the best snorkeling experience
January 21, 2020
Wonderful trip, welcomed by a wild shark in the first location, thought we had to cancel the trip, but that shark was so tame that you can even pet it. Lots of colorful fish to see in the the two locations, especially the second location, with deep blue sea view, so tranquil and mysterious, like nothing I had experienced before.
Reviewer: JZ
5 Stars
Nice small group excursion
December 17, 2019
We booked this excursion because the reviews for the same excursion on the boat all said the boat group size was around 30. We definitely wanted a small group excursion for snorkeling and this one was perfect. There were 4 people on the excursion total and the boat probably on holds 8. We went to the same reef as the cruise ship tour but our guide took us a little away from the crowd and let us explore on our own. The second reef he lead us in a guided tour around the reef. The reefs were both beautiful with lots of fish. The guides feed the fish so the fish follow you around and get very close. After the snorkel the guide offered to drop us back at the beach or at the port. We chose the port so we could get something to eat. But the beach was a beautiful quiet beach if you want to get away from the crowds.
Reviewer: Angela Ward
4 Stars
Ultimate Snorkel
November 07, 2019
Our guides were fabulous! We saw lots of wildlife on our excursion. We would definitely do this one again!!
Reviewer: Michele Whisman
5 Stars
Ultimate Snorkel Experience
August 28, 2019
This was the best snorkeling excursion I ever went on! Not only were the guide/passenger ratios good, with two guides for ten people but the guides stayed very close to the passengers who were nervous, anxious, or scared. Every single passenger on the boat, made it into the water! Once in the water we saw an underwater cave, a Barricuda and even a small Shark!e
Reviewer: Mary Clare Sabio
5 Stars
Snorkel
July 24, 2019
This was the absolute best experience!! I wish I could remember the names of our guides but they were fantastic. I would definitely recommend anyone to go snorkeling. Those guides made sure we had a perfect day.
Reviewer: Dawn Emmert Tate
5 Stars
Great time!
July 02, 2019
The instructors were really good! We had a great time!
Reviewer: Amber
5 Stars
Wonderful Experience
June 19, 2019
Papa J tours was located exactly as the directions stated. The tour guides were extremely knowledgeable, passionate, and friendly. They used a bait to bring out schools of fish and we had plenty of time at the two areas to swim with the fish. Our tour in particular had two families total so the tour felt very personalized and felt less crowded compared to other tours.
Reviewer: En-Hsin
5 Stars
Great experience
June 16, 2019
My daughter and I loved this excursion. Erickson and Joseph made this very rewarding. Loads of colorful fish, and petting a small nurse shark made this a memorable trip. Very professional and pleasant staff.
Reviewer: Dawn
5 Stars
Superb Snorkeling
April 18, 2019
Saw a lot of sea life on our snorkeling excursion. Stopped in two locations. My son who is 19 got to swim with reef sharks and hold one. He was so excited. My husband would not get in the water related to the size of the sharks but video tape the day. Staff was were great swimmers and knowledgeable about their reefs & fish.
Reviewer: Bernadette Coberly
5 Stars
Great Experience
December 13, 2018
We had two stops for snorkeling, both we saw many schools of fish. During the second stop, we pet a baby shark. That was cool. We also saw the drop off wall in the sea. It was beautiful! Capitan Eric and his crews were friendly and patient. They helped kids, grandma and people were first time snorkeling and made sure everybody had a good time. I wish you can attach pictures to the review so I can share some of the pictures we took under the water.
Reviewer: Minia
5 Stars
Great excursion.
November 03, 2018
This was awesome. We had a perfect day. Total sunshine. We seen literally thousands of fish. Even saw a huge sea turtle. Highly recommend this.
Reviewer: Gary
5 Stars
Great Snorkeling
July 30, 2018
This was a great snorkeling adventure. The guides were amazing and knowledgeable. We saw a lot of colorful fish, a nurse shark, and a huge lobster.
Reviewer: Shannon Carter
5 Stars
Fantastic Snorkel Excursion
July 30, 2018
This had to be the best and most affordable excursion we booked on our own. The crew was amazing and attentive to all the customers. I took 3 boys on the tour and they had never snorkeled before. Brian (crew) kept an eye on them and they made sure everyone had a good time. They were professional and the boat was so clean. I was very pleased with the excursion, the crew, and the experience overall. Thanks Papa J Tours...
Reviewer: Sabin Priddy
5 Stars
Love it
July 23, 2018
This tour was the best. The whole Team of PapaJ Tours were amazingly patient and knowledgeable. I don’t know how to swim or snorkel so I was just going to take pictures of my family. Brian convinced me to go in the water and snorkel, it was AMAZING!! He helped me the whole time and the team wouldn’t let me out of their sight. I got to see lots of different kinds of fish and corals. I can’t believe how long they can keep their breath underneath water. Thank you Papa J Tours for this great experience.
Reviewer: Hilda Vogt
5 Stars
Great experience, smaller group
July 02, 2018
We had great experience with Papa J tours and guides (Jaydon aka little Papa J and Rayquan). We were taken in a smaller group in a small boat. Made two stops including at the wall. Both the guides were very helpful and knowlegeble. Helped right away when any issue. Both are excellent divers and taught kids how to dive deep. Also very patience and good with kids. Highly recommend them and would definitely pick them again, if we go back to grand Turks.
Reviewer: Tim
5 Stars
Great Staff / Hard to find
July 02, 2018
It took a little bit to find the group because the instructions lead you to believe it will be less of a walk to their set up. The instructions are pretty accurate with the exception of the distance, but it was well-worth the walk. Every one on the staff was helpful, friendly and funny. We saw a great group of fish and we were able to snorkel in two areas. I would do this excursion again if I were in the area. It was fantastic.
Reviewer: Sandy
5 Stars
awesome
June 11, 2018
This excursion was awesome! We were taken out on on our own boat. Our tour guide was so knowledgeable! He was awesome! Saw so many fish! They would just right up to us! Awesome, adventure!
Reviewer: Rachel Kent champagne
5 Stars
Fantastic snorkel trip
January 22, 2018
Our family booked this excursion and loved it. The guys that run the business are fantastic and could not have been nicer. It was a super small group of people that went out on the snorkel trip. The water is absolutely beautiful and the guides were incredibly knowledgeable. They actually got in the water with us so they could show us things under the water and I can't believe how long thay can hold their breath! Very worth while experience
Reviewer: Donna Revello
5 Stars
Snorkeling with Papa J
September 20, 2017
It was amazing. We had a small group of 5. The staff were very informative. We saw other excursions booked through the cruise line and they had groups of 20-30. We saw and touched a nurse shark, saw a baracuuda, sea turtle and tons of beautiful fish.
Reviewer: Lynne Drawson
5 Stars
Wonderful tour
September 06, 2017
Our snorkel tour was wonderful. There was just the 3 people in my family and one other person - plus the tour guide - on our tour. We loved the small group. The two snorkel sites were good and we saw lots of colorful fish and coral. They were easy and safe snorkel locations. My eleven year old son was a little nervous at first but got the hang of it and had fun.
Reviewer: Carol Buote
5 Stars
Absolutely perfect
August 22, 2017
The getting to the place where the boat was was easy. The guy there manning it was very friendly as was the assistant who helped everyone in the water. Absolutely perfect. Two great places to snorkel and the water was great and the guys were just terrific. There was only 9 of us (we saw the Cruise Ship's excursion for snorkeling and there had to be 50 people on a catamaran. Really so much better and personal.
Reviewer: Ed Kelley
5 Stars
Great
August 19, 2017
Erickson, our guide, was fabulous! He was patient, flexible and very well informed. Favorite day of our cruise!
Reviewer: Aurelia k Williams
5 Stars
Snorkeling
August 16, 2017
Had a great time when we went. The Captain did a great job of getting the fish to come up to us. So many fish that you could not help but to touch them. Will go again when we go back for sure!
Reviewer: Dawn P.
4 Stars
A good time!
April 20, 2017
The snorkel trip was very fun. The guides were really helpful to those who had not been snorkeling before. We were a small group so the waters weren't crowded, which was very nice.
Reviewer: Kerry Picco
4 Stars
Snorkel review
March 24, 2017
It was our first cruise and we didn't realize the time difference between ship and island. We initially missed our tour due to us being at the Land waiting area. The person there kindly took us to the correct area and the guide took us after they had returned with our original group. They were knowledgeable and caring, one stood with my 6year old the whole time! Thank you!
Reviewer: Maribel Martinez-Sagastume
5 Stars
Spectacular
March 23, 2017
We were the only two people from our SilverSea ship to reserve this excursion and it ended up being a private tour. Our captain/guide was amazing and he provided all the equipment and was very helpful given our limited snorkeling experience. The abundant fish and sharks as well the views of the massive drop off the ocean floor made this a very memorable experience
Reviewer: Allen Peterson
5 Stars
Great snorkel
January 21, 2017
My family ( two adults 3 teens) really enjoyed this snorkel excursion even though water was a little chilly in December. It was just us and another family with teens. Very convenient to cruise port. The water was beautiful and we saw lots of colorful reef fish and coral. Even saw an octopus, nurse shark, large grouper, barracuda and a puffer fish. Our guide Brant was excellent, very attentive and an amazing free diver. The reef drop off was fantastic to see. Would highly recommend this! Was our favorite excursion
Reviewer: Becky Meier
5 Stars
Great Time in Turks
January 19, 2017
Had a great time. Owner and son took us out, showed us around and let us pet a shark. Very great time. Highly recommend.
Reviewer: Scott
5 Stars
Awesome!
August 03, 2016
At first I wasn't sure about it, but when got started it was amazing. Our guide was fun and engaging. We got see unbelievable ocean sites, including many types of sea life..Thank you!
Reviewer: Victor Ceglie
5 Stars
Great time especially with only the 2 of us on boa
May 30, 2016
Great time especially with only the 2 of us on board unlike people who booked through Carnival and there were so many people on board their boats. It was great that they took just the 2 of us.
Reviewer: RICHARD AND KAT
5 Stars
Great time great value
April 14, 2016
Great snorkeling trip had a blast!!! Small group so got to see more but went to some very crowded areas and others made the second spot a little murky in the shallower reef. Overall a great value and awesome time.
Reviewer: Honeymooners
4 Stars
Amazing Experience!
March 22, 2016
This was an awesome experience! The ship captain was knowledgeable and friendly. When we spotted a sea turtle he dove down with our camera to get a picture for us! :) We will likely tour with them again when we are back this summer!
Reviewer: peaches1016
5 Stars
Amazing Experience
March 22, 2016
This was an amazing excursion. The captain was knowledgeable and friendly. When we spotted a sea turtle he took our camera and dove down to catch a picture! :) We will likely do this excursion again when we're back this summer!
Reviewer: peaches1016
5 Stars
Excellent guides.
February 24, 2016
Darrel was great!
Reviewer: Rocky
4 Stars
What an awesome trip!
February 12, 2016
The people who ran this trip were extremely friendly and accommodating. They were knowledgeable and really cared about us having a fun time! The guide was really helpful and fun. He offered to take our picture and showed us a lot of details that we might not have noticed otherwise! :) Definitely would do again!
Reviewer: ollie14
5 Stars
These guys are top-notch!
February 11, 2016
We had a great time on the Ultimate Snorkel with Papa J Tours. Shark Bait and all the guys made this a very pleasurable experience despite our inexperience at snorkeling. Boat and all equipment was clean and organized. They obviously take great pride in their business.
Reviewer: Ultimate Snorkel in Grand Turk
5 Stars
Terrific excursion!
February 11, 2016
fantastic snorkel in a small group. Guide was wonderful, caring and informative.
Reviewer: RG
5 Stars
One more time
January 04, 2016
The guides were very interested in our enjoyment of our snorkeling.The captian was teaching another the way to help the clients keep happy and interested. He went out of his way to make sure we enjoyed every minute of our time on the boat and in the water. The sighting of the fish and sharks were exciting to us and the crew was more than happy to take our pictures in or out of the water.As I told one person booking on another venture its always better with a smaller group this tour reinforced the personal touch is the best.Jim and Cherie
Reviewer: Jim
5 Stars
Papa J was great!
December 31, 2015
Enjoyed the snorkel trip and would highly recommend to others. I especially like that it was small as opposed to the large cruise trips. We had individual attention and were treated great!!
Reviewer: Senoritta K
5 Stars
Great small group snorkeling trip
December 29, 2015
Small group
Reviewer: Big Ben
4 Stars
pretty good time
December 03, 2015
The guide was very nice and he tried his best. I know you can't control the fish.
Reviewer: michael
4 Stars
Awesome snorkel adventure!
November 27, 2015
This was a small excursion to snorkel 2 areas with one of them being ""the wall"" where the ocean bottom just drops off to 7,000 feet. Our guides were very knowledgeable and friendly, even jumping into the water with us to calm our fears and impart their knowledge of the area. A very fun adventure with professional staff! I would definitely recommend this company.
Reviewer: Ellen
5 Stars
Friendly fish and papa J
November 27, 2015
Our Ultimate snorkel was perfect. The best part is the guides were showing us the best place to see the reef. Introducing us to the fish that live there. For me being a timid snorkeler they made me feel safe.. I loved this excursion.
Reviewer: Chicken Joe
5 Stars
Would definitely use again.
July 12, 2015
Shore excursion was less expenses then ship, we were in a very small group, which meant it was easy to keep track of my grand daughter, and they took pics of us and sent us photos at no extra charge.
Reviewer: Adventurous Peg
5 Stars
Snorkle Adventure
January 26, 2015
This was a good excursion. The guides could have explained some things better. My wife is not a great swimmer and she had no idea how to blow up her inflatable life jacket. The guides were very good divers and actually caught a small shark for us to get up close to and pet. Very cool.
Reviewer: Scott
4 Stars
Simply Fantastic!
December 24, 2014
From the second we boarded our boat this was a fantastic experience. We booked this in advance, avoiding the excursions offered on our cruise ship and were we glad. Our cruise ship cancelled their offered excursion (and we were on a 5 star luxury cruise) due to not enough people signing up. We were the only 2 people on Shore Excursions Ultimate Snorkel and they treated us excellent - it was like a private charter. The equipment was first rate, the captain was in the water with us the entire time showing us all the underwater sights, we had a stop on the wall which was amazing, and the finale was petting a nurse shark and her baby. Our captain had fish food to draw hundreds of fish to us and this was truly one of our best ever snorkeling experiences. We are both very experienced scuba divers and snorkelers and I give this excursion the highest rating possible, for equipment, avoiding crowds, knowledgeable guide and captain, and overall pleasant experience.
Reviewer: The princess
5 Stars
Great Experience
December 11, 2014
We had two very experienced guides who were very patient with everyone. They made the trip fun and exciting, especially when they let us pet a nurse shark. They would feed the fish and have schools of fish swimming all around them, which made for some great photo moments. When we booked this excursion they sent us very detailed instructions on how to meet the boat, which made it very easy to find. We loved that the excursion did not take all day and gave us time to explore Turks and Caicos. This excursion seemed much better than the other snorkeling trips offered, due to the guides and the size of the group. I think you could get lost at sea with the size of the other groups, who looked like they could not even swim around without bumping in to other snorkelers.
Reviewer: J&M World Travelers
4 Stars
amazing guides 10/10 woohoo
October 09, 2014
great guides smaller boat better customer service ;)
Reviewer: MJ the scardicat
5 Stars
Amazing and memorable can be affordable!
July 22, 2014
I booked this excursion mainly for my daughter.I don't swim and I was not sure I would participate. Our guides were so knowledgeable and friendly,that they took away my fear of snorkeling for the first time. It was an incredible experience. I loved it. will probably do it again I recommend Papa J Tour for a snorkeling experience in Grand Turk.
Reviewer: Sophie
5 Stars
Loved it.
May 13, 2014
Loved how the guides had us surrounded by beautiful fish and also brought us to a nurse shark and we were able to touch it. Loved it.
Reviewer: Dave
5 Stars
Incredible!
January 29, 2014
Guide in the water brought food for the fish. He also found a reef shark for us to photograph and pet!
Reviewer: Tom
5 Stars
A great Day!
January 04, 2014
Instructions on how to find the provider were very clear. The guides were great and it was a much more personalized experience than what the cruise ship was doing. The provider has two boats that can take a maximum of 10 people each. Contrast that to a catamaran holding 50. Provider emailed us pictures from our adeventure which was a nice added bonus.
Reviewer: MSN123
5 Stars
a whole new world under the sea!!
November 01, 2013
A first for my boyfriend and a second chance to get the hang of snorkeling...I did it...and he loved the experience. Another tick on my Bucket List...also got to pet a SHARK...can you believe that??? Our guides were fabulous.
Reviewer: DeniseDarrell
5 Stars
had a GREAT TIME!!
June 19, 2013
they were great guys and took us on a great trip. the shelf was very impressive. could use a sgin or something as to where to meet up. we found them fine, but were a little unsure.
Reviewer: samsarah
5 Stars