Skagway City and White Pass Summit

Great views and very informative.
January 04, 2020
Lucky once again with a guide that knew the area and its history. Not quite as good as the guide who did Saxman totems but still very good I would go 4 and 1/2. The scenery was great and would recommend this trip to any one.
Reviewer: Patrick D Bathe
4 Stars
Picturesque journey to Wild Pass summit
November 13, 2019
We had a wonderful time in the bus excursion in Skagway. Our driver cum guide was a very witty young man who also had a lot of anecdotes to share and keep us really interested. The tour started right on time and as we wound our way through the city streets, we had an interesting commentary on the history of the city and some of its famous streets and buildings. The guide gave us enough stops and ample opportunities to shoot great pictures as we went up to the White Pass Summit. Thouroughly enjoyable excursion and time well worth spent.
Reviewer: Vijay Vaishnav
5 Stars
Interesting tour guide, okay scenary
October 12, 2019
The tour guide is very passionate about his job and tells great story of the gold mining history of the region. However, having been all over north America I am unimpressed by the scenery. We took the afternoon tour and have good visibility. Later on the ship we met fellow passengers who took the 8:30 tour and said it was really foggy. Overall, I am happy that I took this instead of the expensive train tour. A great tour guide made all the difference.
Reviewer: Kate
4 Stars
Great tour guide
October 04, 2019
Brian was very knowledgeable and took us to places with great views of the White Pass.
Reviewer: Ronny
5 Stars
So what if it rains
October 04, 2019
Our driver was Brian and it was raining with low lying clouds. So Brian says, "usually we would ... well not today! It seems everyone on board has a passport so we are going to go above the clouds and see a bit of the Yukon in British Columbia today. We will stop along the way so you can take some pictures. ..." This guide was great! He was very informative. We did get past the clouds and were able to see so many beautiful and amazing things at a much better price than the train ride in addition to being able to stop and take pictures along the way. I would definitely recommed this excursion.
Reviewer: Jesse Simmons
5 Stars
Awesome tour guide
September 25, 2019
Engaging tour guide gives good historical anecdotes about the mine town. However the scenery was not very special. I heard it's about the same for the train so I m glad I didn't shell out more money. If you go choose the 11am tour. At 8am the mountain is very foggy according to fellow cruisers.
Reviewer: Waverley
4 Stars
Best one
September 19, 2019
We were so happy with this tour. Our driver Brian was funny and super nice and interesting. He stopped frequently and let us take lots of pictures. Just beautiful scenery. Highly recommend!
Reviewer: Lori Flory
5 Stars
Excellent tour guide; spectacular scenery
September 19, 2019
Our tour guide was excellent! He was very knowledgeable about the local history, the geology, flora, and scenery. Great sense of humor too. He helped us take some wonderful photos due to his background in film-making. I highly recommend Shore Excursions for touring Skagwag.
Reviewer: Mae Go
5 Stars
Awesome Guide and driver!!
September 19, 2019
We really enjoyed this excursion!! Guide was very informative and entertaining. He seemed to really enjoy his job. He went above and beyond! It happened to be a very clear sunny day. The scenery in White Pass Summit was unbelievably beautiful.
Reviewer: Dorthea Harvey
5 Stars
Skagway City and White Pass Summit
September 18, 2019
This was a great tour. The scenery is spectacular, rain or shine. Our driver/guide Tim was excellent! He had a wealth of information which he offered in an entertaining and slightly corny manner that made everyone laugh despite the rain at the beginning of our tour. We made frequent stops, and Tim was happy to take photos of us with our own phones, which we really appreciated. I had wanted to take the rail trip, but in the end I'm glad that we chose this comfortable minibus, on which we could clearly hear the narration and had the opportunity to get out to get an even better view.
Reviewer: Jeri Covay
5 Stars
Great tour
September 15, 2019
White city pass was awesome. Our guide had to change it due to the fog, but we loved the graveyard & all the other things he showed us! Skagway was fun to shop!
Reviewer: Annette Burroughs
5 Stars
Fantastic Tour
September 12, 2019
This Excursion was great, smaller tour bus, great guide. Easy access, short walk, from the Ship. Tour guide was very personable, and very knowledgeable about Skagway and the surrounding area, with a lot of history and information. The smaller bus allows the tour guide to stop more frequently for photo ops, etc., more flexible with schedule and sharing of information than a memorized script. My wife and I and the others with us thoroughly enjoyed this tour.
Reviewer: m olson
5 Stars
Skagway City and White Pass Summit
September 12, 2019
Enjoyed the bus driver. She had a lot of great information. Could answer all the questions asked. We really enjoyed it. Needs to cut some of the people off on the talking as we had to wait at every stop for the same people to get on board.
Reviewer: June Beattie
4 Stars
Skagway City and White Pass Summit
September 11, 2019
Interesting trip by bus up to the summit and return. When We read “White Pass summit”we assumed we were going there by train! Obviously we did not go to the Summit by train, however the road trip was very good and magnificent scenery.
Reviewer: Bob and Janice Arnold
4 Stars
Skagway City and White Pass Summit
September 10, 2019
By for better than the train because we stopped at water falls and mountains covered in snow . Alaska let people know that there is a God because the sight that you see there man can't make or let it happen. very nice tour if I would go back I would take this one again.
Reviewer: Lillie Bailey
4 Stars
Skagway City and White Pass Summit Bus Tour
September 05, 2019
This was an excellent tour lead by a well informed driver who went above and beyond to extend our trip. We had numerous stops and excellent photo opportunities and the driver was very knowledgeable about the landscape and history of the area. It was also a good value for the money.
Reviewer: Warren Simpson
5 Stars
Suppport the locals!
September 01, 2019
We choose this guided tour over the train ride because we wanted to see the city and hear about it's history. We were not disappointed. Bill was amazing. Since we were a smaller bus, we were able to make several stops on the drive up the pass to the summit that the train didn't. We prefer to support the locals, so we were definitely happy we chose this private company over the cruise line owned train. Saw and heard about so much more than friends that opted for the train ride. Plus, got opportunity to see the city and our ship in port from an overlook at the end! Excellent photo op!
Reviewer: Linda and Don
5 Stars
Mrs
August 31, 2019
This was good value for money
Reviewer: Glenda Jean Templar
5 Stars
Skagway City and White Pass Bus Tour
August 27, 2019
It was a great tour with an amusing and informed tour guide. We made many stops that, were we to take the train instead, would not have had the opportunity to get out and spend some time at the different vistas and viewpoints along the way.
Reviewer: Deb Detmold
5 Stars
Fantastic Tour!
August 27, 2019
This was, by far, the best bus tour we took in Alaska. Our driver (Bill?) was so knowledgeable and personable, and really made the tour enjoyable. We drove through the town of Skagway first, and then up the mountain to the Summit. We stopped many times to allow us to get out of the bus to take fantastic scenic pictures. I travel with a small wheelchair, and the bus was able to accommodate it. The bus itself was comfortable and air conditioned (we had a sunny 75 degree day!). I would recommend this tour to anyone.
Reviewer: Kathryn Maceda
5 Stars
A perfect day in Skagway!
August 26, 2019
Great tour guided by Brian, who was cleaning the windows before we boarded. Brian was fun and informative and definitely in his element. We had beautiful weather as we ascended up White pass. Brian pointed out all the highlights and we stopped to take some fabulous pictures along the way. He only missed one thing when he predicted it would rain!
Reviewer: David Cox
5 Stars
Exceptional
August 23, 2019
Very informative bus driver. Because weather was fine and clear we went over pass into Canada. Great views of the rugged mountains and plenty of photo opportunities.
Reviewer: Kath Thomson
5 Stars
Beautiful fun excursion
August 22, 2019
We loved the scenery and our tour guide was very informative and friendly. She made sure we were able to take great photos and helped us take pictures of our families with our cameras
Reviewer: Mandy
5 Stars
Absolutely worth it, better than the train!
August 16, 2019
We chose this tour for the price, 1/3 the cost of the White Pass Summit train, and got way more than we bargained for. First of all, Brian was an outstanding guide and a delightful person. He had history and interpretive information peppered with jokes and anecdotes. He stopped at scenic spots to take group photos of us the entire way. That's one point we found better than the train - not only did we get out and look around, but we also have photos of family and scenery that aren't obscured by reflections on train windows. Another point of comparison between this tour and the train is that the train only goes one way up the mountain, at slow speed, then everyone gets off the train and rides a large bus back down to Skagway. Since we didn't take the train we can't compare comfort, but this small tour bus was very clean and comfortable for everyone. There is certainly charm associated with riding a historic railroad but I contest that this tour has an abundance of charm at less cost.
Reviewer: Rebecca Skeldon
5 Stars
An excellent alternative to doing the train!
August 15, 2019
Our guide was a true expert and very informative. It was neat to see the White Pass from a different perspective than going on the train. We could see the train which was cool, but we had the ability to stop at waterfalls and different viewpoints.
Reviewer: Nicole Davey
5 Stars
Great tourist guide and excursion!
August 15, 2019
The tourist guide had lots of knowledge of the area we had a wonderful time.
Reviewer: Katherine
5 Stars
Great tour guide, coach; foggy weather
August 10, 2019
We took this unhurried, uncrowded coach tour with several other couples, first thing in the morning after getting off the ship. The coach was clean and comfortable, the driver friendly and entertaining. We didn't get to see much of the White Pass Summit due to fog and low clouds. The driver took us to an alternate overlook on the road to Dyea, where we could look down to see our ship in the distance, at the dock and a nice view of Skagway. We also walked through a historic cemetery on the way to a short, steep trail to Lower Reid Falls, which was very scenic. It's a relatively short tour. The driver did help orient us to the town, and we did our own walking tour afterwards.
Reviewer: Rebecca Morris
4 Stars
Unforgettable Adventure
August 07, 2019
It's crazy having the opportunity to see the rich natural history of Skagway and how well it's been preserved. You always see cool stuff from Alaska in the movies, but nothing beats being able to snap photos with your wife in front of the largest mountains I've ever seen! Great trip!
Reviewer: Cullen Griffin
5 Stars
Awesome
August 04, 2019
Location and scenery was awesome. History of area well presented by tour guide.
Reviewer: Mark Binus
5 Stars
Skagway City and White Pass Summit tour
August 02, 2019
The bus tour was very scenic and gave us numerous photo opportunities. Our tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable and did all he could to make our tour enjoyable.
Reviewer: Sharon
5 Stars
must due excursion
August 01, 2019
wonderful guide. made sure everyone saw everything
Reviewer: Patty Redmond
5 Stars
Interesting Tour
August 01, 2019
Tour guide went the extra mile. Stopped for picture taking at many scenic locations. Enjoyed quaint Skagway.
Reviewer: Geraldine Romero
5 Stars
Skagway - Way to Go
July 28, 2019
Enjoyed the knowledgeable driver and tour. We were able to stop and get of the bus for better views and photo opportunities. Excellent scenery and dialogue from the driver informing us of the history, the tree variations, the ice, creeks, waterfalls. Enjoyed the bus tour and would recommend this way to tour Skagway. Thank you.
Reviewer: D. Easton
5 Stars
Skagway City and White Pass Summit
July 25, 2019
Great excursion. Outstanding guide, the perfect length leaving plenty of time to explore Skagway. Highly recommend it.
Reviewer: John S.
5 Stars
excursion review
July 24, 2019
quaint town and beautiful views on the tour bus
Reviewer: LEONARD J GADZINSKI
5 Stars
Shagway City
July 22, 2019
Great tour with top class driver and tour director.
Reviewer: Marion Whalan
5 Stars
So glad we picked this over the train
July 22, 2019
This was a bus tour that stopped at several picturesque locations. We also had time at one of the stops to take a trail into the woods for a breath taking waterfall. Our bus driver was so informative and friendly. Would definitely recommend.
Reviewer: Pattie
5 Stars
Skagway City and White Pass Summit
July 21, 2019
Great ride to White Pass Summit with stops on the way for pictures at view places. On our return to town got our tour of Skagway with its local lore. We chose to be dropped off in town, buy ice cream and return to our ship walking through town.
Reviewer: Mellie
5 Stars
Interesting
July 18, 2019
Our tourist guide is informative. You can get to know more about the Gold Rush and Skagway.
Reviewer: Ka Wai Carrie Liang
4 Stars
Skagway City and White Pass Summitt
July 15, 2019
This tour was great! There were numerous stops for photos and the driver was very knowledgeable.
Reviewer: Susan Sievers
5 Stars
Skagway City and White Pass Summit
July 14, 2019
Very good. The guide produced a not of information.
Reviewer: Esteban Lopez
5 Stars
Stunning Scenery
July 11, 2019
We had a wonderful morning touring White Pass Summit and Skagway tour. Brian our guide and driver was very knowledgeable and made our experience great fun. We were also blessed with fabulous weather that day.
Reviewer: Lisa Smith
5 Stars
Excellent tour
July 08, 2019
This is a tour that is in place of the train ride but it was shorter and we did get to stop and see the beautiful spots. The guide knew his history and was a fountain of information. Totally enjoyed this tour.
Reviewer: Jennifer Ally
5 Stars
Skagway and Whte Pass Summit by bus
July 05, 2019
We really enjoyed our tour to the summit and a little way beyond but it was chilly up there. The guide was super, stopping for photos along the way including bears grazing by the side of the road. Back in Skagway , he took us to a lookout for a great view of the town and harbor with the cruise ships in view. We then had our own time to wander in the town before going back to the ship.
Reviewer: Sarah Wood
5 Stars
Nice trip
July 04, 2019
It was fun and worth.
Reviewer: Jitinard Wongwaiwit
4 Stars
Great views and very informative.
June 30, 2019
Again, we liked being a small group and the use of a local operator. The guide had excellent local knowledge having spent his last 11 summers in Skagway taking visitors on excursions. A history teacher before retiring he had a keen knowledge of Skagway’s background and the characters from the Gold Rush days. The journey up to White Pass was full of photo opportunities and the journey was laced with information and stories from our excellent guide, who spotted a bear with two cubs at one point on our return journey. He parked and allowed us to observe them, at a safe distance, for 10-15 minutes. Our first sighting of Alaskan brown …. bear very exciting. I would highly recommend this excursion.
Reviewer: Patrick Bathe
5 Stars
Fun in Alaska
June 29, 2019
We booked this tour for ourselves and another couple. We weren't sure what we would see and experience. Our tour guide was great and quite knowledgeable. All 4 of us enjoyed the trip and the photo ops.
Reviewer: Robert E. Grijalva
5 Stars
Bus tour
June 28, 2019
Excellent tour, guide very knowledgeable. Great time
Reviewer: Roger Rathier
5 Stars
Beautiful country, nice ride, excellent info
June 27, 2019
Great bus ride with good info on the pass and history of Skagway. We saw two black bears on our ride, which was way cool. The town part of the tour was unexciting, we heard the train ride was fantastic.
Reviewer: Faith
5 Stars
Skagway Citu and White Summit
June 27, 2019
This excursion was breathtaking. We enjoyed the entire tour.
Reviewer: Kearson
5 Stars
Bryan Rules
June 21, 2019
So happy I choice to go on this small motor bus tour. The scenery was amazing but Bryan Terrell’s description of the Gold Rush from Skagway made you feel like you were there. He was a wealth of knowledge and could be comical too. He truly loves Alaska and took us to Gateway to the Klondike. Plenty of stops for pictures in between. High recommend this trip.
Reviewer: Ginny G
5 Stars
More than we expected!!!
June 20, 2019
The instructions given on our manifest were exact. Had no trouble finding our bus. Tour guide was excellent, had great humor, and interacted well with the group. Skagway is a very unique town to tour. A must to see!. We had excellent weather, NO Clouds or rain!, so our guide extended our trip over the pass so we could see even more of the terrain than what was planned. He was very knowledgeable of the area and history with very interesting stories to tell. A must tour as the scenery was beyond words.
Reviewer: Marcia Ardlen
5 Stars
Bus trip
June 16, 2019
Brian was the right person here,the knowledge he passed on was 1st rate trip up over Dead Horse pass & back was very good use of his time, if anyone on the bus left thinking why did I take that trip, then they must have have had a sleep on the way.
Reviewer: Stew Hooper
5 Stars
Great tour!
June 10, 2019
We had a bus tour provided by Peggy who is a retired school teacher. She was very knowledgeable about the Skagway area and gave us very in depth narrative. These buses only held approx. 26-28 people so the numerous stops that she provided gave us easy access on and of the bus, unlike the large motor coaches that the cruise ship provides. Highly recommend this tour!
Reviewer: Bobbie Foger
5 Stars
Parked Right next to A Bear Cub
June 07, 2019
I really enjoyed a bus tour rather than the train to White Mountain Summit. We went further into the Yukon, with a very polite and informative tour guide. He stopped wherever we asked him to take photos, especially next to the bear cub. The value for the price was excellent.
Reviewer: Margaret Neate
5 Stars
A chance to see more of Skagway
June 06, 2019
We were very entertained with our chance to see the scenery off the highway, the beautiful mountains, and to hear all about the efforts of the gold miners. Our driver in the small tour bus was delightful and experienced. We were lucky to see, at a distance, two separate bears, recently out of hibernation, too.
Reviewer: Nancy Ward
5 Stars
Nice Views
June 05, 2019
The tour ran just over two hours, and the scenery was very picturesque. Our tour guide was very informative and stopped a few times for photo opportunities. The city itself is very small so not much to see, but the tour to White Pass Summit had beautiful views the entire way. You'll see the same things as on the train tour, but in less time and for a lot less money. Definitely recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Anthony Devito
5 Stars
As above
June 03, 2019
This was an excellent tour with an amazing guide. He was funny and informative and seemed to enjoy his job. We were able to get to the summit and cross the US/Canadian border. The day was clear and bright and we were able to see wonderful vistas. All in all, a wonderful excursion!
Reviewer: Louise Urbas
5 Stars
Shore excursion Skagway & White Pass
June 03, 2019
Superb tour! I heard the true story of the Gold Rush which was news to me.....heard the goriest of details but a fascinating story nonetheless....was never taught that in school!!! Lovely little town.....Great guide....shared his own story with us which really made the day!
Reviewer: Beverley Belfer
5 Stars
Smaller Tour
October 17, 2018
I enjoyed this tour because is was smaller than the large buses with 50 people. I was able to take the photos I wanted without having to get around so many people.
Reviewer: Maria Totty
4 Stars
Very good guide
October 10, 2018
The summit was well worthwhile. Beautiful scenery. The guide did an excellent job. We throughly enjoyed this excursion
Reviewer: Darryl Parry
5 Stars
Wonderful tour experience
October 10, 2018
This excursion is a very good value for the money spent since the tour bus takes you to the summit of white pass in a timely manner which is a faster way than the train excursion. The sceneary is breath taken with stops along the way to take it all in and take pictures. The tour bus drivers are very knowledgeable about the history and area and are very nice. You could see some wild life like two brown bears playing along the side of the highway like we did during our tour. I would highly recommend it if your on a budget but still want the experience of seeing the Yukon territory with its majestic rugged beauty. It's a very wild rugged area like the old wes.
Reviewer: Sean Aberman
4 Stars
Great Value; Wonderful Experience
October 03, 2018
Be sure to check this tour out with Shore Excursions. Great value; wonderful experience and very professional tour operator.
Reviewer: Pamela/Washington DC
5 Stars
Adorable
September 28, 2018
Brian was very enthusiastic and informative.
Reviewer: Kim Yepez
4 Stars
Great Excursion
September 27, 2018
This was a very informative and interesting excursion. The town was like stepping into the past. Only complaint is the amount of jewelry stores.
Reviewer: Patricia Justinick
5 Stars
Small town highlights
September 22, 2018
The weather was foggy, so we were unable to see the pass at all. Nice bus ride and back up the mountain. The driver was very entertaining.
Reviewer: Erica Ciszewski
3 Stars
Great tour
September 20, 2018
If you get a chance please consider this tour. You will travel into the Yukon and see beautiful Canada and learn of Skagway, Alaska also. Paul was our guide a very knowledgeable man.
Reviewer: Larry Winterton
5 Stars
Would recommend it
September 10, 2018
The ride was beautiful as well as the summit.
Reviewer: Pamela McDaniels
5 Stars
Tour and driver
September 10, 2018
This was an extremely satisfying tour with a driver who was very courteous and knowledgeable. The bus was comfortable and we were very happy with the entire experience. I would highly recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Jean McInnes
5 Stars
Great Guide!!
September 10, 2018
We had a great time!! Guide was amazing!! Learned so much!! My husband really asked questions and was given great information and history!!
Reviewer: Marcia Griess
5 Stars
Skagway City and White Pass Summit
September 10, 2018
We thoroughly enjoyed the excursion! Our tour guide was pleasant, knowledgeable, patient and informative. He made many interesting stops where we were able to take some great pictures. Thank you for very interesting day!!
Reviewer: Joanna Lanza Centola
5 Stars
Excursion
September 03, 2018
Nice tour of Skagway and White Pass Summit Driver was one of the best of all the tours we had. Only negative was found the bus a bit rough. Good value. 5 stars because of the driver Bryan
Reviewer: Bryan Waldroff
5 Stars
We enjoyed the excursion
August 27, 2018
Our guide was informative. We really thought we were going a little farther into Canada - just stopped near the border. However, the scenery was beautiful.
Reviewer: Rita L Newell
4 Stars
Skagway City and White Pass Summit
August 20, 2018
Great tour with a really fun guide!
Reviewer: Charlene Greb
5 Stars
All great
August 13, 2018
Awesome
Reviewer: Joseph L Wallace, III
5 Stars
Saxman Native Village and Ketchikan City Tour
August 13, 2018
This was our final tour in Alaska and its was worth every affordable penny. Our tour guide was entertaining and informative. We liked the size of the bus and time that we chose. The scenery was breathtaking and we got a lot of memorable photos. The town is geared towards tourism and so we were able to browse, shop and move around quickly with the tour guides previous instruction. This is a 5 star tour.
Reviewer: June Babb
5 Stars
What a Parade
August 13, 2018
This was really a fun tour. The White Pass was amazing and the history and facts you learned were unreal. a very hard history for the gold seekers. After the tour the 4th of July Parade was really fun. Great little town.
Reviewer: Pam
5 Stars
fun tour
August 06, 2018
The tour guide made the tour interesting, even though the clouds were very low, and visibility wasn't that good at the summit. He told us a lot if interesting things about Skagway as well.
Reviewer: meer
5 Stars
Brian
July 30, 2018
Brian, the tour guide, was knowledgeable and funny. The scenery was fantastic. The town is quaint and a different. Quite a school system.
Reviewer: Bill Trower
5 Stars
Must-do Excursion
July 30, 2018
The land excursion was made very interesting by our male guide.
Reviewer: Beverly Taber
5 Stars
Save money and see more
July 30, 2018
This was a great tour and we got to see even more than the railroad tour offered by the cruise lines for double or triple. Save money and see more while you're at it.
Reviewer: Danielle
5 Stars
Skagway city
July 30, 2018
This was great as I was the only one on the tour.went to some interesting places. Like the cemetery, because of that. Had plenty of time to get to my next excursion. Took me a bit of time to locate him because the printed directions were not where he was located
Reviewer: Marcia
5 Stars
Skagway City
July 16, 2018
Nice but not the best. Skagway was great to walk about. Bus tour was ok
Reviewer: Richard Feldman
4 Stars
Amazing views
July 16, 2018
The scenery on the tour was breath taking to say the least and I just loved the quaint town of Skagway. The way all the buildings remain looking original.
Reviewer: Lisa Klages
4 Stars
Skagway City & White Pas Summit
July 16, 2018
We really enjoyed the Border Line between Canada & USA
Reviewer: Yeong K Kang
5 Stars
Skagway City and White Pass Summit
July 16, 2018
A wonderful tour. Recommended for those who may want to take the train (returning by bus) but would like a shorter tour. Our driver/guide was very special. Highly knowledgeable of the area and a talented, friendly person, careful driver. Small group in comfortable mini bus, drive through the city was interesting. Then driven all the way up to border with Canada, and beyond, stops for spectacular photos and a walk in area. Beautiful scenery. On return drive we stopped off to buy home-made lemonade from a local, darling little girl on the side of the road. A warm special moment shared by the group on bus, with cookies provided by driver.
Reviewer: Valerie Sargent
5 Stars
great tour
July 09, 2018
We drove with a young lady as driver and tour guide . She was very good, explained a lot and answered all our questions.
Reviewer: Rosemarie Fischer
5 Stars
tour guide is very kind and humorous.
July 09, 2018
Skagway is a lovely and cozy city. On the way to the white pass summit, the scenery is beautiful, the tour guide is very kind and humorous.
Reviewer: CHEN-YU, CHOU
5 Stars
Skagway rvw
July 09, 2018
Great guide ... lots of interesting info. Made a nasty, rainy day worth while.
Reviewer: David Purdy
5 Stars
Tour
July 02, 2018
Outstanding tour guide. Had just the right mix of history and present day information. Very articulate presenter. Would recommend the tour and especially the guide.
Reviewer: Grant Hachmann
5 Stars
Skagway lives...
July 02, 2018
Great guide and very interesting. Small group! Will use your services again!
Reviewer: Karen PROCKISH
5 Stars
Review for Skagway city tour
June 18, 2018
Very enjoyable , we had a excellent driver very intertaining and knowledgeable . We were able to get off the bus and take pictures . . Wasn’t to long so we still had lots of time to enjoy the down town area on our own
Reviewer: Diane
4 Stars
Skagway
June 18, 2018
What an amazing journey to travel the route that the early gold miners too to get to the Yukon over White Pass. Beautiful scenery and a very knowledgeable driver made the trip a jewel.
Reviewer: Deanna and David Lantis
5 Stars
Excellent Tour
June 11, 2018
Had an excellent tour guide that was filled with information that made the tour educational and fun. Fortunate enough to have a sunny day that made it even more enjoyable.
Reviewer: Randy Severs
5 Stars
Lots of fun
June 01, 2018
The guide was super interesting. He shared his personal experiences of how he wound up in Skagway. The tour was phenomenal, especially since the weather was ideal. Very commendable.
Reviewer: Martin Granowitz
5 Stars
Great value
May 30, 2018
We really enjoyed this excursion. Great value for your money. The man who took us was very knowledgeable about the area even though it was his first time. I’m so glad I searched for this excursion as there was so many that were a lot more expensive.
Reviewer: Marlene Herndier
5 Stars
Tour driver was great
May 25, 2018
The view of Skagway was enjoyable but the highlight of the tour was definitely White Summit Pass. It was a beautiful sight and standing on the summit was exhilarating. Our tour driver, Brian, was very knowledgeable about the Pass and gave us some insightful information.
Reviewer: James Garcia
5 Stars
Skagway City and White Pass Summit
October 25, 2017
Excellent Tour
Reviewer: Vickie DeRouville
5 Stars
Enjoyable tour
October 24, 2017
Friendly tour guide/driver. Passed good information showing his knowledge. Shared his own experiences in the city with his passengers making the tour more enjoyable. Went out of the way to show a few things enroute. Kept us well informed.
Reviewer: Ed Acosta
3 Stars
SkagwayCity and White Pass Summit
October 21, 2017
We had the most beautiful tour. We enjoy the tour in the town and the White Pass Summit probably most because of the guide. He knew his history of this part of Alaska so good and he was very interesting.
Reviewer: Monique L'Heureux
5 Stars
Shore excursion to Skagway City
October 11, 2017
The driver was very polite and informed of the area we visited. The art was beautiful.
Reviewer: Obdulia Santaella
5 Stars
Enjoyed very much
October 05, 2017
The tour guide was not only very knowledgeable about Skagway and White Pass Summit, he was also very entertaining - a great story teller about the White Pass Summit gold rush days.
Reviewer: Susan Garavaglia
5 Stars
Best Experience Ever
October 02, 2017
This tour was by far the best excursion I've ever experienced. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable about many items on the tour and was very personable and friendly. My wife and I were able to experience sights and experiences that will last a lifetime!
Reviewer: Vincent Montez
5 Stars
Scenic Bus Ride
September 27, 2017
The bus ride white pass summit was excellent. The bus stops on the way to take scenic photos. We enjoyed this trip.
Reviewer: Harish Paul Bhasin
5 Stars
Great tour!
September 27, 2017
Our tour guide for this was Brian and he was one of the best guides we have come across anywhere. He was friendly amusing and very Informative and as soon as we met him from the cruise ship, he pointed out to us where a seal was waiting for salmon.He had obviously taken time to do a lot of research which he passed on to us and he was a great story teller .Thanks Brian!
Reviewer: Julia Ware
5 Stars
Tour with Bryan
September 25, 2017
It rained the whole time but our tour guide did a wonderful job in trying to show us everything. It really is beautiful country, but hard to see some of the things.
Reviewer: June
5 Stars
Beautiful
September 22, 2017
In spite of the rain (which is normal for Skagway) it was a fund tour and the guide was very informative and knowledgeable of the area.
Reviewer: Shirley Kehn
5 Stars
White pass summit
September 18, 2017
Very interesting tour indeed. Well worth it. First time we crossed international borders without going through a nightmare!
Reviewer: Bob Green
5 Stars
Skagway City and White Pass Summit
September 14, 2017
Very fun Tour, our driver was great. He did everything he could to make our trip wonderful. He had a lot of great information about living in Skagway, summer and winter. The trip up White Pass was so cool. Got pictures at the Welcome to Alaska sign, nice memory!
Reviewer: Carolyn
5 Stars
Very Interesting and enjoyable!
September 13, 2017
We thoroughly enjoyed this excursion. The bus driver was very knowledgeable and offered many interesting facts about life in Skagway. I would highly recommend taking this excursion.
Reviewer: Diane Delgouffre
5 Stars
Great Guide
September 01, 2017
Very informative and well paced. Wonderful little town with a lot to see and do all things considered.
Reviewer: Don Potter
4 Stars
Skagway
September 01, 2017
Driver very motivated and informative. Great scenery. Wish he had pointed out public restroom location.
Reviewer: Donald Lyons
5 Stars
Blessed with Sunny Skies
August 31, 2017
Great trip, enhanced by beautiful weather, so that our driver could drive well past the Pass, almost to the Canadian border to show us more scenery.
Reviewer: Sheldon Miller
5 Stars
Skagway Tour/Mendenhall Glacier/Ketchikan
August 30, 2017
Awesome! We purchased the 3 city tour... each tour was excellent! David our tour guide in Ketchikan is a native and while touring explained his native culture, the history/meaning of totem poles, took us bear viewing ... was awesome! Mendenhall Glacier trip was also informative...and gave us time to spend up there for photo shoots etc. our Skagway tour was our favorite! Brian our guide was the best! Took us up the Railwsy & fascinated us with the story of the Gold Rush... made quite a few stops for photo ops. Highly recommend this company ... great tours especially fir the $$$ well worth it!
Reviewer: Bob & Tami Neubauer
5 Stars
A great day in Skagway!
August 30, 2017
We spent a wonderful day in Skagway learning about its mining past during the Klondike Gold Rush era, touring its historical city and motor coaching along the steep mountainous terrain of White Pass.
Reviewer: DIANE Y ANZAI
5 Stars
Skagway City and White Pass Summit
August 26, 2017
This was an excellent tour. Tour guide was knowledgeable and engaging. Made many stops for photo ops and to walk around. The weather was fantastic and the views/scenery were amazing.
Reviewer: Robin Wall
5 Stars
Good Length
August 23, 2017
Although short, we saw just enough. Had to walk over a half mile to catch the bus which wasn't fun. But once we got started on the tour it all changed. Beautiful scenery and great stories about the area. Wanted to do the train tour but the operator told us the ship would not wait if we were late. Learned later that if we had booked the train thru the ship it would wait. This trip was plenty.
Reviewer: Dave Bunger
4 Stars
A great day in Skagway!
August 23, 2017
We spent a wonderful day in Skagway on our shore excursion. Our guide, an Arizona resident, shared his knowledge and delight in a place he calls his "second home." Although we appreciate your discounted pricing on your shore excursions, we love your excellent guides who are professionals.
Reviewer: DIANE Y ANZAI
5 Stars
Guide made it memorable
August 16, 2017
Not too much to see in Skagway, but it was one of the best shore excursions due to the knowledge, humor, and Guide's attitude. Of all the shore excursions we took, this was the best thanks to our Guide.
Reviewer: Marty Moreno
5 Stars
very informative tour
August 09, 2017
The tour was great and we got a history breakdown with a great sight seeing excursion. This is better than the train ride in my option.
Reviewer: K Hart
5 Stars
Skagway City and White Pass Summit
August 08, 2017
Fantastic, we were able to see everything. We were under the clouds and the fog which allowed us to see everything, Very comfortable ride, also a lot of stops for picture opportunities. Guide was excellent, very informative and advised us of a lot of history.
Reviewer: Bev Benedek
5 Stars
Skagway City
July 29, 2017
Excellent tour, guide was very informative. The weather was not cooperative on the pass summit but not the fault of tour.
Reviewer: Maureen Hughes
5 Stars
Nice tour
July 24, 2017
This was among the better tours we'd taken during our trip with a combination of history talk during the travel time and some activity. Since there was no snow during this time of year, the dog sled ride was on gravel. Skagway is also a very small town which hosts a marathon run up the mountain on July 4th of each year. We were there a day earlier so missed it but may be a good experience to watch the runners participating in it.
Reviewer: AB
4 Stars
Fun Tour
July 20, 2017
While not offering the nostalgia of the train, these tours are operated on very small but comfortable busses. Our guide was terrific and as he pointed out to us, "we can stop if we see wildlife" , something the trains can't do. A beautiful drive on the highway with beautiful turnouts and overlooks. Great history of Skagway was shared by our guide. The Gold rush cemetery as well. Very nice!
Reviewer: Brian Muirhead
4 Stars
skagway and white pass summit
July 17, 2017
What a great tour we has a awesome time the guide was awesome too knew alot about alaska
Reviewer: Brian
5 Stars
Very nice
July 15, 2017
For being a small town we saw lots of the outskirts like the train tour the beautiful lakes scenery was gorgeous. Then the town tour was very nice we ate there and shopped. Only downfall wish we had more time off shore!!
Reviewer: Virginia
5 Stars
Awesome ride,,, knowledgeable driver
July 08, 2017
We enjoyed this excursion , it was a lovely and beautiful ride into the mountains . Our driver was very pleasant , funny and knowledgeable, made the journey very interesting ! My 6 Year Old Granddaughter enjoyed the trip !
Reviewer: Jackie
4 Stars
Skagway City and White Pass Summit
July 08, 2017
We have done this tour three times and found it to vary considerably, depending on the guide you have. On this trip (5/23/17) our guide was a real expert on the gold rush days and the experiences of the many thousands of gold seekers. His lively accounts brought the summit trip to life in a most enjoyable way. An unfortunate consequence of his spending so much time on gold rush stories was that we did not have time to visit the incredible weather-dwarfed conifer forest at the top of the pass. We also missed the pioneer cemetery.
Reviewer: Jack Ayers
4 Stars
Above and beyond!
July 03, 2017
This was an excellent excursion, which really did go above and beyond - the clouds, that is! Our bus driver was trustworthy, friendly, entertaining and knowledgeable. The tour took us into beautiful alpine areas and we were able to see more and go further than if we had chosen the train tour. I would definitely recommend this excursion to others!
Reviewer: I. Willerton
4 Stars
all to our selves
June 29, 2017
We had this tour all to our selves so had some special treats. The Glacier Garden was extraordinary and ranks up there as a mini Butchart Gardens. Our guide was very attentive and knowledgeable of the area.
Reviewer: cjm
5 Stars
Excellent tour
June 26, 2017
Our tour guide Brian was very interesting. He told us the story of the gold rush and his descriptions and storytelling abilities kept us enthralled. We had the most beautiful clear day for viewing the spectacular scenery. Loved the stories from Brian and the gorgeous views.
Reviewer: Debra Straatmann
5 Stars
My favorite excursion of our trip!
June 24, 2017
We were limited with options for excursions on our Alaskan trip because we had our toddler in tow. We chose this and weren't sure how we'd like it but it turned out to be my favorite excursion! The sights are gorgeous, the guide was fantastic and I loved it make frequent stops to get off the bus and enjoy the views. So happy with our purchase and highly recommend!
Reviewer: Jessica
5 Stars
Skagway City and White Pass Summit
June 23, 2017
HAVE YOUR CAMERA IN YOUR HANDS ON THE WHOLE TOUR AT ALL TIMES!
Reviewer: LEE SCHMIDT
5 Stars
Skagway city tour and White Pass summit
June 20, 2017
Really enjoyed going up to the White Pass summit! Our driver was Bill and he was an excellent tour guide!
Reviewer: Joyce Babuik
5 Stars
Skagway Tour
June 19, 2017
Really enjoyed this tour, Bill our tour guide was very knowledgeable and stopped at a number of scenic spots so we could take pictures. He also gave us some good recommendations for places to eat. We were lucky enough to have good weather for our tour. Definitely recommend this tour, very good value for the price.
Reviewer: Arlene Black
5 Stars
Take this tour
June 17, 2017
Bryan is great - knowledgeable, funny, and a good driver, too. Beautiful scenery, lovely people. Fantastic fudge in the shop on the Main Street.
Reviewer: Tina
5 Stars
Amazing!
June 03, 2017
We had such a wonderful time on this tour! We loved being able to get the highlights of the city and being able to go up to White Pass summit offered some beautiful views! I highly recommend this tour!
Reviewer: Michelle Brewer
5 Stars
Amazing - personalized tour and guide
May 31, 2017
We had an amazing guide, we were only 16 on the tour which made it very personal. Learned so much, beautiful scenery and wonderful memories.
Reviewer: Arlene Wong
5 Stars
Skagway city tour
December 15, 2016
Excellent guide..Marvin. Tour could have been longer
Reviewer: Marvin Hastie
4 Stars
Skagway Tour
December 06, 2016
Our tour guide knew a lot about the area, especially for being somewhat new to the city. The drive was scenic. Since it is a small city there really isn't too much else to see.
Reviewer: Donna Dalrymple
4 Stars
Skagway
December 05, 2016
We had a great guide Bill......took time to explain things ,made sure we saw as much as he could provide cared we enjoyed our time with him
Reviewer: Jane costello
4 Stars
Brian was excellent
December 02, 2016
Because all of our travelers arrived timely we were able to extend out travel somewhat. Brian was quite informative on the history of the great Gold Rush and the human tragedy which it brought to tens of thousands.
Reviewer: Greg
5 Stars
Skagway tour
December 01, 2016
Driver/guide (Kate) was great. Her presentation kept us informed and entertained. I liked the smaller group (24 people). It allowed us to have a better interaction with Kate. Drizzly day but enjoyed the trip and scenery very much.
Reviewer: Tom Froyum
5 Stars
Nice tour
December 01, 2016
Was very cold and raining but the tour guide was entertaining and informative. He made it enjoyable.
Reviewer: Debby Stamate
5 Stars
Brian from ATL, the best tour guide ever :)
November 29, 2016
nice stories, bad wetter, all that in a short time ;)
Reviewer: Laura D.
5 Stars
Best part of Alaska shore excursions!
November 25, 2016
Skagway is a Great Little town and the stories about the White Pass Summit and bus tour were thoroughly enjoyable!
Reviewer: Pam Payne
5 Stars
Brian is a Riot
November 24, 2016
We loved our bus tour of Skagway City and White Pass Summit with Brian. He combined detailed knowledge with a comedian's timing. He entertained with wonderful stories of Alaska, most of which were at least partly true, and pointed out waterfalls and other sights that we might have missed. Because there were only two couples on board, there was time to drive into Canada, where we happened upon bears. Then he circled back around and took photos of each couple on a promontory with Skagway in the distance. The best tour of the whole trip!
Reviewer: Jane Dailey
5 Stars
bus driver
November 24, 2016
He was excellent. Very polite and knows all of the information about the city. I appreciate that he enjoyed his job. That made it the best.
Reviewer: Irene
5 Stars
Unfortunate weather but tour was great
November 23, 2016
It was unfortunate we had rain and fog that morning. We really couldn't see well, but still got a few pics and the city was really fun to walk around. Of the three stops our cruise ship made, Ketchikan, Juneau, and Skagway, this was by far our favorite little town. Our tour guide knew many facts about the gold rush, as long as he stayed on task. He and a few other passengers wanted to discuss hiking the Appalachian Trail. We weren't too interested in that.
Reviewer: Kathy Ray
4 Stars
Bus tour in skagway
November 21, 2016
Our bus driver, Brian, was excellent and very informative.
Reviewer: Dona stebbins
5 Stars
Great Tour
November 19, 2016
I had thought I had signed up for the train ride but I'm glad it turned out to be a mini bus instead. We were able to stop and get out at all of the beautiful look out points and take as many pictures as we wanted. I got some beautiful shots and our tour guide was very knowledgeable and fun. Had a great time!
Reviewer: Teresa Gutfeld
5 Stars
Title description exactly as presented
November 14, 2016
This was an enjoyable overview of Skagway. Lots to see during the trip to White Pass Summit and nice tour of a beautiful town. Excursion price was very reasonable.
Reviewer: Marilyn Modracek
5 Stars
Bus ride to White Pass Summit
November 13, 2016
Picked up at our ship, we had a rather long bus ride after a quick drive through downtown Skagway. Driver/guide was very informative about the Klondike gold rush as we traveled across the Canadian boarder (bring your passport) over some of the trail where so many perished in pursuit of gold. Several photo stops broke the bus ride. We could see the White Pass Train traveling along part of the same route, but it traveled on to Lake Bennett and Fraser.
Reviewer: Richard Hoback
4 Stars
Excellent Informative Driver
November 11, 2016
Brain took us up the pass in Skagway and gave us interesting information. We really enjoyed the experience.
Reviewer: Shirley Robinette
5 Stars
Perfect day
November 09, 2016
We were lucky but our day in Skagway was cloudless and beautiful. Our tour guide said it was a rarity to be able to see the peaks of the mountains so he extended our trip a little bit into Canada. Bus was comfortable and the views incredible and there were just enough stops to allow some great photos. Highly recommend this tour...just hope you have a day as nice as ours.
Reviewer: Daniel Ochman
5 Stars
Great historical/scenic excursion.
November 08, 2016
Organized and well done. You get to see more than on the train, follows the same trail only further into Canada. Would recommend. Guide was very knowledgeable, we learned a lot and was entertaining at the same time.
Reviewer: Cyndy
5 Stars
skagway city and white pass summit
November 04, 2016
This was an excellent tour. Our tour guide, Brian, was so knowledgeable about the Klondike story......scenery was breathtaking as climbed the mt with lots of stops for photo opportunities. Our small group loved this tour!
Reviewer: Kathie
5 Stars
Lots to see!
November 04, 2016
This was a very interesting and scenic excursion. Our driver was a life long resident and very informative and courteous. He pointed out the highlights of the city then we headed up the pass. The bus tour made stops along the way for scenic overlooks and waterfalls that the train does not make. We crossed into Canada so take your passport (though we never had to show them). The history of the Gold Rush is amazing, detailing what the people had to endure. Back in town try to visit the park services hall where they conduct a walking tour. One in our group also took a horseback riding excursion and loved it, too.
Reviewer: Paul H.
5 Stars
SO MUCH FUN!
October 07, 2016
Bryan, our guide, was fabulous! He had all sorts of anecdotes about himself, his life in Skagway and very knowledgeable about the area surrounding Skagway and the Klondike Gold Rush. I was disappointed at first is was a small sized bus tour on the ""highway"" and not the train, but the bus proved to be the best option. I would highly recommend this tour.
Reviewer: VLWH
5 Stars
Skagway tour
October 07, 2016
It was an excellent tour and very informative. We learned a lot about the hardship the people suffered and the dreadful conditions. Only complaint was that we didn't stop at the cemetery as promised. Would definitely recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Maureen and Murray Poultney. Western Australia
4 Stars
Skagway Whitepass Bus Tour
October 07, 2016
Had a great tour of Skagway and the mountain summits, briefly went into Canadian territory which needed our passports, stopped at a beautiful water fall site, the driver/guide was very knowledgeable/friendly and courteous...allowing for photo ops, and the weather really cooperated. We really had a great time.
Reviewer: Harry Ong
5 Stars
Great guide to vastness of Alaska
October 07, 2016
We had a a great driver and guide who pointed out sites in Skagway before we headed out of town to the White Pass Summit. He was friendly and patient with all, pointing out and stopping for photo ops along the way. Comfortable bus with lots of visibility. I was a little nervous about buying an excursion outside of our cruise ship offering, but everything was easy and obvious - plus we saved money over the cruise-offered price.
Reviewer: G Sledge
4 Stars
Great Tour
September 28, 2016
We were picked up on time and drove up the pass. The weather was clear, so the guide took us a few miles further to see some of the landscape and small lakes. The guide gave us an excellent history of the White pass and Klondike gold rush. I highly recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Sarah Helms
4 Stars
Great views of the canyon
September 28, 2016
I have gone to the top of the summit once before taking the train and I think either way it is a great experience. The driver was really good at explaining the highlights of the area. We saw a bear at the edge of the road. I just wish the trip took us to the top of the summit as the train does
Reviewer: Ana L
4 Stars
Beyond Worth the Money
September 28, 2016
A small bus with an informative, intelligent guide/driver takes you up the mountain that miners had to trek with their year survival packs. There is so much to see that you don't realize time. Our guide was excellent. I highly recommend this tour to the novice Alaskan traveler (it was my first tour on my first trip to Alaska.)
Reviewer: Cynthia McVay
5 Stars
Good tour
September 28, 2016
Our driver did a nice job providing information on the local area and history. Not as glamorous as riding the train, but a very good value and would recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Bruce Watson
4 Stars
historical summit pass
September 28, 2016
The tour guide gave us a good historical lesson on skagway city and the white summit pass. The view and stops along the pass were also good.
Reviewer: Jack Yee
4 Stars
Skagway (Because it is the Skag way 😊)
September 28, 2016
Skagway was a unique place with a lot of history. The driver was amazing. In a short time we were able to see the past and present history of the region. This tour will be a precious memory of Alaska. Thank you Shore group for your good customer service.
Reviewer: Grace Washington
5 Stars
Amazing scenery
August 26, 2016
I enjoyed the tour very much. Beautiful scenery and an interesting tour guide.
Reviewer: Cassie
5 Stars
Fabulous trip to White Pass Summit
August 25, 2016
The trip to White Pass Summit was excellent. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the informative and relaxed trip by bus to the summit. We believe it was as good as the train, at one third of the cost.
Reviewer: Gordon Belling
5 Stars
Very Nice
August 24, 2016
Comfortable transportation, knowledgeable tour guide, and plenty of stop for pictures.
Reviewer: Linda
4 Stars
Excellent trip
August 19, 2016
Our guide Bryan Terrell was exceptional, nice scenery, comfortable mini bus, wild life
Reviewer: Lili
5 Stars
worth it
August 18, 2016
We had a great bus driver for this tour and he went over and above his job to help us get great views to photograph. I'm glad we chose this tour via bus rather than train because we could stop along the way. Was inexpensive and well worth the cost.
Reviewer: Marilou Tonkovich
5 Stars
Scenic and Informative
August 18, 2016
Bryan WOW what a wealth of information you had to share re gold rush, history of area and provided us with a very beautiful tour. Thank you for your timely stops for pictures and amazing stories from mail run to whitehorse. Thank you Bryan
Reviewer: Karen Murray
5 Stars
good title
August 18, 2016
very good tour
Reviewer: jerry staub
4 Stars
Skagway city and white pass summit
August 18, 2016
It was well worth the money. Our driver was great. We saw so much of the city and took wonderful pictures.
Reviewer: JOAN silberstein
5 Stars
skagway pass
August 11, 2016
great guide, learned a lot. Better than the train time wise.
Reviewer: tj
5 Stars
excellent
August 10, 2016
Brian was awesome!!
Reviewer: Deb Beckett
5 Stars
The guide
August 08, 2016
The guide was excellent .
Reviewer: Helene Belanger
5 Stars
Skagway
August 05, 2016
Very interesting and informative tour
Reviewer: Christine Nukunuku
5 Stars
Skagway
August 04, 2016
The coach driver was very good. He adapted to the weather and made sure we saw the different terrains of the area and how weather affects them.
Reviewer: Janet McDonald
5 Stars
Much better than the railroad!
August 03, 2016
We were impressed by Bryan's knowledge and the care and consideration he had for our group. We had been to Skagway about 8 years ago and this was a much better option and of course, the price was reasonable. We came, we saw, we stopped, we were enlightened and it was amazing! I would never spend the money on the train again.
Reviewer: Ginny Gauerke
5 Stars
Lots of good info
July 21, 2016
Guide Bryan was a ton of fun. The weather could have been better but over all had a great time.
Reviewer: Jim C
4 Stars
Good basic Information on Skagway and the Pass!
July 21, 2016
We thought we were to be on the train but the bus trip was probably better since it is faster up the hill. The views depend on the weather. Bryan was nice enough to take us as far as possible over the pass so we could get some good pictures of the vast wilderness the early settlers had to deal with. He also provided a nice stop with overview of the town on our return.
Reviewer: Gene Heyer
4 Stars
Nice tour
July 19, 2016
This was an amazing trip because we got to learn all about the Gold Rush, which I am ashamed to say, I didn't know that much about. Skagway is a very interesting town and it was fascinating to learn about it.
Reviewer: Anonymous
5 Stars
Better than the train
July 19, 2016
Everyone told us we needed to take the train ride in Skagway, but we opted for the van instead and we were so glad we did. We went up the same Valley but on the other side and higher up on the mountain. The views were incredible, and our tour guide, Brian, was great. We learned about earthquakes, fault lines, tundra, bears (he knew where Cinnamon the bear would be eating dandelions), and much about the gold rush. DON'T take the train for many times the price of this tour. Take this tour.
Reviewer: Anonymous
5 Stars
Beautiful
July 15, 2016
We enjoyed our bus tour! We went up into the mountains and was able to stop and take some beautiful pictures. Then we had a nice tour of the town. It was worth the money!
Reviewer: Anonymous
4 Stars
historically interesting
July 15, 2016
This could have been just a nice drive up the highway to see the scenery but our guide Brian brought the Gold Rush days to life with his fascinating stories.
Reviewer: Valerie
4 Stars
A must see
July 13, 2016
This was an awesome experience. A must see. Because we took the bus we were able to make stops for photo taking and stop at the waterfall to sample the taste of the water
Reviewer: Bahamas Cruisers
3 Stars
Interesting scenery
June 07, 2016
Tour guide very knowledable.
Reviewer: Mark O.
4 Stars
Great Excursion
June 05, 2016
We actually the missed the tour time we had booked. We decided to check with the tour operator to see if it would possible to join another tour. They were so helpful and understanding. The tour guide was great, very knowledgeable and informative.
Reviewer: Deb
5 Stars
After much debate, We are very glad we did it.
August 28, 2015
Do to the price we debated for awhile. Decided that the second time thru we would do it. So glad we did.
Reviewer: DCSCAN
4 Stars
Scenic
August 08, 2015
Bob was a very informative guide, and good storyteller.
Reviewer: Travelers
4 Stars
Family Vacation
August 04, 2015
Our guide, Bob, could not have been better - friendly, educational, interesting, great with children!
Reviewer: Laura
5 Stars
the best!!!
July 13, 2015
this tour was made even better by our great tour guide Bob! He was exceptional in providing information, friendliness and humor
Reviewer: Sandy
4 Stars
Skagway City and White Pass Summit
June 17, 2015
Knowledgeable, pleasant guide
Reviewer: Boscoboyz
4 Stars
On a clear day you can see everything!
June 17, 2015
Great guide! The history of the gold rush days that he told us was unbelievable! Well worth going on this tour. Great stops to get awesome pics and watched the train zig zag around the mountain. Went into no man's land (between USA/Yukon). Well worth going.
Reviewer: Vic
4 Stars
fantastic tour guide!
June 12, 2015
Our tour guide, Brent, was the best! He made the history of the area come alive for us. Our group was fairly small (less than 18) so it was easier to get on and off the bus to see the absolutely beautiful surroundings. Brent graciously took pictures for anyone who wanted them, leaving me with some of the best pictures from our trip. this tour was a good deal for the cost.
Reviewer: EJ
5 Stars
Skagway City and White Pass Summit Tour with Mark
June 09, 2015
The Skagway City and White Pass Tour was conducted by a knowledgeable, friendly, considerate, funny and passionate man who obviously loved the history the area. We had a beautiful day for this tour and it was one of the most relaxing, enjoyable and memorable tours I took on this trip. Sincere appreciation to Mark for making this a wonderful day.
Reviewer: none
5 Stars
Unbelievable history!
June 04, 2015
The guide was the greatest...so much knowledge of history and a great way to present it. Great stops along the way and extra effort to provide the best views and photo spots. Great place to visit and find out about....we are now going to research the amazing story of Skagway's checkered history!
Reviewer: thehkbaileys
5 Stars
Skagway at it's best
June 02, 2015
Our guide/driver Brian made the whole trip amazing with his knowlege and enthusiasm. It also didn't hurt that we had perfect weather so he was able to show us more than we ever imagined possible.
Reviewer: Bob
5 Stars
Train tour topper
October 14, 2014
From our angle this was a way better way to see the pass than the train option. Talking to others whom did the train proved us right!!!
Reviewer: Ranger
4 Stars
not enough time
October 09, 2014
The tour guide waited for us already as soon as we got out the port. We didn't have to wait or look for him.
Reviewer: Tiger Mom
4 Stars
Bill is a GREAT tour guide!!
August 26, 2014
Bill was our guide for the Skagway city and White Pass Summit tour with Shore Excursions. We took the tour due to our cruise ship going to Skagway. The tour was great. We saw a lot, learned a lot, had lots of good photo ops, and Bill was funny, highly educated and educational, and made everything interesting! We feel lucky to have had him as our guide, and the scenery and history of the area were incredible too. The only thing that would have made it better would have been the option to go for longer and maybe make it all the way up to Whitehorse and back within the time the cruise ship was in Skagway :-) I didn't want the tour to end!
Reviewer: Melanie
5 Stars
Bill is a GREAT tour guide!!
August 22, 2014
Bill was our guide for the Skagway city and White Pass Summit tour with Shore Excursions. The tour was great. We saw a lot, learned a lot, had lots of good photo ops, and Bill was funny, highly educated and educational, and made everything interesting! We feel lucky to have had him as our guide, and the scenery and history of the area were incredible too.
Reviewer: Melanie
5 Stars
Great tour!
August 22, 2014
Most people take the train but the van was better. We were able to stop at many locations for pictures and with a small group we were able to hear interesting stories and ask questions. Our tour guide was knowledgeable about the gold rush and brought the stories to life!
Reviewer: Boston Bonnie
4 Stars
Ex Teachers are the best guides
August 20, 2014
Our guide was an experienced former college professor. She knew how to make the trip interesting for each person. She tried to pay attention to everyone and know everyone. We learned a lot about the Alaska gold rush.
Reviewer: Steve
5 Stars
I would do this tour again!!!!
August 19, 2014
We loved taking the bus instead of the train. It gave us the opportunity to get out & walk around & take beautiful pictures!!
Reviewer: C the Traveler
5 Stars
interesting and beautiful
August 07, 2014
Excellent tour guide
Reviewer: mary
5 Stars
Historicaly interesting and beautiful sc
August 06, 2014
The tour guide made the tour very interesting. The scenry was beautiful. Interesting museums.
Reviewer: none
4 Stars
Breathtaking Sights
July 25, 2014
We had a great time and saw many sights of the area. Our guide was a retired teacher so presentation and content of area was great. Would take this trip again and make no changes. Great time
Reviewer: Wilbur
5 Stars
Just loved it
July 24, 2014
Our driver-guide Brian was exclusive ! It was like listening a movie- very very interesting one about beginning of gold fever. And tour around town held many stories as well. Brian,you are the best !
Reviewer: Meile
5 Stars
Excellent tour. Tour guide, the best!!!
July 13, 2014
Tour guide provided a lot of information about the area. Frequent photo ops.
Reviewer: Sharron
5 Stars
Informative
June 16, 2014
After not knowing Skagway even existed, I felt like I knew its' entire history with the gold rush by the end of the excursion! I origionally wanted to take the train, but you just don't get the backstory like you do on this excursion! Outside of the two people that were together that sat in the back and split to take a window on each side (forcing us in the very middle seats in the back without a window) it was a great time!
Reviewer: Shawn
4 Stars
great way to see a unique place
June 15, 2014
Our guide is someone who lives in the area and she was able to share information about life style and things that you cannot just read about.
Reviewer: new traveler
4 Stars
Great time
June 10, 2014
Great tour. Much better than train.
Reviewer: Lildoug
5 Stars
Beautiful!
October 01, 2013
Our White Pass trip was beautiful. It was remote and had beautiful waterfalls, a great view of the train making its way alongside the mountain, and many mountains with glaciers.
Reviewer: North to Alaska
4 Stars
Fantastic Tour Guide - Dennis
September 30, 2013
Our guide took advantage of photo op when available. The weather changes within minutes. He stopped earlier than he usually would have, because the view was clear. Not thirty minutes through the same area, we couldn't see anything. So glad we had an experienced guide that cared what we were able to see and do.
Reviewer: Terri
5 Stars
Skagway City and White Pass Summit
September 29, 2013
The tourguide was flexible in time elements and suggested unique alternatives to the normal tour. We wound up getting fogged in so he really tried to find things to help fill in tour. I would request the same person if I took the same tour again.
Reviewer: Alaska Cruiser
5 Stars
Be ready!
September 25, 2013
Our bus driver took pride in educating us about the Klondike days and the hardships of getting there. He had additional pictures to show and explain. Bus stops were excellent so we could take pictures.
Reviewer: M & M
5 Stars
I would purchase again
September 20, 2013
Our guide was very informative. He made several stops for photo shots. He was fun.
Reviewer: Diane
5 Stars
g
September 03, 2013
Excellent guide!
Reviewer: vzghj3
4 Stars
Train vs. Minibus in Skagway
August 31, 2013
Before you leave home, compare the shore excursions offered by the cruise line and those by the travel company. The cruise line offered a ride on the railroad up to the summit of White Pass. The description was ride the historic railroad and marvel at the breathtaking scenery. From the way it read, the emphasis was relax and look at the mountains. The Skagway excursion from the travel company described the outing with a little more attention paid to the history of White Pass. It also included going through the town and not only to the summit, but over it into Desolation Valley below in British Columbia. If you have ever seen a television program on the Discovery or History channels about the Klondike gold rush, and are a bit of history buff, you will want something more than to take a train ride to look at the scenery. The outing offered by Shore Excursions Group (through the travel company/agent) is a much more satisfying and interesting experience.
Reviewer: HRH, Her Grace, the Duchess of Norcross
4 Stars
Wonderful excursion
August 21, 2013
It was a very informative tour.
Reviewer: BandJ
4 Stars
Great Tour and tour guide
August 15, 2013
Our tour guide, Brian was wonderful. He told us the history of the Yukon gold rush and some of the individuals who were part of it. The summitt was fogged in clouds, so we couldn't see the views, so Brian took us on a little hike to see a waterfall. This was a better tour than going on the train, because Brian was such an interesting tour guide.
Reviewer: Travel Grandma
5 Stars
The bus tour the way to go.
August 10, 2013
The bus is the way to go. You get to make photo stops. Great guide and nice mini-couch. Had great weather and could see forever. This tour gives you the many wonderful sights and still have time in town to shop.
Reviewer: t-bird
4 Stars
It was perfect
June 30, 2013
Everything was good, allways very friendly and nice Guite. The information was great and fun. Time well organized, easy to find, very small groups, individually. I can only recommend it
Reviewer: Marie
5 Stars
The Most Exciting Thing in Skagway
June 25, 2013
The tour was 2:30 hours leaving at 8:00 AM. It was a good bus ride and we went into Canada for a mile or so. Lots of other people took the train ride and went to the first town in Canada. Most of them saw bears. We didn't. The bus driver recommended that we have lunch at the Skagway Brewing Company. They don't start serving food until 11:00 AM but you can drink until then.
Reviewer: fastoy
4 Stars
Nice trip, bad weather
June 07, 2013
Would have been a beautiful tour if it wasn't raining and cloudy. Couldn't see the White Pass.
Reviewer: Jim
4 Stars
Skagway and White Pass Summit
April 23, 2013
This trip was the best ever. You may take a train to go to White Pass Summit, but taking a bus is a better option. You can take pictures due to the bus stops. There is so many great places to take pictures. Great trip. A lot to see.
Reviewer: Elizabeth
5 Stars
Take this tour!
September 27, 2012
There is a lot of history and local colour in the Skagway area. This tour will give you the best overall experience and still leave time for shopping.
Reviewer: Harold
5 Stars
A bus tour well worth the trip.
September 26, 2012
Unlike the popular train ride to White Pass, the bus tour allows stops to actually see sights like the Skagway Cemetary, a must see, and many beautiful waterfalls and opportunities for memorable photo stops.
Reviewer: Barry traveler
4 Stars
foggy
September 26, 2012
Good guide, but weather prevented much viewing
Reviewer: jac
4 Stars
great history of the area
September 24, 2012
we had a great and entertaining guide, big country
Reviewer: willi
4 Stars
Ahead of the Pack
September 18, 2012
Enthusiasm imparted about the sights was contagious.
Reviewer: Bucket Listers
5 Stars
great trip and great price
September 07, 2012
wonderful trip, great informative driver. we made stops for photos etc and saw wonderful alaska. sights.recomend this trip to anyone.
Reviewer: brett
5 Stars
Excellent tour.
August 26, 2012
Wonderful tour. It was perfect for the entire family. We had children and older family. Very moderate walking. Knowledgable guide that made the tour interesting and fun. Plenty of stops to view and take photos.
Reviewer: Karen
4 Stars
Christian ""Big Country"" is THE best!!
August 24, 2012
The excursion was exceptional. Christian was very knowledgeable, personable, creative in his delivery. The stops along the way were interesting, breathtaking and informative. Big Country even serenaded us as we returned back from our adventure. He took one of the best pictures of us from the whole trip! Very enjoyable experience!
Reviewer: wabtac
5 Stars
Pray for a clear day!
July 30, 2012
We felt this mini-bus trip was more inter-active than the same trip by railroad.
Reviewer: T&M
4 Stars
Alaskan Adventure
July 24, 2012
We chose this option instead of the rail ride up to the summit and were glad we did. It was much cheaper but still gave us the views and story behind the gold rush. (We had a glacier/helicopter tour scheduled for later in the day, so the savings here helped us offset the cost of the helicopter ride). My husband (who I thought would find this kind of boring) especially enjoyed this excursion. The tour of the cemetery and downtown Skagway were an extra bonus that one would not get with the rail ride. It was beautiful and also quite thorough in the story of the Alaskan Gold Rush.
Reviewer: Jan
5 Stars
Stunning Scenery
June 15, 2012
Great variety, glad we didn't take the train to Whitepass Summit because we were able to get off the bus and experience actually being in that landscape. Views made us speechless. Going to the old cemetery and hiking up to Reid Falls was an added bonus.
Reviewer: Dee Dee
5 Stars
great
June 15, 2012
This was a lot of fun. The guide did a great job.
Reviewer: Sandy
5 Stars
UNBELIEVABLE TRAIN RIDE
June 06, 2012
Words cannot describe how beautiful this excursion was. I want to do it again. AMAZING
Reviewer: Bill
5 Stars
More than just a ""tour""
May 11, 2012
Excellent way to see Skagway - small tour group with very knowledgable guide, knew the area well and added lots of interesting tidbits. Several photo stops along the way - breathtaking views! Driver more than willing to take pics of us with scenic background. We were on the first cruise of the season (May 1) and got to see lots of snow - it actually snowed on us up in the mountains!
Reviewer: ThomBanK
5 Stars
great excursion
October 06, 2011
enjoyed very much were able to get out and walk by the beach and enjoyed it very much we saw an eagle's nest picked up shells.
Reviewer: anniversary couple
4 Stars
Fun Excursion
July 18, 2011
The Skagway City Tour and White Pass Summit tour was very worthwhile. The guide was excellent and very informative about the history and geography of the area. He allowed plenty of time for photo shots at each stop along the excursion.
Reviewer: Diane the Bucket-list Lady
5 Stars