A must see!
March 22, 2020
It is gorgeous there, the ruins are incredible! They are located on the coast. You can walk down some stairs and get to the beach, just beautiful.
Reviewer: Gloria Sierra
5 Stars
Mayan Ruins of Tulum
March 08, 2020
This was excellent. Guide was very informative. We were picked up on time at our meeting place that morning and arrived back at the scheduled time. Cheaper than the same excursion offered on the cruise ship. We had a Subway sandwich for lunch.
Reviewer: Donna
5 Stars
Mayan Ruins of Tulum
March 06, 2020
We had a wonderful tour with a very knowledgeable and good humored tour guide. He gave us the history of the Mayan culture, explained their brilliant determination of the calendar and explained the archaeological ruins that we visited.
Reviewer: Miriam Satin
5 Stars
Good visit but a long drive
February 24, 2020
These are nice. I would just say that the trip to get there was over an hour each way. Not the best ruins I have seen, but I have seen incredible ones. The driver and the guides were terrific. Not an issue with the service, just a long way to go.
Reviewer: Robert
3 Stars
Ruins of Tulum
February 15, 2020
I was there 3 years ago and I am going back. There is so much to see. I hope on this next trip they will allow for more time to see it all.
Reviewer: Marie Palmer
5 Stars
Tulum tour
February 13, 2020
Wonderful trip.
Reviewer: Robert Rossberg
5 Stars
Mayan Temple Excursion
February 07, 2020
We had a great time and the guides were extremely knowledgeable!
Reviewer: Emma Bullock
5 Stars
Great Tour!
February 04, 2020
This was our second time to Tulum but this excursion was much better than the last! Our group of 12 was just the right size and our guide kept us on schedule as we had to take a ferry to the mainland & then a van to Tulum. We had a different guide for the actual history of Tulum & time on our own to explore. We had as our guide termed "Mexican Subway" on the ride back to the ferry. The ferry ride was very turbulent so if you get seasick ride on the open upper deck.
Reviewer: Kim Kays
5 Stars
Mayan Ruins of Tulum
January 15, 2020
Nice excursion from Cozumel. No problem meeting up with our guide at the ferry to the mainland even though the ship docking was late. Had an expert on site at the ruins which was good. A lot of walking to and from the ruins to the drop-off point. Could have spent a little longer onsite.
Reviewer: RAYMOND RUMSEY
4 Stars
Great place to visit.
January 03, 2020
We landed in Cozumel and took a boat to the main land and the tour picked us up and we drove to Tulum. You have to pass a bunch of stores walking into the ruins. Getting to the ruins is a quarter mile walk. The ruins are great and the gulf of Mexico that the ruins sit by make it that much more beautiful. Not as awe inspiring as Chichén Itzá but in its own right very nice ruins.
Reviewer: Tim
5 Stars
Guides know what they are doing!
January 02, 2020
We had planned on taking an earlier tour but our ship came in an hour late but our guides were great about getting us onto the next tour and back to the ship on time. Everything went smooth and we enjoyed seeing the Mayan ruins. I think I liked just walking around and seeing it on our own better. The tour guide gave us an hour to see the ruins on our own and told us to be back to the bus by a certain time. The guys in charge of getting us there and back from the ship were great! Everything was well planned out and ready to go when we got to the meeting point.
Reviewer: Karen
4 Stars
majestic ruins
December 27, 2019
if you have never seen this then this is a must . great ruins plus swimming on ocean side
Reviewer: michael daly
5 Stars
Nice small group tour
November 27, 2019
I loved that this was a small group tour of Tulum (only about 15 people). I wish there had been a little more time at the site, though. There was an hour tour and then we had about 45 minutes to take pictures or go down to the beach. We chose to take pictures since there hadn’t really been time for that during the tour, but it would have been nice to have had time to head down to the beach as well.
Reviewer: Jessica Crumrine
5 Stars
Wonderful tour
November 22, 2019
My friend and I went on this shore excursion in late October. We had a great day, thanks to our tour leader and guide. We found the day to be very well organized, we were met immediately when we arrived at the gathering place and shortly thereafter boarded the ferry and were off. Our guide had more information than time at the ruins and gave us tons of interesting information about the Mayans and Tulum. We were able to compare this tour with one we did in Jamaica, and this was far superior. I would highly recommend this outing for anyone who will be in the area and looking for a fun way to spend a day!
Reviewer: Anne Duffy
5 Stars
Absolutely loved it
November 19, 2019
Our guide was nothing short of awesome. He had everything we needed ready to go, great personality, super informative and we had a great time. He teased us saying we were going to eat an Iguana sandwich for lunch but ended up with Subway. He let us know where to be careful and about the local area.
Reviewer: Taryn Esco
5 Stars
Great experience!
October 28, 2019
We had a great time on our tour of the Mayan Ruins of Tulum. We were fortunate to end up in a very small group so it really felt personalized. The tour guide was pleasant and kept us on time. The guide at the ruins was very knowledgeable of the history of the Mayans and the region. The site was fascinating. I would highly recommend this excursion.
Reviewer: Tracy Williams
5 Stars
great experience/interesting site
October 14, 2019
We enjoyed the Mayan ruins of Tulum tour. We were fortunate to have a very small group (4 of us) and it made the tour much more personalized. It is a jaunt to get there between the ferry and the bus ride, but it was worth the trip. The ruins in Tulum are very well excavated, giving you a good picture of life there when it flourished. The beach was too crowded for us to go down there but the views were amazing. We were able to do a little shopping there before we made the journey back. Lunch was Subway, good - but not a local experience. Our guide was very pleasant and kept us on time without making us feel rushed. I can definitely recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Laura Williams
5 Stars
Really enjoyed!
October 04, 2019
We really enjoyed this excursion. Our drivers and tour guides were very friendly, informative, and accommodating. The views from the ruins are stunning, and the ruins themselves are fascinating. We would book again.
Reviewer: Paige
5 Stars
Fun, but Not Enough Time
September 20, 2019
This excursion was good overall. The ruins were amazing! Our tour guide was animated and informative. However, there was about 90 minutes of travel from the cruise ship port to the ruins, between a ferry and a bus. This left us a short time at the ruin site before we had to replicate that 90 minute journey to get back to the port. We weren't able to explore Cozumel once we returned to port, as it was time to leave... So, if you are on a cruise and looking at this excursion, just be aware that the travel takes up most of the time. If it weren't for that, I would have rated this excursion even higher.
Reviewer: Chelsey Conner
4 Stars
SO NICE I DID IT TWICE!!
September 16, 2019
I first visited Tulum over 30 years ago. After getting off our ship we took a 15 minute taxi ride to meet our guide "Ruben" at the entrance to the Ferry Pier at a cost of $8 (4 in our group) Ruben took us on a ferry ride (about 30 minutes) to Playa del Carmen where we met our driver Ivan who drove us to Tulum. The van was very comfortable and had GREAT air conditioning. It was extremely hot. In Tulum Ruben handed us off to tour guide Alfredo. Alfredo gave us the history lesson on Tulum. He accompanied us to the ruins and explained the various buildings and structures. We then had about an hour and 15 minutes to explore on our own. The main difference is that years ago we were allowed to actually walk up and into the ruins! The buildings are now roped off--but still accessible with a good camera. When we met up with Ruben for our return trip to ship he had gotten us all lunches and drinks from Subway! GREAT Tour! Very informative! Tulum is still amazing even the second time around!
Reviewer: Patricia Debnam
5 Stars
Great tour!
August 02, 2019
Arrived in port on our ship. We had just amount of time to get off ship and we hurried and met our guide Alexis who waited for us at described meeting spot. Some other guest were little late and he was kind enough to wait for them. Everything was taken care of boat ferry, air conditioned new van to destination and just 12 others. All comfortable with water, soft drinks included. Very nice scenic trip to Tulum. Guides were informative, attentive and made every effort to keep with ship departure. Trip was perfect amount of time. After we were treated to a nice lunch then had time for a nice beach break in Mahual! I would definitely recommend this excursion.
Reviewer: Victor
5 Stars
Perfect
July 04, 2019
We really wanted to see the Ruins, and weren’t sure if this was going to work. It did!! We took a taxi to the Sparrow Pier and met our guide. He had all the tickets for the ferry rides. Then we asked to a van and drove to Tulum. Everything ran like clockwork! They even had much needed cold bottled water and subway for lunch! We got back in plenty of time to take a taxi back to our ship and board. The only thing we were confused about was the time difference, we followed the “ship time” on Carnival and that worked with the time in Cozumel. So no issues. The ferry’s are very nice as was our van ride.
Reviewer: MB from S Texas
5 Stars
Jorge is the best
June 30, 2019
The day was hot, hot, hot, but our guide Jorge was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. He added so much to the tour that we would not have gotten on our own. You could tell he was passionate about the history behind the ruins. The saddest part of the day was that the beach was closed, but the view was spectacular anyway. Side note: Jorge will jokingly warn you to stay away from the fertility temple, but it isn't a joke. Just trust me...
Reviewer: Christina Kirkley
5 Stars
Turn Key Experience
May 13, 2019
This opportunity, had the entire experience mapped out with time frames that left us with ample time to experience the shopping in Cozumel. The confirmation said to meet a representative under a statue of the swallows. My group gets there, we walk up to the statue and there is a guy holding a clipboard with my name on it! The ferry was a bit rough that day but was comfortable inside and made it there quickly. We met an air conditioned bus and headed to the Ruins. Once there, we had a great guide who spoke perfect English and really went into great detail about not only the ruins, but the society and class structure that once inhabited it. Once he was done he told us how to get back to our bus. We had lunch waiting for us on the bus for the ride back to the pier. I like Subway, so lunch was easy to eat and familiar! I took plenty of pictures and will remember our experience using this excursion service as very easy and "Turn Key" meaning, once we showed up, they took care of us.
Reviewer: Mary Snow
5 Stars
Mayan Ruins of Tulum
April 29, 2019
The Mayan Ruins of Tulum tour was a great experience, especially that we have never seen Ruins before. The group meeting location was easy to find, even though we had to take a taxi to the meeting area. The Ruins are by the sea, with lots of beautiful view and very historic.
Reviewer: Aijuan
5 Stars
Awesome
April 24, 2019
Guides were all awesome. Get off ship and head over to the ferry port. Ferry ride to and from was good. Was a bit rushed as we didn’t have any time to shop in Cozumel at all. Off the ship and on excursion until it was time to board ship practically. We could have shopped a bit before but worried about being late and we didn’t leave when they said. Didn’t have time to swim in Tulum. Could have taken less stuff with us. We did put our feet in. Informative guide Patricio in Tulum. Ruben was other guide of the day. Thumbs up.
Reviewer: Estella Trotter
5 Stars
Interesting tour/beautiful scenery
April 18, 2019
We found the Mayan ruins very interesting. It was easy to find the tour after getting off the ship, and we got started right away. It is a longer tour and one couple bowed out when hearing it would take up most of their day. After a ferry ride and then a car ride, we arrived and were given to a Mayan guide who gave us a tour. Beautiful scenery from the ruins too. We appreciated the Subway sandwhiches as a quick lunch.
Reviewer: Shannon Bauck
4 Stars
Tulum
April 12, 2019
Well worth it, good guide. Transportation well organized.
Reviewer: Tim Fitzpatrick
5 Stars
The Mayan Ruins
April 05, 2019
The tour guides were very professional the tour went off without a glitch thanks to their professional service. The only complaint I had was the travel time to and from the port. I don’t remember reading about the length of travel in your excursion description.
Reviewer: Wanda Robinson
3 Stars
Mayan Ruins of Tulum
April 03, 2019
Our tour to Tulum was excellent. Transportation was great in an air-conditioned mini bus. Our group had about 12 people. Our guide was very good.
Reviewer: Polina
5 Stars
Very well run
March 30, 2019
Very well run excursion. Lunch from subway was nice and unexpected. Not much shade so I would recommend hats or umbrellas.
Reviewer: Kathy
4 Stars
Tulum from Cozumel
March 26, 2019
The ruins were great! The guide was informative. Unfortunately too much travel time and walking left very little time for individual exploration and no time to go down to the beach.
Reviewer: Cecil Hutchins
4 Stars
Great tour guide
March 26, 2019
We had a wonderful tour of the ruins, Our tour guide was excellent! He was well versed in the history of the Mayans and gave us plenty of time to ask questions and visit each area.
Reviewer: Sara Beth Warne
5 Stars
A Definite must!
March 16, 2019
Fantastic tour, great guides! When you first deboard from the cruise ship in Cozumel turn left on the main road!! Keep walking until you see the huge Swallow statute at the Isla Cozumel pier. We had a bit of trouble figuring this out lol The boat ride to Playa Del Carmen is nice, then it’s a change to mini vans. The Mayan Ruins are magnificent! Our guide had a lot passion about its history :) There are a few souvenir shops to look at there. Take the opportunity to get your Mexico Treasures as you may not have time to do this when you get back to Playa Del Carmen or Cozumel - this happened to us.
Reviewer: Ana Edwards
5 Stars
Not enough time
March 12, 2019
Really enjoyed this excursion and we had a guide that was very familiar with all of the history. He was fascinating to listen to but we just didn't have enough time to get through everything. A lot of walking. We registered over 15000 steps on our fitness watches.
Reviewer: Chuck Shaw
5 Stars
Great excursion
March 11, 2019
Our tour guide, whose name I have unfortunately forgotten, did a great job of getting us around and our archeology guide made the site visit interesting. The price was a bargain when compared to cruise ship prices and the amount of time spent on shore gave us time to look around Cozumel at the end of the day.
Reviewer: Dan
5 Stars
Mayan Ruins of Tulum
March 07, 2019
My first time seeing Mayan Ruins. Amazing! The transportation provided to and from the port was very smooth and organized. Couldn't ask for a better arrangement.
Reviewer: DM Lowry
5 Stars
Costa Mayas Chacchoben Mayan Ruins
March 07, 2019
The tour guide was very informative and the trip was well planned. He assured us that we would return to the ship on time.
Reviewer: virginia huresky
5 Stars
Mayan Ruins of Tulum
February 19, 2019
Our guide was knowledgeable and I'm glad I went on this tour, but it was so hot - in December - that it detracted from the experience. I had a hat, but wished for an umbrella. On the way back on the ferry I got locked in the bathroom, another experience.
Reviewer: June Rathbun
4 Stars
Mayan Ruins of Tulum
February 16, 2019
Tour went well. The guide was very intresting and knowlegdeable. Van drive was nice and confotable.
Reviewer: MICHAEL A JOHNSON
5 Stars
Mayan Ruins of Tulum
February 13, 2019
We enjoyed seeing the city with its walls on 3 sides and the sea on the 4th side. Interesting Temple of the "Descending God". It would have been nice to have been able to have a look inside or at least have pictures of what is there.
Reviewer: Kevin E Hill
5 Stars
great excursion
February 12, 2019
This was such a great excursion and we were so well taken care of. Our needs seemed to be the most important thing to our tour guide. The guide was easy to find, had everything arranged from tickets and transportation to cold water and lunch. He stayed with us and made sure all our needs were met, even got us a taxi back to the ship when the tour was over. He answered all our questions and we learned so much from him, then at the Ruins another guide took over, he too was very good, very knowledgeable and great. We will be sure to recommend this group and use it again anytime we are able to. Thank you for making our vacation great.
Reviewer: Janice Strutton
5 Stars
Mayan Ruins of Tulum
February 05, 2019
Travel guide is very friendly.
Reviewer: Datong Wei
4 Stars
An experience you won't want to miss!
January 31, 2019
The Mayan Ruins of Tulum excursion was a wonderful experience that I would highly recommend. The tour guide was very attentive and made sure we had no issues getting there and back and had a nice lunch waiting for us after our tour. I had read previous reviews and would suggest you pack a snack and water to get you through to lunch. We did have to take a 15 minute cab ride from the ship to the meeting location that was not part of the tour cost. Try to find out how much the cab ride should cost before leaving from your port (there are 3 ports with different distances from the meeting location) - we paid double getting there from when we returned so a lesson learned. We packed swim suits and towels but there's not enough time to go in the water so I would suggest not taking them unless you don't mind carrying the extra weight. We did leave them on the bus for the actual tour but there's a boat ride to get there and walking to get to the bus.
Reviewer: Amelia Dixon
5 Stars
well organized and considerate
January 18, 2019
Although the time spent on road was as much as that of visiting the ruins, Tulum was worth that.
Reviewer: Gloria
4 Stars
Raul knows his shit!
January 14, 2019
Our tour guide was Raul who was fantastically knowledgeable about mayanIndian history and even drew maps on the ground in the sand. It was very very interesting especially the part where the women bound their infants heads with straps so that the baby heads would be hardened into a point shape The beach at the end was very beautiful and you felt like you were on a movie set up it was so pretty
Reviewer: Kristi Eiswerth
5 Stars
A must see when in Mexico
November 13, 2018
I highly recommend this Mayan Ruins tour. It was very educational and an experience to remember. Wear your walking shoes and be ready to take pictures along the way! The tour guides went above and beyond.
Reviewer: Lori-Ann Lynde
5 Stars
Tour guide Edgar excellent service.
October 16, 2018
We like to recommend the Cozumel tour guide excellence service. His name is Edgar. He is honest and considerable to tourists. He could identified and called us out when we arrived at the port and explained to us the whole trip schedule. He is fluent in communication and friendly.
Reviewer: Tai (Calvin) Kong
5 Stars
Tulum Ruins
October 10, 2018
Everything was according to schedule. We had a large amount of rain for our tour, but this was a plus. Much cooler. We came prepared with ponchos and umbrellas. Area was beautiful and our guide at the ruins was great. Our tour operator escorted us from the ferry to the site which was greatly appreciated. Thank you.
Reviewer: Juliann Ballard
5 Stars
very good
September 26, 2018
like the tour
Reviewer: LAM
4 Stars
Nice Excursion
September 21, 2018
This was a nice time seeing the old ruins of Tulum. It was very hot the day we went and we were all going crazy from the heat so we had to go jump in the Ocen Water for a period of time. The guide was knowledgeable but walked very quickly to the ruins. This did not make my wife happy as she does not like to walk very quickly especially on our vacation.
Reviewer: Gilliland Family
4 Stars
Excellent
September 17, 2018
I really liked this Excursion
Reviewer: NAMIR
5 Stars
Mayan Ruins of Tulum review
September 17, 2018
It was a super hot day and not the good time to do the tour however on the positive side both the representative and the tour guide (forgot their names) were great. The representative from the tour company has a pleasing personality and polite to all of us and the tour guide, as expected was well versed. No complain with tour company, I will definitely recommend them and will use them again next time.
Reviewer: Angelina Dimaapi
5 Stars
Mayan Ruins of Tulum
August 06, 2018
Great trip, but very hot in July. A lot of walking and sweating. A $2 shuttle helped getting back to the bus. Tour guide very informative and very good and kept us under shade trees as much as possible. Also, had photos that helped explain the Ruins.
Reviewer: Elaine Peterson
5 Stars
Great Experience!
July 24, 2018
Crew was very sweet, helpful and accommodating. They provided us lunch (Subway sandwich, chips and water bottle). Tour guide could have been more interactive. Other than that, the experience was great! Would totally recommend it again :)
Reviewer: Victor Nguyen
4 Stars
Enjoyed the tour!
July 23, 2018
Everything ran extremely smooth. The tour was well organized and the guide at the ruins was helpful and kept everyone entertained. We did not swim but chose to take that time to continue exploring the ruins and the shops and think we made the right choice. Although it was very hot, there were more ruins to explore and the shops had air conditioning. We had subway for lunch on the way back to port and the tour company had water/beverages for the entire day.
Reviewer: Em
5 Stars
Unique to Mayan Culture
July 09, 2018
Definitely a must see since Mayans weren't typically coastal people. The ruins were very cool to see, as were the carvings on some of the ruins. The guide was incredibly knowledgeable. Afterward we saw how chocolate was made with a chocolate tasting and had a tequila tasting. No, we didn't get sick.
Reviewer: Tiffany Matthews
5 Stars
Great tour guide
July 02, 2018
This tour was an amazing experience, the people in charge was very responsible, keeping a good schedule for us. Great experience We definitely will use this service in a new cruise.
Reviewer: Sara S
5 Stars
Excellent excursion
July 02, 2018
We thoroughly enjoyed this excursion. It was very well organized. The guide explained how everything would be throughout the day.We traveled by ferry to mainland Mexico. The van we took from the ferry to the Ruins was very clean and comfortable. One of theadies in our group fell and hurt her ankle as we were walking to the areavwhere the Ruins are. Ernesto and Ruben, our guides, were very professional. They arranged for her to get the medical attention she needed. The information provided by the the guide at the Ruins was fascinating. After exploring the Ruins, our guides procided delicious sandwiches and drinks. It was very very hot!!! Dress accordingly, wear sun screen and wear good walking shoes.
Reviewer: Melissa Leyte
5 Stars
My opinion on the short excursion.
July 02, 2018
Recently I got this excursion. In my opinion, this was one of the best excursion I have ever been on, you go with a person that will guide you to a Ferry and that took us to the location and he also guided us made us feel comfortable and when we reach the location there was a tour guide named (Alfredo) that guided us to the tombs and temples and with detail explained everything in history that took place in the temples ruins and tombs. He explained their culture and how they lived in that time period. When we finished the tour and we headed back the original guide that took us to the location gave us a meal and then we headed back to the Ferry that took us back to the same meeting point from where the people that were also with us returned to. The guide who also guided us to the ruins made sure that we felt comfortable and answered any of our questions.
Reviewer: Maria S Borrego
5 Stars
Amazing Historical Site
June 18, 2018
Overall a great experience, the tour group was very organized and kept us on time through multiple means of transportation. From the port, there is a 30 minute ferry ride to the main land, then a ~45 minute bus ride to the ruins. The tour includes a local tour guide to teach you all about the ruins. Pros: Organized tour group, very knowledgeable tour guide, amazing historical site Cons: Salespeople/photo op people are VERY pushy at the Tulum park, inevitable sweltering heat, our guide was a little over-bearing at times and talked a little too close to my face! However these are just minor quirks of the park and no reflection on the tour group that runs it. Afterwards we were given lunch (Subway, haha).
Reviewer: Amanda
4 Stars
Tour
May 21, 2018
This was a great tour. The guides were very friendly. They made us feel safe and comfortable. They were aware of bathroom needs. They answered all our questions. Provided us with a Subway lunch which was greatly appreciated. We would recommend this tour to anyone interested in going to Tulum to tour the Mayan Ruins.
Reviewer: Kenneth & Linda Trigleth
5 Stars
Mayan Ruins of Tulum Terrific Guide Experience
May 07, 2018
Wow! What a history lesson with wonderful, knowledgeable tour guides who transitioned from one guide to another and taught us so much during our tour of both Cozumel and The Mayan Ruins. Then to top things off... we were treated to live Mexican entertainment abourd our ferry ride back to the port in Cozumel. For you history buffs, this is a highly recommended excursion... Just bring an umbrella to shade you from the hot sun 🌞
Reviewer: Karen Holdren
5 Stars
Mayan Ruin of Tulum
April 30, 2018
The local guide in the Ruin was knowledgeable about their history and culture.
Reviewer: Alan Yiu
4 Stars
Very enjoyable and well done
April 30, 2018
We enjoyed the tour of Tulum and had time to explore more while there. This was well planned and executed.
Reviewer: David Thomas
5 Stars
Really great, seamless and informative
March 14, 2018
This was a super user-friendly tour. We took it during a cruise port visit to Cozumel- timing was perfect, time to walk around Cozumel before meeting at the ferry terminal. Note: you'll be taking a ~30min passenger ferry across possibly rough water. Our daughter got sick on the ride, but bounced back. There's a van ride for 20 min or so to Tulum. The ShoreEx tour hosts are informative and fluent in English. Once in Tulum, we had a great guide, and there was an hour of free time after the tour to explore ruins and shops. Our return was detoured by a major accident at the return ferry dock. We weren't impacted directly (this happened while in transit) but it was major enough to shut down the return ferry, threatening us missing our cruise ship! The ShoreEx team scrambled an emergency ferry to another dock to get us back in time, and kept us informed. We made it back to the cruise ship in time, and were simply thrilled by how successfully ShoreEx navigated this situation.
Reviewer: Giles Forman
5 Stars
Tulum
March 06, 2018
We were observing our 50th Anniversary. Our entire family LOVED the excursion!! Unfortunately my husband and I were not able to enjoy the excursion because we were ill that day, so we missed out on the fun, regrettably. Maybe next time we can visit Tulum. Everyone loved it!
Reviewer: Beth Draper
5 Stars
Great Excursion
February 06, 2018
We really enjoyed this tour. There were only five of us on the trip. The water was rough on the ferry ride, that's for sure, and one of our group was ill. We had a great guide who met us at the ferry and accompanied us throughout the trip. We had a separate guide at the ruins (Carlos) who was excellent. Nice trip with lots of walking. We were lucky it was not hot and sunny. And no bugs. We'd do it again and definitely recommend this shore excursion to others.
Reviewer: Sally Dye
5 Stars
Toulon ruins
February 01, 2018
Excellent tour and tour guide. Made sure everyone knew where to be and provided bottled water and,after the long walk, boxed lunch -which was much appreciated. Guide within ruins was extremely knowledgeable.
Reviewer: Judie Dansby
5 Stars
Very good choice
January 31, 2018
We were very glad that we choose this trip. Excellent organization. Great guides. They made sure we would not miss the boat. Tulum ruins and the ocean and beach views breathtaking. We highly recommend this excursion.
Reviewer: Margaret M.
5 Stars
Wonderful trip w/ extras
January 24, 2018
We had a great time. The ruins and our guide (her name was J) was wonderful. We also got to stop at several grocery stores to look around and purchase local fare. Well worth the money.
Reviewer: John
5 Stars
Mayan Ruins
January 19, 2018
Everything about this excursion went perfectly. The instructions on where to meet were helpful. The guides were well organized and professional. Timing was perfect and the Tulum ruins were wonderful to see. Our ship did not go on local time so that warning was very necessary. Would go on another excursion with this company again.
Reviewer: Frances Yuill
5 Stars
Good for first timers
January 09, 2018
History always fascinates me, so Mayan Tulum is no exception, however, I can't help myself from comparing it to majestic Chichen ruins which I visited long time ago. Tulum, being situated next to the ocean is serenely magical and it's a big plus!
Reviewer: moh
4 Stars
Mayan ruins
December 29, 2017
Excellent tour. Great guide and staff. Very interesting and informative. Would certainly do this one again
Reviewer: Don
5 Stars
Tulum
December 21, 2017
The size of the group was small and it was like having your own personal tour. All the people were great
Reviewer: R.Cross
5 Stars
Tulum tour
December 18, 2017
knowledgeable tour guide safe driver prompt and efficient tour. I would recommend the tour to anyone.
Reviewer: kamalodine mohammed
5 Stars
A Must See Experience
December 18, 2017
If I could only use one word to descripe this excursion it would be FANTASTIC. The guides were very knowledgeable and helpful. Also this excursion to the Ruins of Tulum was well organized and planned. This was the best excursion I have taken and would recommend it to anyone considering this adventure.
Reviewer: B J Rapp
5 Stars
Great
November 30, 2017
Super guides and loved seeing and learning about tulum! The beach in tulum was breathtaking! Loved being able to get in the water there! Great shopping and the were timely! Fun!
Reviewer: Angie
5 Stars
Tulum Mayan Ruins
November 14, 2017
It was an excellent tour. Our guide coordinator met us and arranged for our transport to the Ruins. He showed us where the bathrooms were and arranged for us to meet him there after the tour. He even let us sit in the vans early so we could get out of the heat. The water taxis were well coordinated. The sandwich, water, and soda were a nice surprise. This tour group is an excellent service!
Reviewer: Tracy
5 Stars
Wow!!
November 13, 2017
Once off the ship, travel to and from Tulum was seamless. The ruins are absolutely beautiful and the beach below is breath-taking. Our tour guid was amazing adding tons of value to our excursion. I highly recommend adding a trip to the Mayan Ruins of Tulum to your travel itinerary.
Reviewer: Jesse Alfreno
5 Stars
Great tour guide
November 02, 2017
We booked tour thru American Airlines and were so well taken care of. We meet Earnesto at the assigned place and he took such good care of us, always where we could find him, plus feed us a great lunch and a very pleasant bus ride to the ruins. The guide in the ruins was not really very informative about where we were, but gave lots of background history!
Reviewer: Linda Hendrix
5 Stars
Fantastic
October 18, 2017
Very informative and fun tour visiting the ruins. Small group and personal service. Enjoyed !!
Reviewer: Raja Raman
5 Stars
Fantastic!
September 15, 2017
A very fast moving day, but so rewarding! Our guides took great care of us, and our day moved like clockwork. What an impressive historical site!
Reviewer: Laura
5 Stars
Wonderful place to go
September 08, 2017
This is a wonderful excursion. I recommend it to every one. The tour guides were also quite nice and helpful.
Reviewer: Yasser
5 Stars
Interesting
September 07, 2017
This was the highlight of the trip for me. The ruins were on my bucket list! I booked through Costco but found out that the world in the Caribbean moves at its own slow pace. Tulum is far from the ship's dock. A cab ride just to get to the meeting point for the trip, then a ferry ride then a long bus ride. A quick explanation with a little detail from a professional tour guide that spoke English well. Some free time to explore then the long return trip back to the ship. I knew more about Tulum before I got there from my own research then the guide provided. I wouldn't miss it and would do it again but plan ahead if there is something specific you would like to see so you can bee line to it in the limited time you have. Lots of people, stores and interesting touristy things to see. Back to the ship on time. Spent only 1.5 hrs at Tulum all the rest was travel time.
Reviewer: James Passeretti
5 Stars
Great views
August 17, 2017
Overall the shore excursion was good. The best thing was the views at Tulum were fantastic. There was a lunch included however is was not so great. It was a sandwich from Sunday. Would have been better to have lunch at a local place on the way back to the ship. The one downside was the long trip to Tulum in a boat then a small bus. The people were nice.
Reviewer: Philip Strawbridge
4 Stars
Good Trip
July 20, 2017
The Tulum ruins were spectacular. Our tour guide inside the walls was very good and kept us cool. We learned so much. The tour is exhausting since you have to walk to the boat to find your guide, take the boat, take a bus and then go to the ruins but it was worth it. I wish our guide that got us to the ruins gave us some narration. He got us there safe and sound and gave us lunch but he did talk at all during our tour.I would have liked to hear about that area of Mexico
Reviewer: Diane Bender
4 Stars
Another great adventure
July 20, 2017
The only bad thing I can say was the walk from the ship was a bit long, but the excursion was well worth it. The guide at the ruin was very informative and the park was fantastic. The drivers were very good and even stopped to let us buy pineapple along side the road.
Reviewer: rebecca antle
5 Stars
Mayan ruins
July 13, 2017
This tour was excellent and very informative. Our guides were wonderful and it was so nice being in a small group!
Reviewer: D.Stitt
5 Stars
Loved it
June 21, 2017
We loved this excursion. Ferry ride and trip in van were comfortable. Guides were great. Trip was the right amount of time to see everything and visit the shopping area.
Reviewer: Trisha
5 Stars
Mayan Ruins
June 15, 2017
Guides were excellent. The whole day was very informing and trip was excellent because of the tour guides. We couldn't have asked for a better day.
Reviewer: Sue
5 Stars
So glad we booked this one!
May 31, 2017
Our guide did such a great job, and the trip was very well organized. There was never any question about where to go, what time to be there, and we had a blast. The car ride and boat ride were air conditioned, and the lunch provided was good. Even with our ship changing itinerary, they were able to update our tickets automatically. The guide at Tulum also did an amazing job! The only warning I can give other travelers is that the boat ride from Cozumel to the mainland was very bumpy. If you get motion sickness, plan for that.
Reviewer: D Knapp
5 Stars
Great adventure.
May 26, 2017
The Mayan ruins excursion was amazing! Our tour guide did a wonderful job, his father lived right near the entrance and took some beautiful pictures over the years. One showed the sun shining through the temple!
Reviewer: Dan kendrick
5 Stars
mayan ruins of tulum
May 22, 2017
Our group of tour guides took good care of us! The gal at Tulum named Ruby had very strong feelings for her culture but I felt talked too long instead of helping us to see the oceanside of the ruins, specifically. We didn't know how far we could stray from the group. We felt like we stopped too often. But she was very knowledgable.
Reviewer: Donna Deifel Smith
4 Stars
Tulum Mayan Ruins
May 19, 2017
We enjoyed a tour of the Tulum Mayan Ruins. The tour from Cozumel included a ferry ride to the mainland where we boarded a bus for a 40 minute ride to the ruins. The tour guides were knowledgeable and polite. The ruins are a must see.
Reviewer: Ron Strouse
5 Stars
Mayan Ruins
May 08, 2017
tour was excellent.
Reviewer: Ruth
5 Stars
Very enjoyable!
April 28, 2017
This excursion was extremely well planned. The directions to the right dock from the ship needs to be more clear, but everything else was great. You get to the dock, then take a ferry, then a bus ride to the ruins. After that you're turned over to a park guide. After that you meet your guide who brought you and head back to the dock.
Reviewer: Sheri Castor
5 Stars
Short but sweet
April 14, 2017
Unlike many excursions booked outside of the cruise line, this one is easy to find. There is no wandering the port! The tour guides were excellent! Very friendly and interactive but not intrusive. Ferry ride to playa del carmen is very pretty and although a bit rough, completely enjoyable. Tulum beach is beautiful from the cliffs. The ruins are fascinating. The boys had water and subway sandwiches for the ride back. Worth the trip. The only downside is that due to the amount of time the ship is docked and the distance from the port, it is very fast moving and the time in Tulum is limited. Could have used at least another hour but not possible.
Reviewer: Chele P
4 Stars
Mayan Ruins
April 13, 2017
We took this tour in January. The ruins are impressive. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. I learned quite a bit from her. I would highly recommend this tour.
Reviewer: M Minion
5 Stars
Tulum Tour
April 06, 2017
Tour was well planned and the guide was very knowledgeable. I would make the Tulum excursion again.
Reviewer: Roy L. Smith
5 Stars
Mayan ruins excursion
March 31, 2017
We really enjoyed our day to the Mayan ruins. Being in a small group was great. Everything from the meeting on the pier to the visit itself ran very smoothly. We had just the right amount of time at the ruins. I would recommend this excursion.
Reviewer: Monique Colliver
5 Stars
Tulum highlights
March 30, 2017
This tour was well worth the time and money. Our guides were very knowledgeable, the transportation was excellent and all according to schedule. We had one issue with accommodating one member of our party who walks very slowly with assistance, but ShoreExcursions resolved the issue to our satisfaction. We would highly recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Becky Survant
5 Stars
Telum tour
March 23, 2017
Great tour. The tour director on the bus and the one at Telum were excellent. I especially appreciated the same size of group and the knowledge of the directors.
Reviewer: Hilary Carlson
5 Stars
visit a mayan ruin
March 23, 2017
This was a wonderful visit. The guide did spend a lot of time talking, when I would have liked to spend more time on walking around the actual ruins, viewing the buildings. We were unable to view all the site as a result in the time allotted.
Reviewer: lynnette guthrie
4 Stars
Mayan Ruins of Tulum - Excellent!
March 23, 2017
Very much enjoyed the tour of the Mayan Ruins of Tulum. Superb!
Reviewer: William Carnago
5 Stars
Great Tour
March 23, 2017
The tour operator met us at the entrance to the mainland ferry in downtown Cozumel at the appointed time. He provided the ferry tickets and guided us through Palma to the bus for the short ride to the ruins at Tulum. Everything went like clockwork and we got back to the ship with time to spare. Our guide was actually born just outside Tulum and was of Mayan heritage. Just one word of caution....The ships all offer a similar tour with the same name. You must go to the exit of the port and take a taxi to the ferry terminal. Do not go tot the one at the port.
Reviewer: Jess Beaty
5 Stars
Great Tour of Tulum
March 23, 2017
We were unsure about this tour, as it's not the same as offered by the cruise line. Logistics were frightening, as the we had to take a cab from the debarkation down to the ferry to meet our driver. Once we figured the logistics out and met our driver to the ruins, we had a nice surprise: our other guests from another ship were late and we ended up being the only 2 on the tour. We had a private tour of the ruins, and luckily, were earlier than the brunt of the crowd and got to see quite a bit. Our guide was terrific and very knowledgeable. The "snack" was OK, but after a day of touring, a little on the light side, but all in all a very nice tour. I would recommend this tour, however be warned: as this tour is not officially through the ship services, if you end up being late back to the ship, it will not wait on you. Luckily, we were early back to the ship with plenty of time to say goobye to Cozumel.
Reviewer: Chris
5 Stars
Sherman Rainge
March 17, 2017
I have traveled many times over a succession of years to Cozumel and have intended to visit Tulum but just never did. This recent trip it was all on with SEG. The guides along with the ride made the trip worth while. The small sized group and the easy access enhanced the walk through the complex. Highly recommend taking this tour versus the large groups from the cruise ship.
Reviewer: Sherman Rainge
4 Stars
tulum ruins
March 17, 2017
The staff from the tour group were excellent. The tender boat used to take us and the bus were perfect. The guide at the ruins was informative. First time using a group other than the cruise ship would recommend it.
Reviewer: eva quinlan
5 Stars
good and interesting
March 17, 2017
we liked very much the tour. the guide gived us good explanations
Reviewer: RACHEL KORENVASSER
5 Stars
Mayan Ruins of Tulum
March 09, 2017
This was a very interesting tour. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable but also very humorous. Only thing I would recommend is that you make it clear that it is quite a trek from the ship to the activity. Travel took a lot of time.
Reviewer: Jamie Estes
4 Stars
Mayan Ruins, Talum
February 25, 2017
It was a great tour from beginning to end. Very conscientious, interesting and knowledgeable guides. Our tour was made up of only 17 people - much better than the huge groups having to wear headsets. Will definitely use this company in the future.
Reviewer: D.Stitt
5 Stars
Mayan Ruins of Tulum
February 17, 2017
An exciting and historic place to visit. Well worth the time spent. The guide was informative.
Reviewer: Ian Farber
4 Stars
Myan Ruins
February 15, 2017
Our tour was well organized, our guide was very knowledgeable, he being of Mayan heritage sure helped The ruins are a wonder of early architect and design, they used very unique methods to tell seasons and years. The ocean view and beach is awesome. The only negative, time at the ruins was not of sufficient length so we tour more of the ruins
Reviewer: John B. Donnell
4 Stars
Mayan Ruins
February 11, 2017
We enjoyed the tour, very informative. Be prepared for a lot of walking and time to get their. Cab ride, Ferry ride, and Van ride to the ruins. Only left a short time to spend at the ruins. The lunch was a Subway sandwich and drink.
Reviewer: David W. Wright
4 Stars
Great Excursion
February 09, 2017
Our tour guides were very helpful and knowledgable. I wish we had a little time to walk on the beach, but the schedule didn't allow much extra time. We completed the very informative guided portion and walked around while taking pictures. There is a pretty long walk from the drop off point to the ruins. A golf cart ride or trolley would save walking time and benefit those with physical limitation or children. The van was very clean and new. It even had DVD and wifi, but the wifi wasn't working. That was a bummer. Our guide even supplied Subway, Pepsi, and water. It was a nice touch, since we didn't have time to eat.
Reviewer: Tim Pierce
4 Stars
Mayan Ruins of Tulum
February 08, 2017
Great tour. Fast paced, so be ready. Our guides were very informative. Not your typical walk around the park. Wear comfortable clothing and shoes, we also brought extra bottled water. Nice local snack provided on trip back to ship. Highly suggest taking a cab to meet you guide, as most ships dock several miles from tour meeting point.
Reviewer: Tina Townsend
5 Stars
Tulum Tour good but too little time
February 08, 2017
The ferry ride was bouncy but there was a mariachi band onboard to entertain us and keep our mind off the rough ride. The bus to the ruins was comfortable and on the way back we were given a sandwich, chips, and drink. The ruins were very interesting. Our only complaint was that the time at Tulum was much too short. Our guide had us standing for 30 minutes while he talked about the site when we could have been walking around while he talked. We had very little time to actually see the ruins. At least another 30 minutes should be added to the time at the site. Also, be prepared for a long walk from the parking lot to and from the ruins.
Reviewer: Linda S.
4 Stars
The ruins at Tulum
February 08, 2017
We wanted to tour Tulum and when our cruise ship was going to Cozumel we decided to take this tour through shore excursions. It was very well organized our guide Rubin took care to get us there and back on time. The guide at the ruins was very knowledgeable and thorough. It was very warm at Tulum and there is a fair amount of walking. However we are both in our 70s and managed quite well.
Reviewer: William Kerr
5 Stars
Such an educational experience
February 08, 2017
Wonderful, well organized, extremely informative.
Reviewer: Nancy
5 Stars
Majestic location
January 26, 2017
Loved the ruins and our tour guide was exceptional at the site. Personable and informative. Our guide on the van was very nice and helpful as well. I would have enjoyed more info of the town during our ride to our destination. Give a background of the Mayan riviera. Beautiful location!
Reviewer: Celiana Colon
5 Stars
Mayan Ruins of Tulum
January 26, 2017
Enjoy the trip very much! The tours guide was very easy to find and the ferry ride was very nice.
Reviewer: Karen McInerney
5 Stars
Great time
January 25, 2017
This was fascinating. Our only issue was that this pkace was extremely crowded!! I could not believe how many people were there.
Reviewer: Lisa Caravello
5 Stars
Interesting tour but too little time at the ruins
January 24, 2017
Our tour guides arrived early so that everyone was checked in on time to take the ferry to Playa del Carmen. The ferry ride was a little rough but there was a mariachi band onboard to entertain us. The ride to and from Tulum was on a comfortable bus. When we got to Tulum it is a considerable walk into the ruins. The guides divided us into two groups. My main complaint is that the guide for my group spent 30 minutes talking to us about the site while standing in the heat instead of walking and talking. We had very little time to actually explore. At least another 30 minutes should be added to the time at the ruins; there would have still been plenty of time to get back to the ship. The site is large and we didn't have time to see everything there before we had to hurry back the long walk to the bus. The sandwich and drink that was provided on the way back was much appreciated.
Reviewer: Linda Songer
4 Stars
Great trip to the ruins
January 20, 2017
We found our 6 hour trek to Tulum to be very memorable. The directions to find our tour guide, Ernesto, were excellent and we had no problem. The ferry crossing to/from Playa del Carmen was rough, I guess it always is and nothing can be done to make that better. The van to take us to Tulum was comfortable, the driver prompt and courteous, and the guide inside Tulum was very good. He gave us many details and provided us with excellent information. Ernesto was always nearby to assist as needed to make sure we got to where we needed to be. It was a very well run operation and we thoroughly enjoyed it. I would highly recommend this company to anyone.
Reviewer: Rhonda Love
5 Stars
Mayan Ruins- Tulum
January 20, 2017
Had a great time! Gabriel was a great host and spoke excellent English. He was at the pier and handled the ferry ride wonderfully. Ride down was good. The tour guide at the Ruins, another plus. Loved having a little free time at the end to explore on our own. I'd recommend. And do again. A+
Reviewer: Stephanie Goodlett
4 Stars
My experience
January 15, 2017
I was impressed by the shear size of these ruins. Well maintained grounds.
Reviewer: Paul Elks
5 Stars
Tulum with United Airlines Shore Excursions
January 09, 2017
This is not a short trip once arriving in Cozumel. You have to walk past the ferry that is taking the cruise guests over to the mainland and than walk another 10 minutes or so to reach the guide and than take the commercial ferry. Every connection worked out though and the price was about 20 dollars cheaper than the Cruise price. Wish we would have had a little longer to stay and read all the signs. The ferry ride and van ride both ways eats up some time.
Reviewer: steve anderson
4 Stars
Would do again!
January 09, 2017
All I can say are good things about our experience. Right from the beginning our guide, Reuben, was friendly, professional and comfortable in his own skin. This filter through the experience to make it feel like my friend was taking us to Tulum. Our transportation (a 13 passenger van) was clean and provided a smooth ride. Once there we were met by our professional guide that was fantastic! Our group size was great, especially looking around at the cruise line groups that were at least 30 people.
Reviewer: Ronnie
5 Stars
Great tour
January 07, 2017
Ruins were very interesting and guide was informative. I was glad we went prepared to swim in the beautiful ocean because it was hotter than we had expected. The swim was outstanding, but brief.
Reviewer: Karen Shaw
4 Stars
Great!
January 01, 2017
We had a great time visiting the Mayan Ruins. Guide explained a lot about the history, took us around and showed us the best spots. Transfers really easy, however the day we went there the sea was quite agitated so the boat ride between Cozumel and Tulum was quite difficult. I didn't feel like the staff was taking this as serious as they should have. Furthermore, everyone you meet is asking for tips which is not very polite. All in all great experience - would do it again.
Reviewer: Sabrina
5 Stars
Interesting, but rushed
December 31, 2016
Because there are round trip ferry and van rides included, the time at Tulum is limited. We barely got back off the van in time to catch the ferry back to Cozumel. We enjoyed the tour, the guide was very friendly and informative, the Subway sandwiches were a nice touch. I'm glad we took this excursion.
Reviewer: Charles Hawkins
4 Stars
Excellant Tour ... Better pricing and tour guide
December 28, 2016
I've been on over 70 cruises and I will only do tours trough Shore Excursion Group. They offer the same excursions as the ship but way better quality at 1/2 the price. The Mayan Ruins of Tulum excursion our group had 8 people. We were in a private transfer when we got to the ruins the guide was outstanding and with our small group everyone could hear what we going on. We also received a sandwhich, drink and chips on our return back to the ship where the other groups didn't.
Reviewer: Jordana
5 Stars
Beautiful Scenery
December 25, 2016
I would have given 5 stars if our guide would have been waiting us in the correct port. Otherwise it was a really nice excursion with breathtaking scenery.
Reviewer: Tuomas Klingberg
4 Stars
Tulum
December 24, 2016
Wonderful staff. Having a little lunch provided was great. Would have given 5 stars but the time back into Cozumel felt too tight. By the time we got off the ferry and took the taxi to the ship we had 10 minutes left...caused a little stress to an otherwise great tour
Reviewer: andrea
4 Stars
Lots of transit time for a great view!
December 19, 2016
If you are motion sensitive, be wary of this excursion as the 45 minute fear boat trip is a bit rocky when there are wind/seas. Or just take some drugs and enjoy the trip! Once you get off the ferry, still need to ride in a mini-bus to/from ruins site (wifi onboard bus). These are alleged to be the only coastal ruins, the view and beach are incredible. Guide was excellent (consistent with our many prior experiences with SEG).
Reviewer: Rick Udicious
5 Stars
talum ruins
December 16, 2016
your tour was fine - did have a long trip into town to find you but it turned out well - the guide was very considerate and kind to his group. thank you
Reviewer: rosaglen crimmins
5 Stars
cozumel mayan ruins of tulum
December 08, 2016
A very nice experience. Not as big of a ruins as I had expected. The boat ride and bus ride to the Tulum ruins takes about 1.5 hours. Give yourself time to get to the excursion meeting point. The staff was nice and the tour guide was brief but informational.
Reviewer: Jon
4 Stars
A well run tour
December 08, 2016
We were met by our tour guide on the pier as advertised and after crossing to the mail inline met our new bus and trip to Tulum. We had a local guide that was very knowledgeable and gave us interesting information both prior to entering and while touring the site. We were provided with a light meal and water or soda during our ride back that was appreciated. We had an excellent driver and 2 knowledgeable guides and with only 10 people on the tour, we were on time with little waiting time. Overall a very good tour and worth the price.
Reviewer: Al Gibb
5 Stars
Mayan Ruins of Tutum
December 06, 2016
Have your walking shoes on! Had to take a taxi to another dock (charged us $8.00 per couple when it was really $8.00 for all, we didn't speak Spanish) Had to wait 1 hour to get everyone together (another $2.00 each for the 1 hour boat ride to the main land) walked uphill and to the other side of town to board a small bus for another 45 minutes. When we reached another area it was another $2.00 each for the tractor ride up the hillside to the ruins. The tour lasted about one hour and was very informative. We were given lunch (half of a Subway, chips and water). We ate on bus and had to rush as time was running out to get back to the ship. Wish the was more time at the ruins and time to shop at the Mayan village.
Reviewer: Theresa Goshert
4 Stars
Great and informational!
December 01, 2016
The tour guides are definitely the best of the best! His knowledge and the way he related it to other cultures was awesome! The food provided was decent (Subway & a soda) the actual tour itself wasn't so much exhausting as it was hot and HUMID! I for sure recommend actual workout clothing if not full swim wear (there is a beach right behind the ruins) bring a sweat rag and LOTS of sunscreen it's pretty intense. My wife's Latina and for the 1st time ever she actually got sunburn! But don't let that deter you though!! If you enjoy knowledge and scenery! Also I saved about 250$ going through this website instead of the cruise line!
Reviewer: Sandrickus G.
5 Stars
Tulum
November 13, 2016
We found the ruins to be fascinating, and were glad we allocated the day to this excursion. ShoreEx guides did a great job, navigating us through the ferry ride, getting us to the buses, and delivering us to the guide at Tulum. Once at Tulum, our guide was extremely knowledgeable, his father having been a caretaker there for many years. One caution - it is extremely hot and humid walking around the ruins. ShoreEx provided a bottle of water to each guest, but I recommend bringing an additional bottle with you. Also, we wished we had worn swimming suits under our clothes, as people were able to climb down stairs leading from the cliff down to the sandy beach below and cool off.
Reviewer: Susan Hutchens
5 Stars
Very interesting
September 28, 2016
Very friendly and informative guide. Interesting ruins and history.
Reviewer: D. M. Kundiger
4 Stars
Phenomenal!
August 24, 2016
It was like Amazing Race to get off the boat, find our way off the pier area, and find our tour operator, but once we did we were blown away. Gabriel and Santiago were very friendly and knowledgeable. We took the ferry to Playa del Carmen where we got on a very comfy cool van to Tulum. The shopping area outside Tulum is huge and the restrooms very third world as you would expect, but haggling with the vendors was a joke. They jack up the prices when they know you want to pay in dollars, and wouldn't even come down when they knew they were going to lose our business! $25 for a t-shirt - no thanks! But once you get into Tulum, your breath will be taken away. We got plenty of time to enjoy the scenery and take pictures, and Santiago is a Mayan descendant who knows his stuff! We were only supposed to get snack and a water - but we got a water on the way there, and lunch and soda on the van ride back!
Reviewer: Jess
5 Stars
Moderately long travel time, but worth the visit!
August 18, 2016
Enjoyed this excursion very much with my 12 year old son and a friend. Friendly guide, interesting destination. Worth going! Pros * Lower cost than cruise-line-sponsored excursion * Tulum ruins were very interesting to see * Shore Ex group was very professional - guide stayed with us nearly the entire time Cons * Water taxi was bumpy ride - sit towards the back to avoid seasickness * Hot outside (obviously not much could be done about that)
Reviewer: MN
5 Stars
Wow!
August 13, 2016
They did a great job. We thoroughly enjoyed it. It was extremely organized and we were kept well-informed. They even brought us subs for lunch. We did not have to worry about anything the entire time.
Reviewer: Nancy Udstuen
5 Stars
Very Nice
July 12, 2016
Great tour. Very well organized. Knowledgeable guides. Be prepared, when we went it was VERY hot, and I'm from Florida!
Reviewer: Judy
5 Stars
Incredible experience
June 11, 2016
We had a great experience.. we lucked out as we would be the only ones to book for this particular day. Gabriel was very nice and very personal. would recommend in a flash.
Reviewer: David
5 Stars
OK
May 26, 2016
The ruins were great to see and learn about but they need more shady areas. It was extremely hot and humid in May. The walk to the ocean was good but then you had to walk up like a straight curvy stair way to get back to the top.
Reviewer: TM
4 Stars
A Great Experience--But HOT
May 19, 2016
A great tour of a fascinating location. Something you're not going to see anywhere else! Please note that it's a very hot hike to the ruins. Make sure you carry water, and wear good walking shoes.
Reviewer: Chris J.
5 Stars
Really Interesting!!
May 13, 2016
I enjoyed the educational experience and I learned thing that I don't think I would find in a textbook at school. It was really nice that the beach was right behind the ruins so once we were done wandering around, we went and cooled off.
Reviewer: Kirk
4 Stars
What great tour was on time getting back to the cr
May 05, 2016
Easy booking
Reviewer: Edwin
4 Stars
Mayan Ruins - Awesome
May 05, 2016
This was a very well organized tour and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our guides were very knowledgeable and gracious. Area was beautiful. We loved this tour.
Reviewer: Linda
5 Stars
Great tour!
May 03, 2016
We were skeptical about this tour since for the first time, we did not take the cruise ship tour. We were pleasantly surprised when we met with Gabriel that he was thorough, making sure he accounted for everyone on his list. He informed us all of the different means of transportation (air conditioned) we needed to take and assured us he would not leave us until we met Santiago on our destination, who would be our tour guide. He made it clear where we would all meet upon our return when Santiago would leave us. The tour was VERY informative and we were very impressed. Gabriel had delicious sandwiches with soda & water on our pleasant return. We HIGHLY recommend! and thank you!
Reviewer: Cruisers
5 Stars
Good tour, if a bit of a haul to Tulum!
April 29, 2016
We wanted to see Tulum, so were prepared to have to spend a time travelling. From the ship, it was a 10 minute walk to the main pier to join the tour. Our tour consisted of 13 people, with a guide travelling with us at all times. We caught a regular passenger ferry (including in price) to the mainland (about 35 minutes) and then a 1/4 mile walk through the town to get to our minibus. It was excellent - air conditioned, cold water available, plenty of space and height. Our drive to Tulum took about 50 minutes... It was a hot day, and Tulum is quite a walk. You can take a shuttle for the 1/2 mile ride to the ruins, but even then you are going to end up with at least a 1/2 mile walk around to see what you want to see. We walked a LOT more than that - both ways without the shuttle, and at least another mile around the ruins. We got to see a lot and take a lot of photographs - definitely worth it if you want to understand more about the Mayan culture. Not sure whether we were just lucky, but we got a superb guide. He had worked as a guide for 30 years and even knew all the history of the preservation of Tulum as well as other sites. All the other guides knew him and greeted him as we walked through - he clearly was held in high esteem. Our tour through was highly informative, on both the history, the architecture, the preservation and the Mayan culture. It was also interactive - no rushing - he asked us questions about what we thought which really engaged the group. We probably could have spent more time at Tulum, although with the distance it really wasn't an option. The ride back was well organized, and we had no rush in returning to the ferry and then back to the ship. All in all, a long day but a worthwhile tour if you want to see Tulum without being part of a massive group and don't want to be shepherded through at high speed.
Reviewer: AngloSaxon
5 Stars
Tulum of Mexico is wonderful.
April 22, 2016
Tulum is an archeological treasure. I am glad this ancient site has been preserved.
Reviewer: Gene
5 Stars
Beautiful Tulum Mayan Ruins
April 21, 2016
We took this excursion to balance the active excursion with a cultural experience. The meeting location of the tour guide was slightly vague ""you will find a person under a statue of a bird at the ferry terminal"", but he was really right there with the proper sign. The guide took excellent care of us. This excursion is intense from a travel point of view as you have to take the ferry to the mainland (45 mins) and then a bus tour to Tulum of about one hour. We had a brand new bus and a small group which was great. We had an experienced guide in Tulum and zero waiting time which was great. Tulum can be very hot without a lot of shade so be prepared for this. Sunscreen is essential ! The location of Tulum is truly awesome and the guide really gave us a nice insight into the site. Travel back is again by bus and boat, but we were perfectly on time all the time ! So overall - great excursion, but heavy on travel versus time at the site.
Reviewer: The Flying Dutchman
4 Stars
Great Price for Tulum
April 20, 2016
Great tour with private transportation. Lunch and water was provided. Tour guide at Tulum was ok but seemed to be in a rush to be done. Overall a great experience for a great price!
Reviewer: AGB
4 Stars
I would take this excursion again.
March 26, 2016
Better to book with them than to book with cruise line , cheaper & smaller group.
Reviewer: Debbie
4 Stars
So glad we went
March 18, 2016
Not sure if we should go, but we're glad we did. Our guide was fabulous and took good care of all of us.
Reviewer: Happy
5 Stars
Nice!
March 17, 2016
This was a great tour..they are very organize, the only think is that the ship arrives in one port and you have to go to another which is an easy taxi ride and it gives you the opportunity to see a little bit more of Cozumel! Safe and clean island. Beautiful blue waters. Overall a super great educational experience, great tour guides, sandwich lunch is included!
Reviewer: Jane
5 Stars
Mayan Ruins of Tulum ""UNIQUE WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE""
March 11, 2016
A nice Mayan site in an incredible setting. The ocean view is great. It is an easy stroll to view the ruins and a breeze is almost guaranteed. There are beach opportunities, so if you are inclined, dress for the water and take the stairs down to the beach. An added benefit, some local shopping, but time is limited.
Reviewer: Citizenbrock
5 Stars
Great Experience
February 25, 2016
Great experience, would book through this company again.
Reviewer: E
5 Stars
Tulum was an amazing experience!
February 16, 2016
On that day, we were the only 2 in the group so it was a very private turn of Tulum and I was very grateful for the individual experience as our guide was very knowledgable and explained the whole experience very well.
Reviewer: Pat
5 Stars