a distillery with a definite Jewish background and continued on to the oldest Jewish cemetery in the Western Hemisphere. We continued on to the Jewish Library, the newer Jewish cemetery and ended our tour at Mikve Israel Synagogue and museum. We were taken back to the pier. We were a group of six on the tour and the small group made our experience very enjoyable. All questions were answered and Julius was a wealth of knowledge. The tour was well organized and I would happily book it again. Visited February 2017