Snorkel and Boat Tour

Snorkel and Boat Tour
October 26, 2022
This was an excellent excursion! The tour/snorkel guide was knowledgeable about the reef. He even took underwater photos that he shared with us via an email link. Highly recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Jacquie
5 Stars
Private snorkeling tour
July 15, 2022
We had a blast. The guides we very attentive and helpful. The whole experience was the best snorkeling tour we have been on in years. I highly recommend them.
Reviewer: Jannea Wilson
5 Stars
Great people, laid back tour
March 19, 2022
We loved our experience here! The staff was great. My brother isn’t much of a swimmer so a staff member helped him get around with a floatation device and rope. The tour was very relaxed. The staff helped you if you needed it and they let you be if you didn’t need it. The facility is also right off of a beautiful beach, so we got a chance to wind down on the beach and order some food from the restaurant that was connected, after we finished snorkeling. Great service, great staff, great food, and just a beautiful experience!
Reviewer: Shong Vang
5 Stars
Sea Turtles and Eagle Rays
March 08, 2022
Great coral reef area! Good amount of time spent in water. The area surrounding the dive shop is filled with shops, seats, hammocks, swings, restaurants, and anything you could need. They gave us water and canteloupe for the boat ride. The guides were nice. The boat ride is a little lacking but the snorkeling was worth it.
Reviewer: Kaelin Kneen
5 Stars
Tour was great!
October 29, 2021
Can't say enough good things about the tour itself. They were super fun and made the experience great. Saw a lot of good stuff in the water!
Reviewer: Joshua Doty
5 Stars
It was so amazing!!!
March 27, 2020
Out of the excursions we did on our cruise this was by far the favorite!!! We saw so many cool, and beautiful things including the coral. The guide was awesome, and really knew where to find the sea life. I would do this excursion again!
Reviewer: Tatum
5 Stars
Cruise with Jewel
January 27, 2020
Our guide was wonderful. He was very personable,kind and patient. I was having a little trouble getting used to breathing through my mouth only and wanted to give up. He took the time to calm me and I continued with the tour.
Reviewer: Pamela Larivee
5 Stars
cozemel
January 19, 2020
coral was well preserved. aqautic life was adequate. we brought our own equipment, but their equipment seemed okay. people were nice
Reviewer: brian
5 Stars
Very nice guide and clear water!
January 16, 2020
Very nice guide, easy to find. We saw a sea turtle with the guided snorkeling. We hang out at the beach after the tour. It was nice beach and clear water. We went there over the Xmas break.
Reviewer: Z Wu
5 Stars
Not much of a Boat Tour
January 15, 2020
The kiddos had a nice time snorkeling, being able to see a sea turtle, a few sting rays and some other fish. There really isn’t much of a boat tour to it. You basically get on the boat and they take you down the shore a ways to where the reef is to start your snorkeling. You have a guide with you in the water that’s trying to keep the group together as well as looking for any kind of sea creatures to point out to those snorkeling.
Reviewer: Leslie Haskins
3 Stars
Wonderful
December 30, 2019
This was first snorkel for me and my 7years son( sorry I forgot his name), teach us everything, safely, fun. We never forget this wonderful journey.
Reviewer: Heather
5 Stars
4 or 5 star
December 10, 2019
Very professional, safety conscious, and friendly. Best tour of the three we took.
Reviewer: Murray Smith
5 Stars
Costa Maya Snorkel Tour
July 07, 2019
Taxi driver took us straight to the excursion meeting point and even walked us inside. Our guide, Oscar, and his helper, Tonio, were amazing. we did not travel far from the shore but still saw so e amazing fish. Just wish we could have seen sea turtles. We spent around 2 hours in the water. It was by far the favorite thing I did.
Reviewer: Pam Meador
5 Stars
Excellent experience
June 21, 2019
The water was very clear, the diving was great, the staff was outstanding. Coral everywhere, water depths from 2ft to 2kft. Had both scuba and snorkel groups on the boat with no problems.
Reviewer: Dave Riches
5 Stars
Great experience
April 25, 2019
It was great, we were out on the water for a little over an hour. We saw turtles, sting rays, a lot of fish, & reefs!! Our guide great, he would point out to us when there were cool things to see.
Reviewer: Aylin S
5 Stars
Snorkel and boat tour
April 19, 2019
Being this is not booked through the cruise I wondered if it would be a good excursion. We did have to pay a cab to get to the shop where we went out but I was very please on how professional and nice everyone treated us, and how friendly the people were. Enjoyed the boat ride out to the Reef and the coral and sea life was amazing! Thank you for a great time. We even walked back to the cruise ship from there. A little long but very doable.
Reviewer: Dawn Culverwell
5 Stars
Snorkeling Tour
April 04, 2019
Well planned tour with plenty of safety precautions. Our guide made sure that we got to see all the underwater life. He went as far as bringing up for us to see various sea creatures and allowed plenty of time to enjoy this adventure. Highly recommended.
Reviewer: Roger Many
5 Stars
excellent excursion
April 03, 2019
Good trip except for the difficulty of getting through the tourist trap at the pier to find a taxi. Once I found the taxis there were lots there and they really charge only $8 each way. Dive shop friendly and helpful. Even loaned me a wetsuit. I was the only snorkeller and went out with both a driver and a guide, Johnson, who was terrific at showing me things I would have otherwise missed.
Reviewer: Jim Cooper
5 Stars
Great for beginners
March 25, 2019
We took our 5 kids (ages 5-12) on their first cruise & could only really afford one excursion. We had nothing but a positive experience with Toucan Tours. Didn't have to worry about getting a taxi for our large group (total of 11), as a van to/from was provided. The boat captain & assistant (Pepe & Alan) were very attentive - making sure we had proper equipment for the kiddos. The youngest held on to a life saver float & were pulled along by Alan as he swam to specific spots to show us sea life. They are all able to swim, & we had life jackets on, but there is no way the kids could have handled the swimming on their own. We were not too far from shore, & there were a few other tours in the same place, but it was perfect for our first timers. I'd guess the water was about 20 ft deep. We saw many tropical fish, 3 sea turtles, and a giant ray. It was awesome! This was a great tour & I'm so glad we were able to do it with the family.
Reviewer: Kellie W.
5 Stars
Awesome! Excellent service, wonderful people
March 20, 2019
This was our first snorkeling experience. I was hesitant at first but our guide was excellent with me and really got me comfortable snorkeling. He took me and my family on a wonderful tour of the reef where he stopped the boat. I would do this again in a heartbeat with the same company. Highly recommend!!!
Reviewer: Tracey Leone
5 Stars
Professional and friendly.
March 20, 2019
This excursion was a great time for me and my family . The staff were very friendly and helpful and educational about the local area . Our guide showed us some wonderful sights down in the reef where we swam with the sea turtles... it was great!
Reviewer: Aldo Leone
5 Stars
Very good guided snorkelling excursion
March 14, 2019
Booked for a cruise excursion. The port shooting mall makes it annoyingly difficult to get to the taxi stand. Easy to get a cab at $8 as advertised. Very friendly dive shop. Let me use a wetsuit. In spite of it being a windy day snorkelling behind the reef was good. The visibility was good. Excellent guide showed me many creatures I would have missed.
Reviewer: Jim
5 Stars
Best snorkel and dive shop
March 03, 2019
I booked this trip because the price was fair and because the dive shop...Mar Adentro had great reviews. I am a PADI certified ( novice) scuba diver and avid snorkle and wanted to go with a reputable dive center. My husband and I were very fortunate to be the only two on the boat with 2 dive masters. The boat ride to the reef was about 15 minutes. Once in the water, we held onto a life ring and the diver pulled us around. This was very helpful as he guided us around the beautiful ocean underworld. My husband usually does not like this experience, and almost was going to pass. We both had a most amazing time!! Great way to experience the Caribbean Ocean. After the trip, there's time to check out Costa Maya (the real town...not the port), eat, and get a massage on the ocean for $20. Enjoy
Reviewer: Anita
5 Stars
Fantastic Experience
August 06, 2018
Turned out it was just my family of 4, the guide and his partner. The guide spent the whole time in the water with us swimming, helping my wife who is not comfortable in the water, and pointing out the myriad of sea life including a lion fish and many sea turtles.
Reviewer: Kevin
5 Stars
Mar Adentro Diving and Snorkelling
May 21, 2018
We had a great time, saw a lot of fish and turtles. The reef was very beautiful. Great staff with valuable information. They told us a lot of history about the region.
Reviewer: Laura Rosser
5 Stars
Very professional
March 09, 2018
They were very professional and did a great job. I would recommend them to anyone.
Reviewer: Kevin Bennett
5 Stars
Outstanding Snorkel Adventure
February 04, 2018
Our guides took us to a great spot to see an outstanding reef. They took great care of us and it was an absolute highlight of our trip. I would do this again if we go back next year.
Reviewer: Mark and Sandy
5 Stars
Snorkeling in Mahahual
January 23, 2018
We knew we would be ready to swim and snorkel in the ocean at our first port on the cruise (although we knew Mahahual would not be as exciting as snorkeling at our future ports in Roatan and Cozumel.) The tour was arranged through Mar Adentro Dive Center -located in Mahahual about 7 minutes from port. We are experienced snorkelers after living on Kauai for 12 years so we were very happy that it was just our family on the 11:30 am snorkel trip! The small boat with a captain and guide took us to three different interesting nearby locations-the first had some interesting coral and sea life, the second and third locations had mostly sea grass with a few sea turtles which are fun to watch. It felt great to be swimming and snorkeling in the ocean- just would have been nice for us to see more coral and fish. We are glad we took this snorkel excursion for our first visit to Costa Maya/Mahahual!
Reviewer: Barbie Taylor
4 Stars
Snorkel
July 19, 2017
We had a windy day, but our guide made the best of it. We ended up being the only 2 people they had for the snorkel, so it was like a private trip.
Reviewer: Tom Snyder
5 Stars
The dive facility was outstanding
April 28, 2017
This faciltity and staff were outstanding I will return to this facility.
Reviewer: Bryant Burnett
5 Stars