Explore Best of Puerto Plata

History
March 25, 2020
Enjoyed the tour this was my second time downtown ,enjoyed the history.
Reviewer: Janet McGeein
4 Stars
Great Tour / Great Tour Guide
March 03, 2020
it was a walk from the pier to get to the Tour Bus, but was well worth it. Nice tour, very informative and our tour guide and bus driver were wonderful. So glad we we booked this tour through our travel agency. It was not offered by the cruise ship.
Reviewer: Irene
5 Stars
A great way to see Puerto Plata
February 28, 2020
We had a small group, and a wonderful guide. We went up on a cable car and the view was beautiful. From there to the fort and then into the town of Puerto Plata. The pacing was good, not a lot of climbing around and enough time at each location. I felt that the tour was a good value for the money. About 3 1/2 hours to see a lot. A long walk to meet the tour, as one must exit the port area and walk down a street. They did warn us, but a long walk.
Reviewer: Paula Wills
5 Stars
Amazing
January 29, 2020
The tour was informative and fun. The tour guide was knowledgeable, friendly and engaging.
Reviewer: Arvena M Shults
5 Stars
Great tour
January 21, 2020
Guide was excellent and saw all the highlights.
Reviewer: Erica
5 Stars
Great tour
January 21, 2020
Very informative tour guide. Loved the rum punch.
Reviewer: Elena
5 Stars
Amazing
December 24, 2019
This was one of the best tour. Great guide and very friendly. The sights were beautiful and the city was just magnificent. Will definitely book again
Reviewer: mariama
5 Stars
Wonderful history, views and local flare.
December 18, 2019
We were a party of 5 and thoroughly enjoyed the "everything" tour of the area. From the history to the scenery to the local flare we were well cared for. Very professional. We had a great tour guide too! I highly recommend this tour over the ship tours. The walk is interesting but there's a Utube video to help. The rum punch was a bonus! One of the best tours I've been on.
Reviewer: Janna
5 Stars
Great tour.
December 11, 2019
This was a great overview. The cable car provided great views and was not included in the ship offered tour. We also like the small size of the tour, not a big bus. Highly recommend.
Reviewer: GARY OSTBY
5 Stars
Great tour
November 11, 2019
I’ve been to Puerto Plata before but this tour showed me places I hadn’t seen. Small group, comfortable bus & great tour guide. Well worth the cost
Reviewer: Victoria Mayhue
5 Stars
Great experience.
October 30, 2019
From start to finish, this excursion was excellent. I contacted them several times prior to the trip for information, and their responses were consistently prompt, professional and informative. Our guide, Henry, was outstanding. He reiterated at the beginning of the tour that this is a cultural tour, not a shopping excursion, and the itinerary proved him right. His love for his country and his knowledge and enthusiasm for its culture shone at every turn. In addition, he was constantly sensitive to the tour participants and their needs, and his excellent command of English made it easy to communicate with him. One caveat to anyone thinking of taking this tour: the walk between the meeting area and the ship took us a bit longer than we anticipated, perhaps due to the weather being very warm that day. On a cooler day this excursion would have been absolutely perfect.
Reviewer: Patricia Ray
5 Stars
A Lot of FUN !!!!!!!
September 30, 2019
Our tour guide was great !!! Thanks Milton for everything, your pride and your knowledge of your countries history was very impressive. If you go to amber cove on carnival cruise line and don't book this excursion you are missing out on a great time.
Reviewer: Leone DeMartino
5 Stars
Excellent Tour & Beautiful Scenery
August 19, 2019
Victor was our tour guide along with his two co-workers. He was incredibly knowledgeable and friendly. I learned so much on this tour. We felt safe and were well taken care of. We had rum punch or soda and water on our way back. The views from the highest point were beautiful. You will not be disappointed on this tour plus we had a small group which was nice.
Reviewer: Michelle McLane
5 Stars
The best service
May 16, 2019
Víctor creo que era si nombre fue el que nos dio la excursión y todo muy divertido muy bien explicado, cualquier pregunta que teníamos nos la contestaba, me encanto la isla y si regresara volvería a tomar esa excursión
Reviewer: Alejandra diaz
5 Stars
Good way to see everything
May 09, 2019
The actual town of Puerto Plata is a good distance from the cruise terminal so the best way to experience it is with a comprehensive tour. The "Explore Best of Puerto Plata" tour was an excellent tour for this purpose with the trip up and down the mountain by bus and cable car is the highlight many tours do not include.
Reviewer: Steve Lyczak
4 Stars
Scenic and informative
May 07, 2019
My wife and I had a great time on this excursion. Our guide, Victor, was very knowledgeable about all the sights we saw and the included rum punch and other drinks was icing on the cake. Highly recommended!
Reviewer: Henry K Lee
5 Stars
Wonderful experience!!
April 15, 2019
The tour was absolutely wonderful! Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. The tour shuttle was new, very comfortable and had wifi. We would highly recommend this tour and this company...Amber Cove Adventures.
Reviewer: JS
5 Stars
A Great Experience!!
April 08, 2019
What I thought would be a boring day, Victor turned it into a day I won't forget. Extremely knowledgeable on the History, agricultural and politics of his country. I read other reviews on the "long" walk to the meeting location. It's not that long of a walk, so don't hesitate to enjoy the culture of this country. Or the rum punch!
Reviewer: Walt Hicks
5 Stars
The Best of Puerta Plata
April 03, 2019
I would highly recommend this for all ages and abilities.The air conditioned ride with complimentary water & rum punch with tour guide "Victor" was well worth it.He was full of information about the Dominican sites, flora/fauna, & people all while climbing the mountain & seeing the breath-taking views.The driver was very capable & both made us feel safe.Christ the Redeemer pics at the top with the "cable ride" down provided so many photo ops.
Reviewer: Rebekah L Hartline
5 Stars
Great overview
March 21, 2019
This was a nice overview of Puerto Plata and the Dominican Republic. Our guide Milton was very personable and informative. I liked the small group size, and we were taken around in a comfortable van. A nice mixture of sights was included, the cable car ride off the mountain, the fort (including time inside), the main square and the cathedral. Good value for the money !
Reviewer: Kris Senecal
4 Stars
Puerto Plata excursion
February 26, 2019
What a wonderful way to spend a day seeing so much of this area. We had a great trip and saw so much diverse area in our time off of the cruise ship. This is a great way to see a lot of the countryside in a short time. Our tour guide, Henry, was super nice, friendly and entertaining!
Reviewer: Angela Farris
5 Stars
Tour of Puerto Plata
February 14, 2019
This was excellent. I would highly recommend Henry, the tour guide. Nothing was too much of an effort. Personable, creative, generous. We saw so many things. Had a chairlift down the mountain . The island is amazing. So beautiful.
Reviewer: Leigh Hart
5 Stars
Don't miss this tour!!
February 06, 2019
What an awesome, amazing, fun tour!! We had to walk outside of the cruise center to our bus. It was a 12 minute walk. Worth it if you are healthy!! Once on the tour bus, we met our group and tour guide Victor. He was the best tour guide ever! We learned about the history, culture, vegetation, herbal medicine, politics, Larimar stones that are produced in the Dominican. Local stops, Spanish fortress and photos at the 'Christ the Redeemer statue .Beverages on board. JUST DO IT!!
Reviewer: Bettye Boone
5 Stars
Enjoyable
January 13, 2019
This was a very enjoyable trip as we took a small van which showed us the non tourist part of the island. Although it was along walk in the heat to get to the destination, an air conditioned van and cold water were waiting for us. The park was very beautiful and we were luky we were going down the cable car since there were 20x more people waiting at the bottom to go up. Not all that much to see in the city. The fort was ok and we enjoyed the ride along the bay. Our guide was very polite and kept us on schedule.
Reviewer: hal crane
4 Stars
My experience
January 09, 2019
Although the walk to the van was quite long the execution was well worth it. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable. He answered all our questions. He knew so much. He allowed us time to take pictures. It was a wonderful experience for me aa this was my first time there. I would recommend this excursion to all.
Reviewer: Glenda Johnson
5 Stars
Explore Best of Puerto Plata
January 08, 2019
Victor was our tour guide and he was magnificent! He was a native with a long history in the Dominican Republic. He was informative about the history, religions, fauna, flora, and local entertainment. He was friendly with a great personality and had amusing anecdotes to keep us smiling. We also learned about local medicinal herbs that are used by the native people. Don't miss this tour.
Reviewer: Marti
5 Stars
Best of Puerto Plata
December 09, 2018
Wonderful tour with an excellent guide.
Reviewer: Nancy Sutherland
5 Stars
Outstanding
October 18, 2018
We absolutely enjoyed our excursion. The guide was excellent. . . so informative and pleasant. We saw so many interesting sites on this tour. I would highly recommend it.
Reviewer: Barbara Nell Odland
5 Stars
Awesome Tour
October 04, 2018
The only reason we are not giving this tour a 5 star rating is that it was a healthy walk in the HOT sun out of the Carnival complex, although we were greeted with complimentary water. Don't let that be the reason why you don't take this tour. Our guide, Gamma, was INCREDIBLY knowledgeable and helpful. We also had a driver and assistant whose names we can't remember nor pronounce. We especially loved learning about the different species of plants and vegetation that grew along the mountainside. Gamma knew we were so interested in the native vegetation that we even made a special stop to get FRESH mango and bananas to go along with the rum punches that he also provided. Gamma and his helpers were more than willing to answer any and all questions we posed--political, botanical, financial, historical, cultural, etc. We would take this tour again and recommend you do too!!
Reviewer: Todd French
4 Stars
Review of Explore Best of Puerto Plata
October 01, 2018
We took this tour in Sept. 2018. It was a great tour. The bus was clean and had great air conditioning. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and he spent a lot of time telling us all about the island. We also went on the sky tram where we saw beautiful views of Puerto Plata. They served rum punch and soft drinks on the bus. I would recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Deborah Janson
5 Stars
Entertaining and Knowledgeable
September 23, 2018
A great tour begins with an entertaining and knowledgeable guide. Ours was that and he kept us interested in the local vegetation during the whole trip. The replica of Christ the Redeemer was great and the cable car ride was awesome with spectacular view of the port.
Reviewer: Marina King
4 Stars
nice fun tour
July 30, 2018
I loved this tour. It was a very fun and informational tour for us. We get to see a lot of thing. The tour guy was great, he explained everything to us and helped us take a lot of group pictures (which was something we don't get to do much cause my husband usually was never in the picture since he was the one holding the camera).
Reviewer: wai
4 Stars
Pretty good!
July 16, 2018
I enjoyed our guide Milton as he aimed to please offering water, rum punch beer and cookies after each stop. He was very knowledgeable and steered us clear from hawkers.Great glimpse into the city. I only wish there were more stops and opportunities to interact with the native people.
Reviewer: CJ
4 Stars
Very best!
July 02, 2018
My family and I were totally pleased with our tour guide Victor, he was the best and was very knowledgeable on the history. We enjoyed the scenery, the people and we were able to do some jewelry shopping. I would definitely recommend!!!
Reviewer: Denise
5 Stars
City tour
May 31, 2018
Excellent tour our tour guide was very knowledgable . He took good care of us answered all our questions . We really recommend this .
Reviewer: Sunita kaushik
4 Stars
Explore Best of Puerta Plata
April 02, 2018
Had a great time. Victor was very informative about the islands culture, agriculture, sights & political history. Informative, but never boring. I had a great time and Victor made this excursion on of the highlights of our voyage. I learned a lot and had a good doing it. Would highly recommend.
Reviewer: Paula Conroy
5 Stars
A very enjoyable day!
March 15, 2018
This tour company is top notch! I received both e-mail and a phone call making sure we knew how to find our way to the pick up point. The map they provided helped. The ride by bus through the town, past markets, and through the rural countryside was fascinating and quite lovely. The descent in the cable car was lovely.
Reviewer: Penny Kuzyszyn
5 Stars
Great excursion
January 10, 2018
This was a small group in a van not the 55 passenger buses like the cruise excursion people went on. I like smaller. The scenery was nice - city and country views and a cable car ride from the top of a mountain. They stopped at a jewelry factory so be prepared if that’s your thing. Well worth the price. Since this is not a cruise ship tour they do not let the van into the pier area, you have to walk a short distance to the highway to get the van.
Reviewer: Dan
5 Stars
Very interesting
January 08, 2018
Our guide was great; very interesting and informative. We learned a lot about the history of the area as well. I highly recommend this excursion.
Reviewer: Jaque Peterson
5 Stars
Puerto Plata
January 02, 2018
Very good tour and excellent tour guide. Saw a wide variety of local sites with sufficient time at each to enjoy them. Would highly recommend it to those wanting to know more about this location and its history. Only negative - meeting point is outside of the port area and takes about 15-20 minutes to get there.
Reviewer: AGD
4 Stars
Fun day in Puerto Plata
December 04, 2017
One of the best cruise tours I’ve ever taken. Staff very knowledgeable about the history of the area. Extremely friendly and courteous service. Everyone on the tour had a great time!
Reviewer: Kathy E
5 Stars
Wonderful Tour
December 02, 2017
Would highly recommend this tour. The guide was great. Spoke very clear English. The group was small. The tour was very interesting & gave us a great view of life in Puerta Plata. The scenery was beautiful.
Reviewer: Barbara Anderson
5 Stars
Extremely knowledgeable and very accomodating
November 02, 2017
My mom and I actually got to the meeting spot after the tour bus had left and the owner drove us so that we could meet up with the bus along the tour. As she drove us she talked to us about stuff that we saw along the way, about life in the Dominican Republic and about her self. She went above and beyond. When we finally met up with the bus the tour guide took right over and made us feel very welcome. I HIGHLY recommend this company and this tour.
Reviewer: Kalenea
5 Stars
Best of Puerto Plata D R
September 22, 2017
We had a great time the tour guide wash excellent we got to see a lot of places in Puerto plata that we had never visited before, the ride and the view up and down the mountain was incredible, the town and the fort of san felipe were clean and pleasant to visit, we had a great time, we will visit this area again.
Reviewer: Gonzalo Hernandez
5 Stars
Explore Best of Puerto Plata
August 01, 2017
We had a wonderful time, our tour guide was very informative and knowledgeable.
Reviewer: Leslie Baker
5 Stars
Amazing tour guide and driver
July 13, 2017
We had an amazing time with our tour guide Milton. Milton truly showed us the Best of Puerto Plata. I totally recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Marie & Frank
5 Stars
A VALUABLE INTRODUCTION OF PUERTO PLATA
June 26, 2017
After the nice impression of the tourist center followed disappointment - it was hard to find the bus, located outside ot the port's gates. Our guide Victor tried to compensate with friendly approach - he introduced the group to the history of Hispaniola island and Dominican Republic; shared facts about recent events with videos, demonstrated knowledge about the plants from the tropical forest of Mount Isabel de Torres. We obtained unique photographs with the statue of Christ Redeemer (with the help of local girl), enjoyed the cable car ride down, the visit to the Fort San Felipe, Parque Indepencia and the Cathedral. It'll be better if the tour lasted a little bit longer.
Reviewer: E. KRUSTEVA
5 Stars
Excellence in the details
March 23, 2017
This was a 5 star tour. We had an excellent, informative tour guide Victor. The guide really wanted you to know his country and was very willing to answer any questions. The guide took my husband thru the local market while the rest of the group did a little shopping in a local jewelery store. It was a small group of seven people. The tour was a good overview of the Puerto Plata area. The tour provided water, local beer and rum punch. We were also give local cookies and plantain chips to try. Even thou it was a walk to get to where the tour was allowed to pick us up, it was well worth the effort.
Reviewer: Sharon
5 Stars
Nice tour
March 17, 2017
The tour was good and informative. The tour guide was excellent. The tram was interesting, but the clouds rolled in and so it was difficult to see. Overall, I'd recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Richelle/Gerry Grzadzinski
4 Stars
Excellent tour/guide
March 05, 2017
Victor was our guide and was very knowledgeable about everything - the plants, the people, everything. We spent about an hour on the mountain before taking the gondola down. The clouds came rolling in, making viewing more difficult, but still a smooth ride down. We toured the San Felipe fort and downtown area and learned about the city. Would recommend!
Reviewer: Richelle & Gerry Grzadzinski
5 Stars
Would DEFINITELY recommend this tour
February 28, 2017
Great excursion and gave great value for money. Carnival don't make it easy for these guys - they are located well outside of the gates of the port but once you walk along and find them they will be extremely welcoming and accommodating. The tour guide was friendly and very knowledgeable about the area and the island as a whole. The tour bus takes you through the 'real' Dominican Republnc as well as to the main attractions, so you get a great glimpse into all walks of life on the island. The bus was comfortable and airconditioned and the stops were frequent enough that the whole tour felt very well paced. The stop at the fort could have lasted a little longer but other than that we would not have changed a thing. It's a slightly whistle stop type tour but it is very comfortable and does give you the chance to see varied beauty spots and points of interest. The staff were all very friendly and polite and dropped us off even nearer to the port as someone in our group had a bad knee.
Reviewer: Suzanne Pemberton
5 Stars
Puerto Plata
February 27, 2017
The tour was excellent, the guide and driver were very good. Good value for your money. The only little problem was the walk to the meeting place far to walk and hard to find the white umbrella
Reviewer: Theresia Skoberne
5 Stars
Puerto Plata Tour
February 16, 2017
Tour was excellent. Tour Guide, Milton, was very knowledgeable and enjoyable in his overview of the island and its history. We did not want the tour to end. It was by far the best of the three tours booked on this cruise. Kudos to Milton and the driver. If I return to the DR, I would request this tour again contingent upon having Milton as a guide.
Reviewer: Lanell Ramsey
5 Stars
dom rep/amber cove
February 16, 2017
the tour guy knowledge of the island was very good. I like some of the places we visit but not to happy about some but nothing to do about the driver or the tour guide just some of the areas in general.
Reviewer: norma and miguel cardona
4 Stars
Great tour
February 14, 2017
Once we got to the van, we had a great tour. Carnival/Princess owns the dock area, so they don't allow other excursion groups to come into the port. It is a long walk to get outside the gates to the vans. Once we got there the tour and tour guide, Milton, were great. Also had refreshments on the way. Highlight is a trip to the top of the peak where a model of Brazil's Christ the Redeemer is located; then took the cable car back down to the bottom to meet our van again. Tour guide was entertaining and knowledgeable, telling us about local plants and how many are used as medications.
Reviewer: Buck Waida
5 Stars
puerto plata
February 10, 2017
Good excursion. Long walk to van. City has crazy drivers. Our driver and guide was great.
Reviewer: Janice Morris
4 Stars
Could have been a little longer
January 19, 2017
we did not get to see any nice residential areas but the tour guide was charming and animating. I was hoping to see a little more of the country.
Reviewer: Jane Gentile-Youd
4 Stars
Great variety
January 17, 2017
With Victor we saw so many of the tourist attractions. It was great. And we appreciated that we had the tram ride down the mountain before the crowds arrived. He was a great guide.
Reviewer: Geraldine
5 Stars
Puerto PlataTour
January 13, 2017
The tour was wonderful, the gardens and the Tram ride were spectacular. The self paced tour of the Fort allowed us to understand just what the importance was. Once we found the van,the walking was easy, the pace relaxed. Getting to the Tours was another matter, Carnival, who owns the port, has all private Tour located 3/4 from the pier head, no signs, no one seems to know anything. It is most obvious that Carnival does not want you to take a tour that they don't make money own!!
Reviewer: John Pardee
4 Stars
Not to be missed!
December 27, 2016
We had the best time ever! Our guide was very knowledgeable and took excellent care to make sure we saw everything. We highly recommend this. It's atitle confusing getting off the ship and trying to understand where we needed to go. You have to walk out of the big gates to connect with them. The folks inside the gates aren't very helpful.. but once we got our bearings, it wasn't a problem.
Reviewer: Barbara Noga
5 Stars