Grenada's Spice Route

Excellent excursion
April 26, 2022
This was a wonderful excursion and Mandoo is a wealth of information. Each stop he fully explained and the sites were beautiful. We highly recommend this tour and Mandoo as your guide.
Reviewer: Julie Hornsby
5 Stars
educational tour
March 15, 2020
It was great to be in a smaller van than in the large buses for other tours, as we could access narrow mountain roads and see waterfalls. The coffee plantation was interesting.
Reviewer: John Seigel
5 Stars
Grenada
March 13, 2020
Most excellent tour with very clean and new van. Guide was terrific. Warner was his name. Very knowledgeable. Tour was A little too long.. 5 hrs
Reviewer: Martha Fish
5 Stars
Spice tour was wonderful
February 18, 2020
We loved our tour! Very informative, great stops, very local and shopping time as well!
Reviewer: Cindy
5 Stars
Outstanding Tour
January 26, 2020
We enjoyed the spice tour and waterfall very much as we had an excellent tour guide--highly recommended 1/10/20
Reviewer: kent francis
5 Stars
Lush and beautiful island.
January 07, 2020
We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Our favorite part was learning about the fruit grown on the island - some of it I have never heard of. We tried bananas and they tasted so much better than they do in the states. Loved the scenery, loved smelling fresh spices. Great experience.
Reviewer: Michele Tjarks
5 Stars
Informative
November 23, 2019
Good tour. Covered everything that was on the list from the website. About 20 people in the group and the bus was clean well maintained Very patient and informative driver and guide. Even with a very irritating person on our tour he did a great job of re answering her question over and over. Overall a great tour.
Reviewer: Lora Bryant
4 Stars
This was our favourite tour
August 23, 2019
Our tour guide was wonderful on this excursion. Highly informative about the island, and the spices. The people of this island have a lot of pride. We enjoyed the sights and learning so much about spices, and brought home quite a few!
Reviewer: Shari
5 Stars
Fantastic tour - our favourite of the whole trip
August 18, 2019
Our tour guide on this trip was wonderful. Grenada is working its way back from hurricane devastation, and they are a proud people. The trip was a great experience, and truly the spices were the highlight. We had an amazing day on this excursion.
Reviewer: Shari
5 Stars
Great Family Excursion
July 06, 2019
Our group consisted of 10 multi-generational family members, ranging in age from 12 to 75. There was something for everyone on this tour. The kids enjoyed learning how cocoa was made, while the grandmas enjoyed the varieties of spicy scents. It rained the day of our tour, but we were able to see the island from the bus and still stay dry.
Reviewer: Nicole Stankievech
4 Stars
Grenada's Spice Route
May 02, 2019
This was a wonderful tour. Our guide was very informative and we learned a lot about the island as well as local spices, fruits and flowers. We enjoyed the smaller group and think it was well worth the pric.e
Reviewer: Joyce Wojtowicz
5 Stars
Exceptional tour
March 12, 2019
We really enjoyed the Spice route. Our group was divided into vans and we met at the sites. Our driver was very good and very informative. He stoped to make sure we got the pictures we wanted. At the Spice farm the guide was great with lots of info about the spices and the process.
Reviewer: Deanna Sager
5 Stars
Great Tour
March 10, 2019
Even better than expected, put the ships excursions to shame
Reviewer: Rich
5 Stars
Grenada Spice Tour
February 22, 2019
Very informative and an excellent guide that was very easy to understand. We had 12 people on the tour, so the size was perfect. I would recommend this tour in Grenada.
Reviewer: Randy Hillman
4 Stars
Grenada's Spice Route
February 19, 2019
A real education...our guide was outstanding!
Reviewer: Ken and Elizabeth Murdock
5 Stars
WORTHWHILE
February 16, 2019
Very informative tour right from the start. Drive knew the island and gave a very good overview. I would take this tour again and not have anything changed. Will use Shore Excursions Group again.
Reviewer: Russel Santor
5 Stars
A good Overview of the Granada Highlights
February 12, 2019
The tour left on time and was not crowded. The driver and tour guide spoke good English and narrated as we rode around the island. The stops along the way were interesting and we had adequate time to see the sights and take pictures. Overall a good day in Granada.
Reviewer: GARY W Wallace
5 Stars
Mandoo was our host
January 25, 2019
Wow what a great day Mandoo was interesting and so very knowledgeable we gained true insight into this lovely island of Grenada never bored of the information shared Mandoo made this tour fantastic
Reviewer: Laurene Vogel
5 Stars
Spice tour
January 20, 2019
We toured the beautiful island of Grenada, learning about all of the many spices grown there. At a warehouse we learned how they process spices and had an opportunity to purchase them. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly.
Reviewer: Lorraine Seibold
4 Stars
The Spice of Life
December 20, 2018
Whenever I travel I do excursions because I want to learn about the countries I am visiting, learn about their cultures. If this is you, you won't be disappointed with this tour. Our guide was knowledgeable and passionate about his country. We had several opportunities to buy local spices and even visited a local farm. When we got home we got rid of our old spices and replaced them with the spices we bought in Grenada because there was no comparison.
Reviewer: Carolyn Harmston
5 Stars
Excellent Tour
December 18, 2018
Our tour guide is an asset to your tour. Very informative about the island/people and was very enjoyable to be around.
Reviewer: Elizabeth Schimpf
5 Stars
Grenada's Spice Route
December 16, 2018
This was a very good tour, our driver was very informative, and was easy to understand. Small group of people made it an excellent tour.
Reviewer: Lyle L.
5 Stars
Excellent tour
November 25, 2018
11/25/18 - we had an excellent tour with our driver Mandoo. The van was comfortable, adequate leg space and the AC worked. Mandoo was very knowledgeable and a very good driver on the narrow mountain roads. The rainforest was beautiful and we had several very nice stops. The trip was punctual, which was much appreciated. We saw a large area of Grenada during our 4 hr tour. He gave us an excellent lecture at the spice farm.
Reviewer: Eric Hughes
5 Stars
Excellent tour
May 14, 2018
We really enjoyed this tour! It was priced right and we enjoyed being with a smaller group rather than on a huge bus!
Reviewer: Marsha Russell
5 Stars
Granada Spice
May 14, 2018
It was a very good tour. Tour guide was very informative and knew his stuff. There is some agenda going on with the country trying to become independent, but it didn't effect us. They are little rigid on time but then relax later on.
Reviewer: vbarnett
4 Stars
wonderful trip
April 30, 2018
A wonderful driver who knows the owner of almost every house on the road and can tell a lot about the life of the island. I stayed in the beautiful places that we passed without any problems
Reviewer: Alexander
5 Stars
awesome excursion
April 16, 2018
This was the first time we booked an excursion that wasn't through the boat. The guide cared deeply about sharing his love for his beautiful home. He was so knowledgeable about the island and it's people. Would absolutely recommend!
Reviewer: Connie
5 Stars
The best of tour on Grenada Island
March 16, 2018
Our guide for this tour, Mr. Mandu, must be the guides response to Morgan Freeman. A wise and extremely competent guide for the Grenada Island, caring for both the island, the people, especially the kids which he as a volunteer educated in the school about the environment, and for the future for all Carribean islands. 4 hours of info, education and thoughtfullness in the best company.
Reviewer: Christian Pein
5 Stars
Great Tour
March 16, 2018
The guides were very informative. We enjoyed Concord Falls and were very impressed with the spice processing estate. It was interesting to see the variety of spices processed there. They were very attentive to our need to get back to the ship for departure.
Reviewer: Ann
5 Stars
Worthwhile excursion
March 06, 2018
We had an excellent, knowledgeable guide on this excursion that was significantly smaller and lower in cost than the group excursion provided by the ship. Highly recommended.
Reviewer: Richard Boden
5 Stars
Great tour
February 24, 2018
I am a travel consultant who has taken countless shore excursions over the past 30 years, but I have to say that I would rate this tour right at the top. Everything was extremely well organized, from the booking process right through to the tour guide and his wealth of knowledge on his Island and tour stops. The bus was clean and the windows were crystal clear for viewing the amazing sights along the route. I was very pleased with all aspects and would book future cruise excursions with Shore Excursions group without hesitation
Reviewer: Jim
5 Stars
Very Interesting
February 21, 2018
Our guide was excellent, he knew anything and everything you asked. Was interesting to see how the spices are processed.
Reviewer: Joanne Montgomery
5 Stars
Grenada Spice Route Excursion review
January 08, 2018
Our Guide on the Grenada Spice Route excursion was extremely knowledgeable. As he drove our bus on very bumpy and narrow roads, he kept up an informative and interesting narrative on many subjects regarding his country. The tour was definitely off the beaten path and well worth it!
Reviewer: Murray & Cecile Zlotnik
4 Stars
Wonderful Tour!
December 26, 2017
Our guide on the Spice Tour was wonderful. We had almost a private tour ( 2 of the 4 other people who booked joined us) and we watched the two or three other buses filled up with the tour offered by the cruise herd everyone through some of the same stops. We were able to see much more, go more places and learn more by booking directly. Our guide Stanroy(?) even stopped at a local shop and bought us fig bananas, which were so delicious!
Reviewer: Page Flournoy
5 Stars
A great Way to Enjoy Grenada
December 26, 2017
This is one of the best shore excursions that I have every been on. There were only four of us so it was like having your own private tour. Our guide, was older and an expert on the island and the spices that it produces. The information and knowledge that he had made the tour so wonderful. He even bought us small bananas which were delicious! There was no hurry to get the tour finished and he even went over the time by 30 minutes. I would highly recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Kathy
5 Stars
Grenada Tour
December 26, 2017
The tour was excellent and the tour guide was very well versed in the whole island giving us very interesting facts. Would definitely recommend this tour guide.
Reviewer: Marcia Holsinger
5 Stars
Spice route
April 06, 2017
It was a very thorough bus trip of the island going to the spice factory as it was called. It claimed to be a working spice factory; however, it was a Sunday and we could not prove it was not. It did not appear to have been worked for quite some time. It was very interesting and showed how spices had been collected and treated by slaves in the past.
Reviewer: Aileen Redeker
4 Stars
excellent
January 27, 2017
very nice tour, interesting an informative!
Reviewer: Ang
5 Stars
Granada the Beautiful
January 19, 2017
Our guide as excellent. So much knowledge about the island and area. The island is lush and spectacular. We went to a crater lake and while there our guide called a couple of wild monkeys out of the brush and feed them bananas. This was the highlight of the day. The guide had the bananas left over from buying them for everyone on the bus. So good. Not what we get at home.
Reviewer: Judith Reese
5 Stars
Great tour
January 19, 2017
The van was brand new, the driver was friendly and super knowledgable and the island was a delight. There were no monkeys in the National park so we had to eat the bananas the driver bought for them!
Reviewer: Rod Edwards
5 Stars
Excellent Tour
January 18, 2017
Of all the shore tours in which we participated, this tour was the first shore tour to be on time. We were seated in the by 8.30 which was departure time. The tour displayed the highlights of Grenada and the spices for which it is famous. We particularly enjoyed the demonstration of spice preparation in the old sugar mill.
Reviewer: Susan Anderson
4 Stars
Enjoyable excursion
January 17, 2017
We saw a lot of the island in the time we had. We were able to see the "raw" spices and see some beautiful scenery on this volcanic island as well as learn a lot about the history of the island. Our guide was informative, but seemed scripted more than personal.
Reviewer: Marilyn Henrie
4 Stars
Tour
January 14, 2017
This was our favorite tour and Island. Amazing service and tour was great. Spice tour was awesome. Would definitely do again and highly recommend. Gorgeous Islander.
Reviewer: Gordon Evans
5 Stars
Spice scents and adventure
January 03, 2017
Our guide on this excursion was very informative and funny. He had a story to tell about the spices and all Grenada. The spices all smell and taste wonderful. I purchased spices and I don't cook. It was an entertaining and fun adventure.
Reviewer: Brenda Samuel
5 Stars
Very informative and interesting
December 18, 2016
Our driver was very informative and really loves his island and sharing with others all the best that Grenada has to offer. Lots of driving but in doing so I think we covered most of the island. The Crater Lakes was wonderful but we got hit with some rain, would love to go back and see it without rain, just not sure if that is possible. I would highly recommend the tour. We ran into many other friends from our cruise ship who had booked elsewhere and we learned later we paid the lowest.
Reviewer: Kari J Tanaka
5 Stars
By far the best tour I've even taken in the Caribb
May 12, 2016
A superb tour. The guide Mandoo's was extremely attentive, professional, knowledgeable about the cultural, geo-political and environmental aspects of the island and spices. It was obvious that he knew much about the environment and the importance of sustainability. The trip around the island involved stops in the mountainous regions, small towns, growers, and finally the downtown region. Mandoo was perhaps the best tour guide I've ever encountered.
Reviewer: Tillerman
5 Stars
Granada Spice Route
May 11, 2016
Interesting experience. Guide was very informative. Good value for the cost of the tour.
Reviewer: Dee
4 Stars
Very Informative Tour
May 09, 2016
This tour was a great opportunity to see this island and how the spices are produced. Beautiful countryside and was able to get off the bus enough to make it more comfortable and interesting, yet not too strenuous.
Reviewer: Jeannie
5 Stars
Best excursion on my recent cruise
April 20, 2016
The day tour of Grenada was amazing. Our guide, Montoo, shared his love of the island and included ecological, educational emphasis. He provided extra opportunities throughout the day, including treating the tour group to fresh bananas, and introducing us to a monkey that he had befriended through the years. After a day with this wonderful guide, I felt that I had glimpsed not only the beauty of this amazing island, but also the culture and ""heart"" of the people.
Reviewer: Mimi sews
5 Stars
Great for the money.
April 18, 2016
We would use these services again. The price is right and we always get nice tour guides that know all about the tours we select. They are very nice people.
Reviewer: none
4 Stars
Wonderful Excursion
April 07, 2016
Wonderful excursion with a knowledgeable guide who knew the island it's culture and politics well.
Reviewer: SC
5 Stars
Interesting excursion
March 31, 2016
A very informative tour of the island and the spice business. Three tour vehicles made every venue somewhat crowded but we enjoyed. And the rain messed up one stop. Mother Nature to blame.
Reviewer: Ark traveler
4 Stars
Excellent Shore Excursion
March 17, 2016
This was one of the best excursions I have ever been on. Our guide was so knowledgeable about Grenada and so passionate about what he does. He went above and beyond with explaining the sites and answering any questions that we had. The island was amazing and he made sure to show us as much of it as he could. I will take this tour again if we come back.
Reviewer: Susan
5 Stars
I would choose this shore excursion again.
March 17, 2016
The guide was very knowledgable about his island.
Reviewer: cruiseman
5 Stars
Excellent, knowledgeable guide and great tour
March 03, 2016
This was an excellent tour. The guide knew so much and was gracious about imparting it to us. He offered opportunities to purchase top-quality spices in multiple places, explained the process of harvesting cocoa, nutmeg and other spices, bought bananas to feed us as well as to lure mona monkeys so we could observe them. He really went the extra mile to find the monkeys. He was fabulous!
Reviewer: Linda the teacher
5 Stars
enjoyed this tour
March 03, 2016
like this tour saw allot of Gernada. Guide made sure we had time at stops to take pictures and explained all aspects of the island.
Reviewer: joe425
4 Stars
Perfect man for the job
March 03, 2016
Our guide Mandoo was awesome. He had so much knowledge about the island, the people, plants, farming and history. I'm sure glad he was driving and not me on the skinny road, especially when there was no room to pass a vehicle so someone had to back up. He went above and beyond to make it enjoyable for us and answer our questions. He bought us fresh bananas to eat and got some for the mona monkeys. He called and called to get the monkeys to come out so we could see them and get pictures of them. The monkeys were very entertaining to watch and very comfortable with humans. I have been enjoying the cinnamon, and chocolate we purchased very reasonably at the plantation.
Reviewer: bugs
5 Stars
The Spice Island with lots of Spice
February 15, 2016
Our guide was great! He told us so much about spices and the culture of Grenada. We knew he loved this island, but was realistic about its problems. It was an entertaining tour that I would recommend to any one wanting to explore this beautiful island!
Reviewer: Mary
5 Stars
great tour!
February 15, 2016
Got to see a good deal of the island and how th people live.
Reviewer: Cathy
5 Stars
Great tour of a beautiful island.
February 14, 2016
We really enjoyed this trip as it was very informative and got to see a lot of the island.
Reviewer: Ian
4 Stars
Great tour - learned a lot
February 14, 2016
Enjoyed the guide and the island - especially the info on how spices are grown and processed. Waterfall was beautiful and excellent island history from the guide who was friendly and patient.
Reviewer: Missionary Gma
5 Stars
Beautiful island, interesting excursion
February 10, 2016
Very lush island, lots of spices and great volcanic lake
Reviewer: Alan&Deanna
5 Stars
I would recommend this excursion
February 04, 2016
This excursion was very educational and our guide was very knowledgeable about the island.
Reviewer: I don't remember the guides name.
5 Stars
Very NIce
January 03, 2016
Loved the variety of things we were able to do and do them at a slow and thought out manner. We've done many adventures and one this would be a slower paced option. The guide was a wealth of information. It was great.
Reviewer: Jude
4 Stars
Outstanding tour of Grenada
December 26, 2015
Mr Mando is an outstanding guide. He is highly articulate, keeps his vehicle in impeccable order and is helpful and courteous.
Reviewer: Anneke
5 Stars
My Grenada tour
December 04, 2015
I would use this tour as a great way to see the island
Reviewer: 1loxyman
4 Stars
A quick overview of the other side
November 18, 2015
Realize that the products we get here are a result of a lot of history and labor.
Reviewer: TravelinTeam
4 Stars
Aroma Was Wonderful
November 17, 2015
Driver/guide was very informative on the island culture. The Spice Plantation was exceptional. Guide explained various aspects concerning the growing, harvesting and processing of the spices. Hands on examination of the the product which brought out the wonderful aromas. Liked this tour and are enjoying the spice we bought. At another stop, driver called a Mona monkey into the open so we could take pictures.
Reviewer: Mel&Sherry
5 Stars
Great Tour
May 30, 2015
Loved touring the Spice Factory. Really interesting and educational. I loved learning about the island. Beautiful place! Very scenic!!
Reviewer: PhDMom
5 Stars
Great Tour
May 16, 2015
Very professional - outstanding!!
Reviewer: Tucson54
5 Stars
Excellent.....throughout!!
May 06, 2015
My first time with this excursion company...found the service to be excellent and each of the trips enjoyable. Loved the information that was shared and the immersion into the process of the spices.
Reviewer: Cindi Loo Hoo
4 Stars
Confusing beginning, Great Finish
April 02, 2015
There was some confusion in the terminal because similar names of the Royal Caribbean and the On Line Vacation excursions. Our group was met by our tour representative, Mandoo Seales. We boarded a small bus guided by Cosmos Seales, the first of nineteen children, and Mandoo was a younger brother. As we drove toward the fishing town of Gouyave, we passed by the Nutmeg Processing Station, the largest in Grenada and the factory where most of the island's spices are processed for export. En-route, Cosmos told us he had lived in the United Kingdom; served in the merchant marine; and lived in the United States but has returned to his homeland, Grenada. The Dougladston Estate is just outside Gouyave and here we visited a building (boucan) with huge drying trays on rails, so that the trays can be pushed under the building if it rains. Depending on the time of the year, the drying trays may contain mace, cocoa, cinnamon, pimento (allspice), or cloves. Once inside Mandoo briefed our tour groups. We were invited to 'scratch 'n sniff' the leaves of twigs and failed to identify a few. Then we were shown where cocoa beans (not a spice) used to be processed using steam technology. Some of the spices were in Calabash shells, used to make bowls. We saw trees with loofah 'sponges' but they are not sponges, they are the fibrous interior of a cucumber. One could buy spices here and Liz found some representative samples to take home. Cosmos continued on into the mountains to the Belvedere Plantation. We stopped and Mandoo obtained fresh Grenadian bananas for each of us to try. Then our two bus convoy continued on steep switchbacks, including a 180° turn, to the Grand Étang National Park. At the lake we had twenty minutes to tour an exhibition center, buy souvenirs, take photos with native Indians wearing colorful costumes with fruit basket hats. It seemed like too brief a time but we had almost twice the promised time as others refused to rejoin the bus on time. That cut our time to finish our tour with a photo stop at the Annandale waterfall. Located in a luscious grotto, the 30 foot high falls pour into a shallow pool that seemed chest high on five or six people splashing about. Local divers, ala Acapulco, earn a living by collecting tips after diving in the pool. It was impressive but crazy. Our drive back completed our loop around the island.
Reviewer: Fella
4 Stars
Fantastic excursion -- great tour guide!
March 19, 2015
Great tour. The guide (""Captain"" because he wears all white) was fantastic. Educational and informative. Highly recommend it as an alternative to a beach excursion.
Reviewer: Bryan the boater
5 Stars
Too little time for big crowd
February 28, 2015
For my first foray into this type of excursion, it was exciting. I enjoyed learning about the varieties of spices, how and where they are grown, harvested and processed. Because of the large group, I was unable to view and/or hear some of the guide's commentary. The purchasing process was unwieldy and somewhat disorganized. The guide was very knowledgeable, sharing information in an easily understood manner.
Reviewer: Joy the Vegan
4 Stars
Take this tour
February 16, 2015
We had Mandoo as our guide/driver for our Grenada Spice Route Tour. We loved it! Our favorite of the 3 tours we took. Everything was on time. Mandoo was wonderful. He was knowledgeable and friendly and fun.Loved the explanations on the flora, fauna. Loved the spice(s) hands on experience. It's hard to believe how much you can see and learn in a half day tour. Grenada itself was lovely; so lush and tropical. Fabulous landscape.
Reviewer: M
4 Stars
If you like to experiment with spices
February 15, 2014
Tour guide was great, answered all questions about Grenada. Took time to show examples of flora, fauna, and countryside.
Reviewer: ibdamommy
4 Stars
Worth the time and money
February 09, 2014
Great introduction to Grenada Learned about spice production Tour Guide knowledgeable
Reviewer: ibdamommy
4 Stars
Great excursion
February 07, 2014
Everything exceeded expectations. Will definitely use you again and recommend you to friends
Reviewer: Judy
5 Stars
Excellent guide and great value for mone
December 06, 2013
Excellent variety and great value for money
Reviewer: Jane
5 Stars
Enjoyable and Informative
August 19, 2013
Enjoyed Spice Farm Tour. DUe to time constraints and the need to accomodate participants from another ship, the tour could not go to the Falls which was listed as a ""highlight"" so that was disappointing, but the Spice farm was informative to one who cooks.
Reviewer: Two Savvy Seniors
4 Stars
Grenada Our favorite excursion!
March 14, 2013
This was a fantastic, varried, interesting, educational and fun excursion! We saw the whole island, including waterfalls, rainforest, mountains and ocean views and a lake that had been a volcanic crater! We visited a working spice business, small towns, and saw wild monkeys up close! Our guide was exceptional and we learned SO much about Grenada, both it's history and present day. Thank you so much.
Reviewer: Mrs firedragon
5 Stars
Delightful, interesting tour
January 13, 2013
Great guide, well grounded in local information. Made sure we all had chance to view points of interest along the way. Spice 'scratch 'n sniff' entertaining and educational. Couldn't entice monkeys with bananas or calls, but guide certainly tried.
Reviewer: Mrs. B
4 Stars
Granada's Spice Route
December 22, 2012
We were well educated about Grenada on the vehicle on the way to buy spices and guided by her as to where was the best place on our tour to buy some to take home. She was a sparkly woman who related well to all of us.
Reviewer: BJ
4 Stars
Sense-sational!
December 16, 2012
The guide was knowledgable and passionate about his country. We really got a good feel for the Island. The visuals, the sounds, and oh the wonderful spice smells were lovely to experience. We had a special thrill as we watched or guide call and feed the wild monkeys up at the crater lake.Super experience.
Reviewer: Deb
5 Stars
Greadna tour to falls an nutmeg plantati
December 09, 2012
We may have not gone if you didn't offer it. We had a great time loved all of it.
Reviewer: Chris
5 Stars
Spice, spice, spice!
December 07, 2012
The tour gave us a good feel for the island, and we enjoyed learning about the many spices grown there. The tour guide was knowledgeable and we would definitely do this again.
Reviewer: C and R
5 Stars