St Thomas PADI Discover Scuba Course

Under the Sea at Coki Beach
June 29, 2022
This was a fantastic way to be introduced to the world of scuba diving! I am certified already, but I wanted my boys to be introduced to the world of diving as well in hopes that they will want to get certified too. Ryan, Tristan and others at Coki Dive Center did an excellent job with this Discover Scuba course. Ryan made the classroom portion interesting and fun, and he and Tristan made the dive safe and exciting. I did end up having one son who was too anxious to dive, and they were super understanding and patient with him. The rest of our group completed the dive with no problems and were able to see some unique sea life, including a stingray and eel. The water was calm at Coki Beach, so there were no currents to fight, which made it a much more mellow and smooth dive...perfect for those first trying out scuba!
Reviewer: Misti Pichon
5 Stars
Scuba dive
March 19, 2022
My first time scuba dive which was amazing, the guides were extremely professional putting me at ease, the area where we scuba dived was really good, I had such amazing time which I will never forget, I will be going back home to take up scuba diving as I loved it so much, thank to the team for making it special for me as a beginner.
Reviewer: Brian Songhurst
5 Stars
Wonderful experience
February 08, 2022
We took our teens on their first open water dive with this excursion. Everything went smoothly and the girls loved the experience.
Reviewer: K Spirek
5 Stars
Great Excursion
January 13, 2022
This was a fantastic excursion to try out scuba diving. We are certified, but our teens have never been. It was a perfect way for them to try it. The dive shop was very professional and we spent about 40 min underwatr...perfect for their first time diving.
Reviewer: K Spirek
5 Stars
Amazing!
January 14, 2020
This was a great way to take my kids diving for the first time. I am certified so they let me go with them, but I got "real" gear. It was really great!
Reviewer: Laura z Martin
5 Stars
4 times the sea life I saw at other Caribean beach
November 15, 2019
I have a dove at 3 areas in the Caribean,and is was the most active so far. I don’t have my diving license with limits me to just off the beach area. The instructors were great and the waves were claim. Which makes it much easier to but the training. It only took about 25-30 for book work,consent forms,and In water safety training before we went out to explore.
Reviewer: Tom Ness
5 Stars
My son is now hooked to scuba
November 14, 2019
Right next to Coki water park. The taxi cost us $13 per person. The initial impression when you walk down the steps to the beach is absolutely breathtaking. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. They go out of their way to make sure you're comfortable during the scuba process. We arrived on a day where they were scattered showers yet the beach is still absolutely phenomenal. My son is 17 and it was his first time scuba diving, needless to say he is now addicted to scuba. We submerged no greater than 40 feet and there is tons of marine life all around. The fish are so friendly they actually swim up to you and bump you on occasion. are tons of marine life all around. The fish are so friendly they actually swim up to you and bump you on occasion. Absolutely fantastic experience and would not hesitate to do business with this company again.
Reviewer: Elizabeth Haggar
5 Stars
Best part of our cruise!
June 11, 2019
This was the best! We will be getting our certification! Taxi ride...an adventure. But once you get to the dive shop (at the back right behind the bathrooms), it was extremely fun! The dive instructors and owner were all exceptionally talented and patient. Safety was taken care of. The gear is in great shape, the local iguanas are roaming about (that was pretty neat). There is instruction, groups of 4 go and practice the what ifs... regulator falling out, clearing water from your mask... then its on. We went out to about 40 ft deep at a noce slow pace. Our group loved all the different species we encountered. Super fun!
Reviewer: Neil Ledford
5 Stars
Great first time experience
April 03, 2019
Me and my two sons age 11 and 14 had a great time learning how to scuba dive. Brittany couldn’t have been a better instructor. This is our first time ever scuba diving and it was fun and easy.
Reviewer: John Taylor
5 Stars
Perfect Day
February 13, 2019
What a perfect day. This was perfect for learning to dive. We had our two teenage kids with us and they didn't know how to dive. This was a perfect way for them to find out if they were going to like it or not. It was only the four of us, so it was like you were getting a private lesson. This couldn't have gone any better. Thanks for offering this.
Reviewer: Stephanie
5 Stars
Coki PADI beginner scuba
December 29, 2018
Beautiful beach for friends to hang out if you go solo. That’s what my friends and wife did. For pictures and fun. They make sure you’re up to health and teach you everything you’ll need. (Hand signals, understanding equipment, etc...) Brittany was our teacher. She was super chill and fun. Then you’ll go down to the water and make sure you can clear your mouthpiece, blow water out your mask. And you’re comfortable in the water and with equipment. Then we went down to a new world. We only knew from tv. We seen fish, crabs, eels, octopus, sea cucumber, corals. I brought a go pro with me to catch it all. But I believe they have cameras you can rent there, If you don’t have one. You’ll want to share this experience with family and friends. I can’t wait to come back and do another dive with the team.
Reviewer: Marshall Neal
5 Stars
Coki Dive Center
November 29, 2018
What an AWESOME experience! Brit was a very knowledgeable instructor and was really helpful to all three of us. She immediately made us all feel like we had known her for ever! The Coki Beach area we did the dive at was remarkable. I cannot say enough good things about Brit, the owner Frank, and the overall experience. I would highly recommend this to everyone!
Reviewer: Jimmy Fors
5 Stars
Scuba Diving
May 19, 2017
It was a great experience. The instructors very nice and helpful. I will do it again
Reviewer: Connie Cubillos
5 Stars
Scuba course excursion
April 06, 2017
This was on my bucket list, and I was a bit nervous about submerging below 10 feet because of the water pressure. Our young instructor was very knowledgeable, and couldn't have made us feel more at ease and safe. It was a wonderful experience, and I would recommend this to anyone who wants to try scuba, or is going back for a refresher. By the way -- we got down 35 feet and I was totally at ease. Awesome!
Reviewer: David Cairns
5 Stars
Amazing experience
March 30, 2017
My two boys and my nephew participated in this. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They took the time to train the boys on the beach and in shallow water. They didn't go into deeper water until the instructor was confident they knew what they were doing. As far as the dive goes, they went down 38 feet for a long period of time and talk about how they couldn't see each other due to the swarm of fish surrounding them. They still talk about it two months later and all of them would do this again. Coki beach was also very nice for us adults. The staff even provided us snorkeling gear for free while the boys did their dive. We would definitely do this again.
Reviewer: Bill
5 Stars
First Dive
January 18, 2017
Great experience, excellent instructors. Felt safe at all times, even at 40 feet below the surface.
Reviewer: michael talaska
5 Stars
Perfect beginners course!
December 13, 2016
I went kicking and screaming cause I was scared to go scuba diving, but my man who is a certified diver, really wanted to go in the Caribbean so we both thought this one could be perfect, and it really was! The instructor was very informative and made sure we were comfortable and knew what to do. Only 4 of us were in the course. We started on the beach explaining the steps and equipment then we put it all on and made our way from the beach to about 3 feet of water where we went on our knees to practice the equipment. I almost panicked then cause the breathing is way different then normal day breathing but when I relaxed it all started to feel normal. once we got through the shallow water course we made our way deeper, it happened slowly so we could adjust as we went. The instructor was great and watched us the whole time. I felt like a pro! It wasn't on a reef or anything but we still saw lots of fish and toured around a bit.
Reviewer: Bethany
5 Stars
Awesome
November 26, 2016
Best excursion of the trip. It was a little crazy getting a ""cab"" really an open air truck, from the dock to the beach. We were late and they didn't mind. Had one instructor for 2 first time divers and it was excellent! Highly recommend! You walk into the water from the beach
Reviewer: Beth
5 Stars
Scuba dive
November 12, 2016
The instructor was good about getting everyone to feel comfortable and relaxed in the water. The water is great and all the fish to look at. The instructor brought some fish food for everyone in the group to use and the fish swarmed us, which was an unexpected treat! For any people interested in diving this is a great option to get about a 30 minute dive in. You start off in knee deep water and slowly work your way down as you get comfortable.
Reviewer: Anthony Morana
4 Stars
Fantastic experience
May 31, 2016
Guide was professional, experience was awesome.
Reviewer: Tom
5 Stars
Amazing experience
March 04, 2016
Michelle was an awesome instructor. My husband had never been diving before. She did a fantastic job of explaining everything he needed to know. He is now very excited to get certified.
Reviewer: Mary
5 Stars
Great job by all!
February 27, 2016
Coki Dive Shop was fantastic!
Reviewer: Dave
5 Stars
Incredible experience!!!!
December 10, 2015
We went out in a small group of four and one instructor. It was the greatest experience of our entire cruise. We enjoyed seeing the sea life and the relaxing feeling of floating through the water with the fish all around us.
Reviewer: Amy and Matt the honeymooners
5 Stars
Incredible experience
December 07, 2015
I was more than a little nervous going into this experience but the guides were extremely patient and supportive, which helped me quickly forget my nerves. The guides first provided an overview of what to do, illustrating how to do each movement. Afterward, we went into shallow water to try out each move before we began diving down. We were given treats to feed to the fish, which was so cool! Being able to see the coral and a number of creatures who call the reef their home was an incredible experience. I definitely recommend this excursion for anyone wondering what to do when they land on St. Thomas.
Reviewer: Stephy
4 Stars
AWESOME...
April 06, 2015
First time scuba'ing...was the best experience!!! I don't think it would have been as good without the attentiveness of the instructor(s), especially Jay!!! They made this adventure so very memorable. They know where all the underwater critters homes are and gently displayed them for me to see and photograph. Highly recommend this orgaization, especially if this is your first time diving.
Reviewer: Krnfwlr
5 Stars
It was memorable,we thoroughly enjoyed i
June 24, 2014
Our Scuba instructor was very thorough and fun to dive with.
Reviewer: Bobby
5 Stars
Scuba diving is amazing! Must experience
March 07, 2014
Reviewed March 2, 2014 NEW I had never been scuba diving before, and wasn't quite sure what to expect. Coki Dive and our guide, Jay, were absolutely amazing and made this the most memorable excursion while on our trip. The beginner's course helped me feel at ease, and, once in the water, our guide intuitively kept checking on us and practicing safely/breathing drills to make sure we mastered these skills. Jay was a great instructor and guide, friendly and personable, and you could tell his priority was makign sure we thoroughly enjoyed the dive. The sights were fantastic -- you'll never settle for just plain snorkeling after you've scuba dived! The coral reef at Coki Beach is amazing, from the coral to the fish/aquatic life -- it is so beautiful and peaceful to float and dive in these waters. Highly highly recommend!
Reviewer: Dave
5 Stars
Awesome time
January 09, 2014
Guides were the best!
Reviewer: Guy
5 Stars
VERY VERY nice
November 17, 2013
Jake the Dive Master was EXCELLENT. Thankfully we were in small group (3). Jake took time for instruction and educating us on marine life during our dive experience. He was very patient too. We will definately dive again with Coki Dive center and will want Jake to be our Dive master again.
Reviewer: Marine Doc
5 Stars
Awesome Time and straight to the action
October 30, 2013
This excursion was perfect for me. I got there about an hour and a half early, and had some time to enjoy the beach area. Turned out I was the only one signed up for the excursion and they were able to take me early. Yes, we still went with only one. The dive instructor was complete in going over the basics then into the water for a practical and into the dive. Going 40 feet under water and for about 45 mins of dive time. Lets you forget the outside world for a while. Do this excursion for an awesome dive that will get you thinking about certification.
Reviewer: J Clauser
5 Stars
OMG fabulous
May 05, 2013
What a fabulous excursion. I loved it so much I want to become certified. I felt safe as I had my own guide with her hands on me at all times. Beautiful fish and coral. I will never forget this and I'm so glad I did it.
Reviewer: Susan
5 Stars