Calafia Valley Wine Country

Calafia Valley Wine Country
November 22, 2022
We had the most wonderful time. Our group was small so we had more time to wine taste & shop. Our tour guide was friendly & knowledgeable about where we were going and the history of the area. He said if you are looking for more of a party atmosphere come during the weekend. If you want a more laid back feel come during the week. The rep for LA Cetto Winery was fantastic. His enthusiasm was infectious. I will recommend this tour to my friends.
Reviewer: Rebecca Edwards
5 Stars
Excellent tour, exceeded expectations!
September 20, 2022
This is a safe, wonderful day in Ensenada, rating = 10. Meet outside cruise terminal gates, 5 min from ship. No problems finding host Edgar. Shared a modern, clean limo-van with 10 others. Toured in the lovely nearby wine country to two wineries: L.A. Cetto and Casa Dona Lupe. Edgar = great &told us about the history of the region & the local economy. Nice scenery. Tasting at LACetto supplemented with cheese, olives, bread & olive oil, a nice touch. After buying wine, we drove 5 min to Casa Dona Lupe. There was live music, shaded seating, more wine tasting & Edgar provided unique breads and cheeses for us. The wines here were ok, but there is a shop that sells many jams, salsas, hot sauces, food to purchase. Good quality. The facilities at both locations were clean & spacious. Edgar was an exceptional host. Afterwards had option of being dropped off on in a shopping area within walking distance of the cruise terminal, or dropoff at our starting point just outside the terminal gates.
Reviewer: Bridget McLaughlin
5 Stars
Beautiful countryside, delicious wine
September 13, 2022
We had a great time visiting the wineries on this tour. Our tour guide was friendly, engaging, and spoke great English. The rolling hills outside on Ensenada remind me of central Italy. We are going to do this excursion again on our next cruise.
Reviewer: Alex Boshaw
5 Stars
Wonderful Excursion
June 17, 2022
It was a pleasure taking an excursion with Califa. They were already waiting for us when we got to the meeting point. Both the driver and guide were very professional, respectful, and accommodating to us. The excursion was a wonderful over all experience. I would recommend and do it again.
Reviewer: Arturo Carbajal
5 Stars
Enjoyable tour
May 17, 2022
We greatly enjoyed this tour. The two wineries we visited were totally different but had a great time at both. They were generous with the wine, cheese and freshly baked bread.
Reviewer: Linda Emery
5 Stars
What a great experience!!!!
May 12, 2022
I highly recommend this excursion. It was a small group of just 7 of us on a small 12 person van. The guide was entertaining. The wineries were wonderful. There were other groups from the ship at the same wineries but they were in large tour bus groups of 30-40 people. This was the best way to go!
Reviewer: Bob
5 Stars
Great Choice
May 08, 2022
We really enjoyed this tour. We were the only 4 on the tour so it was very personalized. Our guide and driver were excellent! The guide for at the first winery was very good and the tasting and the bread and cheese was an added bonus.
Reviewer: Mike & Dixie Teague
5 Stars
A great choice when you have a day in Ensenada
April 06, 2022
We were driven and guided by Edgar, who is a wealth of knowledge on the area's history, landmarks and wine. We visited the famous L.A. Cetto, taking in the amazing views, marveling at their production capabilities, and enjoying their fantastic wines. We made our second stop at La Casa de Dona Lupe, where we were treated to a lovely violin performance and met some very friendly cats. At both we enjoyed bread, cheese, olive oil, and other delicious treats. We returned to our ship, very happy with our experience, and with enough time to have a nice lunch and do some shopping before sailing away. I encourage my fellow cruisers to skip the ship's excursion and give this one a try.
Reviewer: David Leeson
5 Stars
Wine Country
April 02, 2022
We booked this tour through Shore Excursions and were very pleased with it. There were 8 in our group, so we were able to get personalized service and hear the knowledgable guide. The guide gave us just enough info about the wineries, and the wine tasting was varied and generous. We enjoyed the drive to the wine country, and we made purchases at both wineries. We had an issue with one of our purchases, which we noticed after arriving home, but after communicating with the winery, they more than made up for the error. We also contacted Shore Excursions Group, and their contact with us showed how concerned they are for their customers' satisfaction. Highly recommended.
Reviewer: Vicky Okamoto
5 Stars
Excellent small group tour
November 27, 2021
Thoroughly enjoyed this small group tour to two wineries about 45 minutes from Ensenada. The first one L.A. Cetto was very large, while the second La Casa de Dona Lupe was smaller with more casual feel. Generous tastings at both. It was great being with a small group before the large ship's tours arrived. Sorry I don't recall our guide's and driver's names but they were both terrific.
Reviewer: ML Jamison
5 Stars
We Felt Special
November 26, 2021
My husband and I were the only two on this excursion and we had our own driver plus a tour guide who was friendly, knowledgeable and provided interesting information about the region. We were given individualized, preferred treatment and we were happy we weren't part of the Princess mob that followed us. Wine and food samples were very enjoyable. Beautiful day. Excellent value for this excursion.
Reviewer: Kristine Birge
5 Stars
Great time
November 23, 2021
We had a small group with plenty of room in the van. Plenty of wine to drink and food to eat on this tour. Tour guides were very great too.
Reviewer: Bradley D Randel
5 Stars
Great wine tour!
November 08, 2021
There were only four of us from the ship. The tour guide was lovely and our driver was great. Took about 45 minutes through a pretty drive into the valley. First stop was a large commercial winery with a lovely tasting room. Good wines. We bought two bottles. Second stop was more for the quality of their jams and cheese. Wine was fair. Some liked it. Overall great value compared to ship tour and we had a great time. Highly recommend!
Reviewer: Bob Crawford
5 Stars
Great Tour
October 20, 2021
Our Guide, Esther and Driver Ramon were exceptional! Esther's English was outstanding and she knew the history of the area and the wines. The wines were delicious. At La Casa de Dona Lupe, each person selected four wines of their choice. The breads and jams accompanying the wines were excellent! We had to buy wine and the Cheese Jalapeno bread! Would recommend this tour to all wine lovers.
Reviewer: Karen
5 Stars
Amazing Value
March 27, 2020
Did this tour in January. Highly recommend! Tour guide and driver were excellent. This is a small group tour and I think we had about 12 people on our tour. Drive out to the Wine Country was relaxing and very similar to the landscape in the Temecula region of Southern California. I enjoyed the food tastings and laid back atmosphere at the 1st winery. LOVED the wine and cheese/bread at the second one. You won't be disappointed.
Reviewer: Jeanne
5 Stars
A very pleasant day in Ensenada
March 11, 2020
Booked this tour for our family (2 Adults 2 kids 14 and 13). We were greeted right outside of the docks and escorted to the waiting bus. It is about a 45 minute ride to the wineries. The wineries were very pleasant with plenty of food and a flight of wine to try. Although this doesn't cater to kids, they were given a free soft drink of their choosing at each location and plenty of food to snack on. We even got to hang out with a couple of the wineries cats while taking in the warm sunshine. All in all, it was a great experience shared with about a dozen other folks from the cruise. A great experience that I would recommend.
Reviewer: Gary Battaglia
5 Stars
Awesome Excursion
January 09, 2020
Quick reasons why my fiancee and I LOVED this excursion: -Small, intimate group size -15 Passenger Van (No charter bus!) -Fluent and easy to understand guides all around -Tip the driver! He spills facts the entire drive to the vinyards and then keeps quiet during the drive back (because you are likely full from all the wine/food and probably want to take a quick nap) -Take home bottles range from $12-$15 (we brought home 9! and didn't have any problem getting through customs) -Preferred the wines at L.A. Ceto (the bigger vinyard) You cannot go wrong with this trip! While everyone else is cramming at the blowhole, you'll be enjoying this very personal experience with no more than 8 total people.
Reviewer: Juan Mateo
5 Stars
Great Experience
January 06, 2020
Our tour guide was very informative. Our group size was perfect (5 people). We got to experience some great wines from 2 different wineries.
Reviewer: Reyna G
5 Stars
Wine Tasting at Calafia Valley Wine Country
December 22, 2019
Our tour guider did an excellent job during the entire time and very helpful. He did 100% +.
Reviewer: Omovie Okpakpor
5 Stars
Beautiful Wine Country
December 04, 2019
It was an enjoyable excursion. We have been to the location before and wanted to do something besides a beach excursion. The guide and driver were great and both wineries we toured were nice.
Reviewer: Karen Gibson
4 Stars
Fantastic tour!!
November 13, 2019
This churro is a fantastic way to spend our day in Ensenada. I had no idea that the wine country was so beautiful. Our Mercedes van was extremely comfortable and our tour guide was informative and fun. The first winery we went to gave us multiple tastes of wine, homemade pizza, olive oil and multiple jellies and jams. The second winery gave us a fantastic tour of their operations.
Reviewer: Cindy
5 Stars
Fabulous Day of Wine and Fun
October 05, 2019
We had a wonderful tour of the wineries-one small and intimate and one large, commercial with lots of amazing educational and interesting information about the winemaking process. We finished our tour with a stop for amazing street tacos!
Reviewer: A Hansen
5 Stars
Great experience
August 16, 2019
We really enjoyed our wine tasting tour. Though we had drunk way too much the night before, our tour guide was very understanding and took it easy on us. We were the only two to show up for the tour and so the day was based upon what we wanted. The wineries we visited were very nice and extremely clean and well kept. The cheeses, olives and jams we got to taste were AMAZING. I would definitely recommend this tour. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and explained everything about the area as we drove from one winery to the next. Great experience!
Reviewer: Heidi Woods
5 Stars
Wonderful!!
August 14, 2019
We had the best time. This excursions is was so worth it.
Reviewer: Nina Cerda
5 Stars
It was a fun, relaxing time
August 03, 2019
In the first winery we had good snacks (including pizza) with our wine, and there was plenty of treats in the store to try and buy. The second winery came with a tour and cheese with crackers. I enjoyed the different flavors
Reviewer: Robin Viso
4 Stars
Breathtaking views
July 31, 2019
So glad we did this. The meeting point was just as described and in time. Our guide was very knowledgeable with the area as well as with the wineries. The drive there was absolutely beautiful. We would’ve never gotten to see this part of Ensenada otherwise. They had little snacks for us at both wineries which was just enough. The first winery had food for purchase as well. Would totally recommend this excursion.
Reviewer: Norma Flores
5 Stars
Excellent Wine Tour of Mexico Calafia Valley
July 02, 2019
We were met close to a short walk by the Cruise port in Ensenada, Mexico. We were shuttled on a comfortable ir conditioned Tall Mini Van and loved visiting the 2 Local Wineyards, each had a nice family feel and the staff/families were very gracious and the tour was very interesting and appropriate.
Reviewer: Johanna & Jack John Dillane
5 Stars
Wine Country
June 25, 2019
Edgar our driver was excellent. Young, knowledge and full of enthusiasm for his community and the wine region. We toured two wineries. (wish there had been more). Impressive wine groves and great wines. Highly recommend a tour if you're looking for relaxation and enabling you to enjoy and learn about the region. Much better than the cruise ship tour, same stops but they were on a big coach bus and we were in a well maintained-van.
Reviewer: robert mckenzie
5 Stars
Absolutely Loved It!
May 24, 2019
This was a great tour and they spared no expense with the tastings of both wines and foods! The tour guide was very knowledgeable and informative. We purchased this excursion outside of Carnival so we weren't able to count on Carnival to assist us with where to meet, but the directions provided were excellent and when we got in the general area the tour guide came and took it from there and made sure we felt comfortable. The wineries were beautiful and there was lots of picture opportunities. I would absolutely do this again and again!
Reviewer: Leeann J
5 Stars
Wine Country Tour - Ensenada
May 22, 2019
My daughter and I went on this tour. Our guide was excellent. She gave us a lot of history about Ensenada as we travelled to the wineries. Both wineries were unique and each one had a different experience. The different wines we tasted were of very good quality and the food samples were very tasty as well.
Reviewer: Arla Burton
5 Stars
Wine tasting
May 14, 2019
Excellent tour. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable. Beautiful winery. Wines were not expensive. Plenty of picture opportunities.
Reviewer: Victor Tinoco
5 Stars
Wine country tour
May 07, 2019
The tour was wonderful Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly The drive through the countryside was lovely.
Reviewer: EmilyLouise Klatt
5 Stars
See a beautiful part of the country
May 02, 2019
From the beginning this was great. The tour guide was informative, the ride was relaxing, the wineries outstanding. The country is so beautiful out there that it is a must see. We bought wine, olive oil, and jams.
Reviewer: Debra Hallmark
5 Stars
Great wine country excursion
March 31, 2019
We really enjoyed this excursion to two wineries. We sampled wines at both locations and were treated to some great snacks as well. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly.
Reviewer: Dennis
5 Stars
Interesting tour of 2 vinyards
March 26, 2019
Our group had 2 no-shows, which we waited about 25 minutes for before leaving. If you decide to not go, have the courtesy to call the operators and tell them, please! Each person is allowed 4 small samples from each of the 2 wineries, along with cheese and crackers. The 1st winery also had liquors to sample (4% abv, so not very strong). This was the 1st time I had toured a vineyard, so it was interesting. The 2nd vineyard we visited the fermenting and aging rooms, which was pretty impressive. Getting back into town about 2:30pm, I and 2 others opted to get dropped off in town, while the rest were brought back to the ship. I took a shuttle bus back to the ship about 4:15, browsing the port gift shops awhile before re-boarding the ship.
Reviewer: Dwight
5 Stars
Great excursion!!!
March 15, 2019
Small group size and personalized tour on the way to the wineries. You were on your own at the wineries but there were special guides for the tours and tastings. There was plenty of time to browse and shop. We even met the daughter of the owner. We love how the mode of transportation is a mini-van and not huge tour bus! Also, the cost was less than the cruise ship's price..... for the same excursion. The only difference is not receiving the $5 bottle of wine per guest, which was nominal. We were able to select exactly what wines we wanted after the tastings, for close to the same low price ($5 - $9 per bottle)!
Reviewer: Cheryl
5 Stars
Beautiful - interesting and relaxing
March 13, 2019
We were taken with only 6 of us in a van (very nice). Two of the most beautiful wineries in the town (And there are alot ofthem). We had great snacks like breads, cheese etc. Then sampled a good amount of wine. In fact at the second facility our tour guide broke out with his favorite wine and we finished that bottle!
Reviewer: terri baker
5 Stars
Beautiful country and Tour
February 22, 2019
We had a great trip though lovely countryside from Ensenada Mexico. Our tour guide was very good.
Reviewer: P Dunne
5 Stars
Wine Tour!
February 06, 2019
My wife and I were very pleased with the Wine Valley Tour. The guide was wonderful and provided tremendous insight and background on the community and the wine region. The wineries were wonderful, the staff was friendly and the wines were awesome!
Reviewer: Randy Hyatt
5 Stars
Great tour guide and tour
January 29, 2019
The tour van was a 5 minute walk from the ship. The van accommodates 10, but there were only 6 of us. On the drive up, we learned about Ensenada and their wine making region. The first tasting room had 10 different varieties of wine available for tasting, but you can only choose 4. They also offer a variety of liqueurs and jams that are not to be missed. The second tasting room had a sampling of 4 wines, 2 white,2 red. After a quick tour, the guide provides the tasting in a private area adjacent to the regular tasting room. After all of that wine, cheese and bread we wanted tacos and asked the tour guide for a suggestion. Thankfully, everyone in the van wanted tacos and he drove us to a clean, affordable taco place where everyone enjoyed a good meal and then drove us all the way back to the pier. This was a great experience for everyone in my party and it felt personalized. This is the third excursion that I’ve done through shore excursions group and I’ve had great experiences so far.
Reviewer: Jennifer Vielman
5 Stars
Wine Tasting Excursion
January 21, 2019
It was easy to find the meet up point and there were a few helpful people to point us along the way. We ended up leaving earlier then scheduled as our whole group was there. This turned out to be a little too early to enjoy wine tasting at 10am. By the time we made it to the second winery and went through the tour it was closer to noon and the wine was more palatable. The driver was nice, knowledgeable and helpful.
Reviewer: Paula Fortunato
4 Stars
Nice trip to two vineyards
December 12, 2018
In Guadalupe valley. Drive is about 45 minutes, Some traffic in town. Easy and short walk from cruise ship to meeting place. The first one is a small vineyard with big yard. A local business. Wine is good but pricey compared to the second one. Quality good. Small farm always more expensive. Second one is a large business, products sold to many countries. Wine, olive oil, vinegar, all cheaper. The factory guide is great, very knowledgeable. Our guide is a nice guy too. We're a small group with 4 only, in a big van. He talked a lot to us, very informative. End of the trip, we stopped by a silver shop downtown. But don't feel you have to buy. Vendor can be quite aggressive to make a deal. Total time about 5 hours plus. The guide is good, sent us back to port, spent extra time more than the specified time.
Reviewer: Bin
5 Stars
Wine in Mexico
November 12, 2018
We were met on the pier by our tour guides and shown to our nice van. Our tour guide was a local and knew details about the areas we traveled through on our way out to the two wineries. Both locations were well appointed with friendly staff and facilities. One of the wineries had lots of different items to buy in their gift shop; vanilla, tequila, tea, seasonings, etc. We also were able to do tequila tastings at this location. Our tour guide offered us the option to be dropped off at the shopping location in town or be taken back to the ship. Most of us opted for the shopping location. The shopping area is only a couple of blocks from the pier and easily walked. Our guide kept us entertained during the trip in both directions and was willing to give us personal information about how he lives his life in Mexico. The tour company is professional and well run. My friend and I enjoyed ourselves and would certainly go again if we are in the area.
Reviewer: Darlene Martin
5 Stars
Calafia Valley Wine Country
November 04, 2018
This was an excellent 1/2 day tour designed for around 8 people. Our guide/driver (Eduardo) was excellent. His local knowledge was second to none. He provided a running commentary about each area we passed through on route to the vineyards. The wine tasting and trip around the distilling area was first class. On our return to Ensenada we got dropped in the town where we spent a couple of hours exploring and taking in the atmosphere. All in all a trip well worth the cost. Would do it again if I return.
Reviewer: Paul Green
5 Stars
loved it
October 14, 2018
Nice welcome! respectable service. Really friendly driver. Had stopped over for street taco which was really delicious. And also stopped over at the city center for some street shopping which is just 10-15 min walk from the port.
Reviewer: sagardholakia
4 Stars
loved it
October 14, 2018
Nice welcome! respectable service. Really friendly driver. Had stopped over for street taco which was really delicious. And also stopped over at the city center for some street shopping which is just 10-15 min walk from the port.

Reviewer: sagar d
4 Stars
Wine Tour
August 20, 2018
This tour was interesting and informative, but different from what what described. I was expecting more cheese and breads to try with the different wines and I thought we could walk through the vineyard. However, the tour guide was great and it was a good experience. Thank you!
Reviewer: Josie
4 Stars
INCREDIBLE EXCURSION
July 23, 2018
Our cruise trip would have been incomplete if we would have missed Calafia Valley Wine Country visit.Its worth its value to undertake this excursion.The driver of our vehicle was very articulate in explaining the history of the region .He was very polite and humble person..We enjoyed the trip most and strongly recommend .
Reviewer: Khattra Manjit
5 Stars
Fun in wine country
June 25, 2018
This was a fun and informative tour. Our guide was excellent, on the way to the wineries he gave us a lot of interesting information about Ensenada. At the first winery we were presented with a beautiful bread and cheese plate, and after tasting wine we went inside to sample many other products such a jams and salsa. At the second winery we had an excellent behind the scenes tour before tasting their wines, along with another delicious bread and cheese plate. This tour was enjoyed by both myself and my son.
Reviewer: Amy H
5 Stars
Best wine tour ever
June 03, 2018
We went on the Ensenada cruise. Thanks to the amazing wine tour, found out Mexico produces a lot of amazing wine. Who knew!!!! The guides were great and very informative and the people were so nice. We got to taste fantastic wine and had complementary cheese olives breads jams and pizza.
Reviewer: MarLeana Moore
5 Stars
Excellent wine tour
May 22, 2018
Beautiful winery, tour guide and staff at each location were very friendly and knowledgeable. Gorgeous location. Highly recommend this tour. I recommend booking the tour through Costco. It was very easy, secure and convenient.
Reviewer: Beatriz Davalos
5 Stars
Wine Tour
May 14, 2018
Pleasantly surprised. We didn’t know what to expect, heard mixed comments from fellow cruisers. First stop was fine, a smaller winery with a market, clean / comfortable. The second was a large scale winery, very impressive, pleased at this place. The guide was great, sorry can’t remember his name. We preferred this smaller group tour over the large group, we paid less, but we didn’t receive a free bottle of wine and the small group felt like a private tour. We recommend this excursion.
Reviewer: Stan Kaiser
4 Stars
personalized attention
April 30, 2018
We visited the same vineyards that the ship excursion did without the 60 other people. Our tour had 7 people so we got to the sites before the larger groups. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the region and knew the locals. Our small group got personalized attention at each stop.
Reviewer: T L Jones
5 Stars
Calafia Valley Wine Country
April 23, 2018
I truly enjoyed this tour. The tour operator(s) were very knowledgeable about the operation of the wineries as well as the wines. The information provided to the guests on the tour was excellent; we (especially myself) learned a great deal on how wine is produced and, more importantly, I learned HOW to drink wine properly. This tour was truly a treat! I will highly recommend this tour to anyone seeking information regarding it. Thank you.
Reviewer: Felecia C Leak
4 Stars
So worth the money
April 23, 2018
Had a great trip to the Wineries , love the facts that were given. The two wineries that were chosen where is different. Would so go again.
Reviewer: Paul
5 Stars
Tour review
March 24, 2018
This was a very nice to tour. The guide was a really nice person. He explained things in a nice friendly manner. Things were organized, yet relaxed. There were 5 of us on tour, so not packed or rushed like it would have been if we had gone on a bus tour from ship.
Reviewer: Pam Watt
5 Stars
Ensenada
March 18, 2018
Small group in a clean vehicle. Guide Edgar very personable. Nice wineries. Would recommend to others. Greeted near meeting area by other employees and directed to pickup area.
Reviewer: Deborah Brown
4 Stars
Friendly Tour Guide
March 07, 2018
We booked this excursion for our first cruise. What an awesome experience! We went to two wineries and tried about 8 different wines. We also had liquor, salsa, sauce, cheese, bread, olives... There were only 7 of us, so plenty of room in the van. The tour guide was so friendly and knowledgeable about the area. I will definitely recommend it!
Reviewer: Ray
5 Stars
Very good guide!
February 14, 2018
We enjoyed the tour very much. Hosts at both locations are friendly, helpful, and welcoming. The only negative was the long drive to the wineries. Thankfully, our guide made the trip educational and fun.
Reviewer: Rich
4 Stars
1/2/18 Ensenada Wine Excursion
January 25, 2018
The trip was very fine w/ only 6 people in a van. Since I needed a scooter to get around, it was a problem since your people did not know ahead of time.In the future, please put something on the reservation form that would let the people know to bring a vehicle that would carry the scooter. On our trip, your people called both Wineries & they had a wheel chair, so we did ok.
Reviewer: Dale Silimperi
4 Stars
Excellent informative tour
December 18, 2017
The wife and I had a great time on this tour. Got to see some of the countryside and enjoy a bit of wine. Our guide was excellent, nice and informative. Dropped us off in the shopping district at the end of the tour. Highly recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Harry Riddell
5 Stars
Relaxing adventure in Baja wine country
December 02, 2017
We loved this enjoyable, informative excursion - the wine became a fringe benefit. Our tour guide shared a lot of great information about Baja in particular and Mexico in general on the way there during our 45-minute trip on a very comfortable van. The wineries chosen were lovely, with outdoor tasting spots and delicious snacks as well. The wine proved very good, with ample servings. Another bonus is that on the way back, he dropped us off in Ensenada, allowing us to do a little shopping. The walk back to the ship took only about 15 minutes. I also can't say enough about our driver, who was personable, friendly and lots of fun. Costco does it again!
Reviewer: Renee Coha
5 Stars
Best wine tour by far
December 01, 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed our wine country tour while on our Princess Cruise. The pick up point was a little distance from the ship but not too bad. Our driver/guide was wonderful. He told us so many thing we did not know and he was so pleasant. You could tell he really enjoyed his job.
Reviewer: Vicki Keune
5 Stars
Mexican Surprise
November 29, 2017
It was surprising to see so many vineyards 45 minutes from port and to visit two wineries. At the first, the Aztec dancer and pizza were very good. The other winery is apparently the largest in Mexico; quite a major operation. And a couple of the wines were actually pretty good.
Reviewer: Jim
5 Stars
Perfect tour
November 16, 2017
Our Calafia valley wine country tour was perfect. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and attentive and the wineries both gave excellent tours. The group was relatively small which made it even more enjoyable
Reviewer: Mark Farber
5 Stars
Perfect
November 16, 2017
We went to two wineries, both very nice and different from each other. We tasted wine, breads, salsas, jams, cheeses, olive oils, etc. The tour guild was knowledgeable and easy to understand. After the tour he dropped some of us at the ship and some of us at a shopping center within walking distance of the ship. The tour was one of the highlights of the cruise.
Reviewer: Robin Moore
5 Stars
Wine tasting
November 07, 2017
Ms Ana so good and fun ,she told us a lot of history. We plan to come back and see her again .Thank Ana.
Reviewer: Kim Diep
5 Stars
Great Way to see Wine Country
November 06, 2017
We were a little apprehensive about using an off site excursions company but our minds were put to rest as soon as we met our driver. Extremely personable, polite and knowledgable. The short van ride to the wineries into the beautiful countryside. At one of the stops a large bus from the Cruise ship was there as well but we had much more personable service in our small group.
Reviewer: Kevin Biggar
5 Stars
great day - great value
October 27, 2017
We toured with Edgar Oct 2017 and had a wonderful day despite the bus having battery issues. All was handled well and we didn't miss a thing. Wines and food at both stops were very enjoyable. Edgar was an excellent guide, I would go with him anywhere.
Reviewer: Becki
5 Stars
Informative and fun!
October 25, 2017
My sisters and I thoroughly enjoyed the day on the Wine Country tour. Our guide was great and the places we visited were very good. The wine tasting, along with snacks and tour made for a nice day. Highly recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Marcia Moore
5 Stars
Amazing wine country in Mexico!
October 16, 2017
This was the best tour we booked. Edgar was a wonderful guide. So informative the time flew by quickly. We booked another cruise for 2018 and would love doing this one again. The scenic drive was beautiful and the mountains as a backdrop of the vineyards incredible. This tour exceeded our expectations.
Reviewer: D java
5 Stars
Calafia Valley Wine Country
August 28, 2017
Tou guide was waiting at the dock right where the directions said to meet him. We were only 12 on the tour which was a nice number. The first winery -- La Casa de Doña Lupe -- was tasting only and the wine was so-so. But, they also make wonderful jams and jellies for tasting and sale. The second winery -- L.A. Cetto -- included a winery tour with an extremely knowledgeable guide and offered us the chance to taste a wide variety of wines. This tour was most satisfactory and an excellent value.
Reviewer: David Weir
4 Stars
Wonderful trip. Great value for the money.
August 18, 2017
We had an excellent driver who was very informative. We saw the large groups from the cruise ships and were so happy there were just four of us on our "private tour" and had personal treatment at the tasting bar.
Reviewer: Meg
5 Stars
More than what expected
August 11, 2017
The guide was informative, the food and wine was incredible form all places. I would return. Who know Ensenada had soo many great wines.
Reviewer: jean demery
5 Stars
Wine tasting
August 01, 2017
I would recommend this tour to everyone, It was raining and yet our driver and tour guides took special care as not have it hamper our tour. At the end of the wine tasting on the way back to the ship, we mentioned that we were hungry the tour guide stopped at a taco stand for us to have tacos. Best tour ever in Ensanada.
Reviewer: Leslie Baker
5 Stars
Wine country Ensenada
July 28, 2017
Excellent excursion Edgar was very knowledgeable and very helpful I really recommend
Reviewer: ernie araiza
5 Stars
Great Experience
July 12, 2017
The Tour Guide was right where the instructions said he would be. We got Edgar & he was an amazing guide. There were only 2 couples on this trip & we hit it off with them. So the conversation & wine tasting were great. I didn't know what to expect with Mexico Wines coming from Washington but I was pleasantly surprised, brought home 4 bottles for less than $20. More than enough time to enjoy & not feel rushed through the tastings. Edgar also took us to an amazing street taco place that he frequents outside the city after the tour and waited while we ate. I would do this tour again given the chance.
Reviewer: Vincent Babcock
5 Stars
Ana was fantastic!
June 12, 2017
We booked this tour as part of our anniversary trip. Our guide, Ana, was very friendly and very knowledgeable. We arrived early so she was able to taker her time with us. We even stopped for coffee and pastries from a local cart along the way (the apple empanada was the best). We were able to enjoy the history lesson on the way. We went to Dona Lupe where be bought jam and a bottle of wine. Then we visited L. A. Chetto. Danny was our guide and gave us a lesson on proper tasting (as we had never done it before). I highly recommend this tour, and if you get Ana, she is fantastic!
Reviewer: Heather
5 Stars
Very nice
May 13, 2017
I went with my husband and two of our friends, and we had a really nice time. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. The two wineries we went to were Dona Lupe and L.A. Cetto. I highly recommend. We also got back early enough to walk around town
Reviewer: Kayla Miles
5 Stars
A wine country in Mexico, in Ensenada? Yep.
May 10, 2017
Our guide took good care of us. He liked to talk, and gave good information. If you want to hear what he has to say, sit right behind him. If you sit a row or 2 back, it's a struggle to hear. It's a nice ride to the 2 wineries. The wines at both places were not terrible. My only complaint was the tastings themselves. Not that the wines were sub par, but the pours were small and few. On a wine excursion from a cruise ship, I want some wine! Out of all my tasting, possibly I had the equivalent of 1 glass of wine over 5 hours. GIVE ME MORE WINE! The breads, cheeses and jams were delicious.They did not hold back on that. The winery tour was nice. I suppose we could have bought a bottle and opened it up at the winery, but we didn't. This was the most sober I have ever been at any wine tasting trip. And I have done many.
Reviewer: Rod
4 Stars
Wonderful Wine Tour
April 14, 2017
Very happy we chose to do this tour. Ours was a very small group, which we liked and our tour guide/driver, Edgar, was excellent. Both wineries we visited were very good, lots of wines to taste and delicious cheese, bread & olives to nibble on. Also, some lovely scenery with many beautiful vineyards on our journey there. All in all we gave this tour a big five star rating!
Reviewer: Rob & Nora Russell
5 Stars
Nice
March 17, 2017
Good experience
Reviewer: Ming
5 Stars
wonderful Day visiting the wineries
February 16, 2017
We chose to take a winery tour while in Ensenada on a short cruise. We were so happy that we booked with Shore Excursions rather than through the cruiseline. Our tour had 4 people on it and was relaxing, personalized and informative. At the Dona winery we were given special attention rather than coming with a busload from the cruise tour. What a wonderful difference! We loved sampling the jams and cream cheeses and bread and wine. At the L A Chetto winery we had again a very nice informative tour and delightful wines.
Reviewer: Pat Major
5 Stars
Wonderful Experience
February 13, 2017
We had such a great time! Loved the wineries and our tour guide was really fun and knowledgeable. I will definitely be doing this again.
Reviewer: Gabby Kozak
5 Stars
Best Mexico Excursion
February 10, 2017
We were a group of 16, it was pouring down rain, our tour guide and driver were amazing. They went above and beyond to make sure we were safe and warm. We toured 2 winery's, we tasted so many great wines, jams, jellys, olive oils and many more great things. After we were done with wine tasting. We asked if we could stop for Tacos. Our tour guide explained he could not recommend a place, but if he were to have a taco this is where he would go. Needless to say we were all so happy. Best taco in Ensenada "El Trailero"
Reviewer: Leslie Baker
5 Stars
Informative and interesting
January 25, 2017
We booked 2 adults and 1 child trip. Our guide was very informative. not only on the two wineries by the areas as well. Along with the wine and liquors that we tasted, wine and cheese was provided. My daughter was not able to sample the alcoholic samples, so she was provided fruit juice. The second winery was also very nice. We were given instruction on how to actually taste the wines. I learned a lot about the wine making process. I would certainly recommend this tour to folks who are interested in trying new wines and seeing some local countryside.
Reviewer: Kim Gonzles
5 Stars
Love it
January 21, 2017
The gentleman was informative and the wine and cheeses were great. The roads were rough driving, but was a great trip and something I truly enjoyed The group was small, only 6 which made it more personal
Reviewer: Meri
5 Stars
Wine country tour driver and 2nd winery was great
January 21, 2017
The driver was great and it was nice only having one other couple. First winery was ok but the second one with the tour was great.
Reviewer: Mary
4 Stars
Calafia Wine Tour
January 14, 2017
Despite the rainy weather, it was a good tour. The valley is very pretty and the wineries are great to visit. Our tour guide was friendly and informative, and we all had a good time. I recommend the Tour.
Reviewer: Teresa Bippert-Plymate
5 Stars
enjoyed visiting the Northern Mexico wine country
January 11, 2017
The tour was great -- small group and interesting winery guides. The tour operator's guide should have more personality; it would make the tour better.
Reviewer: Cher
4 Stars
Ensenada Calafia Valley Wine Excursion
January 07, 2017
It was a good and enjoyable excursion. The 1st one's wine taste pretty bad, a very different taste with this uncomfortable favor before. Anyway no one from our group (around 12) bought any wine. The 2nd one was just next door, L.A. Cetto. The wine is really good. Good price $4-5 per bottle, more expensive ones $8-10, highest are $80-100. We bought 2@$5 & 1@$8. As good as I would pay $25-30 in California. I wish I had bought a case like the others in our group. The L.A. Cetto guy did an excellent job in showing the factory/history & good instructor in wine tasting. Amazingly the 1st wine factory is a subsidiary of L.A. Cetto --don't understand why it allows the subsidiary to produce such a terrible wine. The reason I give 4 stars is that the 1st one was just a waste of time. It seems the 1st one was just to show that the excursion provides 2 wine factories. It is just next door. I would like to see another wine factory apart from L.A. Cetto, NOT a subsidiary next door.
Reviewer: Ronald Siu
4 Stars
Califa Valley Wine Tour
January 03, 2017
Very nice driver/guide and an informative tour, however the free wine bottle promised on the tour signup and brochure literature was not provided. When we asked, all they said was, ""They don't do that anymore"". Everyone felt jipped at the end of an otherwise nice trip. Too Bad!
Reviewer: D.P.
4 Stars
Ensenada wine tasting
January 01, 2017
My husband and I found this excursion to be quite enjoyable. At first I was a bit concerned about being able to find the departure location but the directions were spot on. After a drive through the country side and learning various aspects about Ensenada we arrived at the first of two wineries. It was interesting to see , I had no idea that Mexico had ""wine country "". We arrived back to port in a timely fashion and after transferring to a van from the tour bus we were taken directly to the ship. The accommodations were comfortable, we did not feel rushed and the tour guide spoke clearly enough to be heard and understood. We will be using Shore Excursions for our next cruise.
Reviewer: Warren
4 Stars
Learn About Mexico's Wine Industry
December 30, 2016
The tour was very good. The guide was exceptionally well prepared. He was a teacher in the local college and high school and really had his history and facts together...and he was entertaining. My only criticism of the tour is that, unlike all of the competing companies, this one was, for some reason, not permitted to pick-up its guests in the lot next to the ship. They were parked just outside of the dock area...an easy walk, but curious situation.
Reviewer: John Ashton
5 Stars
shore excursion
December 28, 2016
The best winery tour in Ensenada they have the best tasting wine to take home and a really nice ride up to the winery they take you to two different winerys and they have a store so you can buy wine and other things loved the wine tour yes i do recommend this tour !!!!
Reviewer: steven odrich
5 Stars
Ensenada wine tasting tour
December 27, 2016
we took this picture excursion at the request of our travel agent, basically to evaluate the services compared to the ship excursion. We were happy with the service and accommodations provided by ""Shore Excursions "". The cost savings per person was the main reason we agreed to give it a try and when we met up with others from our same cruise ship we were convinced we made a good choice....the same excursion!
Reviewer: Ann Gi
4 Stars
Wine Country Tour
December 27, 2016
Our tour guide and everyone at the wineries were so friendly, knowledgeable and fun! We had a great time and learned alot.
Reviewer: Carol Wolfe
5 Stars
Calafia Valley Wine Country
December 20, 2016
Good tour. Tour guide was well informed.
Reviewer: Richard Garland
4 Stars
Wine country tour.
December 19, 2016
This tour was great . Very informative. Tastings were great. I especially enjoyed Dona Lupe. Great to see that her place has expanded.
Reviewer: Sharon M.
5 Stars
Rustic with a personal touch
December 03, 2016
We truly enjoyed our wine country excursion. If you're not familiar with the Ensenada tour you'll be very surprised. After getting off the boat we expected a large bus and a crowd of people all waiting. Surprisingly we were met by Enrique and a tour guide who was going to take us on the 45 minute drive. The guide was very informative and the large SUV was modern, comfortable and very clean. We greatly enjoyed the personal attention we received with our small group. We were not only as special guests, but almost like family as well from the tour guide to the staff at the wineries. The snack were delicious and plentiful. The wine tasting was surprisingly filling and delicious. We were amazed at not only the quantity, but the quality of the wine we were given to sample. I think this was due to our small group as opposed to the 40 something on the big tour buses. Would we recommend this tour? ABSOLUTELY! Will we go again? No Doubt!!
Reviewer: Victor Santoyo
5 Stars
A delightful day......with wine and friends!!!
November 15, 2016
We travel as 4 couples and when possible we like to have private excursions. Our van was clean, with a wonderful tour guide who went to school in the Los Angeles area. Our driver was very safe and the air conditioning worked well. The first winery was a family operation with a wonderful air conditioned store and an outdoor tasting area A large variety of red and white wines too, plus our server was very friendly. Just 15 minutes away was our second stop and this winery was a strong contrast to the first one. It was far more commercial.That was not a negative, but a positive, to show the contrasting vineyards in the Calafia Valley. They had air conditioned buildings, an informative winery tour (done in Spanish and English), two tasting areas, so plenty of room to gather and taste. All eight of us really enjoyed this tour and would highly recommend if you like to sip wine! You would never guess this area is only 45 minutes away from Ensenada!
Reviewer: Ben Fredericks
5 Stars
fun and relaxing
November 12, 2016
The guide was informative and funny. I learned a lot about wine making and tasting.
Reviewer: kate
4 Stars
Great tour!
November 03, 2016
We were all very impressed with our wine country tour in Ensenada. The tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable about the country and area....we loved the entire experience. Great locations and people! Loved every minute. Thank you!
Reviewer: Antoinette Perez
5 Stars
Best tour ever!!!!
May 20, 2016
So glad my Travel Agent booked this for us.
Reviewer: PJ
5 Stars
Highly Recommend!!!
May 20, 2016
Smaller group than the ship excursion. We had a fun group of people!
Reviewer: Dianey6
5 Stars
A Pleasant Surprise in Ensenada
May 20, 2016
This tour was great. The tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable and spoke English very well. It was a relatively small group, about 14 of us. The tour representatives met us when and where they said they would be. The first stop was a great little winery. I felt like I was visiting someone's backyard. Not only did they have a variety of wines to sample (large samples, I might add) but there was a sampling of different kinds of bread fresh out of the oven. There was also different cheeses and a wonderful homemade pizza. The second winery was everything you would expect from a winery in California. It was very modern and more commercialized. The wine was good and the cost to buy a bottle was approx. $6 per bottle if you wanted to take some home. Overall, it was a great way to spend the day, see the countryside and sample some wine.
Reviewer: marynera
5 Stars
Very nice tour
May 15, 2016
The first winery had a family/local flavor. Fialry good wine and great snacks. The second winery is a corporation--while the wine was probably better it lacked the unique feel we hoped for.
Reviewer: amigo Oklahoma
4 Stars
Wonderful trip!
May 14, 2016
A smaller and more personal version of what the cruise ship offered. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and made sure each of us enjoyed our trip. We were pleasantly surprised by the Guadalupe valley and the wine that was being made since we live near Napa Valley. We really felt this is what Napa used to be before it became huge and commercialized. The wineries were very friendly, approachable, and the wine was pretty good. It was one of the highlights of our cruise!
Reviewer: Jim
5 Stars
worth the time
May 04, 2016
loved the tour guide
Reviewer: frickerhopper
5 Stars
Driver ""Edgar"" was veru courteous and very profess
April 29, 2016
Great Tour
Reviewer: Birdlegs
4 Stars
A great tour!
April 29, 2016
Great tour with a great tour guide! Less than 20 people, which makes for a more personal tour! The shipboard tour had around 50 people on a bus, and went to the same wineries that we did. Our tour was $10.00 less per person than the shipboard tours that go to the same wineries.
Reviewer: Ron
5 Stars
Excellent Winery Tour
April 21, 2016
I forgot my tour guide's name who works for Shore Excursion, she was awsome. She made us felt like royalty. She opened doors for us at each destination. Bring us snacks and make sure we got our sample foods and tell us what to expect. We felt like we have a personal tour guide since this tour only me and my husband. However, at L.A. Cetto, the walking tour was Spanish speaking for local tourists so we have to wait for translation each time he finished explaining in Spanish. Although the walking tour guy tried explain his best to translate about the wine processed, but we found out there were some information missing like why they planted the roses in each row. Fortunately, our Shore Excursion tour guide explained to us. Overall, my husband and I enjoyed this tour and will use tour excursion again next time when we cruise to other destination.
Reviewer: Gee's the adventure.
5 Stars
Great excursion. Very friendly & knowledgeable gui
April 15, 2016
Our guide & bus driver were terrific. Really enjoyed learning about the wine made in Ensenada.
Reviewer: ERG
5 Stars
Excellent
March 08, 2016
Very knowledgeable and friendly guide.
Reviewer: Ryan Z
5 Stars
Most pleasant day in Mexico
March 04, 2016
This was a delightful tour. Our guide was great! Very warm aNd accommodating and very knowledgable. Small group was such a nice way to spend the day.
Reviewer: plep
5 Stars
Great trip
March 04, 2016
Nice driver and guide
Reviewer: Les
5 Stars
Great tour. Great value.
February 29, 2016
Excellent tour. Ms all group made it much more enjoyable.
Reviewer: Ron
5 Stars
First Class Service and Tour
February 17, 2016
My daughter and I enjoyed the personal service that made this tour so much FUN! We were the only two persons on the tour and were treated like royalty. The breads, oils, cheeses, olives and crackers that went along with our tastings were excellent. Guests on the other ""bus tours"" were trying to sample from our tray as these items were not provided for them. We arrived before the busses and were not rushed through the adventure. Both my daughter and I felt very safe and had an excellent driver and guide. We would book again in a heartbeat. Thank you for a most enjoyable day!
Reviewer: The ""Mom""
5 Stars
Great Tour
February 03, 2016
Great Tour
Reviewer: Frank
5 Stars
Enjoyed every minute
January 29, 2016
I loved how small and personalized the tour was. The wines tasted great and there were lots of tasty treats available for purchase at the wineries we toured. This tour is defininitely worth every penny spent. You will not find a better price for this type of tour. Trust me, I looked.
Reviewer: Caroline the Cultural Anthropologist
5 Stars
Such a great time!! Must do!
December 30, 2015
My boyfriend and I enjoyed our wine tour so much! The guides were great, answered all the questions we had. Wine tasting had bread and cheese and olives and of course great wine! Plus it was just us in the tour do it was a private tour. So worth the price!
Reviewer: Msacchette
5 Stars
Excellent
November 07, 2015
Excellent
Reviewer: AZ
5 Stars
Great tour in Ensenada
November 05, 2015
This was a great trip to 2 different wineries. The guide knew a lot about them and was very knowledgeable about wines in general. He was professional and courteous and related interesting facts about things seen along the drive. He was obviously very proud of his city. The driver did a good job, I always felt safe in the van. It was a good first visit to Ensenada.
Reviewer: CleoPetra
5 Stars
GREAT EXPERIENCE
August 13, 2015
This was just a wonderful experience. The guide we had (I cannot remember his name for my life) but he was just awesome. We were the only ones one the tour (Wife and I) and we had a great time. We thought it wouldn't be fun since it was just us. Boy was I wrong :O) Again, it was all in the guide. He was awesome. We visited two wineries and at both had an excellent time. I cannot give this tour a better rating or I would. Highly recommended.
Reviewer: Pepsiguru
5 Stars
Great shore excursion! Tour guide,Edgar, was aweso
June 10, 2015
Great deal! Group guide was friendly and knew the history of the wineries.
Reviewer: Vicki millet
5 Stars
Wine Tour Worth Investigating!!!
January 14, 2015
If you like personalized attention, this is a great tour. I booked the tour based on reviews regarding being a small group tour compared to a commercial bus. The day we went we were the only ones on the tour. Edgar, our guide, was very informative. We learned more from him than anyone else on the tour. The tour included a large winery and then a small, more private shop specializing in wine and jellies. You go from a winery with a typical wine tasting room and shop to a small, outdoor tasting booth located on a patio. We tasted some great wines and cheese. If you are expecting a Napa Valley experience, this may not be the right tour for you. If you are looking for a nice day in Mexico's countryside tasting some great wine and meeting some great people, this is the tour for you. Plus, it is defintely a great value!
Reviewer: The Professor
5 Stars
Great time, great wine, great host
November 11, 2014
Driver ""Edgar"" was veru courteous and very professional. It was nice to have just finished a very thorough, educational, and enjoyable tour with our small group (4 total) when a giant bus arrived!
Reviewer: Alex
5 Stars
exceptional
November 03, 2014
We had our own private tour. Our guide was exceptional and tended to every detail. We were given special attention not like the big bus tour.
Reviewer: retired adventurer
5 Stars