Rainforest and Banana Exploration

Good
February 23, 2020
The rainforest and banana plantation were amazing. Our tour guide, who I beleive was named Renaldo, was excellent and very entertaining. He had a fantastic sense of humour.
Reviewer: Kathy Monsma
5 Stars
Limon Rainforest & Banana Exploration
February 21, 2020
When I booked this excursion it said we would walk through a rainforest. However, the ship didn't dock in time to allow for this so our tour guide (who was great) arranged for us to take a boat ride through the rainforest. Just be aware you need a lot of time to be able to do the walking in the rainforest.
Reviewer: Steven Dukes
4 Stars
Fantastic
February 19, 2020
No actual Banana plantation tour but our terrific tour guide stopped and brought us a “bloom” of baby bananas to see along with a lot of info about the plantations! The best of all was the river boat trip. Our guide was so well informed about the flora and fauna and knew where to see the monkeys and other interesting rainforest creatures. Great trip!
Reviewer: Mrs GARY Beck
5 Stars
Great guide; wonderful scenery
January 31, 2020
Can't say enough about our guide Steve and his knowledge and humor. He had a bag of show and tell stuff that kept everyone interested in his tour rap. Like all tours through this organization, the number of travelers was small (maybe 14), the van was very comfortable, and the overview was excellent. Saw way more sloths than I ever expected, a few rare birds and some hilarious monkeys. This tour is well worth the money and easy on folks with minor mobility limitations.
Reviewer: Susan Richards
5 Stars
Rainforest tour
January 18, 2020
This was a fantastic tour. We especially liked the rainforest and beach at Cahuita. The tour guide was outstanding and knowledgeable about the area and about Costa Rica. I would recommend this tour to anyone.
Reviewer: Fred Shelley
5 Stars
Wonderful experience
January 06, 2020
We had a very informative tour of the banana plantation and the rainforest with our small tour group. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable. I really liked how he had live visual aids to show us while traveling on the bus. Our experience at the rainforest was beyond our expectations. Our guide located all kinds of monkeys, sloths, and other wildlife for our viewing pleasure. We highly recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Dennis Foster
5 Stars
Great tour
December 01, 2019
this excursion was beyond the description as it included a boat canal tour where we was a lot of wild life including an up-close few minutes with a sloth. Bus was smaller, guide was very informative and knowledgeable. Banana exploration was just a road side stop at a plantation but gave an ample overview of banana production. Rainforest was great, lost count of sloth sightings, saw monkeys, great beach, good pathways, again, tour guide was great at sighting the wildlife. I'd do this again in a heart beat.
Reviewer: Donald Livesay
5 Stars
Zippy
November 28, 2019
Enjoyed the ride and zip lines. Had never been deep into a rainforest and found it interesting. I skipped the jungle boat ride due to extreme rain, more rain than normal for the area. ‘
Reviewer: Ralph
4 Stars
Not Good enough
April 15, 2019
There was no Banana Exploration, the guide stopped outside the plantation and said we were not allowed to enter. We spent 20 min. at a resturant, which was a waste of time because everyone had just finished eating on the ship before we started the tour. The guide was good and was only doing what his company made him do.
Reviewer: Richard Mitchell
3 Stars
Rainforest and Banana Exploration-Costa Rica
March 17, 2019
This was my second visit to Costa Rica and I was looking forward to seeing the Atlantic side of this beautiful country. The location of this tour was perfect, a stunning rainforest steps away from a beautiful beach was perfect. Immediately after we set foot in the rainforest we saw sloths, monkeys, and iguanas, and we didn't have to strain to see them. Tour guide was knowledgeable. Pickup and drop off was timely. Would recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Jennifer Morris
5 Stars
This was an amazing tour. Beautiful Country!
March 03, 2019
Costa Rica is a beautiful country. Our guide Ronato was excellent. Very caring about the environment and nature. Extremely knowledgeable. Represented the country and was able to answer all the questions. Our driver "Cat" was a character for sure. He got the howler monkeys going when he noticed them in the trees and stopped. Beautiful ride through gorgeous countryside to get to the national park. And we got to see some sloths! Would highly recommend this tour - Greenway Tours is the way to go it you want to see it the natural way!
Reviewer: Randy and Karen Mehagan
5 Stars
Great Experience
February 27, 2019
Alberto told us all about the country's economy, health care, etc. He had many visual aids to show us what a cocoa pod looks like inside and out.Showed us a banana pod with little future bananas. Also showed us what a cashew fruit looks like. We saw howler monkeys, sloths, crocs, pythons, and lots of birds on river tour. He also took us to a local food place so we could enjoy genuine Costa Rican cuisine.
Reviewer: Donna
5 Stars
Perfect organisation and staff
February 25, 2019
The driver and the guide was so kind and have the knowledge of the country and the live animals. We was just 10 persons in a small bus so we can stop anywhere and have an explanation and also watch the wild life. I would definitely buy a other time this excursion if I return to Costa Rica.
Reviewer: Andre Binggeli
5 Stars
Our Guide helped us know the Country
February 24, 2019
Good language skills with a desire to share about life in the country of Costa Rica. When we didn't see a Sloth in the rain forest, he took us to a private residence and saw one up close, in a bush four foot off the ground! thoroughly enjoyed to tour.
Reviewer: Robert Bogott
5 Stars
Personal Attention of our Guide
February 09, 2019
Our tour guide has developed a strong knowledge of the flora and fauna of Cahuita National Park. She gave our small group personal attention by sharing her binoculars with us, taking photos with her own iPhone and sharing the photos with us. At a fruit stand, she purchased bananas and corn for every participant. Her welcoming attention gives me the taste to visit Costa Rica again.
Reviewer: Donna from Calgary Canada
5 Stars
Excellent Tour Guide
January 12, 2019
Tour guide was exceptional. Knowledgeable, terrific English skills, really into it. Obviously loves what he does. Tour itself covered a lot. We saw and did a nice variety. I got a good feel of the area. Recommend it.
Reviewer: John G
5 Stars
Rainforest & Banana Exploration
November 08, 2018
Tour guide was very informative & truly cared that each person on this tour had an opportunity to see as many animals as posdible. Open to questions. Highly recommended!
Reviewer: Carol Shimer-Young
4 Stars
Rainforest and Banana Exploration
May 14, 2018
This was a good tour. We opted for the nature walk. The guide was very knowledgeable and pointed out lots of plants and animals.we also did the canal ride and saw a good variety of wildlife.
Reviewer: Jeannie Teeter
5 Stars
Banana plantation and rainforest
March 05, 2018
Excursion was very good. I highly recommend it.
Reviewer: Karen zGubesch
5 Stars
A good trip in Costa Rica
February 18, 2018
My wife and I enjoyed the excursion, the guide was very nice and we learned a lot about the country. We were not disappointed about anything. I would recommend this for anyone wanting to learn about the country, etc.
Reviewer: Gene L Bradford
4 Stars
Monkeys and bananas
March 17, 2017
Enjoyed this excursion! Banana plantation was very interesting because I learned things I never knew! The rainforest also was educational and beautiful to see. We looked and looked for monkeys in the trees and just when we were about ready to exit the trail,we heard and saw the Holler Monkeys! Cameras all came out! The excursion leader was excellent and well informed!
Reviewer: Patti
4 Stars
We learned so much!
February 23, 2017
This was a very interesting tour, and our guide taught us so much about the plants and animals we saw. He explained how those native to the area used different plants for medicinal purposes as well as the different behaviors of the animals that we were fortunate enough to see. And, of course, the beach alongside us was GORGEOUS! Our final stop at someone's home to see their gardens and items for sale was also very nice. AS for the banana exploration...I wish we could have gone into the plantation; however, what we saw at the outside area gave us a good idea of how the business runs.
Reviewer: Nancy Seddon
5 Stars
Rainforest and Banana Exploration
February 04, 2017
We really enjoyed this tour. It was raining going thru the rainforest which it does often. It was nice but didn't see many things except monkeys and sloths which are everywhere. We didn't get to to thru the banana plantation but did get to see it and how it works. The best was the unexpected boat ride down the canal which was very cool.
Reviewer: K Adams
4 Stars
Rainforest and Banana Exploration
January 29, 2017
We started off with a river cruise. The guide and driver went out of their way to make sure that we saw as much wildlife as possible. We went right in among the trees to see sloths. Also saw howler monkeys, a cayman and many birds. Then we were off by bus to a national park for a walk in the rainforest. We saw monkeys, raccoons and even a viper. I highly recommend this excursion.
Reviewer: Linda Christian
5 Stars
Overall a good tour.
January 11, 2017
This tour went pretty well. We were met at the cruise pier by Greenway Tours holding up a sign. We were taken by the banana plantation for a tour, tasted some fruit at the fruit stand. The best part was the walk thru the trees by the beach where we saw a monkey, some rather shy slouths, birds, and some snakes, one that was a really bright yellow. Then we stopped by a place that we could get a snack & a drink. Some people got a meal and delayed our bus leaving on time. Should have been given a more definate time to be back on the bus.
Reviewer: Billy Thompson
4 Stars
Rainforest and Banana Exploration
January 10, 2017
The young guide was very knowledgeable but a couple of things prevented us from giving this tour 5 stars. Firstly we only stopped at the banana plantation and did not walk through and explore as we were led to believe would happen. Secondly on our way back to the ship, the bus stopped at a store and we were told we had 20 minutes to buy something to eat or drink. One couple stupidly ordered a full meal and nearly 1 hour later they still has not been served. There were several frustrated passengers who wants to get going and the couple ended up bringing th food back on the bus! The tour guide should have been much stricter with timing and made sure that everyone knew what time we would be leaving. Otherwise the rain forest was interesting and she was very pleasant and had made us all handmade cards which was lovely.
Reviewer: Tim and Penny Cowling
4 Stars
Costa Rica
December 25, 2016
Our tour guide was very informative and knowledgeable. The driver was great. I learned a great deal about Costa Rica and the lunch was great. the only problem was that the trip was on a Sunday and the Banana factory was closed!
Reviewer: Mary Lee Virginia
5 Stars
Greenway nature day tours
November 30, 2016
On our cruise with Holland American we went on this excursion I believe it was November 6th, 2016. Our guide, Alberto Gonzalez Vargos was absoulutely wonderful. Even though it was a Sunday and we couldn't see the Banana plantation in action, Alberto made up for it with his wit, education of the area, humor, treats, and consideration of all on his tour. This young man loves his country and went above and beyond. The boat ride was fun, the aloe plant was interesting and I would recommend this tour to anyone. My only reservation is that it was not through the cruise lines and God forbid if something happened. Alberto reassured us and got us back in plenty of time! Thank you again Alberto!
Reviewer: Marsha Spicher
5 Stars
Great excursion
April 26, 2016
Rey, our guide was knowledgable, protective and interesting.
Reviewer: Diane
5 Stars
This tour was SO worth it! Awesome tour guide
April 14, 2016
Roberto was the best tour guide you could ask for. He was on time, friendly, great smile, very accommodating. He was great at giving everyone on the bus (there were less than 10 of us) interesting information about Costa Rica during the trip. He was extremely organized and attentive to safety. The river tour was an amazing opportunity to photograph birds, caymen, lizards, etc. The boat operator on the river tour had an eye like a hawk. He could spot everything of interest so easily which made for seeing a lot of things we would have missed. They had great selection of fruit & water after the river cruise. All the facilities were clean & people were friendly. Then in the rainforest, some people went zip-lining & the rest of us went on a walk through the rainforest. He was great at pointing out everything of interest & was able to answer all our questions. Again, attentive to safety on the sometimes slippery trail. More fruit & water after this trip. The banana plantation had sprayed pesticides that day so we weren't allowed to go in for safety reasons but the tour guide had a banana heart in the van and explained how bananas grow. This was very interesting. He stopped at a roadside banana shop & bought mini bananas for everyone on board. He was so friendly & knowledgeable. On the way back to the ship we stopped to see a Sloth he spotted in the trees which gave me one of the best pictures of the trip! Got back to the ship in plenty of time. Loved this trip. Thank you, Roberto (I think that was his name...see picture)
Reviewer: Doug
5 Stars
Very interesting and entertaining!
April 02, 2016
Guides worked well together and seemed to enjoy sharing their knowledge of the rain forest
Reviewer: Pat
5 Stars
great excursion
April 02, 2016
We liked this excursion - the tour guide was excellent. It was obvious he liked his country and wanted us to know everything he knew. We enjoyed learning about the rainforest and the guide's enthusiasm was contagious.
Reviewer: kasjun
5 Stars
fun and educational
March 25, 2016
Zip line sounds detracted from the rain forest experience Banana explanations were very interesting. disappointed that we didn't get into the factory
Reviewer: chickadee
4 Stars
I would take this excursion again
March 18, 2016
We really enjoyed the small group. Guide made the trip fun and educational.
Reviewer: Jim
5 Stars
Excellent Experience of Costa Rica
March 15, 2016
This was above and beyond what we expected in experience, education, and activities! Our guide was absolutely wonderful - full of so much information about Costa Rica, Puerto Limon, its history, current culture, economy, education, politics, etc. We had a comprehensive tour of the town en route to a lovely boat ride, with flora and fauna pointed out to us in detail. Then, a long walk through the rain forest, again with lots of plants and critters introduced. The banana plantation tour was fascinating - so much info we had no idea about - loved that our guide popped into a market and brought us out some REAL bananas - yum! Also, there was wonderful tropical fruit for us after the boat ride and after the hike. We could not have been more pleased with our guide and this tour!!
Reviewer: Harvest Mooney
5 Stars
Nice Tour
February 24, 2016
Excellent guide. Good commentary on the various venues. Small group contributed to the value of the trip.
Reviewer: Frequent Traveler
5 Stars
Excursion was all we expected and more.
February 12, 2016
The excursion on the river and in the rain forest was a great experience. Alberto, our guide, was wonderful. He was exceptionally friendly, knowledgeable, and went the extra mile to make sure we had a good experience. Really enjoyed the river trip, the hike through the rain forest, and Alberto's pointing out the different wildlife species. He provided us multiple photo opportunities. The banana plantation was much more interested than we had anticipated. All in all a great day; would highly recommend to all.
Reviewer: Bob, susan
5 Stars
Interesting Frogs!
January 13, 2016
The tour guide and the bus driver were experience and friendly. We had not seen so many varieties of frog before. The hiking is easy and the distance is a little short.
Reviewer: Jing
4 Stars
I enjoyed this tour very much.
January 08, 2016
The tour was great!
Reviewer: Oma and Opa
4 Stars
Excellent. Andrés was an excel. guide. 14-person
January 08, 2016
Excellent guide, Andrés. This was the Rainforest trip.
Reviewer: CBG
5 Stars
Great Experience
May 04, 2015
The tour guide was very knowledgable and personable. The group was small enough to feel 'involved'.
Reviewer: Chloe
5 Stars
Loved this excursion!
April 15, 2015
Our guide was outstanding as he provided hand-drawn maps of Costa Rica for each of us and kept up an almost constant running commentary of the points of interest, cultural information and personal human interest items. We could tell he really loves his job.
Reviewer: loosiegoosie
5 Stars
Grear Tour
April 10, 2015
Rainforest walk was easy but very informative. Knowledgable guide made it fun and interesting. Would recommend this to others.
Reviewer: Don
5 Stars
Wonderful Experience!
December 28, 2014
Culturally informative. Excellent, experienced guide. Gained a whole new appreciation for the people and the process that provide the bananas we consume daily. Rainforest walk was a wonderful experience, but possibly not the best option for those who have difficulty walking on steep, uneven, and slippery terrain.
Reviewer: J & J
5 Stars
Educating and entertaining
April 25, 2014
Nice small group, the guide was entertaining, full of humor and very knowledgeable
Reviewer: P&C
5 Stars
Who Knew About Bananas?
January 19, 2014
We enjoyed the ride to the banana plantation but we did not see anyone cutting or working with bananas. The hike down the mountain was lovely as the trail was well suited to our level. The guide was a dear!
Reviewer: Lady Belmont
4 Stars
Frogs: Up close and fascinating
December 27, 2013
Guide was excellent and rainforest tour driver brought back frogs and other examples of life in the rainforest for us to view up close.
Reviewer: Mike in A2
4 Stars
A Must Excursion
April 23, 2013
The Costa Rican Coffee was an extra bonus to an already amazing excursion.
Reviewer: Cruises Inc - Sharon Kevins
5 Stars
The High Point of our Cruise
February 04, 2013
The high point of our cruise was this guided tour of the rainforest and the Banana plantation. Best excursion we did
Reviewer: DeAnza John
5 Stars
Great trip!
April 17, 2012
We were meet at the ship ontime. Treated well and shown a great adventure.
Reviewer: Don
5 Stars
Had a great time!
February 27, 2012
We were met at the ship by our guide who was very informative. We both enjoyed the excursion and will recommend it to others. Thank you.
Reviewer: Vi & Tom. seniors
4 Stars