Excellent Tour
March 29, 2020
Would recommend this tour. The boat trip was great. Our guide was VERY knowledgeable. His explanations of birds, animals, and history, were great. Liked the very good lunch of native dishes too.
Reviewer: Lloyd Reinhard
5 Stars
Tour review
March 04, 2020
This was one of the best excursions we have been on. Jesus, our tour guide, was absolutely excellent. He was very knowledgeable and created memorable moments. The inclusion of a bus and boat ride was perfect. And the lunch was delicious!
Reviewer: Debbie Sargent
5 Stars
Excellent shore excursion
January 15, 2020
Jesus was an excellent guide, and Jose was a wonderful driver. The tour included a bus ride where we had an opportunity to stop and see the native monkeys. Then we took a boat ride on the Tarcoles River where we saw amazing birds, crocs, observed the tides and took lots of pictures. We continued to a buffet lunch in an atrium of a lovely hotel. It was an absolutely wonderful day!
Reviewer: Ellen Newman
5 Stars
Great overview of Costa Rica
January 01, 2020
This was a great day exploring the high lights of Costa Rica. Viewing wild monkeys near the road, and up close in our boat with large crocodiles, seeing many species of wild birds, we had far more experiences with wildlife than I had imagined. Our tour bus and guide were a surprise too. Nice day, punctuated with a nice local lunch.
Reviewer: Gary T Williamson
5 Stars
Tour comments
December 19, 2019
Great tour guides. Jungle boat excursion fabulous.great lunch.Amazing bus ride up into the rainforest.All around ...super day.
Reviewer: B Jennings
5 Stars
Best of Costa Rica
December 17, 2019
a great tour guide
Reviewer: Byron Jonk
5 Stars
Superb wildlife guide
December 12, 2019
My husband and I rate the Tocales River cruise on this shore excursion as the highlight of all the shore trips we took. The guide was superior in finding wildlife hidden in the shoreside jungle, and in guiding the boat driver closer in to shore so that we could all spot the bird, reptile, or mammal that he had found. He clearly loved his country and the wildlife in it. The lunch provided was delicious.
Reviewer: Karen H Gyselinck
5 Stars
Excellent Choice!
May 06, 2019
This tour was amazing! We especially enjoyed the river cruise and seeing the crocodiles.The monkey stop was awesome as well. Only wish on the fruit tasting that it wasn't the usual fruits I could get anywhere. We would have liked to have tried something different. Food was great at our lunch stop. Our guide Jesus and the driver (can't remember his name) were great! Would highly recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Jeffrey Jensen
5 Stars
Van tours by Gio tours
April 17, 2019
Enjoyed our Costa Rica tour. Adonis and Charles tried really hard to make sure we saw as much as possible. Enjoyed lunch on your. They both were good ambassadors of Costa Rica
Reviewer: Rathbun
5 Stars
Monkey park/River cruise
April 10, 2019
We had such an enthusiastic guide at our Costa Rica location. We did a river cruise to view the crocodiles and the boat driver was a crazy young man who dangle chicken legs at the crocodiles. We had a very good lunch, learned much about the economy, sampled fruit, and drank rum/sugar cane shots. A very enjoyable afternoon.
Reviewer: Angela Gradek
5 Stars
A very good excursion
March 31, 2019
Wild monkeys, lots of close up crocodiles, lots of different species of birds, a nice traditional Costa Rican lunch, a good scenic drive, stops for shopping, and very pleasant, knowledgeable guides. They took lots of time for everything. All in all, we had a great day.
Reviewer: Doug Pollok
5 Stars
Absolutely fabulous
March 04, 2019
This is a trip not to miss. It’s absolutely fabulous. First part was a trip to the monkeys where you get close up and feed them if you want. A great experience. Later the boat trip with crocodiles and wildlife was amazing. The crocodiles get close up and you can get great pictures, but don’t lean out of the boat too much as they are quite snappy! So many birds to look at, and with a great guide, you were given the names of these. I have never seen so many different birds anywhere like here. I can’t say praise enough for this tour enough, it had everything you wanted to see on it and close up. The views on the tour bus were excellent too. Finally a great guide.
Reviewer: Mike
5 Stars
Truly the best!
February 04, 2019
This tour was our favorite excursion of our entire trip! We truly loved seeing the monkeys, crocodiles, and birds. Our guide, Jesus, was fantastic in every way. Thank you for this excellent experience!
Reviewer: Terri Martinson
5 Stars
Best of Cost a Rica
September 17, 2018
This was an excellent tour. Our guide was very passionate about the environment issues and keeping the country natural and clean We saw monkeys, many birds- toucans- in their natural environment. The lunch provided was excellent. The seven hours went quickly.
Reviewer: Win Hoysa
5 Stars
Croc Land
May 14, 2018
The guides were very personable and helpful. It’s not often you can be up close to native monkeys in a natural setting. We saw crocs on the river although other boats were closer to them. I enjoyed this excursion and would recommend it to others.
Reviewer: Deb Brown
4 Stars
The best tour!
April 16, 2018
Our guide, Jesus, was awesome and the tour was the best. We saw so crocs, monkeys, and many different birds. We learned a lot about the beautiful country and the smaller van was easy to ride in.
Reviewer: Jeff and Lynda
5 Stars
Great Experience
March 16, 2018
This trip was a good way to see the best of Costa Rica in a short amount of time. Our guide was great as well...
Reviewer: Patricia Froelich
5 Stars
Tour
February 07, 2018
Of all the tours we took, this was the best. We observed wildlife that doesn't always want to be seen. We gained insight into the country, I found interesting. Never a dull moment.
Reviewer: Mike Bale
5 Stars
excellent tour
May 23, 2017
The part of the tour I thought I'd like the least - the visit to the monkey sanctuary - was actually VERY enjoyable. The entire excursion was top-notch and I'd do it again.
Reviewer: Kathi E
5 Stars
Costa Rica at its best
March 30, 2017
Very knowledgeable guide. Good English ,explained well .Just the right amount of facts without being boring. Enjoyed the whole day.
Reviewer: pauline marshall
5 Stars
Good Overview in a Short Time
March 18, 2017
This was more of a sampling of some Costa Rican attractions. It is not meant to be all-encompassing. The highlight, to me, was the cruise on the Tarcoles River to see crocodiles, lizards and diverse water birds, because it was wildlife in its natural setting. The stop to see the White-Face Monkey, while amusing and different, was nonetheless what I call a staged activity because it occurs within a private property as opposed to in the wild. Stops at a fruit stand and at a souvenir shop, were of interest and to be expected with any similar tours. But I think making a stop at a local supermarket was a bit overboard in terms of commercializing what is purported to be a tour. Making a stop at the bridge over the Tarcoles River to see more crocodiles, but in bunches, would have been a better use of the time. Sightseeing around the town of Puntarenas and from a hill overlooking the Tarcoles River were also of interest. The guides provided were helpful and informative.
Reviewer: Manuel Sam
4 Stars
Perfect tour
February 24, 2017
Tour was impressive from the minute Gio Tours picked us up to the end of the day. Jesus, the guide, was very knowledgeable and interesting. The eco tour of the river was awesome, lots of birds and crocodiles to see, again the guide knew everything. Lunch was delicious. We saw a lot of Costa Rica and the tour company and guide made it a perfect day.
Reviewer: Susan Materi
5 Stars
Best of Costa Rica
February 21, 2017
This tour was great and well worth your time for the money. Our guide, Jesus, was young and energetic and was genuinely happy with his job. He was knowledgeable and funny. We visited a white faced monkey farm which was very entertaining. There was a nice drive thru the country that was very informative and time to shop. The lunch was very good and timely with the start time of the excursion.
Reviewer: Steve
5 Stars
Good tour
January 20, 2017
Well organized and informative
Reviewer: Edward Hamilton
5 Stars
It is the Best in Costa Rica
January 13, 2017
We arrived on Norwegian Jewel. Directions provided by Shore Excursions to find tour were not correct; however, there was a tour guide with their destination and the names of clients held high so we did not have a problem. Shore Excursions need to verify all the directions they provide because none of them were correct. This was an amazing tour. Dejesus was the guide (or something like that). He was efficient, friendly and very knowledgeable about his country. His passion for the culture shone through. Great croc tour with Jose's as well. Dinner/lunch at Steve/Lindas was really tasty--buffet style. Lots of local information an beautiful views. A short trip to a fruit market and a grocery. Thanks for a great tour.
Reviewer: Deborah Costello
5 Stars