Manatee Swim and Chankanaab Park

Excellent time
April 02, 2020
Me and my 2 daughters were the 1st to swim with the manatees , before the park got crowded . No doubt, we had the best experience!!!! 3 of us with 4 manatees and felt we got the best experience of the day out of any groups . Amazing experience ...Highly recommend
Reviewer: chris
5 Stars
Worthwhile
March 15, 2020
We enjoyed this a lot. Be aware that they won't let you take pictures yourself. It'll cost you $40 for 1 picture (and they spend a lot of time having you pose with the manatees). We paid $80 for 3 pics. You also have access to the park which is very nice. We found a couple of chairs under an umbrella and the guys walking around with sell/bring you drinks and food.
Reviewer: Richard Herrema
5 Stars
Loved This!
March 13, 2020
The manatee swim was a highlight of our trip! We got to spend a good amount of time in the water feeding and touching the manatees! Chankanaab park is beautiful. Be prepared to spend the day there! The only thing to note is no private picture taking is allowed while with the manatees. You can purchase a photo package which includes lunch, drinks (including alcohol), snorkel rental and a cab ride back to the ship. It's pricey but was very well worth it!
Reviewer: Sylvia A Lynch
5 Stars
Swim of a Lifetime
March 11, 2020
I selected this excursion after comparing these excursions with what Carnival offered. The prices and choices were so much better. I was a bit nervous about getting to and from the excursion on our own. I read other reviews and decided that we could make it happen. It was so easy to get a cab to and from the Park. Everyone is right, the cost of photos with the manatee is ridiculous. Know that going in and you won't be so upset. Buy a package of food and pics when you arrive. They also have a package with cab fare included. Now to the excursion itself. My family of 4 was the only one in our Manatee group. We had a full hour of fun with these amazing animals. for over 30 minutes we swam with them and just fed them. It was magical. They are so gentle and have so much personality. We spent the rest of our day in the PArk swimming, sunning and eating. It was a lovely day!
Reviewer: Elizabeth H. Weaver
5 Stars
Fun for all
March 09, 2020
We had a wonderful time on the Manatee swim. My wife claims shes afraid of water. You wouldn't have ever guessed this if you saw her ear to ear smile the whole time we were in the water. The staff does a great job at providing a safe and fun environment. The Manatee's are gentle and obviously very well taken care of. The biggest complaint seems to be the price of the pictures. We bought a package deal at the park. It was expensive but it included lunch with drinks, every picture they took of us(over 100), and a taxi ride back to the port. So the price wasn't that bad. I would definitely recommend this.
Reviewer: Mark Bouchard
5 Stars
I love manatees
February 21, 2020
Great experience feeding and interacting with the manatees.
Reviewer: Coleen Williams
5 Stars
Never knew manatees were so cool
February 20, 2020
They were fun to feed & interact with. It was important to the trainers we enjoyed ourselves. One of the best things we did!
Reviewer: Tom Barker
5 Stars
PHENOMENAL!
January 27, 2020
This excursion was the highlight of our cruise! You get to spend so much time interacting with the manatees. The trainer was very informative. Everyone in the group gets to have several pictures taken withe the manatees (hugging, kissing, feeding, etc.) (We did not purchase the pictures because of the expense.) Then comes the best part...you get to swim with the manatees for what felt like half an hour! We also added on scuba diving for an additional $65. It was well worth it! Chankanaab Park is clean, beautiful, well-run, and ALL of the employees were extremely friendly. I highly recommend!
Reviewer: Jenny
5 Stars
Unforgettable!
January 22, 2020
BEST EXCURSION EVER! We loved the opportunity to swim, feed, and play with the manatees. We also upgraded while checking in & was able to swim with the dolphins too!! Great park, lots to see & do. Food buffet wasn't great, but we will definitely choose this excursion again.
Reviewer: Miranda Brown
5 Stars
Manatee Excursion
January 16, 2020
This excursion was fantastic! I learned so much about manatee behavior! The guides did a great job at making us feel comfortable and getting us up close and personal with the manatees. As an added bonus we got access to Chankanaab park. I highly recommend this activity!
Reviewer: Jenifer Laver
5 Stars
Highly recommend
December 29, 2019
The manatee swim was amazing! My daughter and I were the last excursion scheduled for the day, and were the only two to participate! We got to swim with, pet and feed the manatees. Our guide was very nice, and gave us a lot of information about them. They really are gentle giants! The only reason I didn't give five stars is due to the price of pictures. Extremely high so we didn't purchase any, and you couldn't take your own.
Reviewer: Jamie Streetz
4 Stars
We loved this excursion!
September 06, 2019
The manatees are the best! You get to feed them, hold them and swim around with them. My adult children, teenagers and 11 year old all loved it. The beach at the Chankanaab park has great snorkeling and the amenities at the beach (chairs and shade) are great. The sea lion show was pretty good and the buffet could have been better, but was fine. All in all, our favorite excursion. We could have stayed here longer - we loved it! Get there early. Van ride costs $24 each way. We paid $5 for each snorkeling gear at the gate, but it was $15 inside. We also paid $10 for the buffet at the gait and it was $19 inside.
Reviewer: Tammy Mortensen
5 Stars
Thrilled my manatee-loving heart
August 29, 2019
All I wanted was manatees. I love manatees! And I got manatees! We ended up being the last ones to have our 1:1 so it was a lot of waiting. But worth it. We got to kiss the manatee and have it kiss us, then feed him, all with pictures. They also got a picture of us holding the manatee floating on his back and floating on his front. The ticket we got said we couldn’t wear jewelry or sunscreen in with the manatees, but no one actually checked or told anyone to remove any watches, rings, etc. We had swim shirts for our upper bodies, but I would have put some zinc oxide on my face if I'd known they wouldn't ask us. Wearing a hat would be awkward while doing the manatee bit, but you could wear one and leave it on the edge. My daughter kept her sunglasses on the whole time - she is very light sensitive - and there was no problem with that. I'm glad we did it. Sounds like I could have bargained more on the photo price though.
Reviewer: CM
5 Stars
Dream come true
July 29, 2019
My wife, 8 year old, and I truly enjoyed ourselves on this excursion. She had always wanted to swim with manatees. We truly loved learning about the animals. They were enormous yet so gentle. We paid extra to have a photographer take photos. For a nominal fee we received 237 digital photos. After the encounter we snorkelers and enjoyed the open bar and buffet. It was a great day.
Reviewer: Tim Miller
5 Stars
Amazing Experience
July 29, 2019
My family of five enjoyed this excursion very much. A dream come true for my youngest (age 8). We entered the water and spent about 45 min with four manatees and the trainer. We first took pictures and then fed them and then swam with them. They gave us lots of kale so the manatees were happy to be with us. We were the first group to arrive and they let us start at 9am though our time was at 10am. This was nice as we were the only ones with the manatees. The facility is nice - they are in the ocean waters not a pool. Seemed very environmentally friendly. We were asked about upgrading the package which I hated to spend so much but had to get pictures. The upgrade was the same price as the excursion (per person) but included all pics, unlimited food and drink (including alcohol), snorkeling eqipement for one hour and taxi back to cruise ship. Food was not great but was not our focus. Drinks were strong. The pics were really good quality. Would highly recommend to manatee lovers.
Reviewer: Tracy VanNostrand
5 Stars
Fantastic Experience!!
July 17, 2019
We loved the Manatees and the time we spent with them. Thank you for this opportunity.
Reviewer: Maxine klossner
5 Stars
Great experience
June 24, 2019
We thoroughly enjoyed this. The instructors were great and the animals were really fun! Our favorite part was free swimming with the manatees. Our only complaint was the price of the photos afterward. We would have loved to purchase some momentos from our experience but $40 for one little photo is outrageous. Buying photos of our family of six would have cost way more than the actual excursion. Other than that, we loved it!
Reviewer: Angie Jenkins
5 Stars
So much fun!
June 16, 2019
The Manatees were so fun. They are like gigantic teddy bears. We will always remember this excursion. The pictures were very expensive, so be ready to fork out the cash.
Reviewer: Eric
5 Stars
Wonderful Experience
June 11, 2019
This was the greatest experience we could have done as a family. Very easy, friendly, and loved the manatees
Reviewer: Anquenette
5 Stars
Manatee Swim
May 16, 2019
The start of this excursion getting a taxi wasn’t fun because he was trying to charge us $15 and I had read everything where it was suppose to be around $10. So with persistence we got it for $12. But once we got to the park, it was really nice. We purchased our pictures ahead of time so they also gave us taxi ride back to ship along with a lunch buffet and free drinks and snorkel gear. They ended up taking 116 pictures of my husband and I since we were the only ones on the excursion. It was so cool though because we got to feed the manatees the whole box of lettuce. You also have fish swimming around you while your feeding them. A really nice excursion.
Reviewer: Debbie Todd
5 Stars
They are the cutest!
May 07, 2019
I will do this a thousand times over! You get so much interaction with these big, beautiful, creatures! They actually swim up to you, while you’re on the platform in the water, even grabbing onto to your legs and thighs to get up close to you! So don’t be afraid! All they want is your love... and the lettuce leaf you’re holding! These manatees almost immediately swim up to you upon getting into the water! Just so much interaction with them! They feel slimy and hairy but your hands stay slime free & clean! Trust me, I’m a nurse, I know clean, and whatever protect coating these manatees have, stays in them and won’t rub off! Dolphins just swim by you and ignore you... no fun! And don’t worry, manatees are vegetarian! They don’t eat people! Best excursion ever!
Reviewer: Linda Mattes
5 Stars
Chankanaab is great!
April 26, 2019
We purchased the manatee swim for our two sons and ourselves because it was cheaper than the the dolphin experience. When we arrived, the cashier offered the dolphin experience, with lunch and drinks included, for $30 per person. I asked, and lunch, by itself would have been $25 per person. Of course, we bought it. The staff is pretty well organized, and everything moves efficiently. The trainers are very knowledgeable and you get a lot of time in the water with the manatees. After the obligatory photo ops, you get to swim out into the middle of the enclosure and feed them. That's the most amazing part. Pictures are very expensive, we bought two for $40 each. You're not allowed to bring your own camera, so prepare for that. The park is beautiful and there's plenty of other activities.
Reviewer: James Peterson
5 Stars
Great experience
April 11, 2019
Great experience, top notch people. I would have given 5 stars but the pictures were way to expensive. $40 for 1 or the package for $140
Reviewer: James cornes
4 Stars
Manatee Swim
April 11, 2019
20 years ago while on our honeymoon we visited Chankanaab and did the dolphin excursion and have the pictures of the dolphin kiss on the wall today. Now that we have 18 and 15 year olds I wanted to do it again. The manatee Swim is so much more interactive than the dolphin was. Its extremely reasonably priced and was phenomenal. I went in knowing but be prepared for the price gouge for digital copies of the photos. You kind of have to by memories of the experience and that's where they get ya.
Reviewer: Rob
5 Stars
Amazing!
April 08, 2019
My 7 yr old and I recently had the pleasure of meeting 4 of the most gentle and loving manatees. We loved every minute of the swim! Would recommend a million times over. Our swim guide was also so informative and answered any and all questions. Something you’ll never regret doing!!
Reviewer: Stefany
5 Stars
Worth it!
April 04, 2019
Excellent excursion. Myself and two teenagers did the manatees swim. I didn’t know what to expect so I walked into the water open minded. I was amazed by these gentle giants. We had an amazing time feeding them, petting them, and swimming with them! I highly recommend.
Reviewer: Marina Wright
5 Stars
Manatee Swim March 20, 2019 10:00a
March 22, 2019
Although this excursion was fantastic, we were extremely disappointed at the photo prices!!! Ridiculous at $40 per picture or $120 for all, how many manatee pics does one really need?? Not allowed to bring ur own camera either!!! Certainly would have loved having a photo!!
Reviewer: Kathryn M Lucas #824643
5 Stars
Amazing!
March 15, 2019
This was a really great excursion. The manatees were just gentle giants and it was really fun to be able to interact with them I definitely recommend
Reviewer: Shannon
5 Stars
Great Experience
March 05, 2019
Had a wonderful time swimming with the Manatees. My fiancée and I were the only ones at that time slot, so it was just us 2 and 3 of them - they really are gentle giants! They certainly loved the lettuce we were giving them, and in their enthusiasm they reminded me of cattle at feeding time.
Reviewer: Reese Rector
5 Stars
DO THE MANATEE SWIM!!!..Truly a special experience
March 04, 2019
Forget the dolphin swim!!! This is THE PLACE TO GO on Cozumel! We purchased the VIP Manatee Swim which also gives us entrance to the entire park. Anyone can swim with the dolphins anywhere, anytime. Not many people can say they have had an opportunity to swim with Manatees. You cannot find a more unique experience. It really was the coolest thing, to feed and interact with these gentle, friendly giants! I left feeling very honored to have such an experience. Much more to enjoy at this STUNNING PARK! There are beautiful gardens. Then we went and relaxed on the beautiful beach in lounge chairs. I snorkeled and swam, which was very accessible. There were several staircases along the shore to get instantly in deep water and INSTANTLY SEE BEAUTIFUL FISH RIGHT OFF THE STEPS. This park has it all. You can relax under the shade on the beach, in the sun, and even on their hammocks to take a snooze. I had my own snorkel gear, but they have snorkel and dive gear there for you to rent as well.
Reviewer: Deanna Hiller
5 Stars
Didn't get to swim with them
February 20, 2019
A few days before we got there, a big storm broke the dolphin and manatee cages, so they were fixing them when we were there. Luckily they let us swim with the sea lion and it was like we were at sea world or something because she did a lot of tricks. It was fun but they don't let any cameras in except for their own and they wanted us to pay between $60-$80 USD to get our pictures! We were pretty upset and didn't get any since it cost about as much as the excursion itself.
Reviewer: Lindsey George
4 Stars
Manatee Swim
February 15, 2019
We were in Cozumel on Jan. 25th. There were five of us signed up to do this excursion, but after quite a downpour, 3 canceled due to wind and rough water. The two of us who went were with 4 other people, so it was just the six of us. We spent about 45 minutes in the water (which was nice and warm) feeding the manatees and trying to get them to pose for pictures. It was one of the best excursions I have ever been on and I would love to go back to the park and do the Dolphin swim.
Reviewer: Donna B. Werner
5 Stars
Dream fulfilled
February 15, 2019
I have always wanted to swim with the manatees, and I finally had the chance in Chankanaab Park in Cozumel, Mexico. Everyone one was very nice and helpful. The price of the photos are extremely pricey. Because you are not allowed to have anyone take pictures of you, I bought 10 two weeks after we got back for $120.00 US. It was very rough waters and my life jacket was not tight enough to stay down from my face, and we were thrown around a lot in the rough waters, however, the manatees were hilarious, loving, sweet, adorable, and gentle, I would definitately do this again next time I am in Cozumel. I highly recommend it.
Reviewer: Ruth Ware
4 Stars
Great excursion
February 14, 2019
This is one of the best excursions I have ever experienced. The trainer was excellent. The reason that I do not give 5 stars is the rip off at the end on the cost of photos. I would have gladly paid more for the experience but I felt like it was a sad way to end such a beautiful day with a crazy price for a picture or pictures. They should reevaluate their business model.
Reviewer: LISA WARREN
4 Stars
Great Experience!
February 01, 2019
We had so much fun swimming with the manatees. The park was clean and easy transportation from the port. Staff were friendly and so good with the animals. Nice area to walk around and explore after the excursion was over.
Reviewer: Heather
4 Stars
Swim with Manatees
January 17, 2019
Enjoy this moment so much, very cute Manatee. Love this activity so much, thanks
Reviewer: Sonny Sidjaja
5 Stars
Wonderful day with manatees and the beach!
January 11, 2019
After a very short ride from the port, we arrived early for our swim with the manatees. Lockers and changing facilities are available. The manatees were adorable!!! The group was small. Photos turned out so cute! We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We spent the rest of the day there on the beach. You must rent the beach chairs if you want them. We didn't know that until we were given a bill! The bars there are a bit competitive over business! It was too rough to be in the ocean, but the view is exquisite. There's an opportunity for a wonderful massage. Drinks and food are also available. It was a lovely, relaxing day. We highly recommend it.
Reviewer: Kari Williams
5 Stars
Best experience ever!
October 16, 2018
We absolutely loved swimming with and feeding the manatees! They're so gentle and gorgeous. Definitely the highlight of our trip! We were in a small group and we each got our own manatee to bond with! Their lil tricks showed their sweet personalities and they gave sweet lil kisses! I could not believe there was not more interest in this activity! Totally personal 1:1 time. It was the absolute best!
Reviewer: JBowen
5 Stars
Amazing Experience! Highly Recommended!
September 19, 2018
This excursion isn't widely offered, so it was a very personal experience for my husband and me, who were the only two participants. The first part was getting to know the animals. After that, we left the platform for deeper water (thank goodness for life vests) and swam with the manatees. This was by far my favorite portion. The manatees "hug" you when you feed them (hold on to your shorts!). As long as you have lettuce, you've got a friend (or three!). As other reviewers have mentioned, the photos are expensive, but in my opinion, they are priceless. We opted to pay an additional fee per person that included ALL the photos, lunch, snorkel gear, taxi back to the dock, AND the dolphin encounter (with photos). We were treated like VIPs. It was so worth it! I highly recommend this excursion. I can't even begin to share how amazing it was. If I could give it more than 5 stars, I totally would. All excursions should be like this!
Reviewer: Heather
5 Stars
Loved it!!!!
September 10, 2018
We loved this excursion!!
Reviewer: Robert
5 Stars
Amazing experience
August 29, 2018
These animals are simply amazing. We got to feed them and spend a good amount of time in the water. Overall a wonderful experience.
Reviewer: Renda Blackburn
5 Stars
Fun day in the Sun
August 20, 2018
Easy to get to park. THey of course try to sell you a bigger package, which I did. Overall we swan with Manatees, which was AWESOME. They we played with Luna the Sea Lion. We had lunch which was ok, but when hungry, will do. Then we swan all afternoon, which was great. The park really did have everything and we have the pictures to prove it.
Reviewer: Robin Dusza
5 Stars
Fun swim with manatees
August 20, 2018
It was fun. A once and done thing. They r gentle creature and where else can u do this? We were at the end of a group of 10 particants and couldn’t hear what the guy said. They should have had smaller groups or the guy could have been in the center so everyone could hear. Pictures r outrageously expensive!
Reviewer: Lisa
4 Stars
Chankanaab and Manatee Swim
August 13, 2018
My daughter and I really enjoyed this experience. Our guide, "Dan the Manatee Man" was awesome. The manatees are just the neatest...we fed them lettuce, lots of lettuce. We also got to interact with them, hold them, hold them like a baby, and give them a kiss. The only downfall is there are no cameras allowed. They take pictures of all the interactions and then you can buy them at the end. The pictures are pricey, but they were fun to look at. We only had 4 in our group, so that was fun. Definately recommed swimming with these amazing creatures. My daughter also went ziplining at the park...she loved it and the guides were so much fun. She just booked the ziplining once we got to the park.The taxi ride to and from the park is $12 each way. This is not included in your excursion price. The taxis are everywhere, so it's very easy to get to and from the park.
Reviewer: Angela
5 Stars
Chankanaab Park/Manatee swim
July 30, 2018
Loved this excursion! Chankanaab Park has alot to do. There is a sealion show and guests are allowed on-stage to get a picture with one. We did the manatee swim (extra cost), which was awesome! There is a beautiful beach to enjoy. Free tequila tasting. Trails to hike. Even a pool. Would definitely go back.
Reviewer: Sharon Benefield
5 Stars
Chankanaab Park/Manatee swim
July 30, 2018
Great excursion! Took our 2 sons who are in their 20's with us. Whole family enjoyed it. Something to do for all ages. There is a sealion show. Your choice of pool or beach. Trails to hike. Tequila tasting. Only thing that costs extra is swimming with dolphins or manatees. We swam with the manatees. Very cute and gentle creatures. Loved it!
Reviewer: Sharon Benefield
5 Stars
Amazing!
July 30, 2018
Our family loved swimming with the manatees on our shore excursion. It was amazing and hands down the best shore excursion we did while on our cruise. Anybody who chooses this will not be disappointed!
Reviewer: Michelle Grant
5 Stars
Manatee swim
July 23, 2018
Great experience! There were only 8 in our group, we had 3 Manatee for 40 minutes. Very family friendly with a great staff! The park was beautiful with a nice Beach.
Reviewer: BOB REHL
5 Stars
Must-Do Manatee Experience
July 02, 2018
This is a rare chance to feed, hold, kiss, and swim with manatees. As animal experiences go, this one was pretty cool! We were able to interact with three manatees over the course of the experience, which lasted about 45 min. They were so gentle and adorable you can't help but connect with these animals. The handlers made sure the experience was top notch, and they also ensured you had good pictures with the manatees (just be prepared to spend more to get the photos since you can't take any yourself). You should really add this experience to your list of animal experiences.
Reviewer: David Johnson
5 Stars
Manatees are awesome!!!
May 28, 2018
The port and shops here were new and clean looking. Taxis were easy to find and no BS, a straight price of $12 for our group of 4 to taxi to Chankanaab. We checked in and were given full size lockers at no charge. The manatees were awesome, you get to pet them, feed them etc, but most importantly you get to actually swim around with them and feed them all the lettuce you want. We never felt rushed at all. The sole down side is that they try to sell you pictures for an ungodly amount of money and will not allow you to take any pictures. After that we went to the beach, which is awesome too. White sand, with tons of personal shade palapas. The drinks were cheap in price and in quality. The ocean was sapphire blue, truly incredible. The snorkeling was fantastic, fish were eating our of our hands and the water was crystal clear! They also had a fresh water pool that was nice, but pretty crowded. I would highly recommend this trip to everyone!
Reviewer: Ren
5 Stars
Manatee Amazing Memories
May 24, 2018
The Manatee swim at Chankanaab Park was absolutely an amazing tour. It started with getting into the water with 3 manatees and the trainer giving some information about the manatees. Then I was able to feed them and finally swim with (life jacket on) them while feeding. I was super fortunate to be the ONLY one in my session! It was a once in a lifetime experience for this 54 year old traveler.
Reviewer: Karen Holmes
5 Stars
Fed the Manatees!!!
May 07, 2018
I would definitely do this again. The park was awesome, clean and fun. Something for everyone -swimming pool, seal show, dolphins and manatees. Couldn’t want more! Recommend this place highly.
Reviewer: Lorena Day
5 Stars
Manatee and Sea lion swim
May 07, 2018
Absolutely fantastic. Lots of time with the Manatees. You feed them by hand, rub their bellies and hug them too. Add the sea lion exhibit. You are in the water with them and there were only the 2 of us so we had a private show. They lay in your arms and even kiss you. Great show.
Reviewer: tom boyum
5 Stars
Swim with the Adorable/Gentile Manatees
April 23, 2018
This excursion was the BEST! My daughter and I got to learn so much about the Manatees while being in the water with 2 of them. We each got one on one time with a manatee, and then, we were able to swim with them and feed them lettuce.
Reviewer: Sandy
5 Stars
Manatee Swim
April 23, 2018
Great experience. It is a all day event Manatees, snorkeling , sea lions show. The park is amazing. Start early because there is so much to do !
Reviewer: R Riethal
5 Stars
Manatee Swim
April 23, 2018
Great experience. It is a all day event Manatees, snorkeling , sea lions show. The park is amazing. Start early because there is so much to do !
Reviewer: R Riethe
5 Stars
Loved it, great park
April 09, 2018
Great experience. I highly suggest getting the picture package when you check into the park. Once you've completed your excursion it's more than double! Will be back again
Reviewer: Laurie Horn
5 Stars
Manatee Swim = Swimming with Manatees
April 02, 2018
My experience swimming with manatees was AMAZING!!! I chose this excursion because it was something different to do and experience that I could not experience within the U.S. The manatees are true "sea cows" in that they are so gentle and slow moving. The pricing of the pictures was not as bad as others have described it. I paid about $70 for all the pictures to be on a CD, print out two pictures, and have lunch. I think this is a very good deal since the excursion costs around $64-69 and it didn't include lunch. Oh, and be prepared to actually swim with them in the area they are located in. I didn't know how to swim and even with the life vest on, I was still struggling. But I'm a person who likes to try new things and learn how to do basic tasks along the way. I really enjoyed this experience and know this is a great excursion to do for any age.
Reviewer: Lala T.
5 Stars
One of the best animal swims yet!!!!
March 11, 2018
So great and knowledgeable. We could have stayed all day long. It was a once in a lifetime experience. They gave us plenty of time to swim with the Manatees. It was FANTASTIC!!!!
Reviewer: bccbsmith
5 Stars
manatee swim and Chankanaab park
March 10, 2018
We had an excellent swim with the manatees. We were able to feed them while pictures were being taken of the group. After the pictures we had 1/2 hr. free swim with them. About an hour total time in the water with the manatees and we loved every minute of it. Chankanaab Park was lovely. We walked around and stopped to have a beer at the pavilion on the beach. Would highly recommend.
Reviewer: Laura Korzinski
5 Stars
Amazing Experience!
January 24, 2018
This was even better than I imagined. We got to spend so much time in the water with these beautiful gentle creatures. They love to eat lettuce and we loved feeding it to them. We got great photos and had a blast. Highly recommend.
Reviewer: Lesley Clurman
5 Stars
SWIMMING WITH AND FEEDING MANATEES
January 19, 2018
Get to this experience as early as you can. We were in a group of four and had the three manatees to ourselves. It was great! We were not rushed at all and had time to swim with them, feed them and generally interact. The park area was beautiful, but we were only interested in the Manatees. They took pictures of us, which were very nice, but they were outrageously expensive!
Reviewer: Doris Hanneman
5 Stars
the best experience with natural Ocean animals
January 12, 2018
it was the best part of our trip. my kids loved the ocrean animals and had agreat time in the park!
Reviewer: Xin meng
5 Stars
Manatee Swim and Chankanaab Park
January 10, 2018
I purchased fur passes to swim with the Manatees and visit Chananaab Park and enjoyed the swim experience very much. The manatees were a bit uncooperative at first, but changes their attitudes when a new trainer came in the water. Our family was disappointed about the cost of the photographs and could not afford to purchase addition the family photo because after paying the entry fee it was too expensive.
Reviewer: Karen Lansing
4 Stars
Once in a lifetime!
December 23, 2017
We swam with the manatees and added a swim with sea lions as well as a photo package and meal with drinks. The cost ended being way up there but it was worth it! You only live once and these experiences are priceless!
Reviewer: Suzanne and Charles Marcil
5 Stars
Manatee swim
November 24, 2017
We followed the instructions to the park and our tickets were waiting for us. We were in the water swimming with and feeding the manatees over twice as long as we expected to be. We really, really enjoyed ourselves. We would highly recommend this tour.
Reviewer: T. Buser
5 Stars
Kids loved it!
October 02, 2017
Our whole family loved feeding lettuce to the manatees. Very exciting experience. Sturdy wooden stairs allow easy entrance into the water.
Reviewer: Kimberly
5 Stars
Manatee Swim
August 21, 2017
An absolutely wonderful tour which we enjoyed with the whole family. Appropriate for all ages. Highly recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Judith Ware
5 Stars
Swim with the manatees
August 05, 2017
This was the hilight of the whole trip
Reviewer: Linda
5 Stars
Manatee swim
July 21, 2017
Loved this excursion the manatees are very gentle creatures they reminded me of a puppy we were in the water feeding the manatees for about 30 minutes would do it again
Reviewer: Russell Ellis
5 Stars
The best!
July 19, 2017
The Manatees were soooo BIG & friendly! Loved that we were able to swim with them and feed them tons of lettuce! This was the best excursion out of the 3 we did and will definitely do it again
Reviewer: Bethany Martino
5 Stars
Wonderful Experience!
July 07, 2017
We had no problems and the experience was amazing!
Reviewer: Kathy
5 Stars
So lovable!
July 05, 2017
We loved this tour and the manatees even more. My family of 4 got a private tour with just us in the water with 3 manatees! It was so cool swimming with them. They are so gentle and cute! The trainer and photographer were awesome (and patient!) making sure we got all the poses we wanted. Highly recommend!
Reviewer: TrishM
5 Stars
Wonderful time!
June 05, 2017
This was a really fun excursion. The manatees are huge, but so gentle. We stood on a platform while the guides got the manatees to pose with us for pictures (pretty costly if you want the pictures, though). Then, they give you romaine lettuce to feed the manatees.We lucked out and were the only two in our group, so we also got to swim out in the enclosure with the manatees and continue feeding them for quite a long time. We went through 5 heads of romaine, one leaf at a time. The manatees actually grab onto your legs with their flippers to pull themselves closer for the lettuce. Nothing scary at all, just a lot of fun! I would actually do this excursion again, just to spend more time with manatees!
Reviewer: Lori Breedlove
5 Stars
Majestic Manatee swim was amazing!
May 31, 2017
We had the most amazing expierence swimming with the manatees! It wasn't just a photo shoot like other swims with marine animals, we actually got to freely swim with them. They are so gentle, and slow and super cute. I highly recommend this excursion. We had the most amazing time and came home with unforgettable memories.
Reviewer: Britney kalk
5 Stars
The best tour for the whole cruise
May 26, 2017
A beautiful park, who alone and manatees, and dolphins and seals. For a small surcharge, you can take dolphins to manatees, in this case also lunch for free. Good equipped beach, restaurants and souvenirs. In general, everything would be great to spend a day. Separately about the excursion - we were three together with three manatees !!! Everything is just super!
Reviewer: Inna
5 Stars
Awesome!
April 25, 2017
We had all ages, 3 generations on this excursion and all 9 of us loved it. We have traveled a lot and have never had the opportunity to swim with manatee's. They were such gentle giants and truly amazing. The guides knew so much about them and were able to answer all questions we asked. My only complaint would be how expensive the photo's were. We would have loved to have some to remember this event, but they cost so much we could not get them. Such a shame because the pictures were good. Make sure you spend time in the whole park, many things to see.
Reviewer: Linda
5 Stars
Awesome manatee experience
April 22, 2017
The whole family, aged 5 to 68, really enjoyed swimming with the manatees. We made life-long memories with these wonderful animals. They are gentle and like to interact with people. Great must do excursion.
Reviewer: Marion Gibson
5 Stars
fun
April 14, 2017
we had a great time swimming with the manatees. Staff was very friendly and helpful. only wish we would have been instructed to wear water shoes, platform was painful to stand on. Plan on going again next year
Reviewer: andrea fitch
5 Stars
Manatee Swim
April 13, 2017
Swimming with the manatees was a great experience. When we got there we had time to walk around the park, which was beautiful. They would not allow us to bring our own cameras during the swim. They also tried to talk us into the sea lion encounter. Both experiences were a blast but the pictures were expensive.
Reviewer: Melissa Patterson
4 Stars
Beware - You Will LOVE This!
April 13, 2017
We were all stoked to swim with manatees, even though I previously "swam" with dolphins elsewhere and never actually left the platform. However, when they advertise this as manatee swim, know that you WILL swim with the manatees and you will love it! We learned so much about them and fell even more in love with these gentle creatures. Also note that on arrival, they will attempt to upsell you on a picture/lunch/drink/+1 experience package and it is worth every penny! We EACH got a printed picture of our choice, a CD full of the day's pictures, a VIP buffet lunch, unlimited drinks at all the park bar's, AND an experience with Sea Lions that was nearly as amazing as the manatee swim. Do this excursion, stay all day!
Reviewer: Nathaniel KW
5 Stars
excellent time
March 30, 2017
we had so much fun and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Really wish we knew we needed to wear water shoes because it was very difficult to stand on the platform in the water
Reviewer: andrea fitch
5 Stars
Great experience
March 24, 2017
We really enjoyed the manatee swim. There were only two of us in the 10:00 am swim. The later swims had more people. When we arrived we were offered the sea lion encounter and lunch buffet for an extra $30. In order to avoid disappointment, be aware that the photo prices are ridiculous. In fact the photo can easily cost more then the swim or animal encounter. For the two of us they wanted $140 for all the photos from the manatee session and another $140 for all of our photos from the sea lion session. Individual photos were priced at $35. You can bargain but will most likely just get a photo book or mug added with no reduction in price. Of course they will not let you bring you own camera to the session. Regardless, we thoroughly enjoyed feeding and petting the manatees.
Reviewer: Tam
5 Stars
Manatee swim
March 23, 2017
We did this and it was amazing, very small group that day, only 6 of us. When we arrived we were offered a really good deal to add the dolphin swim, lunch and taxi back to cruise ship. Unfortunately we had not brought enough cash with us. Saving my cash to buy some pictures. While the pictures are quite expensive, they were really good. Also, our cruise ship arrived two hours late due to a medical emergency, the park still accomadated us even though we had missed our reserved time, Kudos to them.
Reviewer: Jean Doran
5 Stars
Manatee Swim at Chankanaab Park
February 21, 2017
This was the best excursion ever. All other passengers wanted the dolphin encounter, so we had a LONG time with the manatees. The process was smooth and the park is located only 4 miles from the pier. It was the highlight of the trip. All of our friends were jealous to have missed out. AMAZING!!
Reviewer: Sue McG
5 Stars
Amazing Manatee creatures
January 19, 2017
Kids wanted this so glad we found this excursion. Missed our appointment as we were on "ship time" Park accommodated us for a later time, they offered the Dolphin encounter including buffet so we upgraded. Did the Dolphin swim which was fun but looked forward to the Manatees and worried we'd miss our time. Staff reassured us we wouldn't. An employee escorted us to the pen. Was a little confusing because the combo Dolphin-Manatee encounter has people walk through the pen and feed them, kept wondering if we're in the wrong line? Then trainer gave us lettuce and we swam with the Manatees. Manatees are truly gentle giants and this was a great experience. About the food. Reviews said food was not great. Was perfectly fine with a good variety. We ate in the 2-story restaurant. Tip: Upstairs has the same food so save some time as the line can get really long.
Reviewer: Eric Marvi
5 Stars
Manatee Swim
January 17, 2017
This was an outstanding excursion. It was definitely the highlight of our entire cruise. Despite my trepidation we found it very easy to obtain a taxi to take us from the pier to Chankanaab Park and then back to the ship afterwards. There were local officials at each end of the ride to make sure that we did not get gouged with the price. The actual swim was wonderful and not physically demanding at all. Each of us were provided with life jackets and the creatures were very friendly and gentle. The staff there made sure that each of us in our group of six were the subjects of some wonderful souvenir photos. While I thought that the price for the photos was a little high, they accepted a variety of credit cards for payment and both printed the photos and showed us how to easily download them to our mobile devices. This is an outstanding adventure and one that should not be missed.
Reviewer: Merle R. Eaton
5 Stars
Amazing!
December 21, 2016
This was my first time, and I enjoyed it! These lovely creatures are not only friendly but loveable! I plan on doing this excursion again!
Reviewer: Hannah Looney
5 Stars
Swam with the manatee
December 20, 2016
We had a great time swimming and feeding the manatee and relaxing on the beach would love to do it again.
Reviewer: Cherie Careccia
4 Stars
manteee
December 11, 2016
my wife wants to go back
Reviewer: jerry daugherty
5 Stars
mantee swim
November 29, 2016
the most enjoyable, educational and fun excursion I have ever been on....it was so great. the staff made sure each and every one of us had lots of time to feed and swim with these amazing creatures
Reviewer: Louise Muller
5 Stars
swim with the dolphins
November 29, 2016
we piggy backed our manatee swim with a dolphin swim....SUPER PRICE with lunch included...staff was great and spent lots of time with each of us....it was a great experience and probably the lowest price dolphin swim that I have ever seen...
Reviewer: Louise Muller
5 Stars
Manatee Encounter
November 26, 2016
My son has been wanting to swim with the manatees since 6 years old. He finally was able to on this excursion and he is the happiest 15year old right now. His memories will last a life time
Reviewer: Barbara Todd
5 Stars
Great and relaxing
November 24, 2016
Chankanaab Park was a great place to spend our day. Our son loved the Manatee Swim and the Dolphin swim experience. Professional photos are taken of individuals participating in the manatee and dolphin experiences. Unfortunately, the pictures are outrageously expensive. We waited until they were about to close (last minute) to purchase our photos and they offered us a great deal. The drinks were reasonably priced. I wish they had had more of a food variety at the buffet, but the food was good. Finally, we were able to enjoy snorkeling at this family friend location!!! We plan to do this excursion again on our next trip.
Reviewer: Ray Herrera
5 Stars
Unique Experience
November 22, 2016
This was the standout excursion of our cruise! The facility was nicely kept and even offered a beautiful pool with swim up bar. That was a welcome option after swimming with these friendly & gentle creatures. Highlight was - after the usual kiss/pose/photos - being given our own swim mask and allowed to just swim anywhere within the enclosure and interact with the manatees. This doesn't happen with a more pricey Dolphin encounter! We fed them lettuce and they would grab onto your leg for stability. My 9 & 11 year old girls were delighted, as were Mom and Dad. So unique. For $30 more, our 9 year old added the Sea Lion encounter, which she liked even better. That $30 covered the encounter, one free lunch buffet, plus the taxi back to port. Great day.
Reviewer: Karen Sniadecki
5 Stars
Amazing experience
November 06, 2016
I had been booked for a later morning manatee swim but received notice to show up earlier so I hopped a cab at the end of the pier and was there in no time ( $15 cab fare). I was the ONLY person in the first swim of the day so I had all FOUR manatees all to myself for 20 mins. They were amazing to be around - they hug, they kiss and mostly they want to eat the lettuce you feed them. I loved every minute of it! You cannot take any photos on your own and the photos they take, while they were lovely, were VERY expensive! Also, I had only booked the manatees but when I got to the park, I was offered the dolphin encounter at a very reduced rate so I added that one. The encounter involves standing in the dolphin pen while a handler talks about the dolphins and you get the chance to hug, kiss and pat the dolphin. Luckily, our dolphin is a mama and her 6 month old baby was with her so we had double the entertainment. I'd highly recommend the manatee swim and the dolphin encounter!!
Reviewer: VickyInStLouis
5 Stars
Amazing Experience!!
September 28, 2016
My husband and I LOVED this and would do it again in a heartbeat!! It was just the two of us and the trainer during our excursion which made it that much more enjoyable!! Three manatees and us! We will never forget it!!
Reviewer: Donna Rogers
5 Stars
Unforgettable!
August 05, 2016
So glad I ventured into the world of non cruise ship excursions! Swimming with the manatees was not offered by the cruise line but Orbitz hit the mark! Easy taxi ride from the port to the park. The manatee swim was incredible (but be prepared to pay a lot for pictures if you want them), the trainers were great too. Definitely the high light of our trip. The sea lions show at the park was a winner too. Money well spent!
Reviewer: Lori Giuffre
5 Stars
A Must Do
May 25, 2016
Our in water time with the three manatees was approximately 45 minutes. The whole experience was about an hour. Our group size for the 10:15 experience was 7 people, not to bad if you consider 4 of them were in my group. It is a photo op type experience. We all posed for photos of kissing , touching, hugging and holding the manatees. We were all given heads of cabbage and allowed to float around the area feeding the manatees for about 15 minutes.
Reviewer: Moe
5 Stars
Best ever!!!
May 05, 2016
Had a blast!! Had 4 manatees with us a one time. Also swam with Sea Lion Much fun!
Reviewer: Wendy
5 Stars
Great for families!
April 22, 2016
We went to this park as a family. Very nice accommodations. Our kids swam with sea lions. There is a pool and 2 large sandy beaches to enjoy. At least 2 restaurants and beautiful scenery. All of the only 5 miles outside the city of Cozumel.
Reviewer: Cruising
5 Stars
Best experience yet!
April 20, 2016
Amazing experience - the manatees are simple awesome. The guides were so knowledgable and friendly and patient. We spent plenty of 1:1 time in the water with the manatees. Even with the higher cost of any arranged mammal experience - I would do this again! Way better experience than when we did a Dolphin one a few years back. I cannot recommend it enough! The overall marine park also has so many things to do and see - or do nothing and relax on a beachside table with a fruity cocktail and fresh guac. Note on cost: as always, they ""get you"" with the photo package at the end. Remember - everything is negotiable.
Reviewer: Mom and son
5 Stars
A great easy experience for the older traveler als
April 15, 2016
My wife and I went on a cruise, during which we stopped and went on this shore excursion. Being seniors we wanted a more casual and relaxed experience. This was perfect. We have done the Dolphin things, so this was a pleasant change. As always we enjoy the packages that this ""Shore Excursions"" company makes available at a reasonable price, and time without the shipboard hassle and crowds.
Reviewer: Alan
5 Stars
FUN
April 12, 2016
good experience, we had bought the manatee excursion from home, printed the e tickets, once we arrived we upgraded to add lunch an swim with the dolphins for $30.00 more, great time, the pictures cost around $70 pp per excursion
Reviewer: RLW
5 Stars
Once in a lifetime
April 01, 2016
Once in a lifetime experience interacting with manatees. I was a little apprehensive about finding transportation to the park with just me and my two young daughters, but cabs were easy to find and reliable.
Reviewer: Jen the traveler
5 Stars
Would do it again
March 14, 2016
Wow! What an experience! We had so much fun. It was amazing how gentle these giants really are. Only 3 of us in the group so we really had a great one on one time with the manatees. Feeding and seeing them underwater with the goggles on was just AMAZING ! ! This excursion is a must.
Reviewer: New manatee fan
5 Stars
Great Fun
March 07, 2016
Swimming with the manatees was the highlight of our cruise. The manatees are an absolute hoot and as long as you have lettuce you'll never be lonely again. Was also pleasantly surprised by Chankanaab Park as well. You could spend the whole day there enjoying the beach, exhibits or Mayan ruin section. Well worth the money.
Reviewer: AceD
5 Stars
I would do this again for sure!
February 25, 2016
I have wanted to swim with manatees for years, but when we usually travel in the Winter, it is too cold where we stay in Florida to do this. I was so thrilled to see this offered and didn't hesitate to book the 2 of us for the adventure. Thank you to all at the park who made our experience the best ever, especially thank you to the manatees themselves. It was hard to say good bye. We will be back someday!
Reviewer: Linda
5 Stars
Wonderful animals!!!!!
February 23, 2016
The animals are wonderful!!!! Who thought something so big could be so gentle and lovable....
Reviewer: who ever
5 Stars
If you are in Cozumel, go to this place!
January 29, 2016
The Manatee experience was phenomenonal! The instructors and photographer had a great relationship with the animals and the experience was very well organized. If you enjoy learning about the Mayans or Olmecs, the Mayan walk is a must. Chankanaab Park offers so many different activities beyond the marine mammal experiences that make worth exploring for all ages.
Reviewer: Grumpy Rabbit
5 Stars
Fun activity
December 30, 2015
We really enjoyed our experience with the manatees. Having little knowledge before the trip about them, this gave us a great deal of information.
Reviewer: Sailing the seas
4 Stars
Great Experience
September 14, 2015
The only thing bad thing was the photos were very expensive. Tip: Take 1 photo with whole group in it with the manatees. That one photo will cost you $40.00, the whole cd was $250.00
Reviewer: Fast and Furious
5 Stars
Simply the Best
September 04, 2015
Manatees were great
Reviewer: Mannies
5 Stars
The trip of a lifetime
August 23, 2015
This was an annual trip with me and my two granddaughters. We took a cab to the park and they were ready for us. The groups were small and manageable. Everyone got to participate and had fun. After the swimming we were able to change and then Zip line right across the walkway. There were other things to do like snorkel and performances but we elected to go back to the ship.
Reviewer: Boatman
5 Stars
awesome experience
June 14, 2015
We were in Cozumel last week and wanted to do the manatee swim. It was easy to get a cab from the port where we were docked. We arrived early and walked around the park for awhile and they even had free Wi-Fi. We only had four people in our group and our guide was awesome. She taught us so much about manatees and we got to spend a lot of time petting them, hugging them, feeding them and swimming with them. This is a once in a lifetime experience and I would highly recommend it to anyone.
Reviewer: travelmom
5 Stars
Great animal encounter
March 04, 2015
You take on your own a short cab ride to the park. Once there you wander around the area with many things you can do: Myan culture area, tequilla tasteing, dolphin, manatee swims, shopping, restaurant. The manatee swim was well organized and very safe. We spent time playing with them and feeding them. Yes they take many shots for pictures for you to purchase, but not very expensive. We had all 81 pictures placed on a disc to be able to print out once we got back. They had a pool and beach area you could use. Well worth the time. No wait for taxi back to the ship when we were ready to go.
Reviewer: rnsweetheart
5 Stars
This was the BEST!!
February 13, 2015
This was a wonderful excursion and so glad we did it. Everyone else at the park seemed to be doing the dolphin experiences so had a small group of only 8 people that really allowed for extensive time with the two manatees. The park itself was pretty cool but do not get the ""buffet"" they offer when you walk in - not very good for $15 a person.
Reviewer: Angela the Traveler
5 Stars
We would definitely go again
January 05, 2015
Loved the manatees. These were VIP tickets. My husband and I had 3 trainers and 3 manatees to ourselves. We got to feed them, kiss them, swim with them and have lots of pictures taken. The manatees are so sweet natured. They love to be fed lettuce. It was so much fun to swim with them. The next group after us did not have these VIP tickets and there were 18 people + 3 trainers in with the manatees. They didn't have the close-up experience that we had.
Reviewer: Kathy the cruiser
5 Stars
Manatee swim the best!
December 31, 2014
Feeding and interacting with the creatures was outstanding. Both my wife and I thought this experience was the high-lite of our trip and we did several excursions. The only downside was the fact that we had to wear vests.
Reviewer: Maui Dave
5 Stars
Amazing
December 31, 2014
This was exciting to swim with the manatees and feed them
Reviewer: Nicolekillen
4 Stars
The most wonderful time!
September 29, 2014
Swimming with manatees was such a fun experience. They are wonderful, gentle, beautiful and fun creatures and we are so grateful that Chankanaab Park gives people the opportunity to spend some quality time swimming with and feeding and interacting with them. The guides were very friendly and knowledgeable, and truly cared about the animals under their care. We had a good long time in the water with the manatees and would definitely recommend this excursion to everyone. Families....don't pass this one up. Afterwards, you can tour the park and swim and have a meal. Lockers and everything are provided so we felt very confident that our personal belongings were safe as we went and had FUN.
Reviewer: cindy
5 Stars
What A Rush !
August 17, 2014
We would not have missed swimming with these '' Big Puppy Dogs '' of the ocean for the world. Truly a once in a lifetime experience for all , young and old! The guides are knowledgeable and friendly. The manatees are huge and adorable. You are not able to photograph on your own. The excursion was priced right, the professional photos a tad spendy.
Reviewer: Poo Girl
4 Stars
Loved this spot!!!
June 28, 2014
Had a great time lots of things to see and do!!
Reviewer: Mrodgers
5 Stars
A Fun and Relaxing Excursion
June 21, 2014
Overall, this is a great excursion. The manatees are so gentle and swimming with them is a unique experience. It is well organized, although it does seem like it is planned around photo opportunities instead of the adventure of swimming with the manatees. Our guide did not speak English well, so he barely talked. It would have been great to learn more about the manatees. I went into the park knowing that the photos would cost an arm and a leg, although I was able to negotiate the price down. The food at the park was tasty and reasonably priced, and the sea lion show was informational. Before the trip I was worried about finding transportation to the park, but it was so easy as Cozumel taxis are incredibly well-organized and have flat rates, so there is no haggling or worrying about getting ripped off. If you have already done the dolphin swim and are looking for something exotic or more relaxing, then do this excursion!
Reviewer: The Aggie Economist
4 Stars
Manatee Swim
June 05, 2014
I really enjoyed this excursion and thought that it was definitely worth the money. There was only myself and a family of four in the group so we got to spend a lot of one on one time with the manatees. The trainers were very friendly and patient. It was nice to listen to the information they would tell you about the animals. I am so glad I chose to do this and I have no regrets.
Reviewer: K-Swiss
5 Stars
Sweet swim
June 04, 2014
Swimming with the manatees was a once in a lifetime experience for our family and we loved it. The pool and the beach were also an added bonus we enjoyed both before and after our swim. On the down side the photos they took were soooo expensive we left with nothing to share of our wonderful time there.
Reviewer: Manatee lover
4 Stars
Great experience
April 03, 2014
You must arranged your own transportation to & from the park. Taxi cost $11 each way. It's the same price @ the door as if booked in advance. Ridiculously overpriced photos. Make sure you bargain with them.
Reviewer: Jdk
5 Stars
Experience of a lifetime
April 02, 2014
The manatees were gentle giants. I was so surprised by their gentle nature and how affectionate they were. The trainers shared their knowledge of these amazing animals. Loved the opportunity to interact with the manatees while a photographer was taking pictures of our special opportunity! I would recommend this excursion for everyone!
Reviewer: Cultural enthusiast
5 Stars
better than swimming with Dophins
January 28, 2014
A once in a lifetime adventure to swim and interact with theses gentle sea mammals. Don't miss this adventure
Reviewer: Norman Paperman owner Coral Reef Club
5 Stars
Best excursion we've ever taken!
January 05, 2014
We were fortunate that we only had to share this wonderful experience with one other couple - and they were great! We had lots of one on one time with three manatees, who are just beautiful, sweet, affectionate and gigantic creatures. They were so friendly (because we were feeding them lettuce) but you could pet them, kiss them, hold their flippers, etc. Just gentle giants. Better than the stingrays, better than the dolphins. Make it a point to meet the manatees up close and personal!
Reviewer: Debbie
5 Stars
A bucket list must
October 19, 2013
This was a bucket list must for my wife and I. We will remember this activity forever. The Manatees were curious, gentle and friendly. They seemed to relish the touching, petting and human interaction. If we weren't touching them, they were touching us. The guides were extremely knowledgeable and the Manatees looked and seemed well taken care of. A must do while in Cozumel. We plan to repeat the trip.
Reviewer: Bob and Marsha
5 Stars
Just Amazing!
October 13, 2013
My husband and I love Manatees and we have always wanted to do something like this but never knew we could as they are endangered in the United States. All prior reviews of this excursion said you could use an underwater camera and so we were very unhappy to say the least when we got there and said no. So we tried to comply . Definitely the best ""Swimming with the"" excursion I have ever done and I have swam with everything you can do. Spent 99% of the time feeding them while standing on a platform (wear water socks)and then got a few minutes to swim out with them wearing a snorkeling mask. The pictures they took were good and of excellent quality, however outrageously priced. We purchased 2 individual pics, but after we tried walking away. They lowered the price when you tell them no. The property at Chankanaab was nice and we relaxed the rest of the day at the pool and beach area's and the Sea Lion show was adorable. My husband got a kiss on the cheek from one of the sealions. Would do this again with our little girls!
Reviewer: LoveSnoopy628
5 Stars
Had a great time but...
September 19, 2013
We loved it but the fact we couldt bring our own camera was horrible. The photos were $40 a pop. Don't eat at the restaurant by the manatee and dolphin holding area. Go over to the snorkel beach and eat there. We got six beers and two shots and chips and salsa for $20. The manatees were wonderful
Reviewer: Mrs.Jones
4 Stars
South Seas Travel LOVES the manatee swim
March 22, 2013
This was one of the best excursions EVER ! Taken our clients on Dolphin , Turtle , Stingrays & other swims ! This is a fabulous & unique opportunity ; all at a great price that provides entrance to the beautiful Chankanaab Park too !!! This is definitely a great place to spend the whole day ! Do your Manatee Swim , have lunch , walk & even enjoy the spa ! Had a GREAT day & will definitely book our clients here again ! Melissa @ South Seas Travel ,LLC , Louisville , KY
Reviewer: Melissa Travel Agency Owner
5 Stars
Honestly: Trip's Highlight!!
March 11, 2013
Just two in our group, 45 minutes of constant contact with the ""gentle giants."" They are amazing creatures.
Reviewer: Evelyn & Ronald
5 Stars
Rare fun experience photos not included
December 11, 2012
Swimming with the Manatees was fun, everyone else was with the dolphins but a small, select group chose manatees instead. Two recommendations: 1) wear water socks. The wire grate you stand on in the water is pretty painful with just bare feet. 2) Get ready to pay $$$ for low res photos. They will try to get you to buy the photos but if you push back and tell them you're not interested the price of the photos goes down and down. It went down twice for us. The photo CD was good for posting online but I was surprised that, considering they took them with a digital SLR, the pictures were all less than 1MB in size. Guess the camera resolution was set pretty low. Overall a fun experience and the guided tour before hand of the simulated Mayan ruins was an unexpected bonus.
Reviewer: Alexey
4 Stars
What an incredible experience!!!
August 24, 2012
The manatee experience was everything we hoped for. Our three guides were wonderful! This was the highlight of our trip.
Reviewer: Blair
5 Stars
LOVED LOVED !!!
July 20, 2012
We loved every second of it!!!
Reviewer: corynrach
5 Stars
wow!
June 09, 2012
This was a fabulous outing. The swim with the manatees was extremely rewarding especially if you love animals. Glad to say I have experienced this. What a fabulous time we had.
Reviewer: Gail
5 Stars
Fantastic Experience!
May 10, 2012
What a special experience. My husband and I were in the last group to go of the day and ended up being the only two people. It was just us and the 3 Manatee. They were so amazing...and big! I couldn't stop laughing when we were feeding them. The guide told us all about them. It was truly interesting to hear about them. I would suggest everyone do this at least once in their life time!
Reviewer: KEM
5 Stars
What an incredible experience.
March 20, 2012
The tour allow you time to explore the park both before and after the actual Manatee encounter. With the other shows and activities the price was a real steal. It is too bad that the trip does not include transportation as it seems like the Taxi rides to and from are relatively expensive for such a short trip.
Reviewer: Harold the explorer
5 Stars
Awesome Experience!!!!!
March 14, 2012
Once in a lifetime experience!!!! There are only 3000 manatees left in the world and to have the chance to touch, interact and feed them was unbelievable. I spent at least 20 minutes swimming with the manatees and feeding them lettuce. Chankanaab Park is without a doubt the best place in Cozumel to spend the day. Great facilities. The only bummer was the photos they take of you with the manatees they want $90 for a CD disk of them. That was really high for a CD of photos and you still have to print the photos out. I wanted only 1 photo but they will not sell you 1 photo, you have to buy the entire CD.
Reviewer: Aqualungtim
5 Stars
Great Experience!
February 16, 2012
This was a fantastic excursion!! The manatee experience was fantastic! We got to feed them, pet them, get and give kisses from them, and swim with them. It was fantastic. They take pictures for you (that are outragously priced), but they allow you to take your own pictures as well, so remember to bring your waterproof camera! The only thing that I can complain about is that the life jacket gave me a rash on my back. It has since gone away, but I would recommend that you wear a shirt while wearing the jacket to avoid my experience.
Reviewer: Nicki
4 Stars
Best Experience ever!
December 03, 2011
time of my life. individual attention. Unbelievable
Reviewer: dev
5 Stars
Swimming with Manatees was awesome!
November 15, 2011
Our cruise rerouted the ship and I actually showed up at Chankanaab on a different day than I had reserved and they were perfectly fine with the exchange. It was very easy to get a taxi to and from the park to the dock, but on the way back the driver dropped us off at the wrong dock and we were not paying attention and didn't realize it! We were lucky to have the next taxi driver take us to the right one for free! So be careful of that! I think it would be easier if the excursion provided transportation.
Reviewer: Linda
5 Stars
A Must do Experience!
July 29, 2011
This was a great experience if you want to do something just a little bit different. There are 3 manatees at the park, and they are all quite large. They do like to socialize, especially if food is added to the mix. We had a great guide who gave us tons of information, and we spent the whole time hands on with the manatees. Towards the end we were even allowed to snorkel with them, the stingrays and nurse shark that shared their enclosure with them. We thought this would be a once in a lifetime experience, but next time we are in Cozumel we will definitely go back and do this again!
Reviewer: Hilary
5 Stars
Wonderful Experience!
July 25, 2011
The manatee swim was definitely the highlight of my cruise. No one else was signed up for my time slot, so my daughter and I had the guide and the manatees to ourselves! We got to spend the whole time feeding and playng with the manatees and talking to the guide. It was like having a private swim. Not to mention, this excursion wasn't even offered on our cruise ship and it was much cheaper than the excursions they did offer!
Reviewer: Leah, teacher
5 Stars
Increditable Experience
June 23, 2011
The encounter with the Manatees was an increditable experience. There are very gentle creatures. The people running the encounter where wonderful. The whole park was very clean and very accomodating. We enjoyed the experience very much and would do it again in a heartbeat!
Reviewer: Babe
5 Stars