Bays, Beaches and Views of Dunedin

Bays, Beaches and views of Dunendin
April 14, 2020
Excellent day trip. Guide was great and he also identified many birds for us also.
Reviewer: David
5 Stars
Nice Day
April 07, 2020
We had a nice day touring around the area. Our tour guide took us to a beautiful beach with sea lions. Walked up the steepest street in the world. The only issue was that is was difficult to hear the the tour guide as we sat in the back seat of the van.
Reviewer: D Damen
4 Stars
Beautiful Dunedin
March 31, 2020
My family had a lovely tour of Dunedin with our local guide. We stopped and saw many beautiful sites. It was a quick and wonderful overall view of the area.
Reviewer: Jennifer Liu
5 Stars
Wonderful experience
March 21, 2020
We had a spectacular time in Dunedin thanks to this tour. We saw wildlife and gorgeous vistas. Very satisfied.
Reviewer: Pauline Grillos
5 Stars
Fell in love with Dunedin
March 20, 2020
There were only 2 couples in the tour. It felt like a private tour. We loved Dunedin and would consider it as a possible retirement location. The beach was beautiful and not crowded at all. We spotted couple sea lions sun bathing. The weather was lovely. Everything was perfect. The tour guide did an excellent job.
Reviewer: Jody Kao
5 Stars
Back to Nature Tours in Dunedin
March 20, 2020
Glenn Beasley provided an informative and fun tour of the city of Dunedin that began at the harbor and went to a number of notable sites in the city with stops and time to explore. In addition, we thoroughly enjoyed touring the bays and even walking along the shoreline to remote areas where seals and sea lions nest. His understanding of nature and ecology was unsurpassed and he shared his knowledge in such a way that everyone was excited. Even those who didn't walk but stayed with the coach were able to experience the real New Zealand!
Reviewer: Leah Naess
5 Stars
Beautiful Otago
March 20, 2020
Our excursion was lead by our guide Marty who had unbelievable knowledge of the area and wildlife. Small group of 15 is the way to go with easy access to areas in the bus as well as easy on/off loading. We were blown away at the spots where views were extensive and time stopped at these was not a problem which allowed us to fully take in the panorama and listen to Marty's history and local info. Highlight was when we went to the beach to spot Seals. A month old seal pup came through the grassy sand dunes and came over to the bus. Great photo opportunity but we were really blown away by Marty's concern for the seal and kept other people and vehicles away from it and was finally able after contacting a Ranger to coax the seal to safety. Would thoroughly recommend this tour and company to everyone and full compliments to Marty
Reviewer: Bob Bennett
5 Stars
Great tour
March 17, 2020
We had a lot to see in a short time, guide did a wonderful job of pointing out the highlights and making frequent stops along the way.
Reviewer: David Brindle
5 Stars
sight seeing
March 13, 2020
It was a nice excursions. The tour guide was good and knowledgeble. However, it was a raining day and cut down the outside time.
Reviewer: Philip Lam
4 Stars
Dunedin overview
March 11, 2020
We enjoyed seeing all the beautiful mountain and water views. Our tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable.
Reviewer: Kathy Adams
5 Stars
Excellent tour
March 08, 2020
Guide was superb getting us to all of the places - nice views everywhere we went
Reviewer: BB
5 Stars
Dunedin Nature excursion
March 04, 2020
This swas a wonderful small group excursion to explore the hills and seashore outside of Dunedin. We had beautiful views of Dunedin, the surrounding hills, and a short hike to an incredible beach. While there we saw a variety of seabirds and also southern fur seals who came ashore for a "rest" from hunting. We also went into Dunedin where we visited the railway station, a real architectural beauty.
Reviewer: Karen McCandless-Buck
5 Stars
Tour at Dunedin
March 02, 2020
Excellent tour. The guide was friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating.
Reviewer: C.Dennick
5 Stars
great tour
February 29, 2020
I cant say enough good things about our tour. great guide, interesting tour
Reviewer: mary m bahry
5 Stars
Bays of Delight
February 25, 2020
our guide was very knowledgeable. He kept us up to date with our itinerary . The excursion was a wonderful experience
Reviewer: Christine
5 Stars
Excellent tour
February 23, 2020
I really enjoyed learning about the area. Our guide was fantastic, friendly and knowledgeable. My favorite part was the beach in Dunedin - just spectacular!
Reviewer: Christine MacKinnon
5 Stars
Enjoyable excursion
February 19, 2020
The guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and courteous. The tour was exactly as advertised.
Reviewer: Sharon
5 Stars
Spectacular Otago Country`
February 16, 2020
Just an amble from the ship to the tour bus and Scott our enthusiastic young guide. Through historic Port Chalmers on winding country roads with lots of unusual birds and trees to Dunedin. Beautiful historic and modern buildings everywhere. On to the wetlands and beaches. Nearly tripping over the large black boulders which were sea lions basking. So huge when they fumble to their feet and stagger slowly to the water. Special beaches indeed. A place to hurry back to.
Reviewer: Patricia Fitzgerald
5 Stars
Bays, Beaches and Views of Dunedin
February 08, 2020
Excellent driver and guide. Minibus clean and comfortable. Good sized group.
Reviewer: Sue O'Loughlin
5 Stars
Dunedin
January 26, 2020
Our guide was very knowledgable and the tour was a good variety of things to see. I enjoyed seeing the beaches and the beautiful city.
Reviewer: Rebecca Davidson
5 Stars
Dunedin - learn how to say it!
January 13, 2020
I come from coastal CA so ocean isn’t a HUGE deal but the beach walk was nice, the sea lions were great, the views were ok and although the castle was mentioned, we never saw it. Felt like I should have spent more time seeing by foot and going to the remarkable LANDmarks.
Reviewer: Judy Keneipp
4 Stars
Dunedin
January 10, 2020
Too bad it was a cool and wet day. In spite we had a great tour. A very informative and all around great guide. Loved it from beginning to end.
Reviewer: Kerstin Egborg Rogers
5 Stars
Bays, Beaches and Views of Dunedin
January 06, 2020
This was the best out of our three tours. Oliver, our guide, was very interesting to listen to. He obviously knew a lot about his subject.
Reviewer: MARIEFRANCE URRUTY
5 Stars
Bays, Beaches and Views of Dunedin
January 06, 2020
Please ignore the review I sent just before.I got the guides confused. This one is the right one: We thought Dunedin was a beautiful town. Definitely worth visiting! Scenery was magnificent and I particularly liked the Old Historical part of the town. Our guide was very knowledgeable too!
Reviewer: MARIEFRANCE URRUTY
5 Stars
Very nice
January 02, 2020
We liked everythin in this tour. Thank you
Reviewer: Fernande Lachance
5 Stars
Fun Day touring Dunedin with a great guide
December 21, 2019
Nice varied tour which showcased the lovely city, the beautiful scenery surrounding it, and some wildlife as well. Guide did a great job and seemed to really enjoy his work. Especially loved the stop at a beach park reserve with a trek to the water through dunes to see local seals. Would warn those with mobility issues that this walk could be a challenge.
Reviewer: Carol Shepherd
5 Stars
Enjoyable Morning in Dunedin
December 20, 2019
This was a good trip to get an overview of Dunedin and what it has to offer. Especially like the walk on the beach and were lucky enough to see two sea lions asleep on the sand.
Reviewer: Elizabeth Northey
4 Stars
Port Chalmers:Dunedin
December 20, 2019
Weather was very brisk(Nov. 11th), back to nature tour was nice, only saw two seals on the beach( no assurance of sightings of wildlife) train station @ Dunedin is something to see, driver Marty was very good
Reviewer: greg stefo
5 Stars
Dunedin
December 16, 2019
Ollie our tour guide was an excellent guide. Had a great tour. Recommended for sure.
Reviewer: Linda Adair
5 Stars
Private bus tour
December 16, 2019
We had an amazing driver by the name of Ben He took us all over Dunedin and he was the best story teller to boot.
Reviewer: veronika Dawes
5 Stars
Lovely New Zealand
December 15, 2019
We had a great guide and a lovely trip, including some hail !
Reviewer: Katie Daan
5 Stars
So much information
December 09, 2019
Our driver was excellent felt that I learned so much about the area. Would highly recommend this excursion. Small group so many great questions all answered.
Reviewer: Sandra
5 Stars
Good Tour
December 02, 2019
We enjoyed the tour- very scenic and informative.
Reviewer: Shirley Thomason
5 Stars
Great overview of fantastic area
November 24, 2019
A very nice day. Dunedin is very nice. Beaches were gorgeous.
Reviewer: Ken
5 Stars
Superb Tour!
August 20, 2019
I highly recommend this tour. We covered a lot of ground -- the city of Dunedin and the outlying areas. The guide was completing a master's degree in zoology, and provided a great commentary on the wildlife and their habitats, from black swans to sea lions. In fact we stopped at a beach, and saw two sea lions frolicking in the sand. Highly recommended!
Reviewer: Eric P
5 Stars
Dunedin
April 25, 2019
Excellent tour with knowledgable and affable tour guide.
Reviewer: Patricia Fitzgibbons
5 Stars
back to nature tour
April 14, 2019
thoroughly enjoyed and highly recommend this tour .Our guide was informative, gave us a very educational insight of the beaches bays and great views of Dunedin. took us on a trail to see fur seals on a secluded beach
Reviewer: Walter Kodakovic
5 Stars
Exploring the Otago peninsula
April 07, 2019
We had a perfect day for this small group excursion along the beautiful peninsula & what a relaxing way to spend the morning! It was great to have the chance to view the lovely countryside , beaches & wildlife...also good to stretch our legs with some walking.
Reviewer: Beverley Milson
3 Stars
Dunedin
April 05, 2019
Well organized,enjoyed the walk on the beach c/w sea lions
Reviewer: georges belanger
5 Stars
Bays, Beaches & Views of Dunedin
March 23, 2019
Great tour of city, including views from viewpoint, Baldwin St etc. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the wildlife, vegetation, geography, history, etc of the area, and was very enthusiastic about showing us the area. She took us to a couple of areas in search of sea lions, and gave us a good & interesting overview of the area.
Reviewer: Jan Bloomfield
5 Stars
Best excursion
March 19, 2019
This was the best excursion we have ever been on and a highlight of our trip. The scenery was magnificent and our tour guide was superb. He took us to an unspoiled pristine beach where he knew seals and sea lions would be in abundance. We walked the beach and got up and personal. He did not rush us and we were there for some time. If you take this tour make sure to ask to go to Allans beach!
Reviewer: Cathy Sholtzow
5 Stars
Excellent Excursion
March 19, 2019
We thoroughly enjoyed this excursion. We saw many places that we would not have seen on the ship's tours. We were excited to see 2 female New Zealand Sea Lions sleeping on the beach. When walking back to the van we were surprised by a very large juvenile male sea lion coming down the path at us. We really got a closeup view of him as our guide skillfully guided us out of the way to keep us all safe. But it was fun to see him as he would charge forward and then plop down before doing it all over again. The guide was a college student but he really enjoyed showing us the sights and was very knowledgeable as he was able to answer all of our questions.
Reviewer: Nancy Paczosa
5 Stars
Shore excursion
March 15, 2019
Enjoyed this tour. Highlight was seeing seal and pup sea & land. Very beautiful area.
Reviewer: Elaine
5 Stars
Great tour
February 23, 2019
This tour covered everything we wanted to see! Tour guide was great and knowledgeable!
Reviewer: Barry Wilson
5 Stars
Dunedin
February 20, 2019
The subject matters of this tour were appealing. I prefer general history, economic, geology and location than walking around on the beach. We saw the same beach about 2 times by driving up the hillside. The tour guide tried to hard to make we have fun.
Reviewer: David S Chinoraks
3 Stars
Bays, Beaches and Views of Dunedin
February 17, 2019
A stunning place, amazing views, great guide, small group on a small bus so we covered a lot of ground, the high roads and the low roads. the famous railway station, the Octagon, Otago, and much more. Great tour, great place.
Reviewer: Ronni Ullmann
5 Stars
Great value
February 06, 2019
Friendly, knowledgeable guide, saw a range of views, city and bays, with photo stops and plenty of time for a walk on beach to see seals. Choice of drop off afterwards if we wanted to stay in Dunedin.
Reviewer: Pam Tunn
5 Stars
Review
January 21, 2019
The tour was fantastic and we did see the large fur seal up close. Great trip in the bus which was well catered for.
Reviewer: James
4 Stars
Bays, Beaches and Views of Dunedin
January 20, 2019
Excellent tour, would recommend it to all.
Reviewer: Jenny Burger
5 Stars
small place but a lot to offer
January 10, 2019
our driver was the guide.he was good.the stop in the middle was too long
Reviewer: yacob naor
4 Stars
Kiwi country with a Scottish heart
January 07, 2019
Two of four port package. Once again Shorex were excellent in every way from meeting guide to value of tour. Small group, see more & much cheaper than Princess Ship booked tour. Unfortunately Dunedin lived up to its name as weather not so good & the Otago Peninsula was not as spectacular as it could have been. Guide was excellent.
Reviewer: Andrew
5 Stars
Beautiful area
December 19, 2018
The tour covered a lot of the countryside around Dunedin. The beach we went too was beautiful and even had a couple of sea lions sleeping on it. The flowers were blooming and the fields were beautiful. We did do some touring if the city of Dunedin, but spent most of the time in the countryside.
Reviewer: Jody Wheeler
4 Stars
Good overview
December 16, 2018
Sharon gave a good overview of the history and culture of this part of New Zealand. Lots of views of sheep, crops, and a visit to a lovely sand beach with basking sea lions. The wheelchair member of our party could not get to the beach which was a pity. The Dunedin train station is marvelous, well worth the stop.
Reviewer: Margaret Griffith
4 Stars
Great excursion
July 02, 2018
We were taken to many beautiful places. It was great.
Reviewer: Peter Kuo
5 Stars
Excellent Overview
June 18, 2018
The tour gave us an excellent overview of the area. We got to see many sights and were able to walk along the ocean. The guide was very knowledgeable, courteous, and entertaining.
Reviewer: Rosita Tam
5 Stars
Bays,beaches and views of Dunedin
May 21, 2018
Was a great excursion well worth the price which was considerably less than the cruise lines. We were met on time the bus was great
Reviewer: John March
5 Stars
Rain and Fog
April 23, 2018
Driver was knowledgable and a good story teller. We did not get much of the vistas because of the rain and fog. So we drove around got to see some of the beaches with the wind and rain but it was too cold and windy to get out and admire the "view"
Reviewer: Paul Milner
5 Stars
The driver(guide) friendly, good knowledge
April 16, 2018
The driver and guide are the same person. He arrived the meeting place on time. Very friendly and express enthusiasm for the tour. Good knowledge and clearly explanation about the tour places and views.
Reviewer: Juzhen Huang
5 Stars
AAA Tour
April 16, 2018
Excellent tour. Tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable.
Reviewer: Andrew Ng
5 Stars
Excellent Tour
April 16, 2018
A must do tour. Excellent tour guide
Reviewer: Jessie Lin
5 Stars
Excellent Tour
April 16, 2018
The only way to enjoy Dunedin. The tour guide was excellent and friendly
Reviewer: Francis Chan
5 Stars
Excellent Tour
April 16, 2018
Tour guide was excellent and very inform.
Reviewer: So Ying Chan
5 Stars
Natural beauty
March 07, 2018
The tour guide was a neighbor of the person who owns the company. Very passionate about the environment. We were put on a tour with passengers from another cruise ship that was leaving port an hour earlier than we were. This cut our excursion time short and feel we were not given our moneys worth. It could have been easily fixed by placing customers from the same cruise ship together since there were 2 groups going on this tour. Our tour was less than 3 hours.
Reviewer: Richard BOurns
3 Stars
The title is accurate
February 27, 2018
This was our third tour of this trip, so some of the beauty of the New Zealand coast was already familiar to us. A special treat was being taken to a path several hundred meters through the dunes to witness the crashing surf up close. Our driver had a tendency to not elaborate on basic facts, so he was not as interesting as most guides we've experienced.
Reviewer: Robert Falk
4 Stars
Dunedin and suroundings
February 10, 2018
Very nice trip, had the chance to encounter see lions on the beach, also to walk on the steepest street in the world!
Reviewer: Marin Dinu
4 Stars
Very Nice Excursion
February 07, 2018
The excursion gave us a great scenic introduction to the area. Very enjoyable. Fulfilled expectations well. Knowledgeable guide. I recommend it.
Reviewer: Jack Stepp
5 Stars
Great tour of the area.
January 31, 2018
We were in Dunedin for the day with our cruise. This tour took us to see many of the highlights in the area that we surely would have missed out on our own. Best was the magnificent beach with seals lounging around.. we ended the tour in Dunedin, spending an hour or so there before returning to the ship. I highly recommend it!
Reviewer: Joan
5 Stars
Nice tour guide
January 30, 2018
Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. I would recommend to everyone to take this beautiful and comfortable ride. Love it!
Reviewer: THANH NGA BO
4 Stars
Dunedin bus tour
January 24, 2018
Really good tour. The driver was very knowledgeable about the history and sites in the area. Even though some roads were steep and narrow, he was a safe and excellent driver. The tour was a great balance of town and country tours. Well worth the money and time.
Reviewer: James Donnelly
5 Stars
Dunedin
January 11, 2018
Teresa was an excellent guide and knowledge and informative about the area.
Reviewer: P. Glass
4 Stars
Pleasant Drive
January 08, 2018
Tour leader was a local and very knowledgeable about history and the land. I saw sea lions and birds and sheep. Very pleasant drive and day in nature.
Reviewer: Charlene Murphy
4 Stars
GREAT DAY OUT.
January 01, 2018
Very comprehensive and interesting tour. Got to see a lot of the countryside and still had time to explore Dunedin. Tour guide was very friendly and knowlegeable. Highly re omnend.
Reviewer: Margaret Bowman
5 Stars
Good Day
December 11, 2017
The ride was nice, drive very informative, the views amazing. Well worth it.
Reviewer: Mitch Blaesing
4 Stars
Great Views
April 01, 2017
The trip was well worth the money, as the ride and views were amazing. We even stopped on were able to walk on the beach and observed sea lions. We were met by a representative who was very friendly and informative on Dunedin. We would recommend this excursion to any one who can take long walk to the beach and interested in history.
Reviewer: Louis Suarez
5 Stars
Beautiful Dunedin
March 31, 2017
We thoroughly enjoyed our day in Dunedin with Chris. He was very knowledgeable about the area and gave us a great overview of the history of Dunedin, and the surrounding Bay and Beach area. We had a beautiful day. This was one of the highlights of our trip. We highly recommend this tour.
Reviewer: marthac
5 Stars
Dunedin
March 17, 2017
Good tour of Dunedin and the beaches. Got to see seals on the beach. It would have been nice if we could have spent more time in Dunedin itself.
Reviewer: Robert Tripp
4 Stars
Lots to see
February 20, 2017
Comfortable trip. Good info, full day
Reviewer: Sharon Leighton
4 Stars
We Enjoyed It
February 15, 2017
The Tour was reasonably priced, on time and was very enjoyable. It was easy to book and so glad we booked our excursion with Shore Excursions. Will be booking more with them on our next cruise.
Reviewer: Evangeline Hidalgo
4 Stars
Very Nice Dunedin Shore Excursion
February 10, 2017
I booked for 6 of us for this Excursion. They were right on time, very nice tour guide and there were only a total of 8 passengers on the tour group. Very detailed and very nice tour. We were all very happy that we took booked this excursion.
Reviewer: Evangeline Hidalgo
4 Stars
Dunedin
February 05, 2017
Our guide Adam grew up on a farm in the area and was exceedingly familiar with history, flora & fauna, and the penguin hospital. An ideal tour
Reviewer: Susan Emanuel
5 Stars
Dunedin Bays, Beaches & Views - January 7,2017
January 29, 2017
Excellent informative tour in small group by Owner - great experience
Reviewer: Garth Holmes
5 Stars
Dunedin sight seeing
January 08, 2017
We got off to a rocky start. Our small group of 8 waited over 1/2hr only to be told there was a delay but they were on their way. 1 of the 2 busses had broken down. Eventually our guide arrived & we were in our way. He was a very friendly young man & a local studying & living with his young family for many yrs in the area so was very knowledgeable about the areas we were visiting for the day. We visited old railway stations & lookouts over beautiful bays, drove through gorgeous countryside to the beach. On the beach were sea lions of different sizes & penguin nesting areas. I would definitely recommend this day trip to anyone interested in seeing the beautiful sights of Dunedin. The only reason I don't give it a 5 star rating is the lateness off the guide & the fact he had a bad cold, hence while traveling in a confined bus for some hrs my husband & I consiquently caught it as did 2 other passengers.
Reviewer: Yvonne Grant
4 Stars
Interesting alternative thinking tour
April 26, 2016
Interesting guide with entertaining banter.
Reviewer: jay
5 Stars
A good, small group way to see the area.
March 24, 2016
Dunedin is a charming town, but you could easily walk around it in an hour or so self-guided. The real value of this tour is to see the peninsula and its beautiful beaches and local wildlife. That is mostly birds, although sea lions and sometimes penguins are there as well. It's just very beautiful, a small van with excellent guides and enough leisurely walking to feel as if you were not just captive on a buss.
Reviewer: Suzie
4 Stars
Excellent tour
March 16, 2016
The tour guide was very accommodating. My husband is handicapped and he took his light weight scooter in and out of the bus for him at every stop. He was very knowledgeable about the area. It was my first experience booking with shore excursions and I would definitely book with them again
Reviewer: BBW
5 Stars
I would recommend this excursion
February 08, 2016
Very interesting. Learned a lot about New Zealand. Got to experience some things that we would not have on our own.
Reviewer: Lucy Jane
5 Stars
Wonderful tour.
January 19, 2016
Veeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeery,Good.
Reviewer: Peter,the Audio
4 Stars
good interesting and friendly guide.
December 19, 2015
big buses can't go where these smaller tour vehicles can go
Reviewer: Go everywhere
4 Stars
Best nature tour
December 10, 2015
The knowledge of our guide, the uniqueness of the tour and the once in life time experience of actually seeing sea lions on the beach was beyond our expectations.
Reviewer: Dreamer
4 Stars
Bays, Beaches and wildlife
November 05, 2015
Great Value, small groups, interesting and friendly guides. Sure beats the large bus tours by the cruise ships.
Reviewer: Dave's Raves
5 Stars
Beautiful beach with Sea Lions
November 05, 2015
It was fun seeing the beach with the sea lions laying around in their natural habitat.
Reviewer: JudyC
5 Stars
WOW
November 04, 2015
Mark our guide was great. Very likable and knowledgeable on the Dunedin area. He took the time to make us feel comfortable and we did not feel rushed. Keep up the outstanding work.
Reviewer: Jerry
5 Stars
Very fulfilling excursion!
March 05, 2015
Very nice
Reviewer: Arizona
4 Stars
Funday on Sunday
February 27, 2015
It was a most enjoyable day in a beautiful city
Reviewer: Bobby Canuck
5 Stars
Definitely worth it
December 29, 2014
Great overall tour of the city and surrounding area. Very enjoyable guide.
Reviewer: TRB
4 Stars
Excellent
December 11, 2014
The driver/toor guide was excellent. We enjoyed this excursion very much
Reviewer: Stage mom
5 Stars
Bay, Beaches
April 07, 2014
Well organized, good tour guides, good value.
Reviewer: Carol from California
4 Stars
A very scenic tour
March 17, 2014
The small bus drove through a beautiful very scenic route. It would be enjoyed more if more stops were included with a few minutes time to take a few pictures and enjoy the scenery.
Reviewer: Dinos
4 Stars
Bays, beaches and views
March 04, 2014
Even though the car that was to pick us up was one hour late, the replacement driver was a great guide and gave us the complete tour and made sure we were back to the ship in time.
Reviewer: tracknut
4 Stars