Amazing tour!
December 24, 2019
Our tour guide was excellent, extremely knowledgeable and walked at a good pace for all. There were a few people in our group who had mobility issues and he made sure that everybody made it up to see the acropolis.
Reviewer: Stella
5 Stars
High Recommendations!
October 22, 2019
This tour was one of our favorites. Effie, our guide, was friendly, engaging, knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The tour including the opportunity to go in the museum was a plus. Wish we had time to have lunch.
Reviewer: Alison Lane
5 Stars
Athens
October 05, 2019
The tour guide a super job of taking us to the right places and explaining everything
Reviewer: Darrell Rustad
5 Stars
Best Tour ever
August 12, 2019
If you love ancient history, this tour is a must. Our guide Chris Konidari was an obvious expert of Greek History and Mythology and brought the ancient sites alive with colorful stories and often humorous anecdotes.
Reviewer: Steve
5 Stars
NICE PLACE
August 06, 2019
Good guide, safe locations, magnific service.
Reviewer: MIGUEL CORDOBA HERRERA
4 Stars
One of the best tours we have ever been on
August 02, 2019
First off, this is a long tour. With that said, it was completely worth it. Easy pickup at the pier and then taken to the meeting point with the guide. Started the tour at the Metro museum. Wouldn't think much of it but amazing how you have an archaeological site in the middle of a train station. We then went to the parliament where we watched the changing of the guards. Similar to the changing of the guard at Washington DC but with a Greek twist. Rather than describe every stop, just read the tour description because we followed it exactly as described. The Acropolis may look daunting but it was actually pretty easy to go up. I highly recommend wearing shoes with traction because you will walk on some stone that are very slippery. Just when you think you're done at the Acropolis, you have one more stop, which is the Acropolis museum, which was incredible. You have options of not purchasing tickets for everything but I highly recommend you do because everything was worth it.
Reviewer: Jonathan Chen
5 Stars
Great Athens Adventure
July 11, 2019
Thank you Kris for a wonderful day visiting the Acropolis, the Acropolis Museum, the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, the Temple of Zeus, and the city of Athens. Kris, you made our day absolutely great because of you knowledge, wit,and wisdom. You brought life to ancient history and Greek Mythology and made me want to go back and re-read the the adventures of Poseidon, Athena, Hercules, and of curse the king of the gods, Zeus. Thank you for your years of study and education as an archaeologist -- please keep doing what you're doing and helping others learn. Tod Young
Reviewer: Tod Young
5 Stars
Must see Acropolis
June 01, 2019
This was an excellent tour, with tremendous information. I did find this tour to be too much for me. I would have liked to do the Acropolis one day and the museum the next. Quite a crush of people when we were there. The guide was wonderful and took good care of all of us. Really terrific.
Reviewer: Barb Singer
5 Stars
First time in Athens - how could it be bad?
May 23, 2019
Overall, this was a great day! Our guide was definitely very knowledgeable. The gardens we walked through on our way to the acropolis were beautiful. Seeing the ruins in person was truly humbling. And visiting the acropolis puts life into perspective. The only little niggle I could add here is that our guide almost gave too much information. It's not that anything he said was uninteresting or inapplicable, but there was so much that by the end it did feel like overfilling a water pitcher - some of the information just spilled out on the ground. But over all a fantastic day!
Reviewer: Warren
4 Stars
Excellent but lots of walking!
December 03, 2018
Tour instructions could be clearer. We had to exit the port terminal to find our taxi and then once dropped off, had to go downstairs in subway to find our guide - not very clear or obvious. However, the guide was excellent. Definitely worth paying the entrance fees to see everything. Even if you can't make it to the top of the Acropolis, its worth getting in. The views are spectacular. The Acropolis Museum is definitely worth the fee as you will see many artifacts and see how the fa├žade was laid out and how many pieces were taken by other countries for their own museums.
Reviewer: Kathy
5 Stars
Athens Walking Tour
July 30, 2018
Annie Z. was our guide for this amazing adventure of a tour. We viewed so many amazing sights including the Temple of Zeus, the Acropolis, Hadrian's Arch, Zappeion, the National Gardens, the Acropolis Museum and amazing shopping opportunities!! Annie was so knowledgeable and pleasant. She taught us so much about these magnificent places!! An amazing tour!!
Reviewer: Natalie
5 Stars
Athens walking tour
May 26, 2018
Our guide Aristotle was excellent. Very knowledgeable.
Reviewer: Patricia Nelson
5 Stars
Really Great Excursion
May 25, 2018
We really enjoyed this Athens excursion. Our guide Kostas was fantastic. His passion for history and pride in his country were infectious. His storytelling made the ruins come alive. The Acropolis is worth seeing and the Museum was a real surprise - bright, spacious and very un-Museum like.
Reviewer: Stuart
5 Stars
Such an educational day!
October 07, 2017
This tour was an excellent experience! Our guide was so knowledgeable and her presentation was so easy to understand. She had a great balance between the information she presented with time to explore on our own. I would certainly recommend this tour.
Reviewer: D. Coburn
5 Stars
Long but good
June 08, 2017
You get to see a lot and I enjoyed all of it but the museum was the best. Very enjoyable with a life size display of the outside of the acropolis.
Reviewer: Anne Rettenmair
5 Stars
Wonderful tour!!
May 20, 2017
Great tour of the Acropolis, plenty of time to explore sites that interested me, good suggestions for where to shop or eat. Could not have asked for a better tour!
Reviewer: Donna
5 Stars
ExcellentTour,included hike up Acropolis
May 08, 2017
This was one of the best Shore Excursions Group tours we have taken. The guide was out standing and tour size was not too large, Just an FYI, tour does not include any admission fees. These are paid at tour start directly to guide in Euros. Our guide was excellent and very knowledgeable. Tour covers over 5 miles of walking plus includes hiking the Acropolis.
Reviewer: Herbert Baker
5 Stars
Excellent tour and tour guide
December 28, 2016
Nicolas was our tour guide and he is very knowledgeable. Our tour included all admission tickets. We covered a lot of areas, with lots of walking. It was all worth it.
Reviewer: My Van-Dinh
5 Stars
Excellent tour of Athens!
December 17, 2016
We had an excellent walking tour of Athens led by a delightful and very knowledgeable woman named Artemis. She was terrific and we all loved it! I can highly recommend this tour and especially our wonderful tour guide.
Reviewer: Diane Phillis
5 Stars
our guide Artemis
December 10, 2016
Our guide was very pleasant, knowledgeable, and took our tour at a reasonable pace for everyone. Our group was small which was another great plus!
Reviewer: ALDA LOMAS
5 Stars
It was fantastic. The guide was knowledgeable and
May 15, 2016
A lot of steps
Reviewer: really? skip this part
5 Stars
Lots of walking and lots of history!
July 16, 2015
Despina, our guide around Athens, shared a lot about the past and current political scene in Greece while showing us the ancient ruins. Nikos was a great guide through the Acropolis museum. We liked the way he pointed out the high points without trying to show us every artifact. It was a lot of walking with really no breaks. Despina made a point of stopping in the shade to explain things on the hike up the Acropolis. We had about 30 minutes at the end of the museum tour to shop and snack as we walked back to the bus on our own---fortunately I had a few snacks in my bag.
Reviewer: Laurie and George
4 Stars
The best cultural tour of our trip!
October 26, 2014
Kostas was deeply informed as a young guide, and his command of English, learned entirely within the country, was astounding. We had a treat on our walk down from the Acropolis of chatting privately with him, and gaining insights into modern Greece - its glories and its perils. Truly, this is a guide to be proud of, and to encourage to stay with Shore Excursions. Bravissimo.
Reviewer: Truman and Beth
5 Stars
Perfectly Paced for Active Seniors
October 26, 2014
Yes, walking to the top of the Acropolis is not a stroll, but our guide (Costas) stopped frequently and (visually) took the pulse of his group. He is a trained achaeologist who has taken to guiding tours with true dedication. His English is excellent, his grasp of the subject matter admirable, and his people skills delightful. Don't lose him.
Reviewer: Tall Photographer in Tilley Hat
5 Stars
An excellent tour
August 21, 2014
the guide was well informed and interesting
Reviewer: artie
5 Stars