Monkeys, Sloths and Iguanas

could not have asked for a better tour
December 01, 2022
The four of us enjoyed th excursion very much. It was so much better in a small group instead of the larger gro up tours from our cruise ship. The guide was very frendley and informative on everything in the area.
Reviewer: Larry Nice
5 Stars
LOVED!!!!!!
November 23, 2022
This excursion was exactly like it reads. You get to get up close to the Sloth and Monkeys. The guide that walked us thru this was so informed. Then we went to the Iguana Farm, for someone who likes lizards this will be up your alley. I am not a fan of them so this kind of freaked me out. I did feed them but not for long. I would recommend this excursion to anyone.
Reviewer: Debbie Hayes
5 Stars
One of my favorite Tours!
November 16, 2022
We had a great tour of some of the area on our way to the Sloths who were so adorable. We each enjoyed holding them and then the excitement of the monkeys after that! A wonderful place to visit. The Iguana sanctuary was also very interesting. Never would have thought I would hold one! A great day all in all, highly recommend if you love animals.
Reviewer: Kelly Reid
5 Stars
Absolutely Awesome Adventure
August 28, 2022
The staff at the sloth/monkey location was the best! They took the time to explain the pertinent information and gave us plenty of time to explore. The driver was courteous and pointed out interesting things along the way!
Reviewer: Suesan Phillips
5 Stars
Vraiment bien!
July 16, 2022
Nous étions avec un enfant de 6 ans, elle a adoré son expérience. Je recommande!
Reviewer: Lyne Thivierge
5 Stars
Monkey and Iguana Hang Out Fun
June 29, 2022
This was a very fun tour that included a trip to a Monkey and Sloth “Hang Out” run by Daniel Johnson plus a tour of the Iguana sanctuary. There were tourist items at both places plus extremely delicious smoothies at tge Iguana place. We were the first tour in the morning with just my wife and I and our guide was very friendly. With it being an early tour we avoided the crush of tourists which was very nice.Only thing was the taxi was waiting for us for the tour up a steep hill so we had to pay for a taxi to get to it, more than likely because the taxi tour guide was prohibited from picking us up right at the Port. This fun tour is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Reviewer: Charles Steinbower
5 Stars
Monkeys, Sloths and Iguanas
June 14, 2022
My all time favorite excursion. Our guide, Kinsey was great. He took us to a locally owned place for lunch. The sloths were my favorite, I love them. I even got up close & petted an iguana.
Reviewer: Marilyn Hansen
5 Stars
Monkeys, Sloths and Iguanas
April 22, 2022
We had a fun filled day learning about handling several monkeys, a sloth, Scarlet Macaw and Green Iguanas.
Reviewer: Howard Leong
5 Stars
Awesome excursion!
April 17, 2022
We had a great experience. In addition to the advertised destinations, we got a lovely tour of the island and a stop at a chocolate factory. The highlight was definitely being able to hold the sloth. They are adorable and so much fun to hold. The monkeys and macaws were also very entertaining. The iguanas were out in abundance and allowed us to feed and pet them. Our driver, Mr. Conner, was very informative and pleasant. The van was air conditioned and very comfortable. We were able to stop for souvenirs as well. We arrived back to the port with plenty of time to spare so there was no stress about being late to the ship. We highly recommend this tour if you love animals.
Reviewer: Lisa
5 Stars
Monkeys, Sloths, and Iguanas
April 06, 2022
Everything was first rate! Because of time change, ship time, and local time, we showed up for our excursion 2 hrs early! Creg was very accomodating, and got us on our way. We got to all the attractions before the crowds, and holding a sloth was magical! I'm not crazy about reptiles, but the iguanas were fun and interesting. We even got to feed them. The monkeys were fun, too. Roatan was beautiful, and the people very nice. I was concerned about finding the meeting place, but the directions were clear, and it was an easy walk. My excursion was the highlight of my cruise!
Reviewer: Susan Quick
5 Stars
Fabulous experience.
March 31, 2022
We had a wonderful time and learned a lot about the sloths and monkeys. The attractions were clean and the staff was friendly. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. Being able to hold and interact with these animals was amazing.
Reviewer: Suesan Phillips
5 Stars
Monkeys, sloths, iguanas
January 10, 2022
Adolf got us to see the iguanas perching in the sun, eating from our hands, and then the monkeys and sloths were very fun to interact with. We appreciated Adolf showing us the unique things on Roatan. This was a worthwhile tour.
Reviewer: Kathleen
5 Stars
Great scenery, awesome critters!
January 09, 2022
Our driver was waiting for us outside the cruise port exactly where the detailed instructions said he would be. We had a comfortable air-conditioned mini-bus, & our driver gave us informative narration of the island on the way to our first stop at Daniel Johnson's Monkey & Sloth Hangout. This sanctuary is for rescued animals - mostly critters who started as pets until people realized they couldn't handle them. The sloth was adorable, and holding him was a bonus! The energetic capuchin monkeys were fun to feed and interact with, & feeding several types of colorful exotic birds was also interesting. Next stop was Arch's Iguana Reserve, where hundreds of wild iguanas roam freely. Our guide gave interesting info about the iguanas, and other tidbits about the sanctuary. On the way back to the port, we stopped at a local shop for souvenirs and at the top of a hilltop with views of the island, the port and our ship. Overall a great day in Roatan that we enjoyed very much.
Reviewer: Beth
5 Stars
Just the best!
December 16, 2021
Watson was our tour guide and he was fun and full of information. He took us all around the island and showed us the very best that Roatan had to offer. The Rum experience and the Chocolate Factory were fun tourist things. The very best was the visit to the two wildlife sanctuaries. The iguanas were fun to feed and the sloth was an interesting little guy to hold. Monkeys and birds on our heads rounded out the in-person visit with these animals. Had a great time and would recommend this trip to everyone.
Reviewer: Marci Bork
5 Stars
Just the best!
December 01, 2021
What can I say.. Our tour guide, Watson, really showed us the island and gave us a grand experience. We started with the sloths and monkeys and went to see the iguanas. Getting to see the native wildlife up close and personal was so enjoyable. Watson took us to the chocolate experience where we stocked up on the delicious chocolate made right there. We then went to the Rum experience where we sampled some rum and rum cakes and made sure to pick some up for our trip home. Overall, I highly recommend this excursion for it's fun on the island experience.
Reviewer: Marci Bork
5 Stars
Beyond Expectation
November 25, 2021
Driver met us outside gate as described and from there we got a personal tour of the island as well as the normal shore excursion. Our driver was beyond friendly and helpful and we felt completely at ease with him. Highly recommend. If you want to get away from the more crowded there and back cruise ship excursion which has several people in them, this is the one to take!
Reviewer: Ron King
5 Stars
Best tour deal on our cruise
March 17, 2020
Our tour included AJ's sloth park as well as the iguana preserve. Our driver Kislin Dilbert did an excellent commentary as we drove to the park, telling us all about the island and Honduras. The monkeys are delightful, running from person to person, dropping on your head, eating the grapes. The staff knows how to get them to perform! I had never seen sloths, and that was quite an education. And the macaws were fun as well, perched on your head! I also learned iguanas love bananas ... I'll have to remember that next time I encounter them at my cousin's house in Florida. This was the least expensive, most fun tour on our week-long NCL cruise.
Reviewer: Jeff
5 Stars
Love the Sloths
February 12, 2020
We really had a good time with the sloths and the monkeys. Unfortunately it was a rainy day and we didn't get to enjoy the iguanas. They were up in the trees.
Reviewer: Gaynell Dreher
4 Stars
Wonderful Experience
January 24, 2020
If you love nature, this is a great experience. Our driver had a keen sense of how busy the areas were and made the most of our time. We got to the Monkey/Sloth sanctuary first but he knew from the amount of traffic there that we'd be in for a longer wait if we started there, so he brought us to see the Iguanas first and it wasn't that busy there so we had a great experience and then went back to the Monkey/Sloth place and most of the traffic was gone so we got in there pretty quickly. When we were done he asked if there was anywhere else we'd like for him to take us. I would've taken him up on the offer but the other people in the vehicle wanted to go back to the ship, so we were back with tonnes of time to spare. In fact, probably would have had time to check out a nearby beach. Maybe next time!
Reviewer: Justus Smith
5 Stars
Fantastic adventure
January 22, 2020
We truly enjoyed visiting with the monkeys and sloth. Our guide was informative and funny. Holding the sloth felt magical! This is a must do for anyone who loves sloths even half as much as me!
Reviewer: Cindy
5 Stars
Adorable and Affordable!
December 31, 2019
This tour was the highlight of our W. Caribbean cruise. You get to interact with iguans, sloths, monkeys, and macaws. The animals are lovingly tended to in this santuary. This tour is a must-do in Roratan!
Reviewer: Cynthia Ferrell
5 Stars
Sharon and the tour were excellent!!
December 26, 2019
After debarking the cruise ship, we followed the simple directions provided on the electronic ticket. We quickly and easily found our tour group. Sharon was our tour guide and the four of us had a personal van and tour with him for the day! We did not expect that so it was a pleasant surprise! Sharon was very sweet and knowledgeable about everything. He also answered any questions we had with ease. This tour allowed us to see much more than monkeys, sloths and iguanas which was amazing. We enjoyed every minute of this tour and highly recommend it!!
Reviewer: Hannah
5 Stars
Stress free
December 02, 2019
Excellent excursion stress free. Our driver Deri took great care of us. He also recommended us which Park to go first as he knew the busy times, and he was correct. We went to the iguanas first; the park has over 2000 iguanas roaming around, we were able to touch, carry and feed them, very knowledgeable staff. By the time we did the monkey park, the animals were tired, do the interaction was less, but had some good photo ops. After we were done with the parks, he took us sight seen and then we asked for a place to eat and took us to a restaurant, all while having a nice and pleasant conversation and giving us details of the island. He kept track of time and had us back at the Port with a little over an hour to spare.
Reviewer: Luis Jimenez
5 Stars
Monkeys, Sloths and Iguanas
November 28, 2019
This was great. love the interaction with the animals. As well the tour guides with awesome. there was a group of 7 of us and after our initial tour. These gentlemen took us around the island or any where we may have wanted to go. We ask about the getting some local fruit and they drove around to get us some. Took us to a restaurant with local dishes. One of the guides was with us the whole time. Made sure we knew where we were going but also to make sure we were safe. I would highly recommend this tour. I really can not say enough about our tour guides.
Reviewer: Michelle Stevens
5 Stars
No iguanas, but still a great tour
September 24, 2019
The tour started out by taking a bus ride around the island. We stopped at a gas station to use the restrooms before we started and our guide recommended local beers for us to try (had to purchase) and we got to drink them on the tour bus as we learned the culture of the island. We did not stop at the iguana farm, (not sure why it was not included) but after the bus tour we ended up at the animal sanctuary where we got to hold parrots, monkeys and a sloth. After that we had the option of purchasing lunch/drinks at the restaurant next door. The people were VERY friendly and our guide was very knowledgeable. It was a great experience I will never forget!
Reviewer: Lauren
5 Stars