5 StarsPunta Tombo PenguinsApril 30, 2018

Reviewer: Ed Welbourn
Great time, enjoy the time with the penguins, terrific photo opportunities.

5 StarsEXCELLENT!!April 16, 2018

Reviewer: Monica
What a great small group experience. Rather than pay double the price and 4x the amount of people we opted to try this agency and what a great experience we had with a smaller group (18)with personalized service of our guide. It felt like we had more time to explore our destination with a smaller group. Great advantage of this smaller size group is NOT having to wait for 80 people on a cruise excursion bus to use a bathroom. Plan to use again on my next cruise!!

5 StarsGreat time!April 16, 2018

Reviewer: Jeff and Lynda
It was a long bus ride but worth it to see the penguins. We were there with ALL the other tour buses so it was crowded but there were more penguins than people!

4 StarsPenguinsApril 09, 2018

Reviewer: David
Penguins were starting to leave the area but there were still many to be seen in early March. The tour drive was long but worthwhile all the same and we beat the main ship tours by quite a bit so we had a better experience all round

5 StarsWonderful Excursion March 25, 2018

Reviewer: Julia Tai
We were so glad we joined this tour and saw a lot of Magellanic penguins. It was well worth the money and we got a lot of precious pictures.

5 StarsPenguins and more penguinsMarch 17, 2018

Reviewer: Bill Gibson
The 2+ hour van ride took less time than advertised. The tour guide was great. The penguins were everywhere and seemed happy to see us. (Maybe indifferent is the word I'm looking for.). The walk to see the penguins was easy. All in all, a great day.

5 StarsPenguins!March 16, 2018

Reviewer: Ewing
This is penguin-lover's heaven! The path through the penguin colony gets you up close and personal.

5 StarsPenguin Shore ExcursionMarch 08, 2018

Reviewer: SHEILA L PERSAUD
Had a wonderfu time on our excursion with a great guide. Was able to see penguins up really close and take great pictures. Very informative.

5 StarsTombo PenguinsMarch 06, 2018

Reviewer: Barry Berndsen
Great excursion with a chance to be with Penguins up close. Excellent value as cruise company offered the same for a lot more $$$. Tour guide provided great information during long bus ride.

4 Starscute penguinsMarch 05, 2018

Reviewer: Jay Moller
Almost didn't see most of them because of a spectacular lightening storm closed the walkway. But they reopened. Walk to the end. Lots of people. Lots of cute penguins. Enjoyed a trip to see Gentoo penguins on a deserted beach in the Falkland Islands more.

5 StarsPenguin ColonyMarch 02, 2018

Reviewer: Weimin Gong
We had a group of 16 people taking this tour to see the largest Penguin colony in South America continent. It took more than 2 hours to get there but it really worth it. The guide was experienced and nice, and a simple sandwich meal was also included. The tour last about 7 hours, not as indicated on the web as a 5 1/2 hour one.

4 StarsExclusive Punta tombo penguins March 01, 2018

Reviewer: Sandra
We did the small group tour and it was great. The tour group met us right where they said they would be. And we able to get out to the rookery ahead of the much larger cruise ship excursions. Wish the guide was more helpful at the path to the penguins , however it was fine. I would have liked a few more minutes to shop for souvenirs (it took longer walking to the end of the trail then we realized) and they dropped off us right at the pier to get back on the ship.

4 StarsPunta Tombo PenguinsFebruary 23, 2018

Reviewer: Joni Plourd
The best tour we did on our South America trip. Loved the penguins! The guide was good too. Long ride to the penguin colony, so wish we could have stayed longer. Only stayed about 60 minutes.

5 StarsUnbelievable ExperienceFebruary 22, 2018

Reviewer: Steve Steinhauer
If you wanted to go up close and personal with thousands of penguins this is the trip to take. You are on a path right through the rookery with the birds crossing right in front of you. You are supposed to remain 2 feet away, but sometimes that's hard to do. The gift shop at the rest stop on the way had the best selection of items, not just tourist junk and at great prices. This was exactly the same trip as offered by the ship at a lower price. Our bus and theirs were the same, and were at the site at the same time as them.

5 StarsPenguins!February 10, 2018

Reviewer: Gregg
A great tour. The bus was new and comfortable; tour guide and driver pleasant, knowledgeable and the guide spoke english very well. Lots of penguins! We literally had to watch our step to avoid them. Ample time to watch and photograph. A nice way to spend the day and money well spent.

4 StarsPunta Tombo penguinsFebruary 06, 2018

Reviewer: Joanne Green
Absolutely fabulous tour !!! I would recommend it to anyone !!! Our tour guide was very informative, the driver was great. It seems like you are going to the middle of nowhere, but well worth the trip. We saw thousands of penguins, it truly was a sight. The highlight of our trip !!!

5 StarsAmazing Shore Excursion - Punta Tombo PenguinsFebruary 04, 2018

Reviewer: Sandy Mason
We had a great shore excursion to see the Punta Tombo Penguins. Finding our tour guide was very easy, the tour guide spoke very good English, the group size was small. Visiting the penguin colony to see the Magelenic Penguins is a must see if your cruise ship stops in Puerto Madryn.

5 StarsGreat experience - top notch operationJanuary 30, 2018

Reviewer: Colleen Neymeyer
Guides holding signs met us as we disembarked from our ship, led us to a waiting van & we left shortly after for the Punta Tombo reserve. Our guide shared information about the area en route and our driver did a terrific job navigating some challenging traffic safely and carefully. Once at the Reserve, we were directed to the viewing area & given the choice to stay with our guide or head off on our own. There were lots of penguins -- in their burrows, swimming in the sea, and young ones just getting their feathers. It was a great experience. Big buses from the cruise ship came to the same location, but the cost was considerably higher. Our guide & driver were aware of the need for us to return to our ship on time and there was no problem with that. Box lunches were provided on our return trip -- they even had a gluten-free meal for my husband (previously requested) that worked out very well. All in all, it was a great experience and we would do this again.

5 StarsExcellent ChoiceJanuary 29, 2018

Reviewer: Anh Nguyen-Huu
We were picked up very much on time. The tour guide was very pleasant and we could see everything that we came to see. She even treated us with lots of beautiful and sweet cherries. The extra help of her assistant made our trip much better as he could speak fluently English.

5 StarsGreat tripJanuary 24, 2018

Reviewer: Ji my xing
Although it's far, the trip was well organized and on time. There are thousands of penguins and it's really worth it!

5 StarsAwesome Time with Penguins!January 21, 2018

Reviewer: Alice
The tour was great, the logistics were as promised, and the tour guide was very knowledgeable and accommodating to our 82 year old mother. Penguins crossed right in front of us, they were everywhere. We were extremely pleased with this tour!

5 StarsPunta Tombo PenquinsJanuary 09, 2018

Reviewer: WILLIAM YOUNGER
Long bus trip but well worth the trip. Always prefer to explore with shore excursions group.

4 StarsPenguinsJanuary 08, 2018

Reviewer: Charles Prior
enjoyed the tour. the guide was informative about the penguins and their habitat. would have liked to have more time, only allowed for 1 1/2 hours Negative - the sound system in the van was not working properly and the guide would not face the back.

5 Starspunta tombo penguinsApril 07, 2017

Reviewer: Dave
Excellent tour. Guide and driver were great. Well worth doing.

4 StarsPunts TomboApril 06, 2017

Reviewer: atarnaiz@aol.com
Nice tour, too long of a drive.

5 StarsPenguins!March 23, 2017

Reviewer: Suzanne Ostle
I wanted to see penguins, I saw penguins. Lots of them. I loved it! It was hot that day and it is a two hour ride by bus but who cares, we saw penguins, and also Rheas and guanacos. There are a lot of people there so be prepared for crowds.

5 StarsPenguins galore with Llamas and Ostriches a bonus March 17, 2017

Reviewer: Pierre Boucher
Of all th excursions taken on our 21 days cruise, this excursion was the highlight. Picked up at the gangway by a tremendous guide, we boarded a well equipped AC Bus for a 2 1/4 hour drive through Patagonian scenery. The long drive accompanied by information was worth it. Punta Tumbo is Penguin Rookery is a must see. A good hour walk on flat terrain of gravel, dirt and wooden walkway requires good walking shoes. Strong winds, sunny day and low temperatures demanded layered clothing, hat and sunscreen. Mercedes our great guide accompanied those who wished to be. Tens of thousands of Magellan Penguins made this visit a pure joy; remember that Penguins have priority of way! The walk is through thousands of Penguins, a tremendous experience. We were also happy to see numerous Llamas on sit and on way to and from Punta Tombo. Our bus driver in addition stopped twice to allow passengers to see and take picture of Ostriches, a bonus as we did not know that Argentina has two toes Ostriches!

4 StarsPunto Tombo PenguinsMarch 17, 2017

Reviewer: Hugh Trumbull
Nice small group. Good, fun guides, good English. Well done. Caution: Clear accurate description of time and meeting place is critical!!

5 StarsFantasticMarch 09, 2017

Reviewer: Lynn Atkins
This venue is over the top. I was expecting to see Penquins, but the amount of them (over 5000+) all in one place was over whelming. The quide was wonderful full of information & explanations. She had numerous visual aid as well that were passed around. Since we were a tour of 12, we had plenty of time with the Penquins to see everything at the site, including time to get a snack & drink & also to shop.

4 StarsNice ...February 27, 2017

Reviewer: Rosa Valencia de Estrada
This was the excursion that made our cruise be worth the expense.

5 StarsPenguinsFebruary 26, 2017

Reviewer: Lynn Atkins
The tour was fabulous. My husband & I were in a group of only 10 people. the ship excursion had many buses with over 40 people ea. Our guide was very knowledgeable. She had many ,many pictures of hand around to the group. Being in a small group & in a small tour van rather than a huge bus, the driver (separate from the guide) was able to make great time on the drive to the venue & return to the ship giving us extra time at the port city to shop & explore. I would recommend this tour to my clients.

5 StarsenjoyableFebruary 26, 2017

Reviewer: Pam
We had beautiful weather, which is never guaranteed. We were not on a huge bus, but a smaller "bus"--which we much prefer. Tombo has a great visitors center and it is a wonderful walk out to see the penguins. We really enjoyed this trip.

5 StarsDream come true!February 21, 2017

Reviewer: Cindy Guendert
If you have always wanted to see penguins in their natural habitat, this is the excursion for you! Yes, it's over two hours to get there from the port, but most of the roads are great, so it's not a bad ride. We had about two hours at Punta Tombo, and I loved every minute of it. Yes, there are tons of other people there, but there is so much space and so many penguins that it's not much of an issue - the only places that were really crowded were the viewing decks overlooking the two swimming areas. Easy walking, mostly flat, either crushed stone path or boardwalk depending on where you are.

4 StarsHalf a million penguinsFebruary 12, 2017

Reviewer: Rick Carlton
Long bus ride to and from. Almost 3 hours each way but the 2 hours with the penguins was worth it. The chick's were 2 months old in January and because of the food abundance this yeas almost all nests had 2. The best place in Patagonia to see Magellan penguins.

5 StarsAmazing!February 08, 2017

Reviewer: Barbara Lee
As we traveled to the rookery, our guide gave us an overview of the region, it was both interesting and informative. When we arrived at the rookery it was truly amazing! Not at all what I expected. You may have seen penguins in a zoo, but seeing them in their natural habitat is totally awesome! The fact that they travel a great distance to the water to gather food for their young and know exactly which nest is theirs out of thousands! It is truly amazing, a tour not to be missed!

5 StarsPunta Tombo Penguins--Amazing!February 07, 2017

Reviewer: kent francis
This was an amazing trip and with the long 2.5 hour ride each way to see them, we were happy we were in a small van ahead of the large busses from the ship. We saw the penguins and it was worth the trip being there virtually alone to see them in their environment. Great trip!

5 StarsGreat tourJanuary 28, 2017

Reviewer: Warren Westall
It was a small tour of four people and we arrived at Punta Tombo well ahead of the swarms of tour buses and we really had some quality time at the park.

4 StarsPenguins were delightfulMay 17, 2016

Reviewer: Jua nalaloca
We missed our original tour-had the wrong time in mind; Representative at the pier arranged to put us on this tour, which we very much appreciated.

5 StarsEverything was greatMay 03, 2016

Reviewer: Panama Jim
That cruise was my 95th and I have to say this was one of my favorites stops. The weather was great, service was great, everything went smoothly. I'm booking my 96th and 97th cruise and using this company for my excursions. Highly recommend.

4 Starsquite thrillingApril 27, 2016

Reviewer: g
nice to see over 1/2 million penguins. Buttttt, the bus ride was VERY long....2.5 hours ....each way

5 StarsAmazing amount of penguins!April 13, 2016

Reviewer: S.A.CHICA
I use excursions that teach me something about life.

5 StarsThey estimated that half a million where there.April 13, 2016

Reviewer: Van
Different than anything I have done or seen before.

4 StarsLots of PenguinsApril 12, 2016

Reviewer: Ruth
Seeing Magellanic penguins in their habitat was a unique experince.

4 StarsWould have been better before MarchApril 08, 2016

Reviewer: Donna
We went near the middle of March. Lots of the Penguins had left already. It was a long drive with not much to see.

5 StarsI will definately do this again. What a fantasticApril 01, 2016

Reviewer: S. K.
The trip was great. Everyone seemed to enjoy it . We were glad that we were able to beat the crowds .

4 StarsPenguins GaloreApril 01, 2016

Reviewer: gypsy1711
It's about 2 and 1/4 hour drive each way (a short portion over dirt roads) and you get approximately 1 hour to walk a trail through the rookery. There are several 'overlook' sites, and the trail goes right through their habitat. You can't help but see Penguins

5 StarsInteresting and EducationalMarch 30, 2016

Reviewer: Maryland Bob
Nothing special but worth seeing.

4 StarsCool place to visitMarch 28, 2016

Reviewer: ac555us
There are 3 of us in a private car, the drive/guide was very nice and gave us a detail tour in the museum. And help us take pictures and allow us to take as much time as we wanted to go through the 2.5 mile reserve. We enjoyed the well organized of the Tombo reserve.

5 StarsWay better than cruise ship excursion!March 26, 2016

Reviewer: JDS
This was way cheaper than the same excursion on the cruise ship. It was a smaller van so we got there an hour before the hoards of crowds. Much better experience and they ensure you get back on time.

5 StarsIt's well worth the drive!March 19, 2016

Reviewer: Lovestotravel
This tour provides an opportunity to see and walk among thousands of Megallanic penguins. Lots of fun watching them swim and waddle around in their natural habitat.

4 StarsGuide was knowledgeable about Punta Tombo and pengMarch 17, 2016

Reviewer: WC
Product cost was reasonable compared to ship tour price.

5 Starsincredible -- penguins all around!!March 15, 2016

Reviewer: Denim
Great opportunity to see lots of penguins in their natural habitat.

4 StarsLots of penguinsMarch 11, 2016

Reviewer: Jan
A long rough road to the Penguins.

5 StarsHighlight of the cruise!February 29, 2016

Reviewer: Rick
One of our best tour days ever, better than imagined.

4 StarsI woul buy this tour agFebruary 29, 2016

Reviewer: Misse
Loved the wifi on the bus

5 StarsTrip of a lifetime !!! A dream came realityFebruary 27, 2016

Reviewer: UBI
excellent product

5 StarsThousands of PenguinsFebruary 26, 2016

Reviewer: Ed
It was a long trip from the cruise terminal, but well worth it. Saw so many penguins as well as other animals and birds. The guide escorted us thru the penguin sanctuary and pointed out nuances about the area and the penguins.

5 StarsThe most amazing shore excursion we have ever takeFebruary 22, 2016

Reviewer: Gremlinshotel
This is a once in a lifetime experience that is quite expensive, but well worth it.

5 StarsLong bus ride but was very rewarding at Punto TumbFebruary 19, 2016

Reviewer: Punto Tumbo
Great trip

5 Stars200 thousand pairs of nesting penguins -- need I sFebruary 17, 2016

Reviewer: D&D
We loved our excursion to see the Magellanic penguins at Punta Tombo. The babies were born in late November and we were seeing them at about 6 weeks of age. They looked like fuzzy basketballs with feet -- so adorable! It was sunny, windy and cool, and the penguin parents were doing their best to keep up with the feeding demands of their little ones. There are over 200 thousand nesting pairs here, and I think we saw most of them. Just amazing to see them swimming, diving, walking, feeding little ones, etc. An amazing and rewarding adventure!

5 StarsThe penguin preserve was amazingly unique!!!February 16, 2016

Reviewer: Rick
Walking around in a nature preserve with thousands of penguins in their natural habitat was incredible, especially since the weather was nice and the coastal location allowed us to photograph the penguins on both land and water.

5 Starsi would buy this product againFebruary 15, 2016

Reviewer: ann levesque
very fun experience

4 StarsMany penguins in natural habitatJanuary 26, 2016

Reviewer: SeaPro
After a 2+ hour drive, we arrived in Punta Tombo, which is very nice and well preserved. There were so many Magellanic penguins there (we saw tens of thousands, but they said that there were more than half a million!) and we were able to watch them quite close (sometimes less than a few feet). Although it is pricey, we thought that this would be a once in a lifetime opportunity.

4 StarsDefinite Advantage Over Ship ExcursionsJanuary 16, 2016

Reviewer: Stevesol
The excursion we took had about 15 people as opposed to the ship having 35 or more per bus. We we able to get to the location quicker, spend more time and be back at the ship faster thanthe ship's tour

5 StarsLots of PenguinsMarch 11, 2015

Reviewer: Dee
I loved that it was such a small group and a small bus. It was a long ride but worth it. We were there at least 45 minutes before the ships buses which was nice to avoid the big crowds. Don't miss this trip!

5 StarsPunta Tombo is the way to see PenguinsMarch 05, 2015

Reviewer: jjthetravelguy
We were told how close we could get to penguins, but did not really believe it until we got there. A spectacular experience. Thousands in any direction.

5 StarsPenguinsApril 01, 2014

Reviewer: Ned
The tour provided opportunity to see penguins close-up and to see how they nest and raise their young. Our tour was in early March and the penguins were just beginning to migrate back up north to Brazil.

5 StarsFantastic!!!!!! Super guideMarch 30, 2014

Reviewer: Olivia
Keep up the good work. Enjoy touring with your company

4 StarsGreat ExperienceMarch 25, 2014

Reviewer: Genie
This is a once in a life time experience. We were surprised at how close you actually get to the penguins. We have one picture where we were about 5 feet from a penguin. The site is very well laid out. Since the site takes a while to reach, and the land getting there is flat and full of scrub brush, bringing along a book to read and something to munch on would be helpful.

4 StarsExcellent Viewing of the PenguinsMarch 18, 2014

Reviewer: Cheryl
We really enjoyed our tour to see the penguins. It was a once in a lifetime experience. It was great to see how the penguins live in their natural habitat instead of in a zoo or sea life park. We would definitely recommend your tour because we were allowed a good amount of time to see the whole area without being rushed.

5 StarsExcellent tour. Very well organizedMarch 07, 2014

Reviewer: LINN THE ADVENTURER
GREAT TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!!

5 StarsA wonderful way to see the penguinsDecember 22, 2013

Reviewer: Panda
A wonderful day which will we will remember for a long time. It was lovely to be able to walk as far as we wanted. As I'm disabled I could watch the penguins as I wait around halfway, while the others completed the extended walk.

5 StarsEducational and exciting!April 13, 2013

Reviewer: me
This is another great tour by Shore Excursions Group. Visiting the Penguin Colony, learning their habits, watching them: what fun! We also learned about other local animals, such as the Guanaco. A worthwhile tour.

5 StarsWonderfulMarch 29, 2012

Reviewer: travelling woman
Loved viewing this attraction in a smaller group. We had the preserve all to ourselves until the cruise ship buses arrived with their 30 to 40 passengers per bus. Saw penguins, guanacos, mara, and a rhea in their natural environment without a lot of people to scare them.

5 StarsWonderful Viewing of PenguinsMarch 28, 2012

Reviewer: Ron Delaney
Absolutely fantastic.