Roatan VIP Free Style Private Tour

Excellent day in Roatan
August 28, 2022
We had a wonderful personal driver who gave great ideas! In our day in Roatan we cuddles monkeys and sloths, went snorkeling in an AMAZING reef that rivaled what we saw in Australia, had a delicious local seafood lunch and visited an iguana farm. Great day!
Reviewer: M. Gleason
5 Stars
The best tour
May 31, 2022
Thanks to Franklin Hynes our local private guide! We were 3 (my mum, my husband and I) and he drove us where we wanted to go : at the Chocolate Factory, the Rum cake factory and at the Jungle top Adventures zipline!! It was an amazing day! We saw sloths, monkeys and parrots there and we’ve had a beautiful view on the sea and the cruise ships when we did zipline! 🤩 and it’s not far from the port! So it’s good to end the tour here! 😄 It was very cool to have a car only for us… we could take our time to take pictures, buy souvenirs… thank you for all Franklin! Very helpful and friendly 😄 Hello from Tahiti, French Polynesia 🇵🇫
Reviewer: Tehani Ng Pao - Amaru
5 Stars
Awesome Tour
April 06, 2022
We had a fabulous day! We had to leave the pier area and walk outside the gates down a small hill. It wasn't much trouble for us but a little difficult for grandparents that don't walk well. Our tour guide, Derrick, was great! He was very personable and my 6yo son took to him! First he took us to the sloths and monkeys and waited an hour or so for us to visit with the animals. He drove us around the island and we stopped at the chocolate & rum factories. Then he took us for a local lunch & a place to do a little shopping. We ended the day with him taking us to a place to take pictures and he took several pictures of our family. I can't say enough good things about this tour!
Reviewer: Cali Harper
5 Stars
Unforgettable experience!
December 31, 2021
We had the pleasure of having Wilson take us on a complete tour of his homeland. We (family of 5) enjoyed every minute! We learned about the culture, history, villages, etc. It was agree upon that this was our favorite excursion - and it was all because of Wilson! If you go ask for him and you will be sure to have an unforgettable experience!!!
Reviewer: Tricia Perry
5 Stars
wonderful experience.
December 05, 2021
We loved having a local drive us where ever we wished to go on the island. We were able to visit a chcolate factory, do rum tasting, spend time with sloths, monkies and a parrot and head to a beach where we could relax, swim and eat some great local food. The driver was very attentive and made us feel safe and protected.
Reviewer: Cindy Holmstrom
5 Stars
Personal Tour!
October 18, 2021
Adolf was a fantastic travel guide and we enjoyed spending the day with him learning about all the different cultures and historical sights of Roatan! We loved visiting the monkeys and sloths and that was an experience you do not want to miss. So much fun and intrigue. Our favorite part was snorkeling the 2nd largest barrier reef in the world. Christian and Owlen were fantastic and made it a lot of fun! Christian helped me go underwater deeper and it was absolutely beautiful and unforgettable to see the underworld beneath us! We saw beautiful fish, purple schools of fish and sting rays! We also did the glass bottom boat. That was our least favorite. Snorkeling trumped it all! We even fit in visiting the chocolate factory which was very yummy. Adolf went above and beyond and helped us get a good deal on a carry on suitcase and some drinking water to go back on ship. All in all we saw and did much and it was well worth it! I recommend Adolf! He is wonderful😁
Reviewer: April G. Scott Davis
5 Stars
Great Tour!!
February 20, 2020
You can't beat this tour for the price and I had the best driver...Franklin. Franklin was very knowledgeable about the island and the local people. He was very kind and had a great sense of humor. He ask me what I wanted to see and quickly talk through several different options with me. I knew I wanted to see the sloths and the monkeys, get some lunch, swim in the ocean, and find some real crafters. We did all of that and I had an amazing day. Next time I come back I would definitely book this tour again!! And ask for Franklin.
Reviewer: Wendy Kimball
5 Stars
Awesome Private Tour
January 16, 2020
Winston was our tour guide around Roatan and he was excellent. He took us wherever we wanted to go and showed us the great beauty of that island. Pay the extra money to take a private tour!!!!
Reviewer: Joel Grogan
5 Stars
Best ever Tour!
January 13, 2020
Franklin Dilbert met me just outside the port. He was very polite and knowledgeable about the island since he had grown up there. He asked what I wanted to see, and did a super job of getting me around the island to the monkeys/sloths, Garifuna village, the chocolate factory, the rum cake factory, and everything in between! He was most accommodating about stopping in perfect places for pictures. This was a great tour for an overview of Roatan and Franklin was the perfect tour guide! I highly recommend this tour!
Reviewer: Beverly Simpson
5 Stars
Roatan VIP Tour
January 07, 2020
Wilson was an excellent tour guide and personalized the tour so that we could see all the things we wanted to see in a limited amount of time. He had a lot of knowledge of the island and was very personable. Thank you for a fantastic tour!
Reviewer: Victoria Tobin
5 Stars
Roatan Henry Tours Creg
September 25, 2019
Our tour guide Harly Bennett was an excellent tour Guide. He started off the tour by telling us all the hot Spots on the island to see and then we chose the ones we wanted to go to. We went to the Monkey and Sloth farm. Then we went to the Rum Factory followed up by the a visit to the Cocoa factory. We thoroughly enjoyed this excursion. I would highly recommend asking for Harly Bennett to be your tour guide on this excursion.
Reviewer: Annie Otto
5 Stars
Private Swim area
August 26, 2019
We had a great private tour around Roatan on August 19, 2019. We asked to go to a private beach to do some snorkeling after our driving tour. We ate some food at the Sunset Hide Away Bar at this beach. I charged the food however on my cc statement I was charged twice and the 2nd charge was close to $100. I think people and guides should be made aware of this fraud by the restaurant.
Reviewer: Carol Sari
4 Stars
VIP Private Tour
March 21, 2019
The driver was new...he had been working only a few months. I had researched other people's comments before the trip, so we asked to go to certain places and he gladly showed us those areas. He also answered lots of questions to help us understand the culture. We enjoyed the tour very much.
Reviewer: Jill James Calhoun
5 Stars
Great way to see Local Culture
March 04, 2019
Shorn was very accommodating. Took us to see many points of interest with a wealth of knowledge of his island. Drove safely and stopped whenever we asked him to. We asked him to take us to his favorite lunch spot and where locals go so we can have local dishes to eat. It was just what we were looking for, very good food there. We felt we were in good hands the entire time with Shorn. We had a great time seeing the island with him.
Reviewer: Deanna Hiller
5 Stars
Excellent Guide with Good Character
January 26, 2019
I booked a private tour and was met by Harley outside the port. Harley drove us around the island, pointing out places of interest and took us to the monkey/sloth preserve. Unfortunately, the spider monkeys are territorial and there was an incident where my father was grabbed by the monkeys and injured. Harley was right there and quickly got his car. He returned us to our ship and I asked if he would return in about 90minutes. I kind of didn’t expect him to return but he did and came right on time. His explanation left no doubt that he returned because of his strong moral compass and good character. He had no expectation of earning more money. We loved having Harley as our driver. He answered our questions about the history of the island. Harley was the perfect guide for us. He is an excellent reflection of the kind of people that I assume are on Roatan.
Reviewer: Nancy Taylor
5 Stars
Great tour!
December 24, 2018
Roatan was our favorite port and we really enjoyed our private tour and local guide, Shorn Rich. We opted to simply tour the island versus an excursion. We had the opportunity to see and learn about the island and the people who live there from a local which was very special. Shorn was wonderful and stopped where we asked, we did a little shopping and got some great photos in addition to learning the history of the island. Shorn was great and we highly recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Tarryl Trimm
5 Stars
On your own private tour
December 22, 2018
We had a wonderful experience with our guide. He was on time, polite, showed us things we were not aware of. And took us to the places we knew we wanted to see. His driving was great and his English was great. All in all it was a great experience. Regina,Canada
Reviewer: Ruth and Larry Lechner
5 Stars
Loved it!
August 30, 2018
Roatan was definitely my favorite stop. The driver was great, very informative and responsible. My 8yr old son and I had a blast going on the ATV jugle tour! The guys were so great definitely recommend it! After we headed to Little French key! It’s just an absolute stunning place! I would recommend to stay all day!
Reviewer: Yosselyn Martinez
5 Stars
Great Trip
August 20, 2018
The vehicle was clean and in good condition and the driver, Shem, was excellent. He was very knowledgeable and took us all over the island. We got to see a lot of the island and spend a couple hours on a beach. It was a great way to experience Roatan for the first time.
Reviewer: Matt
5 Stars
We held SLOTHS
August 13, 2018
Ok so we had 6 of us in our group so it was nice to have a guide to ourselves. We asked him for recommendations of what to do. He named a few things so we did the Monkey and Sloth Sanctuary and it was so wonderful! Holding a sloth is a MUST. We drove and saw some local vendors and ended up deciding to go to Sol y Mar Beach Club. That was not the best. The scenery is gorgeous but the items there are overpriced. We got stung by baby jellyfish and the water was not clear. Wish we would have gone to a nicer beach, but we had a good day in Roatan. Just don't pick Sol y Mar Beach Club.
Reviewer: Kris Slocum
5 Stars
Great option
July 30, 2018
Darrell was a great tour guide. We wanted to visit the money/sloth park and a short snorkeling trip. And he made it happen. Great fun and time for a stop at the rum cake store. We got to stop and take pictures at the Roatan sign and got pictures of our ship. All 9 of us had a great time.
Reviewer: D.G.
5 Stars
Great island tour
May 29, 2018
We had a very enjoyable island tour with our guide and driver, Carol. He explained aspects of the island as we went along. He made stops at a rum cake factory, a chocolate factory and at the monkey and sloth exhibit. A lighlight of my visit was being able to hold a sloth. Carol was eager to go as long as we wanted or to do whatever we wanted to enjoy the day. I knew we would have an enjoyable excursion through Costco as I knew they would Vet the companies they use.
Reviewer: Bob Lehman
5 Stars
Excellent tour!
April 23, 2018
This tour was perfect for us. We knew we wanted to go snorkeling, but didn't know what else to do. Our tour guide Kevin Dilbert made suggestions and we ended up seeing the sloth/monkey sanctuary and iguana sanctuary. He took us to the Garifuna Festival April 12th, marking the 200th year anniversary of the first Garifuna people reaching Central America. He then took us to Christopher's Cafe to enjoy an authentic Honduras lunch and relaxation, followed by an awesome snorkeling adventure. Kevin was very informative and friendly, and made this the best excursion on our cruise.
Reviewer: Leslie Karisch
5 Stars
Review of Roatan VIP Free Style Private Tour
April 02, 2018
Our tour of Roatan was great and our guide was very personable and friendly. We had a very nice four-hour tour with him and found the island to be beautiful. This tour was very much worth the price. We would definitely use Shore Excursions Group again.
Reviewer: Richard Branecky
4 Stars
Amazing experience
March 15, 2018
A varied group who all got to see and do things that they wanted in the time allotted. JB was knowledgable, was thrown many queries which he responded to with confidence. The group split up as not all wanted to go to the beach but we all came away feeling like this was a worthwhile excursion. Holding a three toed sloth was the highlight of my trip. Thanks for looking after us guys.
Reviewer: Theresa
5 Stars
A Perfect Tour!
March 12, 2018
Just my wife and I, and our tour guide, Kembron Dilbert, who kept us totally informed and took great care of us the whole time. While we weren't riding in anything fancy, his vehicle got us to where we wanted to go and back. First a tour of Roatan, while some places were nice, we also saw the poorer side of the city. A side stop at a souvenir shop, and then to a private beach. The beach was an extra $15 per person, but worth it. Included beach chairs, nice facilities and beautiful sand. Mostly though, no one trying to sell you anything! Finally he brought us to a restaurant for lunch. Authentic food from the area. Wish I could recall the name. They had Iguana on the menu, though I heard it was very bony. We had sandwiches, mine with lobster, hers shrimp, and the spices they used were amazing. Would love to taste that again Kembron stayed close enough to us in case we needed anything, yet far enough away that we didn't feel like someone was spying one us! Great job Kembron!
Reviewer: Harry Kopy
5 Stars
Best tour in Roatan!
January 26, 2018
We went on a tour with Sean. We loved that he showed us all the "touristy" things to do on the island, as well as local secrets. I felt like we got experience both sides of Roatan! Sean accommodated all of our requests. We went to the monkey and sloth exhibit-- which was one of the highlights of our whole cruise! Can't recommend this enough! Sean made the tour amazing!
Reviewer: Ciara Southward
5 Stars
Great Tour
December 27, 2017
This tour was great. We were able to put in our requests and get what we wanted out of the tour. Our guide Sean was amazing. He answered all of our questions and made the tour fun. I would highly recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Cassidi Jepson
5 Stars
Private Tour
December 25, 2017
This was the best tour!! Highly recommend it! Our tour guide was Shawn--he's incredible. We had a group of 10 people. He was right there waiting for us when we got off the ship. Shawn is native to the island and answered all the questions we had. This was a private tour with just our group. How nice is that!?! He drove us around the island-with air conditioning going (it was hot)-showing us so many fun things about Roatan. We loved learning about the people and seeing this beautiful place. Highlight was holding a sloth and monkey!
Reviewer: Lori Moosman
5 Stars
Awesome day in Roatan
December 11, 2017
We book this private tour during our stay in Roatan It was awesome creg take us all over the island and make Us feel like home we also did the monkey park and sloth hangout this was the highlight of our tour we get to hold them take pictures with the we highly recommend this excursion
Reviewer: Jose
5 Stars
Private Tour
May 24, 2017
We elected to do a private tour around Roatan. Our driver was excellent and had lots of information and answers to all our questions. We spent about 2 hours with him and felt it was well worth the price. I would recommend this option to anyone who wants to see the city and countryside.
Reviewer: Lon S Pyeatt
5 Stars
Best guide ever - Franklin
May 19, 2017
In Roatan, we did a private island tour. Franklin Hyns was our guide and he asked us what we might want to see on our tour. Mom has mobility challenges so we said local culture, local flavor, island sites. Culture appeals to mom. He told us about the flora and fauna, industry. We stopped at a cashew tree and talked about how it grew, how they used it. We ate some of the fruit of the cashew. We saw the lighthouse, a shipwreck, a chocolate factory, a beautiful beach. He took us to an open air restaurant where locals went and we ate iguana, whole fish and shrimp. We passed his mom and he pulled over and introduced us. Franklin was very solicitous to mom and helped her get around. All in all it was a great day and very easy for my mom to get around. Five stars for Franklin, best guide ever.
Reviewer: Cathy
5 Stars
Great Tour
April 18, 2017
Our tour guide was very informative and very eager to help in anyway to make our tour fun and interesting. He asked where or what we wanted to see and took us to some very good places to see and experience the local culture.
Reviewer: Catherine Shifflett
5 Stars
Great tour of Roatan
February 15, 2017
We were a group of four adults visiting Roatan for the first time. We were more interested in history and culture than in Zip Lines and shopping, so we booked this free style private tour. Shawn, our driver and guide, began by planning the day with us. He was born on the island and spoke English as his first language. After learning about our interests and priorities, he added some things to include, and we were on our way. He clearly loves his island and enjoyed sharing it with us. He told us about the cultures and languages of Roatan, and the history of how they came to be there. Our questions were answered… comfort stops were provided…and great photo opportunities were a priorty. After lunch and additional touring, we still wanted more. Shawn had no problem extending our time together. When all was done, we came away with a real connection to Roatan.
Reviewer: Barbara
5 Stars
Tour
February 08, 2017
We loved this tour. It was a hot day and the air conditioned vehicle allowed us to see the island in comfort, ask questions, and see all parts of the island. Creg was great.
Reviewer: Nancy
5 Stars
Very well done
January 22, 2017
Of course we knew nothing about Roatan when we docked in the morning. But our guide made us feel like a local by the time we were done!
Reviewer: Stuart Allen
5 Stars
Perfect !!!
January 20, 2017
I couldn't have selected a better tour or package. The price was good, it was private for our family of six. the van they use was clean with air condition and the driver/tour guide was very nice. He took us to the placed we wanted, made good recommendations and was very nice. I highly recommend it.
Reviewer: Erick
5 Stars
Excellent way to see the island
January 19, 2017
It started off rocky with our car running a little late and with a small 4 door for 2 very tall (and two elderly) people. They quickly swapped up to an SUV and we were off. Our local driver was very knowledgeable about the island and was willing to stop where ever we wanted. He also helped with money transactions with local merchants. The two highlights....driving along the beach and eating the local specialty!
Reviewer: Dana & Jeff Jacobs
5 Stars
Great way to see Roatan!
December 29, 2016
We had a group of 6 and the last thing we wanted to do was get on a big bus with 40 other people. We wanted to go snorkeling on the reef, hang out on a beautiful beach, have a great lunch and play with some monkeys. We did all of that and more - excellent tour!
Reviewer: Lisa Holden
5 Stars
Roatan VIP Free Style Private Tour
December 20, 2016
My wife and I enjoyed the VIP Private Tour in Roatan during November. It was easy to find our driver after getting off the ship, just as the instructions indicated. My wife had recently been in the hospital, so we were not up to our usual adventourous style. Our Driver, Kevin told us we could go anywhere we pleased and he would wait (horseback riding, beach, shopping, etc. We told him we just wanted to tour the island so he took us everywhere and we learned a lot about Roatan and it's people. The airconditioned car was perfect, as it was a hot day. We saw all the sights, stopped and got a Diet Coke, went through a new rental house, and concluded with a nice seafood dinner at a local restaurant far from the crowds. After about 4-5 hours he got us back to the ship with plenty of time to spare. This was a very good option and we recommend it highly.
Reviewer: Alvin Dickson
5 Stars
excellent excursion
December 15, 2016
I was so glad we pre-booked this excursion in Roatan. Our driver took us around the entire island pointing out interesting sites. He answered all our questions. He took us to two specific sites that we wanted to spend time at and still got us back in time. I would definitely recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Sha
5 Stars
Drive around Roatan
December 04, 2016
We truly enjoyed this excursion (in an air conditioned vehicle) as it was an extremely hot & humid that day. Our driver/guide took us where ever we wanted which we only had 2 requests; the monkey's and lunch at a place he would eat at. Our driver was young & born/raised on the island. He gave us all the history & drove us everywhere. Very interesting to get out, past the port. Last thing was having lunch and he got us to try iguana (tastes like chicken) but very boney. I even had a banana soda recommended by our server. Do be prepared to tip the driver though. Last note is we love visiting places along with seeing & learning their history. Some who took this excursion thought it to be boring-not sure what company they were with but they must be unusual in character as we were even offered zip lining.
Reviewer: Debbe Timler
5 Stars
Great Tour
August 18, 2016
This tour was private as stated and we had an excellent guide that took us all over the island and gave us a great deal of history. Would recommend this tour to anyone.
Reviewer: sd
5 Stars
better than advertised
May 25, 2016
This was a private tour, so the driver took us wherever we wanted to go. We are considering retiring there and wanted to see parts of the island that regular tours would never to.
Reviewer: dbaker in maine
5 Stars
Best Guide Ever
April 29, 2016
Brandon was a Great guide he took us wherever we wanted to go
Reviewer: Rdnsharon
5 Stars
Good time. Recommend.
March 20, 2016
Would recommend due to optional choices.
Reviewer: Iowa girl
4 Stars
I would purchase this trip again.
March 02, 2016
We were the only couple on the ship that was blessed to have found this land excursion outside of the normal...get off the ship and shop trip. It was a ""bucket list"" memory.
Reviewer: Gram
5 Stars