Exclusive Athens with Free Time in the Plaka

Excellent
December 03, 2022
Great experience. Good organization. Easy to find once you depart the ship. Wonderful tour. Would recommend.
Reviewer: John DeFazio
5 Stars
Athens with Plaka
November 05, 2022
This excursion is ideal for someone who wants to visit the Acropolis and the surrounding history with limited time available from the cruise we were a group of 14 people and booked it online it was a lot cheaper then the one offered by the cruise the guide was good as well although there was a group of 25 she handled it well I would recommend this excursion
Reviewer: Mukesh G Patel
5 Stars
wonderful experience
October 14, 2022
We would highly recommend this tour. It was wonderfully informative. Our tour guide was amazing. We learned so much about Athens and the Acropolis.
Reviewer: Kiima
5 Stars
Acropolis and city sightsTour
October 07, 2022
We very much enjoyed this tour. Guide was great, tons of information and insights to this region. Pick up at the cruise terminal was super easy everything on time.
Reviewer: Chrish
5 Stars
Spectacular
September 17, 2022
Finally. After studying Architectural Drafting 50 years ago always wanted to visit Greece. Especially the Parthenon. Overwhelming! Finally off my bucket list! Was really nice avoiding all the lineups too. Guide was incredibly knowledgeable. The Plaka was great. Lots of little shops with almost anything you want. Restaurants galour! Since I wasn't going back to the ship she helped me get a cab that took Visa. Thank you!
Reviewer: STEPHEN MACDONALD
5 Stars
It was great!
September 01, 2022
Although I can't remember our tour guide or driver's names, we had a wonderful tour of Athens on August 10, 2022. Even the drive through Athens on the way to the Acropolis was informational and we made several stops, including at the Olympic stadium of the first modern games. The knowledge of our tour guide at The Acropolis was incredible, as well as her knowledge of the Old City. We had an amazing time and learned so much!
Reviewer: Cindy Thomson
5 Stars
Exclusive Athens with Free Time in the Plaka
August 30, 2022
We really enjoyed this tour, led by Joanna. We had a small group and limited time in Athens, so the bus tour was a great way to see the highlights of this great city. Joanna was very knowledgeable and reviewed the history of this area of Greece admirably. My husband has some mobility issues and it was over 100 degrees that day so we were not able to go up to the Parthenon (the only ones in our group that didn’t go to the top) but Joanna made sure we were okay and made some excellent recommendations about places to eat and shop while the rest of the group went up, as well as detailed instructions on where to meet the rest of the group for the ride back to the ship. Our driver was also very able and professional, and navigated the narrow streets perfectly.
Reviewer: Debbie Holt
5 Stars
A day in Athens
June 24, 2022
This being our first time in Athens taking this tour was the perfect way to see the sights, do a little shopping when our time was limited. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and stayed with us the entire day. She pointed out several points of interest and gave us the histrory of Athens. We were left with plenty of time in Plaka to do some shopping and have lunch.
Reviewer: Jennifer Marron
5 Stars
Nice tour
June 22, 2022
Nice tour excellent transport. Very steep walk to the Acropolis so beware if you have mobility issues. On a bright note they have a small elevator that the tour guide will ask if you can ride.
Reviewer: ivan cadigan
4 Stars
Amazing day in Athens
June 10, 2022
Our family really enjoyed this tour! The driver and tour guide arrived on time and kept to the schedule. The bus was very comfortable, and our guide was very knowledgeable. We loved seeing all the sights this tour offered, and enjoyed our free time to shop and eat the local cuisine.
Reviewer: Joanne Gillies
5 Stars
Acropolis and Plaka
June 09, 2022
Our tour guide was extremely good. He was well prepared, knew his subject and had wonderful pictures to back up his commentary. It was easy to see he enjoyed history and wanted to share his knowledge with us. His English was excellent! The Acropolis was a great tour and lunch in the Plaka area was delicious!
Reviewer: Janet Salmon
4 Stars
Take This One
January 02, 2020
Impressive tour with a great guide. Group of 22 which was ok. Recommend taking this one.
Reviewer: rick anderson
4 Stars
Knowledgeable guide
December 28, 2019
I enjoyed the tour very much and it met my expectations. The guide was knowledgeable and professional. She took the time to answer questions and was looked out for the safety of the her guests.
Reviewer: Bari Kahn
5 Stars
Such a wonder
December 11, 2019
Felt such a weird connection..
Reviewer: Athena Bell
5 Stars
Great Excursion
December 03, 2019
Excellent tour guide. Learned much about Athens and its history. Pay the 20 Euros to see the ruins. Free time in the Plaka was just about right.
Reviewer: Darryl
4 Stars
Long winded tour guide
November 27, 2019
Pickup at the pier was very smooth. Tour thru the city was well done. Tour guide knew her subject, but was determined to tell us everything in her head. Needed to notice when most of the group had turned off their headsets and wandered away.
Reviewer: Wendy
4 Stars
Great way to see Athens
November 22, 2019
We had a fantastic tour. Our guild was very knowable and patience with the older members of the tour. We saw all the highlights of Athens. I highly recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Gary W Mertz
5 Stars
interesting driving tour with free time
November 20, 2019
Along with the bus tour through Athens we were given a choice of going to the Parthenon or having time alone. We chose the free time as there was an extreme climb to the Parthenon that we preferred not to do in the heat. That turned out to be a good choice as we did some shopping and had a good amount of time to enjoy a leisurely lunch before meeting the bus to take us back to the ship.
Reviewer: Anne Pla
4 Stars
Loved this tour !
November 14, 2019
We were looking forward to Athens and we were not disappointed it was amazing . Tour guide was friendly and very informative.
Reviewer: Charlie Winchester
5 Stars
Athens excursion
November 09, 2019
Amazing tour guide
Reviewer: Debbie Ferguson
5 Stars
Just Right
November 08, 2019
Our tour guide Agatha was friendly, caring, concerned and knowledgeable. We would be pleased to use her again.She showed us the downtown area, the three harbors, as well the Olympic Stadium, The Parthenon as well as the surrounding areas of Acropolis. She also brought pictures, to show us what these sights looked like back in the day.
Reviewer: ROBERT P HARMON
5 Stars
Athens
November 01, 2019
Was amazing. I though the walk might have been a bit much. But it was fine well worth it.
Reviewer: Ann mcleod
5 Stars
As above
October 31, 2019
Good guide but not enough free time in the Plaka.
Reviewer: Judith Whittington Walsh
3 Stars
Excellent excursion
October 31, 2019
Excellent and very knowledgeable guide & driver. Just enough free time. Learned a lot about Athens and all the history of the Acropolis, Parthenon, etc. Took the additional tour to see those ruins and it was worth it!
Reviewer: Sharold Mergl
5 Stars
Love Athens
October 24, 2019
We had an awesome tour guide. Very informative. The only complaint that our entire group had, was that we were somewhat surprised when we all of a sudden we realized we had to pay extra to gain entrance to the Acropolis. Didn’t realize it until on the bus.
Reviewer: Lynn Folsom
5 Stars
jim
October 15, 2019
good tour guide. site was very interesting a good idea of how a town was 2000 years ago
Reviewer: James Long
4 Stars
Exclusive Athens with Free Time in the Plaka
October 13, 2019
Our tour guide, Agatha, was great.
Reviewer: Peter McBean
5 Stars
Athens
October 06, 2019
Loved this tour.
Reviewer: Shelene Corley
5 Stars
Athens and Acropolis
October 05, 2019
Very good guide, very knowledgeable. Could have given us more information regarding walk back to town centre to meet bus. Other than that, very good/excellent.
Reviewer: Beverley Arnold
5 Stars
Acropolis is amazing!
September 15, 2019
This tour was fantastic and our tour guide went above and beyond to be helpful climbing up to the Parthenon and giving us the history along the way despite the many crowds and heat at 44C! We did not complete the tour of the plaza as it was too hot for us but a worthwhile excursion for sure!
Reviewer: Pat Swanson
5 Stars
Athens Tour
August 22, 2019
The Athens tour with Shore Excursions was excellent. The guide was very knowledgeable and it was cheaper than booking with the cruise line.
Reviewer: Liane Neumann
5 Stars
Impressive
August 21, 2019
We had a great guide. Would have been great to have 30 minutes at the Olympic Stadium and less time in the Plaka. Be prepared for big crowds and long lines. But worth the wait.
Reviewer: Sean
5 Stars
Nice tour
August 17, 2019
This was a good tour. We went to see the Acropolis, the guide was very knowledgeable. The part I felt would of made it better is if they provided water and had better air conditioning in the bus.
Reviewer: Michele R Burgess
4 Stars
Wonderful Tour
August 09, 2019
Wonderful Tourguide! She was patient and allowed photo opportunities as well as directed us to meeting spots clearly. She made Athens a site to see even with the traffic being so horrible!
Reviewer: Michael Guzman
5 Stars
Great tour
August 05, 2019
We have learned a lot in this tour and love the city of Athens. The tour guide has provided a lot of historical info and the tour is well organized.
Reviewer: Betty
5 Stars
Nice lunch
July 29, 2019
This was a good overview of Athens. It was a terribly hot day and the tour guide suggested going to the Acropolis museum rather than the Acropolis/Pantheon itself which turned out to be a good idea since they closed down the Acropolis to the public because of the heat. The museum is ok. It has long lines, first for security, then for tickets. If you have a large backpack, you also have to check that in. Afterwards, we found a great restaurant for an authentic Greek lunch, and lots of shops to buy souvenirs. Highly recommended.
Reviewer: Pia Thompson
4 Stars
Exciting time In Athens
July 21, 2019
It’s easy finding the tour guide. We boarded the tour bus after we completed our group then went for a fascinating ride to Athens. Our tour guide is very knowledgeable. The tour gave us plenty of time to venture on our own.
Reviewer: Mildred Alpuerto
5 Stars
Good option
July 17, 2019
It was a particularly hot day so our guide gave us the option of just going into the Acropolis museum and viewing the Acropolis and Parthenon from there. It was a good option because although the lines were long for the museum it was air conditioned and they ended up closing the Acropolis because of heat. Then the free time allowed for a nice authentic lunch and shopping. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the history of Athens.
Reviewer: Pia
4 Stars
Great excursion for right price!
July 08, 2019
The guide was very knowledgeable and pleasant. The tour was very interesting and I appreciated the free time to look at vestiges and walk down the Plaka..
Reviewer: Sylvia Newman
5 Stars
Acropolis Tour
July 08, 2019
We started off the tour at the Acropolis and didn't quite go in the order that was stated which was okay. However, it did say the climb was an optional 20euro. Our tour guide didn't tell the coach it wasn't included in our tour until after everyone made the climb and then expected everyone to pay cash. It was her mistake. Some folks were complaining that they wouldn't have done the climb if it was an option. Other than this mishap, the tour was good, loved the sites, and the driver was amazing. I think his name was George. Would definitley recommend.
Reviewer: S. Ngim
4 Stars
Athens
June 30, 2019
Excellent..don't change anything!
Reviewer: Robert Volpe
5 Stars
History at its best
June 24, 2019
What a wonderful day. Our tour guide was an ex history teacher. He so enjoyed what he was doing. Learned more in one day than I did in years of history classes. So informative and quick witted with the patience of Jobe. He took things at a nice pace so we could cover everything, but never felt we were rushing through things. Had time to stop for a nice snack before heading back to the ship. Would highly recommend this excursion.
Reviewer: Martha Nicklin
5 Stars
Well executed tour
June 19, 2019
This was a well organized and well executed tour. The guide was very knowledgeable and told us what to expect. We only had one hour in Plaka which seemed too quick. Overall, very interesting tour.
Reviewer: Christy Saniga
4 Stars
Saw all sites and had right amount of free time
June 18, 2019
Angelo was a really great tour guide. He gave good food suggestions for our free time. He was extremely informative at all our tour stops and did a great job avoiding a lot of the crowds at each site.
Reviewer: Joe V
5 Stars
So enjoyed!
June 18, 2019
Visiting the Acropolis and Parthenon were amazing to see, but the crowds not so much. The climb up to the top was slow moving because of so many people but also so very slippery. After the tour we were given free time to tour Plaka, which is filled with shops & cafes
Reviewer: Patricia Saiya
4 Stars
Great tour guide
May 24, 2019
Our tour guide, I’m sorry I forgot her name, was very informative and very considerate; she did not rush but waited for the slower folks to go up the Acropolis and the Parthenon. I appreciate that very much as I have bad knees and almost did not go on this excursion. So glad I did!
Reviewer: Cathy
5 Stars
Athens
May 22, 2019
Our tour guide was excellent. The bus drive was awful.
Reviewer: Christene Jones
4 Stars
Review
May 10, 2019
Very enjoyable tour. Guide very informative. Would recommend to all.
Reviewer: Edita Mendoza
5 Stars
Absolutely Fantastic Place! A Must See Site!
May 07, 2019
This excursion is strenuous only if you take the trip to the top of the Acropollis. It's the stairs...all 75 of them. My husband went up since he's never seen it before and I opted to join another lady to visit the Acropollis Museum instead. My bad knee just couldn't take the stairs. The Museum is fantastic as well and there is a spot to get good photos of the Acropollis. They moved most of the original stone work carvings/statues to the museum to protect them. They also have an elevator and good restrooms. The entry fee is much less than the price to see the Acropollis. You're given plenty of free time in the Platka to shop. We opted for an outside restaurant and had a bite to eat. We did have a hard time finding the bus afterward but we are directional challenged. :-) It is definately worth the price.
Reviewer: Marcine Lohman
5 Stars
Athens is a wonderful city
November 19, 2018
Wonderful tour. Our tour guide did an excellent job.Very highly reccomended!!!
Reviewer: Thomas
5 Stars
Leisurely tour
November 18, 2018
good tour of the Acropolis with ample free time to explore on your own. Tour guide was well organized and on time. Free time in the Plaka was also adequate. Tour guide made climb up Acropolis easy by pausing to talk frequently.
Reviewer: Stephen Leonard
4 Stars
Athens/Acropolis etc.
November 18, 2018
Very good tour guide & driver.....well informed & gave an interesting commentary throughout. We separated from the group & did our own thing for the Acropolis & free time whiuch was our preference as with the crowds it was hard to stay connected. BUt meeting places & times were well identified & we enjoyed our tour.
Reviewer: Richard Meades
4 Stars
Satisfied customer
November 14, 2018
Knowledgeable, courteous tour guide. Bus and tour guide arrived on time. Will go with this company again. 30-40% cheaper than cruise ships tours.
Reviewer: Canadian vagabonds
5 Stars
Exclusive Athens with Free Time in Plaka
November 13, 2018
Guide was very knowlegeable and shared as we traveled on route. Bus was imaculate and very comfotable,we would highly recommend this excursion,just enough time to explore and lots of information about the Acropolis and Athens. Just enough people on the bus.
Reviewer: Andrea Spurrell
5 Stars
Exclusive Athens with Free Time in Plaka
November 13, 2018
Guide was very knowlegeable and shared as we traveled on route. Bus was imaculate and very comfotable,we would highly recommend this excursion,just enough time to explore and lots of information about.
Reviewer: Andrea Spurrell
5 Stars
Athens Tour
November 13, 2018
Nikoletta Karvouni, our guide was excellent!
Reviewer: Susan McWilliam Warren
5 Stars
Athens Plaka tour
November 12, 2018
OUr tour guide was great. Lots to see and she packed it in for sure. Would have loved a few extra hours in Athens but cruises just give you a taste unfortunately.
Reviewer: Pamela VanGelder
4 Stars
General suggestions for Excursions
November 08, 2018
I have submitted specific reviews, but I would like to add a couple of general suggestions. 1. It would be helpful to have a brief description of the tour on the ticket... duration etc. I never knew how long the tours were, nor recalled the exact nature of the tour. We had booked our excursions 6 weeks in advance, and I didn't know that I needed to print the descriptions. 2. The tour guides need to have very clear signs indicating the company name, and arrive at the destination early. We struggled to find our guides in 3 of the ports. I really liked having pre-booked and prepaid excursions. For the most part we were quite pleased with our excursions. Thank You
Reviewer: B. Solheim
4 Stars
Free time
November 06, 2018
An interesting tour with good commentary. We took the free time as walking not my wife's favourite. So from that point of view it was perfect.
Reviewer: Nick B
5 Stars
Athens
November 01, 2018
What a beautiful place with ancient history and modern living. A beautiful city.
Reviewer: David A Patnod
5 Stars
Informative, well-paced tour
October 26, 2018
Tour representatives were waiting for us at the pier. The tour started on time and was handled professionally throughout. Our guide was highly educated in his subject and he presented the history of ancient and present Athens well. All stops were done very efficiently so that everyone could see the sites and take photos. The tour was really informative. Transport was very clean and comfortable. Good value for money.
Reviewer: Chris
5 Stars
Wonderful tour!
October 22, 2018
Our guide (Ana, I think) was outstanding and is truly a lovely person. We found our guide immediately after exiting the ship. She explained the history of Athens throughout the bus ride. The walking tour was truly outstanding- we learned so much and our guide answered all our questions. She walked with us up the hill to the Acropolis and brought us to the Parthenon where she discussed the stunning architecture of the building. She also pointed out the other major buildings/ruins and the theater. We had time for photos and exploring and then she walked with us to the Plaka where she pointed out great places for Greek food (amazing gyro!!). Outstanding tour and very enjoyable day (despite cool, windy weather). It was a nice small group (about 12) and the tour cost a fraction of the ship tour. Highly recommend! Thank you, Ana!
Reviewer: Pamela McKnight
5 Stars
Compare
October 16, 2018
Our guide was good and the bus was comfortable but I'd compare the cost to a Hop On/Off bus tour. Plus you would see more of the city. Audio guides are available on the Hop On/Off or can be downloaded ahead of time. Also there's no tipping expected with Hop On/Off. PS you can avoid ticket line ups at the Acropolis by purchasing them at the booth near the tourist information centre in the Plaka.
Reviewer: Leon
4 Stars
Athens old and new
October 08, 2018
Effie, was an excellent, engaging and knowledgable guide as she introduced us to Athens. The city tour and stops are just enough to introduce you to the hustle of Athens today, before transporting you to Athens of old. There are no words for the Acropolis! Have a gyro in the Plaka and grab some roasted nuts from the charming street vendors before hopping the bus.
Reviewer: HKL
5 Stars
Excellent guide
October 03, 2018
The guide was excellent but this tour would benefit be having the audio boxes. It was very hot and crowded and this would have helped. The guide would have been able to walk and talk at the same time.
Reviewer: Robin Scott
4 Stars
Good Tour Guide and Excellent Trip
July 30, 2018
The experienced tour guide had made good arrangements with timing and explained to us in details the history of all aspects in the Plaka. We also had sufficient time to walk around and take photos ourselves during the free time.
Reviewer: Aylmer Yan
5 Stars
Fantastic tour
July 23, 2018
We loved the tour! The bus ride from the cruise ship was good with lots of history provided on the way. The Acropolis/Parthenon was wonderful, although of course it was crowded. The guide was knowledgeable and the free time in the Plaka after was just enough to walk around and enjoy some greek yogurt, but not enough to visit any of the other ruins/museums in the area unfortunately. We would love to come back to Athens someday with more time to explore, but we will not hesitate to book more excursions on our next cruise with this company.
Reviewer: Kyla Adams
5 Stars
Not a normal day
July 09, 2018
This was not a usual day as the cab and trains had gone on strike. Guide did a good job of keeping the group together and shared a lot of interesting information. We were provided with a bottle of water due to the heat, which was appreciated.
Reviewer: Sandy Fletcher
4 Stars
athens
July 09, 2018
good guide , good explanations enjoyed the tour
Reviewer: richard longpre
4 Stars
Acropolis of Athens
July 02, 2018
Perfect way to see Athens. Just the right amount of free time in Plaka after visiting the Acropolis. We walked as a group around the Acropolis which allowed for questions to be answered.
Reviewer: Paige Rawson
5 Stars
Assistant guide/ signs/
May 27, 2018
1.guide needs a assistant. I think it is difficult to handle 30 travelers by only one guide. 2. It would be better to have earphone so travelers can hear what guide say in crowdy, noisy places. 3. Guide needs a unique easily recognizable sign so she/he can be easily found.
Reviewer: Mary Chung
4 Stars
Have EUROS READY - great tour!!
May 27, 2018
The tour was wonderful BEWARE it does not include the top of the Acropolis, only a quick talk before taking the group to the entrance gate- guide collected 20 EUROS a person - no us cash credit! to radio ahead to buy entry tickets to the top called the Parthenon where you WANT TO GO with the group! This is the whole point of going to the Acropolis! A couple went in the past so where left behind for hours. Have your EUROS READY!!! Have good treaded shoes/sneakers for walking as surfaces are marble in many spots thus slippery!! Also plan on tons of steps and walking on uneven surfaces. I heard there is some handicap provision but they are very strict about who can use it, plus you’ll be separated from the group and miss the tour which was amazing to hear!! Bus provide water was clean modern and enjoyed our knowledgeable guide!! Tour gave overview of city, stopped at Olympic stadium, plus time to walk,shop if you want after Acropolis. Pick up and drop off was easy from ship.
Reviewer: Marti
4 Stars
Would recommend
May 23, 2018
Excellent tour. Guide was Yohanna and she was very knowledgable, personable and articulate and spoke excellent English.
Reviewer: Linda
5 Stars
Awesome
May 22, 2018
Glad we were able to make it up the Acropolis/ Parthenon area. Guide however had to get tix for those going in and it took a very long time for her to do so. It certainly cuts into tour time. These Shore Excursion tours don’t use listening devices so if you lag behind you miss part of the guide’s information.
Reviewer: Beatriz Goldstein
4 Stars
Great guide
May 21, 2018
The guide for this tour was very good. She took her time in explaining the history and did her best to avoid the inevitable crowds. While Athens is not my favorite city she knew the history well. There was a lot of walking and she kept the pace to a level that worked for everyone. Definitely would recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Don Irving
5 Stars
Athens with free time in the Plaka
May 21, 2018
This was a good tour with an excellent tour guide. I enjoyed the tour.
Reviewer: Judith Holton
5 Stars
Great tour, great time, great guide
May 07, 2018
My wife and I just got back from a cruise where we jumped on the Athens tour on a shore day. Our guide was great, super informative about Greek history, Greek culture and what seemed like every little piece of stone. She was amazing! Obviously the Parthenon was very busy, but our Guide was loud enough to easily hear and was even sure to give us time to do a little touristy shopping after we wrapped up with the cultural parts of the tour. Overall a fantastic experience!
Reviewer: Pat H
5 Stars
Lots of History
February 09, 2018
Our tour guide was amazing. I never realized how the mathematical calulations that turned out to be so surprising that our guide pointed out. What a great and interesting trip. There was a fun time in the village also. I would recomment this tour.
Reviewer: judy ruziecki
5 Stars
Athens
December 26, 2017
Athens was amazing. It was good that the tour guide was able to purchase our tickets. The line up was long to purchase tickets. One of the hightlights of the trip
Reviewer: Cheryl
5 Stars
The best tour
November 03, 2017
This was a fantastic tour. This best of the cruise. The tour guide (I forgot her name- I think nana) was informative, took her job seriously and was sure we all had a good time. She was an inspiration and a person that loved her city
Reviewer: noreen mcdonald
5 Stars
Exclusive Athens
November 02, 2017
Tour guide was very knowledgeable and sights were amazing.
Reviewer: Greg Levy
5 Stars
Worth the trip
October 25, 2017
The guide we had was very knowledgeable and easy to understand. The views were great and it’s become quite the tourist attraction but still a must see. A little more time to spend in the plaka would have been nice.
Reviewer: Bryan
5 Stars
Athens alive
October 18, 2017
Learned extra information from the guide Very well done
Reviewer: Sandra j frame
5 Stars
Fantastic Tour!
October 18, 2017
This tour was a 10 on a scale of 1-10. The guide was prompt, knowledgable, friendly and fun. We had a great time and enjoyed the entire tour.
Reviewer: Karen Pace
5 Stars
Athens Acropolis
October 05, 2017
Overall, this was a very good tour that provided the opportunity to do a walking tour of the Acropolis. Our guide was very knowledgeable and maintained a steady pace. The day was hot and the Acropolis was crowded, but there was not much that can be done about that. By the time we got to the Plaka area, everyone was ready to head back to the ship or otherwise find air-conditioning.
Reviewer: Kenneth Olson
4 Stars
Great!
September 30, 2017
The tour was wonderful!
Reviewer: Norbert Diaz
5 Stars
The Acropolis was great
September 28, 2017
Our guide did a good job. He was informative and enthusiastic about Athens and its history. Long drive from our ship
Reviewer: James Eldridge
4 Stars
Athens
September 27, 2017
The tour of Athens was great . . . the guide 's l\knowledge and ability to communicate the in formation was outstanding
Reviewer: Barbara Ann Harkleroad
5 Stars
Interesting
September 27, 2017
Our travel guide on the bus was friendly, informative and attentive. The driver was very good. We chose not to pay extra to tour the Parthenon and hence enjoyed our extended visit in the Plaka. We found a charming 4th floor roof garden patio at the base of the Acropolis and enjoyed the view from there in the beautiful sunshine.
Reviewer: Bruce and Barb Norman
4 Stars
Exclusive Athens with Free Time in the Plaka
September 26, 2017
Excellent tour with a small group of 16 and a tour guide that was very knowledgeable and also very efficient at getting us where we needed to go and on time. I would recommend this tour to anyone going to Athens.
Reviewer: Phyllis F. Smith
5 Stars
Athens/Plaka
September 15, 2017
It was very convenient location for a meeting. Bus was ready on time. Excursion was good and informative, but short. Time in Placa was enough to do what ever you want to do.
Reviewer: Diana
4 Stars
Great tour of Athens with suffcient free time afte
September 14, 2017
Great tour with guide with good English skills. Informative bus tour of city and good info on the Acropolis after we exited the bus and walked up the hill to the site. I liked that we were on our own to explore the Acropolis site after the initial description and historical background. We were traveling with two grandchildren and they had studied beforehand and knew what they wanted to spend time seeing. Drop off / pick up in Plaka was smooth. Adequate free time to explore, get fresh Gyro for Grandson to eat as we explored and Granddaughter to get souvenirs for classmates.
Reviewer: Tom Connelie
5 Stars
Convenience and no lines
September 14, 2017
The trip from the cruise to the attractions was convenience, and we didn't have to wait on line to get inside the ruins. The free time in the Plaka was fun. We ate some local food and did some shopping.
Reviewer: Wiki
4 Stars
Athens
September 13, 2017
Excellent
Reviewer: Warren Frederick
5 Stars
Athens
September 13, 2017
Great tour guide; very interesting history lesson.
Reviewer: William Pressly
5 Stars
Fantastic
August 02, 2017
Tour was well organized and guide was great. Bus were new and clean and very prompt. The tour was a perfect balance of seeing the highlights in Athens along with a little free time. Would book with Shore Excursions again.
Reviewer: Lily Galati
5 Stars
Enjoyable Tour
July 13, 2017
Great tour of the Acropolis. Guide was very knowledgable. Loved seeing the Parthenon. We should have had additional time to shop in the Plaka. We had to take a cab back to the ship instead of using the tour bus.
Reviewer: Mitch Fox
4 Stars
Athens
July 07, 2017
It is a good one. The local person is nice. But she should have told us more about Greek history.
Reviewer: Dehai Tao
5 Stars
Athens shore excursion
June 16, 2017
My wife and I are glad that we chose Expedia for our experience in Athens, Greece. Expedia was very reasonably priced and the excursion went exactly as Expedia had promised,
Reviewer: Tim Williston
5 Stars
Cruise to Athens
June 03, 2017
We had a great experience from meeting up with our wonderful tour guide who was very knowledgeable and led a comprehensive tour to the Acropolis. She made sure those who wanted to spend more time shopping could get off and shop leaving more time for those of us who wanted to spend time at the ruins. The tour was very well organized. Worth the price.
Reviewer: Cynthia Wallin
4 Stars
Athens
May 23, 2017
A very brief look at Athens
Reviewer: Lorraine McLoughlin
3 Stars
Informative tour
March 03, 2017
Athens was the highlight of my cruise! Visiting the acropolis was amazing with our tour guide providing a lot of detailed information. Plaka was ok and wish we spent less free time there - would have preferred more time at the acropolis to visit museums there instead. Overall, I highly recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Gord
5 Stars
Athens
January 27, 2017
Love it.
Reviewer: Lizbet Erazo
5 Stars
Athens was clean beautiful,good people,great food
January 21, 2017
Don't miss athens.people live there for thousands of years for many good reasons
Reviewer: kevin
4 Stars
Great informative tour
January 19, 2017
We had a great tour guide.....drove around Athens before heading to the acropolis.....tour guide took us up to the acropolis gave us lots of info...we had free time to explore up there and more free time to explore in Plalka before getting back on bus and heading back to cruise ship. Would recommend this excursion.
Reviewer: Karen Buttimer
5 Stars
Good value
December 23, 2016
Tour was well run with a very knowledgeable tour guide.
Reviewer: maren fitzgibbons
4 Stars
Great time in Athens
December 22, 2016
We had a wonderful guide and bus driver. The time spent in Athens was excellent considering we only had six hours off the ship. The history was well explained and the views were awesome. Well worth the money.
Reviewer: jack miller
5 Stars
Tour of Athens
December 20, 2016
This was a very good tour. We met the guide right outside the door of the cruise ship terminal. First was a bus tour of the city with photo stops. Then we did the walk up the Acropolis. The guide was extremely knowledgeable about Greek history and about the construction of the Parthenon. Then we had some free time to walk in the streets below the Acropolis, and then boarded the bus to return to our ship. All very satisfactory.
Reviewer: karen
5 Stars
Amazing history
December 20, 2016
What a great tour to see all the important sites from history. You will have to pay additional for the Acropolis entrance, but it is well worth it. Our guide was very knowledgeable and we were not rushed. On your walk back to Plaka stop by the mueseum to see what was discovered beneath it.
Reviewer: Louis
5 Stars
Good
December 18, 2016
A little bit of confusion as to where to meet the tour guide. She was efficient otherwise. We weren't dropped off at the Plaka, but towards the historical site, and had to walk back, though she gave good directions.
Reviewer: Sandra Doncaster
4 Stars
Awesome Acropolis!
December 17, 2016
While taking our bus ride through Athens, we got a good history of this very large struggling city. Hiking up to the top of the Acropolis and seeing the continued rebuilding of this iconic landmark was great! We were on our own so everyone could go at their own pace. The views were wonderful too! The modern and multiple floor museum was just beautiful and full of so much history. Last stop was Plaka which was just ok...lots of shops with much of the same items for purchase.
Reviewer: Annette
4 Stars
History well worth refreshing
December 14, 2016
We enjoyed our guide and the tour immensely, but be for warned, bring toilet paper for the bathroom and you have an additional charge to go up to the Acropolis. The tour was well worth the charge and the views are amazing. Go soon as they are restoring a lot of the area. We saw 80% of original.
Reviewer: Louis Suarez
5 Stars
Athens, Acropolis and Plaka
December 13, 2016
An excellent tour, well paced with a terrific guide. I particularly appreciated that the guide took her time guiding the group up to the Acropolis, stopping in the shade a number of times to talk about the history and sights in the distance, so that the walk up was not overly taxing. The drive around Athens featuring various sights was good and a top in the Plaka for refreshment and/or shopping was appreciated at the end of the tour.
Reviewer: Jane Johnson
5 Stars
Athens bus tour, Acropolis and Plaka
December 12, 2016
I would highly recommend this tour as an excellent appreciation not only of the ancient ruins but also as an overview of the city of Athens. Visiting the first Olympic stadium, seeing the university, and many other sights in transit was valuable. We appreciated the knowledge of our guide, assistance with tickets and her excellent clear communication not only of the sights but on our places to meet or reconnect. Our free time to explore the acropolis and the plaka allowed self exploration and appreciation of Greek culture and life.
Reviewer: Sandy/Ben Vandecamp
5 Stars
Amazing Acropolis
December 12, 2016
We really enjoyed this tour. Every single detail was as promised and on time. Our guide Nena was so knowledgeable and approachable, and gave us a good commentary on the half-hour ride in from Piraeus, covering local history and some of the highlights that we could see from the bus in passing. At the Acropolis, we had a little trouble hearing her because of the crowds and competing tours, but in no way was that the fault of the Expedia tour or our guide. A little bit of rain spoiled the experience somewhat and so we headed back a little faster than we might have. The only thing I would have appreciated is a small handout map of the Plaka so we could explore a little without fear of missing our bus.
Reviewer: Irena
4 Stars
Amaizing City
December 09, 2016
Great way to see the highlights of Athens when you have only a short time to visit. The Parthenon was amazing. Our guide provided a lot of interesting info about the city - past and present.
Reviewer: Franco
4 Stars
Great tour
December 01, 2016
Our tour guide was very knowledgable. She covered all the important sites of Athens within the time frame of our tour. A terrific day.
Reviewer: Loren Kruger
5 Stars
Worth the cost!
November 21, 2016
Excellent excursion and great tour guide!
Reviewer: MH
5 Stars
Athens review
November 16, 2016
Easy to find. Guide on time and efficient. Enthusiastic and knowledgeable!
Reviewer: Theresa Kelly
5 Stars
Outstanding service
November 15, 2016
We toured with ""Effie"" who was knowledgable and fun. The tour really only consisted of a very pleasant bus ride to Athens with commentary by Effie and we were then let loose to explore on our own, which was fine. I thought there was great value for what we paid.
Reviewer: Robert Hebron
5 Stars
acropoulos
November 14, 2016
Overall, the tour and service was good. Unfortunately our guide was way too knowledgable....gave enormous amount of information and "lost"98% of the group from the very beginning. On the bus ride to the site, he rambled on....I though he was reading from a textbook. He was like your brilliant college professor that could not come down to a students level.
Reviewer: NanTcy
3 Stars
Wish we had more time
November 12, 2016
The guide was great and very informative. The crowds were unbelievable and I wish we had more time on the tour to see the Agora etc.
Reviewer: Heidi Falletta
4 Stars
Athens
November 06, 2016
Excellent
Reviewer: Paul Angel
5 Stars
Athens
November 02, 2016
Very well organised tour. Very informative guide. Plenty free time in the Plaka to sample the local delicacies. Local wines etc.
Reviewer: George Sim
5 Stars
Athens in a Few Hours
October 07, 2016
This was a very informative tour. We did not have days in the area so decided to take this comprehensive tour. It was fun, educational, and just what we needed for the short time we had in the area.
Reviewer: Carrie Summers
5 Stars
Good Guide
October 07, 2016
Excellent excursion with very good guide Nickolas and driver Costa
Reviewer: anatoli
4 Stars
athens
September 28, 2016
Tour guide was very good.
Reviewer: Peter Dominic
4 Stars
Great experience
August 18, 2016
Worth the money and seemed to be a better bargain than the excursions offered through the cruise. The guide was informative and very friendly. It was the right balance of guided tour and free exploration.
Reviewer: Lauren Butler
5 Stars
Terrific Experience
June 04, 2016
I usually am not a fan of guided tours, but we didn't feel comfortable going into Athens from Piraeus by ourselves. This tour proved to be fantastic. Our guide, Ana, was tremendously knowledgable about both Ancient Greek history and modern political, social issues. Being within ""touching distance"" of the Propylaea, the Erectheum, and the Parthenon, was the fulfillment of a lifelong dream, and witnessing the changing of the guard at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier was an unexpected added bonus. The tour was well done and well worth the expense.
Reviewer: Classical Scholar
5 Stars
Athens, the old and the new
June 02, 2016
Excellent tour guide again. I think Joanna was her name and she is a native of Greece. Spoke excellent English which always makes it easier to enjoy the tour when you're learning about so many new things. She gave lot's of interesting insights about the city old and new as we tooled along. Athens is a huge city and it's ancient history is really brought out in this tour which included us hiking up to the Parthenon, which is jaw dropping in it's magnitude and location high above the city. There was about an hour to see some of the shopping and restaurants nearby where the tour ended. This was good also.
Reviewer: Bluuangel
5 Stars
Exc value, guide was kind, polite and well informe
June 01, 2016
From the moment we were met at the port until we were taken back, the guide was informative and interesting. We were given a great deal of information about Piraeus and its history which was an added bonus. The guide's personality added to the experience he was kind, considerate and had a good sense of humour.
Reviewer: n/a
5 Stars
I would probably use this again.
May 26, 2016
Enjoyed this very much. Have Always wanted to see it.
Reviewer: Deberoon
4 Stars
Outstanding views and Museum
May 23, 2016
We could not climb the 200 steps to walk about the Acropolis. Our guide suggested going to the museum. It is modern and new. As you enter the museum you walk across viewing glass that enables you to see what an excavation looks like. The museum contains outstanding artifacts that have been recovered. On the top floor is a cafeteria and outdoor cafe. Both have view of the Acropolis? They serve large portions of outstanding baklava with ice cream, and great tea.
Reviewer: Thumperslady
4 Stars
I would use shore excursions again.
May 19, 2016
They were all great.
Reviewer: Cathy
5 Stars
Experience both ancient and modern Athens in a few
February 29, 2016
With only a day to visit Athens, the excursion provided the opportunity to visit the ancient monuments as well as shopping for typical Greek items in the Plaka.
Reviewer: MediterraneanCruiser
5 Stars
Excellent Tour of Acropolis
December 27, 2015
Guide had 30 years experience, excellent English. Comfortable van. Only 7 guests.
Reviewer: name and took me to the van
5 Stars
Lots to see, good guide
December 06, 2015
Good trip - great stuff to see, just right amounts of time each place.
Reviewer: peoplebuilder
4 Stars
History comes alive including St Paul preaching on
November 26, 2015
Free time is OK but I would have appreciated a suggestion to consider visiting the new museum near the Plaka.
Reviewer: Canadian
4 Stars
Lived up to my expectations!
November 23, 2015
Very enjoyable tour of Athens. The stay in the Plaka was a bit too long for me. Spent a lot of time just sitting, waiting for the trip back to the pier.
Reviewer: Travelin' Nate
5 Stars
What a view!!!
November 17, 2015
The Acropolis is amazing. Make sure to take in the 360 degree view of Athens. We were able to spend all the time we wanted on our own, exploring and reading the information on the signs. Don't forget to go completely around on the other side of the Acropolis to read all signs on the back side.
Reviewer: cruisinGma
5 Stars
Wonderful experience in Athens
November 15, 2015
Knowledgeable, well-spoken guide made this excursion a highlight of our vacation.
Reviewer: Dique
5 Stars
Excellent day in Athens when on a cruise
November 15, 2015
This shore excursion was excellent value,it took us to the main ""must-see"" places in Athens when our time there was limited because we were on a cruise. The activity had a balance of guided touring and some free time where we could choose to explore more of the plaka. Excellent guide, very good English. We needed to get a new camera and the guide was helpful in getting us to a place near the port where we could buy a camera.
Reviewer: Happy retiree
4 Stars
Nice day in Athens
November 14, 2015
Was nice to be in a small group-guided tour, only 7 of us plus the guide. Be prepared to walk a lot of inclines/stairs up to the Acropolis, and be prepared for a lot of construction/scaffolding around the ruins. But all in all, a great day, wish we could have stayed longer at the Plaka instead of getting back to the cruise pier/terminal early, as there is nothing by the pier. But with every excursion, we appreciated our guides an we were never close to missing our departure time
Reviewer: Natalie
4 Stars
Excellent tour
November 12, 2015
Very good tour excellent guide
Reviewer: Gloria the traveler
5 Stars
Great excursion
November 11, 2015
The service was as expected The timing great
Reviewer: Juan
5 Stars
Exclusive Athens with free time ine the Plaka
November 11, 2015
I simply regret that the guides are all English-speaking.
Reviewer: Bolabas
4 Stars
very knowledgeable guide
November 11, 2015
Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about Athens, the building of the Acropolis and surrounding buildings, the history of the area. There was far too much ""free time"" afterwards as there is absolutely nothing to do in the Greek market she pointed us to after the sightseeing. She took her time getting up to the Acropolis, allowing those who couldn't climb easily, to catch up with the group. She answered questions and made history come to life. It was an unbelievable experience
Reviewer: gitty
4 Stars
Impressive Acropolis
November 06, 2015
Our group of 7 really enjoyed it. Thanks!
Reviewer: SeaPro
5 Stars
excellent and scenic tour
October 26, 2015
The historical aspects of the tour was excellent. Loved the scenery. Our tour guide named (Dora) made the tour very uncomfortable because she was very short with us. Everything else was great
Reviewer: world explorer
4 Stars
Excellent Guide
October 25, 2015
Good introduction to Athens, very professionally guided and driven in a frantic city. Good general information given as well as specific to the tour.
Reviewer: MW
4 Stars
A glance in the past
October 21, 2015
The tour guide was very knowledgeable. She did a great job trying to keep our group together and give us the information. It was very crowded while we were going up, a lot less so when we left. I put this excursion in the ""have to see"" category but somewhat underwhelming. We stayed on after the tour to spend time at Zeus's temple, and explore the market. No problems returning to the ship on time.
Reviewer: DrLisa
4 Stars
Exceeded my expectations!
September 11, 2015
Clear, visible signs of the Shoreexcusions Group right by the Cruise. The guide was definitely experienced and excites us with her presentations and guide. Clean and comfortable bus dropped us at the closest spot where we are going. I would definitely use the services again and highly recommend to others.
Reviewer: Jae
5 Stars
Excellent guide
September 02, 2015
We purchased this tour as a package of six excursions. The guide for this day was great. He stuck to the itinerary perfectly, was very knowledgeable and interesting, and took very good care of us. A complementary bottle of water was provided on the bus, which we refilled all day long. This tour operator really did a good job all around.
Reviewer: cel
5 Stars
Wonderful excursion
August 22, 2015
Being part of a small group we were able to get through the thousands of tourists waiting in the queques so quickly. Our guide was easily able to talk to us and was very professional and interesting. He provided us with water and made sure we were comfortable in the extreme heat.
Reviewer: Greg
5 Stars
wow what an experience
August 18, 2015
easy to book on-line good value well organised
Reviewer: the happy band
5 Stars
Interesting guide/small group
August 17, 2015
The best things about our Cruises.com excursions were the very interesting guides and the smaller than usual groups. On this excursion, our guide was very careful to ensure he kept us in the shade, offered very informative explanations of everything visited, and provided detailed directions as to our meeting place at the end of the day. Cruises.com excursions beat the cruise line tours every time in value.
Reviewer: Cheryl
5 Stars
Athens
July 30, 2015
Guides easy to find. Personalable. In spite of the insecure Greek economy, we experienced no problems.
Reviewer: Frisky seniors
4 Stars
Worth it
July 28, 2015
The Acropolis is BUSY and there is great potential for a slip or a fall. First of all, the lineups for people not on a tour were very long and it was very hot. Our guide was allowed to get our tickets at the front of the line. She also was skilled in stopping at less busy spots for photos and on the history. Great value!
Reviewer: Jojo
5 Stars
Great excursion!
July 20, 2015
Our guide was great. Very concerned about keeping the group together. It would have helped to have headphones as it would get loud at times with the number of people visiting the site and one is not always right next to her to hear her. Otherwise it was great!
Reviewer: Traveler
4 Stars
Wonderful Visit to the Acropolis
July 09, 2015
Maria was our guide and she was very informative during the tour. Walk up to the Acropolis wasn't as bad as I had envisioned it to be, although it was a little slippery. Time at the Plaka was enough to shop and have a bite to eat.
Reviewer: Mary
5 Stars
Great guide and use of time!!!
July 06, 2015
Everything was ""as advertised"" and the guide and driver were excellent.
Reviewer: taxiu7
5 Stars
OK
July 06, 2015
Good organize
Reviewer: POL
4 Stars
Wonderful day out!
June 17, 2015
The trip was well organised and ran on time. guide (apologies but I can't remember her name) was wonderful. Friendly and very informative. she was also very good at ensuring the group stayed together, even tho' we had several wanderers. A highly recommended excursion that really only needs to be longer to be perfect, however, the time constraints of the cruise day also have to be taken into account.
Reviewer: Nicola
4 Stars
used mainly for the transportation
June 16, 2015
We mainly used this for the transportation to the plaka, was a good way to see some of the city with a guide, good commentary. It was very hot for those who walked up to the Parthenon, but you have to do it if you are there!we spend time in the Plaka on our own, (we had done the Parthenon before and it was too hot for my elderly mom) enjoyed the little tourist train ride and wandering around the area. our guide was very good
Reviewer: Molson
4 Stars
Terrific tour... Guide Great !!!
June 15, 2015
Our guide was excellent.. Explained history w/ a passion. Excellent speaking ability. Nice flow of tour, easy walking.
Reviewer: Buck
5 Stars
Athens
May 19, 2015
N/a
Reviewer: Dave
5 Stars
Good tour!
March 28, 2015
We did this tour in July 2014. The guide was very knowledgeable and the bus service was good. Be prepared for a lot of walking up to the Acropolis. We were a bit disappointed by the quality of the food at the plaka though. Seemed like a tourist trap. It would be great if the tour operator makes recommendations in the future.
Reviewer: Krish and family
4 Stars
Great historical revelations
February 16, 2015
I took this excursion while on a cruise. The price was less than the cruise line's plus the group was much smaller. The guide was very knowledgeable and I could see and hear everything he was explaining. Excellent!
Reviewer: Ms Terry
5 Stars
Should have 2-3 more stops for pictures
January 24, 2015
Joined two of your trips during this cruise .. none of them tried to sqeeze any tips which were great .. Wish the Athens excusion give us couple more stops at the famous tourist stops .. allowing us more photo opportunities
Reviewer: eleung9
4 Stars
A less crowded Acropolis
December 30, 2014
We definitely made the right choice in visiting in December. The weather was perfect and the Acropolis while teeming with tourists was far less crowded then in the summer months. The tour bus was very nice, our tour guide extremely knowledgeable and the tour was half the price of that offered by Norwegian. Great experience.
Reviewer: Kevin L
4 Stars
Don't judge a book by its cover
December 30, 2014
Things that are great about it
Reviewer: Solstar
4 Stars
Good value
December 30, 2014
Saw most of the highlights of the area. Tour guide well informed. I left a book on the bus. I called the office within 1/2hr of leaving bus but received no response from the office. I wonder how would I have contacted the people if I had an emergency. They weren't available at the contact number. This is the only negative I have, the immediate unavailability of local personnel .
Reviewer: lost package
4 Stars
A Real Hit and a Great Time
December 13, 2014
Saw the Acropolis and the outstanding view from there, the new Stadium, the Presidential Guard at the Parliament building and even had free time to shop in the Plaka. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and very friendly.
Reviewer: Millersan
5 Stars
Great tour!!! Exhausting, but worth it!
November 03, 2014
We did two ships tours and two of your tours on this cruise. The ships tours were WAY more expensive and very little value in comparison. From now on I hope to only do Cruise Specialists tours.
Reviewer: Cruiser
4 Stars
Great excursion, with good flexibility
November 02, 2014
This was a very good way to spend a half day in Athens, it was easy enough for my 70 yr old parents and still interesting enough for the rest of us. With a good option for extra time to wander the city afterwards if wanted.
Reviewer: Denise
4 Stars
Quick overview
October 15, 2014
A very enjoyable experience. The Acropolis required climbing a lot of steps and some were quite slippery. The Plaka was great fun. My only complaint is that they took us back to the ship with more than 2 hours to go before we sailed and it would have been great to spend ay least some of that time in the Plaka. Our guide was excellent!
Reviewer: motownjane
4 Stars
Informative Tour
October 14, 2014
Our guide was very informative. We had a great excursion from the minute of pick up to drop off. The bus and guides were on time for the pick-up at the ship and returned us to the ship within the specified time. The historic sites were a once in a lifetime experience and the free time in the Plaka area was well worth it.
Reviewer: christeph
4 Stars
A memorable trip
October 14, 2014
Ancient Greek History is just amazing. Our tour guide, Miss Gemma EconomoPoulou, is very friendly, knowledgeable and well organized. She is a lady and a scholar and well desired all the credit.
Reviewer: AF
5 Stars
Wow!
October 04, 2014
I loved Athens!! I would definitely go back there again. The hike to the Parthenon was not too bad and well worth it. I didn't get to spend as much time in the Plaka as I wanted, but we find a great restaurant for lunch while there.
Reviewer: Traveler Tam
5 Stars
I would recommend this tour to anyone.
October 02, 2014
Everything was exactly as advertised. Guides spoke excellent English, and were passionate about their subjects.
Reviewer: John from Texas
5 Stars
Nice trip to Anthens
September 26, 2014
The tour guide's English is very well. She explained very clearly
Reviewer: Po the gold
5 Stars
Great shore excursion
September 06, 2014
Some of our shore excursions we went through the cruise line. We decided to try this one, and we are so glad we did. There were only 20 of us on the bus, compared to multiple buses packed. Our guide was right there off the ship with a sign waiting for us. She was very authorative, knowledgeable and very personable. In a big crowd, she did a great job keeping track of us all. She stopped along the climb up to give us a break in shade and provide us historical information. I would highly recommend this tour. We decided to stay in the Plaka longer than provided as we had fun eating and shopping. I would recommend they give more time for this portion as we only had about an hour since the Acropolis was packed the day we went.
Reviewer: newmans912
5 Stars
Wonderful Tour
August 13, 2014
Athens was the first stop in our 9port cruise. We were just BLOWN AWAY by the history of Athens. Our guide was WELL educated and explained so much about the building of the Acropolis, downtown, and surrounding area. PLEASE NOTE: this tour stops at the guarded tomb of the fallen soldiers, past the National Museum and on to Plaka where shopping opportunities abound. We at lunch at a local restaurant. KNOW you will be charged 1Euro just to sit down, but our food was well worth it!
Reviewer: Kim Globetrots
4 Stars
very enjoyable and informative
July 23, 2014
We were met at the cruise ship terminal by our delightful guide(sorry can't remember her name)Our guide was very informative and interesting ,with an immense knowledge of our sites visited.
Reviewer: G&D
5 Stars
Wonderful Athens
June 26, 2014
Wonderfully friendly & educated guide..spoke excellent English and was super knowledgeable!!
Reviewer: LeslieC
5 Stars
Superior Guide
June 06, 2014
Very complete loved everything about it
Reviewer: Snowman
5 Stars
GREAT TOUR
June 06, 2014
The city of Athens was so-so, however, the Acropolis and Parthenon was amazing to see. Luckily, it was a beautiful day so the views were beautiful! It was a bit more strenuous than we thought. Crowded, steep and the climb was a bit much. Worth it though. Glad we had enough time to relax and have a glass of wine afterwards.
Reviewer: LINDA'S TRAVELS
5 Stars
Athens with free time
June 06, 2014
Enjoyed the history as well as the free time to shop and have a local food experience. Good tour, but I wished for more!
Reviewer: Fancy
4 Stars
Great experience and wonderful guide
May 23, 2014
excellent guide and excellent bus
Reviewer: Jim
5 Stars
A great time was had by all
February 16, 2014
The guide was excellent. We liked the personal service we received. We will definitely recommend Shore Excursions group to all our friends, family & co workers. We plan to use them again on our next trip to Alaska in the spring. We wished we had booked all of our excursions threw them. Great experience. Loved every minute!
Reviewer: Tracey was thrilled
4 Stars
History of Athens at its Best
February 02, 2014
Guide was very knowledgeable and easy to understand. She made the excursion enjoyable as well as making it informative regarding the history of Athens.
Reviewer: Cakelady
4 Stars
Excellent Tour
December 15, 2013
The tour was excellent. Tour guide was good. Enjoyed the tour. Worth the money.
Reviewer: Diane
4 Stars
Athens must join excursion
December 02, 2013
Tour guide very experienced and explained meet up time and place well. A bit too detail in explanation inside the Acropolis.
Reviewer: Young retiree
4 Stars
Tour was good despite unrest in Athens
November 29, 2013
Guide was first rate. Fluent in English. Very responsive to questions.
Reviewer: STU
4 Stars
Good introduction to Athens
November 22, 2013
This tour of Athens proper was a good overview/intro to the city for first time visitors. There were not a lot of stops to see things closer. If you do not want to go to or up to the Parthenon then you have extra time to wander around the Plaka which was very enjoyable. There are a lot of nice shops with very nice owners/clerks & restaurants. Our guide was very nice and provided interesting information and facts about Greece, Athens, and live in the city. Overall a very enjoyable tour.
Reviewer: Dlh
4 Stars
Good tour
November 22, 2013
Optional tour should be included. Otherwise there is no tour, just a drop to shop. Guide was very good.
Reviewer: Linda
4 Stars
A pleasant trip
November 19, 2013
I like our guide who is very knowledgeable, polite, and cheerful. Too bad we encountered a big rain on top of the mountain, everybody was drained, which kind of ruined the rest of the day.
Reviewer: Nanie
4 Stars
Athens is amazing
November 08, 2013
This was an amazing place. It poured rain but was still very beautiful. My only down side was that it is so crowded.
Reviewer: dannyjoe
4 Stars
Thoroughly enjoyable experience
October 29, 2013
The best thing about this tour was that it started on time and were met by the guide as stated in the tour schedule. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and took questions from the people in the tour bus to make it simpler and enjoyable experience. Unlike other tours, no stopping at market stalls which made a difference in quality time spent on tour.
Reviewer: Inder
4 Stars
Great Value
October 21, 2013
Guide was knowledgeable and professionally conducted the tour including providing an outstanding tour of the ruins with plenty of time to expore and take pictures on our own.
Reviewer: eelliot
5 Stars
Very nice tour!
October 17, 2013
.
Reviewer: Jane the traveller
4 Stars
Athens overview
October 06, 2013
Guide was excellent There were so many ships in shore so she juggled the order of activites a bit and the queues were much better
Reviewer: CCKS
4 Stars
He did a great job
September 26, 2013
The guide did a wonderful job, he was humorous, organized and knowledgeable with good information. He was able to answer several questions that were not normally a part of his presentation. He covered those items well. Highly recommend him for the future tours.
Reviewer: Don't remember guide's name.
5 Stars
Good way to see a lot!
September 26, 2013
This was a good excursion- the group was small about 20 people. Our tour guide was very well spoken and was able to answer every question easily. My only critisism would be that I would have liked more time at the plaka and less time at the acropolis as the acropolis was packed with people and it would have been nice to walk around the plaka longer.
Reviewer: Miamary
4 Stars
EXCELLENT VALUE/ WOW, WELL WORTH THE $$
September 23, 2013
MUCH BETTER VALUE THAN PURCHASING SHORE EXCURSIONS FROM CRUISELINES
Reviewer: MOVER
5 Stars
nice tour
August 28, 2013
Very nice tour. Interesting tour guide with fabulous Englsih and information.
Reviewer: emwtravelmom
4 Stars
Wonderful tour if first time there
August 27, 2013
Good tour
Reviewer: Gail from usa
4 Stars
Athens
August 21, 2013
I liked this guide. Great personality, well informed, able to communicate. Too much information for me personally. I got bored at each spot, wanting to move on. I did move on, leaving the group as I wanted more time for pictures, which were more important to me than all the historical info I would not remember. Pictures I would remember.
Reviewer: Mona
4 Stars
the plaka was great
August 21, 2013
people do not want pay extra to get into everything ,include it in the price if you take them there.
Reviewer: steve
4 Stars
Great overview of a great city!
July 22, 2013
Excellent tour, knowledgeable guide, easy to get to and from our ship. Best Greek food of our trip.
Reviewer: k
5 Stars
Well organized, unbelievable sights!!!
July 17, 2013
Incredible sights, highly knowledgeable and personable English guide. Helped us understand current culture as well as ancient culture.
Reviewer: kp
5 Stars
Very good trip for history buffs.
June 18, 2013
The guide was very knowledgable and very helpful.
Reviewer: Kaveri
4 Stars
Great Tour
June 13, 2013
Very informative guide & well run tour.
Reviewer: Vicstictok
5 Stars
Perfect Headline
June 10, 2013
My husband and I have now used SEG on four excursions - all were great and a considerable savings compared to the cruise line tours. Will recommend and use again.
Reviewer: KareBear
4 Stars
Enjoyed it
June 06, 2013
We had an excellent tour guide. Thanks for choosing such a knowledgeable guide. We were glad to be part of a group that was separate from the many cruise bus tours. I was glad to have prebooked the tours. We had no difficulty finding our bus, which had been a worry for us. Perhaps more instructions how/where to meet our bus would have helped. People did miss the bus.
Reviewer: Curious travellers
4 Stars
Good time in Athens
June 06, 2013
The tour itself of Athens was average with nothing that you would rag about. The most enjoyable part of the tour was the 3 hours of free time we had to explore onlurown.
Reviewer: Captain bill
4 Stars
Take this great tour!
June 05, 2013
We were picked up promptly from the cruise ship terminal. We enjoyed our full day in a smaller group with a tour guide who described all our sites and gave us so much information ....from a very experienced local. We would have liked to have started earlier since the acropolis was open and already very very busy by the time we got there. Most of the ship excursions were already there. This would have allowed more time in Plaka which felt rushed.
Reviewer: Suzy Q
4 Stars
Great day
June 01, 2013
I use the product while I'm on a cruise. We can always find an excursion that fits with our preferences (mostly sightseeing). Great guide always and well organized, great value.
Reviewer: Tards
5 Stars
Great Excursion
May 31, 2013
It was nice to have a guided tour to take us to major cultural sites, yet have our own free time to walk around, shop, eat, and expeirience ourself.
Reviewer: Sandy
5 Stars
Perfect Tour
May 21, 2013
We had the most fabulous guide. We mentioned there was a site we wanted to visit and she escorted us there during our free time in the Plaka. Maria went above and beyond. We could not have asked for more.
Reviewer: Amy G
5 Stars
Great Athens
January 28, 2013
Transportation was great, tour guide exceptional. We wished there was more time.
Reviewer: Lolin
5 Stars
Nice tour informative guide
December 21, 2012
The scenery was fabulous
Reviewer: None
4 Stars
Good guide with good language skills
December 11, 2012
Will recommend this package to friends
Reviewer: Bud
4 Stars
Great Tour, knowledgeable Guide
December 03, 2012
Enjoyed the commentary by the tour guide. Well organized. Great value for the money.
Reviewer: Big Vic
4 Stars
Excellent value
November 23, 2012
Excellent guide with excellent English and answered questions well and in detail (some guides only know prepared questions). Excellent itinerary to view the main sites of Athens and then lots of time at the Acropolis. Suggest you extend time by 30 - 60 mins for more free time in the Plaka - time to shop and have a drink
Reviewer: derflo
5 Stars
Excellent guide
November 19, 2012
Our guide Nana was excellent. She was very knowledgeable and explained the history and facts in a way we all enjoyed. There were six of us and we all agreed it was a great day and good value.
Reviewer: Susandeb
4 Stars
Very good tour of Athens highlights
October 19, 2012
Since there were over 30 on this tour an extra bus was added. Group sizes were 22 and 10
Reviewer: Woburnci
4 Stars
Enjoyable Trip
October 03, 2012
Guide spoke English well and was easy to understand. She kept the tour moving so that all points were covered and there was no worry about missing our ship.
Reviewer: Newly Retired
4 Stars
Great Tour
September 19, 2012
I really enjoyed the tour - the bus was clean and comfortable, the guide knowledgeable, and we had time for shopping after doing the steps. Being in a small group was a real advantage since we could maneuver around all the large tour groups with ease.
Reviewer: Em
4 Stars
Well worth it
August 12, 2012
Great guide and well worth it
Reviewer: Dalton
5 Stars
Comfortable Bus, Knowledgeable Guide
August 06, 2012
The summer heat wiped out the folks who did the Acropolis walking tour part of our excursion. We did not, and had plenty of time to find a cool taverna, shop, and look around. Would like the first couple of rows reserved for handicapped access. After stowing my mobility scooter and doing the stairs into the bus, we were last in the bus and it was difficult to walk down the aisles to look for seats.
Reviewer: 2patbounce
4 Stars
I would book again.
July 31, 2012
The guide was great.
Reviewer: Wayne
5 Stars
Great trip to Athens & the Acropolis
July 26, 2012
The bus was brand new & aurconditioned. Our Guide spoke very good English & was very knowledgable. The trip was great, & the Acropolis was amazing. We had a brief stop at the Olympic stadium, then onto the Acropolis & then free time in Plaka. The only problem was we didn't have much time at the Acropolis to have a good look around as the crowds were huge & it took quite a while to reach the top. Even so this trip was worth every cent & we really enjoyed it. It was a lot cheaper than those offered by the cruise line & every bit as good. I would highyly recommend it.
Reviewer: Aussie travellers
5 Stars
Knowledgeable Guide
July 25, 2012
Our guide was very informative and gave concise knowledge about what we were viewing. The tour was well organized.
Reviewer: DMMLAL
5 Stars
Ok, this was easy.
July 25, 2012
Just get a transfer and whoosh you are in the city. It was an easy ride. Just wish the pick-up time was earlier in the a.m. and the return was later. This would have been helpful. The bus guide was terrific and knowledgeable. Quick and easy.....what else can you ask?
Reviewer: Segway Dan
5 Stars
Hot Time in Athens
July 05, 2012
Hot and Crowded in Athens - NO SURPRISE. Glad that we were with a knowledgable guide. Plenty of time to see the sites and have a relaxing lunch. Highly Recommended.
Reviewer: Don
4 Stars
Excellent value; superb guide; nice tran
June 17, 2012
Excellent guide; Less cost but better tour than ship.Highly recommend Shore Excursions based on our first experience with four booked excursions. We were initially apprhensive, but would absolutely use the service again.
Reviewer: Thomas
5 Stars
Good Value, better than ship excursions
June 03, 2012
I would book again with shore excursions
Reviewer: Pat
5 Stars