Historic Main Street Food Tour

Fun tour, good food & infomrative
July 07, 2022
Tour guide was great. Included lots of historical information (some in our group thought it was a little too much history right at first, but I enjoyed it). Several food stops at local restaurant, bakeries, bars etc. Great mix of different foods to try & all were great! The Walk was not bad. I have bad knees & was worried the walk would be too much but it was fine. Easy to find the meeting location & ended right near some cute shops to checkout.
Reviewer: Beth Dickerson
5 Stars
Delightfully unexpected
February 26, 2022
I’m not sure begat I expected but walking through town finding places off the general tourist route with extremely good food at each location was a wonderful surprise. Our guide was very knowledgable of the island’s history and included that in our tour while we walked.
Reviewer: Paula Clutter
5 Stars
Main Street Tour in St. Thomas
March 12, 2020
The tour was very interesting. We received a history of the island and then went to 7 back street restaurants for history of the place as well as a sample of the food.
Reviewer: MICHAEL WEST
5 Stars
Fun food, fun people, great insights
March 10, 2020
Each of our five stops included interesting, local, delicious foods served from fascinating people who owned the shops and prepared the food. Perhaps the highlight was our stop at the Open air bar where we watched a skilled bartender prepare an exotic drink for our group. The walk was easy but covered enough ground so that we could see much of the old town.The directions to the meeting point could have been a little more explicit.
Reviewer: Mike Speltz
5 Stars
Educational and Filling
December 12, 2019
This is a unique and worthwhile excursion as you learn not only the history of the town, you get to try their local dishes. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and had great recommendations of places to visit. We visited 5 different places to try local dishes. The first stop was at Es Garden Teas. Had the Hibiscus Tea which was refreshing and delicious paired with a salted fish quiche type dish. Then, we moved on to try rum cake at MBW Cafe and Bakery. Moving on to the next was Glady's Cafe where we tried more local dishes which included conch fritter, and three other dishes were all delicious! There was also a place where we tried a local meat pie which reminded me of an empanada but filled with meat that had these spices. To finish off the tour, we had a refreshing drink of the "bushwacker" - which tasted like a very flavorful milkshake. Overall, I would totally recommend this tour. If you love to try new food and know the area's history, check this one out.
Reviewer: Teresa Pamintuan
5 Stars
Great food and fun guide
December 11, 2019
The meeting location is easy to find. Our guide is very fun and knowledgeable. All the food we tried are delicious and interesting. It’s one of my best excursions!
Reviewer: Jing Zhou
5 Stars
WOW! Loved every minute and every bite!
September 24, 2019
We booked this excursion in St. Thomas and it was BY FAR our favorite excursion. Our guide Gerard was not only warm and welcoming but took us through the streets of Charlotte Amalie telling us about the history and it's people. We loved every stop, with salt fish quiche and hisbiscus tea, to pumpkin soup and the most delicious rum cake imaginable! The empanadas were scrumptuous and our final drink, "the pain killer" was delightful! We loved this tour and highly recommend it!
Reviewer: Sherri Anderson
5 Stars
Had a great time!
June 21, 2019
Loved the historic main street food tour. The guide was knowledgeable and interesting. The food and drink were unique. The back alleys and small passageways were nice. A short taxi ride from the ship - not expensive and lots of taxi's to get back.
Reviewer: Bob C.
5 Stars
Had a great time!
June 13, 2019
The historic street and food tour was a lot of fun. The guide was very knowledgeable about the landmarks, the food and drink was interesting and I would recommend it. You do have to catch a taxi to and from but there are dozens of them all around and the price was reasonable.
Reviewer: robert Carrarini
5 Stars
St Thomas Hide away
June 03, 2019
First of all let me just say how friendly the people of St Thomas are. Our guide was more than we asked for, not only did we enjoy the delights of the Caribbean food. We were treated to so many stories and historical sights that made our visit a memorable one.
Reviewer: Jazmin Sukhu
5 Stars
Fun Way to Experience St Thomas
June 03, 2019
Once we got pas the confusion of the meet up place our tour was delightful! We have been to St Thomas many times so we didn’t want do do any of the ordinary tourist things! Our guide was five stars, we loved him! We learned all about the island as well as enjoyed sampling’s of many of the foods native to their culture!
Reviewer: Arlene Ferris
5 Stars
Great way to Visit Sites
June 03, 2019
A good way to see and become immersed into St.Thomas life and history. The food selections were interesting featuring the local fare. Travel guide was very knowledgeable about the island, plus with his excellent personality, the tour was fun.
Reviewer: Carolyn Gardner
4 Stars
Best excursion of the trip
April 26, 2019
The food was great but the tour guide was even better. He seemed to know everything about St. Thomas in general and Charlotte Amalie in particular. The group was small so it was easy to ask him any questions. None of the tour was strenuous. I would recommend this excursion to anyone interested in the history of the island.
Reviewer: Randy Alder
5 Stars
Best Tour in Charlotte Amalie!
April 02, 2019
I was so impressed not just with the quality of the tour, but with how in-depth and knowledgeable my tour guide was with the surrounding area. While the focus was on the amazing culinary traditions of the St. Thomas and the USVI, my guide was able to step outside of the box and connect culinary traditions with the history of the islands as well. Each eatery we went to were hole in the wall establishments that I never would have found on my own in the short amount of time I had on the island, and each one had their own culinary creation that transformed my shore day from ordinary to something totally extraordinary. I can't recommend this food tour enough if you are looking for a unique, one-of-a-king tour of Charlotte Amalie, whether you're in town for a while or just for the day.
Reviewer: Evan Marx
5 Stars
A great look at St. Thomas
March 30, 2019
This tour was enlightening and fun. I learn the history of S.T from a different angle. We made 4 food stops, each with its' uniqueness. The tour guide was very knowledgable and very well known in the community. I highly recommend this tour if you want something different and you want to learn by tasting!
Reviewer: Lorraine Simon
5 Stars
Taste tour was great
December 26, 2018
We have been to st Thomas many times but had never done a taste tour. Gerry was full of information and our food stops did not disappoint. I highly recommend this tour if you are into meeting local people
Reviewer: Carol
5 Stars
culinary tour
November 07, 2018
This was a great tour! As it turned out I was the only one on the tour my guide was excellent and we covered alot of ground he was very knowledgeable and presented the information well.
Reviewer: Gale J Landeen
5 Stars
Great Guide
October 24, 2018
Our guide on this tour was very knowledgeable about the island and the area of the tour. The food choices were wonderful and the people who owned the establishments obviously knew and liked our guide. So much food by the end we were stuffed and ending the tour with a frozen drink hit the spot.
Reviewer: Carol Bauer
5 Stars
Terrific
April 23, 2018
Always love the food tours. This one did not disappoint.
Reviewer: Barbara
5 Stars
Fabulous Tour, Outstanding.
April 09, 2018
Girard was our tour guide for this tour, and he was terrific. He gave a lot of history of St. Thomas and the surrounding islands. He is a captain and has spent a lot of time in this area. We had five food stops along the way, which were all wonderful. They (the tour operators) really did make great food selections. The food, along with the history of this island and, especially, the history and development of the downtown area, made this tour outstanding. It was such a great experience, I will search out more historic food tours.
Reviewer: Mary
5 Stars