Exclusive Ancient Olympia

Great tour guide
November 27, 2019
Very good tour guide, knew a lot about her subject. We found this tour very enjoyable, just the right length.
Reviewer: Wendy
4 Stars
Excellent excursion experience
November 18, 2019
Upon leaving the ship the tour operator was easy to find. The tour guides very informative, with much local knowledge. Easy to understand, English was excellent. Would use this operator again.
Reviewer: Cathy Martin
5 Stars
Ancient Olympia
November 12, 2019
Husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this excursion. So much history to hear about and guide very proficient in English. Would recommend.
Reviewer: Patricia Garnier
5 Stars
Katakolon
October 28, 2019
The tour was very good however it poured rain which dampened the excursion. The guide was knowledgeable and very friendly. It was cold with the rain so we stopped for an expresso and cannoli on our way back. So good! Had it been a nice day I’m sure it would of changed the whole experience.
Reviewer: Corinne
4 Stars
Exclusine Ancient Olympia
October 06, 2019
We found the site amazing, It was not crowded and we could hear everything the tour guide said. Lots of free time to wonder among the ruins.
Reviewer: Lynne
5 Stars
Olympic ruins
October 05, 2019
This was our best tour
Reviewer: Darrell Rustad
5 Stars
Great Tour
September 21, 2019
The tour guide was awesome! It was so cool to see the Olympic Site. Very hot out so probably didn't appreciate it as much as I could on a cooler day!
Reviewer: Kathy Kelly
4 Stars
Interesting to see the ruins of the first olympics
September 15, 2019
This tour was very interesting and the tour guide was amazing giving us the history behind all the ruins. It was amazing to see the site of the first olympics! The bus ride there was good to see the countryside
Reviewer: Pat Swanson
5 Stars
Fantastic visit
August 26, 2019
We went to Ancient Olympia, and what a day. It was fantastic, so much excavated, it really is worth visiting. To go around somewhere so old and significant to the world, to hear the history and the true meaning of the Olympics was so interesting and educational. My husband really enjoyed it as one of the best excursions we had on our holiday. It was so well organised and a fraction of the price we would have to paid if booked from the cruise. Everything was easy to navigate from meeting the tour guide and finding the bus, all carefully worked out so we were back at the ship in plenty of time before it departed. I will definitely use again for all excursions for future holidays.
Reviewer: Nicola Alhaji
5 Stars
Good tour
July 27, 2019
Very good guide. Plenty of time at the site. Very interesting place.
Reviewer: Beryl Salvatore
4 Stars
Great Tour
July 21, 2019
I can't remember our guide's name, but she gave us a great tour. She gave us so much interesting information, and it was clear that she really enjoys her job. I would take this tour again.
Reviewer: Patty
5 Stars
great tour/ great guide
July 05, 2019
Our tour was paced well and the guide wass extremely informative. The destination was amazing and the guide helped us to visualize it's original beauty and the first Olympic games. Could not have asked for more...great value, great tour.
Reviewer: Carol Shepherd
5 Stars
Olympia
June 30, 2019
Excellent..don't change anything!
Reviewer: ROB
5 Stars
Post Tour Review
June 24, 2019
Our guide, Dina, was excellent - full knowledge of the history, very easy to understand and added good humour to her talks. Like all of the other guides provided by your company on the 4 other tours we did during the cruise - they were all absolutely first class. Well done Regards Paul & Liz Armstrong
Reviewer: Paul Armstrong
5 Stars
Ancient Olympia, Greece
June 21, 2019
Antonia, our guide was great, but we should like to have more time in the museums.
Reviewer: Larry
4 Stars
Amazing!
June 17, 2019
Beautiful drive with a wonderful guide (who knew the right amount of information and didn't bog us down with nonsense). The pace was easy and we even had time to visit the archeological museum as well. Would have liked to explore the modern town of Olympia, but we'll save that for another time.
Reviewer: Patricia
5 Stars
ancient olympia tour was great
June 04, 2019
The bus was there early and the tour guide was very informative. We had some structured time an open time. It was a good balance. the town of olympia has cute restaurants and stores.
Reviewer: rebecca c mcglothlin
5 Stars
Had to cancel this tour because site was closed
June 01, 2019
Appreciated the ease of getting a refund when it turned out it was a national holiday and site was closed.
Reviewer: Barb Singer
5 Stars
Very good excursion on our trip.
December 06, 2018
Roman and Olympic information was unique and memorable.
Reviewer: Dale L. Theiling
5 Stars
Ancient Olympia
December 02, 2018
Time was limited as we needed another couple hours. The museum was outstanding with so much history. The actual Olympic site was fascinating. Excellent tour.
Reviewer: Scott Hagen
5 Stars
Exclusive Ancient Olympia Tour
November 28, 2018
Excellent tour. The guide provided historical information in a scholarly but humorous manner. The time flew by. The tour included many unexpected highlights. Kudos to the organizers of this tour.
Reviewer: Rosemary Buteau
5 Stars
George T.
November 23, 2018
It was an excellent tour. Our guide was not only professional but a history professor. Worth of buying.
Reviewer: George T.
5 Stars
Exclusive Ancient Olympia
November 18, 2018
Very good tour. Bus ride made longer by dropping others on a different tour
Reviewer: Irene
4 Stars
great experience
November 17, 2018
The tour is awesome. The people who organises all the program are really qualified. It will be a great experience for all the visitors.
Reviewer: Harris Kalogeropoulos
5 Stars
Very satisfied!!
November 14, 2018
Bought tours from this company for the first time. All tours had professional , knowledgeable guides. They were courteous, on time. Tours were well organised. Very happy with Shore Excursions Group. Will not hesitate to buy again from them.
Reviewer: Canadian vagabonds
5 Stars
Informative and Wonderful
November 14, 2018
One of our favorite tours during our cruise (28 tours in total). The guide (Harris, I believe) made the experience! He described the site as it would have been, showed illustrations and explained why the ruins consciously weren't reconstructed. The plethora of questions from the group was answered completely. He had been an archaeology student, served in the army and been a musician. On the bus, he produced a local instrument ( imagine a miniature bouzouki) and played a traditional song for us. Local folklore stories were also shared. He said it was his first year as a guide but we felt he far exceeded expectations for any guide! He completely made the tour amazing for all of us. The only suggestion we have would be to give the guide headsets for each guest. His voice was easy for us to hear, but others seemed to struggle.
Reviewer: mttartaruga
5 Stars
Great tour!
November 03, 2018
This was a fun and very informative tour of Olympia. We were met right at the pier, taken by bus to Olympia and had a very interesting tour. You could really tell our guide new the area, she had her own materials and pictures to help explain what life was like during those times. We would highly recommend this tour!
Reviewer: Warren Laughlin
5 Stars
Ancient Olympia Excursion
October 29, 2018
Tour was good as far as seeing all the sights, but guide was terribly limited in English.
Reviewer: Charles Owens
4 Stars
Teressa
October 10, 2018
Wonderful ! Everything was perfect. Excellent guide , nice tour and at a very low cost.
Reviewer: Teressa Brown
5 Stars
Amazing!
October 09, 2018
Fascinating to see this site! Local guide gave a good tour of the grounds. Could have used more time in the museum but had to be on the bus for the return trip. Did enjoy seeing the countryside on the bus trip up and back.
Reviewer: SG
4 Stars
Fantastic
October 07, 2018
Only a group of 4 on this tour was excellent , our guide was extremely knowledgably and informative. Company was quick to confirm our booking, and honoured it with such a small group, which made for a enjoyable day
Reviewer: annette
5 Stars
Very good tour!
September 25, 2018
Lots of walking for sure but this tour was fun, informative and very interesting to see the sight of the first Olympics. Museum was included too.
Reviewer: nanette throne
4 Stars
We called an audible
September 17, 2018
we paid for this one but by the time we got to this destination, we just didn't want to ride 1 1/2 hours away and back in a coach, so we just enjoyed the small port town. Took horse pulled taxi to lunch by the bay. We took a little road tram 'built to look like a little train', picture parking lot shuttles at Disney. Cute, fun , took us around the area to see the beaches, etc. Nice and relaxed! Glad we did it. Sorry, no comments on Ancient Olympia
Reviewer: Mark Lupton
5 Stars
giuseppina
August 27, 2018
I was very well organized and on time our guide was nice and she knew her history, then only think i wish that the bus was not so far from the ship very hot day
Reviewer: giuseppina dangelo
4 Stars
maria
August 27, 2018
very nice excursion I did 2 more with the cruise line and I felt very safe with this one also I wish the bus was closer to the ship terminal
Reviewer: Maria Derosa
4 Stars
Angela
August 27, 2018
loved every thing expect the bus was too far from the ship and it was a very hot day
Reviewer: Angela Areche
4 Stars
Ancient Olympia
August 13, 2018
Really interesting
Reviewer: Carmel Grossek
4 Stars
Interesting if you like ruins and history
July 23, 2018
The tour covers what had been lost and then rediscovered. The guide did a good job taking us through the ruins explaining what had been there. The ride through the countryside was interesting as well. The history is incredible, but you have to use your imagination to see the fallen columns and picture how they had looked a couple of thousand years ago. We could have used more free time to look in the museum and shop in the local town, maybe even have lunch.
Reviewer: Ray
4 Stars
Exclusive Ancient Olympia
July 23, 2018
Tour guide knew her subject very professional. Great experience
Reviewer: BRIAN FINNERAN
5 Stars
Great tour! Highly recommend
July 23, 2018
First, we had an excellent guide. We had to tender unexpectedly, and she made sure to wait for those of us who had to tender, an still had plenty of time to spare on the tour. On the bus ride to the tour site, she gave us lots of wonderful information, it was great! She was funny and informative, probably the best guide we had during the two-week trip! The tour of the Olympia site was fantastic, and there was ample time to exploreon our own. There was also enough time at the end to choose one of the two museums (both are included in the entrance ticket). Highly recommended, and we will not hesitate to book with shoreexcursionsgroup again!
Reviewer: Kyla Adams
5 Stars
Olympia
June 11, 2018
It was a great visit. Meaningful. to me. But sad about the crowd uncontrolled. Guide was quite acceptable.
Reviewer: Peter Jin
5 Stars
Great Experience
June 03, 2018
The tour guide was knowledgeble and professional. The experience was great and we would definitely recommend this shore excursion.
Reviewer: Ella Booth
5 Stars
Olympia
May 26, 2018
During the drive to Olympia we were given lots of general information and beautiful scenery. Once we arrived at the park she gave us a excellent tour.
Reviewer: Patricia Nelson
5 Stars
Would highly recommend
May 23, 2018
Excellent tour. Guide was called Koby, timing was very well planned out and enjoyable.
Reviewer: Linda
5 Stars
Fascinating
May 22, 2018
These Shore Excursion tours don’t use listening devices so if you lag behind you miss part of the guide’s information.
Reviewer: Beatriz Goldstein
4 Stars
Expertise of guide
May 21, 2018
The tour guide was very good and clear in her explanation
Reviewer: Diane thornhill
5 Stars
Ancient Olympia
May 21, 2018
It would have been nice to have a smaller group but overall it was very interesting and I learned a lot.
Reviewer: Judith Holton
5 Stars
Olympia
May 14, 2018
Our guide was very informative, helpful and remained professional despite some people in the group having a bad attitude about virtually everything! The Olympia site itself was amazing. It was bigger than we thought and our guide gave us great information about ancient Olympia life. You'll hear numerous whistles because despite the warnings and signs, people insist on standing on top of the ancient stones. After the tour we had the opportunity to wander around by ourselves to do whatever we liked.
Reviewer: Yvonne Buckley
5 Stars
Oct 25 tour
December 11, 2017
Lydia our guide was waiting for us. She was excellent guide, very informative and a warm personally. We were amazed at how large Olympia was. I would differently ask for her again.
Reviewer: christinalauni
5 Stars
Ancient Olympia tour
November 27, 2017
Easy to find guide on pier head, tour guide knowledgeable, and interesting.
Reviewer: Paul Guzowski
4 Stars
Olympia
November 01, 2017
Tour was well organized and tour guide was very knowledgeable. Only issue was meeting the tour guide as we came off the boat. Directions were unclear and he held a small sign. Should be better directions or more accurate gathering point.
Reviewer: Greg Levy
4 Stars
Great Tour
October 10, 2017
Great guide, very knowledgeable, fun and educational. Worth booking.
Reviewer: Ron Kocher
5 Stars
Ancient Olympia
September 20, 2017
We had a good guide, and despite the crowds, the site was large enough that one didn't feel overwhelmed. We liked their approach to the site. Not trying to totally restore it, but glorying in the ruins, really, and re-building a small amount so we could see what it would have looked like. Although it was hot, there were shady places to take refuge. Good washrooms, always a plus. Also the town of Olympus was charming. Wished we had had a bit more time to check it out.
Reviewer: Sylvia Spasoff
5 Stars
Ancient Olympia
September 09, 2017
I was worried about this excursion because we were not able to find the bus. However, once that was sorted, it was a wonderful excursion. The tour guide was so engaging, entertaining and knowledgeable. Even the 30-40 minute bus ride to Ancient Olympia seemed to fly by as she shared stories. Once there we had a wonderful time exploring the site. Even our 6 and 8 year old children found the day very fun and interesting! When the tour guide asked our son what he thought of the tour he said, "That was WAY better than I expected!"
Reviewer: Andria Henein
4 Stars
Ancient Olympia
August 02, 2017
This was a fabulous walking tour. I was thrilled to learn of the ancient Olympics and see the birthplace of the Olympics. Our guide was very knowledgeable and provided so much history about the evolution of the Olympics and the athletes.
Reviewer: Sharon Wade
5 Stars
Olympia Tour
December 19, 2016
My wife and I really enjoyed our tour of the old Olympic village. Our guide was very informative and interesting. We learned a great deal about Greek history, agriculture, and customs while traveling to and from the site. There was plenty of time to take pictures after the tour and get a wonderful lunch in the town before heading back to the ship.
Reviewer: Michael Mikita
5 Stars
Olympia During the Olympics!
December 17, 2016
It was very cool that we visited Olympia while the 2016 Olympics were going on! Fascinating to see the original site of the Olympics, guide provided excellent info on the history, and the museum was fantastic!
Reviewer: Annette
5 Stars
Great tour
November 27, 2016
It was great seeing the ancient ruins of Olympia. Wished we had more time to visit the museum and walk around the town. Guide was very knowledgeable.
Reviewer: Pauline Zarlenga
5 Stars
Wonderful tour of where the olumpics used to be
June 11, 2015
This tour was great to understand how the olumpics used to be. Our tour guide was wonderful - very knowledgeable and had lots of tidbits of information to provide. Wished we could of stayed longer to appreciate the place but alas, we had to get back to our cruise ship. This is certainly a ""must see"" tour.
Reviewer: Luc and Jeff
5 Stars