Whale Watching Cruise

Wow. Saw several whales
September 14, 2022
Great trip. Very accessible. Van picked us up at the ship dock and unloaded at the boat. Saw several humpback whales with one of them getting to within 15 yards of the boat
Reviewer: Randy Taylor
5 Stars
Whale watch
September 04, 2022
The whale watch crew was very knowledgeable and informative about the whales. We were able to view a cow and calf from a distance. It would have been nice to get a bit closer to the whales, but I understand the need to keep a safe distance. Logistically, everything went well. We had to take a short bus ride from the cruise pier to the whale watch boat. The bus driver was super nice and friendly and pointed things out to us along the route.
Reviewer: Jean Gonynor
4 Stars
Will recommend!!!
August 15, 2022
This excursion was a great purchase. The trip was great, our captain was expert, we saw numerous animals and had a wonderful time. Since another ship was late and we could not wait on them due to our onboard time, we essentially had a private tour. Fellow passengers who booked through the cruise line were jealous when we reported our lack of croweds.
Reviewer: Dana Henry
5 Stars
Whale Watching Cruise
October 15, 2019
Crew very informative and friendly Whale and Orcas sighted from a distance but not very active unfortunately bus driver was extremely nice and friendly
Reviewer: Mr and Mrs Hood
5 Stars
Awesome experience!!
September 25, 2019
The native, female shuttle driver to the boat was excellent and provided many interesting anecdotes while pointing out landmarks, etc.! The two young women who operated this tour boat (captain and naturalist) were great and you could tell that they know their stuff and LOVE their jobs! We had 9 sightings (they knew the name of each whale) and got to see Mendenhall and several other glaciers from the water! Exactly what I wanted!!
Reviewer: E Tobin
5 Stars
These guys are good!
September 24, 2019
They were cool. They were full of information. They have a network of friends doing the same thing and they talk to each other so they can find and make sure you see whales. On our excursion we saw 7-8 whales including 2 sets of mamas and cub. One of the sets dived at the same time, with tails submersing as if the 2 were trained synchronized swimmers. FANTASTIC!!
Reviewer: Rick Brogden
5 Stars
Nice boat trip
September 23, 2019
My family and I had a great time. We saw numerous whales. The staff was very friendly and informative. The boat was on the smaller side, but very comfortable. We had the ability to get up and exit to the deck for better views and picture taking.
Reviewer: Joseph Samide
5 Stars
Whale watching tour
September 11, 2019
A bit bouncy, but it made it fun. We were lucky to get out, bad weather was approaching. Saw many whales but at a great distance.
Reviewer: MICHAEL H STEPHENS
3 Stars
Bumpy fun
August 30, 2019
The day we went out the water was very choppy. Our Captain was determined we were going to get to the whales and we did. I think I was disappointed with the timing, it seemed very short that we were seeing the whales a very long on the way out and in. But I would still recommend this trip because where are you going to see whales all around like we did.
Reviewer: Michelle Smart
4 Stars
Had a great time
August 24, 2019
I was very pleased with my time whale watching. The people were very helpful and their instructions where very helpful.
Reviewer: Leanna Rippy
5 Stars
Beautiful creatures!
August 23, 2019
I fell in love with the whales!!
Reviewer: Paige
5 Stars
Wonderful whale watching
August 13, 2019
We had an amazing time on this cruise! The boat staff were friendly and knowledgable. Seeing the whales was a once in a lifetime experience!
Reviewer: SFancher
5 Stars
Juneau Whale Watching
August 11, 2019
The tour representative was not on time at the pickup location so tensions increased right away, nevertheless, the bus driver/tour guide was excellent as was the boat crew. This excursion was informative, fun and we got to see whales.
Reviewer: Stephen Davis
5 Stars
Surprise Orcas
August 08, 2019
Our crew was knowledgeable and explained and helped up locate and observe several humpback whales. An unexpected surprise was a pod of Orcas that were not expected in that neighborhood just then.
Reviewer: Robert Floor
4 Stars
nice tour
August 07, 2019
Nice boat, great driver, great guide. Was rainy and didn't see a lot, but that is nature's fault. We did see some!
Reviewer: Ellen Kewley
5 Stars
Great excursion to see the whales!
July 29, 2019
We did this excursion in Juneau on our Alaska cruise and were not disappointed. It was a smaller excursion and it allowed us to have ample opportunity to see the whales. It was amazing! We were able to get some great photos. We also learned so much from the guides about the whales and their environment. This company also was so organized and detailed. Very pleased with them. What a fantastic experience it was to see the whales in their natural environment. Would recommend this company to others, definitely.
Reviewer: Rebecca Colonnetta
5 Stars
Whale of a time
July 25, 2019
This was the best excursion we took. The boat and crew were excellent. We saw a mother and calf breaching for 45 minutes. It was spectacular. We also saw 2 other whales cruising the area. This is a outing and should be your first pick.
Reviewer: Greg Ryan
5 Stars
Dolphin Tours
July 03, 2019
Mendenhall Glacier and Whale Watching Alyshia was fabulous on the bus to the glacier and to the harbor for the whale watching, she was both funny and informative. Dave and Bri worked their best and we saw plenty of whales and tons of Eagles on shore as a man fed his salmon scraps to about 8 of them (huge - 3 1/2 footers). My mom and I couldn't have been more pleased.
Reviewer: Matt D. - Milwaukee
5 Stars
Great Day
July 01, 2019
Really Good Day. Would highly recommend this trip. Great staff, Nice comfortable clean boat.
Reviewer: Dave W
5 Stars
Whale watching
June 26, 2019
This was a very enjoyable service. Our captain and first mate were the best. They gave great information, followed the laws, worked hard to find the whales, etc. the boat was great...not one of those crowded, big boats. I would highly recommend this.
Reviewer: Connie lazor
5 Stars
First and only choice xcutsion
June 20, 2019
From the first call to your company to the drop off after excursion all employees were courteous, informative , coach driver gave us interesting bits on Juneau, much appreciated. We saw plenty of whales and unexpected photo opp of the glacier The only negative was Bree, the naturalist , she was in the way at the rail using her long camera lens.
Reviewer: Rose Carroll
5 Stars
Juneau
June 13, 2019
Good go, but not as lucky as some
Reviewer: Patricia Rothe
5 Stars
Amazing experience
October 23, 2018
This is definitely the way to go for tours. We watched as those who booked through the cruise lines crowded onto boats while we spread out in our boat and had plenty of space. Everyone on the boat could have their own window space, and we had plenty of room to move around on deck and get a prime viewing spot. We saw a pod of orcas super close up. Guides were friendly and informative.
Reviewer: RONALD HART
5 Stars
MRS
September 20, 2018
We had a nice time. We saw Humpback whales, Orcas, and Sea Lions. We couldn't get too close to the whales, for obvious reasons, no one wants to injure them. Our captain heard about Orca spotting and went out of his way to take us to them The girls were knowledgeable and were able to answer all our questions. I would recommend this excursion
Reviewer: Joanne Harris
4 Stars
Beautiful day and whales, too!
September 10, 2018
We saw several whales during our excursion. One even surfaced within a few yards of our boat and then took a deep dive. It was an amazing sight. Crew was knowledgeable and friendly. They even served us hot beverages and a snack.
Reviewer: Terry McCorvie
5 Stars
We saw whales!
September 10, 2018
We did see whales! The captain was in contact with other boats so he knew where the whale action was plus pointed out other sea life in the area. The ride was a bit rough - if someone has back problems a larger boat with twin hulls might be smoother but more crowded.
Reviewer: Janice Chapman
4 Stars
Delightful
August 30, 2018
Many whales, informative and nice folks who even provided a quick snack and coffee. Highly recommend.
Reviewer: Susan
5 Stars
Whale watching cruise
August 13, 2018
Saw several orcas hump backs and sea lions. Stephanie was wonderful
Reviewer: SK
5 Stars
Whale Watching
August 01, 2018
The jet boat was fast and we covered a lot of water in a short period of time. We did see whales though they were a distance from us. The staff gave a good talk about whales which helped in identifying the kind of whale we were seeing. The weather which had been rainy all morning grew worse and the seas choppy which made our trip back to port very rough.The back of the boat is the place to be in rough weather because it doesn't pound so hard as the front. Not the best trip if the weather is rainy
Reviewer: Deanna Carman
3 Stars
Saw orcas!
July 30, 2018
Boat was nice...beautiful day! Saw hump backs and orcas. Guide had a hard time public speaking and bus driver’s crazy husband onboard were hard to listen to, but the cruise was a nice way to spend the day.
Reviewer: Lehr
4 Stars
Learned alot about whales
July 23, 2018
Very enjoyable boat ride and the guys were friendly and informative. Thank you so much for the water, bagels and the binoculars. Next time maybe you can train a whale to come greet us....lol
Reviewer: Diana
4 Stars
Guide and captain
July 23, 2018
Very knowledgeable and informative. Demonstrated patience with older passengers and showed enthusiasm in their job.
Reviewer: Angie
5 Stars
Whale Watching in Juneau
July 23, 2018
Weather was nice and we got to see Humpback Whales and sea lions. I highly recommend this excursion.
Reviewer: Bolandis Ngiraingas
5 Stars
Great boat, great crew, awesome experience
July 23, 2018
I was expecting a large crowded boat with limited viewing. Wrong...fast, mid-size boat with a friendly crew and a lot of information. We had an incredible time and grabbed some great pictures.
Reviewer: Mike Beckman
5 Stars
Great tour
July 16, 2018
The young ladies were very knowledgeable, snacks were provided which were nice. Saw humpback whales and got some great pictures. Would recommend this excursion.
Reviewer: Kiinani K Mulvihill
5 Stars
Awesome
July 16, 2018
We loved our whale watching your! The crew was awesome and they made sure we saw whales! The boat was clean and we felt very safe!
Reviewer: Kathy Huie
5 Stars
The experience was great
July 16, 2018
We did not get to see as many whales as I had hoped but the staff was friendly and fun. They were informative and helpful. I think our timing was just off a little. Would definitely recommend.
Reviewer: Diana Stout
4 Stars
Very Hospitable
July 15, 2018
Although we didn’t see a whole lot of whales the crew really did a fantastic job of educating the passengers about Alaska and the wildlife. We are glad we experienced this trip.
Reviewer: David Nereau
3 Stars
Awesome day on the water!
July 09, 2018
We saw hump back whales, orca, eagles, sea lions, and beautiful scenery. Great crew! Thank you.
Reviewer: Shelda Truelove
5 Stars
Whale Watching
July 02, 2018
Excellent Naturalist/Tour Guide and Boat Captain. Both work well together and kept the tour exciting with the pointing out whale activity and sharing about whales. AMAZING TRIP!!!
Reviewer: Lynn M Hauger
5 Stars
Whale Watching Tour
July 02, 2018
We had a great time on this whale watching cruise. At least 4 whales were sighted as well as some seals.
Reviewer: Joseph Rodriguez
5 Stars
Incredible!
June 25, 2018
In addition to seeing multiple whales, so close we could smell them, the naturalists who lead the tour were very informative. Having snacks on board (bagel with lox and hot cocoa and coffee) was also a nice bonus, esp for my kids.
Reviewer: Suzanne Ferris
5 Stars
Whale Watching
June 11, 2018
We went on the boat called Raven's Journey. It was clean, fast & the crew was exceptionally friendly & knowledgeable of the wild life that we saw, that of course, included humpback whales. We even got lucky enough to see a mother & her calf. We even captured a photo of a whale tail!
Reviewer: Stacy W
5 Stars
Whale Watching in Juneau
October 23, 2017
The captain and crew member were great! We did see Humpbacks and Orcas. However, the boat was flat bottomed and the trip back was a real spine breaker.
Reviewer: JANE EISENSCHENK
4 Stars
Beyond our Expectations!
September 28, 2017
We had a wonderful time on our tour! Right from the bus driver who was humorous, knowledgeable, and kept us entertained the whole way to the boat, the tour was great. The boat was clean and comfortable and the hot beverages were a nice touch. Our tour guides were friendly and gave us a lovely tour of 3 whales that we were able to see in plain view. Our group was small and not crowded so we easily all moved around for our pictures, etc. The bagel with smoked salmon and hot chocolate on the way home was a great perk! Thank you!!
Reviewer: Joyce Percey
5 Stars
Whale Watching
September 20, 2017
Firm was recommended by our Travel Agent and she never lets us down. Crew was very courteous throughout the trip. Was pleased with the amount of wildlife we were able to see. Size of ship and number of passengers was a good ratio.
Reviewer: Bill Doering
5 Stars
Whale watching
August 30, 2017
We were able to see a group of about 12 whales bubble feeding. It was awesome. Weather was perfect and the crew was informative.
Reviewer: Andy Capobianco
5 Stars
Whale Crash !
August 22, 2017
It was super fun experience with friendly crews and captain. The boat was wide and comfortable as well. we have encountered Humpback whales and Orcas. Highly recommend this excursion.
Reviewer: Nathan Shim
5 Stars
Best Excursion of Our Cruise
August 21, 2017
Best excursion of our cruise! We saw 10 whales... feeding on fish, diving and even 1 breaching!
Reviewer: Laura Bauer
5 Stars
Excellent treat, informative and organized
August 16, 2017
Good boats, have all information about the whales so anybody could understand. Very well organized to manage all the people received.
Reviewer: Jesús Torres
4 Stars
Unexpect fun
August 14, 2017
well organized excursion, the bus ride to the boats the driver was friendly and educated us on that part of Alaska. The boat crew made sure that we got to see whales and they gave us coffee and hot chocolate with bagels salmon sandwich, Super trip.
Reviewer: Niven
5 Stars
More Than Expected
August 14, 2017
Well organized and friendly staff from beginning to the finish.
Reviewer: Niven
5 Stars
Whale Watching Cruise
August 01, 2017
Due to the weather visibility wasn't good, but did see a few whales.
Reviewer: Marcia Williams
4 Stars
Whale watching
July 19, 2017
I've whale watching several times so it not fair to review but we did get to see Orca and Humpback whales and also saw sea otters hanging out on a boowie playing. You get to see a lot and the crew was excellent.
Reviewer: William Stephens
4 Stars
whale watching
July 05, 2017
it was fantastic and exciting.
Reviewer: GARY LOWELL
5 Stars
Orca and Humpback Whales
June 30, 2017
We had a fabulous time. We had a morning excursion and we had a wonderful time. The scenery alone would have been worth the money. We got to see a Pod of ORCA with a baby!!! We stayed a safe (for the orca) distance away and followed them for a good 20 minutes. The male was huge. We then saw a Humpback and after he dove dive we went to visit the seals. My girls went inside to drink hot coco when the chill became to much (we are from Florida). The staff was wonderful! The boat was fabulous and the knowledgeable. Thank you for a wonderful and lifetime experience
Reviewer: Billie Miller
5 Stars
Whale Watching Cruise
June 24, 2017
The boat ride was fun and enjoyable. We did see several whales and got some good pictures. The guide was interesting and knowledgeable.
Reviewer: David
4 Stars
Great crew, good excursion
January 08, 2017
The crew were very knowledgeable and friendly. The boat was pretty small, only a few spots in front and in back for viewing. We saw a lot of whales but at a distance. There were many other boats out and they seemed to be closer. N
Reviewer: Fara Anzures
4 Stars
Whale watching frenzy!
December 24, 2016
We truly enjoyed this whale watching adventure. I have been on many whale watching trips but this one was more intimate, warm (enclosed) and got up close to many whales for a wonderful memory. We even got to see some bubble net feeding. Very cool!
Reviewer: Robin Stearns
5 Stars
Whale watching
December 07, 2016
The crew was excellent and very knowledgeable. They went out of their way to locate the whales and orca's. We got some truly once in a lifetime pictures!
Reviewer: Patricia Nelson
5 Stars
Great Whale Watching Opportunity
December 02, 2016
My three kids enjoyed this excursion the most from of all the things we did in Alaska. It was a great opportunity to watch humpback Whales breaching. The crew a the boat were very professional and knowledgeable about the whales
Reviewer: Ana L
5 Stars
Whale watching Juneau
November 26, 2016
Very organized and friendly. We saw a number of humpback whales and some playful sea lions.
Reviewer: Scott
5 Stars
Whale watching up close
November 22, 2016
We were lucky and got to see a pod of orcas, as well as a mess of humpbacks. We were quite close to both, and the guys running the boat really knew what they were doing.
Reviewer: Warren McPherson
5 Stars
Whale Watching Cruise in Juneau
November 18, 2016
Saw tons of whales.
Reviewer: Schreiber
5 Stars
Awesome whale sighting!
November 14, 2016
Our boat captain knew just where to go for some great sightings. Whales were surfacing all around the boat and we even saw one breach. We got some fantastic photos. Highly recommend this excursion!
Reviewer: Cindy Miller
5 Stars
excellent excursion
November 12, 2016
we really enjoyed the whale watching cruise, great guide and captain; amazing boat
Reviewer: Bob
5 Stars
Whale Watching Cruise
November 11, 2016
Amazing! We were so fortunate to see Bubble Net Feeding. What an experience. The guide and pilot of the boat were both fantastic.
Reviewer: Sharon London
5 Stars
Whale watching
November 09, 2016
The staff was helpful, provided a snack and drink, the boat was clean and the captain was safe and amusing. We did see a lot of whales several pods grouped together. Lots of views of whale tail and blows but no breeching. Apparently July is not the tie to see whales beech since it is more common in Hawaii during their mating time, wish I had known that.
Reviewer: Pwhite
4 Stars
Excellent and New Speed Boat
November 04, 2016
Great jet boat - loved the experience. Great guide and skipper. Knowledgeable and friendly - they did what they could for us to see all species of whales. Amazing day.
Reviewer: Fabio Y
5 Stars
Whale watchng cruise
November 03, 2016
The entire experience was fantastic. From our bus driver, Tom, and his wonderful knowledge of the area to the naturalist and crew of the boat, it was great. Saw several cows and calves with lots of calf tails and fins. Tom's mustache was too cool. Would highly recommend.
Reviewer: Diane
5 Stars
What a great experience
November 03, 2016
We had a wonderful trip. The crew was informative and helpful. We saw 10 different whales and had a great view of sea lions.
Reviewer: George
5 Stars
whale watching
October 07, 2016
had a very good time. Crew were very knowledgeable and did a nice job of taking care and helping guests. Saw whales and sea lions.
Reviewer: Marie Drenkhan
5 Stars
Whale watching in the fog
October 07, 2016
Jet boat with good crew. Unfortunately, our trip was delayed by heavy fog. Two hours later, we went out and heavy fog returned. Did see numerous sea lions, a seal and the tail of one whale. The ship was equipped with radar but I was still a little nervous because of zero viability. We went in early September. Made it back to the ship in plenty of time.
Reviewer: Bruce
4 Stars
Whale Watching Tour Juneau Alaska
September 28, 2016
This company was vey nice to deal with. Unfortunately the seas were too rough for us to do the tour. Our money was quickly refunded. Although I can't comment on the quality of the tour, price is considerably less than the cruise sponsored tour.
Reviewer: Lin
4 Stars
Most Amazing Experience
August 29, 2016
Amazing doesn't even cover it - the boat was comfortable, the crew was knowledgeable - and we saw tons of whales! We saw a mother with her calf, and the calf fully breached! Then we saw a group of whales bubble net feeding - we got within 15 feet of them! I will never forget this amazing experience, and I recommend it to everyone!
Reviewer: Jennifer Triptow
5 Stars
Whale Watching Cruise
August 25, 2016
Unbelievable! A MUST!
Reviewer: D Henzel
5 Stars
Wonderful whale watching cruise
August 25, 2016
The whale watching cruise at Juneau was as good as it gets. The crew were friendly but the whales were incredible. We witnessed frenzied feeding by a pod of eight to ten whales, with about one third of their bodies above water, all together. We saw a mother and calf, with the calf doing a full body breech beside our boat.
Reviewer: Gordon Belling
5 Stars
Whale Watching
August 24, 2016
We enjoyed the excursion and would recommend to others. We were able to see and photograph whales and sea otters. Staff took good care of us.
Reviewer: Brenda Nicoski
4 Stars
Great
August 21, 2016
We were able to see many whales.
Reviewer: Lynn and Charlotte Willhite
5 Stars
Whale Watching
August 18, 2016
Amazing! We saw Orca and Humpback Whales. We saw whale ""bubble net feeding"". Had plenty of time for pictures and boat was reasonably close. The guides explained clearly and were very informative. I would definitely recommend this trip.
Reviewer: Elizabeth Kaese
5 Stars
Most Awesome!
August 18, 2016
In spite of the dreary weather, this trip was so cool! Saw lots of whales, more than I expected. Capt. Kim and Mike were fabulous, passed on lots of info, too. They provided coffee, hot cocoa and salmon bagels. What's not to like? Recommend these guys with 5 Stars or more!
Reviewer: Jenny Webb
5 Stars
whale watching
August 11, 2016
Great experience. Nice crew, saw a lot of whales, sea lions, and bald eagles.
Reviewer: tj
5 Stars
Good excursion
August 10, 2016
Really enjoyed this one. Saw a lot of humpbacks. The captain was excellent. Highly recommend it.
Reviewer: Dawn Henchey
5 Stars
Wonderful
August 10, 2016
We saw dozens of whales. We were fortunate to see a breaching whale as well as a group ""bubble feeding"". Very personable and knowledgeable crew.
Reviewer: Steve Ashmore
5 Stars
Whale Watching
August 05, 2016
We saw lots of whales on this excursion. It was exciting and fun!
Reviewer: Matt Limbaugh
5 Stars
Friendly crew
August 02, 2016
The crew was very welcoming and friendly.
Reviewer: Stephanie
5 Stars
There is a lot of water and some quick sightings
July 11, 2016
The caption and first mate did a good job of seeing whales but the few we saw were far off and quickly disappeared.
Reviewer: Bob the hopeful whale watcher
4 Stars
Great Excursion would do again
June 09, 2016
Very well organized and staff were very informative about the whales and best places to see them. Would go again in a heartbeat.
Reviewer: Gibby
4 Stars
Fun trip
June 08, 2016
Whale watch cruise was interesting. A naturalist is on board to explain things concerning the whales. We saw a few humpbacks, but not a many as I had hoped.
Reviewer: World Roadie
4 Stars
I had a great time
June 08, 2016
Great guides. We saw whales. I really liked that it was a small boat without a huge crowd of people.
Reviewer: DesertDiva
4 Stars
Professonal and very much worth the money
September 09, 2015
Great crew and very accomadating
Reviewer: Shadowrider
5 Stars
Whale Watching!
August 14, 2015
This is a great tour if you want to see whales because you are basically guaranteed to see them. The boat was a really nice covered jetboat that can maneuver well and get pretty close to the whales. The driver and guide were extremely knowledgeable. We did see a lot of whales but be prepared for a lot of waiting, because its not Sea World after all. Also it rained the entire time we were there so be prepared with waterproof gear, although you can sit inside the whole time if you wish. I probably would not do this tour again because animal watching is not my thing, but I'm glad I got to experience it once.
Reviewer: Erin
4 Stars
enjoyed the experience
August 06, 2015
even the bus driver from ship to whale boating wharf was a great historian and fun. the boating staff were good as well had a lot of marine life knowledge. we did see whales but they refused to get excited and jump up for us. still very glad I went
Reviewer: Marsie
4 Stars
So glad we went on this excersion.
July 09, 2015
My first whale watch. We saw so many whales and were glad we went on this excursion. Our guide was great.
Reviewer: Linda lu
5 Stars
Great Experience!
July 02, 2015
Had great time watching whales.
Reviewer: BW
4 Stars
FUN TRIP EXCEPT FOR THE LOUSY WEATHER
June 27, 2015
SAW SEVERAL HUMPBACK WHALES INCLUDING A BABY - HIGHLIGHT OF THE TRIP WAS THE COMPLETE BREACHING OF A COUPLE OF WHALES
Reviewer: DEANSO
4 Stars
Brilliant trip
June 10, 2015
We were a group of 13. The 2 experts with us were extremely knowledgeable and the boat, although small, was well equipped with binoculars, drinks and snacks. They went in 2 different directions to make sure that we saw as much wildlife as was possible, and even threw in a sighting of glaciers for us. We were very lucky that we saw a baby whale (still enormous) do a full breach and made such a splash that it soaked all the people in the nearest boat. We saw much more that people who went on the cruise ship excursion.
Reviewer: Sandie
5 Stars
Highlight of our trip to Alaska!
June 08, 2015
The pilot of the boat was able to get us quite close to the whales. The two guides clearly explained what we were to look for and made sure everyone had many chances to see the whales. the excitement in the boat was clearly evident as we spotted whale after whale. The surroundings were absolutely beautiful! The hot chocolate was also appreciated. This was definitely the tour to take!
Reviewer: EJ
5 Stars
We saw whales!
October 11, 2014
Crew knew what they were doing. Visability was great that day (mid September) and they took us right out to where the whales were. Boat was quite stable, so very comfortable. An entirely beautiful day among the whales and sea lions.
Reviewer: Joanne
5 Stars
Enjoyable outing
October 10, 2014
Very knowledgeable guide and interesting facts presented. We saw a number of whales from a distance....would have liked to have seen a few at a closer range,.
Reviewer: Whale Watcher
4 Stars
A
October 05, 2014
An excellent adventure at sea looking for whales that everyone can enjoy! While there is no guarantee that you will see an orca or a humpback whale on the cruise, the chances are very good given the knowledge and experience of the boat captain and the naturalist aboard. Explaining what we are to look for, the naturalist brings us into their world as we cruised above the waters where orcas and humpbacks are known to be. Everyone on board looked for whale spouts and searched for orcas. We were lucky enough to have a pod of orcas play around our boat so we could observe and photograph them. Two ""teenage"" orcas even swam under the boat! Caution: KEEP YOUR CAMERAS AT THE READY!! No one aboard was ready when a humpback whale ""breeched""...shot straight up our of the water and flopped back with a huge splash...about 100 yards away. Exciting, a once in a life time chance to view sea mammals up close in their own environment...you can't pass this one up!
Reviewer: Kentucky Nana
5 Stars
Great
September 25, 2014
The tour guide was very interesting and the jet boat driver was great at finding the whales. All good:)
Reviewer: Sue F
5 Stars
Whale Watching
August 28, 2014
I would like to have seen more whales but the crew stated that we had a very good trip and the whales seen were better than average.
Reviewer: Tom
4 Stars
Would do this again
August 25, 2014
Bus driver gave us a great commentary as we drove to and from the boat. The whale expert on board was quick to answer our questions and point out different things that would be of interest to us.
Reviewer: Pug Mom
4 Stars
WOW!
August 19, 2014
They call it a whale watching cruise and that is certainly what they delivered. Well informed naturalist provided the commentary as the boat's captain delivered us to an area with ten hump back whales working together to gather fish and eat. Their repeated diving and surfacing was truly a thing of beauty and made for a simply outstanding experience.
Reviewer: Bobby from St Pete
5 Stars
A great humpback whale watching tour
August 11, 2014
we saw 6 whales together which is unusal. they were feeding the dominate female. the fin slapping a buble blowing was awesome. we aslo saw different groups of 2 whales together around the same area. probably saw 12 humpbacks all together. the noise they were making was echoing up the channel. great trip,
Reviewer: lrunaway
5 Stars
Wonderful time was had by all
June 16, 2014
Everything about this whale watching cruise was a blast except getting there on time. The cruiseliner was a bit late getting clearance at the dock, so we were 15 minutes late getting to the pick up point. Thankfully a phone call cleared things up and we were still able to get out to see the whales.
Reviewer: weemic
4 Stars
Great cruise!
October 02, 2013
I liked our tour guide (she) as well as our captain. She was very knowledgeable of the types of wild life in the area. The captain was very quick to find the whales and we lucked out that the two we saw came up for air fairly close to our boat! We had a ""bonus"" that we were able to get close to a island where seals were ""lounging.""
Reviewer: JoeNY
5 Stars
an unforgetable day
September 29, 2013
The wheather was far from perfect but the equipmentand the guides made our day.
Reviewer: floridians
5 Stars
Whale watching is so cool.
September 27, 2013
The most exciting excursion I have ever taken
Reviewer: Colonel Bob
5 Stars
Exciting ride
September 25, 2013
This was most enjoyable, and the crew were very good at handling the excursion. They did their best to help us see the whales and tell about them. I learned a lot. Thanks.
Reviewer: M & M
4 Stars
A wonderful time
September 18, 2013
Very professional and knowledgable crew. Did a great job and delivered on their promises.
Reviewer: Kenn the retiree
5 Stars
Glorious Experience!
September 17, 2013
After three perfect excursions with Shore Excursions Group, it will be my first choice for all of my future cruises!
Reviewer: Dr. Angela P
5 Stars
good impression.
September 17, 2013
We booked a Whale watching trip; unfortunately, the boat that was supposed to take us had mechanical trouble. We ended up stranded at Mendenhall Glacier park for three hours waiting for our tour to begin. I really commend the owner/operator for his efforts to resolve the issue. In spite of being confronted by 30 very angry tourists he kept his cool and made every effort to deliver as promised. He even provided everyone with sandwiches (good ones) when we boarded. He was insulted and abused by some, yet still kept his composure and got us our tour. I would book any tour he offers knowing that he will go above and beyond to deliver. I am sorry that I didn't get his name but please tell him that the woman from Patagonia thanks him.
Reviewer: Patagona
4 Stars
Loads of fun
September 12, 2013
Had a great time saw lots of Whales.
Reviewer: David
5 Stars
Whale Watching Cruise
August 06, 2013
Great guide. Comfortable boat. We saw whales. Enjoyed the trip very much.
Reviewer: Kayce21
4 Stars
Beautiful day to Whale Watch
August 05, 2013
Naturalists were good, trip seemed a bit rushed and before you know it, we were headed back in.
Reviewer: KFBlogger
4 Stars
whale watching
August 01, 2013
Great guide, not often to you get a guide who actually follows the migration of whales while doing tours and studys them in college in the off season.
Reviewer: 50states
4 Stars
Great Experience
July 10, 2013
Fantastic experience.
Reviewer: CB
5 Stars
Wonderful Experience
June 24, 2013
Excursion was wonderful! We got to see a pod of Orca's playing. Staff was very knowledgeable and was quick to respond to sightings. Overall a great experience and would recommend to anyone.
Reviewer: M & D
5 Stars
They delivered as advertised
June 24, 2013
Can't put into words how exciting it is to see a whale! Like the size of the boat/group. Always able to see; visibility of wildlife never blocked. On time and well organized. Captain very competent and good at spotting whales. Naturalist quite knowledgeable. Even provided beverages/snacks - unexpected. Only con - a lot of other whale watching boats out at same time, same place.
Reviewer: Michele
5 Stars
SAW ORCAS, HUMPBACKS, SEALS AND DOLPHIN
May 29, 2013
THIS WAS THE FIRST TIME OF YHE 3 WATCHES WE'VE BEEN ON WE SAW ORCAS AND THEY CO-OPERATED VERY WELL BY SWIMMING NEXT TO OUR BOAT. SAW MORE HUMPBACKS ON OTHER WATCHES, BUT THIS WAS EARLY IN MAY AND THEY WERE STILL ARRIVING .... WE SAW MANY FROM THE CRUISE SHIP HEADING FOR FEEDING GROUNDS.
Reviewer: LARRY
4 Stars
Orcas were in town
October 07, 2012
Great trip
Reviewer: Charlie
4 Stars
fastastic!!!!!!
October 07, 2012
excellent excursion from the crew to the boat pilots who were working together in getting us to see the whales which we caught orcas feeding so they went out of thier way for us to see them.Just wonderful,
Reviewer: annie mac
5 Stars
What a blast!
September 26, 2012
The small group made it more fun. We could interact with each other. We could talk to the crew without overwhelming them.
Reviewer: Dusty
4 Stars
You'll see whales!
September 20, 2012
This trip was great. Not only did we see whales, but we got to see the whales bubble netting, don't know what that is? Then take this cruise. Make sure to set your watches for the local time, because we stood in the rain for an hour, thinking we missed the van, only to remember my watch wasn't set.
Reviewer: Jeremy
5 Stars
Fabulous!!
September 06, 2012
Guides should be available as you disembark the cruise ship to direct you where to meet up with your group. It's difficult being someplace you've never been and not knowing exactly where to go.
Reviewer: vbahnasy
5 Stars
Great Outing!
August 22, 2012
Great outing from start to finish. Very well organized. Our guides, from the bus drivers, to the tour guides on the boat, were very friendly and knowledgeable. We saw & heard 15 humpback whales on our excursion!
Reviewer: Lisa
4 Stars
outstanding experience
August 21, 2012
small group, easy to hear the tour host.
Reviewer: vmc
5 Stars
Loved the whales!
August 18, 2012
Everything cooperated to make this a good afternoon's outing for the whole family!
Reviewer: GB and GG
5 Stars
whale watching
August 07, 2012
Great trip. Very friendy staff.
Reviewer: paula
4 Stars
Whales whales whales
July 24, 2012
This was a good excursion. It did exactly what was promised which was that we were in fact able to see whales (both orca and humpback). When whales could be seen from inside the boat, we had no issue seeing them as everyone had a seat. However, when we had to go on the small deck to see the whales or seals, there was not enough space for everyone. Another minor issue was that they ran out of coffee and hot chocolate while we were on board. On the positive side, we did see lots of orcas and one humpback whale on this excurion. We also were able to see seals. An additional benefit was that our children, ages 5 and 9, LOVED the jetboat!
Reviewer: MGD
4 Stars
Excellent viewing of marine life!
July 20, 2012
This was an excellent value and choice for a way to see a vital part of Alaska. Monitoring of viewing deck usage could have been better...they were dominated by the 22 member family group on our cruise and the rest of us were not able to see as well.
Reviewer: Bonnie
5 Stars
Whale watching
June 20, 2012
Everyone enjoyed the day. I had my parents, inlaws and wife with me too.
Reviewer: Clarkgd
4 Stars
""Thar she blows!""
June 14, 2012
Although we were early (May) in the whale viewing season, the seasoned guide managed to get us (legally) close to some whales. The excursion boat was not setup for serious photography. The time we were out was just right, especially since it was cold. The coffee was good and hot. Overall the experience was great; we would like to repeat it during a warmer time when the season for whale watching is better.
Reviewer: John Camera
4 Stars
The best excursion of the cruise!
July 07, 2011
I was very impressed with the whale watching tour. Our guide and boat driver were not only knowledgeable but had very good personalities as well. The boat ride was fun and beautiful. I probably would have been happy with that but...we saw so many whales! There were hump backs and Orcas. We were lucky enough to get into a group of about 20 Orcas who were very active. It truly was a once in a lifetime experience. We were so glad we booked this excursion!
Reviewer: NRook
5 Stars
Best expericnce of the criuse
July 05, 2011
The small Jet Boat was able to get us up close to the whales. The Boat Captin was friendly and knowledgable as was the guide. We saw a lot of whales thanks to the captin and guide. Very exciting.
Reviewer: Scuba Steve
5 Stars