Best time!!
January 25, 2020
We had the best day here! The weather was gorgeous, the drinks were great and they keep them coming!! Food was better than the buffet on the cruise ship. Our guide from the office to the resort was very nice and knowledgeable. Entire staff at the resort was phenomenal. If you’re looking for a day to relax by the pool and beach this is THE place!
Reviewer: Jonesa Fluck
5 Stars
Great value, highly recommend
January 01, 2020
The cruise ship docks on a pier which has a few shops & a bar or 2. From there you take a FREE shuttle to the city about 4 miles. It's a little sketchy but if you look for the Green T shirts you'll see them as you pull up to the bus station. Please get off the ship and to the free shuttle ASAP. It took about 20 minutes to get to the resort via shuttle bus, resort was very nice. Looked to be a hotel / condo area that was pretty empty due to being a off season. The pool & beach area were very nice, there were huts with tables & chairs to sit under & Service was fantastic, friendly the drinks just kept coming. No speciality drinks just mostly beer, margaritas. the hotel or staff doesn't have change or at least they pretended not to get a bigger tip. I ended up tipping $20 USD. The buffet of food was well not fantastic but was basically fajita chicken, rice , beans. Would highly recommend this for the value.
Reviewer: Chris B
4 Stars
Enjoyable excursion!
December 04, 2019
We enjoyed this excursion. The group was small, the tour guide was very knowledgable and very sweet! The weather was horrible, but we still had a lot of fun!
Reviewer: Cathy Ashley
5 Stars
Nice Time at the Beach
July 15, 2019
This was a nice excursion, we just wish it was a little longer. It took a while to get to the beach and back so you only get about three hours there. The food was really good, but the drinks were pretty small. The only beer the offered was warm Tecate light in small cups, not too refreshing. Also it's probably not fair to this beach that we were in Cozumel the day before so in comparison, everything else won't look as good.
Reviewer: Paul Harvey
4 Stars
Beach Getaway
April 16, 2019
We had the best time at Iguana Maya. Our guide Bianca was phenomenal and she made our excursion better than expected. Accommodations were great along with the drinks and food. My special needs daughter enjoyed every minute of it and that made it even better.
Reviewer: Yvonne Lujan
5 Stars
Excursion
April 16, 2019
The excursion was really nice. We enjoyed the pool, the food and the drinks. The staff was very attentive and nice.
Reviewer: Marcia Riggins
4 Stars
Beach Getaway
March 29, 2019
We were treated like royalty. Our tour guide was very fluent in English and she had a storied life to go along with why she does what she does. Loved this trip. The beach was beautiful and the place we were at was phenomenal. It does humble you to see some of the living situations out there
Reviewer: JAMES TIDMORE
5 Stars
Nice relaxing day
March 12, 2019
Well taken card of by staff with regards to food, drinks, and location of accommodations. Beach was not pristine and tables and chairs showed some wear. Not enough negatives to ruin my day however.
Reviewer: Chuck Shaw
5 Stars
Great
October 25, 2018
Bianca was great but while we were at the beach we never saw her until we got ready to leave. We really enjoyed the time.
Reviewer: Michael Jenkins
5 Stars
Nice Beach Day
August 06, 2018
This was my first time using Shore Excursion group. It was super easy and I will use them again. The beach club was nice (given that is Progresso). Service was wonderful. We had a group of 5 and had easy access to a table and beach chairs. We had 2 servers assigned to our section and they were super attentive and kept bringing drinks and food. Food and drinks were good. There were fun activities to do there in addition to the beach. I would do it again.
Reviewer: Brandy Dollgener
4 Stars
Relaxing
July 05, 2017
I highly recommend this excursion. First time using shore excursion group so I was very nervous. The only reason I am giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is due to the resort not the SEG. We were late (our fault/auto progresso) getting to the meet up point. Make sure to let the auto progresso people know you have already book a tour or else you will be held for a few minutes as they try to sell you theirs. Once we made to the meeting spot our slots had been filled but the the tour guide was GREAT she called and got cars to take us to our destination. She even traveled with us. When we arrived everything was nice and clean and the service was excellent. The reason for 4 stars its the lack of activities to do once you get tired of swimming. Very few Kayaks available and no one knew how to rent the jet skis. Food was good, drinks were watered down but after a few tequila shots we were just fine LOL! I will definitely book this excursion again through SEG.
Reviewer: Cliffery
4 Stars
Delightful Fun in the Sun
February 01, 2017
We took a chance on this excursion in December 2016, not knowing what it would be like. Let me just say, it was well worth taking the chance. The beach was so relaxing and not too crowded. We made friends with the wait staff and never had a empty glass. If you want to relax & enjoy each other, I would highly recommend trying this excursion. For the price, you can't beat it!
Reviewer: Paula Ford
4 Stars
Rough start...got better.
December 25, 2016
Rough start. The instructions on how to find the transportation were unclear and frustrating. There was an hour waiting at a local market before the van to the resort arrived. Once we got to the resort, the food, drinks and service was great. The rap music was not appropriate for the kids with us. We asked them to change it and they did for a while. There aren't a lot of options at this port yet.
Reviewer: Michael Hurst
4 Stars
Good time
December 19, 2016
This was our second time here had a great time eating sit by the pool and walking the beach.
Reviewer: Cherie Careccia
4 Stars
Great Time on the Beach
November 03, 2016
We had a very nice time on the beach and at the resort. The food was excellent and the drinks were tasty. The resort was elegant and beautiful. There is a beach bar and a pool bar. At the beach they had kayaks for us to ride and beach chairs to sit on. We had a great day at the beach.
Reviewer: Knight Party
5 Stars
Needs a little work
August 24, 2016
This resort is located 30 minutes down the cost. The beach area had some palm tree debris lined up along the beach that you had to walk across to get into the water. The water itself had straw-like debris until you waded out deeper into the ocean. The waiters kept the free drinks coming and made for a relaxing atmosphere. The food buffet was good and food was kept covered at all times. The pool areas weren't big but was adequate for the number of people. The men's bathroom by one of the pools was having issues that caused the urinals to overflow. Another bathroom was available, it just wasn't convenient to the pool area. The staff was very friendly, accommodating. Despite those issues, our party had a good time and would visit again. One bonus was that we had a local guide that went with us to the resort and stayed with us until it was time to return. This was a relief for me being someone that has never been outside of the U.S.
Reviewer: David Shaffer
4 Stars
Very enjoyable
April 24, 2016
We got there early enough that we were able to get a beach chair in the pool area. It became to get a little more crowded later, but it didn't bother me in the least.
Reviewer: WB
4 Stars
beautiful beach with friendly service
February 04, 2016
staff very friendly
Reviewer: ml2nas
4 Stars
Progreso Beach Getaway adventure
January 09, 2016
The food & drinks were great! You could hardly put your drink down and the waiter was bringing another. Was a little disappointed with the beach, but the pool was very nice and spent a lot of time in it. Complements to Iguana May Resort. Staff were friendly, always ready to make are stay moor fun.
Reviewer: Joe & Carolyn
4 Stars
Relaxing getaway
November 16, 2015
We really enjoyed the beach and found some beautiful shells. The staff were very attentive and checked on us throughout the day. The music played was vulgar with strong cursing, which we did not appreciate. We had our 13 year old daughter with us and there were many families. We almost asked them to change the music. We enjoyed the buffet and the pool was beautiful. Lots of people were there. Overall, it was a fun day.
Reviewer: Beachcomber
4 Stars
Good choice - but needs some improvement!
July 07, 2015
We loved the beach and pool at the resort. Getting there was a different story. As we left the cruise terminal the instruction said to get on the correct shuttle bus. Two shuttle buses would be there, but only one would take us to the right location. We asked the driver and showed him our paperwork and he said yes it was the right shuttle. WRONG! He dropped us off in a parking lot where a flea market was set up. We finally had a man tell us we needed to walk a bit to the right location. Fortunately, ladies from the excursion company had come looking for us (apparently this happens often!) They walked us through a VERY poor part of town to the correct location. Once we boarded the bus that would take us to the resort things started looking up. It was an air conditioned motor coach with free Wifi. We did sit and wait about 25 minutes for the other lost families. The time didn't start at the resort until we got there so that was a plus. If they could get the shuttle to the Motor coach worked out, this would be an excellent excursion.
Reviewer: Pam the Planner
4 Stars
Good Time
June 01, 2015
We had a great time was very relaxing and the drinks were flowing nicely! Food was good too! Not too many people on the beach which was very nice.
Reviewer: Icefightermom
4 Stars