Great Excursion
April 01, 2020
We really enjoyed this excursion. Our guide was knowledgeable and gave us great information. He also showed us a video of the volcano and it was even more powerful when we actually saw the park. I would highly recommend this excursion.
Reviewer: Deb Saplis
5 Stars
Good way to see it all
March 10, 2020
Nice highlight of the city. Our guide also lost his house in the volcano eruption so it was interesting to talk to him about it.
Reviewer: Nancy
4 Stars
Best of Big Island and Volcanoes National Park
March 03, 2020
After getting past some body odor issues with our tour guide, we enjoyed ourselves on this tour. We found out that he had lost his home and art studio to the volcano. He was informative and a good story teller. We saw a park in Hilo, King Kamehamea statue, Mauna Loa macadamia nut farm, Volcano National Park and Black Sand Beach. I would recommend this tour. It was a smaller group
Reviewer: Connie H Guillory
4 Stars
Nice tour
February 27, 2020
We enjoyed the tour. It was a damp day with light sprinkles some of the time. But nothing could be done about that. Ha.
Reviewer: Connie Oberender
4 Stars
Best of Big Island and Volcanoes National Park
February 24, 2020
Our guide was terrific. His knowledge of the island and his enthusiasm made the experience very informative and enjoyable.
Reviewer: Carmen Najork
5 Stars
Great tour; Giovanni was great!
February 23, 2020
Great tour by Giovanni. Very good use of time. There wasn't much dead time or times when we wanted to stay much longer. Giovanni's home was destroyed by the 2018 volcano so he was very familiar with the volcano and added a personal side to his tour. Couldn't say enough good things about his tour.
Reviewer: John Cobb
5 Stars
A full day of sights!
February 17, 2020
Giovanni, our guide, was very knowledgeable about the island. He was a pleasant guide and kept us on schedule. Visiting Volcano National Park was one of the highlights of the tour. The tour bus was comfortable. I don't remember the exact number of people on the tour, it was either 23 or 33. The group was manageable but would have been easier if smaller number. There were 7 different stops although Volcanoes National Park included 3 venues. With so many stops there wasn't much time allotted at some and some were just the right amount of time. Some places such as the Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Factory seemed rush probably because a large number of people visiting and we were not able to find out information about the facility or walk around. Our lunch stop was at WikiFresh which was decent. The stop at Rainbow Falls was beautiful and a popular tourist stop. Overall, the tour was pleasant and interesting.
Reviewer: Patsy Lewis
4 Stars
Great Value!
February 08, 2020
Friendly and interesting tour guide who made our excursion fun! Less expensive and more inclusive than excursions offered by the cruise line. Big new beautiful bus. Meeting place accurate and convenient. It’s a win-win!
Reviewer: Joan Kelly
5 Stars
Big Island
February 08, 2020
I was a little disappointed that we did not get to see the active volcano just one that was inactive but the drive was great and the guide did a great job
Reviewer: Connie
4 Stars
the best of the big island
February 08, 2020
We enjoyed the tour our driver/guide Chris was very good, informative and friendly. The tour was full and worth the cost.Our only concern was return time after the tour. Being it was not a Princess tour, we would have preferred to be back at the ship with more than 15 minutes to spare; although I imagine they were trying to give us the most for our money.
Reviewer: Jackie Copeland
4 Stars
Overall a good tour
January 27, 2020
Overall, the tour guide did a good job showing a part of the big island. I wish we could spend more time at the national volcano park.
Reviewer: Ning fisher
3 Stars
Too long - but good
January 07, 2020
I was excited to see everything on this tour. The tour is well rounded, but longer than the 6 hours stated. It was an hour too long. I would eliminate first 2 stops and have longer at Volcano National Park. We we stopped for lunch way too early. I did not like how driver asked for tips.
Reviewer: Nancy
3 Stars
VOLCANOES AND MORE
December 31, 2019
Our main purpose for booking this excursion was visiting the National Park. It was exactly what we hoped for and very educational. Would have liked to visit an area where the lava travelled. Lots of stops including an orchid farm, black beach to view turtles and the mauna loa macadamia factory. Enjoyed the variety of nuts available. Staff there were very personable. Lunch was at a local version of Chipotle. Food was very good and although two tour buses arrived at the same time, the line moved quickly and we weren't rushed.
Reviewer: Pat Behan
4 Stars
Hilo volcano park
December 17, 2019
We had a wonderful excursion to the park. Our driver/guide Chris was very knowledgeable and showed us sights we would never had gone to. Ideal tour for seniors.,
Reviewer: Renu
5 Stars
Great Tour
December 15, 2019
Tours covers all the key attractions of the tour. Great tour and good value. Well organized
Reviewer: Lm
5 Stars
Big Island
December 10, 2019
This was such a great way to spend the day.
Reviewer: Cindy Hausman
5 Stars
Wow!
December 03, 2019
Giovanni was our guide and he was excellent! The content of the tour was also incredible. Giovanni pointed out special points of interest at many locations and the perfect place for photos. Despite a couple who ignored time limits, Giovanni ensured we had adequate time at each stop! He shared relevant information and added interesting tidbits at each location. Midway through the tour, he had memorized all guest's names. This tour and the guide were one of the best during our vacation.
Reviewer: Angela M Ackerly
5 Stars
Amazing Tour Guide!
December 01, 2019
This was our first trip to the Big Island! Giovanni, brought his personal touch to this tour. He took us to incredible places and his history of this island was amazing! A must do on the Big Island!
Reviewer: Nancy McClelland
5 Stars
Best of Big Island and Volcanoes National Park
November 27, 2019
The excursion was great. Our guide, Chris, was very knowledgeable about the island and made our tour very interesting and enjoyable. The Kilauea volcano, Rainbow Falls lookout, botanical garden filled with orchids, black sand beach and Dole Pineapple Plantation were wonderful places to visit. I would highly recommend this excursion.
Reviewer: Dianne Diffin
5 Stars
great overview tour
November 12, 2019
Great overview tour. Although there is no longer any active lava to be viewed, still worthwhile visiting there, and this tour included many other great stops we would not have found on our own. Tour guide Giovanni was excellent. He lost his home to the 2018 volcanic flow so he was able to add a lot of personal insight to volcanic impacts in Hawaii.
Reviewer: suzanne
5 Stars
Excellent
November 09, 2019
Excellent, well organized tour with very friendly, knowledgeable, capable guide.
Reviewer: Georgia
5 Stars
Impressive tour.
November 08, 2019
The guide tried to give a lot of information. It was a pity, that a big part of the vulcanoe park could not be visited. The visit of an orchid garden and a nut farm was less interesting.
Reviewer: Karl Graef
4 Stars
Great guide and tour
November 06, 2019
Dre was our driver and had great knowledge of the island and fun stories to share, kept us entertained, interesting tour!
Reviewer: Josee Blagdon
5 Stars
Big Island
November 06, 2019
Well worth the trip with this group- small, informative, personal touches and anecdotes ! Enjoyed it very much
Reviewer: Linda Harrison
5 Stars
Did a great job
November 05, 2019
Our guide was very knowledgeable and did a great job.
Reviewer: Robin Hansen
5 Stars
Volcanos & Turtles
October 28, 2019
This was a great tour and we are glad we took it. Guide was very nice and knowledgeable. I would recommend it to anyone interested in seeing the volcanoes.
Reviewer: Steve
4 Stars
Hilo excursion
October 23, 2019
Tour was well-structured with a variety of locations and sights. Our guide Dre was knowledgeable, passionate about his home and was entertaining.
Reviewer: Louise Brunelle
4 Stars
Volcano
September 25, 2019
Excellent driver. Full of local information very circumspect
Reviewer: Kathleen M Brockliss
5 Stars
Tour guides make the difference
July 15, 2019
Tina was an excellent guide who took us to see the most recent lava flow. She has so much knowledge of the history and the area. The sights were amazing.
Reviewer: Sheryl Campbell
5 Stars
rxcellent guide, wonderful memories
July 15, 2019
Dre was a great guide, funny, knowledgable, and considerate. We enjoyed all of the stops, never felt rushed and liked that he rearranged the tour to try and avoid the rain as much as possible. His explanation of the eruptions of last year and before at the NP visitor center was very well done and helped us understand the current state of the volcanic activity.
Reviewer: Lee Stout
5 Stars
Big island
June 27, 2019
What started as a horrible tour on a bus with no air conditioning and not enough seats, turned into the best tour of all when Paul was brought in to save the day. We got a small van with a total of 8 people, with the old school tour guide. What fun we had! This turned out to be the best tour we had!
Reviewer: Pam
5 Stars
Absolutely the Best !!
June 23, 2019
This tour was fabulous! From the moment we were greeted by our tour guide Dre, we knew that we were in for an adventure. We were taught all about the Hilo side of the big island in an informative and entertaining way. Each stop was more beautiful than the last and the tour of Volcanoes National Park just one of the highlights. Would definitely recommend this tour!
Reviewer: Caroline Bottazzi
5 Stars
Best of big island and Volcanol National Park
June 19, 2019
Great day, the highlights were seeing the green sea turtles and the volcano craeter
Reviewer: Jillian McCluand
5 Stars
Learned and saw a lot!
June 19, 2019
Four of us went on this excursion during our Hawaiian cruise vacation. We all enjoyed it, particularly the Volcanoes National Park, stopping at the orchid garden (even had some shipped back home--they're doing great) and getting to see the sea turtles (with the exception of some tourists who were not in our group that kept touching them). Learned a lot and would highly recommend it!
Reviewer: Jennifer W.
5 Stars
Best of Big Island and Volcanoes National Park
June 05, 2019
The tour was nice but I would have liked to stay a little bit longuer in the Volcanoes National Park. Unfortunately, due to "mother nature", we were not able to see the lave tube.
Reviewer: Lucie Benoit
4 Stars
Volcanos!
June 01, 2019
Our favorite part of our whole trip!!
Reviewer: Sherri Whitlock
5 Stars
The Best Hawaiian Tour!
May 30, 2019
This was by far our favorite tour in Hawaii! After a visit to a beautiful ark with a lesson about Tsunamis, we visited the macadamia nut plantation, the beautiful Rainbow Galls, gorgeous flowers at the greenhouse, and then the volcano national park! So much to see - cost me fortune to get all my pictures developed but it was worth it. Don’t miss this tour!
Reviewer: Steve S.
5 Stars
Awesome Tour Guide
May 27, 2019
The tour guide was very informative and I thought this was an awesome tour.
Reviewer: Dorothy Konschak
5 Stars
Spectacular Views
May 24, 2019
Hilo is just gorgeous with breathtaking views and a great environment everywhere you see. People are friendly and inviting. The tour guide was full of wonderful information and made us feel right at home.
Reviewer: Alonso Blanco
5 Stars
Edmund was wonderful.
May 24, 2019
Great tour and Edmund made it special.
Reviewer: Bill
5 Stars
Great day, awesome guide
May 22, 2019
Our tour guide Giovanni was very friendly and knowledgeable. We saw so much in the time that we had and enjoyed listening to his stories.
Reviewer: Carla Walli
5 Stars
Best of the Big Island and vol.....
May 16, 2019
Edmond our tour guide was exceptional. His interesting stories and history lessons about the Hawaiian people made for a great excursion. He went above and beyond to show us the best that Hilo offered and the lava fields were very interesting. To see the old lava flows up close was very special. Because visibility was very poor at the top of the Volcano he adjusted our tour accordingly.
Reviewer: Carol Guthrie-Kolins
5 Stars
Great Big Island Tour
May 16, 2019
This was a wonderful tour of Hilo and Volcanoes National Park. We were on the Big Island several years ago for 9 days with a rental car. We thought we'd seen everything, but our guide took us to places we'd not discovered on our own. Highly recommend.
Reviewer: Cindy
5 Stars
great tour
May 15, 2019
This was an excellent tour. Driver went out of his way to make sure we had a full day. He was very informative of the area. He also included extra places that were not advertised as part of the tour. Was very safety aware for his clients.
Reviewer: Dale Larsen
5 Stars
Great experience
April 19, 2019
Well informed driver....many stops along the way to take pictures...stopped at many of the same stops the cruise line would have... Enjoyed the time on the island...
Reviewer: Marc Friedland
5 Stars
Big Island and Volcanoes Nat Park
April 07, 2019
We enjoy our tour and will use your company again. Guide was great and knowledgeable.
Reviewer: Christine Smith
5 Stars
Great
February 22, 2019
Excellent guide Dre
Reviewer: K g
5 Stars
Great Tour
February 07, 2019
Enjoyed this tour a lot. Tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. Loved everything about this tour. Seeing the sea turtles and volcano was amazing. Would definitely recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Marcia Westrick
5 Stars
Great tour
December 19, 2018
Tiana was incredible in her knowledge of the Island and communicated it to us in a very humourous way! Again the small group (14) was great, and she made sure we were ahead of all of the large busloads of tours!
Reviewer: Alice Kubek
5 Stars
Excellent tour
November 02, 2018
Excellent tour and very informative guide. The information we printed from your web site indicated that a lunch voucher was included but the guide said that had not been provided in the last 10 years. You must give accurate information in your promotions.
Reviewer: Doug Wiebe
5 Stars
Great Tour Guide
April 23, 2018
Saw a lot, learned a lot, and was entertained a lot. The driver was funny, witty, knowledgeable and charming.
Reviewer: Carl Reinighaus
5 Stars
Volcano Tour
April 16, 2018
It took us a while to find the tour guide but after that, we had an enjoyable time. We were on a mini bus which was only half full so we were not cramped. We visited numerous places as well as the volcano. The weather was not the best, rain on and off. Our guide was great and continually kept up a running commentary for us. Great tour.
Reviewer: Alan Graham
5 Stars
Great tour!
January 16, 2018
Edmund, our driver, took us on an excellent tour of the island of Hawaii. First we stopped at Rainbow Falls which was lovely. The next stop was an orchid garden with beautiful displays of different kinds of orchids. Also the anthurium were spectacular. The macadamia nut farm and factory was a handy place to stop for lunch and sample various macadamia preparations. Also a good place for gifts boxes of nuts. Then on to the Lava Tube. Simply fascinating tour although you do have to be pretty fit. The path down to the tube is very steep and the stairs up are steep too. The tube is a very interesting cave-like feature but the informative panels are quite helpful. A quick stop at the steam vents was interesting and enough to wilt everything. We arrived at the volcano and museum in time to see the volcano erupt a bit! The museum was okay. Edmund was friendly, informative, interesting and gave everyone plenty of time at each stop. High marks all around for a great day.
Reviewer: Julia Christian
5 Stars
Wonderful Day
October 30, 2017
Edmond was a great guide. Lots of interesting things to say and answered everyone's questions. Small group (van holds up to 15). Never felt rushed, yet got everything in. Drove too Volcano National Park via one route and back by another, so we could see more of the island. We saw all we had wanted to see and felt it was a great value.
Reviewer: TSOP
5 Stars
Fantastic Volcano Park Tour!
August 07, 2017
This was a terrific tour! Loved it! The guide was so personable and funny! The only thing I would change is more time at the Visitor Center area.
Reviewer: Melissa Dannelet
5 Stars
Wonderful experience!
July 05, 2017
We took this tour on 6/27/17. Paul, our guide, was a lot of fun. We made several stops before going to the volcano itself. We never felt rushed; there were about 8 of us on the mini-bus. Paul was very knowledgeable about the area. I would highly recommend this tour!
Reviewer: Karen K Gaskins
5 Stars
Volcano National Park
May 23, 2017
It was a most enjoyable and fun filled experience. Would recommend it to anyone wanting to learn more.
Reviewer: Robert
5 Stars
Volcano National Park
April 12, 2017
Good tour of the volcano. Got to see the lava and steam coming up from the volcano.
Reviewer: Joan Smith
3 Stars
Wounderful
March 18, 2017
The man that drove us gave us a lot of information about every thing we saw .We had beautiful walks and everything was just wounderful.
Reviewer: Beverly Wippert
5 Stars
Fantastic excursion!
January 27, 2017
I loved this! Terrific guide, great destinations, so scenic! Made me want to return to spend more time there!
Reviewer: Melissa Dannelet
5 Stars
Jam-Packed, Amazing Tour
December 23, 2016
You never have time to do it all, but this tour lets you come pretty darn close. We started with a brief visit to the King Kamehameha statue, then on to Rainbow Falls. Next stop was the Akatsuka Orchid Garden. Then on to my favorites - the Thurston Lava Tube and finally Volcanoes National Park. We were fortunate to see Kilaeua erupting stronger than it has in several years. Our guide even started taking pictures! Edgar is extremely knowledgeable and has plenty of stories to keep your interest throughout the day.
Reviewer: George Tower
5 Stars
Great adventure!
June 03, 2016
N/A
Reviewer: slim
4 Stars
Great tour!
April 29, 2016
We were very happy with our Volcano National Park tour. Our tour guide was great and very knowledgeable - he gave us a great tour!
Reviewer: JudyG
5 Stars
Knowledgeable tour guide makes a difference!
April 25, 2016
Great sites, great info, and fun activities.
Reviewer: Atrain48
5 Stars
Outstanding
March 11, 2016
Nothing negative to report.
Reviewer: Glenda
5 Stars
Great Time !
November 24, 2015
lots of fun and lots to see
Reviewer: P & J
4 Stars
Wonderful experience.
September 20, 2012
Russ was a great guide.
Reviewer: sucograd
5 Stars