A good overview of Rome
November 27, 2019
We had a great guide and saw so much in the little time we had. I wish they made some time to eat a meal, we had about 10-15 minutes to use the restroom and get food. This was not ideal but it was still a great tour and I would recommend it to anyone who has a short time in Rome
Reviewer: Nick Wo
4 Stars
Fun day seeing all of the highlights of Rome!
August 26, 2019
We were VERY pleased with this tour! Everything went very smoothly. We had no trouble finding the tour operator at the cruise terminal and they did a terrific job keeping us on time all day and getting us back to the ship. The tour guide was extremely informative and we were able to see all of the sights on our ‘must see’ list for Rome. Note that there is a LOT of walking on the tour and it is pretty fast paced. My Apple Watch recorded that we walked 8 miles on this tour! Also, if you are hoping to be able to browse stores and shop at your leisure, this is not the tour for you. It is designed to see as much as possible in a very short time frame (which is exactly what we wanted!) I loved the fact that the tour included a skip the line entry at Saint Peter’s Basilica. Would highly recommend this store to anyone!
Reviewer: Alicia Quenemoen
5 Stars
Very Exciting!
August 11, 2019
Our tour guide, Christian, was fabulous! His knowledge was superior! We saw lots of amazing things! Great overview! We want to go back and explore even more!!
Reviewer: Pamela
5 Stars
Best way to see Rome
August 10, 2019
Chris our guide was excellent. The radio headsets were such a bonus, makes it much more enjoyable because you can hear everything. It is a long walking tour but plenty of stops, rests and shade were accounted for. Enough free time was granted for a bit of bite to eat but not too much. Excellent way to see the highlights of Rome.
Reviewer: Steve James
5 Stars
Rome
August 10, 2019
This tour was excellent, and even though it was a rather large group, it did not have the feel of one of those large tours. We appreciate having enough time at the Vatican. The tour guide took us through many of the historic sites and had an extensive knowledge of the history of Rome. We had an appropriate amount of free time. Overall, it was a great tour.
Reviewer: Rick Ricci
5 Stars
Great tour
July 12, 2019
The tour guide was great and spent enough time at each venue. It's a lot of walking, so I wouldn't recommend it at the height of the summer. The Leonardo museum was a bust.
Reviewer: jacob amrani
5 Stars
Classical Rome
July 02, 2019
This was a wonderful active way to see the major sites of Rome in one day. Our knowledgeable guide arranged the optimal timing so we visited all the sites without being rushed or crowded.
Reviewer: L. Van Bergen
5 Stars
Good tour in spite of awful weather
June 18, 2019
The weather was awful. A constant hard rain all day long. With Rome being extra crowded with 9 cruise ships in port, we were dodging umbrellas coming at us in all directions, but our tour guide did a great job of finding some space and getting us to see all the attractions. She made the day as pleasurable as was possible under these conditions.
Reviewer: Joe V
4 Stars
Classical Rome
December 27, 2018
We chose this tour because of VALUE! It provided all of our transportation to & from the port city (with free shuttle from ship) and took us to all major sights in Rome. Our guide explained history and importance of places and buildings. Our driver was excellent & we arrived back at our ship on time in spite of a hard rain on the way back.
Reviewer: Katherine Winship
5 Stars
Fantastic
November 18, 2018
A truly memorable tour with our great guide Vicenzo, who did it in 3 languages! Great sites, with a lot of details, we had a fantastic day. Grazie Vicenzo!
Reviewer: Richard
5 Stars
Informative Tour Guide
November 12, 2018
Overall, this tour was a decent value. One downside is we were not aware of an additional cost of 20 euros pp for the skip-the-line tour of the Vatican. Our tour was delayed an hour due to wind and port traffic keeping us at sea. We were worried that our tour group would be gone - but they were waiting for us at the planned location. The RT coach ride was comfortable and somewhat scenic. We met our tour guide, Neil, at the Vatican. Throughout the day, he added an excellent historical perspective to our tour. The historic side of the city did not disappoint. We had ample time to tour the outside the Colosseum. We made our way from there to the Trevi Fountain, having enough time to grab a slice of pizza and drink after taking some pictures. Then we were on to the Pantheon, where we enjoyed skip-the-line inside access. The amount of walking was slightly above the moderate level. There were several seniors that were no worse for the wear after the experience.
Reviewer: Michael Grunewald
4 Stars
Classical Rome
November 05, 2018
excellent guide not enough time at the vatican ...no time for shopping otherwise excellent
Reviewer: Guyanne Laframboise
5 Stars
Rome, what a place
November 01, 2018
Great excursion.......from the vatican to the trevi fountain, amazing history and sights, Free time for an excellent lunch.
Reviewer: David A Patnod
5 Stars
Classical Rome Excursion
November 01, 2018
This is a very informative trip/excursion. The tour guy id very knowledgeable and tried hard to tell us as much information as possible. Excursion bus rides were well arranged and we were sent back to our ship right on time.
Reviewer: Kuo Chyuan Lea
5 Stars
Wonderful excursion
October 25, 2018
Had another wonderful excursion with shore excursions! Picked up on time from the port taken to a coach park to go to Rome, we saw all the wonderful sights, colosseum, Trevi fountain, Vatican and much much more. You had time to look round and have lunch. Well organised, brilliant commantry back to port on time. Will most definitely book again when I go on a cruise! Lot cheaper than booking with your cruise ship.
Reviewer: Sylvia Rippon
5 Stars
Awesome, but does not include Sistine Chapel!
October 01, 2018
This was a really good overall tour of Rome if you only have one day. The description for the tour is a little vague and there were a few on our tour that were VERY upset that the Sistine Chapel was not part of our tour. Our guide was very personable, our coach was very nice, and it ran as smoothly as you could hope with a full bus of people. Our guide tried really hard to get to everyone, but my one complaint was that the group was a little too big.
Reviewer: Tiffany Baker
5 Stars
Excellent tour guide
September 26, 2018
Our tour guide Niels made all the difference. He is very knowledgeable and engaging. The tour is intense. Some people comment on being rushed from one place to the other. But with so much to see, it is understandable. The fee is very reasonable too.
Reviewer: Jing Gao
5 Stars
Great tour!!!
September 25, 2018
Whirlwind day - lots of walking, stopping, talking, sightseeing but the guide covered the main stops in one day and did a great job! Very fun, informative and beautiful city.
Reviewer: nanette throne
5 Stars
Classic Rome
September 25, 2018
Our tour guide was a wealth of information. Saw absolutely everything possible for the time we had in port. If I get back to Italy will spend more time in Rome. It was beautiful. Suggest this tour.
Reviewer: Sandra O
5 Stars
Excursion
September 17, 2018
Everything was organized perfectly and the guide (Erik) was very good. He did everything professionel and with the sense to the people of our group. Thanks him and to ypor team! Csaba
Reviewer: Csaba László
5 Stars
Amazing City
August 06, 2018
We had no trouble meeting at the assigned place and catching our bus to "The Eternal City." Our first time here and we saw so much of the city - St Peter's Square (we elected NOT to go into the Vatican), The Coliseum, The Trevi Fountain and more! Absolutely great narration by our tour guide. Word to the wise folks, there is still a lot of walking here so if you have trouble with a flight of stairs, this is probably not the tour for you!
Reviewer: Cory France
5 Stars
Great tour
August 06, 2018
We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. We could not have covered the city like this on our own. The order of the tour was different than the write up; we went to the Vatican first. I wish we had less time at the Vatican and more time at the coliseum. Lunch on our own was at the Trevi fountain where it was very crowded and busy. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. This was the first time we did not book the excursion through the cruise line and I am so glad we took the chance.
Reviewer: Shana P
5 Stars
Rome and Vatican
July 30, 2018
Got to see a lot on this tour. Nice to get around the lines in Vatican. Guide had somewhat limited command of English.
Reviewer: Robert Domzalski
3 Stars
Perfect tour
July 30, 2018
I had a great experience on this tour. Got lots of knowledge for Rome
Reviewer: lance
5 Stars
Excellent Guide. Experienced Tour Operator
July 30, 2018
We booked excursions for all ports of call with various tour operators and the one to Rome with Shore Excursions was among the best. They were very organized from beginning to end, the bus was comfortable and cool, our tour guide, Andrea was knowledgeable and professional and so was her assistant, Jeanny, we hit all the highlights promised in the description and made it back to the cruise at just the right time, not too early but not a last-minute mad dash either. Rome was extremely hot and crowded when we visited but that's the nature of the place and time of year which you would experience with whoever you choose to tour with. I highly recommend the Shore Excursions Group.
Reviewer: David T
5 Stars
Loved this tour
July 02, 2018
Tour guide was very knowledgeable but kind of quiet. large crowds because we were there on June 2 the celebration of the republic of Italy. would have liked to have been able to see more. Lot of walking but still great!
Reviewer: Judith Rodgers
5 Stars
Classical Rome
July 02, 2018
We had a good time during the tour. Our tour guides were very knowledgeable. We saw a lot of attractions in one day. It was a little bit rushed due to time constraints. I guess we just need to come back to experience more of Rome. We were in a cruise so we only had one day for this. All in all, it was a good tour. To those who are planning to book this tour, the itinerary could change. Like for ours, instead of doing Vatican last as what was written in the website, it was our first destination. Also, read dress code for entering churches. I saw people blocked from entering St. Peter's Basilica. Another thing, this tour entails a lot of walking. Sturdy comfortable walking shoes will be a necessity. Your feet will thank you afterwards.
Reviewer: Lyline Medeiros
4 Stars
Classical Rome tour
June 25, 2018
The guide was very professional knowledgeable and polite she certainly made the tour well worth it.
Reviewer: karen walsh
5 Stars
Reveiw
June 25, 2018
Absolutely an excellent tour. Time was well managed and the guide extremely knowledgeable and friendly. We would highly recommend it to others. The only two things I would suggest for improvement are 1) please warn people more of the extensive walking. We had a few people in our group who could barely walk anyway and delayed the whole group all day. 2) better communication or directions to find the correct guide / bus when you get off the ship.
Reviewer: Jim Ohlinger
5 Stars
Great guided tour
June 11, 2018
We enjoyed our overview of Rome, the guide was knowledgeable and friendly. We couldn’t have done so much and learned so much on our own!
Reviewer: Marilyn Garcia
5 Stars
Tour de Roma
June 04, 2018
Fue un tour excelente; nuestro guia Andrea fue muy profesional y estaba muy pendiente de las necesidades de todos y cada uno de nosotros. Ademas tiene un basto conocimiento de la historia, arquitectura de Roma, el Vaticano y sus alrededores. Nos indico varios sitios donde podiamos ir a almorzar, segun el gusto de cada uno.
Reviewer: Nubia
5 Stars
Classical Rome
May 30, 2018
The tour was very well organized from getting on the buses to returning on the buses. It was an overview of Rome and a very long day. So much information was given it was overwhelming at times but I wouldn't have missed a minute of it. Good job!!!
Reviewer: Patricia Lantz
5 Stars
Above Average Excursion
May 29, 2018
Our Classical Rome guide was very good, and our time in the city was just about right. We were not able to go into St. Peter's Basillica as it was Sunday, but had the added bonus of hearing the Pope address and bless the public from the residential building at noon. We were given just the right amount of time on our own, then back on the bus for more historical viewing. This excursion was above average.
Reviewer: Kathie Harvey
4 Stars
Classical Rome
May 26, 2018
Wonderful. Tour guide was excellent. His knowledge was outstanding. Had a great time.
Reviewer: Eleanor Bean
5 Stars
Rome excursion
May 26, 2018
We went on 6 shore excursions during our 12 day Cruise. We booked 2 of these through Costco and 4 through the cruise ship. Our shore excursion in Rome was one of our favorites! Neils was an excellent guide, knowledgeable, and entertaining. We found the Costco excursions to be a very good value.
Reviewer: JACKI FELDHAHN
5 Stars
Fast pace see it all
May 25, 2018
Rome in a day. Excellent tour great guide provided by Civita tours, saw all the things you need to see. Pay the extra for the skip the line feature with the tour for the Vatican. Lots of walking not for those with limited mobility some uphill walking near the Coliseum. But if all you have is a day you see it all Vatican, Coliseum, Trevi ...
Reviewer: Sabrina
5 Stars
Excellent Tour
May 14, 2018
This tour is a great way to see a lot in a short time. We visited the Colosseum, the Trevi Fountain and the Vatican, just to name a few. We only got a short time for lunch but managed to order a great pizza. Considering there is a two-hour bus ride to and from the port, we saw everything we wanted to in the time allotted. We had a couple of different tour guides along the way and all were great. This is a great excursion to see a lot in a limited amount of time.
Reviewer: Cathy Chapman
5 Stars
Classical Toir of Rome April 2018
May 14, 2018
The Classical Rome Tour was very good and we did get to see main points of interest. This tour is fast moving and the ability to keep up (walk fast and on cobblestone) is very important. It would be very difficult if you have a walker or cane. The tour guide was very accommodating and knowledgeable. Bathroom breaks were available and no charge. Lunch was not provided but time was allowed to grab a bite to eat. I would recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Diana Rabidoux
5 Stars
Awesome
February 13, 2018
This was by far the best tour that was taken on our 11 night Mediterranean cruise. The guide was very knowledgeable about the city and the sites. Although this is really a place that you need to fly to and stay for a week or longer to check out everything this tour covered a lot of ground and was amazing was not really that rushed. We spend a good bit of time in Vatican City and we even had time to visit the Collesum as we were more interested in that then the place that the guide was showing we just asked if we could go there she told us the time the bus was leaving and we had to be back by that time. Also the walk through the town where you will find the Trevi fountain was awesome felt like a local. I would say if you wanted to save money and see all you can in the short alloted time you are there then this is the one for you!
Reviewer: Kati Collazo
5 Stars
Classic Rome
January 23, 2018
My self and wife had a wonderful 50th Anniversary, because of the the vacation we have had in Rome your good Mr Neil was very knowledgeable person of all that was shown to us, he was extremely patient and give us time to observe, I would highly recommend your service to all my fellow travelers, Thanks again and keep up your excellent service. Ivor and Patricia Thomas
Reviewer: Ivor and Patricia Thomas
5 Stars
Wonderful walking tour of Rome!
January 01, 2018
Despite the fact that we had to drive about two hours each way from the port of Livorno to Rome and back, it was worth it! We had a wonderful knowledgeable tour guide Neals! He took us to a few specific must see places in Rome, gave us a very relevant information and did not overwhelm us with too much information as it could often happen in big city like Rome. We visited the Vatican, the Colosseum, the Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, the Piazza Navona, among the places that stood out the most, and had lunch at a local delicious pizzeria next to the Trevi Fountain. I would highly recommend this tour, especially for those people who visit Rome for the first time. It is a great way to get the main highlights of the city!
Reviewer: Halina Onishko
5 Stars
Rome
December 18, 2017
love Rome our guide Niels was excellent, never enough time Highly recommend but realize in some spots its just in and out
Reviewer: Deborah
5 Stars
Classical Rome Tour
December 11, 2017
A whirlwind tour packed with information Our guide was exceptional
Reviewer: Deb Perini
5 Stars
The Bestest
November 21, 2017
On this cruise, we visited Spain, Italy, and France. I can honestly say that this excursion was the most exciting. We saw the Coliseum, Trevi Fountain, and the Vatican in one day. We did do a lot of walking (especially from the Trevi Fountain to Vatican City) but it was well worth it. On our way to Vatican City, we went by many street performers but the most mesmerizing was the guy who levitated at least 3 feet while sitting. I rarely want to do one excursion twice but I would do this one again.
Reviewer: Michelle Thomas
5 Stars
Rome
November 02, 2017
What can I say except everything was perfect, pick up point was where they said it would be. very well organized, tour bus was very clean and had a/c. Our tour guides were just an encyclopedia of knowledge. We had a wonderful time, would certainly choose to do this again. Great value for money much cheaper then the cruise ship.
Reviewer: Gloria
5 Stars
Fantastic
October 30, 2017
Awesome Day!, got to see everything we wanted. Tour guides were exceptional!
Reviewer: VC And SC Wash DC
5 Stars
Lots to see in such short time
October 12, 2017
Excellent tour as we saw all of the most important things. We took the skip the line option to visit the basilica, it was well worth it. We would have appreciated a longer time for lunch at the Trevi Fountain 20 minutes is just to little time to really appreciate the area.
Reviewer: Diane Fitzsimmons
5 Stars
Fantastic Excursion with many points of interest
September 13, 2017
This is the way to see. Our guide Nils was very knowledgeable and fun. He also spoke several languages. We saw many of Rome's classic sights and learned of their history. There is a fair bit of walking on this tour.
Reviewer: Donna Klie
5 Stars
Can't be topped
September 13, 2017
I was a little hesitant to book a tour outside our cruise Company, but boy, was I happy I did. Everything was perfect. We found our tour easily outside the ship. We picked up the tour guide on the way to Rome and he was exceptional. He knew so much about Rome that I felt I was in a history class. We were also lucky and hot to see the Pope. What an amazing experience and thanks to the tour guide for pointing it out to us. I will definitely use them again next year.
Reviewer: Hala Saardi
5 Stars
Beautiful day
August 24, 2017
Our guide Dylayla was extraordinary we were able to see the Pope at his noon speech.Also a picture of me holding up the Colisseum. Dylayla is very knowledgeable and experienced in communicating. We saw Rome in an awesome tour. Thank you
Reviewer: Andre Seguin
5 Stars
Great Excursion!
August 21, 2017
What a wonderful way to see Rome! Our motor coach stopped at all the places we wanted to see and we had free time to take pictures and enjoy the views. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable. PLUS, this tour was a lot cheaper than the same tour offered from the cruise line.
Reviewer: Tami Steinbrick
5 Stars
Very good pace
August 21, 2017
This excursion was the best one we had out of all the excursions that we had booked for our trip. The tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. We visited many places in fast pace which was what we like.
Reviewer: Yvonne C
5 Stars
So much to see, so little time
July 12, 2017
Going to Rome was a dream come true. There is no way to see everything anyone would want to see in one day, but this tour did a great job helping us experience the highlights. We saw the outside of the Colliseum, Trevi Fountain, outside of Pantheon, lots of other beautiful buildings, and a chance to see some of the Vatican. We were allowed to pay $20 on the bus to buy a "Skip the Line" pass that allowed us to enter the Vatican Chapel which was well worth paying on this day packed with beautiful sites. The bus staff was very friendly and our guide was knowledgeable and wonderful. Of course there is a lot of walking required. For a one day excursion of Rome I don't know how it could be much better. We considered the other tour that was more expensive and allowed us to go inside the Colliseum, but we were happy with his one as we wanted more time to experience all we could.
Reviewer: Jeff Martinez
5 Stars
Quickie Rome Tour is Good
June 24, 2017
The bus ride was long and the crowds in Rome were tremendous, but the tour itself was great for an overview of this important city. Unfortunately we had a person with a cane and obvious walking issues on the tour even though the tour description should have warned her off before she signed up. We therefore had lost time waiting for her constantly to the point where she and her companion finally took a taxi back to the ship. We got to many "must see" sites, but the crowds were so bad. That's not the tour fault. Our guide was excellent.
Reviewer: J Marmalade
4 Stars
Classical Rome tour
June 22, 2017
At first, I did not think that we would have time to go to all the places mentioned in the tour itinerary. But we did, with the help of our tour guide Niels. Niels speaks 5 languages and very knowledgeable. He's great!! One thing I would like to remind everyone is : since the port Civitavecchia is very far from Roma, the tour guide does not go back with the bus to the port. So please do not forget to tip your tour guide when he says 'bye-bye' in Roma, especially if he has done such an excellent job like Niels did.
Reviewer: winny
5 Stars
Excellent
June 14, 2017
We were on the Princess Cruise and they did not have a Shore Excursion like this one where you could disembark the ship & leave your luggage on the bus when you are touring Rome! I am so glad we booked this because they were advertising that a one-way ride to Rome is $200 per person and we paid only half! Also, our tour guide was excellent & she even called for a taxi so that we could leave the Colosseum since it was closer to our hotel than where the tour would have ended!!!
Reviewer: Laurie Yee
5 Stars
Very pleasant experience
June 06, 2017
Tour guide was very knowledgeable and experienced. Tour was Great and organized very well Also, twice LESS expensive than to buy it on ship 🚢
Reviewer: Yuri
5 Stars
sstaff
May 27, 2017
Your guide Neil was excellent very good knowlege only problem we had was for the staff not telling tourists the dress code was not an option value time lost due to group not dressed properly should have been told at the start that shorts and tank tops would not be acceptable to the Vatican and rude men not taking their hats off entering a church what is wrong with you people I went to the Alamo years ago and hats and noise not acceptable and with a Baptist minister in the family hats not permissable in their all should have been mentioned at the start and not held the rest up rude
Reviewer: c mcbride
4 Stars
Classical Rome tour April, 2017
May 19, 2017
Great tour of Rome at a good price. Guide was very pleasant & knowledgeable. Meeting pick up etc went very smooth, newer bus, no problems.
Reviewer: Claudette OConnell
5 Stars
Guided tour of Rome
April 24, 2017
We booked this tour prior to the cruise,a very wise move on our part. The tour and guide both excellent, the guide was most informative and on Motheting Sunday we arrived at the Vatican Square just before mid day and we saw the Pope what an experience. This is the best tour of Rome I have ever experienced. We then booked a second tour to go to Florence and Pisa with their sister company this too was very good value and worth doing.
Reviewer: Bridget
5 Stars
classical Rome
April 06, 2017
The tour was very good,the guide is very knowledgeable of the area. I have taken this company for my previous tours in Europe but this is the only tour that the bus is full, just like if I have gotten from the cruise ship! Spanish and English tourist are combined in one bus, that she has to speak in two languages.
Reviewer: JOSEPHINE JANSSEN
4 Stars
Great Overview
March 30, 2017
Our tour guide was great and very knowledgeable. Not to mention spoke 5 languages! She provided great information, kept on time and welcomed questions. It was a great overview of Rome if you have never been. There wasn't time to go in places like the Vatican or the Coliseum, but that is to be expected when seeing as much as we saw in a hort amoutn of time. Worth the money for first time visitors for sure!
Reviewer: Katie Riggs
4 Stars
Classic Rome
December 30, 2016
Good excursion. Tour guide was knowledgable
Reviewer: Steve Wolf
4 Stars
Classical Rome
December 30, 2016
Good excursion. Tour guide was knowledgable
Reviewer: Steve Wolf
4 Stars
Caring, informative guide
December 26, 2016
Our guide was very caring of the needs of all guests and her knowledge and communication skills were very effective! This was a fantastic experience.
Reviewer: Denise Does
5 Stars
tour
December 15, 2016
Our tour guide was amazing she covered every bit of information and directed us to a fabulous pizzeria and gelato to eat .We could not say enough on how wonderful it was. I you are seeing rome for the first time I would definitely do this tour you get a little taste of everything.
Reviewer: Marie D'Acquisto
5 Stars
A day tour in Rome
December 10, 2016
Tour started around 9:30 AM but took over an hour commute to Rome, sightseeing was beautiful, too bad there were so many people so didn't have enough time to enjoy more of the city. Traffic came back to the cruise ship was bad, we were 30 minutes late and good thing the ship still awaited for us, we were the last bus arrived back to port. Overall experience was very good, Rome is beautiful.
Reviewer: Karen Lee
4 Stars
excellent
November 23, 2016
Rome tour great becuz of terrific guide Niels.I have been to Rome many times but he explained lots that I was not aware of and he gave us just enough free time to explore on our own.
Reviewer: gloria hernandez
5 Stars
Rome Tour
October 07, 2016
This was the only tour that we booked outside of the ship. All the others tours on this cruise were through the cruise line. This tour far exceeded all the other tours we had. The meeting point from the ship was easy to find. The tour guide was excellent, very knowledgeable very well spoken. We will certainly do this again in the future.
Reviewer: Alan Large
4 Stars
Sadly, Tour Cancelled by Mutual Agreement
June 03, 2016
When we arrived at the departure point, the other members of the group were from a ship that didn't sail until 6:30. Since our ship was leaving at 5:30, we would cut the tour short for the everyone else. We elected to give up the tour as Rome needs a week of its own anyway. We will return. Once home, the tour guide had already notified the company and they quickly refunded us for the tour--no problem--hence the 5-Stars. We used Shore Excursions for multiple ports-of-call and highly recommend them to one and all...
Reviewer: CJ
5 Stars