Puntarenas Costa Rica Highlights
February 04, 2020
We were shown the Coast Rica rainforest and rivers just as we remembered. Our guide was personable and engaging. Never felt rushed. Loved revisiting the handing bridges. Our crocodile tour guide was an entertaining highlight. Our van stopped along the roads when there was a special site to see.
Reviewer: Robert Cohen
5 Stars
Special Tour!
December 11, 2019
Croc river boat tour was excellent..loaded with animals & birds with a great show with the guides. Short walk thru the jungle over hanging bridges was perfect!..just long enough to give a good sense of the beauty & lushness of the area. Guide was good & had much pride in his country. Rest stop resort was lovely & welcoming. We all wanted an overnite!! Would enjoy this tour again!
Reviewer: Patrice Ryan
5 Stars
Puntarenas Area Highlights
November 04, 2019
My wife and I took this tour on October 11, 2019. It was broke up into a tour of the rain forests and boat ride on the river to see wildlife and crocs in the wild. It was a wonderful tour and our guide was outstanding and very knowledgeable. I would highly recommend it to anyone. You have to be able to walk on uneven ground through the rainforests.
Reviewer: Patrick Doyle
5 Stars
Crocodiles!
August 21, 2019
Great excursion, with lots of impressive birds and other wildlife, such as the crocodiles and howler monkeys. Have done this trip before, and undoubtedly will do it again!
Reviewer: R. Shneidman
5 Stars
Great Experience
March 20, 2019
The neat thing about this trip was the guide, we had him on an excursion 5 years ago on the other side of Costa Rica. He was very knowledgeable and took time to help with photos and made sure to explain everything. We plan to return to Costa Rica soon and this tour company is number one on our list of future contacts.
Reviewer: John Ragan
5 Stars
Rain Forest Excursion
March 05, 2019
A great experience! Our guide was very informative in leading us thru the rainforest. On the trip down the river we saw a number of crocodiles. Overall a very enjoyable excursion
Reviewer: Gary Barta
5 Stars
Great Day
February 04, 2019
We really enjoyed seeing some of the highlights of Costa Rica. The tour guide was very informative and pointed out things along the bus ride. We started off with the alligators on a river boat. The water was very low. We saw several smaller ones. As they attempted to take us further up the river the boat got high centered..... so we turned around. Then we saw a big one 50 yards from where we were docking. The canopy walk was very beautiful and the suspension bridges were amazing. Great pictures and view of the jungle below.
Reviewer: Valerie Loewen
5 Stars
Rainforest
May 22, 2018
The trail through the rainforest was very interesting. It really gave you the chance to see a rainforest first hand. I have always wanted to see what a rainforest looked like. I am glad I had a walking stick as the trail was a challenge at times. I worried about the swinging bridges, but they were very secure and you got a good view of the forest.
Reviewer: Joan McBain
5 Stars
Costa Rica Rainforest hike/Crocodiles/Villages
May 14, 2018
Greenway Nature Tours escorted us on a 5 hour exploration of the rainforest of Costa Rica near Puntarenas. Our first stop was a 1.5 mile hiking trail in the fragrant jungle, crossing 3 swinging bridges 180 feet above the ground. Our guide showed us vanilla orchids, exotic flowers, and even a Poison Dart Frog. Views of the ocean coast were spectacular! Then we took a boat down the Tárcoles River, famous for having the greatest number of crocodiles per river mile. Besides crocodiles up to 18 feet in length, we saw iguanas and many tropical birds during the river cruise. Before the end of our tour, we also stopped in the picturesque towns of Villa Lapas and Santa Lucia Village.Our guide was very knowledgeable and the air conditioned motorcoach was comfortable. Definitely a tour worth taking!
Reviewer: Debbie Gillmore
5 Stars
Puntarenas
April 16, 2018
The best tour we loved it . It was a smaller bus ,we all felt a bit like family.Our tour guide Steve was terrific,he made us so welcome,walked with us through the rainforest New ever plant explained all different fruits,and animals.A wonderful young men who apologized not his fault when we had to wait for the crocodile ride. Highly recommend this tour .
Reviewer: Elsbeth Abadi
5 Stars
rain forest river tour
March 30, 2017
Would have liked doing more swinging bridges in the rainforest. The river tour was excellent the scenery and wildlife was breath taking. It was my favorite part of the tour.
Reviewer: Cathy novak
4 Stars
From the sea to the rainforest bridges and Rivers!
March 06, 2017
This tour was well organized and not only did we get to see the countryside, we did a small hike (down the mountainside!) and over several rainforest bridges. The second part of the tour included a delightful river tour and we got to see lots of birds and a few crocodiles and the last stop was of course seeing native handiworks. Would recommend this tour very much!
Reviewer: Elizabeth
5 Stars
Perfect
March 03, 2017
we enjoyed the hike and light snack bus was very comfortable and river boat was comfortable too. I wish that we had seen the Macaws, and rain forest but will do that another time.Our driver was excellent and safe and the tour guide was very knowledgeable about his country and our sights
Reviewer: Anita Storhaug
5 Stars
Best Shore Excursion of our Panama Cruise!
February 16, 2017
We give highest marks to the young man who was our guide. He was so knowledgeable and clearly proud of his country. The day was well planned and gave us a nice variety of Costa Rica.
Reviewer: Pam Boedeker
5 Stars
Puntarenas Highlights
February 02, 2017
We were transported by a large passenger van, very comfortable, much better than a large 60 passenger bus. Personal attention, went locations where there were no buses and other locations were buses were, so knew we were seeing the highlights and then some.
Reviewer: Henry Block
5 Stars
Great tour of Puntarenas
December 27, 2016
Our guide, Alberto, was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. The van was clean, comfortable and the driver was capable, even stopping by the side of the road where monkeys were known to hang out.
Reviewer: Marcia M
5 Stars
Punterentas Area Highlights - Costa Rica
December 25, 2016
Great excursion. Very knowledgeable guide on a small intimate tour. Wild life fantastic from monkeys to birds to giant crocodiles!
Reviewer: Peter Blakeley
5 Stars
FASCINATING!!
May 16, 2016
Crocodile river tour was awesome! Guide was very knowledgeable and pro active. Can't believe he didn't get eaten by a croc:-) Very entertaining
Reviewer: Bahkeep
5 Stars
GOOD TOUR
May 10, 2016
Excellent tour and guide.
Reviewer: Fred
4 Stars
A Walk in the Forest
April 30, 2016
Climate is very hot and humid, and although this tour was very educational, it did cause a few of the participants to forego the final hanging bridge to catch their breath, But I am glad I did it. May never have this opportunity again.
Reviewer: wisclou
4 Stars
Adventure tour
March 22, 2016
Rainforest ,first part of this tour was a challenge,since Uneven surface and loose stones.
Reviewer: Dee
4 Stars
Great day excursion
February 03, 2016
Fast and easy pick up on the dock. Nice van. Really good guide whose name I have already forgotten. Nice walk across the forest hanging bridges. Wish we had had better co-travelers who had read the details and weren't arrive of heights and could walk at a normal pace. Loved the Villalapas Hotel stop for fresh fruit, juice. Gorgeous site. Crocodile river tour after the hanging bridges was just amazing. Once again, good guide makes all the difference. Suggest you bring your own food, or snacks and water, lots of water. Long day. But so worth it. Only had six people in our van. Such a manageable size.
Reviewer: michigan traveler
5 Stars
Would definitely do this tour again
January 07, 2016
Hiking through the forest was not for older people who have trouble walking. Loved the croc farm and watching the guide feed the croc.
Reviewer: Wally
5 Stars
Best Tour
December 13, 2015
Best tour!! Driver & Guide made for a special tour!! Van was outstanding!! Tour was well organized and spontaneous!! Driver made the tour special by knowing and Seeing road side animal attractions!!
Reviewer: Al the waxman
5 Stars
Great overview
December 07, 2015
We saw what we wanted and tour guide was very knowledgeable. They were at the dock waiting when we arrived and the group was not too large. We personally are not fans of stopping at places to allow shopping as they are always just tourist traps and I would rather be sightseeing.
Reviewer: Taho
4 Stars
Terrific! Best Guide who truly knew his wildlife &
November 17, 2015
We have been all over Costa Rica but never on the west coast. With limited time, we decided to take a tour. We are so glad we did. We enjoyed the Crocs & the beautiful birds and our Guide knew where to go to find the most in a short distance. We never have seen so many Macaws in one location. Also the Toucans were just as wonderful.
Reviewer: JoJo the ultimate Travelers
5 Stars
Off the chart excursion
June 08, 2015
Guide we had was really good. Our experience was super. The guide made it happen as well as the driver. Wow
Reviewer: Old Duke
5 Stars
River Croc cruise and Rain Forest walk
May 17, 2015
Great Excursion that delivered everything promised
Reviewer: Marc Thomas
5 Stars
It was great
December 29, 2014
great
Reviewer: Dk
5 Stars
This was a great excursion! Rewarding!!!
November 09, 2014
Gave a great view of the general rainforest area! Loved the river excursion! Sugar cane mill was exciting!!
Reviewer: Traveler
4 Stars