Scenic Soufriere Tour

Soufriere Tour
November 13, 2019
A great experience. There were only 4 people on the tour and our guide made it a very personal tour with many stops at local points of interest going out of his way to make sure we sampled local products and experiences. The views of the Pitons was awesome as was the visit into the volcano caldera and the sulfur pits. The visit to the waterfall and opportunity for pictures there was a bit of a disappointment. Very small pool and little room to swim and enjoy. I would rate that part of the tour only a 2, maybe a 3 if you are into having some water hitting you on the head in a waist deep artificial pool. The guide should receive 6 stars for his efforts.
Reviewer: Larry
5 Stars
Very good value
October 25, 2019
Very informative. Guide was excellent.
Reviewer: Arwood Mannisto
5 Stars
Beautiful island
August 18, 2019
We really enjoyed this tour of the island, seeing many of the key sights. Our driver/tour guide was knowledgeable about the island and shared lots of great info. Long day but worth the trip.
Reviewer: Shari Foreht
5 Stars
St lucia
May 15, 2019
Nice tour but a bit too long.
Reviewer: ghislaine martin
4 Stars
Very professional
April 05, 2019
This was one of the Best tours ever. Our driver and guide Jason, was excellent. He was very knowledgeable about his home island and made the day very enjoyable. I would highly recommend this tour and be sure to ask for Jason
Reviewer: Pamela Zogby
5 Stars
What A Value
March 10, 2019
Put the ships excursions to shame....
Reviewer: Rich
5 Stars
Soufriere Tour
January 11, 2019
This was a long tour to see volcano sulfur pools and a wee water fall. The driver was informative and the trip was uneventful.
Reviewer: Robert B Berg
3 Stars
Nice tour
November 26, 2018
This was a tour in a small van with only one other couple. This was also probably the most scenic of all the island tours. Enjoyed the sulfur springs, a small waterfall, and beautiful views of the pitons (iconic St. Lucia). Our tour guide even gave us fresh bread stuffed with hot cheese for the return trip. It was delicious.
Reviewer: Phil Adams
5 Stars
Best excursion ever.
October 05, 2018
This was by far the best day ever spent touring. Our guide Shal was awesome. Name may not be spelled correctly. We got to see about as much stuff as you can pack into one day. I would definitely purchase this excursion again and recommend it to anyone that wants to get to know the island and have fun doing it.
Reviewer: Marilyn Brooks
5 Stars
Excellent Experience
September 10, 2018
Our tour guide was Elias. He was such a pleasure to be around and was very knowledgeable. There was lots to see on the tour and the trip to the mud baths and the waterfall were awesome! He had cool drinks for us in the car whenever we wanted (including beer) and provided freshly picked bananas and warm bread with cheese for us to eat. Definitely recommended.
Reviewer: SM
5 Stars
Volcano/Waterfall Tour
August 27, 2018
Shal was an amazing tour guide! We learned so much from him. Very friendly. The company had told us to meet at the cruise ship pier, but Shal would have actually picked us up. After the chaos, he drove us to the volcano, took pictures of us, and gave us lots of advice. We turned out to be the only two on the trip. He would stop to see some of his friends and let us try fresh mangos, bananas, and a wonderful cheesy bread. He did way more than expected and went above and beyond. There is not a better choice than Shal. He even offered to stop for us at the Rum Distillery, but we were out of cash and tired. Stopped at many view points and let us take pictures. Very knowledgable! So thankful we had him as our guide. 10 stars just for Shal if I could.
Reviewer: Savanna O.
5 Stars
Our tour guide Shal was the BEST!
July 23, 2018
Absolutely wonderful tour! We cannot imagine having anyone other than Shal as our tour guide! He took us to places where tourist buses would never venture to and we loved every minute of it. We ate local foods, tasted every possible beverage available on the island, ate fresh bananas and mangos, roadside barbecue, stopped at the rum factory, climbed, hiked, walked, laughed and had an unforgettable day. On top of it all, he stopped at town to pick up the most delicious bread and cheese for us to enjoy! We highly recommend this tour and Shal!
Reviewer: Espi and Jesus Melian
5 Stars
Scenic Soufriere Tour
July 23, 2018
Our tour guide Shal was excellent. It was just my husband and I booked for the day our ship was in port so we had an unexpected private tour with him. He stopped at several locations on our way to and from the volcano/waterfall for pictures and local goods (bananas, bread, cheese). He knew people at every stop, and was very informative and friendly. Only downfall was the long amount of time spent in the car, driving on winding roads. Also people trying to hassle you and sell you their stuff at almost every stop. Overall we definitely enjoyed getting to see beautiful St. Lucia on this tour.
Reviewer: Jaime & Phil
4 Stars
Fun full day!, but no lunch
June 11, 2018
What a great day this was! St. Lucia was our favorite. A van picks you up, for at least a half hour drive up the mountain to the volcano, pointing out highlights/stopping for pics/shopping. People surround and pester you constantly to buy their product, before you even get a chance to look at it. Our tour guide was great though! Funny, and he kept stopping to buy us either a banana, or piece of bread. Drinks were included in van too. But no lunch! This was a very full day, so not to have lunch was a let down. Banana plantation was amazing! Best bananas ever. Volcano=awesome! but mud bath advertised was never offered. Waterfall is awesome-water was so refreshing! But felt like we were pressured to not spend a lot of time there. Great excursion!
Reviewer: Paula Moore
4 Stars
Super Tour
May 27, 2018
Shal is the best. He was accommodating, took us to some great spots, and provided great snacks and drinks! He was a fun guide! Recommend him highly!
Reviewer: Susan Housholder
5 Stars
Scenic Soufriere Tour
April 16, 2018
Excellent tour. Small group, personal attention from our guide. He was very knowledgeable about his island from traffic control to volcanos, to waterfalls to banana plantations. We stopped for bananas, and for some delicious cheese bread. We talked about the bread making. Every stop he knew people who were very friendly and welcoming. This tour covered most of the islands and we felt we learned a lot and had fun doing it.
Reviewer: Erin Apostol
5 Stars
Scenic Tour
April 16, 2018
Enjoyed every minute of the excursion...Our tour guide was excellent , very informational. Would do it again
Reviewer: Francis Battisti
5 Stars
Outstanding tour
March 22, 2018
This is one of the best shore tours we've ever taken. The major attraction was the mud baths but in between, the stops at the waterfall, scenic overlooks, markets, banana plantation, etc. gave us a true taste of life on the island. The tour operators were friendly, entertaining, knowledgeable and professional......much better and more complete than the tour offered by the cruise line.....local food, local beer and refreshments included.....would highly recommend......
Reviewer: Robert Timpson
5 Stars
Wonderful Tour Guides very informative
March 20, 2018
We had Shal as one of our tour guides. They knew so much history and so many stories. Also showed us the plentiful fruits and nuts grown, cocoa, cashews, almonds plus more that wasn't mentioned on the tour. Plentiful drinks were provided, and the bakery snack was delicious. If/when I come back, I will be requesting these guides again
Reviewer: Kris
5 Stars
Tour highlights St. Lucia's unique geography
March 05, 2018
Shal, our driver/guide made this trip worthwhile. He really knew about the vegetation and fruits of St. Lucia. It was a long ride to the Soufriere, Shal stopped along the way and had us sample coconut, local breads, bananas and showed us all the various fruits grown in St. Lucia and how a banana tree grows. He had a cooler on board the van with water, beer and rum punch. He told us about the formation of the Pitons and we had our photo taken with the Pitons framing us in the background. We had a chance to visit the sulphur pools of the Soufriere, but we opted not to do the mud bath as it was raining. We also went to one of the waterfalls and had a chance to go into the bracing fresh water with changing facilities afterwards. The only negative is that we travelled through the rainforest, which of course always has intermittent rain, rather than visiting the more popular north coast to see if St. Lucia is a place that we would like to return to for a week's stay.
Reviewer: Susan Riseley
4 Stars
Great day
January 23, 2018
Francis was waiting for us at the pier.There was only the four of us in a mini van. Scenic road, if you suffer from motion sickness make sure you take your medication. Small road with a lot of curves. It takes a good 1h30 to reach the Volcano and the mud bath. Once there, it can be busy. You don’t stay up there long but it is the same for all the groups. Francis made some stops at little boots on the side of the roads that sells souvenirs. On the way back, took us to a small village where he had bread cook for us with cheese Inside. Short stop at a local beach. Great photo stops (pitons,bay,etc). Francis was a good driver and he brought for us his homemade rhumpunch,beer, water ,soft drink,. We appreciate to be just the 4 of us with Francis. Would do it again.Highly recommend.
Reviewer: Ginette Lefebvre
5 Stars
St. Lucia
January 18, 2018
Felt very satisfied with this excursion with an excellent guide and coverage of St. Lucia. It was good value for money and we came away with a very favourable opinion of the island.
Reviewer: Jan Stuckings
5 Stars
Review
December 11, 2017
Hello, We thoroughly enjoyed our St. Lucia Soufriere Tour. We liked the fact that there were only 4 of us on the tour. Our driver, Francis, was excellent. He made sure that we saw everything that was included in the tour description and provided lots of local information and color. The taxi was comfortable and Francis provided us with rum punch & beer. It was the best day of our cruise. We would definitely book through Shore Excursions Group again based on this tour. We are planning an Alaska cruise in June 2018 and I have already looked into what you are offering.
Reviewer: Joanne May
5 Stars
Beautiful Island
November 23, 2017
This was a nice overview of the island with very nice stops at a waterfall and inside the volcano. Lots of driving on beautiful mountain roads, but we would have appreciated a few more stops.
Reviewer: Kathie Michels
4 Stars
scenic soufriere tour
May 03, 2017
good tour small amount of people good tour guide
Reviewer: kirk heathman
5 Stars
Trip across the island
April 06, 2017
Great driver and host with Disney thrill rides on small curvy roads. The ride to the peaks through small towns gives one a feel for the people and culture. The end of the ride leaves you at spots for great shots of the mountains (lava that pushed the land upwards) and plenty of beverages and local breads. Only issue we had was the back seat which was hard to get in and out of the van, but worth the trip. Try and get the one front seat or the middle seats beside the doors.
Reviewer: Mari-Lee Corwin
4 Stars
Good tour on March 12, 2017
March 25, 2017
I will agree with the reviews below. Fun Disney ride on the small curvy roads with many thrills. Shal was a great host with lots of beverages. Being the youngest couple in a group of 5 we humbly sat in the back seat of the van which we had to climb over other seats. If we had had the door seats it would have been an excellent tour.
Reviewer: Terry Newsom
4 Stars
Great combination Informative & Fun
February 20, 2017
Picked up on time, a few yards from Port, small group, comfortable mini bus. Driver/guide cheerful & friendly. Great tour tried local dishes, fruits, homemade bread still warm, plus beer & rum punch. Spent enough time at the stops to please everyone, and experience the "drive in" volcano
Reviewer: RhondaS
5 Stars
good tour of island
February 19, 2017
Our driver was informative and there was good scenery throughout, but roads were quite winding and it was easy to get a little queasy. I found the mud baths were kind of fun, but those that chose the alternative to that (volcano tour) didn't have great things to say. Snacks were provided, but because it was a Sunday and the regular place was closed, they turned out to be less substantive and occasionally strange flavors.
Reviewer: David Berkey
4 Stars
Great tour
January 13, 2017
Great tour and the tour guide was the best
Reviewer: Eugene Anderson
5 Stars
Tour Operator, Shal was Great!
November 22, 2016
We had a great day with Shal. Our tour ended up being private since 2 others that booked did not show up, so we were able to ""customize"" the tour to our preferences. We sampled local cuisine and fruit. Enjoyed visiting all the stops that were made along the way. I would book with Shal/Jungle Tours and recommend to anyone.
Reviewer: Dianna
5 Stars
Awesome trip!
June 03, 2016
Our tour guide was awesome. He seemed to know most of the people on our stops. We got to try some fruit and other foods on the island. It was long but worth it!
Reviewer: Jennifer
5 Stars
I would go here again.
May 26, 2016
This was a fun tour. It was like giving yourself a mud bath.
Reviewer: Ann
5 Stars
Worth visiting
May 24, 2016
Our tour guy Shal is very nice and professional, he bought us fresh baked butter bread which is so yummy. The trip is wonderful and we enjoyed very much. And there is only the 3 of us on the tour, this is the best shore experience of our 7 day cruise vacation.
Reviewer: Katie
5 Stars
This was a Great tour
April 13, 2016
This was a fantastic tour the driver was extremely knowledgeable . There was no scheduled time for lunch, and my husband is diabetic, so bread and water are not healthy selections. The local plantation fruit was. A great snack, but it was a long day.
Reviewer: Kay
4 Stars
great tour, would definitely recommend
April 04, 2016
The guide was great. The areas we went to were beautiful, especially the waterfall and the volcano. Our group opted out of partaking in the mud baths but the guide took us there to see them. Refreshments were good and generous. We thoroughly enjoyed this tour.
Reviewer: Marian
5 Stars
Good excursion. Guide provided a full day of site
March 26, 2016
Lots of picture opportunities.
Reviewer: None
4 Stars
Interesting and Enjoyable
March 22, 2016
We had a knowledgeable driver who gave us interesting facts about the island of St. Lucia. The tour included stops at the Pitons, the Soufriere mud baths, drive-in volcano, and waterfalls, along with a few other scenic locations. It was an all-day drip and a very enjoyable.
Reviewer: Caribbean Cruiser
4 Stars
Exceptional Tour! The Best Way to see St Lucia
March 14, 2016
I wanted to see St Lucia on a small group excursion and this one delivered! The driver/tour guide was exceptional in his knowledge of St Lucia to include island tour highlights, schedules, routes, etc. The best tour on our 11 day cruise. Thanks!
Reviewer: Rod
5 Stars
Tour a good value
February 14, 2016
Elias, our guide, was outstanding, sharing island culture and language tidbits. We saw the UNESCO Pitons, walked around the volcano while some enjoyed a mud bath in the hot sulfur spring. Lovely people, amazing scenery; altogether a day to remember. Great value.
Reviewer: J
5 Stars
FANTASTIC, THE BEST!
February 11, 2016
Our host/driver was great, we got the best tour of the island. I am a former travel agent and I must stay this was the best tour I have ever been on! So many little stops for goodies, fresh off the tree bananas, fresh baked coconut cinnamon rolls, in the early part of the trip. Free too! I am still in awe of that island and all we saw that day. Later in the trip, our driver stopped in town at this little bakery, we waited on the bus and he came out with HOT OUT OF THE OVEN cheese stuffed bread cones?? SOOO GOOD! No one was hungry when we got back to the ship about 2:30 PM.
Reviewer: Grace
5 Stars
Name says it all. Views were awesome.
February 06, 2016
Tour guide was very informative and views to the Soufriere Mud Baths were awesome. Worth every cent. Don't miss out.
Reviewer: Susan
5 Stars
Really good tour. Wonderful lanscape pics.
February 03, 2016
Many different sights to see. Pitons were probably the highlight. Comfortable air conditioned bus. Many stops to take pics.
Reviewer: Rick
4 Stars
We would do this one again!
February 03, 2016
Great Value, lots of different experiences wrapped up in one excursion. Jungle Tours did a great job. The Pitons were breathtaking. The hot springs were great! Bring a swim suit to enjoy them! I highly recommend Jungle Tours.
Reviewer: Kendra
5 Stars
Fabulous excursion. Great Tour Guide. Beautiful Is
January 20, 2016
This was our favorite excursion of our cruise. We were with Shamil, from Jungle Tours, who was a great tour guide. He was funny, very knowledgeable about the island sharing the local culture and food with us during several stops along the way. He continually offered drinks from the cooler in the back. We loved the Pitons, the scenery, the waterfall, the bubling hot sprinds, and the people. My wife and I were with 3 others in our van and a second larger van went behind us also. I highly recommend Jungle Tours.
Reviewer: Don
5 Stars
Great experience.
December 23, 2015
Enjoyed the volcano tour.
Reviewer: jfc
4 Stars
Best excursion on our trip!
December 17, 2015
The tour was geared to each of the participants needs.
Reviewer: tpatravelers
5 Stars
Best Island Adventure
December 09, 2015
Best island tour of our trip. Variety of activities really made this tour quite enjoyable. A big plus was our tour guide who was knowledgeable and really was there to make sure we all had a great time. Very small group of only 4 people added to the enjoyment. Quite an experience!
Reviewer: Variety! Won't get bored on this tour.
5 Stars
Scenic Soufriere Tour
November 25, 2015
Tour was very good , Guide was nice and very helpful.
Reviewer: scruffy
4 Stars
Fun Fun Fun!!! What an Adventure!
April 14, 2015
St Lucia was amazing! The guides were fun and very informative! I will definitely book a tour with the company again.
Reviewer: Canadian Adventurer
5 Stars
Soufriere Tour
January 07, 2015
We toured in a van with the driver and four others. It was a little difficult getting in and out. We toured the waterfalls, rain forest and the volcano which was bubbling black lava. The driver, Shal, was friendly with everyone. He took pictures of us in front of wherever we were. He had cold drinks. He stopped at many places for us to sightsee or purchase souvenirs. He was very enjoyable.
Reviewer: Peanut
5 Stars
Our tour guide Francis was wonderful.
December 26, 2014
We had several tours in one- Frances made sure to time our arrival to the Pitons when the other tours were in other locations so we had the best pictures opportunities- He treated us to authentic food and drink from the Island. This was my favourite tour of our cruise. I would highly recommend it - it was really fun and packed full of sites to see.
Reviewer: Tom
5 Stars
See Scenic Soufriere
December 05, 2013
see above
Reviewer: Bob and Marge
5 Stars
A wonderful taste and tour of the area
February 07, 2013
We got a true taste and experience of the island. Our guide had us try fresh bananas, coconut, coconut water, sugar cane and mango. We visited the waterfall and volcano, and saw pretty much all of the island. We got to experience much of the culture and local vendors as well as visiting the beach. This was a wonderful varied experience that I highly recommend.
Reviewer: Cruise veteran and a newbie
5 Stars
Off-beat beautiful island tour
July 15, 2012
St. Lucia was probably my most favorite island of the cruise and the tour guide did a great job showing off the island. I enjoyed that this tour's size was small with about 8 guests and that we stopped frequently along the way from the port to Soufriere. There were numerous scenic views, and the tour guide did a great job of introducing us to the local culture and foods. He was amicable and talkative and had the stamina for the 6-hour-long tour of the island. As most other tours were only 3-4 hours long, this tour was a good value.
Reviewer: Matt
5 Stars
The Best Tour of Our Trip
June 20, 2012
We would rate this as one of the best highlights of our trip. It was worth the time and money. Our guide was just wonderful and informative. Through him, we were able to experience not only the sites of the island, but many cultural aspects as well -- meeting local people, eating local foods. We would highly recommend this trip to see the great views of St. Lucia and taste homemade and locally grown food.
Reviewer: Cruise Lover
5 Stars
Excellent Outing, You Will Enjoy It
April 14, 2012
Of all the excursions we took on our cruise, this was clearly a favorite. The scenic drive through local villages and an excellent tour guide offered much to learn about local culture and the way of life for these islanders. Standing at the edge of a volcano smelling the sulfur and hearing and seeing the bubbling mud from the steam rising from within earth was truly a unique experience. Add to that a walk through the botanical garden where beauty is defined and it doesn't get much better. On the way back our guide surprised us with a stop in a village where he bought us a local favorite. While warm bread with melted cheese doesn't sound like much, it was delicious, and it appears every tour operator stops there along the way. The only negative comment is we were a little jealous of our fellow travelers who booked through the cruise line, as they were transported by small mini buses with ample headroom while we were in a somewhat cramped van. Still, the trip was memorable and highly recommended.
Reviewer: Texas John
4 Stars
Best excursion of the cruise!
July 16, 2011
This was the best excursion my wife and I took during our whole 7-day cruise around the Caribbean. The guide, Charles, was a very dynamic and eccentric person who was determined to make sure our group had a great time. He took us around what seemed like the entire island, and stopped at scenic viewpoints so we could take photos. Charles apparently knows everyone on St. Lucia, so we were able to get a ton of freebies along the way, such as cassava bread, tropical fruits, bananas at the banana plantation, etc. He also stopped at the mud baths -- which wasn't in the tour itinerary -- and let anyone off who wanted to try it out. There was a whole expensive excursion just for the mud baths, so having it included along with everything else is quite the deal! We then drove a short distance to the mineral springs and got to hang out for a little bit. On the drive back to the ship, we were starting to get sleepy, so to liven things up, he stopped at a local bar and bought everyone drinks. The only downside to this trip is that because Charles knows everyone and is an eccentric person, he stopped a couple times along the way and got out to say hi to his buddies...while we were all sitting in the van. Other than that, we had a fantastic time and highly, highly recommend this tour!
Reviewer: Em
5 Stars
Gorgeous scenery
July 03, 2011
The scenery and drive were spectacular. However, if you don't like roller coasters, this might not be for you. It was figure 8's, up and down, on roads next to cliffs, and the driver drove very fast. So, it was like a roller coaster for 7 hours for me. My husband loved it though. The best part was the volcanic mud baths, where everyone bathed in the mud,that is supposed to make you look 20 years younger. It was a neat experience. The people on St. Lucia were really kind, and very nice. Our van driver was polite, but did not say much on the whole trip. We would have liked to have heard more stories. However, we got to see parts of St. Lucia that the average person on a cruise would not see, and they were beautiful.
Reviewer: Susie
4 Stars
Soufriere Tour was Amazing
June 09, 2011
The tour guide was wonderful and professional He was an expert on the area and shared comments that only a local would know. We loved it!
Reviewer: Bama
5 Stars
Amazing!!!!!!!
May 21, 2011
My 8 year daugther and I went on this tour. It was nice because it wasn't too crowded, it was us and about 7 other people. So that was great. She wasn't too excited about it. So if you have a younger child they maybe won't like it. I enjoyed it, a lot. I took my cruise just to go to St. Lucia which was breathe taking. You see the whole island. The only con was it had rained the night before and that morning so the water wasn't as blue as you would have thought and the waterfall had rocks coming down with the water, but that is nature and you can't help that. If you want to see the island I suggest this one. It was wonderful!
Reviewer: hblonde19
5 Stars