Hobbiton Express

Even better than expected
April 01, 2020
Hobbiton was even better than we expected. Pristine. We kept seeing scenes out of the movies. It was so well done. One would almost expect to see a hobbit come out of the homes. The Green Dragon was also a treat. Took lots of pictures and we have wonderful memories of this visit. Highly recommend.
Reviewer: Dianna
5 Stars
Excellent shore excursion to Hobbiton movie set
March 24, 2020
It was a pleasant excursion to Hobbiton movie set. Great informative driver. Will definitely book again with Shore Excursions Group in the future trip Highly recommended
Reviewer: Tai Tang
5 Stars
Hobbiton Tour
March 22, 2020
Great excursion. Well organised and structured. Driver was very friendly, efficient and knowledgible. Would recommend again.
Reviewer: wayne osullivan
5 Stars
Best Tour
March 20, 2020
It's everything we have hoped for. Our guide is the best during the whole trip in New Zealand. Once we get to Hobbiton, the tour was guided by the park guide. Outside Hobbiton, we had a wonderful scenic drive and stopped at various locations to take pictures. This tour is much better than the one offered by the cruise ship. I would recommend to everyone.
Reviewer: Jody Kao
5 Stars
Pure Delight
February 25, 2020
Our Hobbiton Express tour couldn't have been better! The guide on our tour bus was wonderful, the staff at the 'shire' enthusiastic.
Reviewer: James R Villiesse
5 Stars
Beautiful, peaceful area.
December 24, 2019
Beautiful, peaceful area. This is my favorite excursion.everything was magical! I never saw so many different kinds of flowers and plants in one place . Mill and the lake are gorgeous. Majestic ale house with three different kinds of unique drinks. A good trip for Peace in nature.
Reviewer: Rima Riggs
5 Stars
WOW - Incredible Tour
December 20, 2019
To see the Hobbit holes is the Shire was really a thrill. I felt like Frodo or Bilbo would pop out of one of the Hobbit hole and invite me in for an ale or two. Don't miss this tour
Reviewer: Don Smith
5 Stars
Hobbiton express tour
December 13, 2019
This was a great tour - would have liked more time at Hobbiton but too many people to realistically allow more time without huge crowds. I would highly recommend this tour even if you're not a Lprd of the Rings fan.
Reviewer: Richard Henke
5 Stars
Hobbiton
November 11, 2019
Beautiful drive to Hobbiton. The tour there was really nice. There was a passenger that did not return to the bus on time. I feel we should have gone without him and let him arrange his own transportation back.
Reviewer: Lloyd T Kobayashi
5 Stars
Hobbiton
April 05, 2019
Really enjoyed this excursion. Tour guide was great
Reviewer: Carolyn Harms
5 Stars
Hobbiton express tour
April 02, 2019
very timely and organized pick up, we had a great driver who was very knowledgeable, interactive and gave us great commentary on our drive pointing out lots of things we would have otherwise missed, the hobbiton tour was out of this world. This tour company come highly recommended by us.
Reviewer: Kirsty
5 Stars
Great Excursion
March 22, 2019
Very well planned and timed. Excellent commentary. Arrived back at ship in plenty of time, but not rushed to see all of Hobbiton.
Reviewer: Kenneth Mawhinnie
5 Stars
A Dream Come True!!
March 22, 2019
We are major Tolkein fans so we're really looking forward to this excursion. It did not disappoint!! I had goosebumps walking through and seeing all the hobbit holes. The ale at the end was a plus!! Only negative was that we didn't have enough time in the gift shop.
Reviewer: Paula Mills
5 Stars
Sparks the imagination
March 06, 2019
I loved the tour of Hobbiton, our coach driver and the local guide. As a Tolkien fan, I was delighted with the reproduction of the movie set, the walk through the "Shire" and the drink at the end. There was enough time for a visit to the very expensive gift shop and the free toilets.
Reviewer: Trisha Sinnott
5 Stars
Excursion
February 19, 2019
Another really well organised tour and although I have seen the Hobbitt or Lord of the rings I had a very good day, tour guides were excellent
Reviewer: Roger Halliday
5 Stars
Hobbiton express review
February 12, 2019
best experience ever. Coach driver excellent with vocal information. Having extra stops broke up long drive. Touring Hobbiton , wow! ! ! Could use more guides thru site as our group was too big. Highly recommend Shore Excursions. Will choose them again.
Reviewer: JagM
5 Stars
Enjoyable time
February 06, 2019
Knowledgeable guide showed us sights on way to Hobbiton and was able to take us in our mini bus directly to the site for our enjoyable tour. On return trip stopped to see a kiwi fruit orchard and Manuka honey tastings.
Reviewer: Pam Tunn
5 Stars
Trip comments
January 20, 2019
I have Emailed comments 3 times now, but again with Doug had a terrific trip to Hobbiton, he was excellent and we at alst got to Hobbiton, my a multi million $ tourist industry now
Reviewer: Keith Murley
5 Stars
Worth The Time
December 09, 2018
By this time, Peter Jackson, knew there's money in leaving the movie sets behind instead of dismantling it with the Lord Of The Ring sets. Everything you want to see I are there. The Party Tree, the Lake, the rolling Meadows, the cottages, the pub. Mostly everything.
Reviewer: Peter Cheung
5 Stars
Day visit to Middle Earth
November 05, 2018
I am a HUGE fan of Middle Earth so this trip was perfect. We drove into the site and walked down a little path and then the sudden appearance of the Hobbit Holes was breathtaking, complete with gardens and smoking chimneys. While there was new group every 5 minutes the site was not crowded and we were never hurried along. Our guide was excellent - stopping to take pictures of us in the doorways or explaining about the "fake" tree above Bag End. Capped by mug of ale in the Green Dragon. Wow. Everything but themed characters.
Reviewer: Douglas Ash
5 Stars
Exceptional Hobbiton Excursion!
July 09, 2018
Best tour in New Zealand! Enjoyable views of the verdant green countryside and rolling hills with sheep and other animals. Hobbiton was amazing with tiny cottage living! Lots of details, each home uniquely quaint! Docent guide was excellent providing interesting tidbits tying in locations with the movie scenes. Bus driver was friendly and informative as well. Such great memories and photos to relive!
Reviewer: EMMANUEL
5 Stars
Must visit
April 30, 2018
This excursion is the highlight of our cruise. Lots of picture perfect site. Bring an umbrella as there are no shades. The ice cold beverage at the end is refreshing. Highly recommend.
Reviewer: Wendy Lam
5 Stars
Hobbits Rule
April 02, 2018
Loved this outing. Keith our guide was great and we talked a great deal about our dairy backgrounds in New Zealand and the USA. The stop to sample Manukau honey and the impromptu stop at a sporting goods store to buy an All Blacks Jersey was special to us.
Reviewer: Joe Mayfield
5 Stars
best excursion on our cruise
January 23, 2018
Just the right amount of time for this excursion. Wear sunscreen and comfortable shoes as there will be quite a lot of walking outdoors. Amazing site and friendly hosts.
Reviewer: Wendy
5 Stars
Hobbiton Express
January 08, 2018
Beautiful country side and the tour guides were great and very knowledgeable. Being a lover of the Hobbit movies, Hobbiton was fun. Wish could have gone inside one of the holes. Just a little crowded. Felt hearded.
Reviewer: john field
4 Stars
Hobbiton is the bomb
December 18, 2017
My wife and I took the Hobbiton tour and were really impressed with the service, bus, tour guides and beauty of New Zealand's countryside. Pur guide was knowledgeable and funny, and Hobbiton itself was magical. Thanks for offering this excuraion at such a value!
Reviewer: L Lybrook
5 Stars
Outstanding
December 11, 2017
This was amazing. The place is unbelievable. We felt like Hobbits. It was wonderful. The best time. The tour was well paced and organized. Great time.
Reviewer: Mitch & Cathy Blaesing
5 Stars
Film Set
February 26, 2017
Enjoyed the experience ofthe settings and the surrounding area and the walk around the film set. Good driver and the young girl very informative of the topic.
Reviewer: Valerie Dunshea
5 Stars
Magical
January 14, 2017
Great guides! Worth the money but you can get the tour for less if you buy it on site
Reviewer: Greg
5 Stars
Hobiton Excursion
December 28, 2016
This was our favorite excursion. Bus driver and guide were both great. Hobiton is not to be missed especially if you are a fan of the books/movies. Even if you aren't, the tour is fun and impressive. Excellent value. Would recommend for all ages.
Reviewer: Janice Ball
5 Stars
Hobbittown Tour
March 22, 2016
Great tour for those who like the movies and books. Stop at the shop and purchase Hobbit stamps!
Reviewer: Debbie
4 Stars