Barcelona & Montserrat

Great Full Day Tour
November 27, 2022
First stop Montserrat and the Black Madonna. We bought our tickets for the Madonna and we the train down the mountain for a different view. Once up top our guide showed us around the church we got in line for the Madonna. Remember what day you are there and what time they close the Church and the Madonna viewing. We almost didn't get in for the viewing of the Madonna we needed a reservation. I begged to get in to the line to see the Madonna and we were the last to view her as they closed for 2 hours while church was on. We got lucky. The train ride down was beautiful. Back in Barcelona we had a driving tour with stops at Park Guell (tickets included), Sagrada Familia and to the top of the city were you could see the whole city all at once. All these were amazing. Then a drive through old town and the day was finished. One thing to remember to bring is snacks this is a full day with a little bit of time to get food and on a Sunday the places we went were very busy.
Reviewer: Jackie Weinkam
5 Stars
Barcelona and Montserrat
September 25, 2022
Ver knowledgeable guide. I just wish there was enough time to line up to see the black Madonna.The tour was excellent overall to be able to cover both Barcelona and Montserrat.
Reviewer: Marife Sabio
5 Stars
Barcelona & Montserrat Tour
May 31, 2022
Tour and guide were awesome. A wonderful experience.
Reviewer: Charles Kenzig
5 Stars
Great day!
November 07, 2019
One of the highlights of the cruise for us was this day in Barcelona and Montserrat. The views from Montserrat were stunning and the small group left you with the ability to see more in less time. Barcelona with its focus on the Gaudi architecture was an absolute delight. Would highly recommend this tour if you’re coming to Barcelona.
Reviewer: Wayne Moore
4 Stars
Barcelona & Montserrat Tour
November 04, 2019
It was a wonderful trip, well organized. Even though there were some issues in Barcelona at the time, our guide and bus driver took very good care of us and made sure we made it to our pick up/drop off point with no problems.
Reviewer: Yvonne Russell
5 Stars
Loved it!
November 02, 2019
They picked us up at our hotel as planned. When we got to the meeting place our guide called the taxi to say she was running late, He left us on the corner to wait for our Guide to arrive. She was there in about 10 minutes. She was great. very well spoken and a wealth of information. We really loved having a small group (14 of us) it was easy to keep track of people and everyone was very responsible to keep track of our meeting times. Would have liked a longer stay at Montserrat to explore more, but it was fine. When we got back she had a taxi take us and another couple back to our hotel - except he dropped us a few blocks away and we had to figure out where we were and how to find out hotel, little unnerving. I would take another tour with Marta again.
Reviewer: John Boscarino
4 Stars
Montserrat monastary
October 21, 2019
We traveled from Barcelona by air conditioned bus through the scenic mountains to Monserrat. Olive groves dot the hillsides as well as quaint small towns. You are above the clouds when you arrive to the expansive grounds of the monastery. Plan lots of time to see the beautiful architecture as well as scenery. Take the train or walk paths to the cross on the bluff. Eat lunch and buy souvenirs at the stores or get local products from street vendors. On Sunday, you can hear the boys choir if you go early for the limited seating. Coming back down to Barcelona by a different route, our knowledgeable guide Bernard gave us insights into Gaudi designed buildings that we toured walking in the downtown area. This tour picks you up at the port or hotel and returns you before your ship leaves or takes care of your luggage and drops you at a downtown hotel for an overnight stay. I highly recommend it.
Reviewer: Bruce Efflandt
5 Stars
Enjoyable tour
October 13, 2019
A well run tour. They were a little late picking us up at the ship, but the bus was a comfortable size & the guides were personable & knowledgeable. Montserrat was stunning once the clouds cleared. And since we arrived in the morning, it was only moderately crowded. Do not visit there later in the day or you might wait an hour plus just to get in. Part 2 of the tour was visiting several Gaudi sites in Barcelona. We had already toured La Sagrada Familia on a previous tour where we went inside the cathedral, so this second visit focused on the outside in greater detail. But be aware that you will not get to see the interior on this tour, which is HIGHLY worth seeing. Park Guell was very nice. And then as part of the tour they dropped each of us off at our hotel or the airport which was great.
Reviewer: steve
5 Stars
Wonderful!
September 23, 2019
We loved that this was a small group excursion and that it included hotel pick up for us. Joseph was polite, knowledgeable and attentive to our needs as tourists. We visited Montserrat in the morning to avoid the huge crowds which, based upon the long line when we were leaving, was the right choice. A lot of sites toured in one excursion. Would recommend for anyone looking for the small group experience.
Reviewer: Mary Wozniak
5 Stars
Barcelona and Monserrat
September 20, 2019
Excellent tour guide who was extremely knowledgeable about all aspects of each site and of general history of the area. Marta was passionate about her job! The tour was small and the transportation was very comfortable. The tour was on time and met us in the lobby which was so convenient. Also. Marta was easy to keep up with! Each site that we visited was wonderful. Montserrat was amazing!
Reviewer: Susan Owens
5 Stars
Really liked this tour
July 31, 2019
We enjoyed this historical tour, there was a lot to see.
Reviewer: Marcus Weitzman
5 Stars
Barelona & Montserrat
June 13, 2019
We had one of the best tour guides ever. She really knew Barcelona, had also lived in the US, so was very relatable. The weather was very rainy, but it didn't spoil the excursion. We fell in love with Barcelona and part of the reason was this excursion. Montserrat is not to be missed. Even in the rain. Just wish we could have seen more of Parc Guell through the raindrops, but at least we have a feel for the place! I highly recommend this tour.
Reviewer: Bill Honey
5 Stars
One of the best excursions of our trip
June 09, 2019
This was a really wonderful experience. The guide was friendly and really knowledgeable, a real pleasure to be with. There's a fair amount of walking on this tour, and the pace is moderate. You get some time on your own at Montserrat, but is goes pretty quickly, we ended up the last people back to our bus and were actually late by about 5 minutes. All we did was grab a bite to eat, a very small amount of souvenir shopping and listen to the choir for 10 or 15 minutes. That said, we loved Barcelona and would love to come back again. The tour was a perfect 1 day introduction to this lovely place.
Reviewer: Guy
5 Stars
Another amazing day!
June 08, 2019
Easy to meet right outside the port terminal. Our tour leader/guide was Martha. She is the best!!! Went to all the places described and more, as we got to listen to the boy's choir in Monserrat. We had time enough to walk and appreciate the places. ps. I was on a HAL cruise, and purchase both through the ship and through Shore and believe me Shore Exc were a lot better in content, price, equipment, and organization.
Reviewer: J Lizardi
5 Stars
Land Tour
June 01, 2019
Totally enjoyed our tour with Josep. He was courteous, friendly and knowledgeable on its history.
Reviewer: Dave Pesquira
5 Stars
Barcelona & Montserrat
May 14, 2019
This was an excellent tour led by an excellent guide and great transport driver. All worked extremely smooth!
Reviewer: bill
5 Stars
Montserrat & Barcelona
December 29, 2018
BEST TOUR OF ALL! A privilege to visit the “sacred mountains” of Montserrat - and watch the clouds come up to obscure our view as we left! Barcelona is a huge city, but so clean, well organized & with happy residents who clearly take pride in their Catalonia. I want to go back! Mirabel was our wonderful guide! To be able to get picked up at the pier & be dropped off at our airport hotel was the best choice for us!!!
Reviewer: Katherine Winship
5 Stars
Great overall tour
November 27, 2018
This tour to Montserrat and Barcelona was fantastic and so was our tour guide. She did a great job. Montserrat was beautiful and we loved the tour of Barcelona and all the Gaudi buildings. Only wish we had more free time to explore at Pac Gruel. Amazing!
Reviewer: Sally Higgins
5 Stars
A Great Day
November 14, 2018
This is a packed day. The tour was well planned and very interesting. It was truly a great day, and the cruise ship did not offer a tour that covered everything that this tour had to offer. I would recommend it as a great tour for most anyone.
Reviewer: john r rowland
5 Stars
Monserrat will not disappoint!
October 14, 2018
Almost didn’t do Montserrat. So glad we did! Ended up being one of our favorite stops. The views, the gardens, and the mountain itself… Stunning! The group was small enough, our guide was very knowledgeable and personable. Throw in all the highlights of Barcelona including La Sagrada Familia and it was a perfect day!
Reviewer: Susan Carpenter
5 Stars
Perfectly lovely and informative day!
October 08, 2018
We were in Barcelona for a couple of days prior to embarking on a cruise. This was the perfect tour for us, consolidating both Montserrat and Barcelona in one day. Our guide, Marta, was outstanding. She was extremely knowledgeable and eloquently explained history and all the various sites with passion and pride.
Reviewer: Susan Cimino
5 Stars
Highly Recommended
October 04, 2018
No problem finding the tour at the dock.This is a long tour so be prepared. You need to be able to walk most of the day and do some hills. It fills the whole day but it is worth it to see all the things we viewed. Montserrat is beautiful and our guide worked around the heavy crowds. After a nice lunch you head to Barcelona and see as much as you can with the time you have.
Reviewer: Joseph Sacomano
5 Stars
Fantastic tour
September 26, 2018
My husband and I toured Barcelona and Montserrat less than a month ago. Montserrat was beautiful and we love the city of Barcelona. We really enjoyed our tour guide Elena. She is fun, helpful and helps us develop a love for the local culture. She also helps take beautiful pictures!
Reviewer: Jing Gao
5 Stars
Magnificent Montserrat!
August 13, 2018
Since my wife and I had spent five post-cruise days in Barcelona many years ago, we knew what to expect. Montserrat, on the other hand, was unknown and we considered it merely an "add-on" to the main event...Barcelona. We were wrong! Montserrat is amazing and could itself be a resort destination: two eateries, a cafe, one lodge (plus a large hotel under construction), a world-class art museum, and an awe-inspiring dramatic mountain setting. The Barcelona part of the excursion was good but not great. Too much time visiting the Sagrada Familia--no entering the building but rather a walk to each side with a lengthy presentation at every stop. On the other hand, while Las Ramblas was mentioned several times on the tour we neither stopped there nor had the opportunity to ramble La Rambla (ironic!). I'd give this tour a full five-star rating if it reallocated the time in Barcelona better. Still, I'd highly recommend this tour especially for the small group (about 8 or 9) size.
Reviewer: Bill
4 Stars
Best Ever
May 29, 2018
Barcelona & Montserrat was the best of our 9 excursions on our 27-day cruise. Our guide, Marta, was the most excellent guide we have ever had. She was interesting, easy to understand, and told us about hundreds of facts no one knew about the area. The stops on the excursion were outstanding - the views and monastery at Montserrat, the Gaudi development in the suburbs of Barcelona and the incredible Sagrada Família church (how did we not know about THAT?) Highly recommend!
Reviewer: Kathie Harvey
5 Stars
Barcelona & Montserrat
December 18, 2017
Outstanding our guide Marta was excellent, helped us fall in love with Barcelona & Montserrat. Highly recommend
Reviewer: Deborah
5 Stars
tour review
November 24, 2017
This was a great and informative tour. The tour guide was friendly, gave a lot of information and we covered a great deal of Barcelona in one day. Montserrat was wonderful and we were so happy that we included it in our Barcelona tour. All of the tours we have booked with you have been great, better than the ship offers and best price. Will continue to use your tours in the future and have also recommended them to others on our cruise. Thanks Susan Gross
Reviewer: Suan Gross
5 Stars
Best of Trip
November 13, 2017
We took several excursions on our trip and this was by far the best. Our guide was amazing and the excursion included everything we expected and more.
Reviewer: Amy Cutler
5 Stars
loved it
November 13, 2017
Our tour guide, Marta, was amazing and very knowledgeable. Enjoyed her and the tour immensely.
Reviewer: Peter Jerszynski
5 Stars
Enjoyable, Informative Barcelona-Montserrat To
November 04, 2017
Absolutely wonderful! Our guide Christina was very knowledgeable. Fabulous tours of Sagrada Familia (exterior only), Barcelona City, Montserrat with beautiful scenery and monastic buildings, and complete tour of the famous Gaudi Park in Barcelona, all made for a truly enjoyable,memorable day. Tour lasted about 8 hours with some time to grab a bite to eat and shop. Both our guide and driver were responsible, qualified individuals to lead this tour. If you want to have a thorough tour of these two venues within an 8 hour timeline, this tour would be the one you want. My husband and I highly recommend it. It was well worth the money. Just a tip, with all the issues going on in Barcelona at this time, make sure you call the tour company the day before to confirm your tour and pick up/drop off points. Your hotel pick up and drop off points could change. This was no problem for us because we only had a short 5 min. walk from our hotel to the pick up point, as well as on our return.
Reviewer: K. Enright
5 Stars
Good all day trip!
October 31, 2017
Very much enjoyed this all day trip with an excellent guide, but it didn't start off very well! Almost missed the trip! I had to pay 30 Euros to get back to the Port (we disembarked the day before) where we were supposed to meet the guide - they did not come to get us there! Another tour guide at the Port from a German company actually phoned them for us and they finally did come to pick us up! Another couple had the same issue! It turns out that the tour could have picked us up at our hotel - that was certainly not explicit with your information! Love to get that 30 Euros back - total waste of money (and frustration!) Once on the bus, we had an excellent trip! By the way, our guide was quite upset with this issue as well. The trip was excellent, but certainly not the way it started out - this is why I have a rating of "good"!
Reviewer: Jennifer Putinski
4 Stars
Great Day Tour!
October 21, 2017
Elena was absolutely the best tour guide, better than we could have hoped for! So knowledgeable, friendly and proud of her hometown. Our driver Marcos was very skilled and professional, very courteous. We loved our visit to Montserrat and then made the rounds of Barcelona, including the famed La Sagrada Familia basilica which was definitely a highlight of this tour.
Reviewer: Paula
5 Stars
Barcelona Monsterrat
October 20, 2017
A great tour to see the many highlights of the area. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable. She even taught us Spanish the the Flamenco! The only reason I did not give this tour 5 stars is the organizers tried to do too much in one day and the day was long with travel to Montserrat. Once we arrived to Montserrat there was little time to explore anything. It would have been better to book a separate tour for the distance involved getting there. Overall well done.
Reviewer: Rich Ridenour
4 Stars
THE BEAUTY OF BARCELONA & MONTSERRAT
July 01, 2017
Our tour guide Marta was incredibly professional and well versed in Spain's history and current political and economic issues. Although of Spanish heritage Marta spoke impeccable english! On the van ride up to Montserrat Monastery she explained in great detail what we were going to see and experience. Montserrat exceeded our expectations and I left longing to spend time their some day! Her knowledge of Antonio Gaudi's Guell Park project and Sagrada Familia church was astounding! She answered all our questions and instilled in us an enthusiasm and appreciation of Gaudi's unique perspective and designs. My husband and I also purchased an audio tour of the interior of the church and we were so grateful that we did! I loved Barcelona and hope to return in the near future, and we will make certain to purchase a tour again from your company.
Reviewer: margaret margiotta
5 Stars