Windjammer Sail
January 21, 2020
Enjoyed the time at Windjammer Sailing. Even I felt a little cold, but saw many point of interest spots and learn about the views. If we go there on end of September, we might see the trees with color changes. it would be beautiful then.
Reviewer: Grace
4 Stars
Nice sail, no information about what we saw
November 06, 2019
The crew was professional and it was a nice sail. Unfortunately, there was no commentary about what we were seeing, history of the area, just nothing.
Reviewer: sb
3 Stars
Very nice excursion
October 30, 2019
We sailed on the windjammer Bagheera. She is a beautiful ship. There were several other wind-jammers sailing at the same time, which was fun. We sailed around Portland harbor, among many islands. We enjoyed the trip, although the wind was extremely light.
Reviewer: Eileen Oswald
4 Stars
Windjammer Sail
October 28, 2019
Seating was not to good. We saw many points of interest
Reviewer: Diana McCutchen
4 Stars
Great Fun
October 28, 2019
Great time. Cruise last about 1 1/2 hours and takes you around Portland Harbor. Crew got the passengers help with hoisting the sails and were very informative about the ship and the sights of Portland Harbor. Something different to try out rather than just hopping on a bus with a bunch of other people.
Reviewer: David Weakley
5 Stars
Windjammer Sail
October 28, 2019
The sail and the crew were awesome! Loved every minute!
Reviewer: Dana Ward
5 Stars
Schooner trip
October 28, 2019
We had a wonderful time on the Baghera, a very well maintained 95 year old schooner. The crew was very informative and the scenery was beautiful. I highly recommend this and will definitely go again if I am in the area.
Reviewer: Doug Moore
5 Stars
Portland, Maine sailing on the Windjammer
October 08, 2019
A great experience sailing on a vessel of old.The sail boat was over a 100 years old. Every thing about this sailboat was well maintained. The captain and crew did a fine job on our cruise.We had a beautiful day for the cruise as well . The wind didn’t pickup till the end so the engine powered us for half of the cruise. I would recommend this experience to everyone and anyone .
Reviewer: Henry Wierzbowski
5 Stars
perfect day
September 07, 2019
Lovely Windjammer Sail in Portland ME. The 6 of us were delighted with our afternoon sail on the Bagheera. The boat was so well restored and the crew personable and skilled. A highlight of our trip.
Reviewer: M Haigler
5 Stars
Loved the schooner
October 27, 2018
What a great way to experience history first hand. The crew was great and extremely informative about the ship and how it operates. Check that off the old bucket list.
Reviewer: Bruce and Marcia Anderson
5 Stars
Fun and Interesting Experience
October 05, 2018
This experience was one I really enjoyed. We were fortunate that we arrived on a windy day, and the ship, the captain, and our crew seemed to have as good a time as we did. It was what I'd call "sporty" our there, with big waves and a cold, strong wind, pretty much roller coaster like sometimes. But it was fun, nonetheless, to experience what it was like to sail in a vintage sailboat. One word of advice: dress warm--very warm!
Reviewer: Tim Heitman
5 Stars
Portland sail
September 23, 2018
It was my first sailboat trip it was WONDERFUL great crew and perfect sail. Thank you
Reviewer: Bernadette Schaffer
5 Stars
Wind Jammer Sail Ride
September 18, 2018
Great Ride, Interesting Info
Reviewer: Carl
4 Stars
Excellent Experience!
November 08, 2017
I loved the sailing experience we enjoyed on the Windjammer. The crew (female except for the captain!) were well skilled, entertaining and showed us the local sights from the Bay. I highly recommend taking this cruise excursion.
Reviewer: Beth Walsh
5 Stars
Step back in time and let all your cares go away
November 07, 2017
We had such a good time on the on board this sail boat it is almost too difficult to put into words. The majestic ship and being so connected with nature is something you must do at least once in your lifetime. We actually got caught briefly my the tides where not even the strong winds could break us free but our Captain and crew kept us all safe and we had one of the best days simply relaxing and watching the sea go by.
Reviewer: Mark Pomeroy
5 Stars
wonderfil
November 07, 2017
This was incredible the crew were wonderful Really enjoyed the whole experience
Reviewer: doris thom
5 Stars
Schooner Sailing
October 31, 2017
An enjoyable time on the bay with a knowledgeable and friendly crew. A great experience, enjoying nature and learning a little about the area of Portland.
Reviewer: Ginny Van Til
5 Stars
Worth it
October 24, 2017
This was worth the money to get an opportunity to ride on a 95 year old schooner and see the bay of Portland up close. The only risk is the weather, and we got lucky. It may not be as fun if you get a foggy or stormy day.
Reviewer: Doug
4 Stars
Great experience
October 12, 2017
The Windjammer was an amazing experience. Everyone associate with Windjammer were extremely friendly and very professional. The crew was excellent. Very conversant and personable, they made the excursion memorable. Definitely an A+ experience.
Reviewer: Dr. K. L. Pyle
5 Stars
A favorite memory from our cruise
September 27, 2017
Amazing, really. Easy to find, check in, and the time on the water was perfect. Gorgeous ship - engaging crew - peaceful - so glad we went.
Reviewer: Chad
5 Stars
Excursion
September 26, 2017
We loved it. Only a short walk from the ship. The crew was awesome. Highly recommend this excursion.
Reviewer: Barbara Wake
5 Stars
relaxing sailing experience
September 25, 2017
My husband and I went on our first sailing trip on this excursion and cant say enough about the crew and the experience. The weather cooperated too,, it was beautiful. The directions to the pier were spot on and easy to find,, the people were so friendly and informative.. Would recommend this to all.
Reviewer: sonna kuntz-scornavacco
5 Stars
Windjammer
December 27, 2016
This was the highlight of our trip. We took the 12:30 excursion and there were only four passengers booked for that time. The crew of three couldn't have been better. Sailing conditions were fantastic. The boat was beautiful. I know it was just lucky that we had such a small group but it will be one of my favorite vacation memories!
Reviewer: Lauren Benner
5 Stars
We hated to see this sailing trip end.
December 05, 2016
This was the most relaxing time while we visited Portland. Neither of us had ever been sailing so we were very excited to climb on board. It was quit amazing watching the shipmates handle the sails, putting them up and again bring them back down. Cruising along the coast was very picturesque so I took lots of shots. Another great excursion.
Reviewer: Lois Jarrell
5 Stars
Portland Bay By Ship
November 13, 2015
Before we boarded the 2-masted, 103 year old schooner we were applauded for our willingness to brave the cold and mist in order to see the Harbor sites from the water. The entire crew shared their knowledge of the area while we ""tacked"" and ""came about"".
Reviewer: California Leaf Peepers
4 Stars
Great fun, wonderful crew
October 20, 2015
Fun enjoyable crew.
Reviewer: Rosebud
5 Stars
was fun worth while to do at least once
December 01, 2014
I enjoyed the site seeing
Reviewer: scratch off bucket list
5 Stars
Wonderful !
October 23, 2014
The staff was very knowledgeable and congenial. The crew was more than competent, and passengers were encouraged to help trim the sails.
Reviewer: Cruiser
4 Stars
Great adventure for all ages!
November 04, 2012
This is a beautiful 88 foot, all wood, 100 year old scooner hand built in 1912. The captain and his crew were exceptional even though the weather conditions were not up tp par; rainy, cold, with strong wind gusts. We had a wonderful time!
Reviewer: Ron & Mary the world travelors
5 Stars
Windjammer Sail
October 02, 2012
The ride on a very windy day was great fun and interesting to see how the crew coped.
Reviewer: Ken
5 Stars
Ahoy mates!
September 19, 2011
Sail beautiful Casco Bay and see some of her 365 islands (""Calendar Islands"") and light houses (2 Lights, Portland Head). There is nothing more beautiful than a crystal clear day sailing the bay---or challenging than navigating through the fog. A REAL Maine experience!!
Reviewer: deltadawn
4 Stars