Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour

Amazing
January 21, 2020
This was amazing for all ages. My 10 year old loved it as much as I did.
Reviewer: Lisa Schueren
5 Stars
BEST TOUR EVER
January 18, 2020
We loved every minute on this tour and really have never had a better tour. Dave is so personable and made out trip extra special when he took a crab tooth out of the jaw of the crab and gave it to me. He and his wife spent about a half hour with us after the tour to just chat about common things. We KNOW this is a great tour for children as the children on our tour were amazed by all the thinks we did and saw. There is a lot of participation if you wish on this tour. We will be going on the Aleutian Ballad again in 2020. Can't wait!
Reviewer: M Sellers
5 Stars
Amazing
December 17, 2019
This was amazing. There was so much we didn't even know we would see. A must do.
Reviewer: Lisa Schueren
5 Stars
Bering Sea Crab Fisherman Tour
October 02, 2019
Enjoyed the tour. Staff very attentive, and tried to be educational and informative.
Reviewer: Judith Lorraine Gibson
5 Stars
Awesome!!
September 20, 2019
This was a great tour, and I would highly recommend it. The fishermen were so informative and amusing. It’s hard and dangerous work.
Reviewer: Patricia Shufelt
5 Stars
Great tour
September 20, 2019
I'm a big deadliest catch fan didn't know how my wife would like this tour. The short of itit is that she loved it as I did. The staff were very accommodating and the crew were very knowledgeable and funny. Saw everything from king crab to octopus and even eagles swooping down to get the fish the crew were throwing to the birds. LOVED it as my wife said it was the best tour we had on our trip
Reviewer: Jim goshert
5 Stars
Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour
July 17, 2019
This was an amazing experience. The captain and crew were informative, interesting, humorous and friendly. Having grown up in Maine, I thought the trip would be like the lobster fishing I used to do with my grandfather as a kid. It was so much more!!! I thoroughly enjoyed this excursion and would highly recommend it.
Reviewer: Deanna Valente
5 Stars
Great fun, great crew and informative
June 14, 2019
The boat was comfortable. They had extra jackets and rain gear, just in case. The captain and crew were helpful and the talk informative. It was great fun.
Reviewer: judy L. MacMillan
5 Stars
best excursion in Alaska
October 12, 2018
went on the crab Fishing Tour and absolutely loved it. almost everything is hands on. loved being able to walk around the boat and see all the different parts of the crab fishing boat.
Reviewer: Alesha Scherzinger
5 Stars
Fun Day!
October 11, 2018
You won't find friendlier people than the Bering Sea Crab staff!
Reviewer: Leslie Clarke
5 Stars
Skagway excursion
September 10, 2018
It was a great excursion to take with the family ages ranging from 11-76. They accommodated my father with his scooter. Awesome to see eagles flying above. Stories were interesting to hear. Kids were able to hold different sea creatures. We were on the same excursion with people who booked through NCL. Saved us money. Didn't have to worry about getting back to the cruise ship on time.
Reviewer: Stacey
5 Stars
Great excursion
August 27, 2018
We were entertained the entire time. Great staff and educational as well
Reviewer: J Sam
5 Stars
Stories and Sea Life
August 20, 2018
A great tour! We motored into various places to see wildlife, fish, eagles and so much more. Around 40-50 eagles all in one place! A native fisherman hauling in their nets with fish. Seeing all sort of crabs, shrimp, starfish, and hearing the stories of how the men started fishing and lived were fascinating!
Reviewer: Cornelia Piersanti
5 Stars
Deadliest Catch Aleutian Ballad
July 23, 2018
This was SO worth the money and then some! Professional crew, well versed, funny and this was our FAVORITE excursion from our Alaskan cruise. Saw them catch fish, starfish, crab, octopus, crab, more crab, seals, whales several times and EAGLES. OMG THE EAGLES. This was an amazing excursion. DO NOT MISS THIS ONE.
Reviewer: April Hanson
5 Stars
Great way to start the Alaskan excursions
July 23, 2018
The two of us and our 13 year old grandson enjoyed this excursion very much. The crew was very knowledgeable and entertaining Seeing the eagles was fantastic.
Reviewer: Dave
5 Stars
Bering Sea/Crab Fisherman's tour
July 09, 2018
This was the BEST tour we could have taken while in Alaska. The Captain and crew were extremely professional and informational, they were funny and kept our attention at all times. The scenery, fish, crab, octopus, etc were all amazing. The Eagles. Boy what can I say about the Eagles. Just be ready for the most amazing thing you will ever witness. Eagles flying just feet away from you, probably 100 of them at one time. It is absolutely priceless. We also saw a seal and some humpbacks. This is an excursion you cannot miss.
Reviewer: april hanson
5 Stars
Alaska Excursions Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour
May 28, 2018
This is the best excursion of the entire Alaska Cruise Trip. The stories of the fishermen were genuine and touching. The best part is the feeding of the bald eagle on the water. The pictures taken worth the entire trip.
Reviewer: Frank Wang
5 Stars
One of our best tours and would highly recommend
November 02, 2017
The tour was simply amazing from start to finish and the crew were awesome! If you're visiting Ketchikan this is a must whether you are a deadliest catch fan / interested in fishing or not. We saw so much; Eagles, octopus, shrimp, fish and of course crab, lots of crab. The stories onboard were so inspirational and those running this tour do it with passion. A must do and I promise you won't be disappointed
Reviewer: Jane Morland
5 Stars
Not just for Deadliest Catch fans
October 02, 2017
For fans of The Discovery Channel's program Deadliest Catch, it's a chance to see a boat that was actually on the show and see some of the actual gear used and hear from real crab (and other) fishermen. Fun, but didn't quite meet my expectations. Maybe I was expecting too much and I can't quite figure out what I'd change about the tour if I could. A bit pricey for what you get.
Reviewer: Ed Springer
4 Stars
Enjoyed
September 28, 2017
Had a really good time and learned a lot.
Reviewer: Victoria Kuhn
5 Stars
Highly reccommended!
August 29, 2017
The Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour was fantastic! I have been a fan of Deadliest Catch since it's 1st season. However, you don't have to be a fan of the show to enjoy this trip. The guys on the Aleutian Ballad are funny, entertaining, informative, interactive and explain why and how they do what they do. You will get to see different types of crab (you can even touch them if you want to), some fish, an octopus and the most amazing American Bald Eagle experience you can imagine. My Alaskan cruise was the trip of a lifetime and this was definitely an experience that made it such.
Reviewer: Charlette H Robichaud
5 Stars
Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour
August 01, 2017
We really liked this excursion. The Bald Eagles were awesome. Captain and crew were very informative.
Reviewer: Marcia Williams
5 Stars
'Dangerous Catch'
December 01, 2016
I really enjoyed the excursion as it was very informative and lifelike, it had a hands on reality as you were allowed to touch the crabs. Also, they dropped crab pots and it was done well. A1 tour!!!
Reviewer: Frank DeGroot
5 Stars
Bering Sea Crab Fishermans Tour
November 27, 2016
Awesome, beautiful boat trip, not to be missed. Beautiful water trip, live crabs, Eagles grabbing fish out of the sea. The crew and staff are super friendly and entertaining. A lifetime memory that I tell everyone about. Again, a wonderful experience and a wonderful crew- all of them!
Reviewer: Russ
5 Stars
Bering Sea
November 18, 2016
Fabulous experience for anyone who enjoys the Deadliest Catch show. Experienced captains enthrall you with tales of deep sea fishing. Up close experience with setting the hook, pulling up crab traps, and taking a trip on a real ""deadliest catch boat."" Captain reeled in a 50 lb. halibut and we saw numerous eagles and got to hold king crabs.
Reviewer: Karin Ruppel
5 Stars
Once in a life time
November 17, 2016
If you want the experience without the deadly catch then this is the way I would suggest you experience crab fishing. The crew on this boat is great and they make it a fun time.
Reviewer: Crystal Crawford
5 Stars
Fantastic from beginning to end!
November 02, 2016
I picked this excursion for multiple reasons as I thought it would meet the "" needs"" of everyone in our party. We had five people ranging in age from 14 to 80. This excursion was AWESOME! My teenagers got to be on the Boat they had seen on TV with the guys that manned the boat! There was an amazing educational piece that was enriching and entertaining that we all loved and learned from. My husband loves eagles and boy did he get see them! It was unbelievable. Nothing like we had ever experienced in our lives!! I highly recommend this excursion for ALL ages as it is interactive! You get to touch, hold, video, you name it all kinds of crabs and then film the Eagles. I don't think my daughter has taken her T - shirt off yet!!! She would work for them if she could!!!!
Reviewer: An extremely satisfied customer
5 Stars
Best tour of the trip!
October 07, 2016
Thank you Alluetian Ballad crew! It was a memorable tour. We learned so much and your presentation was very interesting and well done.
Reviewer: Clint and Diana
5 Stars
Eagle watch and crab boat
September 28, 2016
The best part of this tour was after the crab boat left the dock and entered the protected bay to see Eagles. We stopped by a nesting area and I think the Eagles were expecting us. Amazing to see them go after bait fish that were thrown by the crew. Beautiful. The Bering Sea crab fishing demo talk while docked was entertaining but at times a bit long.
Reviewer: Barbara Leigh
4 Stars
Fantastic Day!
August 30, 2016
This was one our favorite excursions ever. It was up close and hands on and the fisherman were genuine and told real personal stories of life as it is on these Crab Vessels. Highly recommend.
Reviewer: Leslie Kelly
5 Stars
Must do!!
August 22, 2016
One of the best excursions we have ever been on and we cruise a lot. The crew was amazing, so friendly and funny. The wildlife was awesome besides the crabs we saw octopus, seals, whales and eagles. I booked this for my husband and grandson who love the show. Sad to say I have never watched it, but loved the excursion. This is a must do!!
Reviewer: Linda Kirby
5 Stars
Hooked on Fisherman's Tour
August 12, 2016
As a travel agent, I've experienced many tours. This was a memorable highlight of my recent Alaska cruise. The three authentic fishermen guides were extremely entertaining and knowledgeable. Well worth the cost and will recommend to all my clients.
Reviewer: Joanne Mrotek
5 Stars
Excellent!!
August 10, 2016
We had so much fun on this excursion. The men on the crab boat were so much fun. We caught and were able to hold 2 kinds of crabs, shrimp, octopus etc. We saw seals, whales and many eagles. Awesome excursion for all ages. We had our grandson with uis and we all enjoyed it.
Reviewer: Linda Kirby
5 Stars
A must do tour
August 05, 2016
We went on this tour in the middle of July 2016 with great expectation. It did not disappoint. The boat has a very comfortable sitting area where everyone can see what is going on. We chose the upper deck where only a few people had chosen...it was a little windy but not uncomfortable. Well, the crew consisted of three hardened sailors with lots of experience fishing in the Alaska area with wonderful, and maybe fishy, stories on the way to the fishing areas. Got to see several different methods of fishing and crabbing in Alaska up close and personal. The highlight of the tour IMHO was when we stopped at a small island and all of a sudden about 20 eagles started circling overhead. For the next 30 minutes we watched as they swooped down to pick herring out of the water and even a few of the eagle caught fish thrown to them in mid flight. WOW!! Purchasing this tour through Shore Excursions before we left saved us enough to buy a hat and t-shirt to commemorate the voyage.
Reviewer: Dick McGinty
5 Stars
Great trip
July 19, 2016
The Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour turned out to be my favorite excursion. And I only went because the other six in my family wanted to go! The guys were entertaining and knowledgeable. Our kids loved handling the crabs, sea cucumbers, etc., and watching many eagles fly around the boat was thrilling. This was a great day.
Reviewer: Anonymous
5 Stars
Put this excursion on the top of your list!
July 22, 2015
This excursion was one of the best we did in Alaska! It was not only informative but interacting also. We held crab, shrimp, and starfish, we also watched them feed eagles and seen flocks of 50plus! so cool. We loved every minute of it!
Reviewer: Bill & Glo
5 Stars
Best tour ever!
December 11, 2014
This was the best ever tour we have taken. Loved ALL of it. Seeing the Eagles up close was a wonderful thing for me personally. The entire crew were so nice to everyone & full of fun stories. BTW, not bad looking either. :)
Reviewer: Frequent tourist
5 Stars
Unforgetable
October 01, 2014
This was recommended by our travel agent, was she right. Boarding was easy, seating ample, and crew welcoming. Introductions were made & off we went. The ""Aleutian Ballad"" is a real crab boat converted for tourism at much expense, thanks David and Danene! Capt. Terry, and his crew handled the Ballad very professionally. Capt. Derek (replace Phil when he passed) and Capt. Paul (was on the Maverick) demonstrations and stories made for a great time. Highlights, several different fishing styles and catch were done, Halibut, Whales, Eagles and an Octopus. Don't miss this tour!!!!!!!!!
Reviewer: Capt. KB
5 Stars
Scripted, but still fun
October 01, 2014
The crew of the Aleutian Ballard were great! They went out of their ways to see to the comfort of their guests, providing raincoats and heaters. Additionally, the guides were very knowledgeable and had all been raised on these boats and in this lifestyle. We were able to ""catch"" a variety of fish and crab, prawns, and even an octopus! That being said, the tour is obviously scripted. The nets and traps are thrown earlier in the day or the day prior to ensure success on the tours, but I suppose I should have expected that.
Reviewer: Daughter of the Lilydipper
4 Stars
great experience
August 21, 2014
This adventure was as we expected, a great experience with knowledgeable guides. The adventure was just like the Bering Sea show without the rough seas. Very informative and funny.
Reviewer: LK
5 Stars
Fishing with the Pros!
September 02, 2013
A team of seasoned fisherman shared stories of their adventurous and potentially deadly exploits while simultaneously pulling up sample catches as we sailed the seas out of Ketchikan. Learned a lot, grew in appreciation for the lives of the fishermen (hard workers and thrill-seekers all). I'd recommend this to folks of every age.
Reviewer: mlz
5 Stars
The Deadliest Catch
July 17, 2013
The c was wonderful and very entertaining.
Reviewer: kittysons
5 Stars
Bearing Sea Excursion
July 11, 2013
This Bearing Sea Excursion was awesome. The fact that I am handicaped & they would allow a scooter on the trip was great. Otherwise I would never be able to experience this once in a life time (for me)adventure. The staff was very helpful and enjoyable. They explained the different types of crabs that were caught and gave us a chance to hold the crabs and get up close and personable. We also fed the Bald Eagles which brought them up close also and was great for taking pictures. I could go on and on about this excursion. Thanks Deadilest Catch for the experience. I was given a discount on future trip but I would have said the things even so.
Reviewer: MT
5 Stars
REALLY ENJOYED IT
June 27, 2012
WE HAD A WONDERFUL TIME. THE GUYS WERE GREAT
Reviewer: N/A
5 Stars
Super fun and special experience
June 16, 2012
Highly recommended!!!!
Reviewer: Patty8888
5 Stars
hadgreatfun
May 25, 2012
excellent time!!! Dave, Terry, Travis and the girls offered all of us a great time! We caught king crab, opilio (snow) crab and box crab...octopi, fish, shrimp, prawns...so cool. They let us hold the critters, answered questions about the critters, placed critters in a petting tank, were highly entertaining, and oh did I mention the bald eagles?!?!? Using herring as bait, they attracted no less than 8 bald eagles to 'fish' for herring thrown into the water for 20 minutes...pictures galore and everyone had fun!!! Worried about cold? The boat has heaters. Worried about rain? The boat has covered #protected with roof# areas. Worried about giant waves? The boat navigates sheltered waters. BTW, these guys are the real deal, from various episodes of the show, with a boat from the show #deadliest catch#. Didn't hear a single negative complaint in a group that easily numbered 100. When's the last time you heard that? If you think this is a plant...nope. I'm an east coast engineer just back from a Spirit seven day Alaska trip. Join this crew for a journey and have a ball !!!
Reviewer: atraveler
5 Stars
Excellent shore excursion!
August 25, 2011
This excursion is not advertised enough! When people ask us what was our favorite thing about visiting Alaska, we answer ""The Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's tour""! The entire crew were knowledgable, funny, entertaining and great at telling stories. We were lucky to be on the tour on a day that had only a handful of visiters. We felt that we received one on one attention and great photos. Absolutly loved every minute!
Reviewer: Crab lovers, Laurie and Bill
5 Stars
a fun and informative trip
August 18, 2011
This tour exceeded my expectations. Loved seeing the crabs, fish, octopus, eagles and seals. The guides were interesting and well informed. the boat was comfortable and equipped to handle cool wet weather.
Reviewer: Iron bill
4 Stars
Excellent Trip
August 03, 2011
Very educational and interesting trip even though it was pouring down rain during whole trip
Reviewer: Jim the Runner
5 Stars
best tour we ever took
October 20, 2010
We have been on 36 cruises and probably hundreds of tours. This one was the most fun we ever had on a tour and the price was much cheaper than the ship tour that was mixed in with ours!
Reviewer: Exlibrarian
5 Stars