Exclusive Best of Rome

Wonderful walking tour of Rome's highlights
November 28, 2022
The guide we had for our walk through Rome's highlights was wonderful. She did an excellent job of describing what we were seeing during our tour of the Coliseum, walked us through several plazas, including where the Trevi Fountain is, and provided some free time at St Peter's Square (but not enough time to enter the Basilica).
Reviewer: Pamela Mathison
5 Stars
Best of Rome
November 25, 2022
This was outstanding and Maria was exceptional. Front the start of reservations to pickup, your itself, to drop off were amazing. Thank you
Reviewer: D Wyatt
5 Stars
good but could use time better.
October 31, 2022
It was great to wonder around Rome and see the different fountains, town squares, and I really enjoyed the colosseum. I wish we could have gone inside the Sistine Chapel. I would have gladly given up some of my lunch time or time at the colosseum to see it. We could have waited in the line or got a skip the line ticket. We got to just walk by all the excavation of the old forum and I would have liked to stop even for a few minutes to look at that. Our guide(Renee) was wonderful and very knowledgeable.
Reviewer: Dara Williams
4 Stars
Amazing City and great guide
October 29, 2022
Wow! What an overview of room we received. It was perfect for the first time in Rome. Or I would even say that your first day in Rome. It gives you an amazing overview of the city and leaves you of course wanting to come back for more. My husband and I both decided that that's where we want to spend a whole week sometime in the future
Reviewer: Gina Monique Birkholz
5 Stars
Exclusive best of Rome
October 22, 2022
Enjoyable excursion, great tour guide & beatiful Places.
Reviewer: Merlita del Valle
5 Stars
rome
October 22, 2022
great guy spoke English well
Reviewer: Ron Graff
5 Stars
The ONLY Tour! Informative, timely, and fun!
October 19, 2022
We weren't too sure what to expect w/ this. Upon arriving at the transportation hub, our driver was waiting for us near the road with a sign with our names. He drove us into Rome where we met our tour guide. Our guide took us to the Trevi fountain, Coliseum, Pantheon, Vatican City, and MUCH more. The smaller tours are WORTH it! You'll get far more information, see more sights, and get to know your guide compared to the larger group tours (we did those as well in other locations). The guide wrapped up with enough time to get us back to our cruise ship without a worry. We would ABSOLUTELY recommend this over ALL others.
Reviewer: Mike
5 Stars
Awesome!
August 16, 2022
This your is very well organized and hits the keys of Rome.
Reviewer: Rodolfo Zamora
5 Stars
Best of Rome
July 21, 2022
The tour took us to all the best spots in Rome. Pick up was a little bit confusing at first but we were able to find the tour leader. The bus was nice and comfortable and air conditioned which was definitely a must given the hot weather. The tour guide was very informative and they gave us a good amount of time to explore our own. They made sure to give us spots to use the restroom and get refreshments and snacks. We had nice stop at a restaurant for lunch that they recommended which was very good and reasonably priced. Highly recommend this tour as it was a lot cheaper than the cruise ship's offering.
Reviewer: David Trinh
4 Stars
Exclusive Best of Rome
November 27, 2019
Full day tour. The first portion of the tour was on the bus with a guide, who gave good overview of Rome history and pointed to key interesting sides, when driving through streets of Rome. Second portion of the tour was walking through the city with a professional Rome guide. The tour was well organized, including enter to the Colosseum without waiting in line (reserved time). Hour time in Vatican was not enough, but this is when you combine so many interesting places in one day. Overall excellent and highly recommended tour.
Reviewer: Kaz Furmanczyk
5 Stars
Rome/ Alissia
October 24, 2019
she was the perfect tour guide along with the guy who was very knowledgeable., he could have been a professor! The collesium was spectacular and Rome was a must see in Italy, our favorite was the Trevi fountain and the cathedrals. I hope to make it back some day.
Reviewer: sherry
5 Stars
Great Taste of Rome
October 16, 2019
This tour was great! It was a seamless process to get from the cruise boat to the tour meeting spot and everyone was friendly and knowledgeable. Once we got to Rome, it felt a little unorganized at first but once we got settled, it was great. The city is very walkable and all the major sites are very close to each other. Our guide seamlessly took us from place to place giving us a bit of history and pictures to imagine a time back when. My only complaint is things felt a little rushed and unorganized at times. But being able to see so many sites in one day will mean you don’t have a lot of time to spend at each place. Overall, I highly recommend this tour as an introduction to Rome but to deep dive, you should plan a second trip for more time.
Reviewer: Cathy Taveras
4 Stars
Good tour
October 02, 2019
The tour guider is very knowledgeable.
Reviewer: Lisa
5 Stars
Terrific overview of Rome
September 24, 2019
Really enjoyed our 1 day highlights tour as we were able to take in many of the key points with significant and engaging historical background provided by our wonderful guide. We also skipped the extensive line at the coliseum and when we returned on our own a week later could see that we had been given a great overview of the highlights.
Reviewer: Tod Arnold
5 Stars
A must to take
July 14, 2019
This excursions was really well organized. Having a guide walking with you in the City and talking about the major historical places it’s a must. I am recommending this excursion.
Reviewer: Yves Proulx
5 Stars
Excursion - Best of Rome Tour
July 03, 2019
The ride from the port to Rome was pleasant and not as long as indicated in the excursion maybe traffic was less. The tour guide on the bus and the Tour guide leading us around Rome was extremely courteous and knowledgeable. The tour itself was really great although there is a lot of walking and unfortunately we did not get into St.Peters basilica the wait time was crazy by the time we got there in the afternoon , I think the tour should try and get in early as possible but then maybe there would not be enough time to see the rest . the highlights were fabulous and seeing them in person was really worth the price. The temperature was up and the walking was moderate for sure. I would recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Martin Blanch
4 Stars
Excellent Tour
June 20, 2019
Mickey was an awesome tour guide. He was very knowledgeable and patient. He kept plus on task and created extra time. We covered a lot of Rome in a very short time. It was a great experience. Thanks for making our first trip to Rome an enjoyable one
Reviewer: Paul and Gayle McWhorter
5 Stars
Best of Rome tour May 2019
June 06, 2019
We enjoyed our busy touring day in Rome, in spite of the heavy traffic in Rome, & a long delay at the Coliseum & issues with our entrance tickets. We didn’t get an explanation of what went wrong & it was very stressful for our tour guides & upset participants standing in the heat. We finally were granted entrance & then didn’t have much time to spend there. I think our guide’s name in Rome was Maria & she was excellent. She was very knowledgeable, calm & professional & did her best to fill in time with interesting information. It was a rushed day with shortened time at the Vatican & not being able to enter any churches/cathedrals (which really didn’t bother us). It was a large group for the guides to keep track of & big bus for the city travel. The directions for meeting the tour were not clear, & the tour company was not there when we arrived. But it worked out. A good overview of important sites in Rome.
Reviewer: Gail Robinson
4 Stars
Excellent Tour Guide
May 23, 2019
Miki was an excellent tour guide! He was very knowledgeable and made sure to keep track of everyone on the tour. We were able to see everything we wanted in our short time in Rome. Highly recommend this tour!
Reviewer: Sundi Beltz
5 Stars
trip to Rome
April 21, 2019
The trip was good but the time spent at each location was too short. The tour guide was very knowledgeable.
Reviewer: Richard Liu
4 Stars
Great tour of Rome
November 13, 2018
We had two outstanding guides for this tour. Marco and can't remember the other guides name (sorry). They kept track of us all throughout the crowds and answered any and all questions we had. Very interactive and knowledgeable! They suggested a nice sit down restaurant for lunch. Food was delicious!!
Reviewer: Becky Johnson
5 Stars
Excursion Best of Rome
November 01, 2018
I am glad we chose to do the excursion. We enjoyed the guide, he was very knowledgeable. We had a great time. Thanks
Reviewer: Billy & Julia Moore
5 Stars
Roaming Rome
October 05, 2018
Excellent tour. Major sites, Coliseum, etc, guided by a well versed guide. Explained the times, people and living conditions. Very enjoyable
Reviewer: Clifford Shepard
5 Stars
Great tour
October 04, 2018
Excellent tour. Guides were awesome and very informative. Enjoyed having 2 guides. The “Shepard” watched our backs and kept up with everyone.
Reviewer: David Irelan
5 Stars
Jam packed with sites!
September 19, 2018
Our guide was Erturk, the only Civil Engineer who is also a certified tour guide in Rome, making his descriptions of thre architecture very rich. His passion for Italy is apparent. Our group representative was Alessandro, who did a great job teaching us to say 'Civitevecchia' and educating us on the way to Rome. If your tour is on Wednesday, don't expect to see inside the Basilica. The church is closed in the morning, leaving everyone to tour in the afternoon so the lines are beyond ridiculous.
Reviewer: Julie Mills
5 Stars
Roaming Rome
July 09, 2018
Rome wasn’t built in a day and it certainly can’t be seen in a day either. Particularly in the summer. I wish I had known how to get inside of Saint peters basilica instead of the Colosseum. However the tour guide was very kind and the bus was wonderful. The ride was also beautiful. Just know that you can’t see at all and there are many other people who want to see it all too. I particularly enjoyed the Pantheon and didn’t even know how beautiful it was.
Reviewer: Mary
4 Stars
Best of Rome
June 25, 2018
Excellent transportation to and from port to Rome. Excellent itinerary and superior guides. It was also a nice size group of about 20 people.
Reviewer: Fred Azua
5 Stars
Great Tour
June 25, 2018
This was a very organized tour. We were met by our guide who was there when we arrived. We rode in a huge bus. The tour had about 16 people in it, so that was nice. We met up with our other guide who actually did the tour. The other guide helped keep track of everyone. He was great! He made sure we all stayed together and no one got lost. Even though, there was a lot to see, I didn't feel too rushed. Everything we saw was amazing. Tons of people everywhere. Great tour overall.
Reviewer: Elisabeth Hansen
5 Stars
Rome in 15 Thousand steps
May 21, 2018
Rome is a city filled with history and wonder if ever you dreamed of experiencing the best of this ancient city this excursion is for you. As you wander through the ancient streets Maria your tour guide will fill your mind with the imagination of living in the past as she brings its forward to the present; every corner is filled with wonder and beauty of the ancient world in modern Rome. However be advised this tour requires a lot of walking, you don’t feel it at the time because you’re captivated with the wonder and beauty Rome had to bring. In addition, if you want to enter the sistine chapel this tour is not for you. True you enter Vatican City but it is no value added to this trip and takes away from your ability to see other wonders; the Vatican city tour is one enough itself . There were no regrets on this tour it was a dream come true .
Reviewer: JR
5 Stars
Good time in Rome
November 07, 2017
The tour is well organized. Within one day we visited most of the popular places including Vatican City and St Peter square.
Reviewer: Wendy
5 Stars
Fabulous hassle free Rome
November 04, 2017
Tour guides were wonderful. When you see the lines and busyness of Rome you will appreciate having all the details handled. We got to see inside St Paul's. So much info on the Colliseum. Being picked up and dropped off is the only way to tour a packed itinerary. Worth the $
Reviewer: Cynthia Ferguson
5 Stars
Rome excursion
October 16, 2017
The two guides were absolutely fantastic! The only thing we were very disappointed in the schedule. We should have gone to Vatican City in the afternoon instead of the AM when a religious ceremony was happening. The guides knew it happened every Wed AM. We should have gone there in the afternoon so we could go into Cistine chapel like the cruise ship excursion they offered did. Plus skip the line tickets. The colisium was great.
Reviewer: Zane Blegen
4 Stars
This is the one of the best tour
October 07, 2017
We enjoyed the tour. The tour guide was very nice and with a lot of experience.
Reviewer: Amy Sun
5 Stars
EXCLUSIVE BEST OF ROME
January 06, 2017
Tour covered all the major sites. Very good tour personnel, lots of info on what we were looking at. Just a little too long at the coliseum for my liking. Overall well done
Reviewer: B. Alexander
4 Stars
Great tour!
December 15, 2016
Best of Rome is a fun and efficient way to see a lot of Rome in a single day. Our tour guides were friendly and knowledgeable. The tour of the Colosseum was exceptional. We were lucky and got into St Peters Basilica, for a brief tour of that memorable cathedral. We were also lucky with the weather. I have memories and photos to treasure.
Reviewer: Carol Pine
5 Stars
Great job all around
December 05, 2016
Ok, to begin, very important, make sure you are off your ship quickly and get the free port shuttle bus from the ship to the port entry. I almost missed my trip because I was waiting in line. As for the excursion itself, it was great. The seeing of the sights is fast paced, however, when seeing Rome in a day, its either see it fast or don't see it at all. This trip will not go into the Vatican, in case you are wondering. The guide was good, spoke clearly and was entertaining. At the Coliseum, he had a tendency to carry on with his education, however, I can understand why. The one thing I would say is add an extra 10 or so minutes for lunch so one could venture away from the square we had lunch in. It seemed much more expensive than something that was right around the corner. Other than that, a great day in Rome!
Reviewer: Tom
5 Stars
Best of Rome
December 04, 2016
It was a nice tour but not enough time to see much. Not even enough time to go to the bathroom and to go and visit the inside of the St Peter's Cathedral in Vatican City. You feel like you're being rushed in all the attraction you need to visit.
Reviewer: Emma Gonzales
4 Stars
Rome
November 06, 2016
Excellent guide. We wore ear phones that made the lecturing so much easier to hear. What a city! So much to see! Our guide worked around traffic and unforeseen obstacles (Vatican City was barricaded in celebration of a holy day) and got us into the Pantheon and the Coliseum quickly and effectively. A full day and one of our favorites on this trip.
Reviewer: Ellen
5 Stars
Guide
October 07, 2016
Excellent, knowledgeable.
Reviewer: Louise Hedley
5 Stars
Exclusive Fest of Rome
August 24, 2016
So much to see and so little time. Very good way to see a lot in just one day. If you hope to see inside the Sistine Chapel, this is not the tour for you. Just not enough time because of the crowds. But you do get to go into St Peter's and it is beautiful. The Colosseum is simply amazing and well worth seeing. Our guide in the city was fantastic.
Reviewer: Jeff Brewer
4 Stars
Great Guide-Lots of Walking
May 24, 2016
The guide had perfect English, great style, good communicator, loved the ear buds. The long walks are arduous for those who aren't in shape.
Reviewer: Gene in Rome
4 Stars
Best of Rome
May 24, 2016
Great guide saw and learned alot. Alot of walking. Downside was missing seeing the Vatican inside. Took too long with other sites like Pantheon. Other downside was issues with website when I paid. Was charged twice on best of Rome.
Reviewer: Greggo
4 Stars
The Best tour Guide!
May 24, 2016
Vincent is perhaps the best tour guide of any that we have experienced. He was extremely knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the things he was showing us and about any topic that came up. It was like having a tour with a fun college professor. It is impossible to dig into Rome in a day, but we definitely got our moneys worth. We were concerned that the ride in from the cruise ship would cut into our touring experience but no problem we saw everything we were expecting to see and returned to the ship with smiles on our faces.
Reviewer: jdmguitar
5 Stars
Lifetime Memories
May 12, 2016
The excursion included a bus ride through some parts of the city, with the guide pointing out sights, and then we stopped to do a walking tour which was fabulous, our guide did and excellent job of explaining historical sights and keeping us all together! After that we got back on the bus for a drive over to the Coliseum, which words can't even capture the magnificence, and then back on the bus for a trip to Vatican City where we had maybe 40 minutes to explore on our own. We packed a lot into a day and it was worth it!
Reviewer: Laura
5 Stars
Highly recommended.
May 11, 2016
This excursion was extremely well organised. We were concerned if with reasonably tight schedulle and heavy traffic on the day we would have manage to return on board on time. But we did. Our guide was superb - we cannot find the words to value her knowledge and skills to keep us interested in ancient/modern Rome history. It was a fasinating day. Great thank you. No cons whatsoever.
Reviewer: andy64
5 Stars
Best of Rome
July 01, 2014
Rome is a must adventure as I've been twice before. Unfortunately our guide was not very good, she was very hard to understand and she didn't wait for the group before she started talking. It would have been nice if she guided us through the Vatican.
Reviewer: Maggie
4 Stars
An great excursion at an exciting time
May 20, 2014
This excursion almost didn't happen. We were scheduled to be in Rome on the day the 2 popes were being canonized. The cruise ship canceled their excursions into Rome, because Rome was expecting 5 million people at the Vatican. However, the Shore Excursion Group did not cancel their excursion, and we are so thankful that they didn't. We had a good guide, but because of the size of the group they passed out headphones to everyone so we could all hear the guide, no matter how far away she was. We didn't go to the Vatican because of the crowds, but we saw the major attractions that we wanted to see, such as the colosseum, and the Trevi fountain. We wife was excited and we had a great time. The excursion covered a lot of ground and information, but it was well organized and I would highly recommend it.
Reviewer: Stu & Jerry
5 Stars