Amazing excursion, amazing value!!!
March 04, 2020
My family (4 adults and 1 child who is 4 years old) booked this excursion based on the quality of great reviews as well as price. I'm so glad we did because the experience was fantastic. Booking the excursion, to meeting our transportation in Roatan to the guides at the different destinations...all of it was seamless. Communication via email by Shore Excursions was clear, concise and timely. My daughter had the best time meeting and petting the iguanas, monkeys and birds. Definitely consider this excursion if you're looking to book. I would happily do it again and would use Shore Excursions for all future trips!
Reviewer: Jason Sparkes
5 Stars
Excellent
March 04, 2020
We thoroughly enjoyed Roatan on the Wild Side. The sloths, monkeys, birds, and iguanas were well cared for. The trip was both fun and educational. Wilson, our guide, was very kind and helpful.
Reviewer: Thomas E. Snyder
5 Stars
Wonderful Land and sea tour
February 26, 2020
This was our second tour in Roatan by Shore Excursions. Our tour guide, Derald Sanchez, was very knowledgeable and accommodating. The tour was modified as advertised, and we only traveled to the East end of the island, but very rewarding and exciting experience with the sloths, monkeys, and Iguanas. Highly recommend this fine company !
Reviewer: David Singley
5 Stars
Excellent Tour!
February 24, 2020
Trent did a spectacular job taking us to each stop on this tour and providing great information about Roatan culture and attractions. Thank you!
Reviewer: Jim S
5 Stars
Roatan on the wild side
February 22, 2020
This was a very enjoyable trip and really liked the places we stopped. Harley( the older Harley) was an excellent guide. At all stops the people were friendly and informative. And the animals were fun to see and hold (when we could)
Reviewer: Jim and Ann
5 Stars
Animal lover delightful tour.
February 03, 2020
We were able to hold a sloth. We went inside the white faced capuchino monkey cage. They jumped from person to person. The iguana farm was educational plus entertaining. I actually petted an iguana.
Reviewer: Viola A Serrano
5 Stars
Loved this tour.
January 29, 2020
We had the opportunity to hold a sloth. We entered a spider monkey cage and they jumped from person to person. The tour guides were knowledgeable. I petted an iguana, which was something I thought I never would do. If your an animal lover, you must do this.
Reviewer: Viola serrano
5 Stars
A super excursion & 60% less than the ship's price
January 20, 2020
A great time for my entire family. My grand-daughters especially loved the sloths and the monkeys. We all loved the birds and the iguanas. The meeting up with the driver went off without a hitch and he was very knowledgeable about the island and the quirky roads we traveled. I highly recommend this excursion.
Reviewer: Stewart Steres
5 Stars
Good trip.
December 18, 2019
This is really an excellent trip. My 3&9year old children like it very much. And the guide is very nice. Good service and good places .
Reviewer: Bobbie
5 Stars
Best time ever
December 05, 2019
This was by far my favorite excursion. We were able to hold monkeys and sloths. The tour guides were fabulous all very personable. I highly recommend this excursion.
Reviewer: Athea Wallace
5 Stars
Fabulous Tour of Roatan!
December 05, 2019
My husband and I were in Roatan and we had an amazing time on our tour! Our guide was Derick who went out of his way to show us the beauty of his home island. The Monkey and Sloth sanctuary was absolutely beautiful! The monkeys were happy and playful. We could see they were well cared for and had large habitats with ample amounts of food, shelter, and toys! Holding sloth Oliva was a highlight for me. Together, she and I relaxed while looking out at the beautiful water! We also stopped at an Iguana farm where there were tons of lizards of all sizes and fish too. Derick also stopped at a chocolate "factory". More of a demonstration of how the cocoa is collected and processed and then a store for selling locally made chocolates. We drove up a tall hill and got a good lookout over the whole island before we returned safely to the pier. This excursion was fun experience and priced reasonable!
Reviewer: Katy Cressman
5 Stars
What an adventure!
October 31, 2019
Harley Rich our tour guide helped make this the most memorable excursion of our trip. He went above and beyond our expectations. He drove us through the island to the activities, we found the animal sanctuary to be in top condition. I felt the animals were cared for and valued by the employees. We got a ton of amazing photos holding the Sloth. Harley Rich our tour guide went the extra mile and showed us some amazing views on the island as well as some great local shops that are not near the port. He had a lot of facts about the island and the sights. We made us laugh and feel at ease. If we visit Roatan again, I hope we can book with Mr. Rich! Our honeymoon cruise has been amazing.
Reviewer: Stormie Sims
5 Stars
Amazing!!
September 14, 2019
This place is awesome! Literally hundreds and hundreds of lizards, big and small, roaming around on this compound. The owner is very friendly and welcoming! A very fun site to see.
Reviewer: Glenn Joseph Schmitt
5 Stars
Very fun and wonderful for kids
July 29, 2019
This excursion was an interesting experience. We got to carry a sloth, feeding monkeys and being in their cage was interesting. At first you are nervous but they are harmless. The best part is that my 4 yr old son was not afraid and had a blast! We also got to go in the cages of the parrots. The tour guide was really friendly and accommodating to young children. He let us take as many pictures and videos as we wanted before moving on. The iguana farm is another location. It was so nice to be able to see all of them roaming free! and also we got to hold a baby and take pictures with them! Our tour guide in the car was excellent. He was very informative and friendly. He even took us to a scentic spot to stop and take pictures for us. We definitely recommend this tour for anyone who loves to be in contact with animals.
Reviewer: Joanna Hung
5 Stars
Excellent
July 04, 2019
Very unique. The baby monkeys were adorable! Wish we could have played with monkeys longer. It was fun holding the sloth! The host was very kind and super knowledgeable! We learned a lot and had a lot of fun! The driver was personable, kind, knowledgeable on the tour of island and willing to take us to more stops if wanted. Would definitely recommend!
Reviewer: Kandice
4 Stars
Super excursion!!!!
June 05, 2019
Thoroughly enjoyed our trip, and the guides are very pleasant and helpful with my husband and his wheelchair. The iguana farm is amazing, and the monkeys and sloths at the sanctuary were amazing. Book this trip early. It’s not available through the cruise line, and you don’t want to miss it!!!
Reviewer: Sandra Diaz
5 Stars
EXCELLENT! Exceeded expectations!
June 04, 2019
Shorn was our guide. I was expecting a short hike through the jungle to see some wildlife, but got so much more. Shorn was born and raised on the island, and we got a driving tour of the island, a lot of history and information about life on Roatan, and so much more than expected! We saw and fed iguanas, and held monkeys and a sloth! Holding a sloth was my #1 goal of my entire cruise and Shorn put my mind at ease right away that it would happen! Great tour - highly recommended!
Reviewer: Crystal Bazarnic
5 Stars
Awesome Excursion
May 30, 2019
This was a pretty cool excursion. The guides were waiting for you as you exited the ship, just a little walk up the hill. We exited promptly and begin the tour in a nice air-conditioned van. The guide we had was awesome! He appeared knowledgeable and very well informed about the island and it's culture. The first stop on the excursion was the Sloth and Monkey hangout. The was pretty neat, we were able to interact with Sloths, Monkeys, and Birds. The second stop was the Iguana farm. It was set in a very nice area, with lots of Iguanas. There, we were able to feed and interact with them. Once that was done, we boarded the van and continued on with our tour of the island. We were able to visit several places and stop and take pictures. The guide also took us to a ZipLine adventure; before heading back to the boat, we stopped to have some authentic food. One Word: delicious! Great tour and guides; well organized and safe.
Reviewer: Aurora
5 Stars
Roatan on the wild side
May 06, 2019
Kimbron Riveras was an EXCELLENT tour guide. I had one of the best times on this tour. For unknown reasons members of my tour group didn’t show up, and the tour guides waited as long as possible even took me to one site while the other tour guides waited on the other tourist. Any way they could have cancelled my tour since there was only me, but instead Kimbron took me on a great tour of the town and a great photo op. I was able to interact with several exotic animals and learn a lot of the history of Costa Maya. I would do this tour over and over! Ask for Kimbron you won’t regret it I promise!
Reviewer: Allison Graves
5 Stars
AMAZING experience - you will not regret it!
April 11, 2019
This was a great tour. We got to see multiple sloths and monkeys as well as other wildlife. Everyone had an opportunity to hold a sloth and see them up close - they were everywhere. The monkeys climbed and jumped all around you. At the meetup spot for this tour, there was a man walking around with a baby monkey that captured my daughter's attention fast. It is cute but beware that he charges $5 if you want to take a picture with it. There were tons of monkeys on our tour so we didn't fall for that but others might. We also visited an iguana farm, which was very interesting.
Reviewer: Scotti
5 Stars
Roatan on the Wild Side
March 22, 2019
you must do this. it was Amazing. we had the best time.
Reviewer: linda sorrow
5 Stars
Great tour
March 08, 2019
Guide Camron was the best, he took us to out of the way places and told us about his country.
Reviewer: Michael kinnon Leggett
5 Stars
It was pretty cool to see
February 21, 2019
we had a good time with this excursion. We got to hold the sloths and let the monkeys jump all over us. It was very exciting and neat to be holding a sloth. I felt like it wasn't a long enough time to be holding them but of course everyone has to have a turn. A certain couple from a different cruise line was in our group and they were just horrible and rude. so I think that is why it wasn't the most amazing. I think if they weren't there we would of had a better time. I do say the iguana's were pretty cool. They were everywhere but that is about it. they showed us the water close by and the different fish
Reviewer: Courtney
4 Stars
It was great!
January 30, 2019
Our guide/driver was great! Very nice and helpful. We got to do everything and had a wonderful time with our kids.
Reviewer: Timothy Miller
5 Stars
What a Great Excursion!!
January 25, 2019
We had a blast visiting with iguanas, birds, monkeys and sloths. We have four kids, ages range from 10-16, and they LOVED this excursion! We will be talking about it for years to come. It was the highlight of our 7-day cruise trip!
Reviewer: Melissa Gorsuch
5 Stars
Awesome Excursion
January 15, 2019
Had an awesome time, even got to hold a Sloth which was really cool. I recommend this one
Reviewer: Bo
5 Stars
Fun Time!
December 12, 2018
So much fun for the entire family! Our family ages were from 22 months to 74 years. Everyone enjoyed feeding the lizards, holding a sloth, and having a monkey on their head! Highly recommend!
Reviewer: Kay M.
5 Stars
AMAZING!
November 16, 2018
We visited I need wanna sanctuary where you can feed them and see how harmless they are, We got to get inside the monkey cage and the mccaul cage and have these beautiful animals climb one us if we wanted to but the best part I do have to admit was we got to carry a sloth and film it all! Of course we learned a lot about the animals and got to do a little shopping as well as site seen but the animal encounters where of nothing ever experienced in the U.S!
Reviewer: Michelle
5 Stars
checked off a bucket list item
November 01, 2018
My Wife's wish was to hold a Sloth Check! Happy wife Happy life
Reviewer: Brian Bresnahan
5 Stars
Great Excursion!!
October 17, 2018
This was so much fun! We got to see a bit of the island on the drive up. DJ's Monkey & Sloth Hangout was a lot of fun. Obviously, we got to hold a sloth and surrounded by monkeys, but we also got to hold a macaw. Next stop was the iguana reservation. There are literally hundreds of them. They were very chill and nice to look at. I got to hold a baby one. The view from the pier was astonishing. The staff at both stops were very knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. Highly recommend this excursion.
Reviewer: Alex
5 Stars
Roatan
September 25, 2018
Not a "wild" as expected but nice nonetheless. I got to hold a sloth; that was really AWESOME!!! Roatan is a beautiful island!
Reviewer: Rashi
3 Stars
Tour was good
September 20, 2018
We were the only ones on the tour, so it was like a private tour! We got to hold a sloth, see monkeys and birds, and lots of lizards, our driver even offered to drive us in to town if we wanted. If you like animals, this is your your!
Reviewer: Jennifer
3 Stars
Fun with animals
August 20, 2018
Did not expect the hands on fun we had with the monkeys, birds and sloth. Too awesome to hold Sid the sloth. Despite a very hot day, was worth see the animals instead of a water adventure. Finding tour guide was a bit tricky.
Reviewer: Robin Dusza
4 Stars
Fun, interactive
August 06, 2018
This was a wonderful experience! We got to hold a sloth, get in the enclosure with the capuchin monkeys, who jumped from head to head! Also up close and personal with tropical birds. The iguana farm was interesting, and the fish were jumping for food at the dock, delighting the young kids. Harley was an excellent driver/guide. Definitely a must do!
Reviewer: Lynn Everitt
5 Stars
Great Tour
July 23, 2018
Our tour was great! Shem Yates was our guide and he was awesome! The monkey's were all named after Jersey Shore characters which we thought was funny considering we are from New Jersey. The iguana rescue was interesting too. Make sure you walk down to the water there and see the fish. After we were done with our tour we asked if there was anywhere to go zip lining and Shem helped us out we had a great day. It was something we will remember forever.
Reviewer: Barbara
5 Stars
Shorn
July 02, 2018
Shorn R. was an amazing tour guide!! He answered all our questions and was very kind! He deserves a huge raise!! Thank you Shorn for making our time in your country so memorable!!!!!
Reviewer: Anita R.
5 Stars
Fantastic fun!
July 02, 2018
This excursion was so much fun! After having to coerce my family to even participate, everyone loved it! The highlight was getting to hold a sloth. We also got to get inside the capuchin monkey enclosure as well as the bird enclosures. After leaving the monkey and sloth sanctuary, we visited the iguana sanctuary. That was also fun! We held a baby iguana and also got to feed the iguanas. Our guide took us to a scenic overlook after the sanctuaries, and we got to see how beautiful Roatan really is. This excursion was definitely the highlight of our trip.
Reviewer: Kimberly Quinn
5 Stars
Sloths, Monkeys, Birds, Iguanas- Oh, My
May 14, 2018
By far, this was the best experience on all of cruise. My husband, kids, and I still talk about how much fun this was. It's not every day you get to hug a sloth. I love reptiles, so seeing all the Iguanas was my little piece of heaven. I will say the first portion with the Monkey/Sloths/Parrots the tour guides were far better than the second half. Our driver, Chris was AWESOME. He told us a lot about the country. Hold on to your seats- after rain season they have some serious potholes and driving is just whole different experience.
Reviewer: Nicole Lochansky
5 Stars
Excellent excursion to explore the island!
April 30, 2018
My wife and I booked this tour because we found the comparable excursions offered by our cruise line way too expensive. It turned out to be the best tour we had during our cruising. Kevin, our very friendly and knowledgeable driver, was waiting for us at the entrance and took us first to a farm where we could hold a sloth, monkeys, parrots. Then, we went to an iguana farm where we could feed them and hold a little one in our hands. During the rides, Kevin told us a lot of very interesting information about the island and the history of Honduras. He turned out to be our personal driver for the whole day as we later decided to go for an extra snorkel tour, which was just beautiful. He was waiting for us during each excursion and eventually drove us back to the ship in time. Thank you for this great experience!
Reviewer: Steven Voros
5 Stars
Guide
April 23, 2018
Our Guide was excellent! He did however promise to send pictures to my facebook and as of yet I haven't seen them. My name is John Litsheim and I hope he still has the picture on his phone. Thankyou
Reviewer: john litsheim
5 Stars
Fun!
December 31, 2017
We met up with a guide and he introduced us to, Sean, our driver for the day. He was very sweet and knowledgeable. He answered all our questions and showed us all around the island. The wild side tour was so fun. Got to hold a sloth, play with monkeys, and get close and personal with parrots. The iguana Farm was beautiful and the owners niece was very sweet and knew so much about iguanas and the marine life.
Reviewer: Valerie
5 Stars
Roatan on the Wild Side
September 07, 2017
Very educational
Reviewer: Jerry Frazier
5 Stars
Fun shore excursion
August 08, 2017
My husband and I were met right outside the port by our friendly tour guide, Kevin. He drove us to all our locations and waited while we interacted with capuchin monkeys, parrots, macaws and iguanas. We got a lot of great pictures! We finished up early and Kevin took us up to a high point on the island so that we could get some nice scenic pictures overlooking the island. He told us about the island and answered all questions that we had. We got back to the port with plenty of time to shop and and get back on the boat in time. I really enjoyed this excursion which I booked through this site since carnival didn't offer anything like this. The price was much lower than a carnival excursion and well worth it!
Reviewer: Shelly Young
5 Stars
Excellent Excursion
April 13, 2017
We had the best day in Rotan. Our guide, Sean was very knowledgeable out the island and gave us a great island tour along with the original tour we had scheduled. We didn't have anything scheduled after our Wild Side tour and Sean was gracious enough to provide us with a Zip Line adventure and stayed to take us back to the ship. He was an amazing tour guide and we will definitely look into more tours with him in the future.
Reviewer: Brandi Snelling
5 Stars
wildlife in Roatan
April 06, 2017
This was an excellent tour. The driver was friendly and informative and offered to take us to several more places. The iguana farm and animal refuge we visited were very good.
Reviewer: Andrew Sluz
5 Stars
Excellent Excursion!!!
March 10, 2017
We had a great time on our Excursion,our tour guide Went above and beyond!!!
Reviewer: Debra O'Brien
5 Stars
Deserves 10 Stars
January 15, 2017
We saw two kinds of spider monkeys, and got up close and personal with iguanas, Capuchin monkeys, a parrot, and best of all, got to hold a sloth! Our driver was prompt and timed the trips to the different preserves to try to coincide with less crowded waits. This was an amazing excursion! We'd 100% do it again.
Reviewer: Andrew
5 Stars
Roatan on the Wild Side
January 14, 2017
It was an excellent excursion. Our guide spoke fluent English, there were just 4 people, so we were not crowded or rushed. We saw the countryside as well as the wildlife refuge. We enjoyed playing with the monkeys and holding a sweet and gentle sloth, as well as parrots. Good value!
Reviewer: Nancy Smith
5 Stars
Fun Tour
December 28, 2016
First, two complaints - it's a long walk up a steep hill to where this tour starts. Second, the van was really packed as full of us as it could possibly be. People with mobility issues may have problems with parts of it. We had a good tour guide, but the highlight of the tour was the animals. My wife got to interact with all of them, and had a great adventure.
Reviewer: william osler
4 Stars
Great Tour!
December 18, 2016
The driver was very nice. Going to play with the animals - monkes/birds/sloths was amazing! The iguana farm was very fun too!! We even had extra time and the driver took us sightseeing and offered to stop at a beach somewhere, we passed tough b/c we didn't bring our swim suits. But all in all, was a great tour! We would definitely do it again!!
Reviewer: Stefanie Williams
5 Stars
Best excursion ever
December 03, 2016
We LOVED this excursion. It was my husband, I and 23 yr old daughter who is autistic and loves animals. we had monkeys crawling on our heads, fed parrots and held a sloth. Then we went on to the iguana farm. you could buy branches of leaves and feed them. It was crazy. At one time my daughter had 3 sitting on her because she was holding the food out of their reach. We have took the best video's and pictures. We plan on going back this next summer on our cruise.
Reviewer: Sonja Norman
5 Stars
Great time!
May 05, 2016
Driver/guide was very friendly & informative
Reviewer: Wendy
5 Stars
great time with the monkeys
March 12, 2016
The guides were great, friendly and informative. Everything was right on schedule and the directions were very good, easy to find from the ship. The monkeys were a huge highlight, we had ample time to play with them, on our heads, back, shoulders! We were back to the ship with plenty of time to spare
Reviewer: Anne
4 Stars
Roatan On The Wild Side
February 03, 2016
Kembron and our driver (unfortunately, I forgot his name), were excellent guides! We were very pleased with the trip and saw many sights on the island. However, had it not been for their quick thinking we would have written a very, very negative review. After touring the island we asked about seeing the iguanas and monkeys and were told the place had been ""locked and shut down"" that morning, we couldn't go. I explained to Kembron that that was the entire reason we booked this particular tour. He and the driver then made some calls and got us in to a small place where the individual had monkeys, parrots and a deer. It was not ideal, but we did get to hold monkeys and get our pictures taken with them.
Reviewer: Steph
4 Stars