Highlights of Montevideo

Exclusive Four Port Best of South America Review
March 03, 2020
We recently used Shore Excursions Group for a number of tours while on a South American cruise in February 2020. We purchased a four pack tour. All in all we were very happy with the excursions and the size of the tour groups. The buses were mid- sized with under 20 people per excursion. Much better than the 30 to 40 people you would have on a cruise ship excursion. The “Highlights of Montevideo” was an interesting overview of the town of Montevideo. Our guide was very passionate about his town and the country of Uruguay. The tour started off in the Old Town and provided a wonderful view of many colonial buildings. From there we went to Independence Square where we were able to walk around and take pictures of some of the more interesting buildings and Central Square. The tour also included stops at the Mercado Agricola Montevideo market and of course the large Montevideo sign overlooking the bay.
Reviewer: JIM MUNSON
4 Stars
Excellent guide
January 12, 2020
Our family of four took this excursion. Because there are only 4 of us, so we ended up having a private tour. The tour guide is an older gentleman (I forgot his name). He is well dressed and looks very professional. He met us at the pier. He took us to old town, explained all the historical buildings and sites. He is very knowledgeable of his country so we get to learn a lot. He worked extremely hard to give us all the information about Montevideo and Uruguay. The only thing that this tour can improve is to spend less time in old town and more time in new part of town and the beautiful beach boulevard. We only drove by those beautiful beach boulevard. I also heard there is a section in Montevideo with many new high rises from other cruise travelers. Old town is ok with history but it looks run-down with so many graffiti. Overall, the tour guide did a fabulous job.
Reviewer: J Wu
5 Stars
A Great Introduction to Montevideo
January 07, 2020
This tour was a small group (5 people plus driver/guide) minivan tour of the city of Montevideo. It was well-done by our driver, who gave us a comprehensive tour of this diverse and beautiful city. Our very personable driver communicated well in English for those who were not Spanish-speakers. This tour is highly recommended and much appreciated !
Reviewer: Richard and Linda Edwards
5 Stars
Montevideo was a highlight of South American
December 04, 2019
Our private guide gave us a great tour of this fabulous city. This town is clean, beautiful and crime free. A huge difference than Rio was. I’d recommend this tour to everyone who travels here. It was not rushed and we really got to know the people by virtue of our wonderful driver/guide. His vehicle was immaculate and he knew all the shortcuts to the sights of this city.
Reviewer: Mark Fisher
5 Stars
Great driver/guide
April 01, 2019
This turned out to be a private tour. What a wonderful driver/guide! He had very good English, scheduled all the parts of the tour to make the best use of time, and showed me SO much! He even heard me talk about some of my interests, so he showed me some of those as well. Wow! Great day!
Reviewer: Alana Wallace
5 Stars
Montevideo
March 31, 2019
Everything was closed since it was Sunday. Tour guide was very pleasant.
Reviewer: oswaldo morales
4 Stars
Montevideo city tour
March 24, 2019
Even though it on has a couple of hours, this tour takes us to almost every main attractions in Montevideo. The old city, with its rich architecture, the port market, the city center, independent square, the legislative palace, the agricultural market, we learned the history,as well as the modern life of Montevideo. The tour guide is very nice and very knowledgeable.
Reviewer: Benjamin
5 Stars
Montevideo
February 13, 2019
Elena was a wonderful tour guide. We really got to see many things in the city. Easy to find the tour meeting place.
Reviewer: Janice Black
5 Stars
Highlights
January 22, 2019
It was a great tour but I would have liked to see more of the city.
Reviewer: Gaetane Normandin
4 Stars
Good overall of the city
December 02, 2017
Enjoyed the excursion.
Reviewer: William Chen
5 Stars